DETAILED ACTION
This office action is in response to remarks filed 11/12/2025.
Claims 1, 5-16, and 20-24 are pending. Claims 1 and 14-16 have been amended. No claims were added or cancelled.
Response to Amendment
35 U.S.C. § 112(a) rejection for claims 1 and 14 is withdrawn.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 5, 7, 9-16, and 20, 22, and 24 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable by Alvarino et al. (US 20210028890 A1, hereinafter “Alvarino”), in view of Yu et al. (US 20220360951 A1, hereinafter “Yu”).
RE Claim 14, 1, Alvarino discloses a wireless device or method:
A wireless communication device (¶0067, Fig. 2), comprising:
at least one processor (¶0067, Fig.2) configured to:
receive, via a receiver from a network (¶0070, Fig. 2), a first Transport Block (TB) via unicast (Third mode corresponds to an initial unicast transmission and multicast transmission. ¶0035; UE stores whether the transport block, TB, corresponds to a unicast or multicast transmission. ¶0049); and
receive, via the receiver from the network (¶0070, Fig. 2), an indication information indicating that the first TB received via the unicast is same as a second TB transmitted by the network via multicast (Network transmits multicast data to UE. UE received only a portion of the multicast data. UE transmits NACK on the multicast channel. Network transmits the portion of the multicast data not received by the UE on a unicast channel, not a multicast channel, according to the HARQ process in response to the NACK. ¶0120, Fig. 7; The grant received by the UE is associated with a C-RNTI indicating a HARQ process identifier for unicast data including the HARQ process wherein the HARQ process identifier for unicast data is associated with at least one HARQ process for multicast data. ¶0121; Therefore, the multicast TB portion not received via multicast transmission is the same as received via unicast TB transmission.), wherein the indication information comprises a Hybrid Automatic Repeat Request (HARQ) Processing Number (HPN), the HPN is used in a multicast downlink control channel, the multicast downlink control channel is used to schedule the second TB (Network entity supports both multicast and unicast transmissions. ¶0039; UE separately stores NDI, new data indicator of DCI of PDCCH, for unicast and multicast. ¶0050; Arrangement of a number of HARQ processes used for multicast or unicast with respect to NDI and HARQ identifier ID, same as a HARQ process number. ¶0047; A disjoint set of HARQ processes provided such that UE is able to track both multicast and unicast HARQ process. ¶0048); and
Alvarino does not explicitly disclose:
determine, in response to receiving (i) the indication information and (ii) the first TB, to refrain from providing Negative Acknowledgement (NACK) feedback to the network, wherein the NACK feedback indicates to the network that the wireless communication device has failed to correctly receive the second TB via the multicast.
However, Yu discloses:
determine, in response to receiving (i) the indication information and (ii) the first TB, to refrain from providing Negative Acknowledgement (NACK)feedback to the network, wherein the NACK feedback indicates to the network that the wireless communication device has failed to correctly receive the second TB via the multicast (Network device indicates feedback functions of both a unicast and a multicast service. ¶0300, Fig. 10. Network devices sends multicast configuration information including an indication information to the terminal device. Indication information indicates to send feedback information for the multicast service. ¶0305, Fig. 10:1003. Network devices sends a multicast and a unicast service to the terminal device. ¶¶0311-0312, Fig. 10:1005, 1006. Terminal device determines, based on the indication information, whether to provide feedback for the multicast service. ¶0315, Fig. 10:1010. Feedback information sent by the terminal device may be an ACK or NACK for the multicast service. ¶0167. The terminal device determination based on indication information by using any one or more manners. ¶0316. Indication information as described in Manner 1 comprises a specified value of “1” or “0”. When the specified value is “0”, the terminal devices determines that the terminal devices does not provide feedback for the multicast service. ¶0159. Alternatively, A priority protocol is indicated by the network device using an indication information. Indication information is for indicating priority of the feedback information of the multicast service. For a multicast service with a low-level priority indicated, the terminal device preferentially sends feedback information corresponding to the unicast service and discards the feedback information corresponding to the multicast service. ¶¶0176-0177.)
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date
of the claimed invention to combine the method of Alvarino, transmission of multicast data over unicast channels, with the teachings of Yu, use of an indicator received from a network device to establish a condition for transmitting feedback by the UE for unicast and multicast transmitted by the network device.
The motivation in doing so would be to manage transmission of HARQ feedback to reduce signaling overheard to reduce use of transmission resources to improve network efficiency (Alvarino ¶¶0035, 0039, 0040; Yu: Abstract, ¶¶0004, 0008, 0012, 0017-0019, 0159, 0300, 0315-0316, Fig. 10).
RE Claim 5, Alvarino discloses a wireless device or method:
The method, wherein the indication information is received from the network via signaling on a unicast downlink shared channel scheduled by a unicast downlink control channel (Network entity supports both multicast and unicast transmissions. ¶0039; UE separately stores NDI, new data indicator of DCI of PDCCH, for unicast and multicast. ¶0050; Arrangement of a number of HARQ processes used for multicast or unicast with respect to NDI and HARQ identifier ID, same as a HARQ process number. ¶0047; A disjoint set of HARQ processes provided such that UE is able to track both multicast and unicast HARQ process. ¶0048).
RE Claim 7, Alvarino discloses a wireless device or method:
The method, wherein the indication information is received from the network in a unicast downlink control channel used to schedule the first TB in a unicast downlink shared channel (Network entity supports both multicast and unicast transmissions. ¶0039; UE separately stores NDI, new data indicator of DCI of PDCCH, for unicast and multicast. ¶0050; Arrangement of a number of HARQ processes used for multicast or unicast with respect to NDI and HARQ identifier ID, same as a HARQ process number. ¶0047; A disjoint set of HARQ processes provided such that UE is able to track both multicast and unicast HARQ process. ¶0048).
RE Claim 9, Alvarino discloses a wireless device or method:
The method, wherein
the multicast downlink control channel is defined to use a first value range of HPNs (A subset of the number of HARQ processes for unicast may be allocated for multicast, a first range. ¶¶0111, 0089);
a unicast downlink control channel is defined to use a second value range of HPNs (A subset of the number of HARQ processes for unicast, a second range, may be allocated for multicast, a first range. ¶¶0111, 0089); and
the first value range is a subset of the second value range (A subset of the number of HARQ processes for unicast, second value, may be allocated for multicast, first value is a subset of the second. ¶¶0111, 0089).
RE Claim 10, Alvarino discloses a wireless device or method:
The method, wherein each value of a first portion of the second value range of HPNs is used to schedule a unicast downlink physical channel carrying a multicast TB (Transmit unicast data including a portion of the multicast data that was not received previously according to HARQ process. ¶0109. Grant indicating HARQ process identifier for unicast transmission where the HARQ process identifier for unicast is associated with a HARQ process for multicast data, the portion not received. ¶0110, Fig. 6); and
each value of a second portion of the second value range of HPNs is used to schedule a unicast downlink physical channel carrying a unicast TB (Transmit unicast data including a portion of the multicast data that was not received previously according to HARQ process. ¶0109. Grant indicating HARQ process identifier for unicast transmission where the HARQ process identifier for unicast is associated with a HARQ process for multicast data, the portion not received. ¶0110, Fig. 6); and
the first portion of the second value range corresponds to the first value range (A subset of the number of HARQ processes for unicast, second value, may be allocated for multicast, first value is a subset of the second. ¶¶0111, 0089).
RE Claim 11, Alvarino discloses a wireless device or method:
The method, wherein
the multicast downlink control channel is defined to use a first value range of HPNs in multicast mode (A subset of the number of HARQ processes for unicast may be allocated for multicast, a first range. ¶¶0111, 0089);
a unicast downlink control channel is defined to use a second value range of HPNs in unicast mode (A subset of the number of HARQ processes for unicast, a second range, may be allocated for multicast, a first range. ¶¶0111, 0089); and
the first value range and the second value range are different (The number of HARQ processes for unicast, second value range, may be configured (e.g. 16), and then separately the number of HARQ processes for multicast, first value range, may be configured (e.g. 4). ¶0048).
RE Claim 12, Alvarino discloses a wireless device or method:
The method, wherein each value of the second value range of HPNs is used to schedule a unicast downlink physical channel carrying a unicast TB (Transmit unicast data including a portion of the multicast data that was not received previously according to HARQ process. ¶0109. Grant indicating HARQ process identifier for unicast transmission where the HARQ process identifier for unicast is associated with a HARQ process for multicast data, the portion not received. ¶0110, Fig. 6);
each value of a remaining value range of HPNs is used to schedule a unicast downlink physical channel carrying a multicast TB (The HARQ processes for multicast may be taken from the unicast. ¶0048);
the second value range and the remaining value range are different (The number of HARQ processes for unicast, second value range, may be configured (e.g. 16), and then separately the number of HARQ processes for multicast, first value range, may be configured (e.g. 4). ¶0048); and
the remaining value range corresponds to the first value range (The HARQ processes for multicast, first value remaining, may be taken from the unicast. ¶0048).
RE Claim 13, Alvarino discloses a wireless device or method:
The method, wherein the HPN is used in a multicast downlink control channel for scheduling the second TB (Network entity supports both multicast and unicast transmissions. ¶0039; UE separately stores NDI, new data indicator of DCI of PDCCH, for unicast and multicast. ¶0050; Arrangement of a number of HARQ processes used for multicast or unicast with respect to NDI and HARQ identifier ID, same as a HARQ process number. ¶0047; A disjoint set of HARQ processes provided such that UE is able to track both multicast and unicast HARQ process. ¶0048);
a unicast downlink control channel is used by the network to schedule the first TB in a unicast downlink shared channel (Network entity supports both multicast and unicast transmissions. ¶0039; UE separately stores NDI, new data indicator of DCI of PDCCH, for unicast and multicast. ¶0050; Arrangement of a number of HARQ processes used for multicast or unicast with respect to NDI and HARQ identifier ID, same as a HARQ process number. ¶0047; A disjoint set of HARQ processes provided such that UE is able to track both multicast and unicast HARQ process. ¶0048);
the unicast downlink control channel comprises the indication information and a multicast indication field (The base stations may keep track of the UEs that are receiving multicast data, and subsequently dynamically reuse the multicast/broadcast HARQ processes when they are not being used for unicast. A New Data Indicator, NDI, used when switching between unicast and multicast/broadcast. ¶0049; NDI based on associating the at least one HARQ process, identifier ID, from the unicast data transmission (e.g., unicast HARQ processes) to the second multicast data transmission. ¶0091); and
the multicast indication field indicates to the wireless communication device that the unicast downlink control channel is used to schedule a multicast TB or a unicast TB (The base stations may keep track of the UEs that are receiving multicast data, and subsequently dynamically reuse the multicast/broadcast HARQ processes when they are not being used for unicast. A New Data Indicator, NDI, used when switching between unicast and multicast/broadcast. ¶0049; NDI based on associating the at least one HARQ process, identifier ID, from the unicast data transmission (e.g., unicast HARQ processes) to the second multicast data transmission. ¶0091).
RE Claim 15, 16, Alvarino discloses a wireless device or method:
A network node (Wireless communication system including base station, network node. ¶0046, Fig. 1; ¶0078, Fig. 3), comprising:
at least one processor (¶0078, Fig. 3) configured to:
transmit, via a transmitter to a wireless communication device (¶0078, Fig. 3), a first Transport Block (TB) via unicast and indication information (Network transmits multicast data to UE. UE received only a portion of the multicast data. UE transmits NACK on the multicast channel. Network transmits the portion of the multicast data not received by the UE on a unicast channel, not a multicast channel, according to the HARQ process in response to the NACK. ¶0120, Fig. 7; The grant received by the UE is associated with a C-RNTI indicating a HARQ process identifier for unicast data including the HARQ process wherein the HARQ process identifier for unicast data is associated with at least one HARQ process for multicast data. ¶0121; Therefore, the multicast TB portion not received via multicast transmission is the same as received via unicast TB transmission.); and
transmit, via the transmitter to a plurality of wireless communication devices (Transmit to plurality of UEs. ¶0082, Fig. 4; Plurality of UEs. ¶0046, Fig. 1), a second TB via multicast (Transmit multicast data to plurality of UEs. ¶0082, Fig. 4), wherein the plurality of wireless communication devices comprises the wireless communication device (Transmit to plurality of UEs. ¶0082, Fig. 4; Plurality of UEs. ¶0046, Fig. 1) , and the indication information indicates that the first TB transmitted via the unicast is same as the second TB transmitted by the network via the multicast (Network transmits multicast data to UE. UE received only a portion of the multicast data. UE transmits NACK on the multicast channel. Network transmits the portion of the multicast data not received by the UE on a unicast channel, not a multicast channel, according to the HARQ process in response to the NACK. ¶0120, Fig. 7; The grant received by the UE is associated with a C-RNTI indicating a HARQ process identifier for unicast data including the HARQ process wherein the HARQ process identifier for unicast data is associated with at least one HARQ process for multicast data. ¶0121; Therefore, the multicast TB portion not received via multicast transmission is the same as received via unicast TB transmission.), wherein the indication information comprises a Hybrid Automatic Repeat Request (HARQ) Processing Number (HPN), the HPN is used in a multicast downlink control channel, the multicast downlink control channel is used to schedule the second TB (Network entity supports both multicast and unicast transmissions. ¶0039; UE separately stores NDI, new data indicator of DCI of PDCCH, for unicast and multicast. ¶0050; Arrangement of a number of HARQ processes used for multicast or unicast with respect to NDI and HARQ identifier ID, same as a HARQ process number. ¶0047; A disjoint set of HARQ processes provided such that UE is able to track both multicast and unicast HARQ process. ¶0048),
Alvarino does not explicitly disclose:
wherein based on the first wireless communication device receiving (i) the indication information and (ii) the first TB, the first wireless communication device determines to refrain from providing Negative Acknowledgement (NACK) feedback to the network, wherein the NACK feedback indicates to the network that the first wireless communication device has failed to correctly receive the second TB via the multicast
However, Yu discloses:
wherein based on the first wireless communication device receiving (i) the indication information and (ii) the first TB, the first wireless communication device determines to refrain from providing Negative Acknowledgement (NACK) feedback to the network, wherein the NACK feedback indicates to the network that the first wireless communication device has failed to correctly receive the second TB via the multicast (Network device indicates feedback functions of both a unicast and a multicast service. ¶0300, Fig. 10. Network devices sends multicast configuration information including an indication information to the terminal device. Indication information indicates to send feedback information for the multicast service. ¶0305, Fig. 10:1003. Network devices sends a multicast and a unicast service to the terminal device. ¶¶0311-0312, Fig. 10:1005, 1006. Terminal device determines, based on the indication information, whether to provide feedback for the multicast service. ¶0315, Fig. 10:1010. Feedback information sent by the terminal device may be an ACK or NACK for the multicast service. ¶0167. The terminal device determination based on indication information by using any one or more manners. ¶0316. Indication information as described in Manner 1 comprises a specified value of “1” or “0”. When the specified value is “0”, the terminal devices determines that the terminal devices does not provide feedback for the multicast service. ¶0159. Alternatively, A priority protocol is indicated by the network device using an indication information. Indication information is for indicating priority of the feedback information of the multicast service. For a multicast service with a low-level priority indicated, the terminal device preferentially sends feedback information corresponding to the unicast service and discards the feedback information corresponding to the multicast service. ¶¶0176-0177.)
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date
of the claimed invention to combine the method of Alvarino, transmission of multicast data over unicast channels, with the teachings of Yu, use of an indicator received from a network device to establish a condition for transmitting feedback by the UE for unicast and multicast transmitted by the network device.
The motivation in doing so would be to manage transmission of HARQ feedback to reduce signaling overheard to reduce use of transmission resources to improve network efficiency (Alvarino ¶¶0035, 0039, 0040; Yu: Abstract, ¶¶0004, 0008, 0012, 0017-0019, 0159, 0300, 0315-0316, Fig. 10).
RE Claim 20 Alvarino discloses a wireless device or method:
The method, wherein the indication information is received from the network via signaling on a unicast downlink shared channel scheduled by a unicast downlink control channel (Network entity supports both multicast and unicast transmissions. ¶0039; UE separately stores NDI, new data indicator of DCI of PDCCH, for unicast and multicast. ¶0050; Arrangement of a number of HARQ processes used for multicast or unicast with respect to NDI and HARQ identifier ID, same as a HARQ process number. ¶0047; A disjoint set of HARQ processes provided such that UE is able to track both multicast and unicast HARQ process. ¶0048).
RE Claim 22, Alvarino discloses:
The method, wherein the indication information is transmitted by the network to the first wireless communication device in a unicast downlink control channel used to schedule the first TB in a unicast downlink shared channel (Network entity supports both multicast and unicast transmissions. ¶0039; UE separately stores NDI, new data indicator of DCI of PDCCH, for unicast and multicast. ¶0050; Arrangement of a number of HARQ processes used for multicast or unicast with respect to NDI and HARQ identifier ID, same as a HARQ process number. ¶0047; A disjoint set of HARQ processes provided such that UE is able to track both multicast and unicast HARQ process. ¶0048).
RE Claim 24,
The method, wherein a unicast downlink control channel is used by the network to schedule the first TB in a unicast downlink shared channel (Network entity supports both multicast and unicast transmissions. ¶0039; UE separately stores NDI, new data indicator of DCI of PDCCH, for unicast and multicast. ¶0050; Arrangement of a number of HARQ processes used for multicast or unicast with respect to NDI and HARQ identifier ID, same as a HARQ process number. ¶0047; A disjoint set of HARQ processes provided such that UE is able to track both multicast and unicast HARQ process. ¶0048);
the unicast downlink control channel comprises the indication information and a multicast indication field (The base stations may keep track of the UEs that are receiving multicast data, and subsequently dynamically reuse the multicast/broadcast HARQ processes when they are not being used for unicast. A New Data Indicator, NDI, used when switching between unicast and multicast/broadcast. ¶0049; NDI based on associating the at least one HARQ process, identifier ID, from the unicast data transmission (e.g., unicast HARQ processes) to the second multicast data transmission. ¶0091); and
the multicast indication field indicates to the first wireless communication device that the unicast downlink control channel is used to schedule a multicast TB or a unicast TB (The base stations may keep track of the UEs that are receiving multicast data, and subsequently dynamically reuse the multicast/broadcast HARQ processes when they are not being used for unicast. A New Data Indicator, NDI, used when switching between unicast and multicast/broadcast. ¶0049; NDI based on associating the at least one HARQ process, identifier ID, from the unicast data transmission (e.g., unicast HARQ processes) to the second multicast data transmission. ¶0091).
Claims 6, 8, 21 and 23 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Alvarino, in view of Yu, and further in view of 3GPP 38.213, (3GPP TS 38.213 V16.1.0 (2020-03) 3rd Generation Partnership Project; Technical Specification Group Radio Access Network; NR; Physical layer procedures for control, hereinafter “3GPP 38.213”).
RE Claim 6, Alvarino and Yu do not explicitly disclose:
The method, wherein a time interval between an ending point of the unicast downlink shared channel and a starting point of a feedback resource corresponding to the second TB is greater than a threshold.
However, 3GPP 38.213 discloses:
The method, wherein a time interval between an ending point of the unicast downlink shared channel and a starting point of a feedback resource corresponding to the second TB is greater than a threshold (PDSCH-to-HARQ_feedback timing indicator field, provided in DCI from network, based on PDSCH reception in slot n and corresponding HARQ-ACK information offset, k. PUCCH transmission for HARQ for the associated PDSCH TBs received within slot n + k. Therefore the threshold is n + k. where UE must transmit HARQ. Section 9.2.3 at paragraph 2, pg. 76).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date
of the claimed invention to combine the method of Alvarino, transmission of multicast data over unicast channels, with the teachings of 3GPP 38.213, dynamic scheduling of PDSCH slot and associated HARQ vis PUCCH slot.
The motivation in doing so would be adjust timing of data transmissions and associated HARQ feedback dynamically based on multicast data sent over unicast channel to improve network efficiency.
RE Claim 8, Alvarino and Yu do not explicitly disclose:
The method, wherein a time interval between an ending point of a Control Resource Set (CORESET) for the unicast downlink control channel and a starting point of a feedback resource corresponding to the second TB is greater than a threshold.
However, 3GPP 38.213 discloses:
The method, wherein a time interval between an ending point of a Control Resource Set (CORESET) for the unicast downlink control channel and a starting point of a feedback resource corresponding to the second TB is greater than a threshold (PDSCH-to-HARQ_feedback timing indicator field, provided in DCI from network via CORESET and PDCCH, based on PDSCH reception in slot n and corresponding HARQ-ACK information offset, k. PUCCH transmission for HARQ for the associated PDSCH TBs received within slot n + k. Therefore the threshold is n + k. where UE must transmit HARQ. Section 9.2.3 at paragraphs 2, 5, pg. 76).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date
of the claimed invention to combine the method of Alvarino, transmission of multicast data over unicast channels, with the teachings of 3GPP 38.213, dynamic scheduling of PDSCH slot and associated HARQ vis PUCCH slot.
The motivation in doing so would be adjust timing of data transmissions and associated HARQ feedback dynamically based on multicast data sent over unicast channel to improve network efficiency.
RE Claim 21, Alvarino and Yu do not explicitly disclose:
The method, wherein a time interval between an ending point of the unicast downlink shared channel and a starting point of a feedback resource corresponding to the second TB is greater than a threshold.
However, 3GPP 23.213 discloses:
The method, wherein a time interval between an ending point of the unicast downlink shared channel and a starting point of a feedback resource corresponding to the second TB is greater than a threshold (PDSCH-to-HARQ_feedback timing indicator field, provided in DCI from network, based on PDSCH reception in slot n and corresponding HARQ-ACK information offset, k. PUCCH transmission for HARQ for the associated PDSCH TBs received within slot n + k. Therefore the threshold is n + k. where UE must transmit HARQ. Section 9.2.3 at paragraph 2, pg. 76).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date
of the claimed invention to combine the method of Alvarino, transmission of multicast data over unicast channels, with the teachings of Yu, indication information to indicate feedback information for unicast and multicast transmissions with associated data, with the teachings of 3GPP 38.213, dynamic scheduling of PDSCH slot and associated HARQ vis PUCCH slot.
The motivation in doing so would be adjust timing of data transmissions and associated HARQ feedback dynamically based on multicast data sent over unicast channel to improve network efficiency.
RE Claim 23, Alvarino and Yu do not explicitly disclose:
The method, wherein a time interval between an ending point of a Control Resource Set (CORESET), for the unicast downlink control channel and a starting point of a feedback resource corresponding to the second TB is greater than a threshold (PDSCH-to-HARQ_feedback timing indicator field, provided in DCI from network via CORESET and PDCCH, based on PDSCH reception in slot n and corresponding HARQ-ACK information offset, k. PUCCH transmission for HARQ for the associated PDSCH TBs received within slot n + k. Therefore the threshold is n + k. where UE must transmit HARQ. Section 9.2.3 at paragraphs 2, 5, pg. 76).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date
of the claimed invention to combine the method of Alvarino, transmission of multicast data over unicast channels, with the teachings of Yu, HARQ process feedback timing schedules for unicast and multicast with HARQ process number, with the teachings of 3GPP 38.213, dynamic scheduling of PDSCH slot and associated HARQ vis PUCCH slot.
The motivation in doing so would be adjust timing of data transmissions and associated HARQ feedback dynamically based on multicast data sent over unicast channel to improve network efficiency..
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 11/12/2025 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Applicant’s arguments are directed to the amended limitation and submits that “Yu’s determination to discard feedback is based on feedback priority, not on receiving (i) the indication information and (ii) the first TB”, applicant’s emphasis.
Examiner respectfully disagrees. Yu discloses the subject matter. Network device indicates feedback functions of both a unicast and a multicast service. ¶0300, Fig. 10. Network devices sends multicast configuration information including an indication information to the terminal device. Indication information indicates to send feedback information for the multicast service. ¶0305, Fig. 10:1003. Network devices sends a multicast and a unicast service to the terminal device. ¶¶0311-0312, Fig. 10:1005, 1006. Terminal device determines, based on the indication information, whether to provide feedback for the multicast service. ¶0315, Fig. 10:1010. Feedback information sent by the terminal device may be an ACK or NACK for the multicast service. ¶0167. The terminal device determination based on indication information by using any one or more manners. ¶0316. Indication information as described in Manner 1 comprises a specified value of “1” or “0”. When the specified value is “0”, the terminal devices determines that the terminal devices does not provide feedback for the multicast service. ¶0159. Alternatively, A priority protocol is indicated by the network device using an indication information. Indication information is for indicating priority of the feedback information of the multicast service. For a multicast service with a low-level priority indicated, the terminal device preferentially sends feedback information corresponding to the unicast service and discards the feedback information corresponding to the multicast service. ¶¶0176-0177.
There, Yu discloses the subject matter of the limitation as written. An indication information, a multicast service, and a unicast service are received by a terminal device from the network device. The indication information indicates to the terminal device, determination of the condition of the indication to not send multicast feedback information, ‘refrain’ as in not sent, to the network device.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant’s disclosure.
US-20230019024-A1 Stare et al.
US-20230133506-A1 Wang et al.
US 20200245398 A1 Yang
CN 108768597 A Li et al.
US 20130315124 A1 Rapaport et al.
US 20190013902 A1 Seo
US 9769819 B2 Rapaport et al.
The above references disclose various aspects of multicast and unicast traffic management to improve reception and efficiency in the network.
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/PAUL A. LANGER/Examiner, Art Unit 2419
/Nishant Divecha/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2419