DETAILE ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1-15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
In claims 1 and 12 comprises limitation of “comprises a target (3), (203), (303) and (403), it’s not clear if target refer to 4 different targets with numeration of (3), (203), (303) and (403) or if a target refer to the single target.
Claim Interpretation
This application includes one or more claim limitations that do not use the word “means,” but are nonetheless being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, because the claim limitation(s) uses a generic placeholder that is coupled with functional language without reciting sufficient structure to perform the recited function and the generic placeholder is not preceded by a structural modifier. Such claim limitation(s) is/are:
1. “auxiliary image acquisition devices (11) to receive said target images and is configured in order to determine” in claim 1; the auxiliary image acquisition devices corresponds to the structure in para 0058, where acquisition devices is camera or photographic cameras.
2.“electronic control system (10) being configured” in claims 2, 3, 4, 5, 9 and 11.
The limitation of “image acquisition devices…is configured” and “a control system configured to” the means plus function sections limitation as they are devices with functions that have no structure in the claim.
Objection
Claims 5 is objected.
Abbreviation “ADAS” is not permissible in claim language.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-4, 8, and 12-15 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Gorghi (US Pub.20210278203A1), hereinafter Gorghi in view of McCabe et. al. (Pub.US.20180303561A1), hereinafter McCabe.
Regarding Claim 1, Gorghi disclose a vehicle measuring apparatus (1) comprising:
a base unit (2) (Fig. 5, # 37) which rests on a plane (P) and comprises a target (3)(203)(303)(403) (Fig. 1 and 5, # 32 and 33, para 0068, where the calibration structure 3 includes an additional structure target 33), a support structure (4) which is coupled to said base unit (2) (Fig. 4, the structure behind the # 34 coupled to the bar 37) and is provided with a support bar (5) which has an approximately horizontal reference axis (A) and is arranged above said base unit (2) (Fig. 1 and 5, see Fig. 1 where structure 4, # 44(frame) above 31(or see Fig. 5, # 37), para 0068, where the apparatus 4 comprises a frame 44. The additional camera 42 and the camera 41 are both associated with the frame 44. More specifically, the frame 44 comprises a supporting bar 43, oriented vertically (in a direction parallel to gravity). The frame 44 also comprises a horizontal bar 440), two auxiliary image acquisition devices (11) which are mounted on said support bar (5) (para 0068, where the apparatus 4 comprises a frame 44. The additional camera 42 and the camera 41 are both associated with the frame 44) , an electronic control system (10) which is operatively connected to said auxiliary image acquisition devices (11) to receive said target images (Abstract, where capturing an image through the apparatus camera (41), wherein the image represents the front wheel target (51)).
Gorghi does not disclose:
so that the respective image acquisition visual fields are oriented towards said base unit (2) so as to capture target images containing said target (3) (203) (303) (403);
electronic control system is configured in order to determine the poses of the auxiliary image acquisition devices (11) on the basis of said target-images.
McCabe disclose the respective image acquisition visual fields are oriented towards said base unit (2) so as to capture target images containing said target (3) (203) (303) (403)(Fig. 6, # 310(camera) oriented toward oscillating blade 500(base unit),
electronic control system is configured in order to determine the poses of the auxiliary image acquisition devices (11) on the basis of said target-images (Abstract, where he trackable feature is be imaged by a camera integral with or attached to the power tool and provided to a computing unit of a navigation system to determine a relative pose of the cutting feature and camera).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the applicants' invention was made to oriented visual fields towards said base unit (2) so as to capture target images containing said target as taught by McCabe into Gorghi in order to more accurately detect the position data of the specific region.
Regarding Claim 2, Gorghi and McCabe disclose the vehicle measuring apparatus according to claim 1, Gorghi disclose comprising main image acquisition devices (7) which are mounted on the two respective opposite ends (5a) of said support bar (5) and are arranged so that the respective image acquisition visual fields are oriented towards a vehicle (9) to capture vehicle images associated with said vehicle (9)(See Fig. 1, where visual field of the cameras 41 and 42 oriented forward to the vehicle).
Gorghi does not disclose:
said electronic control system (10) being configured in order to determine the poses of said main image acquisition devices (7) based on the determined poses of said auxiliary image acquisition devices (11).
McCabe disclose said electronic control system (10) being configured in order to determine the poses of said main image acquisition devices (7) based on the determined poses of said auxiliary image acquisition devices (11) (Abstract, where he trackable feature is be imaged by a camera integral with or attached to the power tool and provided to a computing unit of a navigation system to determine a relative pose of the cutting feature and camera).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the applicants' invention was made to determine the poses of said main image acquisition devices as taught by McCabe into Gorghi in order to more accurately detect the position of the specific part.
For purpose of examination the Examiner choose the first limitation from alternative limitations of claim 3.
Regarding Claim 3, Gorghi and McCabe disclose the vehicle measuring apparatus according to claim 2, further Gorghi disclose wherein said electronic control system (10) is configured to automatically calibrate said main image acquisition devices (7) and/or said auxiliary image acquisition devices (11) based on the respective determined poses (para 0055, where the positioning device comprises a rear device camera, oriented opposite to the device camera; the calibration structure includes a rear structure target, mounted on the rear calibration structure and visible to the rear device camera).
Regarding Claim 4, Gorghi and McCabe disclose the vehicle measuring apparatus according to claim 1, further Gorghi disclose wherein said electronic control system (10) is further configured to determine positions of said support bar (5) and/or its ends (5a)based on said determined poses of said auxiliary image acquisition devices (11) (para 003, where positioning is performed with the aid of optical devices (cameras) and targets, which are associated with the apparatus for measuring the alignment of the vehicle, with the calibration structure and/or with the vehicle… the calibration structure mounts another two cameras which also view two of the four targets on the wheels).
Regarding Claim 8, Gorghi and McCabe disclose the vehicle measuring apparatus according to claim 1, further Gorghi disclose wherein said target (3)(203)(303)(403) of said base unit (2) is two-dimensional or tree-dimensional (para 0040, where the device target may be a three-dimensional target).
Regarding Claim 12, Gorghi disclose a method of operation of a vehicle measuring apparatus (1) comprising:
a base unit (2) (Fig. 5, # 37) which rests on a plane (P) and comprises a target (3)(203)(303)(403) (Fig. 1 and 5, # 32 and 33, para 0068, where the calibration structure 3 includes an additional structure target 33 ), a support structure (4) which is coupled to said base unit (2) (Fig. 4, the structure behind the # 34 coupled to the bar 37) and is provided with a support bar (5) which has an approximately horizontal reference axis (A) and is arranged above said base unit (2) (Fig. 1 and 5, see Fig. 1 where structure 4, # 44(frame) above 31(or see Fig. 5, # 37), para 0068, where the apparatus 4 comprises a frame 44. The additional camera 42 and the camera 41 are both associated with the frame 44. More specifically, the frame 44 comprises a supporting bar 43, oriented vertically (in a direction parallel to gravity). The frame 44 also comprises a horizontal bar 440), two auxiliary image acquisition devices (11) which are mounted on said support bar (5) (para 0068, where the apparatus 4 comprises a frame 44. The additional camera 42 and the camera 41 are both associated with the frame 44), said method comprises the steps of:
receiving by an electronic control system (10) said target images from said auxiliary image acquisition devices (11) (Abstract, where capturing an image through the apparatus camera (41), wherein the image represents the front wheel target (51) ).
Gorghi does not disclose so that the respective image acquisition visual fields are oriented towards said base unit (2) so as to capture target images containing said target (3) (203) (303) (403),
determining by said electronic control system (10) the poses of the auxiliary image acquisition devices (11) on the basis of said target-images.
McCabe disclose the respective image acquisition visual fields are oriented towards said base unit (2) so as to capture target images containing said target (3) (203) (303) (403)(Fig. 6, # 310(camera) oriented toward oscillating blade 500(base unit)),
determining by said electronic control system (10) the poses of the auxiliary image acquisition devices (11) on the basis of said target-images (Abstract, where he trackable feature is be imaged by a camera integral with or attached to the power tool and provided to a computing unit of a navigation system to determine a relative pose of the cutting feature and camera).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the applicants' invention was made to oriented visual fields towards said base unit (2) so as to capture target images containing said target as taught by McCabe into Gorghi in order to more accurately detect the position data of the specific region.
Regarding Claim 13, Gorghi and McCabe disclose the method according to claim 12, further Gorghi disclose wherein said vehicle measuring apparatus (1) comprises main image acquisition devices (7) which are mounted on the two respective opposite ends (5a) of said support bar (5) and are arranged so that the respective image acquisition visual fields are oriented towards a vehicle (9) to capture vehicle images associated with said vehicle (9)( See Fig. 1, where visual field of the cameras 41 and 42 oriented forward to the vehicle ).
Gorghi does not disclose said method comprising the step of determining by said electronic control system (10) the poses of said main image acquisition devices (7) based on the determined poses of said auxiliary image acquisition devices (11).
McCabe disclose said method comprising the step of determining by said electronic control system (10)(Abstract, where robotic controller) the poses of said main image acquisition devices (7) based on the determined poses of said auxiliary image acquisition devices (11) (Abstract, where he trackable feature is be imaged by a camera integral with or attached to the power tool and provided to a computing unit of a navigation system to determine a relative pose of the cutting feature and camera).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the applicants' invention was made to determine the poses of said main image acquisition devices as taught by McCabe into Gorghi in order to more accurately detect the position of the specific part.
Regarding Claim 14, Gorghi and McCabe disclose the method according to claim 13, further Gorghi disclose comprising the steps of automatically calibrating by said electronic control system (10) said main image acquisition devices (7) and/or said auxiliary image acquisition devices (11) based on the respective determined poses para 0055, where the positioning device comprises a rear device camera, oriented opposite to the device camera; the calibration structure includes a rear structure target, mounted on the rear calibration structure and visible to the rear device camera).
Regarding Claim 15, Gorghi and McCabe disclose the method according to claim 12, further Gorghi disclose comprising the step of detecting/determining by said electronic control system (10) a deformation of said support bar (5) based on said determined poses of said auxiliary image acquisition devices (11) (para 003, where positioning is performed with the aid of optical devices (cameras) and targets, which are associated with the apparatus for measuring the alignment of the vehicle, with the calibration structure and/or with the vehicle… the calibration structure mounts another two cameras which also view two of the four targets on the wheels).
Claim 5 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Gorghi in view of McCabe, as applied above and further in view of Uffenkamp (WO2019015847A1), hereinafter Uffenkamp.
For purpose of Examination, the Examiner choose, the first and second limitations from three alternative limitations of claim 5.
Regarding Claim 5, Gorghi and McCabe disclose the vehicle measuring apparatus according to claim 1, further Gorghi disclose comprising a column (14) which extends cantilevered from said base unit (2) along a vertical axis (B) (See Fig. 1, from the top view in the middle structure comprising the column, also see Fig. 4, with supporting bar 43), and at least a ADAS calibration device (15)(16) (see Fig. 5, # 31 )which is designed to be detected by an ADAS sensor (100a) of said vehicle (9) during a calibration of said ADAS sensor (100a) (para 0066, where a calibration assistance device 31, configured to calibrate an ADAS sensor of an advanced driver assistance system of the vehicle 2), said support structure (4) supports said ADAS calibration device (15) (16) and is mounted on said column (14) in order to move selectively along said vertical axis (B) and/or around said vertical axis (B) and/or orthogonally to said vertical axis (B) (See Fig. 5, where calibration device 31 supports on horizontal bar 37 and supporting bar (related Fig. 4 # 43(in vertical position) and calibration device 61).
Gorghi and McCabe do not disclose said electronic control system (10) is further configured to determine the position of said calibration device (15) (16) based on said determined poses of said auxiliary image acquisition devices (11).
Uffenkamp disclose electronic control system (10) is further configured to determine the position of said calibration device (15) (16) based on said determined poses of said auxiliary image acquisition devices (11) (Page 4, lines 36-39, where Since the evaluation device 11 knows the position and the orientation of the camera 10 with respect to the target 17, the evaluation device 11 is able to determine the position and orientation of the calibration device from an image of the measurement features 13 of the registration system 14 taken by the camera 10 21 and in particular of the target 17 on the measuring station 8 to determine).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the applicants' invention was made to determine the position of said calibration device as taught by Uffenkamp in combination of Gorghi and McCabe in order to more accurately align the calibration device and in particular the target in a desired / required position on the measuring station.
Claims 6 and 7 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Gorghi in view of McCabe, as applied above and further in view Cejka et al., (US Pub.20210209794A1), hereinafter Cejka.
Regarding Claim 6, Gorghi and McCabe disclose the vehicle measuring apparatus according to claim 1, wherein said auxiliary image acquisition devices (11) are rigidly arranged on the opposite ends (5a) of said support bar (5) close to the relative main image acquisition devices (7) .
Gorghi and McCabe do not said auxiliary image acquisition devices (11) are rigidly arranged on the opposite ends (5a) of said support bar (5) close to the relative main image acquisition devices (7) .
Cejka disclose auxiliary image acquisition devices (11) are rigidly arranged on the opposite ends (5a) of said support bar (5) close to the relative main image acquisition devices (7) (para 0029, where FIGS. 1-3, having a structure 102 supporting a set of vehicle measurement camera modules 104a, 104b. Each camera module 104a, 104b contains one or more cameras 105 with fields of view oriented in a generally forward direction to observe laterally opposite sides of the vehicle 10 undergoing service, e.g., cameras located in the same module 104 a or 104b, are relatively close located because located in same module, and cameras located in same module are rigidly arrange with each other).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the applicants' invention was made to provide auxiliary image acquisition devices (11) are rigidly arranged on the opposite ends (5a) of said support bar (5) close to the relative main image acquisition devices (7) , as taught by Cejka in combination of Gorghi and McCabe in order to provide more accurate, reliable measurements.
Regarding Claim 7, Gorghi and McCabe disclose the vehicle measuring apparatus according to claim 2.
Gorghi and McCabe do not disclose each auxiliary image acquisition device (11) is rigidly integrated with a relative main image acquisition device (7) in order to form a single electronic module (12), which is arranged on one end (5a) of said support bar (5).
Cejka disclose each auxiliary image acquisition device (11) is rigidly integrated with a relative main image acquisition device (7) in order to form a single electronic module (12) (para 0029, where FIGS. 1-3, having a structure 102 supporting a set of vehicle measurement camera modules 104a, 104b. Each camera module 104a, 104b contains one or more cameras 105 with fields of view oriented in a generally forward direction to observe laterally opposite sides of the vehicle 10 undergoing service).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the applicants' invention was made to acquisition device (11) is rigidly integrated with a relative main image acquisition device (7) in order to form a single electronic module (12), as taught by Cejka in combination of Gorghi and McCabe in order to observe the opposite sides of the vehicle, e.g., expended Field of view.
Claim 9 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Gorghi in view of McCabe, as applied above and further in view Gorghi et al., (US Pub.20210279910), hereinafter Gorghi 910’.
For purpose of examination, the Examiner choose, the first limitation of alternative limitations claim 9.
Regarding Claim 9, Gorghi and McCabe disclose the vehicle measuring apparatus according to claim 2, but do not disclose wherein said electronic control system (10) is configured to determine information relating to the relative position between said vehicle (9) and said vehicle measuring apparatus (1) and/or information concerning the wheels alignment of one or more wheels of said vehicle (9) on the basis of said vehicle images.
Gorghi 910’ disclose electronic control system (10) is configured to determine information relating to the relative position between said vehicle (9) and said vehicle measuring apparatus (1) and/or information concerning the wheels alignment of one or more wheels of said vehicle (9) on the basis of said vehicle images (para 0050, where FIGS. 4A and 4B show side views of the system of FIG. 1 (or of FIG. 2), respectively in a first step in which the camera captures an image of the front wheel target and in a second step in which the camera, remaining at the same position relative to the vehicle, captures an image of the structure target, where these images form the second image data ).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the applicants' invention was made to determine information relating to the relative position between said vehicle (9) and said vehicle measuring apparatus, as taught by Gorghi 910’ in combination of Gorghi and McCabe in order to ensuring the accuracy, safety, and reliable functionality of advanced driver-assistance systems (ADAS).
Claim 10 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Gorghi in view of McCabe, as applied above and further in view of Shen (CN208212511U), hereinafter Shen.
Regarding Claim 10, Gorghi and McCabe disclose the vehicle measuring apparatus according to claim 1, but do not disclose wherein said support bar (5) is provided with mechanisms (18) designed to rotate two opposite lateral portions of said bar (5) compared to a central portion (5b) of said support bar (5) between a horizontal operative position and a vertical rest position, and vice-versa.
Shen disclose support bar (5) is provided with mechanisms (18) designed to rotate two opposite lateral portions of said bar (5) compared to a central portion (5b) of said support bar (5) between a horizontal operative position and a vertical rest position, and vice-versa (Claim 1, where left hand rotation and two relative to left side 90 degrees to swing the right rotatable relative to the right arm and two side 90 degrees swinging).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the applicants' invention was made to wherein said support bar (5) is provided with mechanisms (18) designed to rotate two opposite lateral portions of said bar (5) compared to a central portion (5b) of said support bar (5) between a horizontal operative position and a vertical rest position, and vice-versa, as taught by Shen in combination of Gorghi and McCabe in order to provide more flexibility and operated efficiency of system.
Claim 11 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Gorghi in view of McCabe, as applied above and further in view of Stein(DE102012001858A1), hereinafter Stein.
Regarding Claim 11, Gorghi and McCabe disclose the vehicle measuring apparatus according to claim 1, but do not disclose wherein said electronic control system (10) is further configured to detect/determine a deformation of said support bar (5) based on said determined poses of said auxiliary image acquisition devices (11).
Stein disclose said electronic control system (10) is further configured to detect/determine a deformation of said support bar (5) based on said determined poses of said auxiliary image acquisition devices (11) (Page 5, lines 37-41, where in 3 are two image data BD1, BD2 of the image acquisition units 2 . 3 shown, for example, at standstill of the vehicle F without changing an example set in a so-called band-end calibration and band-end adjustment orientation of the image acquisition units 2 . 3 to each other).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the applicants' invention was made to determine a deformation of said support bar (5) based on said determined poses of said auxiliary image acquisition devices, as taught by Stein in combination of Gorghi and McCabe in order to provide more accurate, reliable measurements by correcting for instrument(support bar) errors.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
1. Gorghi (EP 3 629 053 A1) disclose: a target (3)(203)(303)(403), (Fig. 3, # 54, is two targets attached to the vehicle calibration assistance structure 4);
two auxiliary image acquisition devices (11) (Fig. 1A, # 53 two cameras, and further see Fig. 3, attached to the structure 5 )which are mounted on said support bar (5) (Fig. 1A, # 53 two cameras, and further see Fig. 3, attached to the structure 5)
an electronic control system (10) which is operatively connected to said auxiliary image acquisition devices (11) to receive said target images (Fig. 1A, para 102) and is configured in order to determine the poses of the auxiliary image acquisition devices (11) on the basis of said target-images (para 103).
Gorghi (EP3629053), disclose (Fig. 5, para [0103], where in an embodiment, the positioning device 5 is spaced from the support structure 3 and includes an optical device oriented in a lateral direction to see graphical features of the vehicle 9 and a matching camera 53 oriented in a backward direction towards the support structure 3, to see the positioning target element 54. In an embodiment, the positioning device 5 comprises a pair of matching cameras 53 oriented in opposite directions. A first matching camera 53 is oriented towards the vehicle calibration assistance structure 4. A second matching camera 53 is oriented in the opposite direction in order to see target elements located at the back of the vehicle and/or to allow the positioning device 5 to be moved to the opposite side of the service area 8), e.g, from the Fig. 3, the position device 5 (with attached two camera 53) where is spaced away from the structure 3(where attached the targets).
Additionally, Gorghi (EP3629053) disclose a spatial correlation between the vehicle calibration assistance structure 4 and the vehicle 9 (the camera attached to the vehicle see Fig. 3 # 5 structure and # 53 cameras).
2. Gorghi (US Pub.20200239010), hereinafter Gorghi (’010’) discloses:
a base unit (2) which rests on a plane (P) (see Fig. 7B, 7A, para 143, where support structure 3 (preferably at opposite ends of a horizontal bar 30 of the support structure 3, oriented perpendicularly to the vertical direction), para 154, where vehicle calibration assistance structure 4 and directed towards the floor the base unit 2, e.g., base unit corresponds to the base unit 2, support structure 3)and comprises a target (3)(203)(303)(403),
a support structure (4) which is coupled to said base unit (2) and is provided with a support bar (5) which has an approximately horizontal reference axis (A) and is arranged above said base unit (2) (see Fig. 7A and 7B, where structure 30 (form Fig. 7B coupled to the base 2 and support 3).
Also, Gorghi (‘010’) disclose vehicle calibration assistance structure 4 and directed towards the floor the base unit 2 rests on in order to measure the height of the vehicle calibration assistance structure 4 relative to the floor (hence relative to the support structure 3, Gorghi (’010’) does not discloses a base unit comprise the target(3)(203)(303)(403).
whose height from the floor is fixed) see para 0154, Gorghi (’010’) disclose the target elements 37 location on the wheel of vehicle (see Fig. 7B), but does not disclose of suggest to place an auxiliary target on the base of the structure supporting the two auxiliary cameras.
3. Rogers (EP3332212B1), hereinafter Rogers disclose a solution to the problem of efficiently self-calibrating the measuring apparatus to compensate for accidental shifts in position of the main cameras. The auxiliary camera 16s and the auxiliary target 16q are each rigidly attached to a main camera. In such a system, changes in the relative pose between the auxiliary target 16q and the auxiliary camera 16s constitute changes in the relative pose between the forward facing cameras 16p, 16r (see fig. 16 and 18). Thus, motion of the camera system can be detected if the relative pose between the forward facing cameras changes.
4. Cavalli (US Pub.20200074767);
5. Massie (US Pub.20220057198).
/KALERIA KNOX/
Examiner, Art Unit 2857
/MICHAEL J DALBO/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2857