DETAILED ACTION
Response to Amendment
The amendment to the claims filed on 22 June 2026 does not comply with the requirements of 37 CFR 1.121(c) because at least claim 1 has been amended other than as reflected by the underlining and strikethrough. Amendments to the claims filed on or after July 30, 2003 must comply with 37 CFR 1.121(c) which states:
(c) Claims. Amendments to a claim must be made by rewriting the entire claim with all changes (e.g., additions and deletions) as indicated in this subsection, except when the claim is being canceled. Each amendment document that includes a change to an existing claim, cancellation of an existing claim or addition of a new claim, must include a complete listing of all claims ever presented, including the text of all pending and withdrawn claims, in the application. The claim listing, including the text of the claims, in the amendment document will serve to replace all prior versions of the claims, in the application. In the claim listing, the status of every claim must be indicated after its claim number by using one of the following identifiers in a parenthetical expression: (Original), (Currently amended), (Canceled), (Withdrawn), (Previously presented), (New), and (Not entered).
(1) Claim listing. All of the claims presented in a claim listing shall be presented in ascending numerical order. Consecutive claims having the same status of “canceled” or “not entered” may be aggregated into one statement (e.g., Claims 1–5 (canceled)). The claim listing shall commence on a separate sheet of the amendment document and the sheet(s) that contain the text of any part of the claims shall not contain any other part of the amendment.
(2) When claim text with markings is required. All claims being currently amended in an amendment paper shall be presented in the claim listing, indicate a status of “currently amended,” and be submitted with markings to indicate the changes that have been made relative to the immediate prior version of the claims. The text of any added subject matter must be shown by underlining the added text. The text of any deleted matter must be shown by strike-through except that double brackets placed before and after the deleted characters may be used to show deletion of five or fewer consecutive characters. The text of any deleted subject matter must be shown by being placed within double brackets if strike-through cannot be easily perceived. Only claims having the status of “currently amended,” or “withdrawn” if also being amended, shall include markings. If a withdrawn claim is currently amended, its status in the claim listing may be identified as “withdrawn—currently amended.”
(3) When claim text in clean version is required. The text of all pending claims not being currently amended shall be presented in the claim listing in clean version, i.e., without any markings in the presentation of text. The presentation of a clean version of any claim having the status of “original,” “withdrawn” or “previously presented” will constitute an assertion that it has not been changed relative to the immediate prior version, except to omit markings that may have been present in the immediate prior version of the claims of the status of “withdrawn” or “previously presented.” Any claim added by amendment must be indicated with the status of “new” and presented in clean version, i.e., without any underlining.
(4) When claim text shall not be presented; canceling a claim.
(i) No claim text shall be presented for any claim in the claim listing with the status of “canceled” or “not entered.”
(ii) Cancellation of a claim shall be effected by an instruction to cancel a particular claim number. Identifying the status of a claim in the claim listing as “canceled” will constitute an instruction to cancel the claim.
(5) Reinstatement of previously canceled claim. A claim which was previously canceled may be reinstated only by adding the claim as a “new” claim with a new claim number.
Applicant should use caution to ensure that the markings in the claim amendments match the amendment made to the claims.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments, filed with respect to the drawing objections, have been fully considered and are persuasive. The drawing objections have been withdrawn.
Applicant’s arguments, filed with respect to the previous specification objection, have been fully considered and are persuasive in view of the previously added material. Accordingly, the previously set forth specification objection has been withdrawn.
Applicant’s arguments, filed with respect to the objection to claim 2, have been fully considered and are persuasive in view of the amendment. Please see below for new grounds of rejection for claim 2, necessitated by Amendment.
Applicant’s arguments, filed with respect to the rejection of claim 9 under 35 U.S.C. 112(a), have been fully considered and are persuasive. Accordingly, the rejection of claim 9 under 35 U.S.C. 112(a) has been withdrawn.
Applicant's arguments filed with respect to the prior art rejections have been fully considered but they are not persuasive. Applicant argues that combining Verhoeven with Kubo will not result in the limitations of amended claim 1. Kubo is silent regarding where in airstream #14 the ion generator is placed. Accordingly, it cannot be positively determined that Kubo fails to teach that the ions pass through both the condenser and the evaporator. Further, as noted in the rejection, Applicant’s disclosure fails to establish that the positioning has any criticality. Accordingly, the obviousness rejection is maintained below. Examiner relies on Applicant’s disclosure not for hindsight reasoning, but to support a finding of obviousness based on design choice through Applicant’s assertion that the ion generator can be placed anywhere in the airstream. However, to further alleviate Applicant’s concerns, Examiner has added an alternative rejection establishing that the positioning is well-known. Applicant’s arguments concerning claim 2 are moot in view that claim 2 has been amended to recite a new combination of limitations, which are addressed in the new grounds of rejection necessitated by Amendment. Applicant’s arguments regarding King are moot in view that King is no longer relied upon in the rejection(s) below.
Claim Interpretation
This application includes one or more claim limitations that do not use the word “means,” but are nonetheless being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, because the claim limitation(s) uses a generic placeholder that is coupled with functional language without reciting sufficient structure to perform the recited function and the generic placeholder is not preceded by a structural modifier. Such claim limitation(s) is/are: expansion device (i.e. device [generic placeholder] for expansion [functional language]).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim 2 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 2 recites the limitation “that positive and negative ions without producing significant ozone”. There appears to be a word missing that creates a clarity issue. It is believed “produces the positive and negative ions” may have been Applicant’s intent.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1, 3-9, 23, and 24 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Verhoeven (US 2019/0376700: previously cited) in view of Kubo (JP 2020-139635: English machine translation provided by Examiner) and, alternatively, further in view of Abate et al. (US 2013/0182364).
Regarding claim 1, Verhoeven discloses a dehumidifier (dehumidifier #110), comprising:
a cabinet (see at least cabinet #140) configured to be installed between first wall studs in or through a first wall, or on a first wall, the cabinet having a width dimension sized to fit between adjacent wall studs on standard 16-in on-center spacing (see at least paragraph [0030]-[0031]);
an attachment mechanism for affixing the cabinet between the first wall studs in the wall or through the wall, or on the wall (see at least paragraph [0035]), said attachment mechanism comprising:
said cabinet forming two or more mounting apertures at a rear of the cabinet for mounting the dehumidifier on one or more of the wall studs (see at least paragraph [0035]: Figure 3, holes #350#360); and/or
one or more flanges and/or brackets for attaching the dehumidifier to one or more of the first wall studs (see at least paragraph [0035]: Figure 3, holes #350/#360 are on flanges);
an air diffuser (see at least diffuser #210) configured to diffuse an airflow from the dehumidifier along a surface of the wall, the air diffuser comprising: an inlet, and an outlet above the inlet (see at least paragraph [0029]: Figure 1, inlet at base; outlets at top/sides),
a compressor (see at least compressor #330);
an evaporator installed within the cabinet above the compressor (see at least evaporator #320);
a condenser installed within the cabinet above the evaporator (see at least condenser #310);
an expansion device (see at least paragraph [0047]); and
a fan (see at least fan #410) installed between the evaporator and a back surface of the cabinet (se at least paragraph [0033]), the fan configured to generate an airflow that flows into the cabinet through the inlet of the air diffuser and out of the cabinet through the outlet of the air diffuser, the airflow flowing through the evaporator and condenser in order to provide dehumidification to the airflow (see at least paragraph [0032]);
a fan outlet diffuser (see at least fan outlet diffuser #1210) installed above and adjacent to the fan (see at least paragraph [0044]), the fan outlet diffuser comprising a plurality of apertures (see at least Figure 12, apertures; see paragraph [0044]), configured to evenly-distribute the airflow to the condenser from the fan, thereby to reduce airflow noise by the airflow by breaking up air (see at least paragraph [0044]: breaking up turbulence/air is inherent to diffuser as disclosed and thus so is reducing airflow noise);
a drain pan (see at least drain pan #340) installed within the cabinet below the evaporator, the drain pan configured to capture water removed from the airflow by the evaporator (see at least paragraph [0043]).
Verhoeven does not disclose further comprising: a bi-polar ion generator positioned within the cabinet in a path of the airflow between the evaporator and the condenser, configured to release positive and negative ions into the airflow, such that the positive and negative ions are carried by the airflow through the condenser and leave the dehumidifier when air exits the cabinet through the outlet of the air diffuser.
Kubo teaches another dehumidifier comprising: a bi-polar ion generator positioned within the cabinet in a path of the airflow between the evaporator and the condenser, configured to release positive and negative ions into the airflow (see at least translation: “In the cold air ventilation passage 14, the cold air blower 16 is arranged on the downstream side of the evaporator 10. The cold air blower 16 is composed of, for example, a horizontally placed sirocco fan, sucks air from below the casing, and blows air from the front of the casing toward the first air outlet 2. Further, for example, an ion generator (not shown) for generating positive ions and negative ions is provided in the cold air ventilation passage 14, and positive and negative ions are released into the room together with the cold air.”).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to provide the dehumidifier of Verhoeven with further comprising: a bi-polar ion generator positioned within the cabinet in a path of the airflow between the evaporator and the condenser, configured to release positive and negative ions into the airflow, such that the negative and positive ions leave the dehumidifier when air exits the cabinet through the outlet of the air diffuser, as taught by Kubo, to improve the dehumidifier of Verhoeven by reducing contaminants in the airflow.
Verhoeven in view of Kubo does not explicitly disclose are carried by the airflow through the condenser, though examiner notes that path #14 of Kubo goes through both evaporator and condenser.
There is no evidence of record that establishes that such that the positive and negative ions are carried by the airflow through the condenser would result in a difference in function of the Verhoeven in view of Kubo system. Further, a person having ordinary skill in the art, being faced with modifying the system of Verhoeven in view of Kubo, would have reasonable expectation of success in making such a modification and it appears that the system would function as intended being given the claimed arrangement. Lastly, Applicant has not disclosed that the claimed arrangement solves any stated problem, indicating that “[t]he ion generator can be present at any point in the air flow in the dehumidifier, and it typically located in front of the fan, between the evaporator and the condenser coil.” (see paragraph [0082]), and therefore there appears to be no criticality placed on the arrangement as claimed such that it produces an unexpected result.
It would, therefore, have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to provide the system of Verhoeven in view of Kubo with such that the positive and negative ions are carried by the airflow through the condenser as an obvious matter of design choice within the skill of the art (see also In re Japikse, 181 F.2d 1019, 86 USPQ 70 (CCPA 1950) (Claims to a hydraulic power press which read on the prior art except with regard to the position of the starting switch were held unpatentable because shifting the position of the starting switch would not have modified the operation of the device.); In re Kuhle, 526 F.2d 553, 188 USPQ 7 (CCPA 1975) (the particular placement of a contact in a conductivity measuring device was held to be an obvious matter of design choice).).
Alternatively, Examiner notes that Abate et al. teaches a bi-polar ion generator positioned upstream of both a heating and cooling heat exchanger (see at least ion generator #3 positioned upstream of heat exchangers #5 and #6) such that the ions pass through both heat exchangers prior to discharge.
It would, therefore, have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art to provide the system of Verhoven and Kubo with such that the positive and negative ions are carried by the airflow through the condenser, since such positioning of an ion generator, i.e. upstream of both heating and cooling heat exchangers was old and well-known in the art, and would provide the predictable benefit of ensuring that the air supplied to both evaporator and condenser is sanitized.
Regarding claim 3, Verhoeven further discloses further comprising one or more sensors positioned in a bypass airflow path between the drain pan and the evaporator, the one or more sensors configured to sense one or more environmental conditions of ambient air upstream of the evaporator (see at least sensor #370; paragraph [0036]).
Regarding claim 4, Verhoeven further discloses wherein the attachment mechanism is further configured so that the cabinet is installed with access from only one side of the wall (see at least paragraph [0008]).
Regarding claim 5, Verhoeven further discloses further comprising a divider between the inlet and outlet (see at least divider #216), wherein the divider is configured to prevent the airflow entering the cabinet through the inlet from mixing with the airflow exiting the cabinet from the outlet (see at least paragraph [0037]).
Regarding claim 6, Verhoeven further discloses wherein the condenser comprises a plurality of layers of microchannel condenser coils (see at least paragraphs [0045]-[0046]).
Regarding claim 7, Verhoeven further discloses wherein an input of a first layer of a plurality of microchannel condenser coils receives a refrigerant flow from an output of a second layer of a plurality of microchannel condenser coils (see at least paragraph [0047]: #310A receives refrigerant from #310B).
Regarding claim 8, Verhoeven further discloses wherein the plurality of layers of microchannel condenser coils comprises: a first layer of a microchannel condenser coil located so as to receive the airflow after it has passed through the evaporator (see at least Figure 13, #310A receives air flow from #320); and a second layer of a microchannel condenser coil located proximate to the first layer of the microchannel condenser coil (see at least Figure 13, #310B), the second layer of the microchannel condenser coil located on a side of the first layer of the microchannel condenser coil so as to receive the airflow after it has passed through the first layer of the microchannel condenser coil (see at least Figure 13, #310B receives airflow via #310A).
Regarding claim 9, Verhoeven further discloses further comprising:
an electronic dehumidifier control unit (see at least computer system #1500) comprising a processor and memory storing instruction executable by the processor (see at least paragraph [0062]);
a wireless communication controller in operational communication between the electronic dehumidifier control unit and a wireless communication network (see at least communication interface #1510; paragraph [0068]); and
a software enabled remote user interface in communication through the wireless communication network in operational communication with and control of the electronic dehumidifier control unit, wherein status monitoring or operational setting control of the dehumidifier is enabled remotely from a dehumidifier installation location (see at least paragraph [0068]).
Regarding claim 23, Verhoeven further discloses wherein the cabinet is configured for blind installation from a front side only, without requiring access to a back side of the wall, and wherein the cabinet has a depth dimension that does not exceed a thickness of a standard 2x4 or 2x6 wall stud such that no portion of drywall on the back side of the wall neede be removed for installation (see at least paragraphs [0030]-[0031]).
Regarding claim 24, Verhoeven further discloses wherein the one or more flanges extend laterally from opposing side edges of the cabinet and define front-facing mounting holes for securing to the wall studs from the front side only (see at least paragraphs [0030]-[0031]; see Figure 3).
Claim(s) 2 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Verhoeven, or, in the alternative, Verhoeven in view of Kubo, and alternatively further in view of Abate et al., as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Smith et al. (US 2021/0236978).
Regarding claim 2, Verhoeven in view of Kubo, and alternatively further in view of Abate et al. does not disclose wherein the bi-polar ion generator comprises a needlepoint bi-polar ionization device that positive and negative ions without producing significant ozone.
Smith et al. teaches another air treatment device wherein the bi-polar ion generator comprises a needlepoint bi-polar ionization device that positive and negative ions without producing significant ozone (see at least paragraph [0003]).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to provide the device of Verhoeven in view of Kubo, and alternatively further in view of Abate et al. with wherein the bi-polar ion generator comprises a needlepoint bi-polar ionization device that positive and negative ions without producing significant ozone, as taught by Smith et al., to improve the device of Verhoeven in view of Kubo, and alternatively further in view of Abate et al. by purifying the air without producing lung irritants (see at least Smith et al. paragraph [0003]).
Claim(s) 16 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Verhoeven, or in the alternative Verhoeven in view of Kubo, and alternatively further in view of Abate et al., as applied to claim 6 above, and further in view of Crawford (US 2013/0255294: previously cited).
Regarding claim 16, Verhoeven is silent regarding wherein at least one of said plurality of layers of microchannel condenser coils are in fluid communication with a Schrader valve adapted to allow servicing, including recharging with refrigerant.
Crawford teaches another microchannel heat exchange system regarding wherein at least one layer of microchannel condenser coils is in fluid communication with a Schrader valve adapted to allow servicing, including recharging with refrigerant (see at least paragraph [0018]).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to provide the dehumidifier of Verhoeven with regarding wherein at least one of said plurality of layers of microchannel condenser coils are in fluid communication with a Schrader valve adapted to allow servicing, including recharging with refrigerant, as taught by Crawford, to improve the dehumidifier of Verhoeven by allowing for charging or discharging of refrigerant to the system (see at least Crawford paragraph [0018]).
Claim(s) 25 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Verhoeven (US 2019/0376700: previously cited) in view of Kubo (JP 2020-139635: English machine translation provided by Examiner) and, alternatively, further in view of Abate et al. (US 2013/0182364).
Regarding claim 25, Verhoeven discloses a dehumidifier (dehumidifier #110), comprising:
a cabinet (see at least cabinet #140) configured to be installed between studs in a wall, or on a wall (see at least paragraph [0030]-[0031]); an air diffuser (see at least diffuser #210) configured to diffuse an airflow from the dehumidifier along a surface of the wall, the air diffuser comprising an inlet, and an outlet above the inlet (see at least paragraph [0029]: Figure 1, inlet at base; outlets at top/sides); a compressor (see at least compressor #330); an evaporator installed within the cabinet above the compressor (see at least evaporator #320); a condenser installed within the cabinet above the evaporator (see at least condenser #310); an expansion device (see at least paragraph [0047]); a fan (see at least fan #410) installed between the evaporator and a back surface of the cabinet (se at least paragraph [0033]), the fan configured to generate an airflow that flows into the cabinet through the inlet of the air diffuser and out of the cabinet through the outlet of the air diffuser, the airflow flowing through the evaporator and condenser in order to provide dehumidification to the airflow (see at least paragraph [0032]).
Verhoeven does not disclose further comprising and a bi-polar ion generator positioned within the cabinet in a path of the airflow between the evaporator and the condenser, configured to release positive and negative ions into the airflow such that the positive and negative ions are carried by the airflow through the condenser and leave the dehumidifier when air exits the cabinet through the outlet of the air diffuser.
Kubo teaches another dehumidifier comprising: a bi-polar ion generator positioned within the cabinet in a path of the airflow between the evaporator and the condenser, configured to release positive and negative ions into the airflow (see at least translation: “In the cold air ventilation passage 14, the cold air blower 16 is arranged on the downstream side of the evaporator 10. The cold air blower 16 is composed of, for example, a horizontally placed sirocco fan, sucks air from below the casing, and blows air from the front of the casing toward the first air outlet 2. Further, for example, an ion generator (not shown) for generating positive ions and negative ions is provided in the cold air ventilation passage 14, and positive and negative ions are released into the room together with the cold air.”).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to provide the dehumidifier of Verhoeven with further comprising: a bi-polar ion generator positioned within the cabinet in a path of the airflow between the evaporator and the condenser, configured to release positive and negative ions into the airflow, such that the negative and positive ions leave the dehumidifier when air exits the cabinet through the outlet of the air diffuser, as taught by Kubo, to improve the dehumidifier of Verhoeven by reducing contaminants in the airflow.
Verhoeven in view of Kubo does not explicitly disclose are carried by the airflow through the condenser, though examiner notes that path #14 of Kubo goes through both evaporator and condenser.
There is no evidence of record that establishes that such that the positive and negative ions are carried by the airflow through the condenser would result in a difference in function of the Verhoeven in view of Kubo system. Further, a person having ordinary skill in the art, being faced with modifying the system of Verhoeven in view of Kubo, would have reasonable expectation of success in making such a modification and it appears that the system would function as intended being given the claimed arrangement. Lastly, Applicant has not disclosed that the claimed arrangement solves any stated problem, indicating that “[t]he ion generator can be present at any point in the air flow in the dehumidifier, and it typically located in front of the fan, between the evaporator and the condenser coil.” (see paragraph [0082]), and therefore there appears to be no criticality placed on the arrangement as claimed such that it produces an unexpected result.
It would, therefore, have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to provide the system of Verhoeven in view of Kubo with such that the positive and negative ions are carried by the airflow through the condenser as an obvious matter of design choice within the skill of the art (see also In re Japikse, 181 F.2d 1019, 86 USPQ 70 (CCPA 1950) (Claims to a hydraulic power press which read on the prior art except with regard to the position of the starting switch were held unpatentable because shifting the position of the starting switch would not have modified the operation of the device.); In re Kuhle, 526 F.2d 553, 188 USPQ 7 (CCPA 1975) (the particular placement of a contact in a conductivity measuring device was held to be an obvious matter of design choice).).
Alternatively, Examiner notes that Abate et al. teaches a bi-polar ion generator positioned upstream of both a heating and cooling heat exchanger (see at least ion generator #3 positioned upstream of heat exchangers #5 and #6) such that the ions pass through both heat exchangers prior to discharge.
It would, therefore, have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art to provide the system of Verhoven and Kubo with such that the positive and negative ions are carried by the airflow through the condenser, since such positioning of an ion generator, i.e. upstream of both heating and cooling heat exchangers was old and well-known in the art, and would provide the predictable benefit of ensuring that the air supplied to both evaporator and condenser is sanitized.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/TAVIA SULLENS/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3763