DETAILED ACTION
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Claims 1-20 are pending in this office action.
Claims 1. 2, 7, 8, 11, 12, 17 and 18 have been amended.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to the amendment filed 02/17/2026 have been considered but are moot in view of new grounds of rejection.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 2, 4-8, 10-12, 14-18 and 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Nam et al (US 2020/0245304 A1) in view of Jung et al (US 2023/0180199 A1).
Regarding claim 1, Nam teaches a switching method, wherein the method comprises:
receiving, by a first terminal device, bandwidth unit configuration information, wherein the bandwidth unit configuration information includes configuration information of a first bandwidth unit and configuration information of a second bandwidth unit (Nam: Figs. 9-11; [0098]-[0100], [0115]-[0117], terminal configured with groups of BWPs, Group 1/first bandwidth unit and Group 2/second bandwidth unit); and
determining, by the first terminal device, to switch from the first bandwidth unit to the second bandwidth unit, wherein a switching delay of the first terminal device switching from the first bandwidth unit to the second bandwidth unit includes a first delay, the first delay being less than a second delay usable by a second terminal device to perform bandwidth unit switching (Nam: Figs. 9-11; [0107] UE switching between BWPs in the same group with a first switching delay that is less than the switching delay between BWPs form different groups).
Nam does not explicitly disclose wherein the first terminal device is a reduced capability terminal device and the second terminal device being a legacy terminal or the switching delay of the first terminal device switching from the first bandwidth unit to the second bandwidth unit is-includes one of N delays, the N delays are switching delays being supported by the first terminal device, N is an integer greater than or equal to 2, and the N delays comprise includes a first delay, the second delay being usable by the second terminal device to perform the bandwidth unit switching.
Jung teaches wherein the first terminal device is a reduced capability terminal device and the second terminal device being a legacy terminal (Jung: [0148], reduced capability UE having a bandwidth part switching delay relaxed/smaller than NR UEs/legacy UEs); the switching delay of the first terminal device switching from the first bandwidth unit to the second bandwidth unit is-includes one of N delays, the N delays are switching delays being supported by the first terminal device, N is an integer greater than or equal to 2, and the N delays comprise includes a first delay, the second delay being usable by the second terminal device to perform the bandwidth unit switching (Jung: [0142], Table 8.6.2-1; terminal device with different capabilities having plurality (N=4 in this case) BWP switch delay).
It would have been obvious to a person having an ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to modify the system of Nam wherein the first terminal device is a reduced capability terminal device and the second terminal device being a legacy terminal or the switching delay of the first terminal device switching from the first bandwidth unit to the second bandwidth unit is-includes one of N delays, the N delays are switching delays being supported by the first terminal device, N is an integer greater than or equal to 2, and the N delays comprise includes a first delay, the second delay being usable by the second terminal device to perform the bandwidth unit switching as disclosed by Jung to provide a system for selective decoding of physical downlink control candidates (Jung: Abstract).
Regarding claim 7, Nam teaches a switching method, comprising:
sending, by a network device, bandwidth unit configuration information to a first terminal device, wherein the bandwidth unit configuration information includes configuration information of a first bandwidth unit and configuration information of a second bandwidth unit (Nam: Figs. 9-11; [0098]-[0100], [0115]-[0117], terminal configured with groups of BWPs, Group 1/first bandwidth unit and Group 2/second bandwidth unit); and
scheduling, by the network device, data of the first terminal device based on a switching delay, wherein the switching delay is-includes a delay of the first terminal device switching from the first bandwidth unit to the second bandwidth unit, the switching delay is-being a first delay, the first delay being less than a second delay usable by a second terminal device to perform bandwidth unit switching (Nam: Figs. 9-11; [0107] UE switching between BWPs in the same group with a first switching delay that is less than the switching delay between BWPs form different groups).
Nam does not explicitly disclose wherein the first terminal device is a reduced capability terminal device and the second terminal device being a legacy terminal or the switching delay of the first terminal device switching from the first bandwidth unit to the second bandwidth unit is-includes one of N delays, the N delays are switching delays being supported by the first terminal device, N is an integer greater than or equal to 2, and the N delays comprise includes a first delay, the second delay being usable by the second terminal device to perform the bandwidth unit switching.
Jung teaches wherein the first terminal device is a reduced capability terminal device and the second terminal device being a legacy terminal (Jung: [0148], reduced capability UE having a bandwidth part switching delay relaxed/smaller than NR UEs/legacy UEs); the switching delay of the first terminal device switching from the first bandwidth unit to the second bandwidth unit is-includes one of N delays, the N delays are switching delays being supported by the first terminal device, N is an integer greater than or equal to 2, and the N delays comprise includes a first delay, the second delay being usable by the second terminal device to perform the bandwidth unit switching (Jung: [0142], Table 8.6.2-1; terminal device with different capabilities having plurality (N=4 in this case) BWP switch delay).
It would have been obvious to a person having an ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to modify the system of Nam wherein the first terminal device is a reduced capability terminal device and the second terminal device being a legacy terminal or the switching delay of the first terminal device switching from the first bandwidth unit to the second bandwidth unit is-includes one of N delays, the N delays are switching delays being supported by the first terminal device, N is an integer greater than or equal to 2, and the N delays comprise includes a first delay, the second delay being usable by the second terminal device to perform the bandwidth unit switching as disclosed by Jung to provide a system for selective decoding of physical downlink control candidates (Jung: Abstract).
Regarding claim 11, Nam teaches a communication apparatus, wherein the apparatus comprises:
a receiver, configured to receive bandwidth unit configuration information, wherein the bandwidth unit configuration information includes configuration information of a first bandwidth unit and configuration information of a second bandwidth unit (Nam: Figs. 9-11; [0098]-[0100], [0115]-[0117], terminal configured with groups of BWPs, Group 1/first bandwidth unit and Group 2/second bandwidth unit); and
a processor, configured to switch from the first bandwidth unit to the second bandwidth unit, wherein a switching delay of the processor switching from the first bandwidth unit to the second bandwidth unit includes a first delay, the first delay being less than a second delay usable by a second terminal device to perform bandwidth unit switching (Nam: Figs. 9-11; [0107] UE switching between BWPs in the same group with a first switching delay that is less than the switching delay between BWPs form different groups).
Nam does not explicitly disclose wherein the first terminal device is a reduced capability terminal device and the second terminal device being a legacy terminal or the switching delay of the first terminal device switching from the first bandwidth unit to the second bandwidth unit is-includes one of N delays, the N delays are switching delays being supported by the first terminal device, N is an integer greater than or equal to 2, and the N delays comprise includes a first delay, the second delay being usable by the second terminal device to perform the bandwidth unit switching.
Jung teaches wherein the first terminal device is a reduced capability terminal device and the second terminal device being a legacy terminal (Jung: [0148], reduced capability UE having a bandwidth part switching delay relaxed/smaller than NR UEs/legacy UEs); the switching delay of the first terminal device switching from the first bandwidth unit to the second bandwidth unit is-includes one of N delays, the N delays are switching delays being supported by the first terminal device, N is an integer greater than or equal to 2, and the N delays comprise includes a first delay, the second delay being usable by the second terminal device to perform the bandwidth unit switching (Jung: [0142], Table 8.6.2-1; terminal device with different capabilities having plurality (N=4 in this case) BWP switch delay).
It would have been obvious to a person having an ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to modify the system of Nam wherein the first terminal device is a reduced capability terminal device and the second terminal device being a legacy terminal or the switching delay of the first terminal device switching from the first bandwidth unit to the second bandwidth unit is-includes one of N delays, the N delays are switching delays being supported by the first terminal device, N is an integer greater than or equal to 2, and the N delays comprise includes a first delay, the second delay being usable by the second terminal device to perform the bandwidth unit switching as disclosed by Jung to provide a system for selective decoding of physical downlink control candidates (Jung: Abstract).
Regarding claim 17, Nam teaches a switching apparatus, comprising: a transmitter, configured to send bandwidth unit configuration information to a first terminal device, wherein the bandwidth unit configuration information includes configuration information of a first bandwidth unit and configuration information of a second bandwidth unit (Nam: Figs. 9-11; [0098]-[0100], [0115]-[0117], terminal configured with groups of BWPs, Group 1/first bandwidth unit and Group 2/second bandwidth unit); and
a processor, configured to schedule data of the first terminal device based on a switching delay, wherein the switching delay includes a first delay, the first delay being less than a second delay usable by a second terminal device to perform bandwidth unit switching (Nam: Figs. 9-11; [0107] UE switching between BWPs in the same group with a first switching delay that is less than the switching delay between BWPs form different groups).
Nam does not explicitly disclose wherein the first terminal device is a reduced capability terminal device and the second terminal device being a legacy terminal or the switching delay of the first terminal device switching from the first bandwidth unit to the second bandwidth unit is-includes one of N delays, the N delays are switching delays being supported by the first terminal device, N is an integer greater than or equal to 2, and the N delays comprise includes a first delay, the second delay being usable by the second terminal device to perform the bandwidth unit switching.
Jung teaches wherein the first terminal device is a reduced capability terminal device and the second terminal device being a legacy terminal (Jung: [0148], reduced capability UE having a bandwidth part switching delay relaxed/smaller than NR UEs/legacy UEs); the switching delay of the first terminal device switching from the first bandwidth unit to the second bandwidth unit is-includes one of N delays, the N delays are switching delays being supported by the first terminal device, N is an integer greater than or equal to 2, and the N delays comprise includes a first delay, the second delay being usable by the second terminal device to perform the bandwidth unit switching (Jung: [0142], Table 8.6.2-1; terminal device with different capabilities having plurality (N=4 in this case) BWP switch delay).
It would have been obvious to a person having an ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to modify the system of Nam wherein the first terminal device is a reduced capability terminal device and the second terminal device being a legacy terminal or the switching delay of the first terminal device switching from the first bandwidth unit to the second bandwidth unit is-includes one of N delays, the N delays are switching delays being supported by the first terminal device, N is an integer greater than or equal to 2, and the N delays comprise includes a first delay, the second delay being usable by the second terminal device to perform the bandwidth unit switching as disclosed by Jung to provide a system for selective decoding of physical downlink control candidates (Jung: Abstract).
Regarding claims 2, 8, 12 and 18, Nam teaches wherein the second terminal device is includes a legacy terminal device in a new radio (NR) system (Nam: Fig. 9, [0067]).
Regarding claims 4, 10, 14 and 20, Nam teaches wherein a frequency resource position of the first bandwidth unit is different from a frequency resource position of the second bandwidth unit, the first bandwidth unit and the second bandwidth unit correspond to different BWP identifiers, and the switching delay of the first terminal device switching from the first bandwidth unit to the second bandwidth unit is-includes a delay other than the first delay of the N delays (Nam: Fig. 11; [0107], BWPS in different groups have larger switching delays/delay other than the first delay).
Regarding claims 5 and 15, Nam teaches wherein the first bandwidth unit and the second bandwidth unit correspond to different BWP identifiers, the first bandwidth unit correlating with the second bandwidth unit, and the switching delay of the first terminal device switching from the first bandwidth unit to the second bandwidth unit 4sincludes the first delay (Nam: Fig. 11; [0107], BWPS in same group/correlated have low switching delay/ first delay).
Regarding claims 6 and 16, Nam teaches wherein the first bandwidth unit and the second bandwidth unit correspond to different BWP identifiers, the first bandwidth unit not correlated correlating with the second bandwidth unit, and the switching delay of the first terminal device switching from the first bandwidth unit to the second bandwidth unit is-includes a delay other than the first delay of the N delays (Nam: Fig. 11; [0107], BWPS in different groups have larger switching delays/delay other than the first delay).
Claims 3, 9, 13 and 19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Nam et al (US 2020/0245304 A1) in view of Jung et al (US 2023/0180199 A1) in further view of Li et al (WO 2018/228416 A1) (US 2022/0345281 A1) used as the English translation).
Regarding claims 3, 9, 13 and 19, Nam teaches. (Currently Amended) The method according to claim 1, and the switching delay of the first terminal device switching from the first bandwidth unit to the second bandwidth unit is-includes the first delay (Nam: Fig. 11; [0107], BWPS in the same group have switch delay/first delay lower than inter-group switching delay).
Nam does not explicitly disclose wherein a frequency resource position of the first bandwidth unit is different from a frequency resource position of the second bandwidth unit, the first bandwidth unit and the second bandwidth unit correspond to a same bandwidth part (BWP) identifier.
Li teaches wherein a frequency resource position of the first bandwidth unit is different from a frequency resource position of the second bandwidth unit, the first bandwidth unit and the second bandwidth unit correspond to a same bandwidth part (BWP) identifier (Li: Fig. 5; [0122], BWP group with the group being identified by an ID).
It would have been obvious to a person having an ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to modify the system of Nam wherein a frequency resource position of the first bandwidth unit is different from a frequency resource position of the second bandwidth unit, the first bandwidth unit and the second bandwidth unit correspond to a same bandwidth part (BWP) identifier as disclosed by Li to provide a system for configuring bandwidth parts in a wireless communication system (Li: Abstract).
Conclusion
/KODZOVI ACOLATSE/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2478