DETAILED ACTION
Response to Amendment
Claims 1, 5-7, 12, 16-17, and 21-23 are amended.
Claims 1-24 are pending.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1-24 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claims 1, 12, and 21 recite “wherein the set point corresponds to an SOC value increased by a constant SOC interval from an SOC value at a charging start point”, “wherein the set point is an SOC value increased by a predetermined SOC interval from an SOC value of a charging start point;” and “wherein the set point is an SOC value increased by a predetermined SOC interval from an SOC value of a charging start point in the CC charging mode”, however it is unclear if the two SOC values are the same or different values as they are named the same but appear to refer to different SOC values, but could technically be the same value. For the purposes of examining they are different values.
Further, regarding “wherein the set point corresponds to an SOC value increased by a constant SOC interval”, and “wherein the set point is an SOC value increased by a predetermined SOC interval” it is unclear how a state of charge value is being increased by an “interval” as in interval is a range or period. Looking at applicants’ specification Par. 88 describes the first charging interval based on a constant SOC interval (ASOC) as an increase of “20%” of the charging start point, which is not a constant as it refers to an increase of 20% from initial SOC which is a variable, as the value of the initial SOC changes, but presumably this refers to the time interval it would take to charge the SOC to 20%, which said time interval would again be a variable not a constant. For the purposes of examining ‘increased by a constant/predetermined interval’ is considered to refer to a period at which an increase happens, and “constant” is considered to refer to an expected amount.
Claims 2-11, 13-20, and 22-24 are rejected based on their inherited deficiencies.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1, 5-12, 16-17, 20-21 and 23-24 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Nakayama (US 9846201 B2).
In claim 1, Nakayama discloses a method (see claim 1), the method comprising: charging a battery (Fig. 1, 701) in a constant current (CC) charging mode (Column 22 Line 65 – Column 23 Line 13 “charged by a constant current”); iteratively updating a full state of charge (SOC) value of the battery while in the CC charging mode (Column 4 Lines 24-31 “full charge capacity outputted” “a voltage-based state of charge and a current-based state of charge compared with each other”, Column 24 equation 8, Lines 44-67 examiner considers before charging starts with a constant voltage to be still in said CC charging mode); when a measured voltage value of the battery is determined to be greater than or equal to a cutoff voltage value (Column 22 Line 65 – Column 23 Line 13 “reaches a predetermined limit voltage V_lim”), switching from the CC charging mode to a constant voltage (CV) charging mode and charging the battery in the CV charging mode (Column 22 Line 65 – Column 23 Line 13 “charged at the limit voltage V_lim, which is a constant voltage”); and iteratively updating the full SOC value while in the CV charging mode (Column 7 Lines 7-30); wherein the iteratively updating of the full SOC value while in the CC charging mode comprises determining whether the charging of the battery in the CC charging mode has reached a set point for updating the full SOC value (Column 24, Lines 44-67, equation 8, “change-point”);
wherein the set point is an SOC value increased by a predetermined SOC interval from an SOC value of a charging start point (Fig. 12, 601, 605, Column 27 Lines 1-20 ’SOC_change calculated… coincides with the limit voltage V_lim, it is an actually measured value of the change-point state of charge SOC_change’, Column 25 Line 55 – Column 26 Line 5 “voltage V_lim being the closed-circuit voltage CCV of the battery 702 is a constant voltage”);
and when the charging of the battery in the CC charging mode has reached the point, updating the full SOC value while in the CC charging mode (Column 7-8 details about charge operation, corrected value of the full capacity, Column 24 equation 8, Lines 44-67), and wherein the last updated full SOC value in the CC charging mode is set as an initial full SOC value for CV charging mode (Column 7-8, Column 21 Line 56 – Column 22 Line 11, Column 23 Lines 19-25, Column 25 Lines 9-30, Equation 10 “reads the full charge capacity Qmax, and the state-of-charge initial value SOC_ini,”, “calculates a charge period Tcv for the constant voltage charge (CV charge)” see Eq. 10 uses Qmax from previous Eq. 8).
In claim 5 Nakayama discloses determining whether charging the battery has reached a start point by comparing a first measured current value of the battery being charged in the CV charging mode to a preset current associated with the start point (See Fig. 10); when the charging the battery reaches the start point, setting a point in the CV charging mode for updating the full SOC value (Column 8 Lines 39-51); determining whether the charging the battery has reached the set point in the CV charging mode (Column 8 Lines 39-51); when the charging the battery reaches the set point in the CV charging mode, predicting a full charge time of the battery and predicting a residual SOC that remains until the battery is fully charged, based on the predicted full charge time (See Fig. 12, Eq. 7-12); and updating the full SOC value based on the predicted residual SOC (See Fig. 12, Eq. 7-12).
In claim 6 Nakayama discloses wherein the iteratively updating the full SOC value in the CV charging mode comprises: setting a subsequent point for updating the full SOC value (Column 18 Lines 7-31); when the battery reaches the set subsequent point, iteratively predicting a full charge time of the battery (Column 18 Lines 7-31), and iteratively predicting a residual SOC that remains until the battery is fully charged, based on the iteratively predicted full charge time (Column 18 Lines 7-31, See Fig. 12, Eq. 7-12); and iteratively updating the full SOC value based on the iteratively predicted residual SOC (Column 18 Lines 7-31, See Fig. 12, Eq. 7-12).
In claim 7 Nakayama discloses all of claim 6. Nakayama further discloses wherein the predicting the residual SOC comprises: predicting the full charge time based on a first time value of a time at which charging the battery has reached the start point (Column 23 Lines 14-37 “initial value” “remaining charge time”), a second time value of a time at which charging the battery has reached the set point in the CV charging mode (Column 24 Line 50-Column 25 Line 17 “charge period”), a transformed value of the first measured current value (Column 24 Line 50-Column 25 Line 17 “SOC change”), a transformed value of a result value derived by subtracting a predetermined value from the first measured current value (Column 24 Line 50-Column 25 Line 17 see eq. 8 and 9), and a transformed value of a cutoff current value (Column 26 eq. 11); and predicting the residual SOC based on the predicted full charge time, the second time value, the result value, and the cutoff current value (See Fig. 12, Eq. 7-12).
In claim 8 Nakayama discloses all of claim 5. Nakayama further discloses wherein the transformed value of the first measured current value, the transformed value of the result value, and the transformed value of the cutoff current value are values obtained through a logarithmic transformation of the first measured current value, the result value, and the cutoff current value (See Fig. 10, 11, Column 26 Lines 17-45, Column 25 Lines 55-67, examiner notes applicants specification Par. 126 states “a cutoff current value, through a transformation method (e.g., a log scale) that transforms non-linearity into linearity” looking at Fig. 10, the logarithmic curve 650 is transformed using a gradient into linearity as shown in Fig. 11 which is considered to be said “logarithmic transformation”).
In claim 9 Nakayama discloses all of claim 7. Nakayama further discloses wherein the predicting the full charge time comprises: calculating a first difference value between the transformed value of the cutoff current value and the transformed value of the first measured current value (See Fig. 12, Eq. 7-12); calculating a second difference value between the transformed value of the result value and the transformed value of the first measured current value (See Fig. 12, Eq. 7-12); calculating a third difference value between the second time value and the first time value (Eq. 9, 10, 13); and predicting the full charge time using the calculated first difference value, the calculated second difference value, the calculated third difference value, and the first time value (Eq. 9, 10, 13).
In claim 10 Nakayama discloses wherein a method of updating the full SOC value in the CC charging mode differs from a method of updating the full SOC value in the CV charging mode (See Fig. 10, Eq. 7-12).
In claim 11 Nakayama discloses updating an absolute SOC (ASOC) of the battery using a battery model (See Eq. 5); determining whether the battery is fully charged (Eq. 11, Column 23 Lines 14-25); when the battery is determined to be fully charged, determining a relative SOC (RSOC) of the battery using a lastly updated full SOC value, the updated ASOC, and an unusable SOC (Fig. 11, Eq. 11, Column 23 Lines 14-25); and displaying an indication of the determined RSOC (Column 2 Lines 40-46, Column 11 Lines 1-17).
In claim 12 Nakayama discloses a method (see claim 1), the method comprising: charging a battery (Fig. 1, 701) in a constant current (CC) charging mode (Column 22 Line 65 – Column 23 Line 13 “charged by a constant current”); updating a full state of charge (SOC) value of the battery while in the CC charging mode (Column 4 Lines 24-31 “full charge capacity outputted” “a voltage-based state of charge and a current-based state of charge compared with each other”, Column 24 equation 8, Lines 44-67); when a measured voltage value of the battery is determined to be greater than or equal to a cutoff voltage value (Column 22 Line 65 – Column 23 Line 13 “reaches a predetermined limit voltage V_lim”), switching from the CC charging mode to a constant voltage (CV) charging mode and charging the battery in the CV charging mode (Column 22 Line 65 – Column 23 Line 13 “charged at the limit voltage V_lim, which is a constant voltage”); and updating in association with the CV charging mode, the full SOC value according to a second method that is different from the first method (Column 7 Lines 7-30; See Fig. 10, Eq. 7-12); wherein the iteratively updating of the full SOC value while in the CC charging mode comprises determining whether the charging of the battery in the CC charging mode has reached a set point for updating the full SOC value (Column 24, Lines 44-67, equation 8, “change-point”); wherein the set point is an SOC value increased by a predetermined SOC interval from an SOC value of a charging start point (Fig. 12, 601, 605, Column 27 Lines 1-20 ’SOC_change calculated… coincides with the limit voltage V_lim, it is an actually measured value of the change-point state of charge SOC_change’, Column 25 Line 55 – Column 26 Line 5 “voltage V_lim being the closed-circuit voltage CCV of the battery 702 is a constant voltage”);
and when the charging of the battery in the CC charging mode has reached the point, updating the full SOC value while in the CC charging mode (Column 7-8 details about charge operation, corrected value of the full capacity, Column 24 equation 8, Lines 44-67), and wherein the last updated full SOC value in the CC charging mode is set as an initial full SOC value for CV charging mode (Column 7-8, Column 21 Line 56 – Column 22 Line 11, Column 23 Lines 19-25, Column 25 Lines 9-30, Equation 10 “reads the full charge capacity Qmax, and the state-of-charge initial value SOC_ini,”, “calculates a charge period Tcv for the constant voltage charge (CV charge)” see Eq. 10 uses Qmax from previous Eq. 8).
In claim 16 Nakayama discloses wherein the updating the full SOC value in the second method comprises: determining whether charging the battery has reached a start point by comparing a first measured current value of the battery being charged in the CV charging mode to a current value at the start point (See Fig. 10); when the charging the battery reaches the start point, setting a point in the CV charging mode for updating the full SOC value (Column 8 Lines 39-51); determining whether the charging the battery has reached the set point in the CV charging mode (Column 8 Lines 39-51); when the charging the battery reaches the set point in the CV charging mode, predicting a full charge time of the battery and predicting a residual SOC that remains until the battery is fully charged, based on the predicted full charge time (See Fig. 12, Eq. 7-12); and updating the full SOC value based on the predicted residual SOC (See Fig. 12, Eq. 7-12).
In claim 17 Nakayama discloses all of claim 16. Nakayama further discloses wherein the predicting the residual SOC comprises: predicting the full charge time based on a first time value of a time at which charging the battery has reached the preset start point (Column 23 Lines 14-37 “initial value” “remaining charge time”), a second time value of a time at which charging the battery has reached the set point in the CV charging mode (Column 24 Line 50-Column 25 Line 17 “charge period”), a transformed value of the first measured current value (Column 24 Line 50-Column 25 Line 17 “SOC change”), a transformed value of a result value derived by subtracting a predetermined value from the first measured current value (Column 24 Line 50-Column 25 Line 17 see eq. 8 and 9), and a transformed value of the cutoff current value (Column 26 eq. 11); and predicting the residual SOC based on the predicted full charge time, the second time value, the result value, and the cutoff current value (See Fig. 12, Eq. 7-12).
In claim 20 Nakayama discloses updating an absolute SOC (ASOC) of the battery using a battery model (See Eq. 5); determining whether the battery is fully charged (Eq. 11, Column 23 Lines 14-25); when the battery is determined to be fully charged, determining a relative SOC (RSOC) of the battery using a lastly updated full SOC value, the updated ASOC, and an unusable SOC (Fig. 11, Eq. 11, Column 23 Lines 14-25); and displaying an indication of the determined RSOC (Column 2 Lines 40-46, Column 11 Lines 1-17).
In claim 21, Nakayama discloses an electronic device (Fig. 1), comprising: a battery (Fig. 1 701); a charger configured to charge a battery (Fig. 1, 701) in a constant current (CC) charging mode (Column 22 Line 65 – Column 23 Line 13 “charged by a constant current”); and charge the battery in a constant voltage (CV) charging mode when a condition is determined to be satisfied (Column 22 Line 65 – Column 23 Line 13 “reaches a predetermined limit voltage V_lim”, “charged at the limit voltage V_lim, which is a constant voltage”); a first circuit (Fig. 1, 718) configured to update a full state of charge (SOC) value of the battery according to a first method while in the CC charging mode (Column 4 Lines 24-31 “full charge capacity outputted” “a voltage-based state of charge and a current-based state of charge compared with each other”, Column 24 equation 8, Lines 44-67), wherein the last updated full SOC value in the CC charging mode is set as an initial full SOC value for CV charging mode (Column 21 Line 56 – Column 22 Line 11, Column 23 Lines 19-25 Examiner notes that the “full” SOC value will always be 100% as SOC is a ratio of the currently available energy to the maximum energy a battery can store) update the full SOC of the battery according to a second method while in the CV charging mode (Column 7 Lines 7-30, Column 21 Line 56 – Column 22 Line 11, Column 23 Lines 19-25), and determine a relative SOC (RSOC) of the battery using a lastly updated value of the full SOC value in the CV charging mode (Column 7-8, Column 21 Line 56 – Column 22 Line 11, Column 23 Lines 19-25, Column 25 Lines 9-30, Equation 10 “reads the full charge capacity Qmax, and the state-of-charge initial value SOC_ini,”, “calculates a charge period Tcv for the constant voltage charge (CV charge)” see Eq. 10 uses Qmax from previous Eq. 8), an absolute SOC (ASOC) of the battery, and an unusable SOC (Fig. 11, Eq. 11, Column 23 Lines 14-25); and a processor configured to receive the determined RSOC from the first circuit and provide an indication of the received RSOC (Fig. 1, 722, 720, Column 2 Lines 40-46, Column 11 Lines 1-17); wherein, in the first method, the first circuit is configured to: determine whether the charging of the battery in the CC charging mode has reached a set point for updating the full SOC value (Column 24, Lines 44-67, equation 8, “change-point”);
wherein the set point is an SOC value increased by a predetermined SOC interval from an SOC value of a charging start point in the CC charging mode (Fig. 12, 601, 605, Column 27 Lines 1-20 ’SOC_change calculated… coincides with the limit voltage V_lim, it is an actually measured value of the change-point state of charge SOC_change’, Column 25 Line 55 – Column 26 Line 5 “voltage V_lim being the closed-circuit voltage CCV of the battery 702 is a constant voltage”);
and when the charging of the battery in the CC charging mode has reached the point, updating the full SOC value while in the CC charging mode (Column 7-8 details about charge operation, corrected value of the full capacity, Column 24 equation 8, Lines 44-67).
In claim 23 Nakayama discloses wherein, in the second method, the first circuit is configured to: determining whether charging the battery has reached a start point by comparing a first measured current value of the battery being charged in the CV charging mode to a current value at the preset start point (See Fig. 10); when the charging the battery reaches the start point, setting a point in the CV charging mode for updating the full SOC value (Column 8 Lines 39-51); determining whether the charging the battery has reached the set point in the CV charging mode (Column 8 Lines 39-51); when the charging the battery reaches the set point in the CV charging mode, predicting a full charge time of the battery and predicting a residual SOC that remains until the battery is fully charged, based on the predicted full charge time (See Fig. 12, Eq. 7-12); and updating the full SOC value based on the predicted residual SOC (See Fig. 12, Eq. 7-12).
In claim 24 Nakayama discloses iteratively update the full SOC value of the battery according to a first method while in the CC charging mode (Column 4 Lines 24-31 “full charge capacity outputted” “a voltage-based state of charge and a current-based state of charge compared with each other”, Column 24 equation 8, Lines 44-67), update the full SOC of the battery according to a second method while in the CV charging mode (Column 7 Lines 7-30).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 2-4, 13-15, 18-19 and 22 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Nakayama in view of CHA (US 20190123394 A1).
In claim 2, Nakayama discloses herein the iteratively updating the full SOC value in the CC charging mode comprises: when determined that the charging of the battery has reached the point, calculating a resistance value of the battery (Column 12 Eq. 4, Lines 55-65 Column 19 Lines Eq. 6, 1-20, Column 23 Eq. 7, Lines 43-62) for a first interval before the set point (See Fig. 10 examiner considers the time before switching to Icv to be said interval); updating the full SOC value based on correlation information correlating SOC and open- circuit voltage (OCV), the calculated resistance value, a cutoff current value, and the cutoff voltage value (Column 12 Eq. 4, Lines 55-65 Column 19 Lines Eq. 6, 1-20, Column 23 Eq. 7, Lines 43-62); setting a subsequent point for updating the full SOC value (Fig. 12, Column 7 Lines 7-30); and when the battery reaches the set subsequent point, iteratively updating the full SOC value based on a second resistance value (Column 19 Lines Eq. 6, 1-20) of the battery for a second interval between the set point and the subsequent point (See Fig. 10 examiner considers the time after switching to Icv to be said interval), the correlation information, the cutoff current value, and the cutoff voltage value (Column 12 Eq. 4, Lines 55-65 Column 19 Lines Eq. 6, 1-20, Column 23 Eq. 7, Lines 43-62).
Nakayama does not explicitly disclose calculating a first average resistance value of the battery for an interval before the point; and a second average resistance value of the battery (Emphasis added).
CHA teaches calculating a first average resistance value of the battery for an interval before the point (Par. 17-18 “average internal resistance value” “the predefined time”), a second average resistance value of the battery (See Fig. 4 430 to 470 to 430), updating the full SOC value based on a second average resistance value (Par. 17-18)
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was filled to calculating a first average resistance value of the battery for an interval before the point and a second average resistance value of the battery, andupdating the full SOC value based on a second average resistance value based on the teachings of CHA in combination with the disclosure of Nakayama in order to correct for measurement error of a current sensor over time (CHA par. 22) thus leading to a more accurate system.
In claim 3, Nakayama does not explicitly disclose wherein the calculating the average resistance value comprises: at points during the first interval, calculating a resistance value using a measured voltage value, an estimated OCV value, and a measured electrical current value of the battery; and calculating the average resistance value by averaging the calculated resistance values.
CHA teaches wherein the calculating the average resistance value comprises: at points during the first interval, calculating a resistance value using a measured voltage value, an estimated OCV value, and a measured electrical current value of the battery (Par. 17-18); and calculating the average resistance value by averaging the calculated resistance values (Par. 17-18).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was filled wherein the calculating the average resistance value comprises: at points during the first interval, calculating a resistance value using a measured voltage value, an estimated OCV value, and a measured electrical current value of the battery; and calculating the average resistance value by averaging the calculated resistance values based on the teachings of CHA in combination with the disclosure of Nakayama in order to correct for measurement error of a current sensor over time (CHA par. 22) thus leading to a more accurate system.
In claim 4, Nakayama discloses multiplying the calculated resistance value with the cutoff current value (Column 12 Eq. 3); predicting, as an OCV of the battery when the battery is fully charged, a difference value between the cutoff voltage value and a result of the multiplying (Column 23 Eq. 7); and determining an SOC corresponding to the predicted OCV using the correlation information (Column 26 Lines 44-67), and updating the full SOC value based on the determined SOC (Column 26 Lines 21-50).
Nakayama does not explicitly disclose multiplying the average resistance value with the cutoff current value (Emphasis added).
CHA teaches the calculated average resistance value as described above.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was filled that multiplying the average resistance value with the cutoff current value; based on the teachings of CHA in combination with the disclosure of Nakayama in order to correct for measurement error of a current sensor over time (CHA par. 22) thus leading to a more accurate system.
In claim 13, Nakayama discloses herein the updating the full SOC value according to the first method comprises: when determined that the charging of the battery has reached the point, calculating a first resistance value of the battery (Column 12 Eq. 4, Lines 55-65 Column 19 Lines Eq. 6, 1-20, Column 23 Eq. 7, Lines 43-62) for a first interval before the set point (See Fig. 10 examiner considers the time before switching to Icv to be said interval); updating the full SOC value based on correlation information correlating SOC value and open-circuit voltage (OCV) value, the calculated resistance value, a cutoff current value, and the cutoff voltage value (Column 12 Eq. 4, Lines 55-65 Column 19 Lines Eq. 6, 1-20, Column 23 Eq. 7, Lines 43-62); setting a subsequent point for updating the full SOC value (Fig. 12, Column 7 Lines 7-30).
Nakayama does not explicitly disclose calculating an first average resistance value of the battery for an interval before the point; (Emphasis added).
CHA teaches calculating a first average resistance value of the battery for an interval before the point (Par. 17-18 “average internal resistance value” “the predefined time”), updating the full SOC value based on the first average resistance value (Par. 17-18).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was filled to calculating a first average resistance value of the battery for an interval before the point based on the teachings of CHA in combination with the disclosure of Nakayama in order to correct for measurement error of a current sensor over time (CHA par. 22) thus leading to a more accurate system.
In claim 14, Nakayama does not explicitly disclose wherein the calculating the average resistance value comprises: at points during the first interval, calculating a resistance value using a measured voltage value, an estimated OCV value, and a measured current value of the battery; and calculating the average resistance value by averaging the calculated resistance values.
CHA teaches wherein the calculating the average resistance value comprises: at points during the first interval, calculating a resistance value using a measured voltage value, an estimated OCV value, and a measured current value of the battery (Par. 17-18); and calculating the average resistance value by averaging the calculated resistance values (Par. 17-18).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was filled wherein the calculating the average resistance value comprises: at points during the first interval, calculating a resistance value using a measured voltage value, an estimated OCV value, and a measured current value of the battery; and calculating the average resistance value by averaging the calculated resistance values based on the teachings of CHA in combination with the disclosure of Nakayama in order to correct for measurement error of a current sensor over time (CHA par. 22) thus leading to a more accurate system.
In claim 15, Nakayama in view of Cha discloses all of claim 13, including an average resistance. Nakayama further discloses multiplying the calculated resistance value with the cutoff current value (Column 12 Eq. 3); predicting, as an OCV of the battery when the battery is fully charged, a difference value between the cutoff voltage value and a result of the multiplying (Column 23 Eq. 7); and determining an SOC corresponding to the predicted OCV using the correlation information (Column 26 Lines 44-67), and updating the full SOC value based on the determined SOC (Column 26 Lines 21-50).
In claim 18 Nakayama discloses all of claim 17. Nakayama further discloses wherein the transformed value of the first measured current value, the transformed value of the result value, and the transformed value of the cutoff current value are values obtained through a logarithmic transformation of the first measured current value, the result value, and the cutoff current value (See Fig. 10, 11, Column 26 Lines 17-45, Column 25 Lines 55-67, examiner notes applicants specification Par. 126 states “a cutoff current value, through a transformation method (e.g., a log scale) that transforms non-linearity into linearity” looking at Fig. 10, the logarithmic curve 650 is transformed using a gradient into linearity as shown in Fig. 11 which is considered to be said “logarithmic transformation”).
In claim 19 Nakayama discloses all of claim 17. Nakayama further discloses wherein the predicting the full charge time comprises: calculating a first difference value between the transformed value of the cutoff current value and the transformed value of the first measured current value (See Fig. 12, Eq. 7-12); calculating a second difference value between the transformed value of the result value and the transformed value of the first measured current value (See Fig. 12, Eq. 7-12); calculating a third difference value between the second time value and the first time value (Eq. 9, 10, 13); and predicting the full charge time using the calculated first difference value, the calculated second difference value, the calculated third difference value, and the first time value (Eq. 9, 10, 13).
In claim 22, Nakayama discloses wherein, in the first method, the first circuit is configured to: when the set point for updating the full SOC value is reached, calculating a resistance value of the battery (Column 12 Eq. 4, Lines 55-65 Column 19 Lines Eq. 6, 1-20, Column 23 Eq. 7, Lines 43-62) for a first interval before the set point for updating the full SOC value (See Fig. 10 examiner considers the period before Icv to be said interval); updating the full SOC value based on correlation information correlating SOC and open- circuit voltage (OCV), the calculated resistance value, a cutoff current value, and the cutoff voltage value (Column 12 Eq. 4, Lines 55-65 Column 19 Lines Eq. 6, 1-20, Column 23 Eq. 7, Lines 43-62); setting a subsequent point for updating the full SOC value (Fig. 12, Column 7 Lines 7-30); and when the battery reaches the set subsequent point, iteratively updating the full SOC value based on a resistance value of the battery for an interval between the point and the subsequent point, the correlation information, the cutoff current value, and the cutoff voltage value (Column 12 Eq. 4, Lines 55-65 Column 19 Lines Eq. 6, 1-20, Column 23 Eq. 7, Lines 43-62).
Nakayama does not explicitly disclose calculating a first average resistance value of the battery for a first interval before the point; (Emphasis added).
CHA teaches calculating a first average resistance value of the battery for a first interval before the point (Par. 17-18 “average internal resistance value” “the predefined time”), updating the full SOC value based on an average resistance value (Par. 17-18)
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was filled to calculating a first average resistance value of the battery for a first interval before the point based on the teachings of CHA in combination with the disclosure of Nakayama in order to correct for measurement error of a current sensor over time (CHA par. 22) thus leading to a more accurate system.
Response to Arguments
Applicants’ arguments filed 05/26/2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive. Regarding applicants’ 102 arguments on pages 13-14 the examiner respectfully disagrees. While applicant refers to a “CC update point”, presumably in regard to the claimed “set point”, examiner notes that the prior arts Change point is based on SOC_ini is an initial value of the state of charge thus meets the BRI of the current claims. Thus the 102 rejection stands. Similarly the 103 rejection stands.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. US 20200400750 A1, METHOD, DEVICE, AND SYSTEM, FOR STATE OF CHARGE (SOC) CORRECTION FOR A BATTERY; US 20180001782 A1, METHOD AND DEVICE FOR DETECTING SOC OF BATTERY; US 20210223326 A1, SYSTEM AND METHOD FOR ESTIMATING BATTERY STATE OF HEALTH;
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/B.J.B/ Examiner, Art Unit 2857
/SHELBY A TURNER/ Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2857