DETAILED ACTION
Claims 1-20 are pending in this office action.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to the amendment filed 06/17/2026 have been considered but are not persuasive. The reasons set forth below.
Applicant Argues:
On pages of the remarks, applicant argues Nam fails to teach or suggest "receiving, by the first terminal device from the network device, downlink control information, wherein the downlink control information includes a first information field indicating at least one of frequency resource position information or BWP identification information of the first bandwidth unit and the second bandwidth unit" as recited by independent claim 1, as amended. Nam does not mention "downlink control information" that is used to indicate at least one of frequency resource position information or BWP identification information of the first bandwidth unit and the second bandwidth unit."
In response, the Examiner respectfully submits:
Nam teaches in Fig. 9-11 and [0095], [0097], [0102]-[0106], that the UE receives DCI with identification of the BWPs.
Applicant Argues:
On pages of the remarks, applicant argues Nam also fails to teach or suggest "determining, by the first terminal device, to switch from the first bandwidth unit to the second bandwidth unit" based on "the bandwidth unit configuration information and the at least one of the frequency resource position information or the BWP identification information of the first bandwidth unit and the second bandwidth unit" as recited by independent claim 1, as amended.
In response, the Examiner respectfully submits:
Nam teaches in Fig. 11 and [0115]-[0121] that the UE switches from BWP1 to BWP3 based on the BWP group 1 (=bandwidth unit configuration information) and the identification of the BWP, i.e. BWP1 to BWP 3 (= BWP identification information).
Applicant Argues:
On pages of the remarks, applicant argues Nam also fails to teach or suggest Next, Nam fails to teach or suggest "a switching delay of the first terminal device switching from the first bandwidth unit to the second bandwidth unit includes a first delay", "the first delay being less than a second delay of a second terminal device performing bandwidth unit switching", and "the second terminal device being a legacy terminal"; or "the switching delay of the first terminal device switching from the first bandwidth unit to the second bandwidth unit includes one of N delays", "the N delays being supported by the first terminal device, N is an integer greater than or equal to 2, and the N delays includes the first delay, and the second delay of the second terminal device performing the bandwidth unit switching"
In response, the Examiner respectfully submits:
See rejection below.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 2, 4-8, 10-12, 14-18 and 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Nam et al (US 2020/0245304 A1) in view of Jung et al (US 2023/0180199 A1).
Regarding claim 1, Nam teaches a switching method, wherein the method comprises:
receiving, by a first terminal device from a network device, bandwidth unit configuration information, wherein the bandwidth unit configuration information includes configuration information of a first bandwidth unit and configuration information of a second bandwidth unit (Nam: Figs. 9-11; [0098]-[0101], [0115]-[0117], terminal configured by a BS with groups of BWPs, Group 1/first bandwidth unit and Group 2/second bandwidth unit);
receiving, by the first terminal device from the network device, downlink control information, wherein the downlink control information includes a first information field indicating at least one of frequency resource position information or BWP identification information of the first bandwidth unit and the second bandwidth unit (Nam: Fig. 9-11; [0095], [0097], [0102]-[0106], UE receives DCI with identification of the BWPs); and
determining, by the first terminal device, to switch from the first bandwidth unit to the second bandwidth unit based on the bandwidth unit configuration information and the at least one of the frequency resource position information or the BWP identification information of the first bandwidth unit and the second bandwidth unit (Nam: Fig. 11; [0115]-[0121] UE switches from BWP1 to BWP3 based on the BWP group 1 and the identification of the BWP, i.e. BWP1 to BWP 3), wherein a switching delay of the first terminal device switching from the first bandwidth unit to the second bandwidth unit includes a first delay, the first delay being less than a second delay of a second terminal device performing bandwidth unit switching (Nam: Figs. 9-11; [0107] UE switching between BWPs in the same group with a first switching delay that is less than the switching delay between BWPs form different groups).
Nam does not explicitly disclose wherein the first terminal device is a reduced capability terminal device and the second terminal device being a legacy terminal or the switching delay of the first terminal device switching from the first bandwidth unit to the second bandwidth unit is-includes one of N delays, the N delays are switching delays being supported by the first terminal device, N is an integer greater than or equal to 2, and the N delays comprise includes a first delay and the second delay being of the second terminal device performing the bandwidth unit switching.
Jung teaches wherein the first terminal device is a reduced capability terminal device and the second terminal device being a legacy terminal (Jung: [0148], reduced capability UE having a bandwidth part switching delay relaxed/smaller than NR UEs/legacy UEs); the switching delay of the first terminal device switching from the first bandwidth unit to the second bandwidth unit is-includes one of N delays, the N delays are switching delays being supported by the first terminal device, N is an integer greater than or equal to 2, and the N delays comprise includes a first delay, the second delay of the second terminal device performing the bandwidth unit switching (Jung: [0142], Table 8.6.2-1; terminal device with different capabilities having plurality (N=4 in this case) BWP switch delay).
It would have been obvious to a person having an ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to modify the system of Nam wherein the first terminal device is a reduced capability terminal device and the second terminal device being a legacy terminal or the switching delay of the first terminal device switching from the first bandwidth unit to the second bandwidth unit is-includes one of N delays, the N delays are switching delays being supported by the first terminal device, N is an integer greater than or equal to 2, and the N delays comprise includes a first delay, the second delay of the second terminal device performing the bandwidth unit switching as disclosed by Jung to provide a system for selective decoding of physical downlink control candidates (Jung: Abstract).
Regarding claim 7, Nam teaches a switching method, comprising:
sending, by a network device, bandwidth unit configuration information to a first terminal device, wherein the bandwidth unit configuration information includes configuration information of a first bandwidth unit and configuration information of a second bandwidth unit (Nam: Figs. 9-11; [0098]-[0100], [0115]-[0117], terminal configured with groups of BWPs, Group 1/first bandwidth unit and Group 2/second bandwidth unit);
sending, by the network device, downlink control information, wherein the downlink control information includes a first information field indicating at least one of frequency resource position information or BWP identification information of the first bandwidth unit and the second bandwidth unit (Nam: Fig. 9-11; [0095], [0097], [0102]-[0106], UE receives DCI with identification of the BWPs);
scheduling, by the network device, data of the first terminal device based on a switching delay in switching from the first bandwidth unit to the second bandwidth unit based on the bandwidth unit configuration information and the at least one of the frequency resource position information or the BWP identification information of the first bandwidth unit and the second bandwidth unit (Nam: Fig. 11; UE switches from BWP1 to BWP3 based on the BWP group 1 and the identification of the BWP, i.e. BWP1 to BWP 3), wherein the switching delay includes a first delay of the first terminal device switching from the first bandwidth unit to the second bandwidth unit, the first delay being less than a second delay of a second terminal device performing bandwidth unit switching (Nam: Figs. 9-11; [0107] UE switching between BWPs in the same group with a first switching delay that is less than the switching delay between BWPs form different groups).
Nam does not explicitly disclose wherein the first terminal device is a reduced capability terminal device and the second terminal device being a legacy terminal or the switching delay of the first terminal device switching from the first bandwidth unit to the second bandwidth unit is-includes one of N delays, the N delays are switching delays being supported by the first terminal device, N is an integer greater than or equal to 2, and the N delays comprise includes a first delay and the second delay being of the second terminal device performing the bandwidth unit switching.
Jung teaches wherein the first terminal device is a reduced capability terminal device and the second terminal device being a legacy terminal (Jung: [0148], reduced capability UE having a bandwidth part switching delay relaxed/smaller than NR UEs/legacy UEs); the switching delay of the first terminal device switching from the first bandwidth unit to the second bandwidth unit is-includes one of N delays, the N delays are switching delays being supported by the first terminal device, N is an integer greater than or equal to 2, and the N delays comprise includes a first delay, the second delay of the second terminal device performing the bandwidth unit switching (Jung: [0142], Table 8.6.2-1; terminal device with different capabilities having plurality (N=4 in this case) BWP switch delay).
It would have been obvious to a person having an ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to modify the system of Nam wherein the first terminal device is a reduced capability terminal device and the second terminal device being a legacy terminal or the switching delay of the first terminal device switching from the first bandwidth unit to the second bandwidth unit is-includes one of N delays, the N delays are switching delays being supported by the first terminal device, N is an integer greater than or equal to 2, and the N delays comprise includes a first delay, the second delay of the second terminal device performing the bandwidth unit switching as disclosed by Jung to provide a system for selective decoding of physical downlink control candidates (Jung: Abstract).
Regarding claim 11, Nam teaches a communication apparatus, wherein the apparatus comprises:
a receiver, configured to receive bandwidth unit configuration information, wherein the bandwidth unit configuration information includes configuration information of a first bandwidth unit and configuration information of a second bandwidth unit (Nam: Figs. 9-11; [0098]-[0100], [0115]-[0117], terminal configured with groups of BWPs, Group 1/first bandwidth unit and Group 2/second bandwidth unit);
wherein the receiver is further configured to receive downlink control information, wherein the downlink control information includes a first information field indicating at least one of frequency resource position information or BWP identification information of the first bandwidth unit and the second bandwidth unit (Nam: Fig. 9-11; [0095], [0097], [0102]-[0106], UE receives DCI with identification of the BWPs);
a processor, configured to switch from the first bandwidth unit to the second bandwidth unit based on the bandwidth unit configuration information and the at least one of the frequency resource position information or the BWP identification information of the first bandwidth unit and the second bandwidth unit (Nam: Fig. 11; UE switches from BWP1 to BWP3 based on the BWP group 1 and the identification of the BWP, i.e. BWP1 to BWP 3), wherein a switching delay of the processor switching from the first bandwidth unit to the second bandwidth unit includes a first delay, the first delay being less than a second delay usable by a second terminal device to perform bandwidth unit switching (Nam: Figs. 9-11; [0107] UE switching between BWPs in the same group with a first switching delay that is less than the switching delay between BWPs form different groups).
Nam does not explicitly disclose wherein the first terminal device is a reduced capability terminal device and the second terminal device being a legacy terminal or the switching delay of the first terminal device switching from the first bandwidth unit to the second bandwidth unit is-includes one of N delays, the N delays are switching delays being supported by the first terminal device, N is an integer greater than or equal to 2, and the N delays comprise includes a first delay and the second delay being of the second terminal device performing the bandwidth unit switching.
Jung teaches wherein the first terminal device is a reduced capability terminal device and the second terminal device being a legacy terminal (Jung: [0148], reduced capability UE having a bandwidth part switching delay relaxed/smaller than NR UEs/legacy UEs); the switching delay of the first terminal device switching from the first bandwidth unit to the second bandwidth unit is-includes one of N delays, the N delays are switching delays being supported by the first terminal device, N is an integer greater than or equal to 2, and the N delays comprise includes a first delay, the second delay of the second terminal device performing the bandwidth unit switching (Jung: [0142], Table 8.6.2-1; terminal device with different capabilities having plurality (N=4 in this case) BWP switch delay).
It would have been obvious to a person having an ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to modify the system of Nam wherein the first terminal device is a reduced capability terminal device and the second terminal device being a legacy terminal or the switching delay of the first terminal device switching from the first bandwidth unit to the second bandwidth unit is-includes one of N delays, the N delays are switching delays being supported by the first terminal device, N is an integer greater than or equal to 2, and the N delays comprise includes a first delay, the second delay of the second terminal device performing the bandwidth unit switching as disclosed by Jung to provide a system for selective decoding of physical downlink control candidates (Jung: Abstract).
Regarding claim 17, Nam teaches a switching apparatus, comprising: a transmitter, configured to send bandwidth unit configuration information to a first terminal device, wherein the bandwidth unit configuration information includes configuration information of a first bandwidth unit and configuration information of a second bandwidth unit (Nam: Figs. 9-11; [0098]-[0100], [0115]-[0117], terminal configured with groups of BWPs, Group 1/first bandwidth unit and Group 2/second bandwidth unit);
the transmitter further configured to send downlink control information, wherein the downlink control information includes a first information field indicating at least one of frequency resource position information or BWP identification information of the first bandwidth unit and the second bandwidth unit (Nam: Fig. 9-11; [0102], UE receives DCI with identification of the BWPs);
a processor, configured to schedule data of the first terminal device based on a switching delay n switching from the first bandwidth unit to the second bandwidth unit based on the bandwidth unit configuration information and the at least one of the frequency resource position information or the BWP identification information of the first bandwidth unit and the second bandwidth unit (Nam: Fig. 11; UE switches from BWP1 to BWP3 based on the BWP group 1 and the identification of the BWP, i.e. BWP1 to BWP 3), wherein the switching delay includes a first delay, the first delay being less than a second delay usable by a second terminal device to perform bandwidth unit switching (Nam: Figs. 9-11; [0107] UE switching between BWPs in the same group with a first switching delay that is less than the switching delay between BWPs form different groups).
Nam does not explicitly disclose wherein the first terminal device is a reduced capability terminal device and the second terminal device being a legacy terminal or the switching delay of the first terminal device switching from the first bandwidth unit to the second bandwidth unit is-includes one of N delays, the N delays are switching delays being supported by the first terminal device, N is an integer greater than or equal to 2, and the N delays comprise includes a first delay and the second delay being of the second terminal device performing the bandwidth unit switching.
Jung teaches wherein the first terminal device is a reduced capability terminal device and the second terminal device being a legacy terminal (Jung: [0148], reduced capability UE having a bandwidth part switching delay relaxed/smaller than NR UEs/legacy UEs); the switching delay of the first terminal device switching from the first bandwidth unit to the second bandwidth unit is-includes one of N delays, the N delays are switching delays being supported by the first terminal device, N is an integer greater than or equal to 2, and the N delays comprise includes a first delay, the second delay of the second terminal device performing the bandwidth unit switching (Jung: [0142], Table 8.6.2-1; terminal device with different capabilities having plurality (N=4 in this case) BWP switch delay).
It would have been obvious to a person having an ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to modify the system of Nam wherein the first terminal device is a reduced capability terminal device and the second terminal device being a legacy terminal or the switching delay of the first terminal device switching from the first bandwidth unit to the second bandwidth unit is-includes one of N delays, the N delays are switching delays being supported by the first terminal device, N is an integer greater than or equal to 2, and the N delays comprise includes a first delay, the second delay of the second terminal device performing the bandwidth unit switching as disclosed by Jung to provide a system for selective decoding of physical downlink control candidates (Jung: Abstract).
Regarding claims 2, 8, 12 and 18, Nam teaches wherein the second terminal device is includes a legacy terminal device in a new radio (NR) system (Nam: Fig. 9, [0067]).
Regarding claims 4, 10, 14 and 20, Nam teaches wherein a frequency resource position of the first bandwidth unit is different from a frequency resource position of the second bandwidth unit, the first bandwidth unit and the second bandwidth unit correspond to different BWP identifiers, and the switching delay of the first terminal device switching from the first bandwidth unit to the second bandwidth unit is-includes a delay other than the first delay of the N delays (Nam: Fig. 11; [0107], BWPS in different groups have larger switching delays/delay other than the first delay).
Regarding claims 5 and 15, Nam teaches wherein the first bandwidth unit and the second bandwidth unit correspond to different BWP identifiers, the first bandwidth unit correlating with the second bandwidth unit, and the switching delay of the first terminal device switching from the first bandwidth unit to the second bandwidth unit 4sincludes the first delay (Nam: Fig. 11; [0107], BWPS in same group/correlated have low switching delay/ first delay).
Regarding claims 6 and 16, Nam teaches wherein the first bandwidth unit and the second bandwidth unit correspond to different BWP identifiers, the first bandwidth unit not correlated correlating with the second bandwidth unit, and the switching delay of the first terminal device switching from the first bandwidth unit to the second bandwidth unit is-includes a delay other than the first delay of the N delays (Nam: Fig. 11; [0107], BWPS in different groups have larger switching delays/delay other than the first delay).
Claims 3, 9, 13 and 19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Nam et al (US 2020/0245304 A1) in view of Jung et al (US 2023/0180199 A1) in further view of Li et al (WO 2018/228416 A1) (US 2022/0345281 A1) used as the English translation).
Regarding claims 3, 9, 13 and 19, Nam teaches. (Currently Amended) The method according to claim 1, and the switching delay of the first terminal device switching from the first bandwidth unit to the second bandwidth unit is-includes the first delay (Nam: Fig. 11; [0107], BWPS in the same group have switch delay/first delay lower than inter-group switching delay).
Nam does not explicitly disclose wherein a frequency resource position of the first bandwidth unit is different from a frequency resource position of the second bandwidth unit, the first bandwidth unit and the second bandwidth unit correspond to a same bandwidth part (BWP) identifier.
Li teaches wherein a frequency resource position of the first bandwidth unit is different from a frequency resource position of the second bandwidth unit, the first bandwidth unit and the second bandwidth unit correspond to a same bandwidth part (BWP) identifier (Li: Fig. 5; [0122], BWP group with the group being identified by an ID).
It would have been obvious to a person having an ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to modify the system of Nam wherein a frequency resource position of the first bandwidth unit is different from a frequency resource position of the second bandwidth unit, the first bandwidth unit and the second bandwidth unit correspond to a same bandwidth part (BWP) identifier as disclosed by Li to provide a system for configuring bandwidth parts in a wireless communication system (Li: Abstract).
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/KODZOVI ACOLATSE/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2478