DETAILED ACTION
Applicant’s amendment, filed 07/14/2026, has been entered.
Claims 1-15, 19, 48, 51-69, 86-99 have been canceled.
Claims 100-111 have been added.
Claims 16-18, 20-47, 49-50, 70-85, 100-111 are pending.
Claims 17, 18, 21-25 have been withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b) as being drawn to a nonelected inventions/species, there being no allowable generic or linking claim.
Claims 16, 20, 26-47, 49-50, 70-85, 100-111 are currently under examination as they read on a DPP3 monoclonal antibody that binds to a DPP3 peptide of SEQ ID NO: 2.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 16, 20, 26-27, 29-38, 41, 43-47, 49-50, 70-73, 75-80, 83-85, 100-108, 110-111 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(a) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), first paragraph, as failing to comply with the written description requirement. The claim(s) contains subject matter which was not described in the specification in such a way as to reasonably convey to one skilled in the relevant art that the inventor or a joint inventor, or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the inventor(s), at the time the application was filed, had possession of the claimed invention.
The previous rejection can be found in the previous Office Action, mailed 01/13/2026.
Applicant’s arguments have been fully considered but are not persuasive as to the claims that continue to encompass a genus of DPP3 antibodies defined primarily by the antigen/epitope bound, the method by which the antibodies are generated, and/or their functional activity, without sufficient structural limitations.
Applicant argues that amended claim 16 satisfies the written description requirement because the recited process of immunizing an animal with the peptide consisting essentially of SEQ ID NO: 2, generating hybridomas, and selecting cells expressing an antibody that binds SEQ ID NO: 2 allegedly imparts distinctive structural characteristics to the resulting antibodies. Applicant further relies on MPEP § 2113 and contends that the resulting antibodies constitute a relatively small and structurally related subgenus.
The argument is not persuasive. Although a process limitation in a product-by-process claim may be considered to the extent that the process necessarily imparts structural characteristics to the resulting product, Applicant has not established that immunization with SEQ ID NO: 2 and subsequent selection for binding to SEQ ID NO: 2 necessarily results in antibodies possessing a common or predictable antibody structure sufficient to identify the members of the claimed genus. The recited process selects antibodies according to their ability to bind the peptide and inhibit DPP3 enzyme activity; it does not specify the amino acid sequences or other structural characteristics of the antibody variable regions responsible for those functions.
Applicant’s reliance on Rudikoff does not establish otherwise. As discussed in the rejection, antibody-antigen recognition depends upon the sequences and conformations of the antigen-binding regions, and even relatively small sequence changes may substantially affect antigen-binding activity. The fact that antibodies are positively selected for binding to the same antigen establishes a common functional property, but does not establish that all antibodies surviving that selection necessarily possess a common structural characteristic by which a skilled artisan could visualize or recognize the members of the claimed genus.
Applicant’s reliance on Hazarika is similarly unpersuasive. Hazarika may demonstrate that immunization with different peptides can generate populations of antibodies having particular binding specificities. However, evidence that a particular peptide elicits antibodies capable of recognizing a corresponding antigen does not establish that those antibodies constitute a structurally predictable genus or that antibodies generated against the same peptide necessarily share identifying antibody sequences or structures. Rather, the evidence establishes selection according to antigen-binding function.
Applicant additionally points to clones 1963–1969 in Table 3 of the Specification as antibodies generated using SEQ ID NO: 2 that bind full-length DPP3 and inhibit DPP3 enzyme activity. These examples provide support for the particular antibodies actually disclosed, but they do not, without more, establish possession of the full scope of antibodies encompassed by claims that permit substantial variation in the antigen-binding regions. The disclosed functional activity of these antibodies does not provide a structure-function correlation sufficient to permit one of ordinary skill in the art to identify, from structure, other antibodies throughout the claimed genus that would possess the required binding and inhibitory functions.
Applicant’s argument has been considered in full but has not been found convincing. Therefore, the rejection is maintained as it applies to amended and newly added claims.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 16, 20, 43-47, 49-50, 70-71, 83-85, 100-108, 111 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lu et al. (Cancer Res; 77(11) June 1, 2017) in view of Campbell (Monoclonal Antibody Technology, 1984, Chapter 1, pages 1-32).
The previous rejection can be found in the previous Office Action, mailed 01/13/2026.
Applicant’s arguments have been fully considered but are not persuasive.
Applicant argues that Lu would not have motivated one of ordinary skill in the art to arrive at the claimed DPP3 monoclonal antibody because Lu teaches that the interaction between DPP3 and KEAP1 is independent of DPP3 enzymatic activity. Applicant further argues that one of ordinary skill would therefore have expected an antibody directed to the ETGE-containing region to disrupt the DPP3-KEAP1 interaction rather than inhibit DPP3 enzymatic activity.
In response, it is noted that Lu’s teaching that the DPP3-KEAP1 interaction is independent of DPP3 enzymatic activity merely establishes that DPP3 enzymatic activity is not required for its interaction with KEAP1. Such teaching does not establish that an antibody binding to the ETGE-containing region of DPP3 would be incapable of affecting or inhibiting DPP3 enzymatic activity. Nor does Lu teach away from generating antibodies against this region. Rather, Lu identifies the ETGE-containing region as a known, functionally relevant region of DPP3 and further demonstrates the use of an anti-DPP3 monoclonal antibody in investigating DPP3. Campbell further teaches that generation of monoclonal antibodies against macromolecules was conventional and that it was customary for those working with a macromolecule to generate monoclonal antibodies thereto. Accordingly, one of ordinary skill in the art, having knowledge of the functionally relevant ETGE-containing region disclosed by Lu, would have had reason to generate monoclonal antibodies against an antigenic DPP3 peptide encompassing that region using the conventional antibody-generation techniques taught by Campbell and to select antibodies having the desired binding and functional properties.
Applicant’s argument that Campbell does not specifically disclose DPP3 is likewise not persuasive. The rejection is based on the combined teachings of Lu and Campbell. Lu is relied upon for teaching DPP3 and its ETGE-containing region, whereas Campbell is relied upon for establishing the conventional generation and selection of monoclonal antibodies against macromolecular targets. It is not necessary that Campbell independently disclose DPP3 or the claimed antibody.
Applicant further characterizes inhibition of DPP3 enzymatic activity as a surprising result. However, the mere fact that Lu does not expressly predict that an antibody against the ETGE-containing region would inhibit DPP3 enzymatic activity does not, by itself, establish nonobviousness of the claimed antibody where the prior art provides reason to generate antibodies against the identified DPP3 region and evaluate the resulting antibodies for their properties. Obviousness does not require that the prior art predict the precise properties ultimately possessed by every antibody generated.
Accordingly, Applicant’s arguments do not overcome the rationale for combining the teachings of Lu and Campbell, and the rejection is maintained.
Double Patenting
Claims 16, 20, 26-47, 49-50, 70-85, 100-111 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-6 of U.S. Patent No. 11,530,276. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because the patent claims disclosed the same or nearly the same DPP3 binder as the present claims. Therefore, the claims anticipate each other.
Applicant argues that the patent claims are distinct from the present claims. In response, it is noted that the patent claims are directed to a DPP3 binder that reads on an antibody comprising the same CDRs (SEQ ID NOs: 7-9 and 10-KVS-11); same VH and VL (SEQ ID NO: 5, 6) and same heavy and light chains (SEQ ID NO: 12,13). Therefore, the two set of the claims are directed to overlapping subject matter. The rejection is therefore maintained as it applies to amended/newly added claims. Applicant’s request to hold the rejection in abeyance has been noted.
Conclusion
No claim is allowed.
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/SHARON X WEN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1641