DETAILED ACTION
A request for continued examination under 37 CFR 1.114, including the fee set forth in 37 CFR 1.17(e), was filed in this application after final rejection. Since this application is eligible for continued examination under 37 CFR 1.114, and the fee set forth in 37 CFR 1.17(e) has been timely paid, the finality of the previous Office action has been withdrawn pursuant to 37 CFR 1.114. Applicant’s submission filed on 02/20/2026 has been entered. Claim(s) 21-22, 26-27, 31-32, and 36-37 have been amended; Claim(s) 1-20 have been canceled; No claim(s) have been added. Claim(s) 21-40 are subject to examination.
Acknowledgement is made to the applicant’s amendment to the abstract to obviate the previous objection to the specification. The previous objection to the specification is/are hereby withdrawn.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claim(s) 21-40 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 21-22, 26-27, 31-32, and 36-37 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over TIWARI et al. (US 20240406188 A1), hereby referred to as TIWARI188, in view of ERICSSON et al. (Ericsson et al., “Introduction of MINT Support”, S2-2105812, 3GPP TSG-SA2 Meeting #146E (e-meeting), August 16-27, 2021, 30 pages) (see IDS 02/28/2025), hereby referred to as ERICSSON, and QIAO et al. (WO 2021007447 A1) (see IDS 02/28/2025), hereby referred to as QIAO.
Claim 21:
TIWARI188 teaches a method performed by a user equipment (UE), the method comprising: transmitting, to an access and mobility function (AMF) in a first telecommunication network offering disaster roaming (TIWARI188: FIG. 1 item 1a-3 wherein UE sends to AMF-G/AMF in a first network a NAS registration request, and para 438 (“The Registration type indicates if the UE wants to perform an Initial Registration…a Disaster Roaming Registration.”) wherein UE sends registration request towards new AMF/AMF in a first network for disaster roaming), a first non-access stratum (NAS) message including an identity of a second telecommunication network that has experienced a disaster condition (TIWARI188: FIG. 1 item 0 (“UE is registered over non-3GPP access to a non-geographical AMF and 5G-GUTI is assigned”) the second telecommunication network being the non-3GPP access to a non-geographical AMF, FIG. 1 item 3 (“3. Registration Request(5G-GUTI, NAS connection identifier=3GPP)”) wherein the NAS message includes a 5G-GUTI/second telecommunication network identity, and para 475 (“When the UE is performing a Disaster Roaming Registration, the UE may include the PLMN with Disaster Condition if UE does not have valid 5G-GUTI indicating the PLMN with Disaster Condition and the PLMN with Disaster Condition is not the HPLMN of the UE or the PLMN with the Disaster Condition is the HPLMN of the UE but the UE does not provide its SUCI.”) wherein the second telecommunication network/PLMN experiencing Disaster is indicated in registration); receiving, from the AMF in the first telecommunication network, a second NAS message in response to the first NAS message (TIWARI188: FIG. 1 item 7 (“Registration Accept”) an example of a second NAS message in response to a first NAS message); and wherein the first NAS message comprises a registration request message (TIWARI: FIG. 1 item 1b and 3 (“…Registration Request(5G-GUTI, NAS connection identifier=3GPP”) a registration request) and is transmitted after transitioning of the UE into a connected mode from an idle mode (TIWARI: para 477 (“If UE is in CM-CONNECTED state, the (R)AN can forward the Registration Request message to the AMF based on the N2 connection of the UE.”) wherein UE has to be in connected mode in order for the first NAS message to be transmitted).
However, TIWARI188 does not explicitly disclose including as a cleartext information element (IE).
ERICSSON, in the same field of endeavor, teaches including as a cleartext IE (ERRICSSON: pg 2 section 4.2.2.2.1 General (“The following are the cleartext IEs…that can be sent by the UE in the Registration Request message if the UE has no NAS security context…PLMN with Disaster Condition…”) wherein cleartext IE includes the PLMN/telecommunication network with disaster condition).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date, to have modified the first NAS message being a NAS Registration Request of TIWARI188 with the cleartext IEs in the NAS Registration Request message of ERICSSON, the combination hereby referred to as TIWARI-ERICSSON, for the benefit of authorization to receive services, enable mobility tracking, and enable reachability (ERICCSON: pg 2 section 4.2.2.2.1 General).
However, TIWARI188-ERICSSON does not explicitly disclose receiving, from the first telecommunication network, information for an area with the disaster condition; and wherein the registration request message includes a public land mobile network (PLMN) with disaster condition IE based on the second telecommunication network being a home public land mobile network (HPLMN) and a 5G system (5GS) mobile identity IE containing neither a subscription concealed identifier (SUCI) nor a valid 5G globally unique temporary identity (5G-GUTI) that was previously assigned by the HPLMN..
QIAO, in the same field of endeavor, teaches receiving, from the first telecommunication network, information for an area with the disaster condition (QIAO: FIG. 14 and para 156 (“In response to the message received from the AMF1…the (R)AN 1 may transmit the identifier of the second PLMN/disaster PLMN.”) wherein UE receives area information/identifier of disaster PLMN, from the network); and wherein the registration request message includes a public land mobile network (PLMN) with disaster condition IE (QIAO: FIG. 14 item (“Registration request with UE ID (IMSI), PLMN 1 ID, PLMN 2 ID), para 73 (“AN message…NAS registration request…For an emergency registration…the PEI may be included when the UE 100 has no SUPI and no valid 5G-GUTI…”), and para 202 (“The resgiration request message may comprise…UE identity…PEI…selected PLMN ID (e.g. the disaster PLMN ID, a disaster PLMN indication…”) wherein registration request includes PLMN with Disaster Condition IE/IE relating to PLMN with Disaster Condition, wherein the PLMN with disaster condition IE includes the disaster PLMN indication and PEI) based on the second telecommunication network being a home public land mobile network (HPLMN) and a 5G system (5GS) mobile identity IE containing neither a subscription concealed identifier (SUCI) nor a valid 5G globally unique temporary identity (5G-GUTI) that was previously assigned by the HPLMN (QIAO: para 73 (“AN message…NAS registration request…For an emergency registration…the PEI may be included when the UE 100 has no SUPI and no valid 5G-GUTI…”) wherein based on 5GS IE without a SUCI or 5G-GUTI, the IE relating to HPLMN with the disaster is included with the PEI).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date, to have modified TIWARI-ERICSSON with QIAO, the combination hereby referred to as TIWARI-ERICSSON-QIAO, for the benefit of resource efficiency (QIAO: para 138).
Claim 22:
TWIARI-ERICSSON-QIAO teaches the method of claim 21, wherein the registration request message includes the PLMN with disaster condition IE based on the second telecommunication network not being the HPLMN and the 5GS mobile identity IE (ERICSSON: pg 2 section 4.2.2.2.1 General (“…cleartext IEs…SUCI or 5G-GUIT or PEI…”) wherein 5G-GUTI and SUCI and indicated in the 5GS mobile identity IEs) not containing a valid 5G-GUTI that was previously assigned by the second telecommunication network (TIWARI188: para 475 (“When the UE is performing a Disaster Roaming Registration, the UE may include the PLMN with Disaster Condition if UE does not have valid 5G-GUTI indicating the PLMN with Disaster Condition and the PLMN with Disaster Condition is not the HPLMN of the UE…”) wherein the second telecommunication network it is indicated, via not valid 5G-GUTI, not the HPLMN and the 5G-GUTI is invalid).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date, to have modified indication of invalid IEs of TIWARI188 and QIAO with the information elements of ERICSSON, for the benefit of authorization to receive services, enable mobility tracking, and enable reachability (ERICCSON: pg 2 section 4.2.2.2.1 General).
Claim 26:
TIWARI188 teaches a method performed by an access and mobility function (AMF) in a first telecommunication network offering disaster roaming (TIWARI188: FIG. 1 item 1a-3 wherein UE sends to AMF-G/AMF in a first network a NAS registration request, and para 438 (“The Registration type indicates if the UE wants to perform an Initial Registration…a Disaster Roaming Registration.”) wherein UE sends registration request towards new AMF/AMF in a first network for disaster roaming), the method comprising: receiving, from a user equipment (UE) , a first non-access stratum (NAS) message including an identity of a second telecommunication network that has experienced a disaster condition (TIWARI188: FIG. 1 item 0 (“UE is registered over non-3GPP access to a non-geographical AMF and 5G-GUTI is assigned”) the second telecommunication network being the non-3GPP access to a non-geographical AMF, FIG. 1 item 3 (“3. Registration Request(5G-GUTI, NAS connection identifier=3GPP)”) wherein the NAS message includes a 5G-GUTI/second telecommunication network identity, and para 475 (“When the UE is performing a Disaster Roaming Registration, the UE may include the PLMN with Disaster Condition if UE does not have valid 5G-GUTI indicating the PLMN with Disaster Condition and the PLMN with Disaster Condition is not the HPLMN of the UE or the PLMN with the Disaster Condition is the HPLMN of the UE but the UE does not provide its SUCI.”) wherein the second telecommunication network/PLMN experiencing Disaster is indicated in registration); transmitting, to the UE, a second NAS message in response to the first NAS message (TIWARI188: FIG. 1 item 7 (“Registration Accept”) an example of a second NAS message in response to a first NAS message); and wherein the first NAS message comprises a registration request message (TIWARI: FIG. 1 item 1b and 3 (“…Registration Request(5G-GUTI, NAS connection identifier=3GPP”) a registration request) and is received after transitioning of the UE into a connected mode from an idle mode (TIWARI: para 477 (“If UE is in CM-CONNECTED state, the (R)AN can forward the Registration Request message to the AMF based on the N2 connection of the UE.”) wherein UE has to be in connected mode in order for the first NAS message to be transmitted).
However, TIWARI188 does not explicitly disclose including as a cleartext information element (IE).
ERICSSON, in the same field of endeavor, teaches including as a cleartext IE (ERRICSSON: pg 2 section 4.2.2.2.1 General (“The following are the cleartext IEs…that can be sent by the UE in the Registration Request message if the UE has no NAS security context…PLMN with Disaster Condition…”) wherein the cleartext IE includes PLMN/telecommunication network with disaster condition).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date, to have modified the first NAS message being a NAS Registration Request of TIWARI188 with the cleartext IEs in the NAS Registration Request message of ERICSSON, the combination hereby referred to as TIWARI-ERICSSON, for the benefit of authorization to receive services, enable mobility tracking, and enable reachability (ERICCSON: pg 2 section 4.2.2.2.1 General).
However, TIWARI-ERICSSON does not explicitly disclose receiving, from the first telecommunication network, information for an area with the disaster condition.
QIAO, in the same field of endeavor, teaches transmitting, to the UE, information for an area with the disaster condition (QIAO: FIG. 14 and para 156 (“In response to the message received from the AMF1…the (R)AN 1 may transmit the identifier of the second PLMN/disaster PLMN.”) wherein UE receives area information/identifier of disaster PLMN, from the network); and wherein the registration request message includes a public land mobile network (PLMN) with disaster condition IE (QIAO: FIG. 14 item (“Registration request with UE ID (IMSI), PLMN 1 ID, PLMN 2 ID), para 73 (“AN message…NAS registration request…For an emergency registration…the PEI may be included when the UE 100 has no SUPI and no valid 5G-GUTI…”), and para 202 (“The resgiration request message may comprise…UE identity…PEI…selected PLMN ID (e.g. the disaster PLMN ID, a disaster PLMN indication…”) wherein registration request includes PLMN with Disaster Condition IE/IE relating to PLMN with Disaster Condition, wherein the PLMN with disaster condition IE includes the disaster PLMN indication and PEI) based on the second telecommunication network being a home public land mobile network (HPLMN) and a 5G system (5GS) mobile identity IE containing neither a subscription concealed identifier (SUCI) nor a valid 5G globally unique temporary identity (5G-GUTI) that was previously assigned by the HPLMN (QIAO: para 73 (“AN message…NAS registration request…For an emergency registration…the PEI may be included when the UE 100 has no SUPI and no valid 5G-GUTI…”) wherein based on 5GS IE without a SUCI or 5G-GUTI, the IE relating to HPLMN with the disaster is included with the PEI).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date, to have modified TIWARI-ERICSSON with QIAO, the combination hereby referred to as TIWARI-ERICSSON-QIAO, for the benefit of resource efficiency (QIAO: para 138).
Claim 27:
TIWARI-ERICSSON-QIAO teaches the method of claim 26, wherein the registration request message includes the PLMN with disaster condition IE based on the second telecommunication network not being the HPLMN and the 5GS mobile identity IE (ERICSSON: pg 2 section 4.2.2.2.1 General (“…cleartext IEs…SUCI or 5G-GUIT or PEI…”) wherein 5G-GUTI and SUCI and indicated in the 5GS mobile identity IEs) not containing a valid 5G-GUTI that was previously assigned by the second telecommunication network (TIWARI188: para 475 (“When the UE is performing a Disaster Roaming Registration, the UE may include the PLMN with Disaster Condition if UE does not have valid 5G-GUTI indicating the PLMN with Disaster Condition and the PLMN with Disaster Condition is not the HPLMN of the UE…”) wherein the second telecommunication network it is indicated, via not valid 5G-GUTI, not the HPLMN and the 5G-GUTI is invalid).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date, to have modified indication of TIWARI188 and QIAO with the information elements of ERICSSON for the benefit of authorization to receive services, enable mobility tracking, and enable reachability (ERICCSON: pg 2 section 4.2.2.2.1 General).
Claim 31:
TIWARI188 teaches a user equipment (UE), comprising: a transceiver (TIWARI188: FIG. 6 item 31 (“Transceiver Circuit”)); and a processor (TIWARI188: FIG. 6 item 33 (“Controller”)). For further limitations, see rejection for claim 21 above.
Claim 32:
TIWARI-ERICSSON teaches the UE of claim 31. For further limitations, see rejection for claim 22 above.
Claim 36:
TIWARI188 teaches an access and mobility function (AMF) apparatus in a first telecommunication network offering disaster roaming (TIWARI188: FIG. 1 item 1a-3 wherein UE sends to AMF-G/AMF in a first network and para 438 (“The Registration type indicates if the UE wants to perform an Initial Registration…a Disaster Roaming Registration.”) wherein UE sends registration request towards new AMF/AMF in a first network for disaster roaming), the apparatus comprising: a transceiver (TIWARI188: FIG. 12 item 702 (“Transceiver Circuit”)); and a processor (TIWARI188: FIG. 12 item 703 (“Controller”)). For further limitations, see rejection for claim 26 above.
Claim 37:
TIWARI-ERICSSON teaches the apparatus of claim 36. For further limitations, see rejection for claim 27 above.
Claim(s) 23-25, 28-30, 33-35, and 38-40 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over TIWARI188 in view of ERICSSON and QIAO, the combination hereby referred to as TIWARI-ERICSSON-QIAO, and in further view of 3GPP TS 24.501 V17.4.1, 3GPP, 3rd Generation Partnership Project; Technical Specification Group Core Network and Terminals; Non-Access-Stratum (NAS) (see IDS 05/26/2023), hereby referred to as TS24.501V17.4.1.
Claim 23:
TIWARI-ERICSSON-QIAO teaches the method of claim 22, TIWARI-ERICSSON does not explicitly disclose wherein the UE supports minimization of service interruption (MINT).
TS24.501V17.4.1, in the same field of endeavor, teaches wherein the UE supports minimization of service interruption (MINT) (TS24.501V17.4.1: pg 294 (“…when the UE supporting MINT needs to perform the registration procedure for mobility and periodic registration update to register to the PLMN offering disaster roaming.”)).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date, to have modified the UE of TIWARI-ERICSSON-QIAO with the UE of TS24.501V17.4.1, the combination hereby referred to as TIWARI-V17.4.1, for the benefit of supporting registration for a specific UE in a case of a disaster roaming (TS24.501V17.4.1: pg 292 section 5.5.1.3.2 Mobility and periodic registration update initiation and pg 294).
Claim 24:
TIWARI-V17.4.1 teaches The method of claim 23, wherein the second NAS message comprises a registration reject message (TIWARI188: para 290 (“…When the AMF-G rejects the registration procedure…sends, to the UE, a registration reject message…”) wherein a second NAS message can also be a rejection message).
Claim 25:
TIWARI-V17.4.1 teaches the method of claim 24, wherein the registration reject message includes a 5G mobility management (5GMM) cause value #11 or #13 (TS24.501V17.4.1 pg 275 (“If the initial registration request cannot be accepted by the network, the AMF shall send a REGISTRATION REJECT message to the UE including an appropriate 5GMM cause value.”), pg 278 (“#11 (PLMN not allowed)…”) and pg 279 (“#13 (Roaming not allowed in this tracking area) wherein the registration reject message can include 5GMM #11 or #13).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date, to have modified the second NAS message of TIWARI-ERICSSON with the NAS rejection message of TS24.501V17.4.1, the combination hereby referred to as TIWARI-V17.4.1, for the benefit of describing the specific reasoning for a rejection in order to choose a corresponding action (TS24.501V17.4.1 pg 275-286).
Claim 28:
TIWARI-ERICSSON-QIAO teaches the method of claim 27. For further limitations, see rejection for claim 23 above.
Claim 29:
TIWARI-V17.4.1 teaches the method of claim 28. For further limitations, see rejection for claim 24 above.
Claim 30:
TIWARI-V17.4.1 teaches the method of claim 20. For further limitations, see rejection for claim 25 above.
Claim 33:
TIWARI-ERICSSON-TR24.811 teaches the UE of claim 32. For further limitations, see rejection for claim 23 above.
Claim 34:
TIWARI-V17.4.1 teaches the UE of claim 33. For further limitations, see rejection for claim 24 above.
Claim 35:
TIWARI-V17.4.1 teaches the UE of claim 34. For further limitations, see rejection for claim 25 above.
Claim 38:
TIWARI-ERICSSON-TR24.811 teaches the apparatus of claim 37. For further limitations, see rejection for claim 28 above.
Claim 39:
TIWARI-V17.4.1 teaches the apparatus of claim 38. For further limitations, see rejection for claim 29 above.
Claim 40:
TIWARI-V17.4.1 teaches the apparatus of claim 39. For further limitations, see rejection for claim 30 above.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
VELEV et al. (US 20240128945 A1)
/A.T.N./Examiner, Art Unit 2416
/NOEL R BEHARRY/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2416