Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 11/24/2025 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Applicant argues that Sangameshwara does not teach (adding by a sender UE, a sender MCData user identifier an extended application ID as an additional IE in the signaling payload of the SDS group data in an SDS signaling payload message) as amended.
Applicant also argue that Sangameshwara does not teach “triggering a sender UE to transmit SDS group data to at least one receiver UE” as claimed.
In response, Examiner respectfully does not agree, Sangameshwara teaches the following:
Paragraph 38: The UE includes a MCData message generator operably coupled to a memory and a processor. The MCData message generator is configured to generate at least one MCData payload message “reads on triggering”.
Paragraph 163: generating the MCData SDS Signaling payload message while encoding and decoding the MCData SDS messages in the MCData communication system and Paragraph 164: adding the signaling payload message identity information element to identify the type of the message, adding the application identifier information element to uniquely identify the application for which the MCData payloads is intended (reads on an extended application ID as an additional IE in the signaling payload)
Paragraph 173: teaches adding different elements to the payload.
Fig. 2b shows element in the payload (i.e., message ID, application ID, etc.), (also reads on extended application ID).
Therefore, examiner maintains the rejection.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-3, 5, 8, 12, 14-15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being unpatentable over Sangameshwara (US 20190289439).
Regarding claim 1, Sangameshwara teaches, a method for managing a mission critical data (MCData) session (abstract: method for transmitting a mission critical data message in a communication system), the method comprising:
triggering, by a sender User Equipment (UE), transmission of a short data service (SDS) group data (Fig. 2, el. 200a, abstract: generating, by a first UE, an encoded MCData message or notification comprising of signaling payload and data payload content related to one or more MCData user payloads) at least one receiver UE (see Fig. 1, el. 200b, 200c-200n and Paragraph 38);
adding, by the sender UE, a sender MCData user identifier (ID) and an extended application ID as an additional information element IE in a signaling payload of the SDS group data (Paragraph 138-139, 150) in an SDS signaling an SDS signaling payload message (Table 4, 24, Paragraph 64: MCData user ID information element, Paragraph 149-150: MCData user ID: The purpose of the MCData user ID information element is to contain the MCData user ID. The MCData user ID information element is a type 6 information element and claim 16: generate a mission critical data (MCData) message comprising signaling content related to at least one MCData payload, and control the transceiver to transmit the MCData message to a second UE, wherein the MCData message comprises at least one of a signaling payload message identity information element to identify a type of the MCData message, a date and time information element to indicate a time when the MCData message was sent, a conversation identifier (ID) information element to identify a conversation, and a message ID information element to identify the McCData message); and
transmitting, by the sender UE, the sender user ID and the extended application ID included as the additional IE in the signaling payload of the SDS group data in the SDS
signaling payload message to the at least one receiver UE (Fig. 23, el. 2404 and claim 16 and Paragraph 138-139).
Regarding claim 2, Sangameshwara teaches, receiving, by the at least one receiver UE, the SDS group data from the sender UE; and decoding, by the at least one receiver UE (Sangameshwara abstract: coding “encoding and decoding”, coding (encoding and decoding) McCData messages and notifications in a MCData communication system. The method includes generating, by a first UE, an encoded MCData message or notification comprising of signaling payload and data payload content related to one or more MCData user payloads. Further the method includes deriving, by a second UE, the actual McCData messages or notifications by decoding the received encoded MCData messages or notifications), the sender MCData user ID added in the signaling payload message to identify the sender UE of the SDS group (Paragraph 149-150).
Regarding claim 3, Sangameshwara teaches, wherein the sender UE is an initiator of the MCData session (Sangameshwara: abstract and Paragraph 38).
Regarding claim 5, Sangameshwara teaches, wherein the data transmitted by the sender UE to the at least one receiver UE includes a message, and wherein the SDS signaling payload message includes at least one of a content, a file, audio, a video, an image, and text (Paragraph 93 and text).
Regarding claim 8, Sangameshwara teaches, wherein sender MCData user ID is a MCData user ID (Paragraph 149-150).
Regarding claim 12, see claim 1 rejection.
Regarding claim 14, see claim 1 rejection.
Regarding claim 15, see claim 1 rejection.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 4, 6 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being Unpatentable over Sangameshwara (US 20190289439) in view of Yousefi (US 20120106448).
Regarding claim 4, Sangameshwara teaches, the claimed MCData session.
Sangameshwara does not teach wherein the sender UE is not an initiator of the MCData session.
Yousefi in the same art of endeavor teaches method for managing a mission critical data (MCData) session (abstract), wherein the sender UE is not an initiator of the MCData session (Yousefi: Paragraph
131,149-150: each vehicle includes a packet/frame-based communication network that enables it to communicate with other vehicles and the first sub network supports mission critical devices and mission critical functions).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one with ordinary skill in the art to modify Sangameshwara with Yousefi in order to improve the system and enhance the capability by allowing others to indicate the emergency which ensure the proper service in time.
Regarding claim 6, Sangameshwara teaches, data transmitted by the sender UE to the at least one receiver UE.
Sangameshwara does not teach wherein the data transmitted by the sender UE to the at least one receiver UE includes a notification sent by the at least one receiver UE as an acknowledgement in response to the SDS signaling payload message received from the sender UE.
Yousefi in the same art of endeavor teaches method for managing a mission critical data (MCData) session (abstract), wherein the data
transmitted by the sender UE to the at least one receiver UE includes a notification sent by the at least one receiver UE as an acknowledgement in response to the message received from the sender UE (Yousefi: Paragraph 434: sending an acknowledgment of data storage to the source 1420).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one with ordinary skill in the art to modify Sangameshwara with Yousefi in order to improve the system and increase reliability.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 7, 13 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Conclusion
/MARIA EL-ZOOBI/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2692