DETAILED ACTION
Claims 1-20 filed on 12/05/2025 have been reviewed and considered by this office action.
Claims 1, 19, and 20 have been amended.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments, filed 12/05/2025, regarding the rejections under 35 U.S.C. § 103 have been fully considered and are persuasive. Therefore, the rejection has been withdrawn. However, upon further consideration, a new ground of rejection is made in view of Bouchard and in view of Park.
Drawings
The drawings filed on 12/05/2025 have been reviewed and are considered acceptable.
Claim Interpretation
This application includes one or more claim limitations that do not use the word “means,” but are nonetheless being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, because the claim limitation(s) uses a generic placeholder that is coupled with functional language without reciting sufficient structure to perform the recited function and the generic placeholder is not preceded by a structural modifier. Such claim limitations are:
a fill control module in claims 1, 2, 3, 4, 6, 7, 12, 15, 17, 18, and 19, which is interpreted as a processor, controller, circuit, or equivalent thereof performing the claimed function, as supported in [0060] of Applicant’s Specification
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 3, 12, 14, 16, 19, and 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Shinar et al. (US 2015/0197063 A1), in view of Bouchard et al. (EP 0692831 B1) (Note: a machine translation is used for mapping, attached to this action), in view of Park et al. (US 2023/0026325 A1), and in view of Chen et al. (Chen, Chenglong, Shaopeng Li, Peter HL Notten, Yuehua Zhang, Qingli Hao, Xiaogang Zhang, and Wu Lei. “3D printed lithium-metal full batteries based on a high-performance three-dimensional anode current collector.” ACS applied materials & interfaces 13, no. 21 (2021): 24785-24794), herein Chen.
Regarding claim 1, Shinar teaches a lithium addition system comprising:
a lithium addition head configured to receive a filament ([0140]: “The 3D printer 100 may utilize conductive 3D-printing material(s) 102, for example, conductive ink, or epoxy, or resin, which may optionally be impregnated or mixed with metals”); and
a fill control module ([0091]: “Processor 116 may execute the 3D-printing program 119 to process and/or render the 3D-printing scheme 120,” where the processor corresponds to a fill control module) configured to:
identify a defect in a layer ([0035]: “the device comprises: an on-the-fly Automatic Optical Inspection (AOI) module (A) to capture an image of a 3D-printed conductive trace during an ongoing 3D-printing session; (B) to compare the captured image to a reference indicating a required structure of the 3D-printed conductive trace; (C) based on the comparison, to identify a fracture in the 3D-printed conductive trace”; [0203]: “the AOI module 187 may detect other types of defects in 3D-printed PCB or component”);
actuate an actuator and move the lithium addition head to a location of the defect and vertically above the defect ([0138]: “the 3D-printing head(s) 101 may be able to move in two axes (for example, X and Y axes) or in all three axes (namely, X and Y and Z axes)”); and
apply one of power and energy to the filament thereby (a) at least one of softening, melting, and deforming the filament ([0137]: “The 3D printer 100 may comprise one or more feeders 154 or other feeding units, able to store and/or provide solid material(s) that may be melted by printing head(s) 101, or able to provide 3D-printing material(s) in liquid form (e.g., at a pre-defined viscosity level, or at varying viscosity levels to achieve particular implementation goals) or as powder or granules or flakes or particulate matter”; [0260]: “The 3D-printer may be implemented by utilizing one or more atomizers to selectively dispense or deposit or 'spray' miniature droplets of conductive material(s) and/or isolating material(s), e.g., having a droplet diameter of 1 or 5 or 10 or 15 or 20 microns… The atomizer(s) may be, or may include, pressure atomizer(s) or pressure nozzle(s), e.g., able to utilize pressure energy; two-fluid atomizer(s) or two-fluid nozzle(s), e.g., able to utilize kinetic energy; a set of rotating discs able to utilize centrifugal forces and/or centrifugal energy; pneumatic atomizer(s) or nozzle(s); ultrasonic atomizer(s) or nozzle(s); or other suitable atomizer(s) and/or nozzle(s),” where atomizing the material corresponds to deforming the filament) and
(b) depositing ([0035]: “the device comprises: an on-the-fly Automatic Optical Inspection (AOI) module… (D) to trigger a corrective 3D-printing operation to 3D-print again, correctly, at least a region comprising said fracture”).
While Shinar teaches using a roller to spread material evenly ([0251]: “spreading loosely compacted powder or particulate matter evenly onto a flat surface (e.g., utilizing a roller)”), Shinar does not explicitly teach “a smoothinq roller that flattens and smooths lithium deposited from the filament into the defect, the smoothinq roller includinq a non-stick coating on an outer surface thereof.”
Bouchard further teaches a smoothinq roller that flattens and smooths lithium deposited from the filament into the defect, the smoothinq roller includinq a non-stick coating on an outer surface thereof ([0014]: “working rolls are used having rolling surfaces of a material to which lithium does not adhere, a rolling lubricant compatible with lithium is used, volatile or non-volatile”).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to adapt the system of Shinar to incorporate the teachings of Bouchard so as to include a smoothinq roller that flattens and smooths lithium deposited from the filament into the defect, the smoothinq roller includinq a non-stick coating on an outer surface thereof. Doing so would allow lithium to be flattened and smoothed with the aim of achieving desired thickness (Bouchard, [0002-0004]: “Commercially available lithium films do not meet the quality, length and width, and especially thinness standards required for the assembly of a lithium polymer electrolyte battery. Because thin lithium has very low mechanical cohesion, it cannot be subjected to sufficient tension to maintain its regular shape, as conventional rolling processes do with stronger metals… To achieve the desired thickness, roller pressure and speed can be used. However, because of its very low mechanical cohesion, Li° can only withstand a minimal restraining tension at the entrance of the rolling mill. Therefore, there is a need to shape the Li° film, as traditional rolling processes do not allow the formation of an ultra-thin lithium film”).
Shinar and Bouchard do not explicitly teach “wherein the fill control module is configured to identify the defect in the layer of lithium using an eddy current.”
Park further teaches wherein the fill control module is configured to identify the defect in the layer of lithium using an eddy current ([0010]: “An object of the present invention is to provide an eddy current sensor for non-destructively detecting a crack of a battery cell, and a system for detecting a crack of a battery cell including the eddy current sensor”).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to adapt the system of Shinar in view of Bouchard to incorporate the teachings of Park so as to include the fill control module being configured to identify the defect in the layer of lithium using an eddy current. Doing so would allow using eddy currents to perform defect identification with the aim of the identification being non-destructive (Park, [0008-0009]: “assembly defects occurring during the folding process cannot be easily found through vision inspection due to cracks inside the folding cell, and there is no method for non-destructively detecting cracks in the sealed battery cell after sealing is completed. As such, there is a need for an apparatus and method for non-destructively detecting a defect such as a crack inside a battery cell”).
While Shinar teaches 3D-printing of batteries which may operate similarly to a lithium electrode ([0291]: “The 3D-printer may be able to 3D-print a distributed array or matrix of power cells or miniature batteries”; [0295]: “a 3D-printed multi-function electrode may operate similarly to a super-capacitor (having rapid charging), while also operating like a lithium electrode (having slow discharge)”) and Bouchard and Park teach lithium battery related processes, Shinar, Bouchard, and Park do not explicitly teach a filament of lithium.
Chen teaches depositing a filament of lithium (Page 2, Col. 2: “lithium batteries with high performance were successfully assembled with LiFePO4 as the cathode and lithium deposited on the 3D Cu mesh as the anode”).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to adapt the system of Shinar in view of Bouchard and Park to incorporate the teachings of Chen so as to include depositing a filament of lithium. Doing so would improve safety by mitigating issues such as unwanted lithium dendritic growth (Chen, Section 1: “lithium metal, as an anode for batteries, still faces many problems and challenges. Among them, the safety issue is the biggest obstacle restricting its commercial application because many sharp dendrites induce large stresses on the separator, which might cause puncture of the separator and thermal runaway problems, including battery short circuit, gas production, fire, and even explosion. At the same time, during the lithium metal deposition/stripping cycle, the solid electrolyte interphase (SEI) ruptures because the lithium metal volume continuously shrinks and expands. The exposed fresh lithium surface will continue to react with the electrolyte to produce new SEI. Eventually, the electrolyte becomes depleted and the lithium metal electrode is severely corroded, which leads to battery failure. Therefore, research studies have been carried out to find out solutions to the above problems. Among them, three-dimensional (3D) frameworks have been proved to effectively inhibit dendrite growth and enhance the cycle efficiency of lithium metal anodes. The 3D framework of lithium metal anodes can provide a higher specific surface area, faster electron transfer, and more ion adsorption and electrochemical reaction sites and reduce the polarization voltage of the lithium metal deposition and stripping processes”).
Regarding claim 3, Shinar in view of Bouchard, Park, and Chen teaches the system of claim 1.
Shinar further teaches wherein: the fill control module is configured to apply power to the filament thereby (a) at least one of softening, melting, and deforming the filament ([0137]: “The 3D printer 100 may comprise one or more feeders 154 or other feeding units, able to store and/or provide solid material(s) that may be melted by printing head(s) 101, or able to provide 3D-printing material(s) in liquid form (e.g., at a pre-defined viscosity level, or at varying viscosity levels to achieve particular implementation goals) or as powder or granules or flakes or particulate matter”; [0260]: “The 3D-printer may be implemented by utilizing one or more atomizers to selectively dispense or deposit or 'spray' miniature droplets of conductive material(s) and/or isolating material(s), e.g., having a droplet diameter of 1 or 5 or 10 or 15 or 20 microns… The atomizer(s) may be, or may include, pressure atomizer(s) or pressure nozzle(s), e.g., able to utilize pressure energy; two-fluid atomizer(s) or two-fluid nozzle(s), e.g., able to utilize kinetic energy; a set of rotating discs able to utilize centrifugal forces and/or centrifugal energy; pneumatic atomizer(s) or nozzle(s); ultrasonic atomizer(s) or nozzle(s); or other suitable atomizer(s) and/or nozzle(s),” where atomizing the material corresponds to deforming the filament) and
(b) depositing lithium from the filament into the defect in the layer of lithium ([0035]: “the device comprises: an on-the-fly Automatic Optical Inspection (AOI) module… (D) to trigger a corrective 3D-printing operation to 3D-print again, correctly, at least a region comprising said fracture”).
Regarding claim 12, Shinar in view of Bouchard, Park, and Chen teaches the system of claim 1.
Shinar further teaches further comprising a second lithium addition head configured to receive a second filament of lithium ([0083]: “Driving controller(s) 104 may cause multiple printing heads 101 to move simultaneously or concurrently, or to move in series or in sequence”), wherein the fill control module is further configured to:
identify a second defect in the layer of lithium ([0035]: “the device comprises: an on-the-fly Automatic Optical Inspection (AOI) module (A) to capture an image of a 3D-printed conductive trace during an ongoing 3D-printing session; (B) to compare the captured image to a reference indicating a required structure of the 3D-printed conductive trace; (C) based on the comparison, to identify a fracture in the 3D-printed conductive trace”; [0203]: “the AOI module 187 may detect other types of defects in 3D-printed PCB or component”);
actuate a second actuator and move the second lithium addition head to a second location of the second defect and vertically above the second defect ([0138]: “the 3D-printing head(s) 101 may be able to move in two axes (for example, X and Y axes) or in all three axes (namely, X and Y and Z axes)”); and
apply one of power and energy to the second filament thereby (a) at least one of softening, melting, and deforming the second filament ([0137]: “The 3D printer 100 may comprise one or more feeders 154 or other feeding units, able to store and/or provide solid material(s) that may be melted by printing head(s) 101, or able to provide 3D-printing material(s) in liquid form (e.g., at a pre-defined viscosity level, or at varying viscosity levels to achieve particular implementation goals) or as powder or granules or flakes or particulate matter”; [0260]: “The 3D-printer may be implemented by utilizing one or more atomizers to selectively dispense or deposit or 'spray' miniature droplets of conductive material(s) and/or isolating material(s), e.g., having a droplet diameter of 1 or 5 or 10 or 15 or 20 microns… The atomizer(s) may be, or may include, pressure atomizer(s) or pressure nozzle(s), e.g., able to utilize pressure energy; two-fluid atomizer(s) or two-fluid nozzle(s), e.g., able to utilize kinetic energy; a set of rotating discs able to utilize centrifugal forces and/or centrifugal energy; pneumatic atomizer(s) or nozzle(s); ultrasonic atomizer(s) or nozzle(s); or other suitable atomizer(s) and/or nozzle(s),” where atomizing the material corresponds to deforming the filament) and
(b) depositing lithium from the second filament into the second defect in the layer of lithium ([0035]: “the device comprises: an on-the-fly Automatic Optical Inspection (AOI) module… (D) to trigger a corrective 3D-printing operation to 3D-print again, correctly, at least a region comprising said fracture”).
Regarding claim 14, Shinar in view of Bouchard, Park, and Chen teaches the system of claim 1.
Shinar further teaches wherein the actuator is configured to move the lithium addition head linearly perpendicularly to a direction of motion of the layer of lithium through the system ([0081-0082]: “Each one of printing head(s) 101 may be able to move (e.g., back and forth) along an X-axis and/or along a Y-axis and/or along a Z-axis. The X-axis may be generally perpendicular to the Y-axis and to the Z-axis. The Y-axis may be generally perpendicular to the X-axis and to the Z-axis… Optionally, each printing head 101 may further be controlled by an orientation/slanting controller 129, which may set or modify the orientation or slanting of each printing head 101, or the direction towards which each printing head 101 is directed; for example, in order to allow printing head 101 to discharge printing material(s) 102 in a non-vertical direction, or in horizontal direction, or in a slanted or diagonal direction (e.g., in order to penetrate or to reach hard-to-reach places, or in order to achieve a particular 3D-printed structure which may require side-printing or slanted 3D-printing)”).
Regarding claim 16, Shinar in view of Bouchard, Park, and Chen teaches the system of claim 1.
Chen further teaches wherein the lithium layer is disposed on a copper layer of an electrode for a battery (Abstract: “A three-dimensional (3D) printing method has been developed for preparing a lithium anode base on 3D-structured copper mesh current collectors”).
Regarding claim 19, Shinar in view of Bouchard, Park, and Chen teaches the system of claim 1.
Shinar further teaches further comprising a scanning module configured to scan the surface of the lithium layer ([0035]: “the device comprises: an on-the-fly Automatic Optical Inspection (AOI) module (A) to capture an image of a 3D-printed conductive trace during an ongoing 3D-printing session”, which corresponds to scanning the surface),
wherein the fill control module is configured to identify the defect in the layer of lithium further based on an output of the scanning module ([0035]: “the device comprises: an on-the-fly Automatic Optical Inspection (AOI) module… (B) to compare the captured image to a reference indicating a required structure of the 3D-printed conductive trace; (C) based on the comparison, to identify a fracture in the 3D-printed conductive trace”; [0203]: “the AOI module 187 may detect other types of defects in 3D-printed PCB or component”).
Regarding claim 20, Shinar teaches a lithium addition method comprising:
identifying a defect in a layer ([0035]: “the device comprises: an on-the-fly Automatic Optical Inspection (AOI) module (A) to capture an image of a 3D-printed conductive trace during an ongoing 3D-printing session; (B) to compare the captured image to a reference indicating a required structure of the 3D-printed conductive trace; (C) based on the comparison, to identify a fracture in the 3D-printed conductive trace”; [0203]: “the AOI module 187 may detect other types of defects in 3D-printed PCB or component”);
actuating an actuator and moving a lithium addition head to a location of the defect and vertically above the defect ([0138]: “the 3D-printing head(s) 101 may be able to move in two axes (for example, X and Y axes) or in all three axes (namely, X and Y and Z axes)”); and
applying one of power and energy to the filament thereby (a) at least one of softening, melting, and deforming the filament ([0137]: “The 3D printer 100 may comprise one or more feeders 154 or other feeding units, able to store and/or provide solid material(s) that may be melted by printing head(s) 101, or able to provide 3D-printing material(s) in liquid form (e.g., at a pre-defined viscosity level, or at varying viscosity levels to achieve particular implementation goals) or as powder or granules or flakes or particulate matter”; [0260]: “The 3D-printer may be implemented by utilizing one or more atomizers to selectively dispense or deposit or 'spray' miniature droplets of conductive material(s) and/or isolating material(s), e.g., having a droplet diameter of 1 or 5 or 10 or 15 or 20 microns… The atomizer(s) may be, or may include, pressure atomizer(s) or pressure nozzle(s), e.g., able to utilize pressure energy; two-fluid atomizer(s) or two-fluid nozzle(s), e.g., able to utilize kinetic energy; a set of rotating discs able to utilize centrifugal forces and/or centrifugal energy; pneumatic atomizer(s) or nozzle(s); ultrasonic atomizer(s) or nozzle(s); or other suitable atomizer(s) and/or nozzle(s),” where atomizing the material corresponds to deforming the filament) and
(b) depositing ([0035]: “the device comprises: an on-the-fly Automatic Optical Inspection (AOI) module… (D) to trigger a corrective 3D-printing operation to 3D-print again, correctly, at least a region comprising said fracture”).
While Shinar teaches using a roller to spread material evenly ([0251]: “spreading loosely compacted powder or particulate matter evenly onto a flat surface (e.g., utilizing a roller)”), Shinar does not explicitly teach “by a smoothing roller, flattening and smoothing lithium deposited from the filament into the defect, the smoothing roller including anon-stick coating on an outer surface thereof.”
Bouchard further teaches by a smoothing roller, flattening and smoothing lithium deposited from the filament into the defect, the smoothing roller including anon-stick coating on an outer surface thereof ([0014]: “working rolls are used having rolling surfaces of a material to which lithium does not adhere, a rolling lubricant compatible with lithium is used, volatile or non-volatile”).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to adapt the system of Shinar to incorporate the teachings of Bouchard so as to include by a smoothing roller, flattening and smoothing lithium deposited from the filament into the defect, the smoothing roller including anon-stick coating on an outer surface thereof. Doing so would allow lithium to be flattened and smoothed with the aim of achieving desired thickness (Bouchard, [0002-0004]: “Commercially available lithium films do not meet the quality, length and width, and especially thinness standards required for the assembly of a lithium polymer electrolyte battery. Because thin lithium has very low mechanical cohesion, it cannot be subjected to sufficient tension to maintain its regular shape, as conventional rolling processes do with stronger metals… To achieve the desired thickness, roller pressure and speed can be used. However, because of its very low mechanical cohesion, Li° can only withstand a minimal restraining tension at the entrance of the rolling mill. Therefore, there is a need to shape the Li° film, as traditional rolling processes do not allow the formation of an ultra-thin lithium film”).
Shinar and Bouchard do not explicitly teach “wherein the identifying the defect includes identifying the defect in the layer of lithium using an eddy current.”
Park further teaches wherein the identifying the defect includes identifying the defect in the layer of lithium using an eddy current ([0010]: “An object of the present invention is to provide an eddy current sensor for non-destructively detecting a crack of a battery cell, and a system for detecting a crack of a battery cell including the eddy current sensor”).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to adapt the system of Shinar in view of Bouchard to incorporate the teachings of Park so as to include the identifying the defect including identifying the defect in the layer of lithium using an eddy current. Doing so would allow using eddy currents to perform defect identification with the aim of the identification being non-destructive (Park, [0008-0009]: “assembly defects occurring during the folding process cannot be easily found through vision inspection due to cracks inside the folding cell, and there is no method for non-destructively detecting cracks in the sealed battery cell after sealing is completed. As such, there is a need for an apparatus and method for non-destructively detecting a defect such as a crack inside a battery cell”).
While Shinar teaches 3D-printing of batteries which may operate similarly to a lithium electrode ([0291]: “The 3D-printer may be able to 3D-print a distributed array or matrix of power cells or miniature batteries”; [0295]: “a 3D-printed multi-function electrode may operate similarly to a super-capacitor (having rapid charging), while also operating like a lithium electrode (having slow discharge)”) and Bouchard and Park teach lithium battery related processes, Shinar, Bouchard, and Park do not explicitly teach a filament of lithium.
Chen teaches depositing a filament of lithium (Page 2, Col. 2: “lithium batteries with high performance were successfully assembled with LiFePO4 as the cathode and lithium deposited on the 3D Cu mesh as the anode”).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to adapt the system of Shinar in view of Bouchard and Park to incorporate the teachings of Chen so as to include depositing a filament of lithium. Doing so would improve safety by mitigating issues such as unwanted lithium dendritic growth (Chen, Section 1: “lithium metal, as an anode for batteries, still faces many problems and challenges. Among them, the safety issue is the biggest obstacle restricting its commercial application because many sharp dendrites induce large stresses on the separator, which might cause puncture of the separator and thermal runaway problems, including battery short circuit, gas production, fire, and even explosion. At the same time, during the lithium metal deposition/stripping cycle, the solid electrolyte interphase (SEI) ruptures because the lithium metal volume continuously shrinks and expands. The exposed fresh lithium surface will continue to react with the electrolyte to produce new SEI. Eventually, the electrolyte becomes depleted and the lithium metal electrode is severely corroded, which leads to battery failure. Therefore, research studies have been carried out to find out solutions to the above problems. Among them, three-dimensional (3D) frameworks have been proved to effectively inhibit dendrite growth and enhance the cycle efficiency of lithium metal anodes. The 3D framework of lithium metal anodes can provide a higher specific surface area, faster electron transfer, and more ion adsorption and electrochemical reaction sites and reduce the polarization voltage of the lithium metal deposition and stripping processes”).
Claims 2, 4, 5, and 13 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Shinar et al. (US 2015/0197063 A1), in view of Bouchard et al. (EP 0692831 B1), in view of Park et al. (US 2023/0026325 A1), in view of Chen, and in view of Myerberg et al. (US 2017/0252813 A1).
Regarding claim 2, Shinar in view of Bouchard, Park, and Chen teaches the system of claim 1
Shinar further teaches (b) depositing lithium from the filament into the defect in the layer of lithium ([0035]: “the device comprises: an on-the-fly Automatic Optical Inspection (AOI) module… (D) to trigger a corrective 3D-printing operation to 3D-print again, correctly, at least a region comprising said fracture”).
While Shinar teaches applying heat for the purpose of curing ([0150-0153]: “the curing module 122 may thus comprise (or be associated with) a heater or heating unit 156... Optionally, in the 3D-printing process, heat may be selectively applied to one or more locations (e.g., isolated locations, or hard-to-reach locations) by using a targeted laser beam, which may be generated by a laser beam generator 159 or other suitable laser beam source... melting temperature of a 3D-printing material 102 may be modified, increase, decreased or set, based on the barometric pressure that such 3D-printing material is being processed in”), Shinar, Bouchard, Park, and Chen do not explicitly teach the addition head including at least one electrical heater.
Myerberg further teaches wherein: the lithium addition head includes at least one electrical heater (FIG. 1 and [0065]: “Any heating system 106 or combination of heating systems suitable for maintaining a corresponding working temperature range in the build material 102 where and as needed to drive the build material 102 to and through the nozzle 110 may be suitably employed as a heating system 106 as contemplated herein”); and
the fill control module is configured to apply power to the at least one electrical heater thereby (a) at least one of softening, melting, and deforming the filament ([0065]: “the heating system 106 may an inductive heating system or a resistive heating system configured to electrically heat a chamber around the build material 102 to a temperature within the working temperature range, or this may include a heating system such as an inductive heating system or a resistive heating system configured to directly heat the material itself through an application of electrical energy”).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to adapt the system of Shinar in view of Bouchard, Park, and Chen to incorporate the teachings of Myerberg so as to include the lithium addition head including at least one electrical heater. Doing so would allow additive manufacturing techniques to be adapted to fabrication of metal objects (Myerberg, [0004-0005]: “Fused filament fabrication provides a technique for fabricating three-dimensional objects from a thermoplastic or similar materials. Machines using this technique can fabricate three-dimensional objects additively by depositing lines of material in layers to additively build up a physical object from a computer model. While these polymer-based techniques have been changed and improved over the years, the physical principles applicable to polymer-based systems may not be applicable to metal-based systems, which tend to pose different challenges. There remains a need for three-dimensional printing techniques suitable for metal additive manufacturing. Various improvements to additive manufacturing are disclosed, including techniques for adapting fused filament fabrication processes to fabricate metal objects with metallic build materials”).
Regarding claim 4, Shinar in view of Bouchard, Park, and Chen teaches the system of claim 1.
Shinar further teaches (b) depositing lithium from the filament into the defect in the layer of lithium ([0035]: “the device comprises: an on-the-fly Automatic Optical Inspection (AOI) module… (D) to trigger a corrective 3D-printing operation to 3D-print again, correctly, at least a region comprising said fracture”).
While Shinar teaches using an ultrasonic atomizer which creates ultrasonic vibrations ([0266]: “3D-printing of conductive or resistive material(s) may be performed by using an ultrasonic atomizer or nozzle, for example, having a flow-through design… In the center of the probe may be piezo ceramics, which may convert electrical signal to mechanical vibration. The vibration may be amplified by a step that forms the tip of the probe, and may be reflected back towards the piezo ceramics, may mix with outgoing waves, and may thus create standing waves”), Shinar, Bouchard, Park, and Chen do not explicitly teach the addition head includes at least one vibrator.
Myerberg further teaches wherein: the lithium addition head includes at least one vibrator ([0160]: “An ultrasonic vibrator 620 may be incorporated into the extruder 600 to improve the printing process”); and
the fill control module is configured to apply power to the at least one vibrator thereby (a) at least one of softening, melting, and deforming the filament ([0160]: “the ultrasound vibrator 620 may be coupled to the nozzle 602 and positioned to convey ultrasonic energy to a build material 610 such as a metallic build material where the metallic build material extrudes through the opening 616 in the nozzle 602 during fabrication”).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to adapt the system of Shinar in view of Bouchard, Park, and Chen to incorporate the teachings of Myerberg so as to include the lithium addition head including at least one vibrator. Doing so would allow additive manufacturing techniques to be adapted to fabrication of metal objects (Myerberg, [0161]: “The ultrasonic vibrator 620 may improve fabrication with metallic build materials in a number of ways. For example, the ultrasonic vibrator 620 may be used to disrupt a passivation layer (e.g., due to oxidation) on deposited material in order to improve layer-to-layer bonding in a fused filament fabrication process. An ultrasound vibrator 620 may provide other advantages, such as preventing or mitigating adhesion of a build material 610 such as a metallic build material to the nozzle 602 or an interior wall of the reservoir 604. In another aspect, the ultrasound vibrator 620 may be used to provide additional heating to the build material 610, or to induce shearing displacement within the reservoir 604, e.g., to mitigate crystallization of a bulk metallic glass”).
Regarding claim 5, Shinar in view of Bouchard, Park, Chen, and Myerberg teaches the system of claim 4.
While Shinar teaches using an ultrasonic atomizer which atomizes liquid using high frequency vibrations ([0267] Optionally, 3D-printing of conductive or resistive material(s) may be performed by using an ultrasonic atomizer or nozzle which may be pressure-less and may produce fine mist spray. Liquid may be atomized into a fine mist spray using high frequency sound vibrations), Shinar, Bouchard, Park, and Chen do not explicitly teach a vibrator configured to vibrate at an ultrasonic frequency.
Myerberg further teaches wherein the at least one vibrator is configured to vibrate at an ultrasonic frequency when power is applied ([0162]: “the controller 630 may be coupled in a communicating relationship with the ultrasonic vibrator 620 (or a control or power system for same) and configured to operate the ultrasonic vibrator 620 with sufficient energy to ultrasonically bond an extrudate of a metallic build material exiting the extruder 602 to an object 640 formed of one or more previously deposited layers of the metallic build material on the build plate 618”).
Regarding claim 13, Shinar in view of Bouchard, Park, and Chen teaches the system of claim 1.
While Shinar teaches printing heads that move in three axes ([0081]: “Each one of printing head(s) 101 may be able to move (e.g., back and forth) along an X-axis and/or along a Y-axis and/or along a Z-axis”), Shinar, Bouchard, Park, and Chen do not explicitly teach the actuator including a robot.
Myerberg further teaches wherein the actuator includes a robot having at least 2 degrees of freedom ([0071]: “The robotics 108 may include any robotic components or systems suitable for moving the nozzles 110 in a three-dimensional path relative to the build plate 114 while extruding build material 102 in order to fabricate the object 112 from the build material 102 according to a computerized model of the object. A variety of robotics systems are known in the art and suitable for use as the robotics 108 contemplated herein. For example, the robotics 108 may include a Cartesian coordinate robot or x-y-z robotic system employing a number of linear controls to move independently in the x-axis, the y-axis, and the z-axis within the build chamber 116”).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to adapt the system of Shinar in view of Bouchard, Park, and Chen to incorporate the teachings of Myerberg so as to include the actuator including a robot. Doing so would allow positioning of an addition head/nozzle with the aim of improving speed and range of motion ([0071]: “Delta robots may also or instead be usefully employed, which can, if properly configured, provide significant advantages in terms of speed and stiffness, as well as offering the design convenience of fixed motors or drive elements. Other configurations such as double or triple delta robots can increase range of motion using multiple linkages. More generally, any robotics suitable for controlled positioning of a nozzle 110 relative to the build plate 114, especially within a vacuum or similar environment, may be usefully employed, including any mechanism or combination of mechanisms suitable for actuation, manipulation, locomotion, and the like within the build chamber 116”).
Claims 6 and 17 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Shinar et al. (US 2015/0197063 A1), in view of Bouchard et al. (EP 0692831 B1), in view of Park et al. (US 2023/0026325 A1), in view of Chen, and in view of Cohen et al. (US 10,254,499 B1).
Regarding claim 6, Shinar in view of Bouchard, Park, and Chen teaches the system of claim 1.
Shinar further teaches (b) depositing lithium from the filament into the defect in the layer of lithium ([0035]: “the device comprises: an on-the-fly Automatic Optical Inspection (AOI) module… (D) to trigger a corrective 3D-printing operation to 3D-print again, correctly, at least a region comprising said fracture”).
While Shinar teaches that metal layers may be welded ([0252]: “a metal structure, conductive structure, metal alloy or metal composite part may be produced by 3D-printing of liquid metal(s) to form successive cross sections, one layer after another, to a target using a cold welding (e.g., rapid solidification) technique, which causes bonding between the particles and the successive layers”), Shinar, Bouchard, Park, and Chen do not explicitly teach the application of power to the non-consumable electrode causing an arc.
Cohen further teaches wherein the fill control module is configured to apply power to a non-consumable electrode of the lithium addition head while the filament is fed into a space between the non-consumable electrode and the defect (Col. 117, Lines 49-54: “Also provided are two electrodes which contact the wire being laid in two locations a short distance apart. In some embodiment variations, the electrodes are slightly narrower than the wire along the Y axis and are centered on the wire being laid so as to only contact that wire, and not adjacent wire(s). The electrodes in some embodiment variations move along with the nozzle at the same speed (e.g., they may be fixed to the printhead)”),
the application of power to the non-consumable electrode causing an arc thereby (a) at least one of softening, melting, and deforming the filament (Col. 117, Lines 54-61: “Continuous or pulsed current (the latter producing a series of spot welds) is passed from one electrode to another using a single-sided, serial, resistance welding configuration known to the art, so that current passes not just through the upper wire, but also through the wire beneath it, welding the two together”).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to adapt the system of Shinar in view of Bouchard, Park, and Chen to incorporate the teachings of Cohen so as to include the application of power to the non-consumable electrode causing an arc. Doing so would allow a higher volumetric percentage of metal with the aim of improving bonding and reducing gaps (Cohen, Col. 117, Lines 61-67: “Such welding may achieve improved bonding of the upper wire to other wires compared with the application of dielectric alone, and can serve to reduce the gap between wires along the Z axis. The latter is desirable to increase the volumetric percentage of metal and in some soft magnetic structures, for example, or for fabricating conductors such as vertical capacitor plates extending along the Z axis across multiple layers”).
Regarding claim 17, Shinar in view of Bouchard, Park, and Chen teaches the system of claim 1.
Shinar, Bouchard, Park, and Chen do not explicitly teach “the fill control module is configured to retract the filament away from the layer of lithium after the depositing of lithium from the filament into the defect in the lithium layer is complete.”
Cohen further teaches wherein the fill control module is configured to retract the filament away from the layer of lithium after the depositing of lithium from the filament into the defect in the lithium layer is complete (Col. 51, Lines 59-65: “To avoid collisions with previously-deposited extrudate, the wire and capillary can both be retracted to move them above the bottom of the nozzle. In some embodiments, the entire downstream/distal end of the capillary is not retracted; rather, the tip is simply deflected upwards so that it no longer protrudes below the bottom of the nozzle”).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to adapt the system of Shinar in view of Bouchard, Park, and Chen to incorporate the teachings of Cohen so as to include retracting the filament away from the layer of lithium after the depositing of lithium from the filament into the defect in the lithium layer is complete. Doing so would allow the flow of material to be arrested with the aim of minimizing thin strings or oozing (Cohen, Col. 30, Lines 35-50: “simply continuing to feed wire while stopping the feeding of polymer into the printhead liquefier can arrest polymer flow and yield bare wire, since the wire is surrounded by the capillary—serving as a sheath—until shortly before it exits the nozzle. In some embodiment variations, to minimize any residual coating on the wire the polymer flow is reversed so as to draw molten material away from the capillary tip. Retracting the polymer filament is commonly done in FDM to minimize the formation of thin strings or to minimize nozzle oozing”).
Claims 7 and 8 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Shinar et al. (US 2015/0197063 A1), in view of Bouchard et al. (EP 0692831 B1), in view of Park et al. (US 2023/0026325 A1), in view of Chen, in view of Cohen et al. (US 10,254,499 B1), and in view of Myerberg et al. (US 2017/0252813 A1).
Regarding claim 7, Shinar in view of Bouchard, Park, Chen, and Cohen teaches the system of claim 6.
While Shinar teaches using an inert carrier gas for aerosol jet printing ([0269]: “The aerosol may be transported to the 3D-printing head or deposition head, optionally by utilizing an inert carrier gas”), Shinar, Bouchard, Park, and Chen do not explicitly teach “the fill control module is further configured to flow a shield gas through the lithium addition head and toward the layer of the lithium while applying power to the non-consumable electrode.”
Myerberg further teaches wherein the fill control module is further configured to flow a shield gas through the lithium addition head and toward the layer of the lithium while applying power to the non-consumable electrode ([0077]: “the nozzle 110 may include an inlet gas, e.g., an inert gas, to cool media at the moment it exits the nozzle 110”).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to adapt the system of Shinar in view of Bouchard, Park, Chen, and Cohen to incorporate the teachings of Myerberg so as to include flowing a shield gas through the lithium addition head and toward the layer of the lithium while applying power to the non-consumable electrode. Doing so would allow for cooling a build material to aid in the fabrication of metal objects ([0077]: “This gas jet may, for example, immediately stiffen extruded material to facilitate extended bridging, larger overhangs, or other structures that might otherwise require support structures during fabrication”).
Regarding claim 8, Shinar in view of Bouchard, Park, Chen, Cohen, and Myerberg teaches the system of claim 7.
While Shinar teaches using an inert carrier gas for aerosol jet printing ([0269]: “The aerosol may be transported to the 3D-printing head or deposition head, optionally by utilizing an inert carrier gas”), Shinar, Bouchard, Park, and Chen do not explicitly teach “the fill control module is further configured to flow a shield gas through the lithium addition head and toward the layer of the lithium while applying power to the non-consumable electrode.”
Myerberg further teaches wherein the shield gas is an inert gas ([0077]: “the nozzle 110 may include an inlet gas, e.g., an inert gas, to cool media at the moment it exits the nozzle 110”).
Claims 9-11 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Shinar et al. (US 2015/0197063 A1), in view of Bouchard et al. (EP 0692831 B1), in view of Park et al. (US 2023/0026325 A1), in view of Chen, and in view of Matthews et al. (US 2021/0001402 A1).
Regarding claim 9, Shinar in view of Bouchard, Park, and Chen teaches the system of claim 1.
Shinar further teaches (b) depositing lithium from the filament into the defect in the layer of lithium ([0035]: “the device comprises: an on-the-fly Automatic Optical Inspection (AOI) module… (D) to trigger a corrective 3D-printing operation to 3D-print again, correctly, at least a region comprising said fracture”).
While Shinar teaches outputting light for the purpose of curing ([0147]: “Curing module 122 may provide, for example: curing by using ultraviolet (UV) light or UV energy or UV radiation, for example, providing electromagnetic radiation with a wavelength shorter than that of visible light but longer than X-rays, or providing electromagnetic radiation with a wavelength in the range of 10 nanometer to 400 nanometer”), Shinar, Bouchard, Park, and Chen do not explicitly teach a light source configured to output light onto the filament in a space between the lithium addition head and the defect, the light softening, melting, or deforming the filament.
Matthews further teaches further comprising a light source configured to output light onto the filament in a space between the lithium addition head and the defect (FIG.1 and [0019]: “Disclosed is a multi-mode laser device for metal manufacturing applications in a compact multi-laser head providing a unique method of delivering laser power, wire and powder deposition, inline process controls, wire feed driver/precision control, and shield gas through a single device”), the light
(a) at least one of softening, melting, and deforming the filament ([0062]: “activating a plurality of off-axis laser light sources (105) to generate and guide laser light beams (115) through laser beam apertures (110) to enable melting of a wire material feed (195), and/or a powder feed material (205) at a focal point for wire, powder and laser beams (120) at the work surface”).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to adapt the system of Shinar in view of Bouchard, Park, and Chen to incorporate the teachings of Matthews so as to include a light source configured to output light onto the filament in a space between the lithium addition head and the defect, the light softening, melting, or deforming the filament. Doing so would allow precise control of the laser manufacturing processes with the aim of optimizing operation (Matthews, [0042]: “the design of the multi-mode laser device allows for angular variation in the inclination of the laser beams (115) from vertical, to facilitate process optimization for energy efficiency of the melting zone created at the focal point of the laser beams (120), and optimization against other considerations such as minimizing the possibility of specular reflection (either back reflection or reflection into another laser lens/fiber assembly) which could damage the laser light sources (105)”).
Regarding claim 10, Shinar in view of Bouchard, Park, Chen, and Matthews teaches the system of claim 9.
Shinar, Bouchard, Park, and Chen do not explicitly teach “the light source is a laser light source.”
Matthews further teaches wherein the light source is a laser light source ([0167]: an energy source such as a laser “can provide electromagnetic energy”).
Regarding claim 11, Shinar in view of Bouchard, Park, Chen, and Matthews teaches the system of claim 9.
Shinar, Bouchard, Park, and Chen do not explicitly teach “the light source is configured to output light having a wavelength between approximately 200 nanometers (nm) and approximately 1200 nm.”
Matthews further teaches wherein the light source is configured to output light having a wavelength between approximately 200 nanometers (nm) and approximately 1200 nm ([0046]: “Some configurations may use lasers of different wavelengths and power. In some embodiments, the plurality of laser light sources (105) emit laser light of an infrared spectrum light at a wavelength of between approximately 700 nm and 1 mm. In some embodiments, the plurality of laser light sources emit laser light of a visible spectrum light at a wavelengths of between approximately 400 and 700 nm. In some embodiments, the plurality of laser light sources emit laser light of an ultraviolet spectrum light at a wavelength of between approximately 180 and 400 nm. Other wavelengths may be used as suitable to the feed materials used in the laser manufacturing process”).
Claim 15 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Shinar et al. (US 2015/0197063 A1), in view of Bouchard et al. (EP 0692831 B1), in view of Park et al. (US 2023/0026325 A1), in view of Chen, in view of Myerberg et al. (US 2017/0252813 A1), in view of Cohen et al. (US 10,254,499 B1), and in view of Matthews et al. (US 2021/0001402 A1).
Regarding claim 15, Shinar in view of Bouchard, Park, and Chen teaches the system of claim 1.
Shinar further teaches the fill control module is configured to apply power to the filament thereby (a) at least one of softening, melting, and deforming the filament ([0137]: “The 3D printer 100 may comprise one or more feeders 154 or other feeding units, able to store and/or provide solid material(s) that may be melted by printing head(s) 101, or able to provide 3D-printing material(s) in liquid form (e.g., at a pre-defined viscosity level, or at varying viscosity levels to achieve particular implementation goals) or as powder or granules or flakes or particulate matter”; [0260]: “The 3D-printer may be implemented by utilizing one or more atomizers to selectively dispense or deposit or 'spray' miniature droplets of conductive material(s) and/or isolating material(s), e.g., having a droplet diameter of 1 or 5 or 10 or 15 or 20 microns… The atomizer(s) may be, or may include, pressure atomizer(s) or pressure nozzle(s), e.g., able to utilize pressure energy; two-fluid atomizer(s) or two-fluid nozzle(s), e.g., able to utilize kinetic energy; a set of rotating discs able to utilize centrifugal forces and/or centrifugal energy; pneumatic atomizer(s) or nozzle(s); ultrasonic atomizer(s) or nozzle(s); or other suitable atomizer(s) and/or nozzle(s),” where atomizing the material corresponds to deforming the filament) and
(b) depositing lithium from the filament into the defect in the layer of lithium ([0035]: “the device comprises: an on-the-fly Automatic Optical Inspection (AOI) module… (D) to trigger a corrective 3D-printing operation to 3D-print again, correctly, at least a region comprising said fracture”);
While Shinar teaches applying heat for the purpose of curing ([0150-0153]: “the curing module 122 may thus comprise (or be associated with) a heater or heating unit 156... Optionally, in the 3D-printing process, heat may be selectively applied to one or more locations (e.g., isolated locations, or hard-to-reach locations) by using a targeted laser beam, which may be generated by a laser beam generator 159 or other suitable laser beam source... melting temperature of a 3D-printing material 102 may be modified, increase, decreased or set, based on the barometric pressure that such 3D-printing material is being processed in”), Shinar, Bouchard, Park, and Chen do not explicitly teach the addition head including at least one electrical heater.
Myerberg further teaches the lithium addition head includes at least one electrical heater configured to thereby (a) at least one of softening, melting, and deforming the filament (FIG. 1 and [0065]: “Any heating system 106 or combination of heating systems suitable for maintaining a corresponding working temperature range in the build material 102 where and as needed to drive the build material 102 to and through the nozzle 110 may be suitably employed as a heating system 106 as contemplated herein”) and
the lithium addition head includes at least one vibrator ([0160]: “An ultrasonic vibrator 620 may be incorporated into the extruder 600 to improve the printing process”) configured to thereby
(a) at least one of softening, melting, and deforming the filament ([0160]: “the ultrasound vibrator 620 may be coupled to the nozzle 602 and positioned to convey ultrasonic energy to a build material 610 such as a metallic build material where the metallic build material extrudes through the opening 616 in the nozzle 602 during fabrication”).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to adapt the system of Shinar in view of Bouchard, Park, and Chen to incorporate the teachings of Myerberg so as to include the lithium addition head including at least one electrical heater. Doing so would allow additive manufacturing techniques to be adapted to fabrication of metal objects (Myerberg, [0004-0005]: “Fused filament fabrication provides a technique for fabricating three-dimensional objects from a thermoplastic or similar materials. Machines using this technique can fabricate three-dimensional objects additively by depositing lines of material in layers to additively build up a physical object from a computer model. While these polymer-based techniques have been changed and improved over the years, the physical principles applicable to polymer-based systems may not be applicable to metal-based systems, which tend to pose different challenges. There remains a need for three-dimensional printing techniques suitable for metal additive manufacturing. Various improvements to additive manufacturing are disclosed, including techniques for adapting fused filament fabrication processes to fabricate metal objects with metallic build materials”).
While Shinar teaches that metal layers may be welded ([0252]: “a metal structure, conductive structure, metal alloy or metal composite part may be produced by 3D-printing of liquid metal(s) to form successive cross sections, one layer after another, to a target using a cold welding (e.g., rapid solidification) technique, which causes bonding between the particles and the successive layers”) and Myerberg teaches using a welding source to heat layers ([0174]: “A capacitive discharge welding source may be used to heat an interface between adjacent layers in pulses while a new layer is being deposited”), Shinar, Bouchard, Park, Chen, and Myerberg do not explicitly teach the application of power to the non-consumable electrode causing an arc.
Cohen further teaches the fill control module is configured to apply power to a non-consumable electrode of the lithium addition head while the filament is fed into a space between the non-consumable electrode and the defect (Col. 117, Lines 49-54: “Also provided are two electrodes which contact the wire being laid in two locations a short distance apart. In some embodiment variations, the electrodes are slightly narrower than the wire along the Y axis and are centered on the wire being laid so as to only contact that wire, and not adjacent wire(s). The electrodes in some embodiment variations move along with the nozzle at the same speed (e.g., they may be fixed to the printhead)”),
the application of power to the non-consumable electrode causing an arc thereby (a) at least one of softening, melting, and deforming the filament (Col. 117, Lines 54-61: “Continuous or pulsed current (the latter producing a series of spot welds) is passed from one electrode to another using a single-sided, serial, resistance welding configuration known to the art, so that current passes not just through the upper wire, but also through the wire beneath it, welding the two together”).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to adapt the system of Shinar in view of Bouchard, Park, Chen, and Myerberg to incorporate the teachings of Cohen so as to include the application of power to the non-consumable electrode causing an arc. Doing so would allow a higher volumetric percentage of metal with the aim of improving bonding and reducing gaps (Cohen, Col. 117, Lines 61-67: “Such welding may achieve improved bonding of the upper wire to other wires compared with the application of dielectric alone, and can serve to reduce the gap between wires along the Z axis. The latter is desirable to increase the volumetric percentage of metal and in some soft magnetic structures, for example, or for fabricating conductors such as vertical capacitor plates extending along the Z axis across multiple layers”).
While Shinar teaches outputting light for the purpose of curing ([0147]: “Curing module 122 may provide, for example: curing by using ultraviolet (UV) light or UV energy or UV radiation, for example, providing electromagnetic radiation with a wavelength shorter than that of visible light but longer than X-rays, or providing electromagnetic radiation with a wavelength in the range of 10 nanometer to 400 nanometer”), Shinar, Bouchard, Park, Chen, Myerberg, and Cohen do not explicitly teach a light source configured to output light onto the filament in a space between the lithium addition head and the defect, the light softening, melting, or deforming the filament.
Matthews further teaches a light source is configured to output light onto the filament in a space between the lithium addition head and the defect (FIG.1 and [0019]: “Disclosed is a multi-mode laser device for metal manufacturing applications in a compact multi-laser head providing a unique method of delivering laser power, wire and powder deposition, inline process controls, wire feed driver/precision control, and shield gas through a single device”), the light
(a) at least one of softening, melting, and deforming the filament ([0062]: “activating a plurality of off-axis laser light sources (105) to generate and guide laser light beams (115) through laser beam apertures (110) to enable melting of a wire material feed (195), and/or a powder feed material (205) at a focal point for wire, powder and laser beams (120) at the work surface”).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to adapt the system of Shinar in view of Bouchard, Park, Chen, Myerberg, and Cohen to incorporate the teachings of Matthews so as to include a light source configured to output light onto the filament in a space between the lithium addition head and the defect, the light softening, melting, or deforming the filament. Doing so would allow precise control of the laser manufacturing processes with the aim of optimizing operation (Matthews, [0042]: “the design of the multi-mode laser device allows for angular variation in the inclination of the laser beams (115) from vertical, to facilitate process optimization for energy efficiency of the melting zone created at the focal point of the laser beams (120), and optimization against other considerations such as minimizing the possibility of specular reflection (either back reflection or reflection into another laser lens/fiber assembly) which could damage the laser light sources (105)”).
Claim 18 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Shinar et al. (US 2015/0197063 A1), in view of Bouchard et al. (EP 0692831 B1), in view of Park et al. (US 2023/0026325 A1), in view of Chen, and in view of Hascoët et al. (Hascoët, Jean-Yves, Stéphane Touzé, and Matthieu Rauch. “Automated identification of defect geometry for metallic part repair by an additive manufacturing process.” Welding in the World 62, no. 2 (2018): 229-241).
Regarding claim 18, Shinar in view of Bouchard, Park, and Chen teaches the system of claim 1.
While Shinar teaches determining a volume of a cavity or void ([0200]: “Some embodiments may utilize an embedded open cavity/air void 3D-printing module 180, to allow 3D-printing of a PCB having a built-in or integrated 3D-printed open cavity or aid void. The open cavity may be an area inside the PCB that is enclosed with conductive material or with isolating material (depending on the application or requirements). The 3D-printing process may avoid 3D-printing any material(s) in such void-intended region; but rather, may only 3D-print a “hollow box” or frame around it, thereby creating the desired void”), Shinar, Bouchard, Park, and Chen do not explicitly teach determining a volume of a defect or controlling feeding of the filament to the lithium addition head based on the volume of the defect.
Hascoët further teaches wherein the fill control module is configured to: determine a volume of the defect (Page 2, Section 2.1: “The objectives of the present method are thus to automatically detect and refill the machined cavity without the need to rely on a nominal CAD model and with minimal user intervention during the repair process. This implies scanning the repair area, locating and segmenting the cavity, extracting its edges, calculating its volume, and generating suitable scan paths”); and
control feeding of the filament to the lithium addition head based on the volume of the defect (Page 2, Section 2.1: “These paths, represented as analytical or numerical 3D curves, can then be turned into machine code and fed into the LMD process controller to perform the refill of the cavity”).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to adapt the system of Shinar in view of Bouchard, Park, and Chen to incorporate the teachings of Hascoët so as to include determining a volume of the defect. Doing so would allow the defect to be filled accurately and robustly without a priori knowledge of the volume of the defect (Hascoët Page 2, Section 1: “non-CAD-based methods, reviewed by Wu, apply to a specific type of part such as turbine blades, for which the general shape and function are known a priori. However, those methods cannot be directly applied to parts of arbitrary geometry with unknown shape or function a priori. Moreover, a significant amount of user intervention is usually necessary to digitally construct the repair volume, often relying on the use of third-party commercial CAD/CAMsoftware at some stage of the repair process. Also, those methods typically require a full 3D scan of the part, which can be a rather challenging task for large and intricate geometries”).
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/M.I.K./Examiner, Art Unit 2117
/ROBERT E FENNEMA/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2117