DETAILED ACTION
This is a Non-Final rejection on the merits of this application. Claims 1 and 5-14 are currently pending, as discussed below. Claims 2-4 are canceled.
Examiner Notes that the fundamentals of the rejections are based on the broadest reasonable interpretation of the claim language. Applicant is kindly invited to consider the reference as a whole. References are to be interpreted as by one of ordinary skill in the art rather than as by a novice. See MPEP 2141. Therefore, the relevant inquiry when interpreting a reference is not what the reference expressly discloses on its face but what the reference would teach or suggest to one of ordinary skill in the art.
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 17 February 2026 have been fully considered and are not persuasive. Amendments to claim 1, 11 and 12 have been fully considered and 35 U.S.C. § 103 rejection to claims 1, 11 and 12 is moot in view of new obviousness rejection necessitated by amendments.
Claim Objections
Claims 1, 11 and 12 are objected to because of the following informalities: "indicating number of target objects" is grammatically incorrect. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Interpretation
This application includes one or more claim limitations that do not use the word “means,” but are nonetheless being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, because the claim limitation(s) uses a generic placeholder that is coupled with functional language without reciting sufficient structure to perform the recited function and the generic placeholder is not preceded by a structural modifier. Such claim limitation(s) is/are:
first path acquisition unit in claim 11
movement control unit in claim 11
relative target position acquisition unit in claim 11 and 12
Upon reviewing of the specification, the following appears to be the corresponding structure for a first path acquisition unit:
"The control unit 44 is an arithmetic device, and includes an arithmetic circuit such as a CPU, for example. The control unit 44 includes a work content acquisition unit 50, a mobile object selection unit 52, a vehicle information acquisition unit 54, a relative target position acquisition unit 56, and a first path acquisition unit 58" [¶ 46]
Upon reviewing of the specification, the following appears to be the corresponding structure for a movement control unit:
“The control unit 64 is an arithmetic device, and includes an arithmetic circuit such as a CPU, for example. The control unit 64 includes a first path acquisition unit 70, a movement control unit 72” [¶ 69]
Upon reviewing of the specification, the following appears to be the corresponding structure for a relative target position acquisition unit:
“The control unit 44 is an arithmetic device, and includes an arithmetic circuit such as a CPU, for example. The control unit 44 includes … a relative target position acquisition unit 56” [¶ 46, Fig. 5]
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1-14 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 1 is unclear because the language “acquiring positional information on a transport vehicle” it’s unclear if the positional information describes a parking position of a transport relative to the parking region, or if the positional information is of an object that is on a transport vehicle. Additionally, it is unclear if “target objects along a front and rear direction of the transport vehicle” means that the target objects are facing both the front and the rear of the transport vehicle, and how they can face both directions at the same time. Additionally, “setting a first path toward the transport vehicle based on the positional information on the transport vehicle” is unclear since it is based on the same “on the transport vehicle” cited earlier in claim 1. Further it is unclear how to interpret the limitation: “the first path is set to include:” followed by a list of actions: “setting a first position…” “setting a first track …”, “setting a second position…”, “setting a second track …”, and “setting a third track …”. These actions do not describe any features of the first path and further recite more setting actions which is not grammatically consistent. Further, “the first track and runs straight in along” does not make grammatical sense. It is not grammatically correct to combine “setting a second track …” which is a gerund with a verb “runs” using “and”. Lastly, it is unclear that "setting a second track connected to the first track and runs straight in along …" and "on a lateral side of the target position in the transport vehicle", describes that the second track is inside the transport which contradicts the statement that the first position and second position are defined as outside the transport vehicle.
Claims 11 and 12 are unclear because “along a front and rear direction” means facing both a front and rear direction which are opposite directions. Additionally, “the first path being set based on positional information on the transport vehicle” it’s unclear if the positional information describes a parking position of a transport vehicle, or if the positional information is about an object that is on a transport vehicle. Further the language “information on an attitude” and “information on a length” is confusing and is distinct and different than “information of an attitude” and “information of a length”. The “on” describes the meaning of “attitude” or “length” and “of” refers to the data or details associated with that dimension. It is unclear if "a first path acquisition unit configured to acquire a first path toward a transport vehicle" is the same as "the first path being set" and "setting of the first path includes…" There is a discrepancy in the language as the first path acquisition unit is configured to acquire, while the method steps describe "setting" and unclear if acquiring and setting are the same action. The scope of claim 11 is unclear because the claim recites a mobile object but describes method steps that are executed by the information processing device and not by the mobile object. There is lack of antecedent basis for "setting of the first path" since the claim recites many instances of setting of a first path but the claim wording is confusing and not clear. For example, the claim recites: "acquire a first path", "the first path being set", "setting of the first path includes setting the first path", "the first path is set to include", "setting…". Further, the language "setting the first path includes setting the first path" is redundant and confusing why setting the first path further includes more "setting" steps when the phrase "setting a first path" is a single step. Further it is unclear how to interpret the limitation: “the first path is set to include:” followed by a list of actions: “setting a first position…” “setting a first track …”, “setting a second position…”, “setting a second track …”, and “setting a third track …”. These actions do not describe any features of the first path and further recite more setting actions which is not grammatically consistent. Further, “the first track and runs straight in along” does not make grammatical sense. It is not grammatically correct to combine “setting a second track …” which is a gerund with a verb “runs” using “and”. Lastly, it is unclear that "setting a second track connected to the first track and runs straight in along …" and "on a lateral side of the target position in the transport vehicle", describes that the second track is inside the transport which contradicts the statement that the first position and second position are defined as outside the transport vehicle.
Claim 13 is unclear because "The control method for the mobile object according to claim 1, the causing…" is not grammatically correct or a complete sentence. Additionally, “the causing the mobile object to move along the first path" is confusing since "detecting the position …" and "setting a second target position" step does not further describe "causing the mobile object to move along the first path". It is unclear what the antecedent basis from claim 1 is for the recited method steps.
Claim 14 is unclear because "The control method for the mobile object according to claim 1, the detecting…" is not grammatically correct or a complete sentence. Additionally, claim 14 lacks antecedent basis for "the detecting …" and " and setting…" because it is unclear what limitation of claim 13 are based on. Further claim 14 appears to cover the same scope as claim 13 and is not narrower than claim 13 which it depends on.
Claims 5-10 are rejected as being dependent on a rejected claim.
Claim(s) depending from claims expressly noted above are also rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112 by/for reason of their dependency from a noted claim that is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112, for the reasons given.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 101
Claims 1, and 5-14 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 101 because the claimed invention is directed to an abstract idea without significantly more.
101 Analysis – Step 1 – YES
Claim 1 is directed to a method, claim 11 is directed toward an apparatus and Claim 12 is directed toward a non-transitory computer-readable storage medium. Therefore, claims 1, 11 and 12 are within at least one of the four statutory categories.
101 Analysis – Step 2A, Prong I
Regarding Prong I of the Step 2A analysis in the 2019 PEG, the claims are to be analyzed to determine whether they recite subject matter that falls within one of the follow groups of abstract ideas: a) mathematical concepts, b) certain methods of organizing human activity, and/or c) mental processes.
Independent claims 1, 11 and 12 include limitations that recite an abstract idea (emphasized below) and will be used as a representative claim for the remainder of the 101 rejection. The other analogous claims 11 and 12 are analogous to each other so claim 11 and 12 is rejected for the same reasons as the representative claim 1 as discussed here.
Claim 1 recites:
A control method for a mobile object that automatically moves, the control method comprising:
acquiring positional information on a transport vehicle parked in a parking region, in which a plurality of target objects are disposed in a storage chamber along a front and rear direction of the transport vehicle, the positional information including information on a position of a rear end portion of the transport vehicle, information on an attitude of the transport vehicle, and information on a length of the transport vehicle;
setting a first path toward the transport vehicle based on the positional information on the transport vehicle;
causing the mobile object to move along the first path;
acquiring relative target position information indicating a relative position of the target position with respect to the transport vehicle using a method other than a method of directly detecting a target position in the transport vehicle with a sensor, wherein,
the setting of the first path includes setting the first path toward the target position based on the positional information on the transport vehicle and the relative target position information;
the first path is set to include:
setting a first position within a predetermined distance range to the parking region and outside the transport vehicle;
Setting a first track to a first position within a predetermined distance range to the parking region;
setting a second position within a predetermined distance range to the target position and outside the transport vehicle based on the positional information on the transport vehicle and the relative target position information;
setting a second track connected to the first track and runs straight in along the direction from the rear end to a front end of the transport vehicle, from the first position to a second position on a lateral side of the target position in the transport vehicle; and
Setting a third track connected to the second track and leading from the second position to the target position,
the acquiring of the relative target position information includes acquiring the relative target position information based on information indicating number of target objects disposed in the transport vehicle.
The examiner submits that the foregoing bolded limitation(s) constitute a “mental process” because under its broadest reasonable interpretation, the claim covers performance of the limitation in the human mind. For example, setting a first path toward a target position can be done in the human mind by planning a driving route toward a target position comprising multiple tracks either mentally or with a pen and paper.
Examiner notes that MPEP 2106.04(a)(2)(III): The courts consider a mental process (thinking) that "can be performed in the human mind, or by a human using a pen and paper" to be an abstract idea. CyberSource Corp. v. Retail Decisions, Inc., 654 F.3d 1366, 1372, 99 USPQ2d 1690, 1695 (Fed. Cir. 2011). As the Federal Circuit explained, "methods which can be performed mentally, or which are the equivalent of human mental work, are unpatentable abstract ideas the ‘basic tools of scientific and technological work’ that are open to all.’" 654 F.3d at 1371, 99 USPQ2d at 1694 (citing Gottschalk v. Benson, 409 U.S. 63, 175 USPQ 673 (1972)). See also Mayo Collaborative Servs. v. Prometheus Labs. Inc., 566 U.S. 66, 71, 101 USPQ2d 1961, 1965 ("‘[M]ental processes[] and abstract intellectual concepts are not patentable, as they are the basic tools of scientific and technological work’" (quoting Benson, 409 U.S. at 67, 175 USPQ at 675)); Parker v. Flook, 437 U.S. 584, 589, 198 USPQ 193, 197 (1978) (same). Accordingly, the "mental processes" abstract idea grouping is defined as concepts performed in the human mind, and examples of mental processes include observations, evaluations, judgments, and opinions. Here, the determination is a form of making evaluation and judgement based on observation (driver behavior).
Accordingly, the claim recites at least one abstract idea.
101 Analysis – Step 2A, Prong II
Regarding Prong II of the Step 2A analysis in the 2019 PEG, the claims are to be analyzed to determine whether the claim, as a whole, integrates the abstract into a practical application. As noted in the 2019 PEG, it must be determined whether any additional elements in the claim beyond the abstract idea integrate the exception into a practical application in a manner that imposes a meaningful limit on the judicial exception. The courts have indicated that additional elements merely using a computer to implement an abstract idea, adding insignificant extra solution activity, or generally linking use of a judicial exception to a particular technological environment or field of use do not integrate a judicial exception into a “practical application.”
In the present case, the additional limitations beyond the above-noted abstract idea are as follows (where the underlined portions are the “additional limitations” while the bolded portions continue to represent the “abstract idea”):
Claim 1 recites:
A control method for a mobile object that automatically moves, the control method comprising:
acquiring positional information on a transport vehicle parked in a parking region, in which a plurality of target objects are disposed in a storage chamber along a front and rear direction of the transport vehicle, the positional information including information on a position of a rear end portion of the transport vehicle, information on an attitude of the transport vehicle, and information on a length of the transport vehicle;
setting a first path toward the transport vehicle based on the positional information on the transport vehicle;
causing the mobile object to move along the first path;
acquiring relative target position information indicating a relative position of the target position with respect to the transport vehicle using a method other than a method of directly detecting a target position in the transport vehicle with a sensor, wherein,
the setting of the first path includes setting the first path toward the target position based on the positional information on the transport vehicle and the relative target position information;
the first path is set to include:
setting a first position within a predetermined distance range to the parking region and outside the transport vehicle;
Setting a first track to a first position within a predetermined distance range to the parking region;
setting a second position within a predetermined distance range to the target position and outside the transport vehicle based on the positional information on the transport vehicle and the relative target position information;
setting a second track connected to the first track and runs straight in along the direction from the rear end to a front end of the transport vehicle, from the first position to a second position on a lateral side of the target position in the transport vehicle; and
Setting a third track connected to the second track and leading from the second position to the target position,
the acquiring of the relative target position information includes acquiring the relative target position information based on information indicating number of target objects disposed in the transport vehicle.
For the following reason(s), the examiner submits that the above identified additional limitations do not integrate the above-noted abstract idea into a practical application.
Regarding the additional limitations of acquiring… the examiner submits that these limitations are insignificant extra-solution activities that merely use a computer (processor) to perform data gathering, displaying, sending and receiving steps. In particular, the receiving and communicating steps are recited at a high level of generality (i.e. as a general means of receiving information and performing communications for use in the next steps), and amounts to mere data gathering, which is a form of insignificant extra-solution activity. The device(s) and processor(s) are recited at a high level of generality and merely automates the steps.
Thus, taken alone, the additional elements do not integrate the abstract idea into a practical application. Further, looking at the additional limitation(s) as an ordered combination or as a whole, the limitation(s) add nothing that is not already present when looking at the elements taken individually. For instance, there is no indication that the additional elements, when considered as a whole, reflect an improvement in the functioning of a computer or an improvement to another technology or technical field, apply or use the above-noted judicial exception to effect a particular treatment or prophylaxis for a disease or medical condition, implement/use the above-noted judicial exception with a particular machine or manufacture that is integral to the claim, effect a transformation or reduction of a particular article to a different state or thing, or apply or use the judicial exception in some other meaningful way beyond generally linking the use of the judicial exception to a particular technological environment, such that the claim as a whole is not more than a drafting effort designed to monopolize the exception (MPEP § 2106.05). Accordingly, the additional limitation(s) do/does not integrate the abstract idea into a practical application because it does not impost any meaningful limits on practicing the abstract idea.
101 Analysis – Step 2B
Regarding Step 2B of the 2019 PEG, representative independent claims 1, 11 and 12 do not include additional elements (considered both individually and as an ordered combination) that are sufficient to amount to significantly more than the judicial exception for the same reasons to those discussed above with respect to determining that the claim does not integrate the abstract idea into a practical application. As discussed above with respect to integration of the abstract idea into a practical application, the additional element of using a processor to perform the steps acquiring… amounts to nothing more than insignificant extra-solution activities that merely use a computer (processor) to perform data gathering, displaying, sending and receiving steps. In particular, the receiving and communicating steps are recited at a high level of generality (i.e. as a general means of receiving information and performing communications for use in the next steps), and amounts to mere data gathering, which is a form of insignificant extra-solution activity. The device(s) and processor(s) are recited at a high level of generality and merely automates the steps.
Dependent Claims
Dependent claims 5-10 and 13 and 14, do not recite any further limitations that causes the claims to be patent eligible. Rather, the limitations of dependent claims are directed toward additional aspects of the judicial exception and/or additional elements that do not integrate the judicial exception into a practical application. Therefore, dependent claims 5-10 and 13 and 14 are not patent eligible under the same rationale as provided for in the rejection of claims 1, 11 and 12.
Therefore, claims 1 and 5-14 are ineligible under 35 USC §101.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 10-11 and 12-14 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Chilson et al. (US 8210791 B2) in view of Jarvis et al. (US 11119487 B2) and ARAKI et al. (US 20210216073 A1).
Regarding Claim 1, Chilson teaches, A control method for a mobile object that automatically moves (AGV – Automatically guided Vehicle, see at least, Fig. 2, ¶15, Chilson), the control method comprising: acquiring positional information on a transport vehicle parked in a parking region (transport 50 at a loading dock which is the parking region, see at least, ¶22, Chilson), the positional information including information on a position of a rear end portion of the transport vehicle, information on an attitude of the transport vehicle (Sensor 100 scans the position of the transport 50 relative to the dock walls including a relative angle of the dock ramp, see at least, ¶63, Chilson), and information on a length of the transport vehicle; setting a first path toward the transport vehicle based on the positional information on the transport vehicle (AGV uses the data profile to calculate an optimal route into the transport 50 for optimal placement of the load 60 with the width and length of the transport 50, see at least, ¶45, Chilson); causing the mobile object to move along the first path (a guidance system follows a travel path to a position near the transport, see at least, ¶abstract, Chilson); wherein, the setting of the first path includes setting the first path toward the target position based on the positional information on the transport vehicle and the relative target position information (see at least, ¶abstract, Chilson); the first path is set to include: setting a first position within a predetermined distance range to the parking region and outside the transport vehicle information; Setting a first track to a first position within a predetermined distance range to the parking region (Fig .8 depicts Position A, see at least, ¶ Col 11, Lines 31-67, Chilson); setting a second track connected to the first track and runs straight in along the direction from the rear end to a front end of the transport vehicle, from the first position to a second position (AGV follows the transport path into the transport 50 from position A, see at least, ¶ Col 12, Lines 32-34, Chilson).
Chilson does not explicitly teach in which a plurality of target objects are disposed in a storage chamber along a front and rear direction of the transport vehicle; acquiring relative target position information indicating a relative position of the target position with respect to the transport vehicle using a method other than a method of directly detecting a target position in the transport vehicle with a sensor; setting a second position within a predetermined distance range to the target position and outside the transport vehicle based on the positional information on the transport vehicle and the relative target position information; on a lateral side of the target position in the transport vehicle; and Setting a third track connected to the second track and leading from the second position to the target position, the acquiring of the relative target position information includes acquiring the relative target position information based on information indicating number of target objects disposed in the transport vehicle.
Jarvis, directed to automated preparation of deliveries in delivery vehicles using automated guided vehicles teaches, in which a plurality of target objects are disposed in a storage chamber along a front and rear direction of the transport vehicle (Fig. 1B depicts storage area 124 with shelves arranged along the left side of the storage area extending from the front to the rear of the delivery vehicle, see at least, ¶ Col 5, Lines 55-67, Jarvis); acquiring relative target position information indicating a relative position of the target position with respect to the transport vehicle using a method other than a method of directly detecting a target position in the transport vehicle with a sensor (The process described involves retrieving storage location information set in advance which is a method other than a method of directly detecting a target position in the transport vehicle with a sensor, see at least, ¶ 4, Jarvis); a second track on a lateral side of the target position in the transport vehicle (Fig. 1B depicts storage area 124 with shelves arranged along the left side of the storage area extending from the front to the rear of the delivery vehicle, see at least [Col 5, Lines 55-67, Jarvis]); the acquiring of the relative target position information includes acquiring the relative target position information based on information indicating number of target objects disposed in the transport vehicle (The storage location which is interpreted as the relative target position could be determined based on number of items stored in the transport vehicle, see at least [paragraph 130, Col 24 Line 52-57, Jarvis]).
Accordingly, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention, with a reasonable expectation of success, to have modified Chilson’s method of loading a transport vehicle to incorporate the teachings of Jarvis which teaches in which a plurality of target objects are disposed in a storage chamber along a front and rear direction of the transport vehicle; acquiring relative target position information indicating a relative position of the target position with respect to the transport vehicle using a method other than a method of directly detecting a target position in the transport vehicle with a sensor ; a second track on a lateral side of the target position in the transport vehicle, the acquiring of the relative target position information includes acquiring the relative target position information based on information indicating number of target objects disposed in the transport vehicle since they are both related to loading transport vehicles and incorporation of the teachings of Jarvis would improve the overall system by allowing autonomous vehicles to retrieve items from designated locations more quickly and increase productivity therefore reducing time and labor costs.
Araki, directed to method of determining a movement route for automatically moving a forklift teaches, setting a second position within a predetermined distance range to the detectable region of the target position and outside the detectable region of the target position based on the positional information of target position; and Setting a third track connected to the second track and leading from the second position to the target position (Fig. 14 depicts the area CC as a second position, and the third track is R9 that leads from and area CC to the pallet PA which is the target position, see at least, ¶129-133, Ref2).
Accordingly, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention, with a reasonable expectation of success, to have modified Chilson in view of Jarvis’s path to a target position inside a transport vehicle to incorporate the teachings of Araki which teaches setting a second position within a predetermined distance range to the detectable region of the target position and outside the detectable region of the target position based on the positional information of target position; and Setting a third track connected to the second track and leading from the second position to the target position and use the position information of the object and relative position information of the target object to set the second position to get the mobile object close enough to directly detect the target object since they are both related to path planning to target objects and incorporation of the teachings of Araki would increase accuracy of approaching a target object to pick it up.
Regarding Claim 10, Chilson in view of Jarvis and Araki teaches, the control method for the mobile object according to claim 1.
Araki, directed to method of determining a movement route for automatically moving a forklift teaches, further comprising: causing a position and an attitude of a target object disposed in the transport vehicle to be detected; setting a second path to a target arrival position at which a predetermined position and attitude are achieved with respect to the target object based on the position and the attitude of the target object; and switching the first path to the second path and causing the mobile object to move along the second path (see at least, ¶Abstract, Araki ).
Accordingly, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention, with a reasonable expectation of success, to have modified Chilson in view of Jarvis and Araki to further incorporate the teachings of Araki which teaches further comprising: causing a position and an attitude of a target object disposed in the transport vehicle to be detected; setting a second path to a target arrival position at which a predetermined position and attitude are achieved with respect to the target object based on the position and the attitude of the target object; and switching the first path to the second path and causing the mobile object to move along the second path since they are both related to path planning to target objects and incorporation of the teachings of Araki would increase the accuracy of approaching a target object to pick it up.
Regarding Claim 11, Chilson teaches, A mobile object that automatically moves (AGV – Automatically guided Vehicle, see at least, Fig. 2, ¶15, Chilson), the mobile object comprising: a first path acquisition unit configured to acquire a first path toward a transport vehicle parked in a parking region, in which a plurality of target objects are disposed in a storage chamber along a front and rear direction of the transport vehicle (see at least, ¶Abstract, Chilson), the first path being set based on positional information on the transport vehicle including information on a position of a rear end portion of the transport vehicle, information on an attitude of the transport vehicle, and information on a length of the transport vehicle; a movement control unit configured to cause the mobile object to move along the first path (see at least, ¶63 and 45, Chilson); relative target position acquisition unit configured to acquire relative target position information indicating a relative position of the target position with respect to the transport vehicle based on information indicating number of target objects disposed in the transport vehicle using a method other than a method of directly detecting a target position in the transport vehicle with a sensor, wherein, the setting of the first path includes setting the first path toward the target position based on the positional information on the transport vehicle and the relative target position information (see at least, ¶abstract, Chilson); the first path is set to include: setting a first position within a predetermined distance range to the parking region and outside the transport vehicle; setting a first track to the first position (Fig .8 depicts Position A, see at least, ¶ Col 11, Lines 31-67, Chilson); setting a second position within a predetermined distance range to the target position and outside the transport vehicle based on the positional information on the transport vehicle and the relative target position information; setting a second track connected to the first track and runs straight in along the direction from the rear end to a front end of the transport vehicle, from the first position to a second position (AGV follows the transport path into the transport 50 from position A, see at least, ¶ Col 12, Lines 32-34, Chilson) on a lateral side of the target position in the transport vehicle; and setting a third track connected to the second track and leading from the second position to the target position. (see at least, ¶X, Ref1).
Chilson does not explicitly teach in which a plurality of target objects are disposed in a storage chamber along a front and rear direction of the transport vehicle; relative target position acquisition unit configured to acquire relative target position information indicating a relative position of the target position with respect to the transport vehicle based on information indicating number of target objects disposed in the transport vehicle using a method other than a method of directly detecting a target position in the transport vehicle with a sensor; setting a second position within a predetermined distance range to the target position and outside the transport vehicle based on the positional information on the transport vehicle and the relative target position information; setting a second track on a lateral side of the target position in the transport vehicle; and setting a third track connected to the second track and leading from the second position to the target position.
Jarvis, directed to automated preparation of deliveries in delivery vehicles using automated guided vehicles teaches, in which a plurality of target objects are disposed in a storage chamber along a front and rear direction of the transport vehicle (Fig. 1B depicts storage area 124 with shelves arranged along the left side of the storage area extending from the front to the rear of the delivery vehicle, see at least, ¶ Col 5, Lines 55-67, Jarvis); relative target position acquisition unit configured to acquire relative target position information indicating a relative position of the target position with respect to the transport vehicle based on information indicating number of target objects disposed in the transport vehicle (The storage location which is interpreted as the relative target position could be determined based on number of items stored in the transport vehicle, see at least [paragraph 130, Col 24 Line 52-57, Jarvis]) using a method other than a method of directly detecting a target position in the transport vehicle with a sensor (The process described involves retrieving storage location information set in advance which is a method other than a method of directly detecting a target position in the transport vehicle with a sensor, see at least, ¶ 4, Jarvis); setting a second track on a lateral side of the target position in the transport vehicle (Fig. 1B depicts storage area 124 with shelves arranged along the left side of the storage area extending from the front to the rear of the delivery vehicle, see at least [Col 5, Lines 55-67, Jarvis]).
Accordingly, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention, with a reasonable expectation of success, to have modified Chilson’s method of loading a transport to incorporate the teachings of Jarvis which teaches in which a plurality of target objects are disposed in a storage chamber along a front and rear direction of the transport vehicle; relative target position acquisition unit configured to acquire relative target position information indicating a relative position of the target position with respect to the transport vehicle based on information indicating number of target objects disposed in the transport vehicle using a method other than a method of directly detecting a target position in the transport vehicle with a sensor; setting a second track on a lateral side of the target position in the transport vehicle since they are both related to loading transport vehicles and incorporation of the teachings of Jarvis would improve the overall system by allowing autonomous vehicles to retrieve items from designated locations more quickly and increase productivity therefore reducing time and labor costs.
Araki, directed to method of determining a movement route for automatically moving a forklift teaches setting a second position within a predetermined distance range to the detectable region of the target position and outside the detectable region of the target position based on the positional information of target position; and Setting a third track connected to the second track and leading from the second position to the target position (Fig. 14 depicts the area CC as a second position, and the third track is R9 that leads from and area CC to the pallet PA which is the target position, see at least, ¶129-133, Ref2).
Accordingly, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention, with a reasonable expectation of success, to have modified Chilson in view of Jarvis’s path to a target position inside a transport vehicle to incorporate the teachings of Araki which teaches setting a second position within a predetermined distance range to the detectable region of the target position and outside the detectable region of the target position based on the positional information of target position; and Setting a third track connected to the second track and leading from the second position to the target position and use the position information of the object and relative position information of the target object to set the second position to get the mobile object close enough to directly detect the target object since they are both related to path planning to target objects and incorporation of the teachings of Araki would increase accuracy of approaching a target object to pick it up.
Regarding Claim 12, Jarvis teaches, A non-transitory computer-readable storage medium storing a computer program for causing a computer to perform a control method for a mobile object that automatically moves, the computer program comprising: acquiring a first path toward a transport vehicle parked in a parking region (see at least, ¶Abstract, Chilson), in which a plurality of target objects are disposed in a storage chamber along a front and rear direction of the transport vehicle, the first path being set based on positional information on the transport vehicle including information on a position of a rear end portion of the transport vehicle, information on an attitude of the transport vehicle, and information on a length of the transport vehicle; causing the mobile object to move along the first path (see at least, ¶63 and 45, Chilson); acquiring relative target position information indicating a relative position of the target position with respect to the transport vehicle based on information indicating number of target objects disposed in the transport vehicle using a method other than a method of directly detecting a target position in the transport vehicle with a sensor, wherein, the setting of the first path includes setting the first path toward the target position based on the positional information on the transport vehicle and the relative target position information (see at least, ¶abstract, Chilson); the first path is set to include: setting a first position within a predetermined distance range to the parking region and outside the transport vehicle; setting a first track to the first position (Fig .8 depicts Position A, see at least, ¶ Col 11, Lines 31-67, Chilson); setting a second position within a predetermined distance range to the target position and outside the transport vehicle based on the positional information on the transport vehicle and the relative target position information; Setting a second track connected to the first track and along the direction from the rear end to a front end of the transport vehicle, from the first position to a second position (AGV follows the transport path into the transport 50 from position A, see at least, ¶ Col 12, Lines 32-34, Chilson) on a lateral side of the target position in the transport vehicle; and setting a third track connected to the second track and leading from the second position to the target position.
Chilson does not explicitly teach A non-transitory computer-readable storage medium storing a computer program for causing a computer to perform a control method for a mobile object that automatically moves, the computer program comprising: in which a plurality of target objects are disposed in a storage chamber along a front and rear direction of the transport vehicle, acquiring relative target position information indicating a relative position of the target position with respect to the transport vehicle based on information indicating number of target objects disposed in the transport vehicle using a method other than a method of directly detecting a target position in the transport vehicle with a sensor, setting a second position within a predetermined distance range to the target position and outside the transport vehicle based on the positional information on the transport vehicle and the relative target position information; on a lateral side of the target position in the transport vehicle; and setting a third track connected to the second track and leading from the second position to the target position.
Jarvis, directed to automated preparation of deliveries in delivery vehicles using automated guided vehicles teaches, in which a plurality of target objects are disposed in a storage chamber along a front and rear direction of the transport vehicle (Fig. 1B depicts storage area 124 with shelves arranged along the left side of the storage area extending from the front to the rear of the delivery vehicle, see at least, ¶ Col 5, Lines 55-67, Jarvis), acquiring relative target position information indicating a relative position of the target position with respect to the transport vehicle based on information indicating number of target objects disposed in the transport vehicle (The storage location which is interpreted as the relative target position could be determined based on number of items stored in the transport vehicle, see at least [paragraph 130, Col 24 Line 52-57, Jarvis]) using a method other than a method of directly detecting a target position in the transport vehicle with a sensor (The process described involves retrieving storage location information set in advance which is a method other than a method of directly detecting a target position in the transport vehicle with a sensor, see at least, ¶ 4, Jarvis); on a lateral side of the target position in the transport vehicle (Fig. 1B depicts storage area 124 with shelves arranged along the left side of the storage area extending from the front to the rear of the delivery vehicle, see at least [Col 5, Lines 55-67, Jarvis]).
Accordingly, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention, with a reasonable expectation of success, to have modified Chilson’s method of loading a transport to incorporate the teachings of Jarvis which teaches in which a plurality of target objects are disposed in a storage chamber along a front and rear direction of the transport vehicle; relative target position acquisition unit configured to acquire relative target position information indicating a relative position of the target position with respect to the transport vehicle based on information indicating number of target objects disposed in the transport vehicle using a method other than a method of directly detecting a target position in the transport vehicle with a sensor; setting a second track on a lateral side of the target position in the transport vehicle since they are both related to loading transport vehicles and incorporation of the teachings of Jarvis would improve the overall system by allowing autonomous vehicles to retrieve items from designated locations more quickly and increase productivity therefore reducing time and labor costs.
Araki, directed to method of determining a movement route for automatically moving a forklift teaches A non-transitory computer-readable storage medium storing a computer program for causing a computer to perform a control method for a mobile object that automatically moves, the computer program comprising (see at least, ¶claim 9, Araki): setting a second position within a predetermined distance range to the detectable region of the target position and outside the detectable region of the target position based on the positional information of target position; and Setting a third track connected to the second track and leading from the second position to the target position (Fig. 14 depicts the area CC as a second position, and the third track is R9 that leads from and area CC to the pallet PA which is the target position, see at least, ¶129-133, Araki).
Accordingly, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention, with a reasonable expectation of success, to have modified Chilson in view of Jarvis’s path to a target position inside a transport vehicle to incorporate the teachings of Araki which teaches A non-transitory computer-readable storage medium storing a computer program for causing a computer to perform a control method for a mobile object that automatically moves, the computer program comprising: setting a second position within a predetermined distance range to the detectable region of the target position and outside the detectable region of the target position based on the positional information of target position; and Setting a third track connected to the second track and leading from the second position to the target position and use the position information of the object and relative position information of the target object to set the second position to get the mobile object close enough to directly detect the target object since they are both related to path planning to target objects and incorporation of the teachings of Araki would increase accuracy of approaching a target object to pick it up.
Regarding Claim 13, Chilson in view of Jarvis and Araki teaches, the control method for the mobile object according to claim 1, the causing the mobile object to move along the first path further includes detecting the position and the attitude of the target position in the transport vehicle using a method for directly detecting the target position in the transport vehicle using sensors (see at least, ¶Abstract, Chilson),
Araki, directed to a method of determining a movement route for automatically moving a forklift teaches, and setting a second target position based on the detection result, while the moving object is traversing the first path, the second target position is higher precision than the target position in the first path, which was set based on the relative target position information (see at least, ¶129-133, Araki).
Accordingly, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention, with a reasonable expectation of success, to have modified Chilson in view of Jarvis and Araki to incorporate the teachings of Araki which teaches and setting a second target position based on the detection result, while the moving object is traversing the first path, the second target position is higher precision than the target position in the first path, which was set based on the relative target position information since they are both related to path planning to target objects and incorporation of the teachings of Araki would increase accuracy of approaching a target object to pick it up.
Regarding Claim 14, Chilson in view of Jarvis and Araki teaches, the control method for the mobile object according to claim 13, the detecting the position and the attitude of the target position in the transport vehicle using a method for directly detecting the target position in the transport vehicle using sensors (see at least, ¶Abstract, Chilson).
Araki, directed to a method of determining a movement route for automatically moving a forklift teaches, and setting a second target position based on the detection result are performed while the moving object is travelling along the second track in the first path (see at least, ¶129-133, Araki).
Accordingly, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention, with a reasonable expectation of success, to have modified Chilson in view of Jarvis and Araki to incorporate the teachings of Araki which teaches and setting a second target position based on the detection result are performed while the moving object is travelling along the second track in the first path since they are both related to path planning to target objects and incorporation of the teachings of Araki would increase accuracy of approaching a target object to pick it up.
Claims 5-8 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Chilson et al. (US 8210791 B2) in view of Jarvis et al. (US 11119487 B2) and ARAKI et al. (US 20210216073 A1) as applied to claims 1, 10-11 and 13-14 and in further in view of Fukasawa (US 20040155796 A1).
Regarding Claim 5, Chilson in view of Jarvis and Araki and teaches: The control method for the mobile object according to claim 1, and further teaches wherein the acquiring of the positional information on the transport vehicle includes acquiring the position of the rear end portion and the attitude of the transport vehicle by acquiring of the positional information on the transport vehicle includes acquiring the position of the rear end portion and the attitude of the transport vehicle (The reference quoted above for claim 1 describes how the guidance system collects information via a sensor 100 (fig. 6) to detect the positioning of the back of the transport and length of the transport so that it can plan a path to deliver a load inside the transport [paragraphs 45 and 63, Chilson]).
However, Chilson in view of Jarvis and Araki does not explicitly teach: by causing a sensor disposed in a facility in which the parking region is disposed to detect the rear end portion of the transport vehicle.
Nevertheless, Fukasawa – directed to vehicle identification system for payment of tolls – teaches: by causing a sensor disposed in a facility in which the parking region is disposed to detect the rear end portion of the transport vehicle (“The vehicle type identifying device 12 detects a vehicle entering the lane”, [paragraph 67, Fukasawa] (Fig 3)).
Accordingly, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention, with a reasonable expectation of success, to have modified the invention of Chilson, Jarvis and Araki to include the method of Fukasawa which teaches by causing a sensor disposed in a facility in which the parking region is disposed to detect the rear end portion of the transport vehicle since they are both related to transport vehicles and are geared toward solving similar the problem of identifying vehicle types and incorporation of the teachings of Fukasawa would improve the overall system by expediting the loading and unloading process based on identified vehicle information which increases productivity therefore reducing time and labor costs.
Regarding Claim 6, Chilson in view of Jarvis and Araki teaches: The control method for the mobile object according to claim 1, and further teaches wherein the acquiring of the positional information on the transport vehicle includes (The reference quoted above for claim 1 describes how the guidance system collects information via a sensor 100 (fig. 6) to detect the positioning of the back of the transport and length of the transport so that it can plan a path to deliver a load inside the transport [paragraphs 45 and 63, Chilson]).
However, Chilson, Jarvis do not explicitly teach: acquiring vehicle type information indicating a vehicle type of the transport vehicle, and acquiring the information on the length of the transport vehicle based on the vehicle type information.
Nevertheless, Fukasawa – directed to vehicle identification system for payment of tolls – teaches: acquiring vehicle type information indicating a vehicle type of the transport vehicle, and acquiring the information on the length of the transport vehicle based on the vehicle type information (“The vehicle type identifying device 12 detects a vehicle entering the lane, obtains vehicle information such as the number of axles, vehicle height, vehicle length, license plate and the like of the entering vehicle, and identifies the vehicle type of the vehicle from the obtained vehicle information.”, [paragraph 67, Fukasawa] (Fig 3)).
Accordingly, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention, with a reasonable expectation of success, to have further modified the invention of Chilson, Jarvis and Araki to include the method of Fukasawa which teaches acquiring vehicle type information indicating a vehicle type of the transport vehicle, and acquiring the information on the length of the transport vehicle based on the vehicle type information since they are both related to transport vehicles and are geared toward solving similar the problem of identifying vehicle types and incorporation of the teachings of Fukasawa would improve the overall system by expediting the loading and unloading process based on identified vehicle information which increases productivity therefore reducing time and labor costs.
Regarding Claim 7, Chilson, Jarvis and Araki in view of Fukasawa teach: The control method for the mobile object according to claim 6.
Fukasawa – directed to vehicle identification system for payment of tolls –further teaches the acquiring of the positional information on the transport vehicle includes acquiring the vehicle type information by causing a sensor disposed in a facility in which the parking region is disposed to detect a point indicating the vehicle type of the transport vehicle, and acquiring the information on the length of the transport vehicle based on relation information indicating a relation between the vehicle type information and the length of the vehicle and based on the acquired vehicle type information, (“The vehicle type identifying device 12 detects a vehicle entering the lane, obtains vehicle information such as the number of axles, vehicle height, vehicle length, license plate and the like of the entering vehicle, and identifies the vehicle type of the vehicle from the obtained vehicle information.”, [Paragraph 67, Fukasawa] (Fig 3)).
Accordingly, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention, with a reasonable expectation of success, to have further modified the invention of Chilson, Jarvis, Araki and Fukasawa to include the method of Fukasawa which teaches the acquiring of the positional information on the transport vehicle includes acquiring the vehicle type information by causing a sensor disposed in a facility in which the parking region is disposed to detect a point indicating the vehicle type of the transport vehicle, and acquiring the information on the length of the transport vehicle based on relation information indicating a relation between the vehicle type information and the length of the vehicle and based on the acquired vehicle type information since they are both related to transport vehicles and are geared toward solving similar the problem of identifying vehicle types and incorporation of the teachings of Fukasawa would improve the overall system by expediting the loading and unloading process based on identified vehicle information which increases productivity therefore reducing time and labor costs.
Regarding Claim 8, Chilson in view of Jarvis and Araki teaches: the control method for a mobile object in claim 1, and further teaches wherein the acquiring of the positional information on the transport vehicle includes acquiring the information on the length of the transport vehicle (The reference quoted above for claim 1 describes how the guidance system collects information via a sensor 100 (fig. 6) to detect the positioning of the back of the transport and length of the transport so that it can plan a path to deliver a load inside the transport [paragraphs 45 and 63, Chilson]).
However, Chilson, and Jarvis do not explicitly teach: by causing a sensor disposed in a facility in which the parking region is disposed to detect the rear end portion and a front end portion of the transport vehicle.
Nevertheless, Fukasawa – directed to vehicle identification system for payment of tolls – teaches: by causing a sensor disposed in a facility in which the parking region is disposed to detect the rear end portion and a front end portion of the transport vehicle (“The vehicle type identifying device 12 detects a vehicle entering the lane, obtains vehicle information such as the number of axles, vehicle height, vehicle length, license plate and the like of the entering vehicle” The sensor is positioned as the vehicle passes, so it can directly detect the length of the vehicle by detecting the front and the rear end portions of the vehicle as it passes through. [Paragraph 67] (Fig 3)).
Accordingly, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention, with a reasonable expectation of success, to have further modified the invention of Chilson, Jarvis and Araki to include the method of Fukasawa which teaches by causing a sensor disposed in a facility in which the parking region is disposed to detect the rear end portion and a front end portion of the transport vehicle and since they are both related to transport vehicles and are geared toward solving similar the problem of identifying vehicle types and incorporation of the teachings of Fukasawa would improve the overall system by expediting the loading and unloading process based on identified vehicle information which increases productivity therefore reducing time and labor costs.
Claim 9 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Chilson et al. (US 8210791 B2) in view of Jarvis et al. (US 11119487 B2) and Araki; Jared (US 10108194 B1) as applied to claims 1, 10-11 and 13-14 and further in view of 2019 Fuso FJ 2528R Fruehauf 32' Wing Van (Fuso Wing Van) and Tu et al. (US 20190325749).
Regarding Claim 9, Chilson in view of Jarvis and Araki teaches: The control method for a mobile object in claim 1.
However, Chilson does not explicitly teach: the transport vehicle is in a state in which lateral doors are opened so that a surface of each of the lateral doors faces upward in a vertical direction in the parking region, and, the acquiring of the positional information on the transport vehicle includes acquiring the positional information on the transport vehicle by causing a sensor disposed on a ceiling of the parking region to detect the lateral door.
Nevertheless, Fuso Wing Van– directed at a transport vehicle for sale– teaches: the transport vehicle is in a state in which lateral doors are opened so that a surface of each of the lateral doors faces upward in a vertical direction in the parking region, (2019 Fuso FJ 2528R Fruehauf 32' Wing Van teaches a transport vehicle with lateral doors that open upward in a vertical direction [NPL Reference: 2019 Fuso FJ 2528R Fruehauf 32' Wing Van, Fig. 1]);
In addition, Tu – directed at illuminating guidance system for guiding a vehicle in a parking lot – teaches: and, the acquiring of the positional information on the transport vehicle includes acquiring the positional information on the transport vehicle by causing a sensor disposed on a ceiling of the parking region to detect the lateral door (“in order to correctly detect the status of each parking space inside an indoor parking garage, it is required to install an ultrasonic sensor above each parking space, for example, by installing each ultrasonic sensor on a ceiling”, [paragraph 4, Tu]).
Accordingly, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention, with a reasonable expectation of success, to have modified the invention of Chilson Jarvis and Araki to include the method of Fuso Wing Van which teaches the transport vehicle is in a state in which lateral doors are opened so that a surface of each of the lateral doors faces upward in a vertical direction in the parking region and since they are both related to transport vehicles and incorporation of the teachings of the Fuso Wing Van would improve the overall system by expanding vehicle type sensing capability to commercially available transport vehicles types for the purposes of planning a path to deliver a load inside the transport of different types of vehicles expediting the loading and unloading process from the sides of the wing van, increasing productivity therefore reducing time and labor costs.
Additionally, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention, with a reasonable expectation of success, to have further modified the invention of Chilson, Jarvis, Araki and Fuso Wing Van to include the method of Tu which teaches and, the acquiring of the positional information on the transport vehicle includes acquiring the positional information on the transport vehicle by causing a sensor disposed on a ceiling of the parking region to detect the lateral door since they are both related to vehicles and incorporation of the teachings of the Fuso Wing Van would improve the overall system by sensing that the positioning of the doors are open, expediting the loading and unloading process from the sides of the wing van, and increasing productivity therefore reducing time and labor costs.
Conclusion
/IRENE C KHUU/
Examiner, Art Unit 3664
/RACHID BENDIDI/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3664