DETAILED ACTION
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Claim Objections
Claim 1 is objected to because of the following informalities: the phrase “fo a bearing” should be --for a bearing-- and the phrase “centre asix” should be --centre axis--. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 16, 17 and 19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Regarding claim 16, this claim depends from claim 7, which has been canceled. As such, the scope of claim 16 is unclear.
Regarding claim 19, the phrase “a reinforcing part” is indefinite because it is unclear whether this is the same part as the previously recited “reinforcing part” (see claim 1).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-4, 14-16 and 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Song (US 2017/0219036).
Regarding claim 1, Song discloses a carrier assembly for an actuator assembly for a vehicle brake (see Abstract, FIGS. 1-5), comprising: a plate-like frame part (41) having a receiving space (43a) for a planetary gear stage (70) (see FIGS. 1, 2) and a first fastening interface (42) for an electric motor (38) (see FIGS. 1, 2; ¶ 0039), wherein a centre axis of the receiving space and a centre axis of the first fastening interface run generally parallel (see FIGS. 1, 2; ¶ 0039), wherein the receiving space includes a ring gear (76) formed on an inner circumferential surface of the frame part (see FIG. 2) and is configured to mesh with at least one planetary gear (see FIGS. 1, 2; ¶ 0049), wherein a reinforcing part (44) which at least partially axially spans and end of the receiving space (see FIG. 2) is fastened to the frame part (see FIG. 4, ¶ 0038), and wherein a bearing point (46) for a gear wheel (64) arranged coaxially with the planetary gear stage is provided on the reinforcing part (see FIG. 4), wherein the frame part has a second fastening interface (A) (see Annotated FIG. 1, below) for a bearing sleeve (21) for a spindle drive (33), wherein a centre axis of the second fastening interface coincides with the centre axis of the receiving space (see FIG. 1), and wherein the bearing sleeve is connected to the frame part via the second fastening interface such that the spindle drive is aligned coaxially with the planetary gear stage (70) (see FIG. 1).
Regarding claim 2, Song discloses that the first fastening interface comprises an anti-rotation device (see FIG. 2; holes on plate (41) aligning with holes on motor (38) for accommodating anti-rotation bolts).
Regarding claim 3, Song discloses that the first fastening interface comprises a centering device (see FIG. 2; central hole (42) and holes on plate (41) aligning with holes on motor (38) form a centering device).
Regarding claim 4, Song discloses that the receiving space is cylindrical or bell-shaped (see FIG. 2).
Regarding claim 14, Song discloses a drive assembly for an actuator assembly for a vehicle brake (see Abstract, FIGS. 1, 2), with a carrier assembly according to claim 1 (see claim 1, above), wherein an electric motor (38) is fastened to the first fastening interface (see FIGS. 1, 2), at least one journal (62), on which a gear wheel (53, 63) of a gear trains mounted, is arranged on the frame part (see FIGS. 1, 2), a bearing sleeve (21) for a spindle drive is fastened to a second fastening interface of the frame part (see FIG. 1), wherein a spindle drive (33, 34, 35) is mounted on the carrier assembly by the bearing sleeve (see FIG. 1), wherein the electric motor is coupled drivingly to the spindle drive via the at least one gear wheel of the gear train and a planetary gear stage (70) (see FIG. 2), wherein the planetary pear stage is arranged in the receiving space (see FIG. 2).
Regarding claim 15, Song discloses an actuator assembly for a vehicle brake (see Abstract, FIGS. 1, 2), with a drive assembly according to Claim 14 (see FIGS. 1, 2, above), wherein the drive assembly is arranged in a housing (44) (see FIG. 2).
Regarding claim 16, Song discloses that the bearing sleeve for the spindle drive is connected to the frame part via the second fastening interface (see FIG. 1).
Regarding claim 20, Song discloses that at least one journal (62) for a gear wheel (53) is arranged on the frame part (see FIG. 2).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 9, 10, and 17-19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Song (US 2017/0219036), as applied to claim 1, above, and further in view Wang et al. (US 2008/0271553).
Regarding claim 9, Song does not disclose that the bearing sleeve has a linear guide geometry, acting along the centre axis of the second fastening interface, for a spindle nut.
Wang teaches a brake assembly (see Abstract, FIG. 1), comprising a bearing sleeve (25) that has a linear guide geometry (A) (see Annotated FIG. 1, below, key (A) is located in axial groove (B) to prevent rotation of nut (18) when spindle (40) rotates), acting along the centre axis of the second fastening interface, for a spindle nut (18).
It would have been obvious to replace the spindle nut and piston of Song with the spindle nut and linear guide geometry of Wang to convert the brake system from an electrically and hydraulically operated brake to a purely electrically operated brake system, thereby eliminating the need for a hydraulic control system, while ensuring accurate axial displacement of the nut upon rotation of the spindle.
Regarding claim 10, Song does not disclose that the bearing sleeve comprises an anti-rotation device for a spindle nut.
Wang teaches a brake assembly (see Abstract, FIG. 1), comprising a bearing sleeve (25) that has an anti-rotation device (A) (see Annotated FIG. 1, above, key (B) is located in axial groove (A) to prevent rotation of nut (18) when spindle (40) rotates) for a spindle nut (18).
It would have been obvious to replace the spindle nut and piston of Song with the spindle nut and antirotation device of Wang to convert the brake system from an electrically and hydraulically operated brake to a purely electrically operated brake system, thereby eliminating the need for a hydraulic control system, while ensuring accurate axial displacement of the nut upon rotation of the spindle.
Regarding claim 17, Song does not disclose that the bearing sleeve has a linear guide geometry, acting along the centre axis of the second fastening interface, for a spindle nut.
Wang teaches a brake assembly (see Abstract, FIG. 1), comprising a bearing sleeve (25) that has a linear guide geometry (A) (see Annotated FIG. 1, above, key (B) is located in axial groove (A) to prevent rotation of nut (18) when spindle (40) rotates), acting along the centre axis of the second fastening interface, for a spindle nut (18).
It would have been obvious to replace the spindle nut and piston of Song with the spindle nut and linear guide geometry of Wang to convert the brake system from an electrically and hydraulically operated brake to a purely electrically operated brake system, thereby eliminating the need for a hydraulic control system, while ensuring accurate axial displacement of the nut upon rotation of the spindle.
Regarding claim 18, Song does not disclose that the bearing sleeve comprises an anti-rotation device for a spindle nut.
Wang teaches a brake assembly (see Abstract, FIG. 1), comprising a bearing sleeve (25) that has an anti-rotation device (A) (see Annotated FIG. 1, above, key (B) is located in axial groove (A) to prevent rotation of nut (18) when spindle (40) rotates) for a spindle nut (18).
It would have been obvious to replace the spindle nut and piston of Song with the spindle nut and antirotation device of Wang to convert the brake system from an electrically and hydraulically operated brake to a purely electrically operated brake system, thereby eliminating the need for a hydraulic control system, while ensuring accurate axial displacement of the nut upon rotation of the spindle.
Regarding claim 19, Song disclosing a reinforcing part (44) which axially spans the end of the receiving space at least partially is fastened to the frame part (see FIGS. 1, 2).
Claim 13 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Song (US 2017/0219036), as applied to claim 1, above, and further in view of Fleischer et al. (US 6,267,207).
Regarding claim 13, Song does not disclose a third fastening interface for a locking assembly for selectively immobilizing a drive shaft of the electric motor in rotation.
Fleischer teaches a carrier assembly (26) for an actuator assembly (see Abstract, FIG. 5), comprising a first fastening interface (see FIG. 5, portion of (26) receiving motor (1)) for an electric motor, a receiving space (see FIG. 5, portion of (26) receiving bearing (56)) and a third fastening interface (see FIG. 5, portion of (26) receiving lock shaft (28)) for a locking assembly for selectively immobilizing a drive shaft of the electric motor in rotation (see FIG. 5).
It would have been obvious to combine the third fastening interface of Fleischer with the device of Song to provide for a locking device in compact assembly that is capable of maintain the brake in an actuated position without the need for an energy input.
Claim 21 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Song (US 2017/0219036) in view Smith et al. (US 2020/0156611).
Regarding claim 21, Song discloses a carrier assembly for an actuator assembly for a vehicle brake (see Abstract, FIGS. 1-5), comprising: a plate-like frame part (41) having a receiving space (43a) for a planetary gear stage (70) (see FIGS. 1, 2) and a first fastening interface (42) for an electric motor (38) (see FIGS. 1, 2; ¶ 0039), wherein a centre axis of the receiving space and a centre axis of the first fastening interface run generally parallel (see FIGS. 1, 2; ¶ 0039), wherein the receiving space includes a ring gear (76) formed on an inner circumferential surface of the frame part (see FIG. 2) and is configured to mesh with at least one planetary gear (see FIGS. 1, 2; ¶ 0049), wherein a reinforcing part (44) which at least partially axially spans and end of the receiving space (see FIG. 2) is fastened to the frame part (see FIG. 4, ¶ 0038), and wherein a bearing point (46) for a gear wheel (64) arranged coaxially with the planetary gear stage is provided on the reinforcing part (see FIG. 4), wherein the frame part has a second fastening interface (A) (see Annotated FIG. 1, below) for a bearing sleeve (21) for a spindle drive (33), wherein a centre axis of the second fastening interface coincides with the centre axis of the receiving space (see FIG. 1), and wherein the bearing sleeve is connected to the frame part via the second fastening interface such that the spindle drive is aligned coaxially with the planetary gear stage (70) (see FIG. 1).
Song does not disclose that the second fastening interface comprises an anti-rotation device having an anti-rotation geometry which runs circumferentially around the centre axis of the second fastening interface and has a plurality of radial projections and radial depressions arranged alternately over a circumference, wherein the radial projections and the radial depressions are provided with a constant pitch.
Smith teaches a carrier assembly for an actuator assembly (100) for a vehicle brake (see Abstract, FIGS. 1-4D) comprising a second fastening interface (see FIG. 4E, portion of actuator assembly (100) receiving caliper bearing sleeve (110)) having an anti-rotation device (412, 413) having an anti-rotation geometry which runs circumferentially around the centre axis of the second fastening interface and has a plurality of radial projections (413) and radial depressions (see FIG. 4D, depressions between projections (413)) arranged alternately over a circumference (see FIG. 4D), wherein the radial projections and the radial depressions are provided with a constant pitch (see FIG. 4D, pitch between adjacent projections is 120 degrees, and pitch between adjacent recesses is 120 degrees).
It would have been obvious to combine the anti-rotation device of Smith with the carrier assembly of Song to ground the generated torque in the caliper housing versus the actuator assembly (see e.g. Smith, ¶ 0050).
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 23-Sep-2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Regarding the rejection of independent claim 1 as being anticipated by Song, Applicant argues that “[b]ecause Song’s spindle support is integrated directly into the main caliper housing body (21) rather than being mounted via a modular bearing sleeve fastened to a coaxial second interface on the carrier frame plate, Song cannot satisfy the structural elements of claim 1” (see Amendment, page 7). Nothing in claim 1, however, requires that the bearing sleeve be a separate element from the caliper or “modular” as argued by Applicant. Rather, the claim simply requires “a bearing sleeve for a spindle drive” wherein “the bearing sleeve is connected to the frame part.”
In Song, the cylindrical element (21) is a bearing sleeve because it provides bearing support for the spindle and sliding support for the piston. As such, Song discloses that the frame (41) has a second fastening interface (A) (see Annotated FIG. 1, above) for a bearing sleeve (21).
Conclusion
/NICHOLAS J LANE/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3616
October 29, 2026