DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1, 2, 5, 6, 10-19, and 27 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(a) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), first paragraph, as failing to comply with the written description requirement. The claim(s) contains subject matter which was not described in the specification in such a way as to reasonably convey to one skilled in the relevant art that the inventor or a joint inventor, or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the inventor(s), at the time the application was filed, had possession of the claimed invention. The amendments introduce new matter into claims 1 and 5.
The limitation “(Mn)” in claim 1 is not supported by the original specification. The specification does not disclose the type of molecular weight.
The original specification does not support 20-80 wt% of an elastomeric aliphatic polyether and also comprising a polytetramethylether diamine and/or a polyethylene oxide diamine. The polytetramethylether diamine and/or a polyethylene oxide diamine are the elastomeric polyether in the original specification.
a quotation of 35 U.S.C. 112(b):
Claims 1, 2, 5, 6, 10-19, and 27 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention. The elastomer concentrate of claim 1 is indefinite. The applicant, in the Remarks of 11/15/2025 describes the claimed concentrate as a reaction product of the components in the concentrate. However, that is not the customary meaning in the art. The customary meaning of a concentrate is a high loaded masterbatch formulation, which would include claimed components a. and b. in a mixture. While the applicant may act as their own lexicographer, the applicant must disavow the full scope of a claim term in the specification, and must clearly set forth a special definition of the term “concentrate” in the specification. See MPEP 2111.01(IV). The instant specification discloses that the elastomer concentrate is obtained reacting the aliphatic polyether with a dicarboxylic acid, a diamine and optionally a lactam.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1, 2, 5, 6 and 14 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Dowe et al. (2011/0165358).
Regarding claims 1, 2, 5, and 6: Dowe et al. teach a polyamide composition comprising 75 parts by weight of polyamide 12 and 25 parts by weight of an elastomer concentrate comprising PEA [0053-0055], which is prepared by reacting: 47.452 kg of laurolactam, 4.781 kg of dodecanedioic acid and 42.767 kg of Elastamine RP-2005 [0050] and has the claimed molecular weight [0029; Examples]. The reaction product of Dowe et al. produces the disclosed elastomer concentrate, which is how the claimed is being interpreted, instead of a blend of a. and b.
Regarding claim 14: Dowe et al. teach calcium stearate [0052].
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 12-18 and 27 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Dowe et al. (2011/0165358) as applied to claim 1 above.
Regarding claim 12: Dowe et al. teach from 20 to 95 parts polyamide and from 5 to 80 parts polyetherimide [0011].
The ranges overlap taught overlap the claimed ranges.
The subject matter as a whole would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention, since it has been held that choosing the overlapping portion, of the range taught in the prior art and the range claimed by the applicant, has been held to be a prima facie case of obviousness, see In re Malagari, 182 USPQ 549, In re Geisler 43 USPQ2d 1365 (Fed. Cir. 1997); In re Woodruff, 16 USPQ2d 1934 (CCPA 1976) and MPEP 2144.05.
Regarding claim 13: It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to select PA66 as the polyamide [0012] in Dowe et al.
Regarding claims 14-15: It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to select montan waxes as the lubricant [0022] in Dowe et al.
Regarding claim 16: It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to add copper complexes as the stabilizer [0019] in Dowe et al. to provide heat stability.
Regarding claims 17 and 27: It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to add a colorant, such as carbon black [0017] to the composition of Dowe et al. to obtain the desired color.
Regarding claim 18: It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to add a crystallization accelerator (nucleating agent) [0016] as a usual additive to the composition of Dowe et al.
Claim(s) 19 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Dowe et al. (2011/0165358) as applied to claims 1 and 18 above further in view of Uchida et al. (2003/0023008).
Dowe et al. teach a crystallization accelerator [0016], but fails to teach a claimed compound.
However, Uchida et al. teach that talc is effective to enhance the crystallization rate of polyamides [0047].
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to use talc as taught by Uchida et al. as the crystallization accelerator in Dowe et al. to enhance the crystallization of the polyamide.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 28-31 are allowed.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 11/15/2025 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
The applicant states that the “concentrate” is synthesis of the claimed components and not a blend. However, that is not the customary meaning in the art. The customary meaning of a concentrate is a high loaded masterbatch formulation, which would include claimed components a. and b. in a mixture. While the applicant may act as their own lexicographer, the applicant must disavow the full scope of a claim term in the specification, and must clearly set forth a special definition of the term “concentrate” in the specification. See MPEP 2111.01(IV).
With regard to Dowe, the applicant has alleged that Dowe fails to teach the claimed concentrate polyamide. This is not persuasive because Dowe teaches dodecanediodic acid, which is a component of polyamide 612. The indefiniteness in the claim is causing a difference interpretation between the applicant and the Office.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
Contact Information
/JOHN E USELDING/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1763