Response to Amendment
The following is a final office action in response to the communication filed on 11/06/2025. Claims 1, 2, 8, 9, 15 and 20 have been amended. Claim 12 has been cancelled. Claims 1-11 and 13-20 are currently pending and have been examined.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments and remarks filed on 11/06/2025 have been fully considered.
Applicant’s amendments overcome the objection to claim 8.
Applicant’s amendments overcome the U.S.C. §112(b) rejections of the claims.
Applicant’s arguments provided for the U.S.C. §103 rejections of claims 1-20 have been considered but are not persuasive.
(A) Applicant argues, “Applicant respectfully submits that the cited references fail to disclose, teach, or suggest the features of amended independent claim 1.
“Plianos relates to a "method and apparatus for assisting in the maintenance of a vehicle speed within a speed range." (Plianos, Title). Specifically, Plianos' coasting profile "represents a predicted vehicle speed over a time and/or distance from the starting point and is generated based on a geometry of at least a portion of the predicted vehicle path" and "[a] prime mover of the vehicle," and can be subsequently "controlled to place the vehicle into a coasting mode in accordance with the... identified coasting profile." (Plianos, Abstract).
“In rejecting original claim 12, the Office Action asserts that FIG. 4 of Plianos (reproduced below) shows a vehicle speed increasing and an elevation change. In contrast with amended claim 1, however, Plianos does not disclose, teach, or suggest that "the cruise control set speed is modulated upwards relative to a current cruise control set speed prior to traversing a hill associated with the increase in the road grade." Instead, as shown in FIG. 4, the speed does not increase prior to traversing the hill and the speed decreases as the elevation increases.
“Based on the foregoing, Plianos does not disclose, teach, or suggest that "the cruise control set speed is modulated upwards relative to a current cruise control set speed prior to traversing a hill associated with the increase in the road grade," as recited in amended claim 1.
“For at least these reasons, amended independent claim 1 is patentable over Plianos.
“Ludwick was cited for allegedly disclosing aspects of Claim 1 related to operations of the electrical machine and does not cure the deficiencies of Plianos. Borhan was cited for allegedly disclosing aspects of Claim 1 related to increasing the aftertreatment system temperature and similarly does not cure the deficiencies of Plianos. Furthermore, Zeigner and Vadlamani were respectively cited for allegedly disclosing aspects of dependent claims 7, 14, and 19 and also do not cure the deficiencies of Plianos.
“Therefore, amended independent claim 1 is patentable over the cited references. Independent claims 8 and 15 have been amended to recite subject matter similar to that of amended independent claim 1, and are therefore also patentable over the cited references for at least the same reasons stated above,” (from remarks pages 10-11).
As to point (A), Examiner respectfully disagrees. Applicant asserts that Plianos does not teach “the cruise control set speed is modulated upwards relative to a current cruise control set speed.” Examiner’s analysis of Plianos will be made with respect to Fig. 4 of Plianos, reproduced below.
In the figure above, Examiner has marked with a dotted line the approximate location where the road grade increases relative to grade at the current location of the vehicle, which is marked by vehicle 100. As described in [0132] of Plianos, multiple coasting profiles are computed (138, 140, 142), each based on a different starting speed (146 at current speed, 144 at a lower speed, and 148 at a higher speed). In the illustrated case, “Each of the fourth, fifth and sixth coasting profiles will maintain the vehicle speed within the target speed range for at least some period. As a result, any of these profiles may be identified as being suitable” (from Plianos [0138]). Executing profile 142 would require increasing the vehicle speed prior to arriving at the increased road grade, marked by the dotted line (see [0138]; “In the event that a profile with a different starting speed was chosen, vehicle 100 may need to be accelerated or decelerated to the starting speed of the chosen coasting profile.”). Therefore, Plianos teaches an embodiment where the vehicle set speed is modulated upward relative to a current cruise control set speed prior to traversing the hill associated with the increase in road grade. Examiner notes that, in this embodiment of Plianos, multiple coasting profiles with different starting speeds are modeled, and the profile with the best performance for the particular road geometry is selected.
(B) Applicant argues, “Claims 2-7 depend from amended independent claim 1, claims 9-11 and 13-14 depend from amended independent claim 8, and claims 16-20 depend from amended independent claim 15. These dependent claims are also patentable over the cited references for at least the same reasons stated above with respect to their corresponding independent claims.
“Accordingly, Applicant respectfully requests that the claim rejections under 35 U.S.C. § 103 be withdrawn,” (from remarks page 12).
As to point (B), see point (A).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-6, 8-13, 15-18 and 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Plianos et al. (US-20190100208-A1; hereinafter Plianos) in view of Ludwick et al. (US-20190285425-A1; hereinafter; Ludwick) and Borhan et al. (US-20190168753-A1; hereinafter, Borhan).
Regarding claim 1, Plianos discloses an apparatus, comprising:
one or more processing circuits comprising one or more memory devices coupled to one or more processors (see at least [0036]-[0038]; “The means for generating a plurality of coasting profiles for the vehicle, may comprise: an electronic processor having an electrical input for receiving signals indicative of a value of vehicle speed and upcoming changes in geometry of a predicted vehicle path, and an electronic memory device electrically coupled to the electronic processor…”), the one or more memory devices configured to store instructions thereon that, when executed by the one or more processors (see at least [0039]; “the electronic processor is configured to access the electronic memory device and execute the instructions stored therein…”), cause the one or more processors to:
receive look ahead information (see at least [0081]; “…a vehicle 100 is equipped with technology that enables it to anticipate upcoming changes in geometry of a predicted path and in particular, changes in elevation…”) and store the look ahead information in the one or more memory devices (see at least [0081]; “…terrain data may be stored locally or accessed remotely via a wireless network…”), the look ahead information including an indication of an increase in road grade relative to a current road grade for the vehicle (see Fig. 4, where the “predicted path” 124 shows an increase in road grade relative to vehicle’s current position);
receive vehicle information regarding operation of a vehicle (see at least [0103]; “…factors may be estimated based on direct measurements (e.g., air pressure and temperature), implicit measurements (e.g., vehicle tyre pressure based on measured deceleration at different speeds when coasting)…”) including an engine (see at least [0088]; “The prime mover is device such as an internal combustion engine...”), an electrical machine (see at least [0117]; “Alternatively, or in addition, the prime mover may include one or more electrical motors, such as a DC or AC motor.”), (see at least [0165] – [0168]; “The cruise control module 162 outputs a cruise control propulsion demand to a vehicle supervisory controller (VSC) module 164 and a cruise control braking demand to an ABS braking module 166. The cruise control propulsion demand is routed to a torque management module 168 within the VSC module 164. The torque management module 168 also accepts as inputs the same coasting request as was received by the cruise control module 162 and a regenerative braking request from the ABS braking module 166….The VSC module 164 outputs an internal combustion (IC) request, an electric motor (EM) request and a transmission engagement/disengagement request. These three requests are supplied to a vehicle and motor control module 170. The IC request is routed to an IC engine actuation and controller module 172, the EM request is routed to an electric motor actuation and controller module 174, and the transmission engagement/disengagement request is routed to a transmission and actuation controller 176.”)
determine a coasting opportunity for the vehicle based on the look ahead information (see at least Abs; “Each coasting profile represents a predicted vehicle speed over a time and/or distance from the starting point and is generated based on a geometry of at least a portion of the predicted vehicle path”) and the vehicle information (see at least [0103]; “…if the vehicle detects it is towing a trailer this may also be used in the estimate”);
modulate a cruise control set speed based on the determined coasting opportunity (see at least [0089]; “…the target speed range when in a non-coasting mode may comprise a hard limit above and below a nominal cruise control speed. The target speed range when in a coasting mode may comprise a different hard limit above and below a nominal coasting profile”), wherein the cruise control set speed is modulated upwards relative to a current cruise control set speed prior to traversing a hill associated with the increase in the road grade (see Fig. 4, where coasting profile 148 shows a higher starting speed than the current vehicle speed that is implemented prior to the increase in road grade, and [138] “In the event that a profile with a different starting speed was chosen, the vehicle 100 may need to be accelerated or decelerated to the starting speed of the chosen coasting profile”), ; and
turn the engine off during the determined coasting opportunity for the vehicle (see at least [0109] – [0113]; “…entering a coasting mode may comprise one or more of: … turning off the internal combustion engine…”) based on modulation of the cruise control set speed (see at least [0099]; “By effectively allowing a wider range of speeds during coasting, the vehicle may be able to take advantage of longer periods of coasting, which in turn leads to lower fuel consumption”); and
after turning the engine off, command the electrical machine to operate at a second driveline torque (see at least [0135]; “If the vehicle is, for example, a hybrid with an electric motor coupled to the transmission and/or at any of the axles, it is possible to provide positive propulsive torque to one or more of the electric motors while coasting so as to prevent the speed dipping below the lower speed limit. In the case of the fourth coasting profile 138, for example, this would make distance D longer.”), the commanding based on(see at least [0138] for a description of the predicted coasting profiles generated in view of the look ahead information; “Each of the fourth, fifth and sixth coasting profiles will maintain the vehicle speed within the target speed range for at least some period. As a result, any of these profiles may be identified as being suitable. In the given scenario, the fifth coasting profile 140 offers the longest coasted distance, and hence may be chosen for implementation. Accordingly, a prime mover of the vehicle 100 may be controlled to place the vehicle into a coasting mode in accordance with the fifth coasting profile 140. To do this, the vehicle 100 is maintained at its current speed. In the event that a profile with a different starting speed was chosen, the vehicle 100 may need to be accelerated or decelerated to the starting speed of the chosen coasting profile. Optionally, the additional energy cost of such acceleration (e.g., fuel cost) or deceleration (e.g., lost kinetic energy) may be factored into the choice of coasting profile. One way of reducing the impact of the portion of the predicted path before the starting point(s) of the coasting profiles is to make the starting point(s) for the coasting profiles the current position of the vehicle 100, or at least only a relatively short distance from the current position.”).
However, Plianos does not explicitly teach:
receive vehicle information regarding operation of a vehicle including an aftertreatment system, the vehicle information including a first temperature regarding the aftertreatment system;
modulate a cruise control set speed based on the determined coasting opportunity to cause the temperature regarding the aftertreatment system to reach a second temperature greater than the first temperature;
command the electrical machine to operate at a second driveline torque greater than the first driveline torque thereby extending a duration of the determined coasting opportunity, and the commanding based on a state of charge of an electrical power source for the electrical machine meeting a threshold during the determined coasting opportunity.
Regarding command the electrical machine to operate at a second driveline torque greater than the first driveline torque thereby extending a duration of the determined coasting opportunity, Plianos does specifically teach that a positive torque may be applied to extend the coasting time (see at least [0135]; “If the vehicle is, for example, a hybrid with an electric motor coupled to the transmission and/or at any of the axles, it is possible to provide positive propulsive torque to one or more of the electric motors while coasting so as to prevent the speed dipping below the lower speed limit. In the case of the fourth coasting profile 138, for example, this would make distance D longer.”). It would be obvious to one of ordinary skill that applying this positive torque in order to extend coasting time would, in many cases, represent an increase in provided torque compared to the previous operating condition. Therefore, it would be obvious to one of ordinary skill from the teachings of Plianos to increase the driveline torque of the electrical machine in order to increase coasting time.
Plianos discloses a device to model and execute vehicle coasting profiles, and Ludwick is directed to determining a next vehicle task for a vehicle of a fleet. Ludwick teaches the commanding based on a state of charge of an electrical power source for the electrical machine meeting a threshold during the determined (see at least [0004]; “The method may further comprise determining an energy consumption rate of the vehicle and predicting a future vehicle charge status after a trip based on the energy consumption rate, wherein directing the vehicle to the next vehicle task includes directing the vehicle to recharge after the trip when the predicted vehicle charge status after the trip is below a threshold minimum. The energy consumption rate may be determined further based on weather conditions. The method may further comprise determining whether the vehicle charge status is below a threshold absolute minimum, wherein directing the vehicle to the next vehicle task includes directing the vehicle to recharge when the vehicle charge status is determined to be below the threshold absolute minimum level.”) in view of the look ahead information (see at least [0064]; “In addition to the vehicle data of storage system 350, the server computing devices 310 may also use other factors to predict the energy consumption rate of a vehicle. For example, a vehicle may consume energy faster or slower depending on route conditions, such as variations in elevations and number of turns.”) and the vehicle information (see at least [0051]; “The vehicle data may include vehicle type, which may be categorized by how energy is consumed, for example, vehicle 100 is an electric vehicle, vehicle 100A is a hybrid vehicle, vehicle 100B runs on gasoline, and vehicle 100C is a fuel cell vehicle.”).
Plianos teaches using look ahead information to optimize vehicle coasting and minimize energy consumption, and Ludwick teaches using look ahead information to estimate future charge status and inform decisions about recharging. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the claimed invention to use the look ahead information gathered by Plianos in the application taught by Ludwick: to estimate a future state of charge based on the upcoming route and predicted consumption rate. In view of Ludwick’s teaching on a threshold absolute minimum level of charge, it would furthermore have been obvious to one of ordinary skill to use the electric motor to extend coasting only when sufficient charge was available.
However, neither Plianos nor Ludwick teach:
receive vehicle information regarding operation of a vehicle including an aftertreatment system, the vehicle information including a first temperature regarding the aftertreatment system;
modulate a cruise control set speed based on the determined coasting opportunity to cause the temperature regarding the aftertreatment system to reach a second temperature greater than the first temperature;
Plianos discloses a device to model and execute vehicle coasting profiles, and Borhan is directed to modulating the torque or speed of a vehicle engine in response to an anticipated fuel cut. Borhan teaches:
receive vehicle information regarding operation of a vehicle including an aftertreatment system, the vehicle information including a first temperature regarding the aftertreatment system (see at least [0063]; “In response to predicting the fuel cut event and/or the duration of the fuel cut event, the drive assist circuit 174 is structured to receive the internal operating information from the internal information circuit 162 (process 272). The drive assist circuit 174 is then structured to predict the response of the vehicle subsystem to the fuel cut event based on the internal operating condition and the duration of the fuel cut event (process 276). For example, in some embodiments, the internal operating information is the temperature of the exhaust gas entering the exhaust aftertreatment system 54 or the temperature of the exhaust aftertreatment system 54.”);
modulate a cruise control set speed (see at least [0054]; “The drive assist circuit 174 controls driver assist modes in which a controller on the vehicle has at least partial control over the operation of the vehicle. For example, when operating in the driver assist mode, the drive assist circuit 174 may control a speed of an engine according to a predetermined speed input via the operator I/O device 146, and the operator may steer and brake the vehicle (e.g., cruise control).”) based on the determined coasting opportunity (see at least [0063]; “The drive assist circuit 174 then predicts a duration of the fuel cut event based on the operating condition of the vehicle subsystem, the external static condition, and/or the external dynamic condition (process 268). For example, the drive assist circuit 174 may predict the duration of the fuel cut event based on a grade of the downhill portion of the route, a weight of the vehicle, and/or an operating condition (e.g. speed) of the vehicle.”) to cause the temperature regarding the aftertreatment system to reach a second temperature greater than the first temperature (see at least [0063]; “Based on the predicted duration of the predicted fuel cut event and the temperature of the exhaust gas entering the exhaust aftertreatment system 54 or the temperature of the exhaust aftertreatment system 54, the drive assist circuit 174 can determine whether the temperature of the exhaust gas or the exhaust aftertreatment system 54 will drop below the low temperature threshold of the exhaust aftertreatment system 54 during the fuel cut event. In response to predicting a suboptimal response of the vehicle subsystem to the fuel cut event, the drive assist circuit 174 is structured to change the speed and/or the output torque of the engine 50 before the fuel cut event (process 280). For example, in embodiments in which the temperature of the exhaust gas or the temperature of the exhaust aftertreatment system 54 is predicted to fall below the low temperature threshold during the fuel cut event, the drive assist circuit 174 can increase the speed and/or the torque output of the engine to increase the temperature of the exhaust gas or the exhaust aftertreatment system 54 before the fuel cut event to a temperature high enough to prevent the temperature of the exhaust gas or the exhaust aftertreatment system 54 from falling below the low temperature threshold during the fuel cut event.”).
Both Plianos and Borhan teach vehicles that assess the upcoming terrain to predict vehicle coasting, and both use that information to modify the vehicle speed prior to coasting in order to obtain optimal performance. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the claimed invention to modify the system of Plianos to monitor the temperature of the aftertreatment system and to factor that information into models of vehicle coasting and decisions about vehicle speed, as taught by Borhan. Such a modification would have a reasonable expectation of success because Plianos already models the performance and coasting of the vehicle according to upcoming terrain. One of ordinary skill would be motivated to monitor the aftertreatment system temperature and to modify the car temperature in order to raise the speed before coasting in order to minimize vehicle emissions, as taught by Borhan (see at least [0027]; “…controlling the engine of the vehicle to maintain the temperature of the exhaust aftertreatment system above the lower temperature threshold during a fuel cut event is advantageous for reducing vehicle emissions.”).
Regarding claim 2, Plianos in view of Ludwick and Borhan teaches the apparatus of claim 1. Plianos further teaches wherein the look ahead information includes one or more of the road grade (see at least [0081]; “The geometric data includes terrain data, and in particular information about changes in elevation”), a speed limit, traffic information, or a weather condition at a particular location of a route of the vehicle.
Regarding claim 3, Plianos in view of Ludwick and Borhan teaches the apparatus of claim 1. Plianos further teaches wherein the vehicle information includes one or more of an engine state, a plurality of vehicle performance constraints, a vehicle performance objective, a vehicle accessories state, a look ahead power, a look ahead velocity (see at least [0102]; “Each coasting profile 126, 128 and 130 represents a predicted speed of the vehicle 100 over a distance from its corresponding starting point 132, 134 and 136”), a look ahead performance, or a look ahead energy requirement for the vehicle.
Regarding claim 4, Plianos in view of Ludwick and Borhan teaches the apparatus of claim 3. Plianos further teaches wherein the vehicle performance objective is predetermined (see at least [0055] “The means for identifying the at least one coasting profile may be configured to select a coasting profile that maximises a coasting distance and/or coasting time”) and stored within the one or more memory devices (see at least [0039] “…the electronic processor is configured to access the electronic memory device and execute the instructions stored therein such that it is operable to generate said coasting profiles”).
Regarding claim 5, Plianos in view of Ludwick and Borhan teaches the apparatus of claim 4. Plianos further teaches wherein the vehicle performance objective is configured to dynamically change during operation of the vehicle (see at least [0161]; “It will be appreciated that generation of coasting profiles may be an ongoing or iterative process. For example, new coasting profiles may be generated, and/or existing coating profiles updated, on a periodic basis, such as every 5 seconds for example”).
Regarding claim 6, Plianos in view of Ludwick and Borhan teaches the apparatus of claim 1. Plianos further teaches wherein the instructions further cause the one or more processors to determine a transmission setting while the engine is turned off (see at least [0175]; “The torque management module 168 may instruct the transmission controller module 176 to place the car's transmission into neutral, and/or disengage a clutch to disconnect drive from the IC engine. Alternatively or in addition, the IC engine may be turned off via the IC engine actuation and controller module 172”).
Regarding claim 8, Plianos teaches a method comprising:
receiving look ahead information (see at least [0081]; “…a vehicle 100 is equipped with technology that enables it to anticipate upcoming changes in geometry of a predicted path and in particular, changes in elevation…”) and storing the look ahead information in one or more memory devices (see at least [0081]; “…terrain data may be stored locally or accessed remotely via a wireless network…”) the look ahead information including an indication of an increase in road grade relative to a current road grade for the vehicle (see Fig. 4, where the “predicted path” 124 shows an increase in road grade relative to vehicle’s current position);;
receiving vehicle information regarding operation of a vehicle (see at least [0103]; “…factors may be estimated based on direct measurements (e.g., air pressure and temperature), implicit measurements (e.g., vehicle tyre pressure based on measured deceleration at different speeds when coasting)…”) including an engine (see at least [0088]; “The prime mover is device such as an internal combustion engine...”), an electrical machine (see at least [0117]; “Alternatively, or in addition, the prime mover may include one or more electrical motors, such as a DC or AC motor.”) the vehicle information including a first driveline torque at which the electrical machine operates (see at least [0165] – [0168]; “The cruise control module 162 outputs a cruise control propulsion demand to a vehicle supervisory controller (VSC) module 164 and a cruise control braking demand to an ABS braking module 166. The cruise control propulsion demand is routed to a torque management module 168 within the VSC module 164. The torque management module 168 also accepts as inputs the same coasting request as was received by the cruise control module 162 and a regenerative braking request from the ABS braking module 166….The VSC module 164 outputs an internal combustion (IC) request, an electric motor (EM) request and a transmission engagement/disengagement request. These three requests are supplied to a vehicle and motor control module 170. The IC request is routed to an IC engine actuation and controller module 172, the EM request is routed to an electric motor actuation and controller module 174, and the transmission engagement/disengagement request is routed to a transmission and actuation controller 176.”)
determining a coasting opportunity for the vehicle based on at least one of the look ahead information (see at least Abs; “Each coasting profile represents a predicted vehicle speed over a time and/or distance from the starting point and is generated based on a geometry of at least a portion of the predicted vehicle path”) or the vehicle information;
modulating a cruise control set speed based on the determined coasting opportunity (see at least [0089]; “…the target speed range when in a non-coasting mode may comprise a hard limit above and below a nominal cruise control speed. The target speed range when in a coasting mode may comprise a different hard limit above and below a nominal coasting profile”) wherein the cruise control set speed is modulated upwards relative to a current cruise control set speed prior to traversing a hill associated with the increase in the road grade (see Fig. 4, where coasting profile 148 shows a higher starting speed than the current vehicle speed that is implemented prior to the increase in road grade, and [138] “In the event that a profile with a different starting speed was chosen, the vehicle 100 may need to be accelerated or decelerated to the starting speed of the chosen coasting profile”),
turning the engine off during the determined coasting opportunity for the vehicle (see at least [0109]-[0113]; “…entering a coasting mode may comprise one or more of: … turning off the internal combustion engine…”) based on modulation of the cruise control set speed (see at least [0099]; “By effectively allowing a wider range of speeds during coasting, the vehicle may be able to take advantage of longer periods of coasting, which in turn leads to lower fuel consumption”); and
after turning the engine off, commanding the electrical machine to operate at a second driveline torque (see at least [0135]; “If the vehicle is, for example, a hybrid with an electric motor coupled to the transmission and/or at any of the axles, it is possible to provide positive propulsive torque to one or more of the electric motors while coasting so as to prevent the speed dipping below the lower speed limit. In the case of the fourth coasting profile 138, for example, this would make distance D longer.”), the commanding based on(see at least [0138] for a description of the predicted coasting profiles generated in view of the look ahead information, with fuel cost and energy cost considered vehicle information: (see at least [0138] for a description of the predicted coasting profiles generated in view of the look ahead information; “Each of the fourth, fifth and sixth coasting profiles will maintain the vehicle speed within the target speed range for at least some period. As a result, any of these profiles may be identified as being suitable. In the given scenario, the fifth coasting profile 140 offers the longest coasted distance, and hence may be chosen for implementation. Accordingly, a prime mover of the vehicle 100 may be controlled to place the vehicle into a coasting mode in accordance with the fifth coasting profile 140. To do this, the vehicle 100 is maintained at its current speed. In the event that a profile with a different starting speed was chosen, the vehicle 100 may need to be accelerated or decelerated to the starting speed of the chosen coasting profile. Optionally, the additional energy cost of such acceleration (e.g., fuel cost) or deceleration (e.g., lost kinetic energy) may be factored into the choice of coasting profile. One way of reducing the impact of the portion of the predicted path before the starting point(s) of the coasting profiles is to make the starting point(s) for the coasting profiles the current position of the vehicle 100, or at least only a relatively short distance from the current position.”).
However, Plianos does not explicitly teach:
receiving vehicle information regarding operation of a vehicle including an aftertreatment system, the vehicle information including a first temperature regarding the aftertreatment system;
modulating a cruise control set speed based on the determined coasting opportunity to cause the temperature regarding the aftertreatment system to reach a second temperature greater than the first temperature;
commanding the electrical machine to operate at a second driveline torque greater than the first driveline torque thereby extending a duration of the determined coasting opportunity, and the commanding based on a state of charge of an electrical power source for the electrical machine meeting a threshold during the determined coasting opportunity.
Regarding commanding the electrical machine to operate at a second driveline torque greater than the first driveline torque thereby extending a duration of the determined coasting opportunity, Plianos does specifically teach that a positive torque may be applied to extend the coasting time (see at least [0135]; “If the vehicle is, for example, a hybrid with an electric motor coupled to the transmission and/or at any of the axles, it is possible to provide positive propulsive torque to one or more of the electric motors while coasting so as to prevent the speed dipping below the lower speed limit. In the case of the fourth coasting profile 138, for example, this would make distance D longer.”). It would be obvious to one of ordinary skill that applying this positive torque in order to extend coasting time would, in many cases, represent an increase in provided torque compared to the previous operating condition. Therefore, it would be obvious to one of ordinary skill from the teachings of Plianos to increase the driveline torque of the electrical machine in order to increase coasting time.
Plianos discloses a device to model and execute vehicle coasting profiles, and Ludwick is directed to determining a next vehicle task for a vehicle of a fleet. Ludwick teaches the commanding based on a state of charge of an electrical power source for the electrical machine meeting a threshold (see at least [0004]; “The method may further comprise determining an energy consumption rate of the vehicle and predicting a future vehicle charge status after a trip based on the energy consumption rate, wherein directing the vehicle to the next vehicle task includes directing the vehicle to recharge after the trip when the predicted vehicle charge status after the trip is below a threshold minimum. The energy consumption rate may be determined further based on weather conditions. The method may further comprise determining whether the vehicle charge status is below a threshold absolute minimum, wherein directing the vehicle to the next vehicle task includes directing the vehicle to recharge when the vehicle charge status is determined to be below the threshold absolute minimum level.”) (see at least [0064]; “In addition to the vehicle data of storage system 350, the server computing devices 310 may also use other factors to predict the energy consumption rate of a vehicle. For example, a vehicle may consume energy faster or slower depending on route conditions, such as variations in elevations and number of turns.”) and the vehicle information (see at least [0051]; “The vehicle data may include vehicle type, which may be categorized by how energy is consumed, for example, vehicle 100 is an electric vehicle, vehicle 100A is a hybrid vehicle, vehicle 100B runs on gasoline, and vehicle 100C is a fuel cell vehicle.”) .
Plianos teaches using look ahead information to optimize vehicle coasting and minimize energy consumption, and Ludwick teaches using look ahead information to estimate future charge status and inform decisions about recharging. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the claimed invention to use the look ahead information gathered by Plianos in the application taught by Ludwick: to estimate a future state of charge based on the upcoming route and predicted consumption rate. In view of Ludwick’s teaching on a threshold absolute minimum level of charge, it would furthermore have been obvious to one of ordinary skill to use the electric motor to extend coasting only when sufficient charge was available.
However, neither Plianos nor Ludwick teach:
receiving vehicle information regarding operation of a vehicle including an aftertreatment system, the vehicle information including a first temperature regarding the aftertreatment system;
modulating a cruise control set speed based on the determined coasting opportunity to cause the temperature regarding the aftertreatment system to reach a second temperature greater than the first temperature;
Plianos discloses a device to model and execute vehicle coasting profiles, and Borhan is directed to modulating the torque or speed of a vehicle engine in response to an anticipated fuel cut. Borhan teaches:
receiving vehicle information regarding operation of a vehicle including an aftertreatment system, the vehicle information including a first temperature regarding the aftertreatment system (see at least [0063]; “In response to predicting the fuel cut event and/or the duration of the fuel cut event, the drive assist circuit 174 is structured to receive the internal operating information from the internal information circuit 162 (process 272). The drive assist circuit 174 is then structured to predict the response of the vehicle subsystem to the fuel cut event based on the internal operating condition and the duration of the fuel cut event (process 276). For example, in some embodiments, the internal operating information is the temperature of the exhaust gas entering the exhaust aftertreatment system 54 or the temperature of the exhaust aftertreatment system 54.”);
modulating a cruise control set speed (see at least [0054]; “The drive assist circuit 174 controls driver assist modes in which a controller on the vehicle has at least partial control over the operation of the vehicle. For example, when operating in the driver assist mode, the drive assist circuit 174 may control a speed of an engine according to a predetermined speed input via the operator I/O device 146, and the operator may steer and brake the vehicle (e.g., cruise control).”) based on the determined coasting opportunity (see at least [0063]; “The drive assist circuit 174 then predicts a duration of the fuel cut event based on the operating condition of the vehicle subsystem, the external static condition, and/or the external dynamic condition (process 268). For example, the drive assist circuit 174 may predict the duration of the fuel cut event based on a grade of the downhill portion of the route, a weight of the vehicle, and/or an operating condition (e.g. speed) of the vehicle.”) to cause the temperature regarding the aftertreatment system to reach a second temperature greater than the first temperature (see at least [0063]; “Based on the predicted duration of the predicted fuel cut event and the temperature of the exhaust gas entering the exhaust aftertreatment system 54 or the temperature of the exhaust aftertreatment system 54, the drive assist circuit 174 can determine whether the temperature of the exhaust gas or the exhaust aftertreatment system 54 will drop below the low temperature threshold of the exhaust aftertreatment system 54 during the fuel cut event. In response to predicting a suboptimal response of the vehicle subsystem to the fuel cut event, the drive assist circuit 174 is structured to change the speed and/or the output torque of the engine 50 before the fuel cut event (process 280). For example, in embodiments in which the temperature of the exhaust gas or the temperature of the exhaust aftertreatment system 54 is predicted to fall below the low temperature threshold during the fuel cut event, the drive assist circuit 174 can increase the speed and/or the torque output of the engine to increase the temperature of the exhaust gas or the exhaust aftertreatment system 54 before the fuel cut event to a temperature high enough to prevent the temperature of the exhaust gas or the exhaust aftertreatment system 54 from falling below the low temperature threshold during the fuel cut event.”).
Both Plianos and Borhan teach vehicles that assess the upcoming terrain to predict vehicle coasting, and both use that information to modify the vehicle speed prior to coasting in order to obtain optimal performance. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the claimed invention to modify the system of Plianos to monitor the temperature of the aftertreatment system and to factor that information into models of vehicle coasting and decisions about vehicle speed, as taught by Borhan. Such a modification would have a reasonable expectation of success because Plianos already models the performance and coasting of the vehicle according to upcoming terrain. One of ordinary skill would be motivated to monitor the aftertreatment system temperature and to modify the car temperature in order to raise the speed before coasting in order to minimize vehicle emissions, as taught by Borhan (see at least [0027]; “…controlling the engine of the vehicle to maintain the temperature of the exhaust aftertreatment system above the lower temperature threshold during a fuel cut event is advantageous for reducing vehicle emissions.”).
Regarding claim 9, Plianos in view of Ludwick and Borhan teaches the method of claim 8. Plianos further teaches wherein the look ahead information includes one or more of the road grade (see at least [0081]; “The geometric data includes terrain data, and in particular information about changes in elevation”), a speed limit, traffic information, or a weather condition at a particular location of a route of the vehicle.
Regarding claim 10, Plianos in view of Ludwick and Borhan teaches the method of claim 8. Plianos further teaches wherein the vehicle information includes one or more of an engine state, a plurality of vehicle performance constraints, a vehicle performance objective, a vehicle accessories state, a look ahead power, a look ahead velocity (see at least [0102]; “Each coasting profile 126, 128 and 130 represents a predicted speed of the vehicle 100 over a distance from its corresponding starting point 132, 134 and 136”), a look ahead performance, or a look ahead energy requirement for the vehicle .
Regarding claim 11, Plianos in view of Ludwick and Borhan teaches the method of claim 10. Plianos further teaches wherein the vehicle performance objective is configured to dynamically change during operation of the vehicle (see at least [0161]; “It will be appreciated that generation of coasting profiles may be an ongoing or iterative process. For example, new coasting profiles may be generated, and/or existing coating profiles updated, on a periodic basis, such as every 5 seconds for example”).
Regarding claim 13, Plianos in view of Ludwick and Borhan teaches the method of claim 8. Plianos further teaches wherein the look ahead information includes an indication of a decrease in road grade relative to a current road grade for the vehicle (see Fig. 4, where the “predicted path” 124 includes an area with a decrease in road grade relative to vehicle’s current position), the method further comprising modulating the cruise control set speed downwards relative to a current cruise control set speed (see Fig. 4, where coasting profile 144 shows a lower starting speed than the current vehicle speed, and [138] “In the event that a profile with a different starting speed was chosen, the vehicle 100 may need to be accelerated or decelerated to the starting speed of the chosen coasting profile”).
Regarding claim 15, Plianos teaches a vehicle (see at least Fig. 1, 100), comprising:
at least one controller (see Fig. 8, 170, “Vehicle and motor control module” coupled to an engine (see Fig. 8, 172, “IC engine actuation & controller”), an electrical machine (see Fig. 8, 174, “electric motor actuation and controller module”), ([0036]-[0038]; “The means for generating a plurality of coasting profiles for the vehicle, may comprise: an electronic processor having an electrical input for receiving signals indicative of a value of vehicle speed and upcoming changes in geometry of a predicted vehicle path, and an electronic memory device electrically coupled to the electronic processor and having instructions stored therein”), the one or more memory devices configured to store instructions thereon that, when executed by the one or more processors (see at least [0039]; “the electronic processor is configured to access the electronic memory device and execute the instructions stored therein…”), cause the one or more processors to:
receive, from an external information source system, look ahead information (see at least [0081]; “…a vehicle 100 is equipped with technology that enables it to anticipate upcoming changes in geometry of a predicted path and in particular, changes in elevation…The terrain data…may be sourced from the GPS unit 102”) and store the look ahead information in the one or more memory devices (see at least [0081]; “…terrain data may be stored locally or accessed remotely via a wireless network…”), the look ahead information including an indication of an increase in road grade relative to a current road grade for the vehicle (see Fig. 4, where the “predicted path” 124 shows an increase in road grade relative to vehicle’s current position);
receive vehicle information regarding operation of the vehicle (see at least [0103]; “…factors may be estimated based on direct measurements (e.g., air pressure and temperature), implicit measurements (e.g., vehicle tyre pressure based on measured deceleration at different speeds when coasting)…”) including an engine (see at least [0088]; “The prime mover is device such as an internal combustion engine...”), the vehicle information including a first driveline torque at which the electrical machine operates (see at least [0165] – [0168]; “The cruise control module 162 outputs a cruise control propulsion demand to a vehicle supervisory controller (VSC) module 164 and a cruise control braking demand to an ABS braking module 166. The cruise control propulsion demand is routed to a torque management module 168 within the VSC module 164. The torque management module 168 also accepts as inputs the same coasting request as was received by the cruise control module 162 and a regenerative braking request from the ABS braking module 166….The VSC module 164 outputs an internal combustion (IC) request, an electric motor (EM) request and a transmission engagement/disengagement request. These three requests are supplied to a vehicle and motor control module 170. The IC request is routed to an IC engine actuation and controller module 172, the EM request is routed to an electric motor actuation and controller module 174, and the transmission engagement/disengagement request is routed to a transmission and actuation controller 176.”),
determine a coasting opportunity for the vehicle based on the look ahead information (see at least Abs; “Each coasting profile represents a predicted vehicle speed over a time and/or distance from the starting point and is generated based on a geometry of at least a portion of the predicted vehicle path”) and the vehicle information (see at least [0103]; “…if the vehicle detects it is towing a trailer this may also be used in the estimate”);
modulate a cruise control set speed for the vehicle based on the determined coasting opportunity (see at least [0089]; “…the target speed range when in a non-coasting mode may comprise a hard limit above and below a nominal cruise control speed. The target speed range when in a coasting mode may comprise a different hard limit above and below a nominal coasting profile”), wherein the cruise control set speed is modulated upwards relative to a current cruise control set speed prior to traversing a hill associated with the increase in the road grade (see Fig. 4, where coasting profile 148 shows a higher starting speed than the current vehicle speed that is implemented prior to the increase in road grade, and [138] “In the event that a profile with a different starting speed was chosen, the vehicle 100 may need to be accelerated or decelerated to the starting speed of the chosen coasting profile”), ;
turn the engine off during the determined coasting opportunity for the vehicle (see at least [0109]-[0113]; “…entering a coasting mode may comprise one or more of: … turning off the internal combustion engine…”) based on modulation of the cruise control set speed (see at least [0099]; “By effectively allowing a wider range of speeds during coasting, the vehicle may be able to take advantage of longer periods of coasting, which in turn leads to lower fuel consumption”); and
after turning the engine off, command the electrical machine to operate at a second driveline torque (see at least [0135]; “If the vehicle is, for example, a hybrid with an electric motor coupled to the transmission and/or at any of the axles, it is possible to provide positive propulsive torque to one or more of the electric motors while coasting so as to prevent the speed dipping below the lower speed limit. In the case of the fourth coasting profile 138, for example, this would make distance D longer.”), (see at least [0138] for a description of the predicted coasting profiles generated in view of the look ahead information; “Each of the fourth, fifth and sixth coasting profiles will maintain the vehicle speed within the target speed range for at least some period. As a result, any of these profiles may be identified as being suitable. In the given scenario, the fifth coasting profile 140 offers the longest coasted distance, and hence may be chosen for implementation. Accordingly, a prime mover of the vehicle 100 may be controlled to place the vehicle into a coasting mode in accordance with the fifth coasting profile 140. To do this, the vehicle 100 is maintained at its current speed. In the event that a profile with a different starting speed was chosen, the vehicle 100 may need to be accelerated or decelerated to the starting speed of the chosen coasting profile. Optionally, the additional energy cost of such acceleration (e.g., fuel cost) or deceleration (e.g., lost kinetic energy) may be factored into the choice of coasting profile. One way of reducing the impact of the portion of the predicted path before the starting point(s) of the coasting profiles is to make the starting point(s) for the coasting profiles the current position of the vehicle 100, or at least only a relatively short distance from the current position.”).
However, Plianos does not explicitly teach:
an aftertreatment system;
at least one controller coupled to the aftertreatment system;
receive vehicle information regarding operation of a vehicle including an aftertreatment system, the vehicle information including a first temperature regarding the aftertreatment system;
modulate a cruise control set speed based on the determined coasting opportunity to cause the temperature regarding the aftertreatment system to reach a second temperature greater than the first temperature;
command the electrical machine to operate at a second driveline torque greater than the first driveline torque thereby extending a duration of the determined coasting opportunity, and the commanding based on a state of charge of an electrical power source for the electrical machine meeting a threshold during the determined coasting opportunity.
Regarding command the electrical machine to operate at a second driveline torque greater than the first driveline torque thereby extending a duration of the determined coasting opportunity, Plianos does specifically teach that a positive torque may be applied to extend the coasting time (see at least [0135]; “If the vehicle is, for example, a hybrid with an electric motor coupled to the transmission and/or at any of the axles, it is possible to provide positive propulsive torque to one or more of the electric motors while coasting so as to prevent the speed dipping below the lower speed limit. In the case of the fourth coasting profile 138, for example, this would make distance D longer.”). It would be obvious to one of ordinary skill that applying this positive torque in order to extend coasting time would, in many cases, represent an increase in provided torque compared to the previous operating condition. Therefore, it would be obvious to one of ordinary skill from the teachings of Plianos to increase the driveline torque of the electrical machine in order to increase coasting time.
Plianos discloses a device to model and execute vehicle coasting profiles, and Ludwick is directed to determining a next vehicle task for a vehicle of a fleet. Ludwick teaches the commanding based on a state of charge of an electrical power source for the electrical machine meeting a threshold (see at least [0004]; “The method may further comprise determining an energy consumption rate of the vehicle and predicting a future vehicle charge status after a trip based on the energy consumption rate, wherein directing the vehicle to the next vehicle task includes directing the vehicle to recharge after the trip when the predicted vehicle charge status after the trip is below a threshold minimum. The energy consumption rate may be determined further based on weather conditions. The method may further comprise determining whether the vehicle charge status is below a threshold absolute minimum, wherein directing the vehicle to the next vehicle task includes directing the vehicle to recharge when the vehicle charge status is determined to be below the threshold absolute minimum level.”) (see at least [0064]; “In addition to the vehicle data of storage system 350, the server computing devices 310 may also use other factors to predict the energy consumption rate of a vehicle. For example, a vehicle may consume energy faster or slower depending on route conditions, such as variations in elevations and number of turns.”) and the vehicle information (see at least [0051]; “The vehicle data may include vehicle type, which may be categorized by how energy is consumed, for example, vehicle 100 is an electric vehicle, vehicle 100A is a hybrid vehicle, vehicle 100B runs on gasoline, and vehicle 100C is a fuel cell vehicle.”).
Plianos teaches using look ahead information to optimize vehicle coasting and minimize energy consumption, and Ludwick teaches using look ahead information to estimate future charge status and inform decisions about recharging. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the claimed invention to use the look ahead information gathered by Plianos in the application taught by Ludwick: to estimate a future state of charge based on the upcoming route and predicted consumption rate. In view of Ludwick’s teaching on a threshold absolute minimum level of charge, it would furthermore have been obvious to one of ordinary skill to use the electric motor to extend coasting only when sufficient charge was available.
However, neither Plianos nor Ludwick teach:
an aftertreatment system;
at least one controller coupled to the aftertreatment system;
receive vehicle information regarding operation of a vehicle including an aftertreatment system, the vehicle information including a first temperature regarding the aftertreatment system;
modulate a cruise control set speed based on the determined coasting opportunity to cause the temperature regarding the aftertreatment system to reach a second temperature greater than the first temperature;
Plianos discloses a device to model and execute vehicle coasting profiles, and Borhan is directed to modulating the torque or speed of a vehicle engine in response to an anticipated fuel cut. Borhan teaches:
A vehicle (see at least Fig. 2, vehicle 44) comprising an aftertreatment system (see at least Fig. 2, aftertreatment system 54);
at least one controller coupled to the aftertreatment system (see at least [0042]; “The controller 118 is structured to control the operation of the engine system 46 and associated sub-systems, such as the internal combustion engine 50 and the exhaust aftertreatment system 54.”);
receive vehicle information regarding operation of a vehicle including an aftertreatment system, the vehicle information including a first temperature regarding the aftertreatment system (see at least [0063]; “In response to predicting the fuel cut event and/or the duration of the fuel cut event, the drive assist circuit 174 is structured to receive the internal operating information from the internal information circuit 162 (process 272). The drive assist circuit 174 is then structured to predict the response of the vehicle subsystem to the fuel cut event based on the internal operating condition and the duration of the fuel cut event (process 276). For example, in some embodiments, the internal operating information is the temperature of the exhaust gas entering the exhaust aftertreatment system 54 or the temperature of the exhaust aftertreatment system 54.”);
modulate a cruise control set speed (see at least [0054]; “The drive assist circuit 174 controls driver assist modes in which a controller on the vehicle has at least partial control over the operation of the vehicle. For example, when operating in the driver assist mode, the drive assist circuit 174 may control a speed of an engine according to a predetermined speed input via the operator I/O device 146, and the operator may steer and brake the vehicle (e.g., cruise control).”) based on the determined coasting opportunity (see at least [0063]; “The drive assist circuit 174 then predicts a duration of the fuel cut event based on the operating condition of the vehicle subsystem, the external static condition, and/or the external dynamic condition (process 268). For example, the drive assist circuit 174 may predict the duration of the fuel cut event based on a grade of the downhill portion of the route, a weight of the vehicle, and/or an operating condition (e.g. speed) of the vehicle.”) to cause the temperature regarding the aftertreatment system to reach a second temperature greater than the first temperature (see at least [0063]; “Based on the predicted duration of the predicted fuel cut event and the temperature of the exhaust gas entering the exhaust aftertreatment system 54 or the temperature of the exhaust aftertreatment system 54, the drive assist circuit 174 can determine whether the temperature of the exhaust gas or the exhaust aftertreatment system 54 will drop below the low temperature threshold of the exhaust aftertreatment system 54 during the fuel cut event. In response to predicting a suboptimal response of the vehicle subsystem to the fuel cut event, the drive assist circuit 174 is structured to change the speed and/or the output torque of the engine 50 before the fuel cut event (process 280). For example, in embodiments in which the temperature of the exhaust gas or the temperature of the exhaust aftertreatment system 54 is predicted to fall below the low temperature threshold during the fuel cut event, the drive assist circuit 174 can increase the speed and/or the torque output of the engine to increase the temperature of the exhaust gas or the exhaust aftertreatment system 54 before the fuel cut event to a temperature high enough to prevent the temperature of the exhaust gas or the exhaust aftertreatment system 54 from falling below the low temperature threshold during the fuel cut event.”).
Both Plianos and Borhan teach vehicles that assess the upcoming terrain to predict vehicle coasting, and both use that information to modify the vehicle speed prior to coasting in order to obtain optimal performance. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the claimed invention to modify the system of Plianos to monitor the temperature of the aftertreatment system and to factor that information into models of vehicle coasting and decisions about vehicle speed, as taught by Borhan. Such a modification would have a reasonable expectation of success because Plianos already models the performance and coasting of the vehicle according to upcoming terrain. One of ordinary skill would be motivated to monitor the aftertreatment system temperature and to modify the car temperature in order to raise the speed before coasting in order to minimize vehicle emissions, as taught by Borhan (see at least [0027]; “…controlling the engine of the vehicle to maintain the temperature of the exhaust aftertreatment system above the lower temperature threshold during a fuel cut event is advantageous for reducing vehicle emissions.”).
Regarding claim 16, Plianos in view of Ludwick and Borhan teaches the vehicle of claim 15. Plianos further teaches wherein the instructions, when executed by the one or more processors, further cause the one or more processors to: determine a transmission setting for the determined coasting opportunity (see at least [0164]-[0168]; “The cruise control module 162 also accepts as an input the current vehicle speed and a coasting request…The cruise control module 162 outputs a cruise control propulsion demand to a vehicle supervisory controller (VSC) module 164…The VSC module 164 outputs an internal combustion (IC) request, an electric motor (EM) request and a transmission engagement/disengagement request…”); and command the transmission setting with a transmission of the vehicle ([0168] “the transmission engagement/disengagement request is routed to a transmission and actuation controller 176”).
Regarding claim 17, Plianos in view of Ludwick and Borhan teaches the vehicle of claim 16. Plianos further teaches wherein the transmission setting is a neutral transmission setting (see at least [0175]; “The torque management module 168 may instruct the transmission controller module 176 to place the car's transmission into neutral, and/or disengage a clutch to disconnect drive from the IC engine”).
Regarding claim 18, Plianos in view of Ludwick and Borhan teaches the vehicle of claim 16. Plianos further teaches wherein commanding the transmission setting includes providing a prompt to an operator (see at least [0179]; “…instead of placing the vehicle into a coasting mode, the coasting signal may cause feedback to be provided to a vehicle user (such as a driver) to place the vehicle into the coasting mode”) via an operator device (see at least [0179]-[0182]; “Such feedback may make any suitable form, such as: Audible… Visual: one or more of text, images and/or icons may be displayed to the driver by way of an instrument cluster, a heads-up display, a screen, one or more lights, or any other visual indicator…”) to implement the transmission setting (see at least [0184]; “The driver may, in response to the feedback, take steps to put the vehicle into the coasting mode. For example, in a manual car, the driver may depress the clutch, and/or place the vehicle transmission into neutral”).
Regarding claim 20, Plianos in view of Ludwick and Borhan teaches the vehicle of claim 15. Plianos further teaches wherein the look ahead information includes one or more of the road grade (see at least [0081]; “The geometric data includes terrain data, and in particular information about changes in elevation”), a speed limit, traffic information, or a weather condition at a particular location of a route of the vehicle.
Claim 7 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Plianos in view of Ludwick and Borhan, further in view Zeigner et al. (US-4286683-A; hereinafter Zeigner).
Regarding claim 7, Plianos in view of Ludwick and Borhan discloses the apparatus of claim 1.
However, Plianos does not teach wherein the instructions further cause the one or more processors to provide one or more of an engine off time, an indicator of fuel consumption while the engine is turned off, or an indicator of performance of the vehicle to a user.
Plianos discloses a device to model and execute vehicle coasting profiles, and Zeigner is directed to a system for automatically controlling the shutdown and restarting of a vehicle engine in order to conserve fuel. Zeigner teaches wherein the instructions further cause the one or more processors to provide one or more of an engine off time, an indicator of fuel consumption while the engine is turned off (see Zeigner at least col. 1, lines 35-39; “Another important feature of the present invention is that it provides an engine stop-start system which also measures and displays the amount of the fuel actually saved during the time that the engine is shut down for intermittent stopping periods”), or an indicator of performance of the vehicle to a user (see at least col. 7, lines 54-58; “The automatic shutdown and restart controls, as previously stated, function in combination with the fuel-saved accumulator 18 and its display 20 to provide an ever available readout of the fuel actually saved by the stop/start system”).
Both Plianos (see at least [0124]) and Zeigner (see at least col. 1, lines 35-39) teach turning the vehicle engine off at certain times during operation in order to conserve fuel. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the vehicle coasting device used in Plianos to include a measurement of the fuel saved during the time the engine is shut off, as taught by Zeigner. One of ordinary skill would be motivated to include a measure of fuel saved in order to inform the user of fuel savings, as recognized by Zeigner (see Zeigner at least col. 7, lines 39-41; “Thus, a vehicle owner can quickly ascertain the fuel being saved during a particular trip or over a certain time period”).
Claims 14 and 19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Plianos in view of Ludwick and Borhan, further in view of Vadlamani et al. (US-10487762-B2; hereinafter Vadlamani).
Regarding claim 14, Plianos in view of Ludwick and Borhan teaches the method of claim 8. Plianos further teaches further comprising bypassing turning the engine off during the determined coasting opportunity (see Plianos at least [0122]-[0123]; “Other states that may be involved when coasting include: Engine over-run (also known as engine braking, deceleration fuel shut-off, engine connected coasting) is a state in which the internal combustion (IC) engine remains connected to a driveline of the vehicle via a transmission… Eventually, engine-connected coasting may cause the engine speed to fall to a level at which fuel must be readmitted (the fuel cut-in speed) to avoid stalling of the engine upon fuelling”).
However, Plianos does not explicitly teach further comprising bypassing turning the engine off during the determined coasting opportunity in response to the look ahead information indicating at least one of an intersection or another vehicle within a predefined distance of the vehicle.
Vadlamani, in the same field of endeavor, teaches three possible coasting modes to use during the determined coasting opportunity (see Vadlamani at least col. 2, lines 30-31; “If the vehicle will need to stop at the traffic control signal, then the vehicle has an opportunity to coast to a stop”) in response to the look ahead information (see at least Abs, “…sensors mounted on a vehicle can allow opportunities for coasting to be predicted…”) indicating at least one of an intersection (see at least col. 2, lines 26-28; “FIG. 1 is a schematic diagram that illustrates an example embodiment of a vehicle approaching a traffic control signal according to various aspects of the present disclosure”) or another vehicle within a predefined distance of the vehicle. In one of the three coasting modes taught by Vadlamani in response to approaching a traffic signal, the engine is turned off (see at least col. 2, lines 41-46; “If the vehicle is traveling at a rate of speed that indicates that it will be decelerating for a long time…the engine of the vehicle may be shut down in order to achieve even lower fuel consumption and lower emissions”). In the other two coasting modes, Vadlamani teaches bypassing turning the engine off (see at least col. 2, lines 33-41; “…if the vehicle is traveling at a high rate of speed and needs to apply additional braking power to come to a stop at the traffic control signal, the transmission may stay engaged in order to use engine drag to help slow the vehicle. If the vehicle is traveling at a lower rate of speed where engine braking would not be helpful, then the transmission may be disengaged in order to run the engine at a more efficient idle speed while the vehicle is decelerating”).
Both Plianos (see at least [0123]) and Vadlamani (see at least col. 2, lines 33-37) teach bypassing turning the engine off during some coasting situations in order to take advantage of engine braking. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the vehicle coasting device used in Plianos to include intersections as a feature to be recognized in the look-ahead information, and to determine an appropriate coasting mode when approaching the detected intersection, as taught by Vadlamani. Such a modification would have a reasonable expectation of success, as both Plianos and Vadlamani use similar tools to gather look ahead information, including vehicle state sensors (see Plianos [0103] and Vadlamani col. 1, line 21), environmental sensors (see Plianos [0103] and Vadlamani col. 1, line 17), route planning information (see Plianos [0082] and Vadlamani col. 2, line 17), vehicle-to-vehicle signaling and vehicle-to-infrastructure signaling (see Plianos [0085] and Vadlamani col. 2, lines 18-19). One of ordinary skill would be motivated to incorporate coasting to a stop at intersections into the device of Plianos in order to take advantage of this additional coasting opportunity, as recognized by Vadlamani (see Vadlamani at least col. 2, lines 30-31).
Regarding claim 19, Plianos in view of Ludwick and Borhan teaches the vehicle of claim 15. Plianos further teaches wherein the instructions, when executed by the one or more processors, further cause the one or more processors to bypass turning the engine off during the determined coasting opportunity (see Plianos at least [0122]-[0123]; “Other states that may be involved when coasting include: Engine over-run (also known as engine braking, deceleration fuel shut-off, engine connected coasting) is a state in which the internal combustion (IC) engine remains connected to a driveline of the vehicle via a transmission… Eventually, engine-connected coasting may cause the engine speed to fall to a level at which fuel must be readmitted (the fuel cut-in speed) to avoid stalling of the engine upon fuelling”).
However, Plianos does not explicitly teach further cause the one or more processors to bypass turning the engine off during the determined coasting opportunity in response to the look ahead information indicating at least one of an intersection or another vehicle within a predefined distance of the vehicle.
Vadlamani, in the same field of endeavor, teaches three possible coasting modes to use during the determined coasting opportunity (see Vadlamani at least col. 2, lines 30-31; “If the vehicle will need to stop at the traffic control signal, then the vehicle has an opportunity to coast to a stop”) in response to the look ahead information (see at least Abs, “…sensors mounted on a vehicle can allow opportunities for coasting to be predicted…”) indicating at least one of an intersection (see at least col. 2, lines 26-28; “FIG. 1 is a schematic diagram that illustrates an example embodiment of a vehicle approaching a traffic control signal according to various aspects of the present disclosure”) or another vehicle within a predefined distance of the vehicle. In one of the three coasting modes taught by Vadlamani in response to approaching a traffic signal, the engine is turned off (see at least col. 2, lines 41-46; “If the vehicle is traveling at a rate of speed that indicates that it will be decelerating for a long time…the engine of the vehicle may be shut down in order to achieve even lower fuel consumption and lower emissions”). In the other two coasting modes, Vadlamani teaches further cause the one or more processors to bypass turning the engine off (see at least col. 2, lines 33-41; “…if the vehicle is traveling at a high rate of speed and needs to apply additional braking power to come to a stop at the traffic control signal, the transmission may stay engaged in order to use engine drag to help slow the vehicle. If the vehicle is traveling at a lower rate of speed where engine braking would not be helpful, then the transmission may be disengaged in order to run the engine at a more efficient idle speed while the vehicle is decelerating”).
Both Plianos (see at least [0123]) and Vadlamani (see at least col. 2, lines 33-37) teach bypassing turning the engine off during some coasting situations in order to take advantage of engine braking. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the vehicle coasting device used in Plianos to include intersections as a feature to be recognized in the look-ahead information, and to determine an appropriate coasting mode when approaching the detected intersection, as taught by Vadlamani. Such a modification would have a reasonable expectation of success, as both Plianos and Vadlamani use similar tools to gather look-ahead information, including vehicle state sensors (see Plianos [0103] and Vadlamani col. 1, line 21), environmental sensors (see Plianos [0103] and Vadlamani col. 1, line 17), route planning information (see Plianos [0082] and Vadlamani col. 2, line 17), vehicle-to-vehicle signaling and vehicle-to-infrastructure signaling (see Plianos [0085] and Vadlamani col. 2, lines 18-19). One of ordinary skill would be motivated to incorporate coasting to a stop at intersections into the device of Plianos in order to take advantage of this additional coasting opportunity, as recognized by Vadlamani (see Vadlamani at least col. 2, lines 30-31).
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/ASHLEY BROWN RAYNAL/Examiner, Art Unit 3648
/VLADIMIR MAGLOIRE/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3648