DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 5-10 and 17-19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(a) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), first paragraph, as failing to comply with the written description requirement. The claim(s) contains subject matter which was not described in the specification in such a way as to reasonably convey to one skilled in the relevant art that the inventor or a joint inventor, or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the inventor(s), at the time the application was filed, had possession of the claimed invention.
Regarding claim 5, the subject matter of “wherein the bearing sleeve is supported relative to the frame part via the reinforcing part such that the spindle drive is aligned coaxially with the planetary gear stage” is considered new matter. The original specification does not disclose that the bearing sleeve is supported relative to the frame part via the reinforcing part. Rather, the original specification discloses that “[t]he frame part 24 furthermore has a second fastening interface 68 which is designed for fastening a bearing sleeve 70 for a spindle drive 72” (see ¶ 0062) and further that “[a] complementary geometry 82 is provided at that end of the bearing sleeve 70 which is to be coupled to the second fastening interface 68 such that the bearing sleeve 70 can be pushed along the centre axis 50 into the anti-rotation geometry 74 of the second fastening interface 68 and held there non-rotatably” (see ¶ 0067). Similarly, Figure 5 depicts that the bearing sleeve (70) is coupled directly to the frame part (24), and not “via the reinforcing part” and claim 8 recites “wherein a bearing sleeve for a spindle drive is connected to the frame part via the second fastening interface.” In view of the above, the subject matter of “wherein the bearing sleeve is supported relative to the frame part via the reinforcing part” is considered new matter.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-4, 14 and 15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Song (US 2017/0219036).
Regarding claim 1, Song discloses a carrier assembly for an actuator assembly for a vehicle brake (see Abstract, FIGS. 1-5), comprising: a plate-like frame part (41) having a receiving space (43a) for a planetary gear stage (70) (see FIGS. 1, 2) and a first fastening interface (42) for an electric motor (38) (see FIGS. 1, 2; ¶ 0039), wherein a centre axis of the receiving space and a centre axis of the first fastening interface run generally parallel (see FIGS. 1, 2; ¶ 0039), wherein the receiving space includes a ring gear (76) formed on an inner circumferential surface of the frame part (see FIG. 2) and is configured to mesh with at least one planetary gear (see FIGS. 1, 2; ¶ 0049), wherein a reinforcing part (44) which at least partially axially spans and end of the receiving space (see FIG. 2) is fastened to the frame part (see FIG. 4, ¶ 0038), and wherein a bearing point (46) for a gear wheel (64) arranged coaxially with the planetary gear stage is provided on the reinforcing part (see FIG. 4).
Regarding claim 2, Song discloses that the first fastening interface comprises an anti-rotation device (see FIG. 2; holes on plate (41) aligning with holes on motor (38) for accommodating anti-rotation bolts).
Regarding claim 3, Song discloses that the first fastening interface comprises a centring device (see FIG. 2; central hole (42) and holes on plate (41) aligning with holes on motor (38) form a centering device).
Regarding claim 4, Song discloses that the receiving space is cylindrical or bell-shaped (see FIG. 2).
Regarding claim 14, Song discloses a drive assembly for an actuator assembly for a vehicle brake (see Abstract, FIGS. 1, 2), with a carrier assembly according to claim 1 (see claim 1, above), wherein an electric motor (38) is fastened to the first fastening interface (see FIGS. 1, 2), at least one journal (62), on which a gear wheel (53, 63) of a gear trains mounted, is arranged on the frame part (see FIGS. 1, 2), a bearing sleeve (21) for a spindle drive is fastened to a second fastening interface of the frame part (see FIG. 1), wherein a spindle drive (33, 34, 35) is mounted on the carrier assembly by the bearing sleeve (see FIG. 1), wherein the electric motor is coupled drivingly to the spindle drive via the at least one gear wheel of the gear train and a planetary gear stage (70) (see FIG. 2), wherein the planetary pear stage is arranged in the receiving space (see FIG. 2).
Regarding claim 15, Song discloses an actuator assembly for a vehicle brake (see Abstract, FIGS. 1, 2), with a drive assembly according to Claim 14 (see FIGS. 1, 2, above), wherein the drive assembly is arranged in a housing (44) (see FIG. 2).
Claims 1-4 and 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Giering (US 2012/0325601).
Giering discloses a carrier assembly for an actuator assembly for a vehicle brake (see Abstract, FIGS. 1-6), comprising: a plate-like frame part (30) having a receiving space (40) for a planetary gear stage (47) (see FIG. 2) and a first fastening interface (34) for an electric motor (26) (see FIG. 2; see also claim 7), wherein a centre axis of the receiving space and a centre axis of the first fastening interface run generally parallel (see FIG. 6; ¶ 0061), wherein the receiving space includes a ring gear (41, 42) formed on an inner circumferential surface of the frame part (see FIG. 2) and is configured to mesh with at least one planetary gear (48, 52) (see FIGS. 1, 2; ¶ 0056), wherein a reinforcing part (74) which at least partially axially spans and end of the receiving space (see FIGS. 1, 3, 6) is fastened to the frame part (see FIGS. 1, 3, 6, ¶ 0050), and wherein a bearing point (75) for a gear wheel (70) arranged coaxially with the planetary gear stage is provided on the reinforcing part (see FIGS. 2, 6).
Regarding claim 2, Giering discloses that the first fastening interface comprises an anti-rotation device (33).
Regarding claim 3, Giering discloses that the first fastening interface comprises a centring device (see FIG. 2, projections (33) align with recesses (23) on motor (38); see FIG. 6, hole (34) receives projection of motor).
Regarding claim 4, Giering discloses that the receiving space is cylindrical or bell-shaped (see FIG. 2).
Regarding claim 20, Giering discloses that at least one journal (75) for a gear wheel (66, 68) is arranged on the frame part (see ¶ 0050).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 13 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Song (US 2017/0219036), as applied to claim 1, above, and further in view of Fleischer et al. (US 6,267,207).
Regarding claim 13, Song does not disclose a third fastening interface for a locking assembly for selectively immobilizing a drive shaft of the electric motor in rotation.
Fleischer teaches a carrier assembly (26) for an actuator assembly (see Abstract, FIG. 5), comprising a first fastening interface (see FIG. 5, portion of (26) receiving motor (1)) for an electric motor, a receiving space (see FIG. 5, portion of (26) receiving bearing (56)) and a third fastening interface (see FIG. 5, portion of (26) receiving lock shaft (28)) for a locking assembly for selectively immobilizing a drive shaft of the electric motor in rotation (see FIG. 5).
It would have been obvious to combine the third fastening interface of Fleischer with the device of Song to provide for a locking device in compact assembly that is capable of maintain the brake in an actuated position without the need for an energy input.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 08-Jun-2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Regarding the rejection of claim 1 as being anticipated by Song (US 2017/0219036), Applicant argues that Song “discloses a reinforcing part primarily for increasing stiffness, and does not teach or suggest a reinforcing part that both spans the receiving space and defines a bearing point for a coaxial gear” (see Amendment, page 7). Song, however, discloses a reinforcing part (44) that spans the receiving space (43) and defines a bearing point (46) for a coaxial gear (64) (see FIG. 2).
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/NICHOLAS J LANE/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3616
July 21, 2026