Detailed ACTION
Claims 1, 3, 6, 8-11, 14-17 are pending. Claims 14-17 are withdrawn. Claims 2,4-5,7, 12-13, 18 have been cancelled.
The following rejections are applied with response to arguments following.
This action is Nonfinal.
Priority
Acknowledgment is made of applicant's claim for foreign priority based on an application filed in Republic of Korea on 10/24/2022 and 11/11/2021. It is noted, however, that applicant has not filed a certified copy of the Republic of Korea applications as required by 37 CFR 1.55.
Withdrawn Rejections and Objections
The 35 USC 102 rejection made in the previous office action is withdrawn based upon amendments to the claims. However, the reference is being used in the newly applied 35 USC 103 and therefore the arguments are addressed below.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1,3,6,8-11 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Sim et al. (US Patent Application Publication 2019/0360026 Nov 28, 2019) in view Nagpal et al (US Patent Application Publication 20200240845 July 30, 2020) and Tomas et al. (UK Patent Application GB2594532 06/26/2020). Sim and Tomas have been previously recited.
Sim et al. (US Patent Application Publication 2019/0360026 Nov 28, 2019)
With regard to claims 1, Sim et al. teaches a SERS biosensor (paragraph 58). Sim et al. teaches the biomarkers is miR-21 (para 32, 34). As miRNA is a structure that is claimed (claim 8), Sim et al. teaches a probe that binds to a prostate cancer derived target biomarker. Sim et al. teaches metal nanopillars and a substate covered in gold (e.g. metal plate) (para 6-8).
Sim et al. teaches that the capture probe is linked to the hade of a metal nanopillar structure (figure 3 and para 21). Sim et al. teaches that the detection probes are conjugated to nanoparticles in the nano gaps (para 103-104). Sim et al. teaches head flocked nanopillars that amplify the Raman signal (para 42).
Sim et al. teaches that the nanosubstrate is attached to a Raman microscope and a measurement unit that measures an amplified Raman signal (para 74 and 78).
With regard to claim 3, the metal can be gold (para 9).
With regard to claims 8, Sim et al. teaches the biomarkers miR-21 (para 32, 34).
With regard to claim 10, Sim et al teaches a thiol group at the end (para 13).
With regard to claim 11, Sim et al teaches use of DNA or LNA (para 8). However, Sim et al. does not teach that nanoparticle, nanogap or probe sizes.
With regard to claim 1, Nagpal et al. teaches that the nanosubstrate comprises head flocked metal nanopillar structures (para 55-62). Nagpal et al. teaches capture and detection probes and therefore half probes (para 32 and figure 14). Further Nagpal et al. teaches that the combinations of nanopillar structures that are between 1 to 10nm (para 42).
With regard to claims 1 and 6, Tomas et al. teaches structures that include nanoparticles and probes (abstract). Tomas et al teaches that nanogaps can have a size of less than 20nm (p. 29 lines 18-20).
With regard to claim 9, Tomas et al. teaches that probes attached to biosensors can be 100bp in length (p. 21 lines 28-35).
Therefore, it would be prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the effective filing date to modify the method of Sim et al. to use known sizes for nanoparticles, nanogaps and probes as taught by Nagpal and Tomas et al. These sizes appear to be functional equivalents of the structures used on the biosensor or particular type of probe attached to the nanopillars. As such the ordinary artisan would have a reasonable expectation of success that this equivalent structure sized would functionally perform on the biosensor of Sim et al.
Response to Arguments
The reply traverses the rejection. A summary of the arguments is provided below with response to arguments following. The reply asserts that Sim does not teach prostate cancer or exomsomal miRNA (p. 5-6). The reply asserts that Sim does not teach the size (p. 6). The reply asserts that Sim does not teach that detection probes are conjugated to the gold nanoprobes or a half probe (p. 6). The reply asserts that Sims does not teach the wherein clause of claim 1. The reply asserts that Tomas does not teach the recited size and that there is no reason to combine as Tomas is not directed to SERS biosensors (p. 7).
These arguetmsn have been fully reviewed but have not been found persuasive.
The claims are drawn to a structure, therefore the biosensor claimed has the intended use of detection of prostate cancer, however, the structures do not limit the claims to any other structures than those provided by the prior art. Further, although Sim does not teach exosomal miRNA or the size, the prior art combination taught above suggests such a biosensor structure combination. Nagpal et al. teaches that the nanosubstrate comprises head flocked metal nanopillar structures (para 55-62). Nagpal et al. teaches capture and detection probes and therefore half probes(para 32 and figure 14). The wherein clause is considered an intended use and does not alter the claimed biosensor itself. Tomas is directed to nano gap size of 3 to 20 nm.
As discussed above with regard to the nanoparticles, Tomas et al teaches these sizes appear to be functional equivalents of the structures used on the biosensor. As such the ordinary artisan would have a reasonable expectation of success that this equivalent structure sized would functionally perform on the biosensor of Sim et al.
Further it is noted that Sim does teach a plurality of metal nanopillars (Sim et al. teaches metal nanopillars and a substate covered in gold (e.g. metal plate) (para 6-8)). The instant specification does not definite “first half” and “second half” probes, and as such it is interpreted as any probes that are nucleic acid and are attached in some manner to a non-nucleic acid structure. Nagpal et al. teaches that the nanosubstrate comprises head flocked metal nanopillar structures (para 557-62). Nagpal et al. teaches capture and detection probes (para 32 and figure 14). Nagpal et al. teaches that the combinations of nanopillar structures that are between 1 to 10nm (para 42).
Sim et al. teaches the biomarkers miR-21 (para 32, 34). These would be considered SAP-AuNPs comprising gold and nucleic acid.
Conclusion
No claims are allowed.
/KATHERINE D SALMON/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1682