DETAILED ACTION
The following is a final office action in response to applicant’s remarks/arguments 2/04/2026 for
response of the office action mailed on 11/04/2025. Claims 1, 6-7, and 14 have been amended. Claims 2-3, 9-10, 16-17 and 22 have been canceled. Claims 29-34 have been added. Claims 1, 5-8, 12, 14-15, 19, and 25-34 remain pending in the application.
file provisions of the AIA .
Response to Amendment
Amendments filed on 2/04/2026 are entered for prosecution. Applicant’s amendments to the Claims
have overcome each and every objection previously set forth in the Non-Final Rejection mailed on 11/04/2025.
Response to Remarks/Arguments
Applicant’s remarks/arguments (page 10-15), filed on 2/04/2026, with respect to the claims 1, 7, and
14 have been fully considered but are not persuasive.
Regarding remarks in page 12 for independent claim 1, applicant remarks that Choi et al is silent about the above-identified features, which require that 1) the relevant MBS session information comprises group information updated in MBS-related SIB, and 2) determine whether the terminal device is interested in MBS-related SIB and decide the action of the terminal device based on interested/not interested and its status.
Examiner respectfully disagrees with the applicant. Choi et al. (US 2004/0180675 Al) discloses (by including information indicating whether the cell is a tracking area or a non-tracking in a particular SIB broadcasted from a particular cell, UEs accessing the cell determine whether to perform a response operation when an MBMS service-related paging message or an MBMS Control message is received, Choi: [0159]), and (if the Paging message is for delivering a group message and the UE need not transmit a response message for the group message to an RNC, then the Cell Update process or the RRC Connection Setup process may not be required. UE ignores the currently received MBMS Control message because the currently received MBMS Control message is retransmission of the previously received MBMS Control message, Choi: [0041], [01052]).
Regarding remarks in page 12 for independent claim 1, applicant remarks that Choi et al is also silent about: 3) specific network scenarios, namely RAN and AMF; 4) carrying relevant MBS session information in both the first paging message and the second paging message; 5) the first paging message being used to notify the presence of multicast downlink data; and 6) the ID information corresponding to the terminal to be paged.
Choi discloses (an MBMS Paging message is received as one of the methods for perceiving notification of an MBMS service. receiving MBMS data over a common channel in the CELL_PCH or URA_PCH state, or receiving an MBMS Paging message to receive a control message in other cases and receiving an MBMS Control information over FACH through an MBMS-related control message. upon receiving the multimedia broadcast/multicast service paging message, the UE transmits a service Notification Response message indicating normal receipt of the service Notification message, to the network device, Choi: [0022]-[0023], [0041]-[0042]). DAO et al. (US 2019/0158985 Al) discloses (AMF sends the N1 SM Session Announcement or N1 MM MB Session Announcement message to the electronic device (ED). The (R)AN paging message may carry the N1 MM MB Session Announcement message. The AMF 308 may create an N2-AP control channel between AMF 308 and each (R)AN node 302 that is included in step 726 to exchange control signal for the ED Group ID, and/or for MB Session ID. The AMF 308 creates multiple N2 MM MB Session Establishment Request for each (R)AN node 302, Dao: [0105]-[0106], [0248], ).
Regarding remarks/arguments in page 13-14 for claims 25 and 26 along with arguments have been fully considered and are persuasive.
Claim Objections
5. Claims 7 and 14 are objected to because of the following informalities:
Claim 7, in line 25-26, “a PO” should be replaced by “the PO”
Claim 14, in line 26-27, “a PO” should be replaced by “the PO”
Appropriate corrections are required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1, 7 and 14 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second
paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Regarding claim 1, the limitation “the MBS session” in line 11 renders the claim indefinite because there is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
Regarding claim 7, the limitation “the MBS session” in line 18-19 renders the claim indefinite because there is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
Regarding claim 14, the limitation “the MBS session” in line 20-21 renders the claim indefinite because there is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
(or as subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 102 and 103) is incorrect, any correction of the statutory basis for the rejection will not be considered a new ground of rejection if the prior art relied upon, and the rationale supporting the rejection, would be the same under either status.
are applied for establishing a background for determining obviousness under 35 U.S.C. 103 are summarized as follows:
Claims 1, 5-8, 12, 14-15, 19, and 29-34 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over
Choi et al. (US 2004/0180675 Al, hereinafter “Choi”) in view of DAO et al. (US 2019/0158985 Al, hereinafter “Dao”) and in further view of LUO et al. (US 2021/0352615 Al, hereinafter “Luo”).
Regarding claim 1, Choi discloses:
A notification method for multicast downlink service, comprising (a method for exchanging control messages between a radio network controller (RNC) and a user equipment (UE) in a mobile communication system providing a multimedia broadcast/ multicast service (MBMS), Choi: [0003]):
receiving, by a terminal device at a paging occasion (PO), a first paging message sent by a radio access network (RAN) device (The Radio Access Bearer (RAB) is a set of transmission resources formed in a radio access network (RAN) to provide a particular multimedia broadcast/multicast service (MBMS) service. UE receives an multimedia broadcast/multicast service paging message on an associated paging channel. UE periodically monitors a paging channel (PICH) signal at the calculated paging instance (PI) of the PO, Choi: [0020]-[0024], [0137]),
wherein the first paging message is used for notifying presence of multicast downlink data and carries relevant multicast broadcast service (MBS) session information (an MBMS Paging message is received as one of the methods for perceiving notification of an MBMS service. receiving MBMS data over a common channel in the CELL_PCH or URA_PCH state, or receiving an MBMS Paging message to receive a control message in other cases and receiving an MBMS Control information over FACH through an MBMS-related control message, Choi: [0022], [0041]); and
responding, by the terminal device, to the first paging message (upon receiving the multimedia broadcast/multicast service paging message, the UE transmits a service Notification Response message indicating normal receipt of the service Notification message, to the network device, Choi: [0023]),
wherein the relevant MBS session information comprises group information updated in MBS related system information block (SIB), and the method further comprises (by including information indicating whether the cell is a tracking area or a non-tracking in a particular SIB broadcasted from a particular cell, UEs accessing the cell determine whether to perform a response operation when an MBMS service-related paging message or an MBMS Control message is received, Choi: [0159]):
in response to being interested in the group information and being in an idle state, the terminal device entering a connected state and initiating a non-access stratum (NAS) message to activate the MBS session (The service joining request message transmitted from the UE to the core network includes an MBMS service ID indicating the selected MBMS service, and a UE ID indicating the corresponding UE, Choi: [0011]-[0015]);
the terminal device initiating a radio resource control (RRC) resume procedure (UEs in the IDLE state perform an RRC Connection Setup process, Choi: [0034]-[0035], [0041]-[0042]); and
in response to being not interested in the group information, the terminal device ignoring the first paging message (if the Paging message is for delivering a group message and the UE need not transmit a response message for the group message to an RNC, then the Cell Update process or the RRC Connection Setup process may not be required. UE ignores the currently received MBMS Control message because the currently received MBMS Control message is retransmission of the previously received MBMS Control message, Choi: [0041], [01052]);
wherein the second paging message carries identity information of the terminal device to be paged, discontinuous reception (DRX) information of the terminal device, and the relevant MBS session information (Activate MBMS PDP Context Accept message includes a temporary multicast group identity (TMGI) parameter to be used in group paging for the MBMS service, and a discontinuous reception (DRX) parameter. RNC calculates a paging occasion (PO) and a paging instance (PI) using the TMGI and DRX parameters included in the received service Notification message. The TMGI is an identifier that is uniquely assigned according to a type of the MBMS service, Choi: [0018], [0020], [0074]); and
Choi does not explicitly disclose:
in response to being interested in the group information and being in an inactive state,
wherein the PO is determined at the RAN device based on a second paging message sent from an access and mobility management function (AMF) device,
However, in the same field of endeavor, Dao teaches:
in response to being interested in the group information and being in an inactive state (The (R)AN 302 Sends a (R)AN paging message for each ED 102 currently in an RRC-INACTIVE state, Dao: [0106]),
wherein the PO is determined at the RAN device based on a second paging message sent from an access and mobility management function (AMF) device (AMF sends the N1 SM Session Announcement or N1 MM MB Session Announcement message to the electronic device (ED). The (R)AN paging message may carry the N1 MM MB Session Announcement message. The AMF 308 may create an N2-AP control channel between AMF 308 and each (R)AN node 302 that is included in step 726 to exchange control signal for the ED Group ID, and/or for MB Session ID. The AMF 308 creates multiple N2 MM MB Session Establishment Request for each (R)AN node 302, Dao: [0105]-[0106], [0248]),
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Choi in view of Dao in order to further modify being interested in the group information and being in an inactive state and determining the PO at the RAN device based on a second paging message sent from an access and mobility management function (AMF) device from the teachings of Dao.
One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated because The AMF may create an N1 MM MB Session Announcement message from the N1 MB Session Establishment request message to send to the EDs (Dao: [0101]).
Yet, Choi in view of Dao does not explicitly disclose:
the identity information and the DRX information are used for determining the PO corresponding to the terminal device to be paged based on following formulas:
(SFN + PF offset) mod T = (T div N)*(UE_ID mod N); and
i_s = floor (UE_ID/N) mod Ns;
where SFN corresponds to a paging frame (PF); PF offset refers to an offset of the PF; mod represents a remainder operation; T is DRX cycle of the terminal device in the DRX information; div represents a rounding division operation; N is a number of paging frames during T; UE_ID is the identity information of the terminal device; i_s represents a PO identity; floor represents a downward rounding operation; and Ns represents a number of POs in one PF.
However, in the same field of endeavor, Luo teaches:
the identity information and the DRX information are used for determining the PO corresponding to the terminal device to be paged based on following formulas (One or a plurality of PFs are defined in each DRX cycle. The UE is associated with one of the PFs according to a UE identifier. The UE is associated with one of the POs according to the UE identifier, Luo: [0010]-[0020]):
(SFN + PF offset) mod T = (T div N)*(UE_ID mod N) ((SFN+PF _offset) mod T = (T div N)*(UE_ID mod N), Luo: [0011]); and
i s = floor (UE_ID/N) mod Ns (i_s = floor (UE_ID/N) mod Ns, Luo: [0019]);
where SFN corresponds to a paging frame (PF); PF offset refers to an offset of the PF; mod represents a remainder operation; T is DRX cycle of the terminal device in the DRX information; div represents a rounding division operation; N is a number of paging frames during T; UE_ID is the identity information of the terminal device; i_s represents a PO identity; floor represents a downward rounding operation; and Ns represents a number of POs in one PF (SFN is the system frame number. PF offset is an offset value used to calculate the PF. T is a DRX cycle. N is the number of PFs in the DRX cycle. The number (Ns) of POs corresponding to each PF. Luo: [0010]-[0020]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Choi-Dao in view of Luo in order to further modify the identity information and the DRX information that are used for determining the PO corresponding to the terminal device from the teachings of Luo.
One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated because the definitions of the default association mechanism and the non-default association mechanism and/or the configuration of paging related parameters is improved (Luo: [0054]).
Regarding claim 5, Choi-Dao-Luo teaches all the claimed limitations as set forth in the rejection of claim 1 above.
Choi further discloses:
The method as claimed in claim 1, wherein the terminal device monitors the first paging message on an MBS-specific PO (UE periodically monitors a PICH signal at the calculated PI of the PO. If it is determined that the PICH signal has a paging for a corresponding multicast service, the UE receives a multicast Paging message on an associated PCH, Choi: [0021]).
Regarding claim 6, Choi-Dao-Luo teaches all the claimed limitations as set forth in the rejection of claim 1 above.
Choi further discloses:
The method as claimed in claim 1, further comprising:
receiving, by the terminal device, the multicast downlink data by means of the MBS session (when preparation for providing the multicast service between the RNC and the UEs is completed, the core network performs a multicast data transfer process in which multicast service data is transmitted to the UEs via the RNC, Choi: [0015]).
Regarding claim 7, Choi discloses:
A notification method for multicast downlink service, comprising (a method for exchanging control messages between a radio network controller (RNC) and a user equipment (UE) in a mobile communication system providing a multimedia broadcast/ multicast service (MBMS), Choi: [0003]):
determining, by the RAN device, a terminal device to be paged according to the information and a previously obtained relationship between the group and the terminal device (if the Paging message is for delivering a group message and the UE need not transmit a response message for the group message to an RNC, then the Cell Update process or the RRC Connection Setup process may not be required. in a process of transmitting/receiving a group message-type MBMS Control message, the succeeding operations are determined according to a CU/RC required parameter value in the MBMS Paging message, Choi: [0041], [0160]);
wherein the second paging message carries identity information of the terminal device to be paged, discontinuous reception (DRX) information of the terminal device, and relevant multicast broadcast service (MBS) session information (Activate MBMS PDP Context Accept message includes a temporary multicast group identity (TMGI) parameter to be used in group paging for the MBMS service, and a discontinuous reception (DRX) parameter. RNC calculates a paging occasion (PO) and a paging instance (PI) using the TMGI and DRX parameters included in the received service Notification message. The TMGI is an identifier that is uniquely assigned according to a type of the MBMS service, Choi: [0018], [0020], [0074]); and
sending, by the RAN device at a paging occasion (PO), a first paging message to the terminal device to be paged (The Radio Access Bearer (RAB) is a set of transmission resources formed in a radio access network (RAN) to provide a particular multimedia broadcast/multicast service (MBMS) service. UE receives an multimedia broadcast/multicast service paging message on an associated paging channel. UE periodically monitors a paging channel (PICH) signal at the calculated paging instance (PI) of the PO, Choi: [0020]-[0024], [0137]),
wherein the first paging message is used for notifying presence of multicast downlink data and carries the relevant MBS session information (an MBMS Paging message is received as one of the methods for perceiving notification of an MBMS service. receiving MBMS data over a common channel in the CELL_PCH or URA_PCH state, or receiving an MBMS Paging message to receive a control message in other cases and receiving an MBMS Control information over FACH through an MBMS-related control message, Choi: [0022], [0041]),
wherein the relevant MBS session information comprises group information updated in MBS related system information block (SIB), and the group information updated in the MBS-related SIB is used for indicating the terminal device to (by including information indicating whether the cell is a tracking area or a non-tracking in a particular SIB broadcasted from a particular cell, UEs accessing the cell determine whether to perform a response operation when an MBMS service-related paging message or an MBMS Control message is received, Choi: [0159]):
in response to being interested in the group information and being in an idle state, enter a connected state and initiate a non-access stratum (NAS) message to activate the MBS session (The service joining request message transmitted from the UE to the core network includes an MBMS service ID indicating the selected MBMS service, and a UE ID indicating the corresponding UE, Choi: [0012]);
initiate a radio resource control (RRC) resume procedure (UEs in the IDLE state perform an RRC Connection Setup process, Choi: [0034]-[0035], [0041]-[0042]); and
in response to being not interested in the group information, ignore the first paging message (if the Paging message is for delivering a group message and the UE need not transmit a response message for the group message to an RNC, then the Cell Update process or the RRC Connection Setup process may not be required. UE ignores the currently received MBMS Control message because the currently received MBMS Control message is retransmission of the previously received MBMS Control message, Choi: [0041], [01052]);
Choi does not explicitly disclose:
determining, by a radio access network (RAN) device, information on a group to which downlink data belongs according to N3 channel information;
receiving, by the RAN device, a second paging message from an access and mobility management function (AMF) device,
in response to being interested in the group information and being in an inactive state,
However, in the same field of endeavor, Dao teaches:
determining, by a radio access network (RAN) device, information on a group to which downlink data belongs according to N3 channel information (UP Gateway over a network interface providing a defined interface such as an N3 interface, Dao: Fig.3, [0038]);
receiving, by the RAN device, a second paging message from an access and mobility management function (AMF) device (AMF sends the N1 SM Session Announcement or N1 MM MB Session Announcement message to the electronic device (ED). The (R)AN paging message may carry the N1 MM MB Session Announcement message. The AMF 308 may create an N2-AP control channel between AMF 308 and each (R)AN node 302 that is included in step 726 to exchange control signal for the ED Group ID, and/or for MB Session ID. The AMF 308 creates multiple N2 MM MB Session Establishment Request for each (R)AN node 302, Dao: [0105]-[0106], [0248]),
in response to being interested in the group information and being in an inactive state (The (R)AN 302 Sends a (R)AN paging message for each ED 102 currently in an RRC-INACTIVE state, Dao: [0106]),
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Choi in view of Dao in order to further modify determining information on a group to which downlink data belongs according to N3 channel information, and receiving a second paging message from an access and mobility management function (AMF) device and being interested in the group information and being in an inactive state from the teachings of Dao.
One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated because The AMF may create an N1 MM MB Session Announcement message from the N1 MB Session Establishment request message to send to the EDs (Dao: [0101]).
Yet, Choi in view of Dao does not explicitly disclose:
wherein the identity information and the DRX information are used for determining a PO corresponding to the terminal device to be paged based on following formulas:
(SFN + PF offset) mod T = (T div N)*(UE_ID mod N); and
i_s = floor (UE_ID/N) mod Ns;
where SFN corresponds to a paging frame (PF); PF offset refers to an offset of the PF; mod represents a remainder operation; T is DRX cycle of the terminal device in the DRX information; div represents a rounding division operation; N is a number of paging frames during T; UE_ID is the identity information of the terminal device; i_s represents a PO identity; floor represents a downward rounding operation; and Ns represents a number of POs in one PF.
However, in the same field of endeavor, Luo teaches:
wherein the identity information and the DRX information are used for determining a PO corresponding to the terminal device to be paged based on following formulas (One or a plurality of PFs are defined in each DRX cycle. The UE is associated with one of the PFs according to a UE identifier. The UE is associated with one of the POs according to the UE identifier, Luo: [0010]-[0020]):
(SFN + PF offset) mod T = (T div N)*(UE_ID mod N) ((SFN+PF _offset) mod T = (T div N)*(UE_ID mod N), Luo: [0011]); and
i s = floor (UE_ID/N) mod Ns (i_s = floor (UE_ID/N) mod Ns, Luo: [0019]);
where SFN corresponds to a paging frame (PF); PF offset refers to an offset of the PF; mod represents a remainder operation; T is DRX cycle of the terminal device in the DRX information; div represents a rounding division operation; N is a number of paging frames during T; UE_ID is the identity information of the terminal device; i_s represents a PO identity; floor represents a downward rounding operation; and Ns represents a number of POs in one PF (SFN is the system frame number. PF offset is an offset value used to calculate the PF. T is a DRX cycle. N is the number of PFs in the DRX cycle. The number (Ns) of POs corresponding to each PF. Luo: [0010]-[0020]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Choi-Dao in view of Luo in order to further modify the identity information and the DRX information that are used for determining the PO corresponding to the terminal device from the teachings of Luo.
One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated because the definitions of the default association mechanism and the non-default association mechanism and/or the configuration of paging related parameters is improved (Luo: [0054]).
Regarding claim 8, Choi-Dao-Luo teaches all the claimed limitations as set forth in the rejection of claim 7 above.
Choi further discloses:
The method as claimed in claim 7, wherein the first network device sends the first paging message on all POs (upon receiving the service Notification message from the network node, the RNC calculates a paging occasion (PO) and a paging instance (PI) using the TMGI and DRX parameters included in the received service Notification message, Choi: [0020]).
Regarding claim 12, Choi-Dao-Luo teaches all the claimed limitations as set forth in the rejection of claim 7 above.
Choi further discloses:
The method as claimed in claim 7, further comprising:
receiving, by the first network device, a message from a second network device, wherein the message carries a group-/MBS session-specific DRX cycle and a group-/MBS session specific identity (Activate multicast PDP Context Accept message includes a temporary multicast group identity (TMGI) parameter to be used in group paging for the multicast service, and a discontinuous reception (DRX) parameter. the DRX parameter includes a DRX cycle length, Choi: [0018]).
Regarding claim 14, Choi discloses:
determine a terminal device to be paged according to the information and a previously obtained relationship between the group and the terminal device (if the Paging message is for delivering a group message and the UE need not transmit a response message for the group message to an RNC, then the Cell Update process or the RRC Connection Setup process may not be required. in a process of transmitting/receiving a group message-type MBMS Control message, the succeeding operations are determined according to a CU/RC required parameter value in the MBMS Paging message, Choi: [0041], [0160]);
wherein the second paging message carries identity information of the terminal device to be paged, discontinuous reception (DRX) information of the terminal device, and relevant multicast broadcast service (MBS) session information (Activate MBMS PDP Context Accept message includes a temporary multicast group identity (TMGI) parameter to be used in group paging for the MBMS service, and a discontinuous reception (DRX) parameter. RNC calculates a paging occasion (PO) and a paging instance (PI) using the TMGI and DRX parameters included in the received service Notification message. The TMGI is an identifier that is uniquely assigned according to a type of the MBMS service, Choi: [0018], [0020], [0074]); and
send a first paging message via the transceiver to the terminal device at a paging occasion (PO) (The Radio Access Bearer (RAB) is a set of transmission resources formed in a radio access network (RAN) to provide a particular multimedia broadcast/multicast service (MBMS) service. UE receives an multimedia broadcast/multicast service paging message on an associated paging channel. UE periodically monitors a paging channel (PICH) signal at the calculated paging instance (PI) of the PO, Choi: [0020]-[0024], [0137]),
wherein the first paging message is used for notifying presence of multicast downlink data and carries the relevant MBS session information (an MBMS Paging message is received as one of the methods for perceiving notification of an MBMS service. receiving MBMS data over a common channel in the CELL_PCH or URA_PCH state, or receiving an MBMS Paging message to receive a control message in other cases and receiving an MBMS Control information over FACH through an MBMS-related control message, Choi: [0022], [0041]),
wherein the relevant MBS session information comprises group information updated in MBS related system information block (SIB), and the group information updated in the MBS-related SIB is used for indicating the terminal device to (by including information indicating whether the cell is a tracking area or a non-tracking in a particular SIB broadcasted from a particular cell, UEs accessing the cell determine whether to perform a response operation when an MBMS service-related paging message or an MBMS Control message is received, Choi: [0159]):
in response to being interested in the group information and being in an idle state, enter a connected state and initiate a non-access stratum (NAS) message to activate the MBS session (The service joining request message transmitted from the UE to the core network includes an MBMS service ID indicating the selected MBMS service, and a UE ID indicating the corresponding UE, Choi: [0012]);
initiate a radio resource control (RRC) resume procedure (UEs in the IDLE state perform an RRC Connection Setup process, Choi: [0034]-[0035], [0041]-[0042]); and
in response to being not interested in the group information, ignore the first paging message (if the Paging message is for delivering a group message and the UE need not transmit a response message for the group message to an RNC, then the Cell Update process or the RRC Connection Setup process may not be required. UE ignores the currently received MBMS Control message because the currently received MBMS Control message is retransmission of the previously received MBMS Control message, Choi: [0041], [01052]);
Choi does not explicitly disclose:
A radio access network (RAN) device, comprising a processor, a memory and a transceiver, wherein the memory is configured to store a computer program, and the processor, through calling and running the computer program stored in the memory, is configured to:
determine information on a group to which downlink data belongs according to N3 channel information;
receive a second paging message from an access and mobility management function (AMF) device,
in response to being interested in the group information and being in an inactive state,
However, in the same field of endeavor, Dao teaches:
A radio access network (RAN) device, comprising a processor, a memory and a transceiver, wherein the memory is configured to store a computer program, and the processor, through calling and running the computer program stored in the memory, is configured to (electronic device for use in a communication network, where the electronic device includes at least one processor; and a non-transitory computer readable storable medium including software instructions, Dao: Fig. 1, [0018], [0405]-[0407]):
determine information on a group to which downlink data belongs according to N3 channel information (UP Gateway over a network interface providing a defined interface such as an N3 interface, Dao: Fig.3, [0038]);
receive a second paging message from an access and mobility management function (AMF) device (AMF sends the N1 SM Session Announcement or N1 MM MB Session Announcement message to the electronic device (ED). The (R)AN paging message may carry the N1 MM MB Session Announcement message. The AMF 308 may create an N2-AP control channel between AMF 308 and each (R)AN node 302 that is included in step 726 to exchange control signal for the ED Group ID, and/or for MB Session ID. The AMF 308 creates multiple N2 MM MB Session Establishment Request for each (R)AN node 302, Dao: [0105]-[0106], [0248]),
in response to being interested in the group information and being in an inactive state (The (R)AN 302 Sends a (R)AN paging message for each ED 102 currently in an RRC-INACTIVE state, Dao: [0106]),
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Choi in view of Dao in order to further modify a radio access network (RAN) device, and determining information on a group to which downlink data belongs according to N3 channel information, and receiving a second paging message from an access and mobility management function (AMF) device, and being interested in the group information and being in an inactive state from the teachings of Dao.
One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated because The AMF may create an N1 MM MB Session Announcement message from the N1 MB Session Establishment request message to send to the EDs (Dao: [0101]).
Yet, Choi in view of Dao does not explicitly disclose:
wherein the identity information and the DRX information are used for determining a PO corresponding to the terminal device to be paged based on following formulas:
(SFN + PF offset) mod T = (T div N)*(UE_ID mod N); and
i_s = floor (UE_ID/N) mod Ns;
where SFN corresponds to a paging frame (PF); PF offset refers to an offset of the PF; mod represents a remainder operation; T is DRX cycle of the terminal device in the DRX information; div represents a rounding division operation; N is a number of paging frames during T; UE_ID is the identity information of the terminal device; i_s represents a PO identity; floor represents a downward rounding operation; and Ns represents a number of POs in one PF.
However, in the same field of endeavor, Luo teaches:
wherein the identity information and the DRX information are used for determining a PO corresponding to the terminal device to be paged based on following formulas (One or a plurality of PFs are defined in each DRX cycle. The UE is associated with one of the PFs according to a UE identifier. The UE is associated with one of the POs according to the UE identifier, Luo: [0010]-[0020]):
(SFN + PF offset) mod T = (T div N)*(UE_ID mod N) ((SFN+PF _offset) mod T = (T div N)*(UE_ID mod N), Luo: [0011]); and
i s = floor (UE_ID/N) mod Ns (i_s = floor (UE_ID/N) mod Ns, Luo: [0019]);
where SFN corresponds to a paging frame (PF); PF offset refers to an offset of the PF; mod represents a remainder operation; T is DRX cycle of the terminal device in the DRX information; div represents a rounding division operation; N is a number of paging frames during T; UE_ID is the identity information of the terminal device; i_s represents a PO identity; floor represents a downward rounding operation; and Ns represents a number of POs in one PF (SFN is the system frame number. PF offset is an offset value used to calculate the PF. T is a DRX cycle. N is the number of PFs in the DRX cycle. The number (Ns) of POs corresponding to each PF. Luo: [0010]-[0020]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Choi-Dao in view of Luo in order to further modify the identity information and the DRX information that are used for determining the PO corresponding to the terminal device from the teachings of Luo.
One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated because the definitions of the default association mechanism and the non-default association mechanism and/or the configuration of paging related parameters is improved (Luo: [0054]).
Regarding claim 15, Choi-Dao-Luo teaches all the claimed limitations as set forth in the rejection of claim 14 above.
Choi further discloses:
The network device as claimed in claim 14, wherein the transceiver is configured to send the first paging message on all POs (upon receiving the service Notification message from the network node, the RNC calculates a paging occasion (PO) and a paging instance (PI) using the TMGI and DRX parameters included in the received service Notification message, Choi: [0020]).
Regarding claim 19, Choi-Dao-Luo teaches all the claimed limitations as set forth in the rejection of claim 14 above.
Choi further discloses:
The network device as claimed in claim 14, wherein the transceiver is further configured to receive a message from a second network device, wherein the message carries a group-/MBS session-specific DRX cycle and a group-/MBS session-specific identity (Activate multicast PDP Context Accept message includes a temporary multicast group identity (TMGI) parameter to be used in group paging for the multicast service, and a discontinuous reception (DRX) parameter. the DRX parameter includes a DRX cycle length, Choi: [0018]).
Regarding claim 29, Choi-Dao-Luo teaches all the claimed limitations as set forth in the rejection of claim 5 above.
Choi further discloses:
The method as claimed in claim 5, further comprising:
calculating the specific PO according to an MBS-specific identity and DRX (The RNC first calculates a paging occasion (PO) and a paging instance (PI) using a temporary multicast group identity (TMGI) of the MBMS service. The TMGI is an identifier that is uniquely assigned according to a type of the MBMS service, and in calculating the PO and PI, not only the TMGI but also a discontinuous reception (DRX) parameter are considered, Choi: [0074]).
Regarding claim 30, Choi-Dao-Luo teaches all the claimed limitations as set forth in the rejection of claim 29 above.
Choi further discloses:
The method as claimed in claim 29, wherein the MBS-specific identity and DRX are defined in a protocol, or broadcasted by an access network in system information, or configured for the terminal device by a core network through a NAS message (Activate MBMS PDP Context Accept message includes a temporary multicast group identity (TMGI) parameter to be used in group paging for the MBMS service, and a discontinuous reception (DRX) parameter. The MBMS Paging message includes such parameters as TMGI, CU/RC required, TTR, AMID, and MBMS paging cause, Choi: [0018], [0074]).
Regarding claim 31, Choi-Dao-Luo teaches all the claimed limitations as set forth in the rejection of claim 12 above.
Choi further discloses:
The method as claimed in claim 12, wherein the message is a paging request message (if the CU/RC required is set to "on," the response required of an MBMS Control message associated with the corresponding MBMS Paging message is also set to "on.", Choi: [0094]).
Regarding claim 32, Choi-Dao-Luo teaches all the claimed limitations as set forth in the rejection of claim 12 above.
Choi does not explicitly disclose:
The method as claimed in claim 12, wherein the message is an N2 message for establishing a connection of the multicast/MBS session service.
However, in the same field of endeavor, Dao teaches:
wherein the message is an N2 message for establishing a connection of the multicast/MBS session service (creates and sends multiple N2 MB Session Establishment request messages, each message for one (R)AN node. AMF 308 creates multiple N2 MM MB Session Establishment Request message to each of the (R)AN node, Dao: [0114], [0320]):
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Choi in view of Dao in order to further modify the message which is an N2 message for establishing a connection of the multicast/MBS session service from the teachings of Dao.
One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated because The AMF may create an N1 MM MB Session Announcement message from the N1 MB Session Establishment request message to send to the EDs (Dao: [0101]).
Regarding claim 33, Choi-Dao-Luo teaches all the claimed limitations as set forth in the rejection of claim 19 above.
Choi further discloses:
The RAN device as claimed in claim 19, wherein the message is a paging request message (if the CU/RC required is set to "on," the response required of an MBMS Control message associated with the corresponding MBMS Paging message is also set to "on.", Choi: [0094]).
Regarding claim 34, Choi-Dao-Luo teaches all the claimed limitations as set forth in the rejection of claim 19 above.
Choi does not explicitly disclose:
The RAN device as claimed in claim 19, wherein the message is an N2 message for establishing a connection of the multicast/MBS session service.
However, in the same field of endeavor, Dao teaches:
wherein the message is an N2 message for establishing a connection of the multicast/MBS session service (creates and sends multiple N2 MB Session Establishment request messages, each message for one (R)AN node. AMF 308 creates multiple N2 MM MB Session Establishment Request message to each of the (R)AN node, Dao: [0114], [0320]):
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Choi in view of Dao in order to further modify the message which is an N2 message for establishing a connection of the multicast/MBS session service from the teachings of Dao.
One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated because The AMF may create an N1 MM MB Session Announcement message from the N1 MB Session Establishment request message to send to the EDs (Dao: [0101]).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 25-28 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if
rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter: The Examiner
has conducted a search of Patent and Non-Patent Literature and was unable to find any prior art which solely or in combination with another reference teaches the limitation of:
Claims 25 and 27 – wherein the second paging message carries a group-specific discontinuous reception (DRX) cycle and a group-specific identity, and the relevant MBS session information; and
the group-specific identity comprises a radio network temporary identity (RNTI), and the group-specific DRX cycle and the group-specific identity are used for determining the PO corresponding to the terminal device to be paged based on following formulas:
Claims 26 and 28 – wherein the second paging message carries a group-specific discontinuous reception (DRX) cycle and a MBS session-specific identity, and the relevant MBS session information; and the group-specific DRX cycle and the MBS session-specific identity are used for determining the PO corresponding to the terminal device to be paged based on following formulas:
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(b). Applicant is reminded of the extension
of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
In the case of amendments, applicant is respectfully requested to indicate the portion(s) of the
specification which dictate(s) the structure relied on for proper interpretation and support, for ascertaining the metes and bounds of the claimed invention.
/S.C.L./Examiner, Art Unit 2467
/Robert C Scheibel/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2467 March 20, 2026