DETAILED ACTION
Continued Examination
Any rejections and/or objections made in the previous office action and not repeated below are hereby withdrawn.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 3-13, 15-17 and 21are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Zhou et al (CN 113200678A, of record, English equivalent US 2023/0069922, of record, ‘922 hereafter is cited in this office action).
Regarding claims 1, 3-13 and 21, ‘922 discloses a glass-ceramic article comprising 68 to 74 wt% ([0027]), specifically 73.0 wt.% SiO2 as in Component 7 (Table 2); 4 to 10 wt% ([0027]), specifically 5.0 wt.% A1203 as in Component 7 (Table 2); 3 to 9 wt% ([0027]), specifically 3.0 wt.% P205 as in Component 7 (Table 2); 8 to 12 wt% ([0027]), specifically 11.0 wt.% Li2O as in Component 2 (table 2); 1 to 6 wt% ([0027]), specifically 4.6 wt.% ZrO2 as in Component 7 (Table 2); and 0 to 2 wt% ([0030]), specifically 0.6 wt.% CaO as in Component 7 (Table 2). The composition of ‘922 also satisfies present claims 10-13 and 21 ([0043]-[0054]). The glass-ceramic article also comprises greater than or equal to 25 wt% and less than or equal to 45 wt% lithium disilicate ([0014]); greater than or equal to 30 wt% and less than or equal to 45 wt% petalite ([0014]); and 2 to 5 wt% of crystalline phases other than lithium disilicate and petalite (such as aluminum metaphosphate, [0014]), satisfying present claims 5 and 7; and total crystallinity being up to 95%, satisfying present claim 6 (residual amorphous glass 100%-95% =5%). ‘922 also discloses that the visible light transmittance can be 90% or higher ([0038]). ‘922 does not expressly set forth that the article has a haze as recited in the present claims 1 and 3. However, as set forth above, ‘922 discloses a glass-ceramic article having a composition and crystalline phase being substantially identical to the composition of presently claimed glass-ceramic articles, thus it is reasonable to expect that the glass-ceramic article of ‘922 would have the same optical properties as that of the presently claimed glass-ceramic article, including the haze as instantly claimed, in absence of an objective showing to the contrary. “Where the claimed and prior art products are identical or substantially identical in structure or composition, or are produced by identical or substantially identical processes, a prima facie case of either anticipation or obviousness has been established.” (In re Best, 562 F.2d 1252, 1255 n.4, 195 USPQ 430, 433 n.4 (CCPA 1977). see MPEP 2112(V) and 2112.01(I)).
Regarding claims 15-17, ‘922 also discloses that the thickness of the article can be in a range of 0.2 to 2 mm, specifically 0.6 mm as in the examples ([0028], [0077]); and an electronic device inherently including a housing, a display panel; and a cover substrate having the glass-ceramic article ([0055]).
Claims 14 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Zhou et al (CN 113200678A, of record, English equivalent US 2023/0069922, of record, ‘922 hereafter is cited in this office action) in view of Monique et al (US 2008/0026927, ‘927 hereafter).
Regarding claim 14, ‘922 teaches all the limitation of claim 1, but ‘922 does not set forth that the glass-ceramic article further comprises SnO2. However, it is known in the art that a small amount of SnO2 can be used as fining agent in a glass-ceramic composition to remove gaseous inclusions in the molten glass mass as evidenced by ‘927 ([0009], [0025], [0037]). In light of these teachings, one of ordinary skill in the art would have used a small amount of SnO2 as a fining agent to remove gas inclusions in the molten glass mass of ‘922, in order to render a glass-ceramic article having better optical performance.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed on 01/14/2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Regarding applicant’s remarks for the haze, the examiner’s position that the prior art teaches a glass-ceramic article having composition (See Component 7 as in Table 2 of ‘922) being identical to the composition of the presently claimed glass-ceramic article, thus it is reasonable to expect the glass ceramic article of ‘922 having the same optical properties including low haze value as the presently claimed. The applicant is invited to provide experimental results to show otherwise.
For the reasons set forth above and of record, the claims stand properly rejected.
Conclusion
/RUIYUN ZHANG/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1782