DETAILED ACTION
This is a Non-Final Office Action on the merits. Claims 1-28 are currently pending and are addressed below.
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Response to Amendment
The amendment filed 05/04/2026 has been entered. Claims 1-28 are currently pending. Claims 7-8,11-16, 23-25 and 27-28 are withdrawn.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 05/04/2026 with respect to claim 2 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Firstly, the Examiner notes that no arguments were made with respect to the independent claims.
With respect to claim 2, Applicant argues that Jacobs does not teach “the digital spatial representation of the environment comprises areas of the environment already explored by the robot”. The Examiner respectfully disagrees. In ¶0089-0091 and Fig. 14, Jacobs clearly teaches a technique of generating a map via the robot, either prior to or during a robot mission. The initial and/or continued mapping of the environment by the robot clearly meets the Broadest Reasonable Interpretation, as well as the plain meaning of “the digital spatial representation of the environment comprises areas of the environment already explored by the robot”.
Therefore the prior art of record meets the claim limitations and Applicant’s arguments are not persuasive.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 9, 19, and 20-21 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kim et al. (US 2019/0332119) in view of Whiting et al. (US 9,418,546).
Regarding claim 1:
Kim discloses a robot, comprising:
a chassis (main body, see at least ¶0068);
a set of wheels coupled to the chassis (¶0068);
a plurality of sensors (obstacle sensing unit 120, sensor unit 122, see at least ¶0073-0075, Fig. 2);
a processor (controller 110); and
a tangible, non-transitory, machine readable medium (¶0079) storing instructions that when executed by the processor of the robot (Fig. 2) effectuates operations comprising:
capturing, with an image sensor disposed on the robot, a plurality of images of an environment of the robot as the robot navigates within the environment (see at least abstract, ¶0009-0010);
identifying, with the processor, an obstacle type of an obstacle captured in an image based on a comparison between features of the obstacle and features of obstacles with different obstacles types stored in a database (see at least abstract, ¶0009-0010); and
determining, with the processor, an action of the robot based on the obstacle type of the obstacle (see at least abstract, ¶0009-0010).
Kim does not explicitly teach comparing pixel intensities to determine an obstacle type, however, Kim does disclose utilizing color to identify an object type, which is a measure of pixel intensity (see at least ¶0093).
Whiting teaches a system and method of object detection, including determining an object type based on comparison of pixel intensity (see at least column 6).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing of the invention to modify robotic system and method as taught by Kim with the well-known technique of determining an object type by comparing pixel intensities as taught by Whiting in order to utilize a conventional image classification technique for accurate results using raw image data.
Regarding claim 9:
Kim further discloses wherein the action comprises adjusting a path of the robot to avoid the obstacle (see at least ¶0048).
Regarding claims 19-20:
Kim discloses a method and computer readable medium storing instructions to perform a method as detailed with respect to claim 1 above.
Regarding claim 21:
Kim further teaches identifying, with the processor, characteristics of the environment based on the plurality of sensors disposed on the robot (determining obstacles in the environment, cleanliness of the environment, cliff in the environment, see at least ¶0009, ¶0076-0080).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 2 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kim and Whiting as applied to claim 1 above, in view of Jacobs (US 2003/0030399).
Regarding claim 2:
Kim teaches the limitations as in claim 1 above.
Kim further teaches controlling the mobile robot based on a map and displaying the map on an application of a remote device (see at least ¶0052).
Kim is silent as to the details of creating the map.
Jacobs teaches a system and method of controlling a robotic vacuum cleaner including:
capturing, with at least sensor of the plurality of sensors, first data and second data, wherein the first data is captured from a first position and orientation and the second data is captured from a second position and orientation, different from the first position and orientation (see at least ¶0083, ¶0087-0088, Fig. 12-14, S620, ¶0176); and
combining, with the processor, the first data and the second data to generate a digital spatial representation of the environment (map generation, see at least ¶0089-0091, Fig. 14),
wherein:
the digital spatial representation of the environment comprises areas of the environment already explored by the robot (map generation, see at least ¶0089-0091); and
the digital spatial representation indicates locations of physical objects and boundaries of the environment already explored by the robot (see at least ¶0179).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing of the invention to modify the system and method of controlling a robotic vacuum cleaner based on map data as taught by Kim and Whiting with the well-known method of utilizing on-board sensors on the robot to create the map as taught by Jacob in order to provide the expected result of a simple, customized map generating solution, allowing the robot to familiarize itself with the working environment in a recognizable format when an environment was not previously mapped.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 3-4 and 10 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kim, Whiting, and Jacob as applied to claim 2 above, and further in view of Ahn et al. (US 2016/0135655) and Park (US 2017/0265703).
Regarding claim 3:
Kim further teaches wherein the robot is paired with an application of a communication device (see at least terminal 80, ¶0052) configured to:
display a digital spatial representation of the environment (display a map of travel area, see at least ¶0052).
Kim further teaches wherein the terminal accepts user inputs related to at least detected obstacles, but does not teach the specific inputs as claimed.
Jacob further teaches a user interface configured to:
receive at least one input designating a modification to the digital spatial representation, an addition of or a modification to a subarea within the digital spatial representation of the environment (see at least ¶0092), and an operational schedule of the robot (see at least ¶0180-0182).
The combination of Kim, Whiting, and Jacob is silent as to inputs for impeller speed.
However, Ahn teaches a system and method of controlling a robotic vacuum cleaner, including a touch screen user interface displaying various information including maps and schedules, wherein a user is able to set a suction power (see at least cleaning modes, suction intensity, ¶0072). The Examiner notes that suction power is generally controlled via impeller speed in robotic vacuums of this type, therefore suction intensity settings are an obvious variant on direct impeller speed controls.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the time of filing of the invention to modify the map-based cleaning system and method as taught by Kim and Jacob with the well-known technique of providing multiple, user modifiable suction settings as taught by Ahn in order to allow a user to customize cleaning for dirtier areas or dustier seasons (see Ahn ¶0198).
The combination of references does not explicitly teach an input for a label of a subarea.
Park teaches a system and method of controlling a robotic cleaner including a user interface receiving inputs for a label of a subarea within the digital spatial representation of the environment (see at least ¶0191).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the time of filing of the invention to modify the robotic vacuum mapping and scheduling system and method as taught by Kim, Whiting, Ahn and Jacobs by implementing the well-known technique of allowing a user to label elements in the map as taught by Park in order to provide the expected result of allowing a user to customize the map and schedule using familiar names for different areas of a cleaning environment, allowing a user to easily recognize the different areas of a map when assigning and scheduling cleaning operations.
Regarding claim 4:
Ahn further teaches wherein the operations further comprise: transmitting, with the processor, at least one image of the plurality of images to the application (see at least ¶0040).
Regarding claim 10:
Kim further teaches wherein the operations further comprise: marking, with the processor, a location at which the obstacle was encountered within a digital spatial representation of the environment (see at least ¶0074).
Kim does not explicitly teach displaying the map including the
Ahn teaches marking, with the processor, a location at which the obstacle was encountered within a digital spatial representation of the environment, wherein the application is configured to display the digital spatial representation of the environment (see at least ¶0111-0122 , Fig. 12, 1210, 1200 “?” and “!” icons depicting an issue encountered at that location, ¶0147-0157).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 5 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kim and Whiting as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Park et al. (US 2005/0192707) hereinafter “Park2”.
Regarding claim 5:
Kim teaches the limitations as in claim 1 above.
Kim is silent as to detecting and reacting to debris.
Park2 teaches a system and method of controlling a robotic vacuum cleaner including capturing, with at least one sensor of the plurality of sensors, data indicative of debris as the robot navigates within the environment; detecting, with the processor, at least one location within the environment with debris; and adjusting, with the processor, a path of the robot based on the at least one location within the environment with debris (see at least ¶0008).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was filed to modify the robotic cleaning system and method as taught by Kim with the dirt detection and path modification technique as taught by Park2 in order to provide the expected result of a more efficient vacuuming technique wherein areas with more dirt are treated specifically to optimize cleaning effort.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 6, 17, and 22 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kim and Whiting as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Duffley et al. (US 2014/0207280).
Regarding claim 6:
Kim teaches the limitations as in claim 1 above. Kim is silent as to determining floor type.
Duffley teaches a system and method of controlling a robotic floor cleaner, including capturing, with at least one sensor of the plurality of sensors, data indicative of a floor type of a driving surface of the robot (¶0167-0168); and
adjusting, with the processor, an impeller speed of an impeller of the robot based on the floor type of the driving surface (see at least higher cumulative cleaning strategy, ¶0137-0149).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was filed to modify the system and method of controlling a robotic floor cleaner as taught by Kim with the technique of adjusting cleaning based on detected floor type as taught by Duffley in order to provide the expected result of an optimized cleaning strategy including optimizing energy and cleaning effectiveness based on different floor types in an environment.
Regarding claim 17:
Kim teaches the limitations as in claim 1 above. Kim is silent as to identifying rooms.
Duffley further teaches wherein a digital spatial representation of the environment is processed to identify rooms (see at least ¶0047, ¶0175).
Regarding claim 22:
Duffley further teaches wherein the characteristics of the environment comprise at least a driving surface type, wherein the driving surface type is at least a carpet and a hard surfaces (see at least ¶0167, robot detects floor type).
Duffley does not explicitly teach the hard surface being hardwood.
However, It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the time of filing of the invention to modify the floor type detection as taught by Duffley to include any specific, known type of hard floor surface including hardwood in order to accurately detect common flooring types.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 18 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kim as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Hickman (US 8,374,421).
Regarding claim 18:
Kim teaches the limitations as in claim 1 above.
Kim is silent as to other robots using the maps.
Hickman teaches a system and method of robotic mapping of an environment, including generating, with the processor, a digital spatial representation of the environment based on at least some sensor data captured by the plurality of sensors, wherein at least one other robot obtains and uses the digital spatial representation of the environment (see at least column 10, line 1-14).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was filed to modify the system and method of controlling a robotic vacuum as taught by Kim with the technique of sharing map data among robots as taught by Hickman in order to provide the expected result of allowing cooperative information sharing and/or allowing robots to effectively cooperate to perform an operation without requiring each robot to build its own map.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 26 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kim and Whiting as applied to claim 20 above, and further in view of Hato et al. (US 5,901,411).
Regarding claim 26:
Modified Kim teaches the limitations as in claim 20 above.
Kim further teaches wherein the robot further comprises a peripheral brush (see at least ¶0069-0070).
Kim is silent as to the brush oscillating.
Hato teaches a vacuum cleaner including an oscillating peripheral brush (see at least Figs. 10-12, brush 121, oscillatory motion, column 12).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was filed to modify the peripheral brush as taught by Kim with the oscillating motion as taught by Hato in order to “make the suction tool compact as compared to the conventional brush which was rotated. Still more, the driver device is constituted of a linear motor or solenoid, needing fewer parts, thus a further reduction in size can be expected. Moreover, this configuration is safe, i.e., it is free from the danger that the fingers might be drawn in or any other risk, unlike the conventional rotary brush” (column 21).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to Applicant's disclosure.
/Ryan Rink/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3619