DETAILED ACTION
This communication is responsive to the claim set filed 10/10/2022 and response to the restriction requirements dated 08/22/2025. Claims 1-16 are currently pending. Non-elected claims 1-4 and 9-16 are withdrawn.
The elected claims 5-8 are rejected for the reasons set forth below.
Election/Restrictions
Applicant’s election without traverse of Claims 5-8 in the reply filed on 08/22/2025 is acknowledged.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
5. Claim 5 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 5 lines 10-11 recite the ring C represents an optionally-substituted benzimidazole ring. However, the instant specification paragraphs [0107-0110] show the ring C represents imidazole, therefore, it is not clear if the ring C represents imidazole, fusing with benzene ring to form a benzimidazole, or the ring C represents a benzimidazole ring. When ring C represents a benzimidazole, it is also not clear if there are connecting groups between the ring C and the benzene ring.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 5-7 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Landis (US4,952,666, US family member of the IDS reference WO89/10946A1).
Regarding Claims 5 and 7, Landis teaches a polyimide polymer has the formula of:
wherein R is
(Formula I of column 5-6).
The difference of the formula from instant Formula (3) is that the corresponding Rf1 group, CF3CCF3 , has 3 carbon atoms. However, the CF3CCF3 group from (CF3CCF3)2 is only differing in one CF3CCF3 unit. A prima facie case of obviousness may be made when chemical compounds have very close structural similarities and similar utilities. "An obviousness rejection based on similarity in chemical structure and function entails the motivation of one skilled in the art to make a claimed compound, in the expectation that compounds similar in structure will have similar properties." (MPEP 2144.09(I) Compounds that are homologs are generally of sufficiently close structural similarity that there is a presumed expectation that such compounds possess similar properties. (MPEP 2144.09(II)).
Regarding Claim 6, Landis teaches n= 1 to 20 (5: 23-24).
Claims 5-7 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hayashi et al. (JP2005146077A) in view of Landis (US4,952,666)
Regarding Claims 5 and 7, Hayashi teaches a polyimide compound from reacting a dianhydride with a diamine ([0007]). Attention is drawn to Example 1, wherein the compound is obtained from reacting 3,3 ', 4,4 ' biphenyltetracarboxylic dianhydride (BPDA) with 2,2-bis(4-aminophenyl)~hexadecafluorooctane (APFO), the resulted polyimide has a structure reading on instant Formula (3) wherein Rf2 is a single bond and Rf1 has a perfluoroalkylene having more than 4 carbon atoms.
The difference between the polyimide compound of Hayashi and instant claimed compound is that Hayashi is silent on the polyimide compound has an end-capping group.
However, Landis teaches a polyimide obtain from reacting a dianhydride with a diamine (6:15-20). Landis further teaches the polyimide is added a functional end group of
(6:50-55). Landis furthermore teaches the functional group giving the polymer improved solvent resistance (7:36-40). In view of such benefit, one ordinary skilled artisan would have been motivated, before the effective filing date of instant application, to add the functional group taught by Landis to obtain a modified compound with improved solvent resistance.
Regarding Claim 6, Hayashi is silent on the polymerization degree. However, Example 1 of Hayashi reacting the dianhydride with the diamine at room temperature for 17 hours then 40 to 450C 8 hours. Landis exemplifies reacting the dianhydride with the diamine at 360C, a 60C exotherm for 20 minutes (Example 1). Landis discloses that the polymerization degree being 1 to 20 (5: 23-24). One ordinary skilled artisan would reasonably infer that the polyimide Hayashi would have a polymerization degree over 2 because Hayashi reacted the reactants at a similar temperature for a longer time.
Claims 5-6 and 8 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Yakubovich et al. (XP008171168, cited in the IDS filed 05/07/2024) in view of Landis (US4,952,666)
Regarding Claims 5 and 8, Yakubovich teaches producing a large molecular weight polyperfluoroalkylene from diphenylperfluoroalkanes (p2854 4th para.). Yakubovich exemplifies a polybenzimidazole made from condensing 3,3' -diaminobenzidine with diphenylperfluoroalkane dicarboxylic acids which results in polymers having a structure of:
; m=5 or 6 (p2861 middle paragraphs).
The difference between the polybenzimidazole of Yakubovich and compound of instant Claim 5 is that Yakubovich is silent on that the polymer has an end group.
However, Landis teaches adding a functional end group of
to a polymer having diamine units (6:50-55). Landis furthermore teaches the functional group giving the polymer improved solvent resistance (7:36-40). In view of such benefit, one ordinary skilled artisan would have been motivated, before the effective filing date of instant application, to add the functional group taught by Landis to obtain a modified compound with improved solvent resistance.
Regarding Claim 6, Yakubovich teaches the polymer has a large molecular weight, therefore, one ordinary skilled artisan would reasonably infer that the polymerization degree is over 2.
Double Patenting
Claims 5-8 are provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 4-6 of copending Application No. 17/984,626 (‘626) in view of Landis (US4,952,666).
Regarding Claim 5, Claim 4 of ‘626 claims a nitrogen-contianing heterocyclic ring-containing compound comprising a repeating unit represented by Formula (3a):
wherein n represents an integer of 6 to 8, the (CF2)n reading on the claimed perfluoroalkylene group having 4 or more carbon atoms and ring C represents an imide ring, the Rf group is the same as the claimed Rf2.
The difference between Claim 4 of ‘626 and instant Claim 5 is that Formula (3a) is silent on that there is a crosslinking group at a molecular end.
However, Landis teaches a polyimide with a crosslinking site of
. Landis further teaches the crosslinking site giving the polymer improved solvent resistance (7:36-40). In view of such benefit, one ordinary skilled artisan would have been motivated, before the effective filing date of instant application, to add the crosslinking site taught by Landis to obtain a modified compound with improved solvent resistance.
Regarding Claim 6, Claim 5 of ‘626 claims the polymerization degree of the repeating unit is 2 to 100, encompassing the instant claimed 2 to 10.
Regarding Claim 7, claim 4 of ‘626 claims the C ring represents an imide ring.
Regarding Claim 8, claim 6 of ‘626 claims a formula the same as claim 4 of ‘626 except the C ring represents an imidazole ring which makes the formula reads on the repeating unit of instant claim 8. Same reasoning as Claim 5 above, one ordinary skilled artisan would have been motivated, before the effective filing date of instant application, to add the crosslinking site taught by Landis to obtain a modified compound with improved solvent resistance.
This is a provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection.
Conclusion
/HUIHONG QIAO/Examiner, Art Unit 1763
/CATHERINE S BRANCH/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1763