Detailed Action
Priority
Should applicant desire to obtain the benefit of foreign priority under 35 U.S.C. 119(a)-(d) prior to declaration of an interference, a certified English translation of the foreign application must be submitted in reply to this action. 37 CFR 41.154(b) and 41.202(e).
Failure to provide a certified translation may result in no benefit being accorded for the non-English application.
Applicant cannot rely upon the certified copy of the foreign priority application to overcome this rejection because a translation of said application has not been made of record in accordance with 37 CFR 1.55. When an English language translation of a non-English language foreign application is required, the translation must be that of the certified copy (of the foreign application as filed) submitted together with a statement that the translation of the certified copy is accurate. See MPEP §§ 215 and 216.
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claim(s) 1-21 have been considered but are moot in view of new grounds of rejection.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1, 3, 11 & 13 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Pasricha (US 2021/0092611 A1) in view of Zhang (CN 104077516 A1)(see provided machine translation).
Regarding claims 1 & 11, Pasricha discloses an electronic device and method comprising:
communication circuitry (see communication circuitry, [0007]);
memory storing instructions (see memory [0026]); and
at least one processor comprising processing circuitry (see processor circuitry [0007]),
wherein the instructions, when executed by the at least one processor (see processor [0007]), cause the
electronic device to:
obtain fingerprints of one or more communication signals for a specified period of time
from at least one external electronic device in an indoor space through the communication
circuitry (see obtain fingerprint for indoor space [0007]);
determine a location of the electronic device in the indoor space based by learning the
obtained fingerprints of communication signals (see localization based on fingerprinting [0007]);
Pasricha does not best disclose the following however Zhang best discloses all of the following in the clearest most comprehensive terminology:
at least one sensor (sensor, [0116]);
acquire, through the at least one sensor (see sensor [0116]), device state information at the determined
location (see [0090] current state information), the device state information including information related to a state of the electronic device at the determined location (see [0090] includes time and location) and information related to a time (see [0090] includes time and location) when the electronic device is in the state at the determined location (see location [0090]);
acquire user action information at the determined location (see obtains user input [0090]), the user action information including information related to an application executed (see [0090] “for application”) at the determined location (see [0090] location) and information related to a time when the application is executed at the determined location (see time [0090]);
perform learning of the acquired device state information and the acquired user action
information (see learning modeling [0185]);
determine whether the acquired device state information and the acquired user action
information correspond to a first condition (here Zhang defines a condition in the same capacity as applicant claims, “operation action of the application object is any one or the combination of several kinds, then terminal identification previously stored state information of corresponding relationship between the operating action for the application object input by the user exists in the current state information of the matching user input. the operation action of the application object if it exists the terminal from the corresponding relationship obtaining matched with current state information for input by the user”), the first condition comprising a first location, a first time, and a first state (likewise Zhang discloses location, time and state in [0090]); and
execute a first application to a recommendation for an first action, corresponding when the acquired device state information and the acquired user action information correspond to the first condition (see condition or “ the terminal from the corresponding relationship obtaining matched with current state information for input by the user” which includes time, location etc. );
whether the acquired device state information and the acquired user action information correspond to a second condition (here the existence of a second condition is implied, where there may be a previously stored state corresponding to a relationship and new one for an application object), the second condition comprising a second location, a second time, and a
second state (different or a second location, time and state are automatically implied, here a device that can do this a first time and never again would be useless, [0090], a second state would be universally anticipated by the reader with skill in the art); and
execute a second application related to a recommendation for a second action when the
acquired device state information and the acquired user action information correspond to the
second condition (Zhang [0090] discloses “application objects”, implying various applications or application instances, both of which are further implied by the various different sensor types, including temp, camera, microphone, biometric [0116] which can have user making a call or browsing a webpage [0119] ).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing to combine the teachings of Pasricha with that Zhang. Doing so would imply the application of a known technique (using location/state/time) to a known method for improvement (determination of user action for opening an application) to yield predictable results (see Zhang [0002]-[0003]).
Regarding claims 3 and 13, Pasricha discloses the electronic device of claim 1 and method of claim 11, wherein the instructions, when executed by the at least one processor, cause the electronic device to
determine the location in the indoor space based on at least one of a type, number, or signal
strength of the obtained communication signals (see signal strength [0016]).
Claim(s) 4, 6, 8, 14, 16 & 18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Pasricha (US 2021/0092611 A1) in view of Zhang (CN 104077516 A1) in further view of Lee.
Regarding claims 4 and 14, Pasricha and Zhang disclose the electronic device of claim 1 and method
of claim 11, wherein the instructions, when executed by the at least one processor, cause the electronic device to:
They do not best disclose however Lee best discloses to acquire device configuration information configured in the electronic device or device connection information regarding connection to the electronic device (may identify and authenticate the electronic device 101 in a communication
network, such as the first network 198 or the second network 199, using subscriber information (e.g., international mobile subscriber identity (IMSI)) stored in the subscriber
identification module 196, [0056]) ; and
learn at least one of the device configuration information or the device connection
information (see [0056], "may identify and authenticate the electronic device 101 in a communication
network, such as the first network 198 or the second network 199, using subscriber information (e.g., international mobile subscriber identity (IMSI)) stored in the subscriber identification module 196.") ;
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing to combine the teachings of Lee with that of Pasricha and Zhang. Doing so would conform to well-known standards in the field of invention.
Regarding claims 6 & 16, Pasricha in view of Zhang discloses the electronic device of claim 1 and method of claim 11, wherein Lee best discloses the instructions, when executed by the at least one processor, cause the electronic device to guide at recommended action and execute the recommended action based on an input to the electronic device (see [0132], "the user may relieve stress by listening to music. When a starting menu 701b is selected (e.g., touched), the electronic device may output a breathing guide screen as shown in the drawing of reference numeral 720. The breathing guide screen may guide an inhalation time and an exhalation time. ") ;
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing to combine the teachings of Lee with that of Pasricha and Zhang. Doing so would conform to well-known standards in the field of invention.
Regarding claims 8 & 18, Pasricha in view of Zhang discloses the electronic device of claim 1 and method of claim 11,
Lee best discloses wherein the instructions, when executed by the at least one processor, cause the electronic device to, as at recommended action, perform connection to an external device or execute an configured application (see [0137], " the electronic device may output a breathing recommendation screen on a display", therefore and App) ;
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing to combine the teachings of Lee with that of Pasricha in view of Zhang. Doing so would conform to well-known standards in the field of invention.
Claim(s) 21 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Pasricha (US 2021/0092611 A1) in view of Zhang (CN 104077516 A1) in further view of Jin et al. (CN 111511017 A)(see provided machine translation).
Regarding claim 21, Prasricha in view of Zhang discloses the electronic device of claim 1, wherein the instructions, when executed by the at least one processor, cause the electronic device to, based on the acquired device state information and the acquired user action information (see Zhang [0090], state including, user input and location)
Zhang in view of corresponding to neither the first condition nor the second condition, determine that the determined location of the electronic device is incorrect, re-determine the location (see re-determine positioning error, pages 10-11) of the electronic device in the indoor space based on fingerprints (see “based on fingerprint positioning”, bottom of page 7) of one or more communication signals newly obtained through the communication circuitry, and acquire device state information and user action information for the re-determined location (see re-determining positioning, page 10-11).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing to combine the teachings of Jin with that of Prasricha in view of Zhang. Doing so would conform to well-known standards in the field of invention.
Conclusion
Any inquiry concerning this communication or earlier communications from the examiner should be directed to K. WILFORD SHAHEED whose telephone number is (469) 295-9175. The examiner can normally be reached on Monday-Friday 9 am-6pm; CST; ALT Friday. The fax phone number for the organization where this application or proceeding is assigned is 571-273-8300. The examiner’s Supervisor, Jinsong Hu, can be reached at (571)272-3965, where attempts to reach the examiner are unsuccessful.
/KHALID W SHAHEED/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2643