DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1 and 3-9 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ueda (US 20200171975) in view of Satoh (US 20190348724).
Regarding claim 1, Ueda teaches a vehicle configured to perform external charging in which a battery in the vehicle is charged with supplied power that is supplied from a power supply outside the vehicle (figure 1 item 1 shows a vehicle with battery. Paragraph [0088] teaches wherein the vehicle includes a battery which may be charged externally via charging plug or port on the vehicle),
the vehicle comprising: the battery (shown in figure 1 item 6 defined as battery modules and figure 2 item 22 as a battery disposed in each module);
a temperature sensor configured to detect a temperature of the battery (figure 2 shows a temperature sensor item 11 defined in paragraph [0050] detects the temperature of the battery item 22);
a temperature raising device configured to raise the temperature of the battery (shown in figure 2 item 15 defined in paragraph [0049] and [0056] as a heater which raises the temperature or heats the battery); and
a control device configured to control the external charging and the temperature raising device (shown in figure 2 wherein a control device, interpreted as an Electronic Control Unit (ECU) item 13 which controls the heating controller item 14 and the battery controller item 12 to control external charging and temperature raising device item 15),
wherein: the control device is configured to, in a period in which the temperature of the battery is lower than a reference temperature during execution of the external charging, execute power storage amount control for raising the temperature of the battery by driving the temperature raising device while keeping a power storage amount of the battery within a predetermined range (figure 4 defined in paragraphs [0086] – [0089] shows wherein step ST1 obtains a battery temperature and ST3 determines if the vehicle is being charged. When the vehicle is determined to being charged, it is determined whether the battery temperature is lower than a reference value in step ST9, defined as Battery Temp ≤ Normal start temp, wherein a reference temperature is a “Normal start Temp.” If the battery is determined to be less than this reference threshold, a heating process begins by driving the temperature raising device to heat the battery. Figure 3 shows wherein the power storage amount of the battery, interpreted as remaining capacity and State of Charge (SOC) values are compared to temperature values so that the battery is heated within a predetermined State of Charge range. Figures 5 and 6 show wherein the temperature and State of Charge values correlate with each other to maintain the battery in a predetermined storage amount while heating the battery to desired limits); and
the control device is configured to, when the supplied power is smaller than a possible minimum value of consumed power of the temperature raising device in the power storage amount control, keep the power storage amount of the battery within the predetermined range while intermittently operating the temperature raising device with the battery receiving the supplied power continuously (Figure 3 shows wherein the power storage amount of the battery, interpreted as remaining capacity and State of Charge (SOC) values are compared to temperature values so that the battery is heated within a predetermined State of Charge range. Figures 5 and 6 show wherein the temperature and State of Charge values correlate with each other to maintain the battery in a predetermined storage amount while heating the battery to desired limits. Paragraph [0059] teaches wherein the battery item 22 is heated in a period of time from start to an end of heating. Figures 3 and 4 and Paragraph [0085] teaches wherein the battery is heated intermittently by repeated performing a heating control of the battery in a cycle in accordance with the SOC ).
Ueda does not explicitly teach the control device is configured to compare the supplied power with a possible minimum value of the consumed power of the temperature raising device in the power storage amount control.
Satoh discloses wherein the control device is configured to compare the supplied power with a possible minimum value of the consumed power of the temperature raising device in the power storage amount control (figure 3 steps S3 and S4and paragraph [0059] discloses wherein the control device, ECU 18 causes the battery charger to start producing output, which includes starting the temperature raising device, PTC heater 13. The control device compares the value of the supplied power to the battery to the consumed power of the PTC heater).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the charging system of the Ueda reference with the charging system of the Satoh so that the temperature of the battery is effectively managed so that charging time is shortened.
The suggestion/motivation for combination can be found in the Satoh reference in paragraph [0007] wherein the charging time is shortened by managing the temperature of the battery during charging.
Ueda Figure 2 shows a vehicle battery with a heater and temperature sensor
Regarding claim 3, Ueda teaches the vehicle according to claim 1, wherein the control device is configured to, when the supplied power is larger than a possible maximum value of the consumed power in the power storage amount control, intermittently charge the battery to keep the power storage amount of the battery within the predetermined range while operating the temperature raising device at all times (Figures 5 and 6 show wherein the temperature and State of Charge values correlate with each other to maintain the battery in a predetermined storage amount while heating the battery to desired limits. Paragraph [0059] teaches wherein the battery item 22 is heated in a period of time from start to an end of heating. Figures 3 and 4 and Paragraph [0085] teaches wherein the battery is heated intermittently by repeated performing a heating control of the battery in a cycle in accordance with the SOC ).
Regarding claim 4, Ueda teaches the vehicle according to claim 1, wherein the control device is configured to, when the supplied power is smaller than a possible maximum value of the consumed power and larger than the possible minimum value of the consumed power in the power storage amount control, exclusively execute one of (i) charging of the battery with the supplied power and (ii) an operation of the temperature raising device with electric power in the battery without reception of the supplied power, to keep the power storage amount of the battery within the predetermined range (Figure 3 shows wherein the power storage amount of the battery, interpreted as remaining capacity and State of Charge (SOC) values are compared to temperature values so that the battery is heated within a predetermined State of Charge range. Figures 5 and 6 show wherein the temperature and State of Charge values correlate with each other to maintain the battery in a predetermined storage amount while heating the battery to desired limits. Paragraph [0059] teaches wherein the battery item 22 is heated in a period of time from start to an end of heating. Figures 3 and 4 and Paragraph [0085] teaches wherein the battery is heated intermittently by repeated performing a heating control of the battery in a cycle in accordance with the SOC ).
Regarding claim 5, Ueda teaches the vehicle according to claim 1, wherein an upper limit value of the predetermined range is set, based on the supplied power and the consumed power, to a value that does not cause overcharging of the battery due to an increase in charging power of the battery in association with a stop of the temperature raising device during execution of the power storage amount control (Figure 3 shows wherein the power storage amount of the battery, interpreted as remaining capacity and State of Charge (SOC) values are compared to temperature values so that the battery is heated within a predetermined State of Charge range. Figures 5 and 6 show wherein the temperature and State of Charge values correlate with each other to maintain the battery in a predetermined storage amount while heating the battery to desired limits. Paragraph [0059] teaches wherein the battery item 22 is heated in a period of time from start to an end of heating. Figures 3 and 4 and Paragraph [0085] teaches wherein the battery is heated intermittently by repeated performing a heating control of the battery in a cycle in accordance with the SOC).
Regarding claim 6, Ueda teaches the method for external charging in which a battery in a vehicle is charged with supplied power that is supplied from a power supply outside the vehicle, a temperature of the battery being raisable by a temperature raising device (figure 1 item 1 shows a vehicle with battery. Paragraph [0088] teaches wherein the vehicle includes a battery which may be charged externally via charging plug or port on the vehicle), the method comprising:
executing, in a period in which the temperature of the battery is lower than a reference temperature during execution of the external charging, power storage amount control for raising the temperature of the battery by driving the temperature raising device while keeping a power storage amount of the battery within a predetermined range (figure 4 defined in paragraphs [0086] – [0089] shows wherein step ST1 obtains a battery temperature and ST3 determines if the vehicle is being charged. When the vehicle is determined to being charged, it is determined whether the battery temperature is lower than a reference value in step ST9, defined as Battery Temp ≤ Normal start temp, wherein a reference temperature is a “Normal start Temp.” If the battery is determined to be less than this reference threshold, a heating process begins by driving the temperature raising device to heat the battery. Figure 3 shows wherein the power storage amount of the battery, interpreted as remaining capacity and State of Charge (SOC) values are compared to temperature values so that the battery is heated within a predetermined State of Charge range. Figures 5 and 6 show wherein the temperature and State of Charge values correlate with each other to maintain the battery in a predetermined storage amount while heating the battery to desired limits); and
keeping, when the supplied power is smaller than a possible minimum value of consumed power of the temperature raising device in the power storage amount control, the power storage amount of the battery within the predetermined range while intermittently operating the temperature raising device with the battery receiving the supplied power continuously (Figure 3 shows wherein the power storage amount of the battery, interpreted as remaining capacity and State of Charge (SOC) values are compared to temperature values so that the battery is heated within a predetermined State of Charge range. Figures 5 and 6 show wherein the temperature and State of Charge values correlate with each other to maintain the battery in a predetermined storage amount while heating the battery to desired limits. Paragraph [0059] teaches wherein the battery item 22 is heated in a period of time from start to an end of heating. Figures 3 and 4 and Paragraph [0085] teaches wherein the battery is heated intermittently by repeated performing a heating control of the battery in a cycle in accordance with the SOC).
Ueda does not explicitly teach the control device is configured to compare the supplied power with a possible minimum value of the consumed power of the temperature raising device in the power storage amount control.
Satoh discloses wherein the control device is configured to compare the supplied power with a possible minimum value of the consumed power of the temperature raising device in the power storage amount control (figure 3 steps S3 and S4and paragraph [0059] discloses wherein the control device, ECU 18 causes the battery charger to start producing output, which includes starting the temperature raising device, PTC heater 13. The control device compares the value of the supplied power to the battery to the consumed power of the PTC heater).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the charging system of the Ueda reference with the charging system of the Satoh so that the temperature of the battery is effectively managed so that charging time is shortened.
The suggestion/motivation for combination can be found in the Satoh reference in paragraph [0007] wherein the charging time is shortened by managing the temperature of the battery during charging.
Regarding claim 7, Ueda teaches the method according to claim 6, wherein the external charging and the temperature raising device are controlled by a control device provided in the vehicle (shown in figure 2 wherein the charging and temperature is controlled by the ECU item 13 which is provided internally inside the vehicle).
Regarding claim 8, Ueda teaches the vehicle according to claim 2, but does not explicitly teach wherein the control device is configured to, when the power storage amount of the battery reaches an upper limit value of the predetermined range in the power storage amount control, stop charging the battery and use the supplied power to drive the temperature raising device.
Satoh teaches wherein the control device is configured to, when the power storage amount of the battery reaches an upper limit value of the predetermined range in the power storage amount control, stop charging the battery and use the supplied power to drive the temperature raising device (figure 3 and paragraphs [0065] – [0067] wherein the battery has reached a threshold, fully charged, and the charger is stopped charging the battery. Paragraph [0070] discloses wherein the battery charger supplies power to the temperature raising device, the PTC heater 13).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the charging system of the Ueda reference with the charging system of the Satoh so that the temperature of the battery is effectively managed so that charging time is shortened.
The suggestion/motivation for combination can be found in the Satoh reference in paragraph [0007] wherein the charging time is shortened by managing the temperature of the battery during charging.
Regarding claim 9, Ueda teaches the vehicle according to claim 8, but does not explicitly teach wherein the control device is configured to, when there is a shortage of the supplied power to drive the temperature raising device, compensate the supplied power with electric power from the battery (figure 3 and paragraphs [0065] – [0067] wherein the battery has reached a threshold, fully charged, and the charger is stopped charging the battery. Paragraph [0070] discloses wherein the battery charger supplies power to the temperature raising device, the PTC heater 13).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the charging system of the Ueda reference with the charging system of the Satoh so that the temperature of the battery is effectively managed so that charging time is shortened.
The suggestion/motivation for combination can be found in the Satoh reference in paragraph [0007] wherein the charging time is shortened by managing the temperature of the battery during charging.
2. Claim 2 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ueda (US 20200171975) in view of Satoh (US 20190348724) as applied to claim 1 and in further view of Nagakura (US 20130082519).
Regarding claim 2, Ueda teaches the vehicle according to claim 1, but does not explicitly teach wherein the control device is configured to, when the power storage amount of the battery decreases to a lower limit value of the predetermined range in the power storage amount control, stop the temperature raising device and charge the battery with the supplied power.
Nagakura teaches wherein the control device is configured to, when the power storage amount of the battery decreases to a lower limit value of the predetermined range in the power storage amount control, stop the temperature raising device and charge the battery with the supplied power (defined in paragraph [0058] wherein the when the battery reaches a predetermined temperature, the heater, item PTC 5, is turned off and the battery is then charged).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the charging system of the Ueda reference with the charging system of the Nagakura reference so that a battery is not damaged by overheating
The suggestion/motivation for combination can be found in the Nagakura reference in paragraph [0007] wherein the battery is prevented from being damaged.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments, see Arguments/Remarks filed 12/12/2025 with respect to the rejections of claims 1, 3 – 9 under Ueda have been fully considered and are persuasive. Therefore, the rejection has been withdrawn. However, upon further consideration, a new ground(s) of rejection is made in view of Ueda in view of Satoh (US 20190348724).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Us 20230067827 A1 Battery Charging System Bernatchez; Gabriel Et Al.
Us 20220185135 A1 Intelligent Preconditioning Langton; Adam Et Al.
Us 20210126292 A1 Power Consumption Control Device Ogaki; Toru Et Al.
Us 20210135481 A1 Auxiliary Power Source Sugisawa; Yuuki
Us 20190229382 A1 Battery System For Controlling Battery Machida; Kiyohito Et Al.
Us 20230020541 A1 Thermal Conditioning Nordholm; Linus Et Al.
Us 20230159015 A1 Pre-Conditioning System Lee; Joong Woo Et Al.
Us 20190067761 A1 Lithium-Ion Battery Pack Catolico; Clarence Joy Villamor Et Al.
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
ALEXIS BOATENG PACHECO
Primary Examiner
Art Unit 2859
/ALEXIS B PACHECO/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2859