DETAILED ACTION
This office action is in response to the amendment filed on 7/8/2025 in which claims 1-20 are pending.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claim(s) 1-20 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-3, 5-13, and 15-20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Zhu et al. (US20210037426A1) in view of Ninglekhu et al. (US20230052699A1).
As to claims 1, 6, 11, and 16, Zhu teaches a communication method, comprising: (abstract Wireless communications systems and methods related to on-demand communications are provided.)
receiving, by an access and mobility management function device from a terminal via a first access network device, an identifier of a first network slice that the terminal requests to access; (Fig. 9 [0140] the core network may include an AMF component [0125] At step 710, the UE transmits a NAS registration request message to the core network via the BS A. The registration request message may include requested-NSSAI indicating the slice A and the slice B.)
determining, by the access and mobility management function device, whether a first tracking area where the first access network device is located does not support the first network slice; and (At step 713, the core network determines that the slice A is supported in the current tracking area and that slice B is not supported in the tracking area.)
in response to the first tracking area not supporting the first network slice, sending, by the access and mobility management function device to the first access network device, second radio resource information, wherein: ([0142] The method 900 includes steps 705, 710, 715, and 720. The core network entity may determine whether a network slice requested by the UE may be supported by NG-RAN (e.g., by a neighboring cell operating in the second cell frequency). [0143] the core network may have information associated with network slice-to-frequency mapping based on NG setup request and/or NG setup response exchange with BSs (e.g., the BSs 105, 205, and/or 400). the core network and/or BS A may transmit an instruction to the UE requesting the UE to perform a handover to the second cell frequency that provides the slice B, perform a dual-connectivity with the second cell frequency, or perform a carrier aggregation with the second cell frequency.)
the second radio resource information is usable for accessing the first network slice in a second tracking area by using a target access network device for the terminal; and ([0142] The method 900 includes steps 705, 710, 715, and 720. The core network entity may determine whether a network slice requested by the UE may be supported by NG-RAN (e.g., by a neighboring cell operating in the second cell frequency). [0143] the core network may have information associated with network slice-to-frequency mapping based on NG setup request and/or NG setup response exchange with BSs (e.g., the BSs 105, 205, and/or 400). the core network and/or BS A may transmit an instruction to the UE requesting the UE to perform a handover to the second cell frequency that provides the slice B, perform a dual-connectivity with the second cell frequency, or perform a carrier aggregation with the second cell frequency.)
the second tracking area where the target access network device is located supports the first network slice. ([0141] In the method 900, the BS A may operate over a frequency A (e.g., the frequency carrier 220) supporting a slice A (e.g., an eMBB slice similar to the slice 250). The network may include a slice B on a frequency B (e.g., the frequency carrier 222) of the network supporting a slice B (e.g., a URLLC slice similar to the slice 252). The frequency A may be under a tracking area with a TAC 1. The frequency B may be under another tracking area with a TAC 2 different from the TAC 1. [0144] The NAS registration accept message may include allowed NSSAI indicating requested NSSAI that are supported by the current tracking area and/or TAI, can be supported by configuring supporting secondary cells/primary cells by DC/CA, or can be supported by HO/recited to a supporting cell. In FIG. 7, the NAS registration accept message indicates slice A, which is supported by the current tracking area, and slice B, which can be supported by DC/CA or HO/redirection to another cell.)
But does not specifically teach:
the second radio resource information includes a first radio access technology/frequency selection priority (RFSP) index and a second RFSP index;
However Ninglekhu teaches the second radio resource information includes a first radio access technology/frequency selection priority (RFSP) index and a second RFSP index; ([0245] In step 8, the AMF may evaluate the Registration Request. The AMF may find that the UE is trying to register with network slices that have different OFBs. Hence, AMF may not be able to redirect the LiE to frequency that works (e.g., pick an RFSP index) for all the S-NSSAIs in the NSSAI. [0246] The AMF response to the RAN node may be enhanced to include multiple RFSP indices and S-NSSAI in the NSSAIs that will work with each index. [0247] The call flow of FIG. 6A continues in FIG. 6B. In step 9 of FIG. 6B, the AMF provides multiple RFSP indices and the S-NSSAIs that can be accessed with each RFSP Index to the R.A.N. [0248] In addition. The AMF may provide to the UE via RAN in the Registration Accept message, an Access Stratum Connection Establishment NSSAI inclusion Mode parameter, indicating whether and when the UE shall include NSSAI information in an RRC connection Establishment. [0249] In step 10, the RAN node forwards the Registration Accept message. In the RRC Message to the UE it may, include multiple sets of UE specific cell reselection priorities to control idle mode camping. Each set of priorities is associated with one or more S-NSSAIs.)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the network slice selection method of Zhu with mobility method of Ninglekhu in order to control idle mode camping.
As to claims 2, and 12, Zhu in view of Ninglekhu teaches the method according to claim 1, wherein the access and mobility management function device rejects access of the terminal to the first network slice. (Zhu [0133] In response to the NAS registration request message, the core network may transmit a NAS registration accept or response message to the UE via the BS A. At step 725, the core network transmits a NAS registration response message to the UE via the BS A. The NAS registration response message may include allowed NSSAI indicating the slice A and include rejected NSSAI indicating slice B.)
As to claims 3, 7, 13, and 17, Zhu in view of Ninglekhu teaches the method according to claim 1, further comprising: sending, by the access and mobility management function device to the first access network device, first indication information indicating that the first tracking area where the first access network device is located does not support the first network slice. (Zhu [0128] At step 715, the core network transmits a UE capability check request message to the BS A. In an example, the core network transmits the UE capability check request message to the BS A in response to determining that a network slice requested by the UE is not supported by the current TAI. The UE capability check request message may include requested-NSSAI indicating the requested slices that are or are not supported by the current tracking area and/or TAI.)
As to claims 5, 9, 15, and 19, Zhu in view of Ninglekhu teaches the method according to claim 1, wherein: the target access network device includes a second access network device that is different from the first access network device. (Zhu [0142] The method 900 includes steps 705, 710, 715, and 720. The core network entity may determine whether a network slice requested by the UE may be supported by NG-RAN (e.g., by a neighboring cell operating in the second cell frequency). [0143] the core network may have information associated with network slice-to-frequency mapping based on NG setup request and/or NG setup response exchange with BSs (e.g., the BSs 105, 205, and/or 400). the core network and/or BS A may transmit an instruction to the UE requesting the UE to perform a handover to the second cell frequency that provides the slice B, perform a dual-connectivity with the second cell frequency, or perform a carrier aggregation with the second cell frequency.)
As to claims 8 and 18, Zhu in view of Ninglekhu teaches the method according to claim 6, further comprising: releasing, by the first access network device, a wireless connection between the first access network device and the terminal. (Zhu [0142] The method 900 includes steps 705, 710, 715, and 720. The core network entity may determine whether a network slice requested by the UE may be supported by NG-RAN (e.g., by a neighboring cell operating in the second cell frequency). [0143] the core network and/or BS A may transmit an instruction to the UE requesting the UE to perform a handover to the second cell frequency that provides the slice B,)
As to claims 10 and 20, Zhu in view of Ninglekhu teaches the method according to claim 6, further comprising: sending, by the first access network device to the access and mobility management function device, first radio resource information selected by the terminal to access the first access network device. (Zhu [0125] At step 710, the UE transmits a NAS registration request message to the core network via the BS A. The registration request message may include requested-NSSAI indicating the slice A and the slice B.)
Claim(s) 4 and 14 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Zhu in view of Ninglekhu as applied to claims 1 and 6 above, and further in view of Chun et al. (US20230146162A1).
As to claims 4, and 14, Zhu in view of Ninglekhu teaches the method according to claim 1,
But does not specifically teach:
further comprising: sending, by the access and mobility management function device to a policy control function device, the identifier of the first network slice; and receiving, by the access and mobility management function device from the policy control function device, the first RFSP index and the second RFSP index corresponding to the first network slice.
However Chun teaches sending, by the access and mobility management function device to a policy control function device, the identifier of the first network slice; and receiving, by the access and mobility management function device from the policy control function device, the RFSP index corresponding to the first network slice. ([0305] When the AMF cannot properly provide the network slice(s) requested by the UE, the AMF may deliver information on the network slice(s) requested by the UE to the RMF. [0306] The operation of the RMF may be performed in the PCF. That is, the AMF may select a PCF that processes RFSP-related reconfiguration in the PCF selection process for the UE, and transmit the network slice related information requested by the UE. The PCF may configure the RFSP related to the network slice or information for a similar purpose to the UE and transmit it to the AMF. Based on this, the AMF may deliver the RFSP, etc. to the UE or the NG-RAN.) (Ninglekhu [0249] Each set of priorities is associated with one or more S-NSSAIs.)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the network slice selection method of Zhu with mobility method of Ninglekhu in order to control idle mode camping.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the network slice methods of Zhu in view of Ninglekhu with the method from Chun in order to properly provide the network slice(s) requested by the UE.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/Elton Williams/Examiner, Art Unit 2465