DETAILED ACTION
The present application, filed on or after March 16, 2013, is being examined under the first inventor to file provisions of the AIA . In the event the determination of the status of the application as subject to AIA 35 U.S.C. 102 and 103 (or as subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 102 and 103) is incorrect, any correction of the statutory basis for the rejection will not be considered a new ground of rejection if the prior art relied upon, and the rationale supporting the rejection, would be the same under either status.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-6, 9, and 16 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by US 2021/0399402 (Chou).
Regarding claim 1, Chou discloses a system for use with an antenna assembly (see Figures 1-9), the system comprising:
a mast (11, 20, 50) having a first end configured to be coupled to a mount and a second end configured to be coupled to the antenna assembly;
a bulkhead connector (10, 30, 40) disposed within an inner bore of the mast, wherein the bulkhead connector includes a biasing member (30) moveable between a first position and a second position, wherein the biasing member is biased to the first position and moveable to the second position when urged by a force (see paragraphs [0034]-[0037]);
an electrical connector (40) disposed within the inner bore of the mast (see Figure 1C), wherein the electrical connector is configured to couple to an external cable (60) with the inner bore of the mast (see Figure 1C); and
a mount (100) including a mount connector (at 110) configured to mate with the bulkhead connector, wherein the bulkhead connector is in the first position when mated or unmated with the mount connector, and wherein the bulkhead connector is in the second position when being partially mated or being partially unmated from the mount connector (see paragraph [0041], where portions 11a flex to be inserted into mount 100).
Regarding claim 2, Chou discloses the mount connector (at 110) includes an opening (120) configured to receive the mast (via portion 11).
Regarding claim 3, Chou discloses the mast defines a coupling portion (11) configured to be received by the opening (120) defined by the mount connector (see paragraph [0041]).
Regarding claim 4, Chou discloses the coupling portion (11) of the mast defines a slot (10a) to allow flexure in the mast (11, 20, 50) to facilitate an interference fit between the coupling portion of the mast and the opening of the mount connector (see paragraph [0041]).
Regarding claim 5, Chou discloses a longitudinal axis of the slot (10a) extends substantially parallel to a longitudinal axis of the mast (see Figure 2).
Regarding claim 6, Chou discloses the electrical connector (40) is configured to be coupled to the antenna assembly (see Figure 1C).
Regarding claim 9, Chou discloses the electrical connector (40) is disposed on a first side of the inner bore of the mast, and wherein the biasing member (30) is disposed on a second side of the inner bore of the mast (see Figure 1C).
Regarding claim 16, Chou discloses a bulkhead connector (10, 30, 40) for use with a mounting system of an antenna assembly (see Figures 1-9), the bulkhead connector comprising:
a body having a first end (top end in Figure 9) and a second end (bottom end in Figure 9), the first end configured to be received within the inner bore of a mast (11, 20, 50) and the second end configured to be received by an opening (120) of a mount (100), wherein the body defines a cavity that is configured to receive at least a portion of an electrical connector (60; see Figure 1C); and
a biasing member (30) coupled to the body and moveable between a first position and a second position relative to the body, wherein the biasing member is biased to the first position and moveable to the second position when urged by a force, wherein the bulkhead connector is in the first position when mated or unmated with the mount, and wherein the bulkhead connector is in the second position when being partially mated or being partially unmated from the mount (see paragraphs [0034]-[0037]).
Claims 16-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by US 4,829,857 (Jones).
Regarding claim 16, Jones discloses a bulkhead connector (22, 28, 30, 40) for use with a mounting system of an antenna assembly (see Figures 1-3), the bulkhead connector comprising:
a body having a first end (right end in Figure 3) and a second end (left end in Figure 3), the first end configured to be received within the inner bore of a mast (12) and the second end configured to be received by an opening of a mount (16), wherein the body defines a cavity that is configured to receive at least a portion of an electrical connector (the hollow interior of the body defining a cavity which is capable of receiving an electrical connector, as shown in Figure 3); and
a biasing member (22, 30) coupled to the body and moveable between a first position and a second position relative to the body, wherein the biasing member is biased to the first position and moveable to the second position when urged by a force, wherein the bulkhead connector is in the first position when mated or unmated with the mount (see Figure 3), and wherein the bulkhead connector is in the second position when being partially mated or being partially unmated from the mount (when portion 22 is biased away from the circumferential outer surface of 14).
Regarding claim 17, Jones discloses the biasing member (22, 30) further includes a bulkhead tab (40) configured to be received by a mount receiver (24) defined by the mount (16; see Figures 1-3).
Regarding claim 18, Jones discloses the bulkhead tab (40) actuates in response to depression of the biasing interface (38) of the biasing member (22, 30; see Figure 3).
Regarding claim 19, Jones discloses the biasing member (22, 30) includes a spring (30) to bias the biasing member to the first position (see Figure 3).
Regarding claim 20, Jones discloses the biasing interface (38) and the bulkhead tab (40) are both attached to the spring (30; see Figure 3).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 10-15 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Chou discloses the system of claim 1, but fails to disclose the biasing member (30) is moveable to the second position by depressing a biasing interface. Instead, Chou disclose the biasing member being movable in a response to a pivoting of member 50 (see paragraph [0034]). While the prior art (see, e.g., Jones) discloses a biasing member (22, 30) being moveable to a second position by depressing a biasing interface (38; see Figure 3), there is no motivation to combine Chou and Jones in order to meet the limitations of claim 10. Further, it would not be possible to add the biasing member structure of Jones to Chou, as it would interfere with the connection of the antenna body (40) to its support (30) and the external cables (60).
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments, filed October 6, 2025, with respect to the previous specification objection, 112 rejection, rejection of claims 1-5 and 10-15 over Jones have been fully considered and are persuasive. This objection and the rejections have been withdrawn.
Applicant's arguments with respect to the rejection of claims 1-6, 9, and 16 over Chou, and claims 16-20 over Jones have been fully considered but they are not persuasive. On pages 7 and 8, Applicant asserts Chou and Jones fail to disclose the newly added limitations to independent claims 1 and 16. On the outset, Applicant's arguments fail to comply with 37 CFR 1.111(b) because they amount to a general allegation that the claims define a patentable invention without specifically pointing out how the language of the claims patentably distinguishes them from the references.
As to Chou, the newly added limitation to independent claim 1, “an electrical connector disposed within the inner bore of the mast, wherein the electrical connector is configured to couple to an external cable with the inner bore of the mast” in lines 8-9, is shown in Figure 1C of Chou, where an electrical connector (40) is disposed within the inner bore of the mast (11, 20, 50), wherein the electrical connector is configured to couple to an external cable (60) with the inner bore of the mast. As to independent claim 16, the newly added limitation to independent claim 16, “the body defines a cavity that is configured to receive at least a portion of an electrical connector” in lines 5-6, is shown in Figure 1C of Chou, where cable 60 is shown extending through a cavity in portion 10.
As to Jones, the newly added limitation to independent claim 16, “the body defines a cavity that is configured to receive at least a portion of an electrical connector” in lines 5-6, is shown in Figure 3 where the hollow interior of the body defining a cavity which is capable of receiving an electrical connector.
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/Josh Skroupa/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3678
October 23, 2025