DETAILED ACTION
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1, 3-7, 11 and 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Jang et al. (US 2020/0307539).
Regarding claim 1, Jang discloses a carrier assembly (30) for an actuator assembly for a vehicle brake (see Abstract, FIGS. 1, 2), comprising: a plate-like frame part (31, 34, 37) having a receiving space (37) for a planetary gear stage (see ¶ 0048; FIG. 2) and a first fastening interface (34’, 44) for an electric motor (23) (see e.g. FIG. 5, ¶ 0057), wherein a centre axis of the receiving space and a centre axis of the first fastening interface run generally parallel (see FIG. 5), wherein the receiving space includes a ring gear (39) formed on an inner circumferential surface of the frame part (see ¶ 0048; FIG. 5) and is configured to mesh with at least one planetary gear (see ¶ 0048).
Regarding claim 3, Jang discloses that the first fastening interface comprises a centring device (34’).
Regarding claim 4, Jang discloses that the receiving space is cylindrical or bell-shaped (see FIG. 4).
Regarding claim 5, Jang discloses that the frame part has a second fastening interface (A) (see Annotated FIG. 3, below) for a bearing sleeve (21) for a spindle drive (see FIG. 2), wherein a centre axis of the second fastening interface coincides with the centre axis of the receiving space (see FIG. 3).
Regarding claim 6, Jang discloses that the second fastening interface comprises an antirotation device (B, C) (see Annotated FIG. 3, above).
Regarding claim 7, Jang discloses that the anti-rotation device has an anti-rotation geometry (B, C) which runs circumferentially around the centre axis of the second fastening interface (see FIG. 3) and has a plurality of radial projections (B) and radial depressions (C) arranged alternately over a circumference (see Annotated FIG. 3, above), wherein the radial projections and the radial depressions are provided with a constant pitch (see Annotated FIG. 3, above).
Regarding claim 11, Jang discloses that a reinforcing part (40) which at least partially axially spans an end of the receiving space is fastened to the frame part (see ¶ 0049).
Regarding claim 20, Jang discloses that at least one journal (52) for a gear wheel (51) is arranged on the frame part (see ¶ 0043; FIG. 2).
Claims 1-5, 14 and 15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Song (US 2017/0219036).
Regarding claim 1, Song discloses a carrier assembly for an actuator assembly for a vehicle brake (see Abstract, FIGS. 1-5), comprising: a plate-like frame part (41) having a receiving space (43a) for a planetary gear stage (70) (see FIGS. 1, 2) and a first fastening interface (42) for an electric motor (38) (see FIGS. 1, 2; ¶ 0039), wherein a centre axis of the receiving space and a centre axis of the first fastening interface run generally parallel (see FIGS. 1, 2; ¶ 0039), wherein the receiving space includes a ring gear (76) formed on an inner circumferential surface of the frame part (see FIG. 2) and is configured to mesh with at least one planetary gear (see FIGS. 1, 2; ¶ 0049).
Regarding claim 2, Song discloses that the first fastening interface comprises an anti-rotation device (see FIG. 2; holes on plate (41) aligning with holes on motor (38) for accommodating anti-rotation bolts).
Regarding claim 3, Song discloses that the first fastening interface comprises a centring device (see FIG. 2; central hole (42) and holes on plate (41) aligning with holes on motor (38) form a centering device).
Regarding claim 4, Song discloses that the receiving space is cylindrical or bell-shaped (see FIG. 2).
Regarding claim 5, Song discloses that the frame part has a second fastening interface (43b) for a bearing sleeve (21) for a spindle drive (33, 34, 35, 36), wherein a centre axis of the second fastening interface coincides with the centre axis of the receiving space (see FIGS. 1, 2).
Regarding claim 14, Song discloses a drive assembly for an actuator assembly for a vehicle brake (see Abstract, FIGS. 1, 2), with a carrier assembly according to claim 1 (see claim 1, above), wherein an electric motor (38) is fastened to the first fastening interface (see FIGS. 1, 2), at least one journal (62), on which a gear wheel (53, 63) of a gear trains mounted, is arranged on the frame part (see FIGS. 1, 2), a bearing sleeve (21) for a spindle drive is fastened to a second fastening interface of the frame part (see FIG. 1), wherein a spindle drive (33, 34, 35) is mounted on the carrier assembly by the bearing sleeve (see FIG. 1), wherein the electric motor is coupled drivingly to the spindle drive via the at least one gear wheel of the gear train and a planetary gear stage (70) (see FIG. 2), wherein the planetary pear stage is arranged in the receiving space (see FIG. 2).
Regarding claim 15, Song discloses an actuator assembly for a vehicle brake (see Abstract, FIGS. 1, 2), with a drive assembly according to Claim 14 (see FIGS. 1, 2, above), wherein the drive assembly is arranged in a housing (44) (see FIG. 2).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 2 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Jang et al. (US 2020/0307539) (hereinafter “Jang ‘539”) in view of Jang et al. (US 2015/0075923) (hereinafter “Jang ‘923”).
Regarding claim 2, Jang ‘539 does not disclose that the first fastening interface comprises an anti-rotation device.
Jang ‘923 teaches discloses a carrier assembly (100) for an actuator assembly for a vehicle brake (see Abstract, FIG. 3), comprising; a plate-like frame part (110) comprising a first fastening interface (114) for an electric motor (132), wherein the first fastening interface comprises an anti-rotation device (116) (see ¶ 100).
It would have been obvious to combine the anti-rotation device of Jang ‘923 with the plate-like frame part of Jang ‘539 to securely attach the motor to the plate-like frame part, thereby preventing rotation of the motor during operation and maintaining the position of the motor and drive gear relative to the remainder of the gear train.
Claim 13 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Jang et al. (US 2020/0307539), as applied to claim 1, above, and further in view of Fleischer et al. (US 6,267,207).
Regarding claim 13, Jang does not disclose a third fastening interface for a locking assembly for selectively immobilizing a drive shaft of the electric motor in rotation.
Fleischer teaches a carrier assembly (26) for an actuator assembly (see Abstract, FIG. 5), comprising a first fastening interface (see FIG. 5, portion of (26) receiving motor (1)) for an electric motor, a receiving space (see FIG. 5, portion of (26) receiving bearing (56)) and a third fastening interface (see FIG. 5, portion of (26) receiving lock shaft (28)) for a locking assembly for selectively immobilizing a drive shaft of the electric motor in rotation (see FIG. 5).
It would have been obvious to combine the third fastening interface of Fleischer with the device of Jang to provide for a locking device in compact assembly that is capable of maintain the brake in an actuated position without the need for an energy input.
Claims 6-8 and 16 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Song (US 2017/0219036), as applied to claims 1 and 5, above, and further in view Smith et al. (US 2020/0156611).
Regarding claim 6, Song does not disclose that the second fastening interface comprises an antirotation device.
Smith teaches a carrier assembly for an actuator assembly for a vehicle brake (see Abstract, FIGS. 1-4D), comprising: a plate-like frame part (100) comprising a second fastening interface (see FIG. 4D, ¶ 0050), wherein the second fastening interface comprises an antirotation device (413).
It would have been obvious to combine the antirotation device of Smith with the second fastening interface of Song to ensure that the torque supported with the vehicle is parked may be grounded supported into the housing of the brake caliper rather than through the housing (see Smith, ¶ 0050).
Regarding claim 7, Smith teaches that the anti-rotation device has an anti-rotation geometry which runs circumferentially around the centre axis of the second fastening interface (see FIG. 4D) and has a plurality of radial projections (413) and radial depressions (see FIG. 4D, spaces between projections (413)) arranged alternately over a circumference (see FIG. 4D), wherein the radial projections and the radial depressions are provided with a constant pitch (see FIG. 4D).
Regarding claim 8, Song discloses that a bearing sleeve (21) for a spindle drive (33, 34, 35) is connected to the frame part via the second fastening interface (see FIG. 1).
Regarding claim 16, Song discloses a bearing sleeve (21) for a spindle drive is connected to the frame part via the second fastening interface (see FIG. 1).
Claims 9, 10, 17 and 18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Song (US 2017/0219036) in view Smith et al. (US 2020/0156611), as applied to claims 8 and 16, above, and further in view Wang et al. (US 2008/0271553).
Regarding claim 9, Song does not disclose that the bearing sleeve has a linear guide geometry, acting along the centre axis of the second fastening interface, for a spindle nut.
Wang teaches a brake assembly (see Abstract, FIG. 1), comprising a bearing sleeve (25) that has a linear guide geometry (A) (see Annotated FIG. 1, below, key (B) is located in axial groove (A) to prevent rotation of nut (18) when spindle (40) rotates), acting along the centre axis of the second fastening interface, for a spindle nut (18).
It would have been obvious to replace the spindle nut and piston of Song with the spindle nut and linear guide geometry of Wang to convert the brake system from an electrically and hydraulically operated brake to a purely electrically operated brake system, thereby eliminating the need for a hydraulic control system, while ensuring accurate axial displacement of the nut upon rotation of the spindle.
Regarding claim 10, Song does not disclose that the bearing sleeve comprises an anti-rotation device for a spindle nut.
Wang teaches a brake assembly (see Abstract, FIG. 1), comprising a bearing sleeve (25) that has an anti-rotation device (A) (see Annotated FIG. 1, above, key (B) is located in axial groove (A) to prevent rotation of nut (18) when spindle (40) rotates) for a spindle nut (18).
It would have been obvious to replace the spindle nut and piston of Song with the spindle nut and antirotation device of Wang to convert the brake system from an electrically and hydraulically operated brake to a purely electrically operated brake system, thereby eliminating the need for a hydraulic control system, while ensuring accurate axial displacement of the nut upon rotation of the spindle.
Regarding claim 17, Song does not disclose that the bearing sleeve has a linear guide geometry, acting along the centre axis of the second fastening interface, for a spindle nut.
Wang teaches a brake assembly (see Abstract, FIG. 1), comprising a bearing sleeve (25) that has a linear guide geometry (A) (see Annotated FIG. 1, above, key (B) is located in axial groove (A) to prevent rotation of nut (18) when spindle (40) rotates), acting along the centre axis of the second fastening interface, for a spindle nut (18).
It would have been obvious to replace the spindle nut and piston of Song with the spindle nut and linear guide geometry of Wang to convert the brake system from an electrically and hydraulically operated brake to a purely electrically operated brake system, thereby eliminating the need for a hydraulic control system, while ensuring accurate axial displacement of the nut upon rotation of the spindle.
Regarding claim 18, Song does not disclose that the bearing sleeve comprises an anti-rotation device for a spindle nut.
Wang teaches a brake assembly (see Abstract, FIG. 1), comprising a bearing sleeve (25) that has an anti-rotation device (A) (see Annotated FIG. 1, above, key (B) is located in axial groove (A) to prevent rotation of nut (18) when spindle (40) rotates) for a spindle nut (18).
It would have been obvious to replace the spindle nut and piston of Song with the spindle nut and antirotation device of Wang to convert the brake system from an electrically and hydraulically operated brake to a purely electrically operated brake system, thereby eliminating the need for a hydraulic control system, while ensuring accurate axial displacement of the nut upon rotation of the spindle.
Claim 19 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Song (US 2017/0219036) in view Smith et al. (US 2020/0156611), and Wang et al. (US 2008/0271553), as applied to claim 18, above, and further in view of Jang et al. (US 2020/0307539).
Regarding claim 11, Song does not disclose that a reinforcing part which axially spans the end of the receiving space at least partially is fastened to the frame part.
Jang ‘539 teaches a carrier assembly for an actuator assembly (see Abstract, FIG. 2) comprising a frame part (30) having a receiving space (37), and a reinforcing part (40) which axially spans the end of the receiving space at least partially is fastened to the frame part (see FIG. 2).
It would have been obvious to combine the reinforcing part of Jang ‘539 with the device of Song to prevent distortion of the frame by reinforcing the strength of the frame (see e.g. Jang ‘539, ¶ 0049).
Conclusion
/NICHOLAS J LANE/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3616
March 4, 2026