FINAL OFFICE ACTION
This application has been assigned or remains assigned to Technology Center 1700, Art Unit 1774 and the following will apply for this application:
Please direct all written correspondence with the correct application serial number for this application to Art Unit 1774.
Telephone inquiries regarding this application should be directed to the Electronic Business Center (EBC) at http://www.uspto.gov/ebc/index.html or 1-866-217-9197 or to the Examiner at (571) 272-1139. All official facsimiles should be transmitted to the centralized fax receiving number (571)-273-8300.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim 16 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
A broad range or limitation together with a narrow range or limitation that falls within the broad range or limitation (in the same claim) is considered indefinite, since the resulting claim does not clearly set forth the metes and bounds of the patent protection desired. See MPEP § 2173.05(c). Note the explanation given by the Board of Patent Appeals and Interferences in Ex parte Wu, 10 USPQ2d 2031, 2033 (Bd. Pat. App. & Inter. 1989), as to where broad language is followed by "such as" and then narrow language. The Board stated that this can render a claim indefinite by raising a question or doubt as to whether the feature introduced by such language is (a) merely exemplary of the remainder of the claim, and therefore not required, or (b) a required feature of the claims. Note also, for example, the decisions of Ex parte Steigewald, 131 USPQ 74 (Bd. App. 1961); Ex parte Hall, 83 USPQ 38 (Bd. App. 1948); and Ex parte Hasche, 86 USPQ 481 (Bd. App. 1949). In the present instance, claim 16 still recites the broad recitation “ingredients”, and the claim also recites “such as flour and water” which is the narrower statement of the range/limitation; these claims also recite the broad recitation “food”, and the claim also recites “such as fufu” which is the narrower statement of the range/limitation.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
The terms used in this respect are given their broadest reasonable interpretation in their ordinary usage in context as they would be understood by one of ordinary skill in the art, in light of the written description in the specification, including the drawings, without reading into the claim any disclosed limitation or particular embodiment. See, e.g., In re Am. Acad. of Sci. Tech. Ctr., 367 F.3d 1359, 1364 (Fed. Cir. 2004); In re Hyatt, 211 F.3d 1367, 1372 (Fed. Cir. 2000); In re Morris, 127 F.3d 1048, 1054-55 (Fed. Cir. 1997); In re Zletz, 893 F.2d 319, 321-22 (Fed. Cir. 1989). The Examiner interprets claims as broadly as reasonable in view of the specification, but does not read limitations from the specification into a claim. Elekta Instr. S.A.v.O.U.R. Sci. Int'l, Inc., 214 F.3d 1302, 1307 (Fed. Cir. 2000).
To determine whether subject matter would have been obvious, "the scope and content of the prior art are to be determined; differences between the prior art and the claims at issue are to be ascertained; and the level of ordinary skill in the pertinent art resolved .... Such secondary considerations as commercial success, long felt but unsolved needs, failure of others, etc., might be utilized to give light to the circumstances surrounding the origin of the subject matter sought to be patented." Graham v. John Deere Co. of Kansas City, 383 U.S. 1, 17-18 (1966).
The Supreme Court has noted:
Often, it will be necessary for a court to look to interrelated teachings of multiple patents; the effects of demands known to the design community or present in the marketplace; and the background knowledge possessed by a person having ordinary skill in the art, all in order to determine whether there was an apparent reason to combine the known elements in the fashion claimed by the patent at issue.
KSR Int'l Co. v. Teleflex Inc., 127 S.Ct. 1727, 1740-41 (2007). "Under the correct analysis, any need or problem known in the field of endeavor at the time of invention and addressed by the patent can provide a reason for combining the elements in the manner claimed." (Id. at 1742).
The instant office action conforms to the policies articulated in the Federal Register notice titled “Updated Guidance for Making a Proper Determination of Obviousness” at 89 Fed. Reg. 14449, February 27, 2024, wherein the Supreme Court’s directive to employ a flexible approach to understanding the scope of prior art is reflected in the frequently quoted sentence, ‘‘A person of ordinary skill is also a person of ordinary creativity, not an automaton.’’ Id. at 421, 127 S. Ct. at 1742. In this section of the KSR decision, the Supreme Court instructed the Federal Circuit that persons having ordinary skill in the art (PHOSITAs) also have common sense, which may be used to glean suggestions from the prior art that go beyond the primary purpose for which that prior art was produced. Id. at 421–22, 127 S. Ct. at 1742. Thus, the Supreme Court taught that a proper understanding of the prior art extends to all that the art reasonably suggests, and is not limited to its articulated teachings regarding how to solve the particular technological problem with which the art was primarily concerned. Id. at 418, 127 S. Ct. at 1741 (‘‘As our precedents make clear, however, the analysis need not seek out precise teachings directed to the specific subject matter of the challenged claim, for a court can take account of the inferences and creative steps that a person of ordinary skill in the art would employ.’’). ‘‘The obviousness analysis cannot be confined . . . by overemphasis on the importance of published articles and the explicit content of issued patents.’’ Id. at 419, 127 S. Ct. at 1741. Federal Circuit case law since KSR follows the mandate of the Supreme Court to understand the prior art— including combinations of the prior art—in a flexible manner that credits the common sense and common knowledge of a PHOSITA. The Federal Circuit has made it clear that a narrow or rigid reading of prior art that does not recognize reasonable inferences that a PHOSITA would have drawn is inappropriate. An argument that the prior art lacks a specific teaching will not be sufficient to overcome an obviousness rejection when the allegedly missing teaching would have been understood by a PHOSITA—by way of common sense, common knowledge generally, or common knowledge in the relevant art. For example, in Randall Mfg. v. Rea, 733 F.3d 1355 (Fed. Cir. 2013), the Federal Circuit vacated a determination of nonobviousness by the Patent Trial and Appeal Board (PTAB or Board) because it had not properly considered a PHOSITA’s perspective on the prior art. Id. at 1364. The Randall court recalled KSR’s criticism of an overly rigid approach to obviousness that has ‘‘little recourse to the knowledge, creativity, and common sense that an ordinarily skilled artisan would have brought to bear when considering combinations or modifications.’’ Id. at 1362, citing KSR, 550 U.S. at 415–22, 127 S. Ct. at 1727. In reaching its decision to vacate, the Federal Circuit stated that by ignoring evidence showing ‘‘the knowledge and perspective of one of ordinary skill in the art, the Board failed to account for critical background information that could easily explain why an ordinarily skilled artisan would have been motivated to combine or modify the cited references to arrive at the claimed inventions.’’ Id.
From Norgren Inc. v. Int’l Trade Comm’n, 699 F.3d 1317, 1322 (Fed. Cir. 2012) (‘‘A flexible teaching, suggestion, or motivation test can be useful to prevent hindsight when determining whether a combination of elements known in the art would have been obvious.’’); Outdry Techs. Corp. v. Geox S.p.A., 859 F.3d 1364, 1370–71 (Fed. Cir. 2017) (‘‘Any motivation to combine references, whether articulated in the references themselves or supported by evidence of the knowledge of a skilled artisan, is sufficient to combine those references to arrive at the claimed process.’’). In keeping with this flexible approach to providing a rationale for obviousness, the Federal Circuit has echoed KSR in identifying numerous possible sources that may, either implicitly or explicitly, provide reasons to combine or modify the prior art to determine that a claimed invention would have been obvious. These include ‘‘market forces; design incentives; the ‘interrelated teachings of multiple patents’; ‘any need or problem known in the field of endeavor at the time of invention and addressed by the patent’; and the background knowledge, creativity, and common sense of the person of ordinary skill.’’ Plantronics, Inc. v. Aliph, Inc., 724 F.3d 1343, 1354 (Fed. Cir. 2013), quoting KSR, 550 U.S. at 418–21, 127 S. Ct. at 1741–42.
The Federal Circuit has also clarified that a proposed reason to combine the teachings of prior art disclosures may be proper, even when the problem addressed by the combination might have been more advantageously addressed in another way. PAR Pharm., Inc. v. TWI Pharms., Inc., 773 F.3d 1186, 1197–98 (Fed. Cir. 2014) (‘‘Our precedent, however, does not require that the motivation be the best option, only that it be a suitable option from which the prior art did not teach away.’’) (emphasis in original). One aspect of the flexible approach to explaining a reason to modify the prior art is demonstrated in the Federal Circuit’s decision in Intel Corp. v. Qualcomm Inc., 21 F.4th 784, 796 (Fed. Cir. 2021), which confirms that a proposed reason is not insufficient simply because it has broad applicability. Patent challenger Intel had argued in an inter partes review before the Board that some of Qualcomm’s claims were unpatentable because a PHOSITA would have been able to modify the prior art, with a reasonable expectation of success, for the purpose of increasing energy efficiency. Id. at 796–97. The Federal Circuit explained that ‘‘[s]uch a rationale is not inherently suspect merely because it’s generic in the sense of having broad applicability or appeal.’’ Id. The Federal Circuit further pointed out its pre-KSR holding ‘‘that because such improvements are ‘technology independent,’ ‘universal,’ and ‘even common-sensical,’ ‘there exists in these situations a motivation to combine prior art references even absent any hint of suggestion in the references themselves.’ ’’ Id., quoting DyStar Textilfarben GmbH v. C.H. Patrick Co., 464 F.3d 1356, 1368 (Fed. Cir. 2006) (emphasis added by the Federal Circuit in Intel). When formulating an obviousness rejection, the PTO may use any clearly articulated line of reasoning that would have allowed a PHOSITA to draw the conclusion that a claimed invention would have been obvious in view of the facts. MPEP 2143, subsection I, and MPEP 2144. Acknowledging that, in view of KSR, there are ‘‘many potential rationales that could make a modification or combination of prior art references obvious to a skilled artisan,’’ the Federal Circuit has also pointed to MPEP 2143, which provides several examples of rationales gleaned from KSR. Unwired Planet, 841 F.3d at 1003.
Claims 1-7 and 14-15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over the prior art to GILBERT et al. in view of WO 2021/074587 A1.
The patent to GILBERT et al. discloses a cooking appliance including the recited housing A, B; a cord 30 (proximate 36) connected to a typical electrical power source; switch 36; plate 14 or 19; heating element 26; a motor C within 35; a whisk 13; a shell or bowl E; and the housing having feet 10.
More specifically, GILBERT et al. discloses the claimed invention, namely a cooking appliance including a combined mixer and electric stove with a rotary turntable on which a shell/bowl is mounted in operative relation to a depending agitating element/whisk, said mixer having provisions for imparting heat to the shell/bowl contents. The mixing device has a rotary agitating element with means for rotatably supporting a mixing bowl cooperating with the agitating element, and with provisions for heating the contents of another receptacle such as a double boiler adapted to be used in connection with the device in place of a mixing bowl and to be heated during agitation of its contents by the agitating element, said receptacle when supported in the heating position having an upper vessel so located that its contents can be satisfactorily agitated by the agitating element without the necessity of altering the operative position of said element as used in connection with the mixing bowl.
A base is indicated generally at A and which may be of any desired contour is in the nature of an electric stove, inasmuch as it is provided with a suitable resistance heater, as hereinafter described. In the form shown the base A is rectangular, and is provided at the corners with feet 10 supporting it in somewhat elevated position from the table. At one end of the base a pedestal H is provided, and suitably mounted on the upper portion of this pedestal is an electric motor member C having duplex depending agitators ii adapted to extend down into a mixing bowl/shell E supported on the base of the device. In the particular form shown the motor member C is carried by a bracket 11 that is pivoted on the upper end portion of the pedestal on a pivot pin 12 so that the motor member is capable of being tilted up and down. Figure 1 shows in dotted lines the position of the motor member and agitating elements when they are tilted upwardly, and is this position the mixing bawl can be readily withdrawn from the base A. The invention is not limited to any particular provisions for mounting the motor member so that it can be tilted, and in some aspects of our invention the tilting mounting for the motor member is not required. It is advisable to provide means whereby the position of the agitators D In the bowl can be adjusted so that the agitators may be located centrally or eccentrically of the bowl, and it will be understood that when the agitators are located eccentrically of the bowl the rotation of the oppositely rotating beaters 18 at the lower ends of the agitators D will induce rotation of the bowl/shell E in one or the other direction depending upon the location of the agitators. In order to permit the bowl/shell E to rotate freely under the driving influence of the agitators, the bowl is mounted on a rotary turntable 11, In order to permit the agitators 18 to occupy the different locations above mentioned, we prefer to mount the motor member C on a swivel mounting, although this particular arrangement is not necessary in all cases. In the form shown the motor member has a swivel mounting and can move in a horizontal plane relatively to the pedestal, for which purpose the upper end portion 18 of the pedestal has a portion 16 extending down into and swiveled in the hollow upper open end of the pedestal member 11.
The downwardly projecting part 18 is engaged by means carried by member 17, which means while permitting the free swinging of the motor member in a lateral direction prevents dislocation of the parts of the swivel mounting. Preferably the swinging movement of the agitators relatively to the bowl E is limited so that while the agitators can be swung across the bowl almost into contact with the wall of the bowl at the respective sides, they cannot actually contact the wall of the bowl at either side. In the form shown we have illustrated a screw 18 engaging a groove in the projection of member 18, the groove 1being of such length and location as to cause the movement of the agitators to be limited in the manner above described. Other provisions for this purpose may, however, be employed if desired.
The turntable/plate 14 is preferably constructed of sheet metal and is mounted for rotation on a member in the nature of a lid or cover associated with the stove in the base A. This lid or cover may be of rectangular shape and it is adapted to rest on the margin 20 of the base and on a transverse wall or partition 21 extending across the base. The lid or cover is also provided with a flange 22 extending down into the opening or depression in the base provided by the walls of the base structure when the cover is removed and engaging said walls so as to prevent lateral displacement of the lid or cover when the same is in place on the base. The turntable 14 and the lid may both be made of metal, the lid being preferably of cast metal, and a connection between the turntable and the lid whereby the former is rotatably supported on the latter may comprise a spindle 23 carried by the turntable and removably engaging a bore 24 in a central hub portion 25 formed on the lid.
Beneath the lid/plate 19 a suitable heating element is provided. Many variations may be made in the form of the heating element employed, but a porcelain block 26 set in the opening adapted to be covered by the lid 19 and resting on a marginal inwardly extending flange 27 on the walls of the base extending around the opening in the base structure at the lower edge of said opening. The upper face of the porcelain or other refractory element is provided with grooves 28 of suitable depth and conformation to receive a helical wire heating coil 28. This heating coil may be disposed in convolutions, as shown in Fig. 5, or in many other different ways, as may seem most desirable. The ends of the coil are connected to a conductor cord 30 passing through a hole 81 in the transverse wall 21, and a switch 32 may be used for cutting the heater coil in or out. The switch 32 may conveniently be of the tilting lever type and may be conveniently mounted on the side wall 33 of the base at a point beneath the pedestal B. The conductor cord 30 extends out of the rear wall of the base and maybe connected to an electric light socket in the usual manner. Branching off from the conductors of this cord 30 at a point within the base are leads jacketed in a cover 34 which pass up to the motor located within the casing 35 of motor member C. In one of these leads is a switch device 86, which in the usual manner is adapted to control the starting and stopping and speed of rotation of the motor of motor member C.
Any suitable means may be employed for driving the agitators D from the electric motor. Driving gearing suitable for the purpose is well known in the art and we do not consider it necessary to illustrate the same herein, but it will be understood that the gearing for driving the agitators is contained in a housing 21 projecting forwardly from the free end portion of the motor member. The agitators D may be independently removable from their driving gearing located in housing 81.
While the heating resistor 29 is shown as controlled by a two-position switch 32, it is apparent that if desired the resistor may be controlled in such a manner as to give a number of different degrees of heat. It will be understood that If desired a number of heating resistors can be employed which are usable in different combinations to produce different degrees of heat depending upon the position of a switch having three or more positions. Any well-known method of controlling the heat of the electric stove can be employed.
The method of using this device will be apparent - when the mixing bowl/shell E is arranged on the turntable in the manner shown in Fig. 1, mixing can be carried on in a manner previously known in the art without the energizing of the heating resistor. When it is desired, however, to maintain or raise the temperature of the contents of the bowl, the circuit of the heating element can be closed. This will cause the transmission of heat to the lid located over the heating element, and from the lid/plate heat will be radiated to the bowl/shell E. If desired, the turntable 14 with its spindle 28 can be removed and the bowl placed directly on the lid/plate 19, as shown in Figure 2. Further, the device can be used in connection with different receptacles whose contents it is desired to heat by placing such receptacles directly on the refractory element 26 and in this case heat will be transmitted very directly to the receptacle. Further, the contents of the receptacle can be stirred by the agitators during the heating process as in the case of the mixing bowl, so that the two operations of heating and agitating can be carried on concurrently. On the other hand, if it is desired to produce the heating effect alone without the employment of the agitators, the latter can be swung upwardly as seen in Figure 1 or to a similar position [such as transverse to the back of the housing] so that the agitators will be clear of the contents of the receptacle during the heating. Means well known in the art, not shown herein, for arresting the upward tilting movement of the motor member at the desired point (which may correspond to the position shown in dotted lines in Fig. 1 or otherwise), and when the motor member reaches this position the structure is such that the motor member will be held in that position by the action of gravity or otherwise, or, in other words, prevented from dropping down to the mixing position. Thus, it will be understood that when the agitators are moved out of the receptacle they will stay in the upper position referred to as long as this is desired.
Among the receptacles which may be placed directly on the heating element of the stove when the lid 19 is removed are sauce pans and double boilers. In Fig. 3 we have shown the position taken by a double boiler F of usual type having a lower vessel 38 and an upper vessel 39. It will be noted that when the double boiler is located in the manner described and as shown in Fig. 3, the beater elements 13 of the agitators will have a proper relation to the upper vessel 39 for stirring the contents thereof while the vessel is subject to heat from the stove element, and it will be noted, furthermore, that in this particular case the double boiler when placed in position on the heating element will have the bottom of its upper vessel located at substantially the same level occupied by the bottom of bowl E when the latter is in place on the turntable. It will be understood that the double boiler and the mixing bowl can be used interchangeably with the agitating elements and the stove when said latter elements are in use conjointly. The bottom of the receptacle whose contents are being stirred has substantially the same relation to the agitating element whether the receptacle be the mixing bowl or the double boiler, but where the mixing bowl is employed on the turntable, as in the arrangement shown in Fig. 3, the bottom of the receptacle will be located higher up than the bottom of the lower vessel of the double boiler and will have less heat transmitted thereto.
The necessity of carrying receptacles from the mixer stand to the cooking range, and vice versa, is to a large extent is overcome, and thus time is saved and operation is facilitated. Furthermore, it is unnecessary to provide a detachable connection between the motor member and its pedestal for the purpose of enabling the motor member to be carried from the stand over to the cooking range. The stove portion of the device can be used in a number of cases when it is not desired to agitate the contents of the receptacle, and in such cases the lid may or may not be used. The agitators when not in use will be held in their upwardly tilted position. On the other hand, when it is desired to agitate the contents of a receptacle being heated, this can be readily done by lowering the motor member and closing the switch controlling the same. The lid/plate or its equivalent not only serves as a cover for a heating element on which food materials may be heated and cooked, but it also serves as a support for a turntable carrying a rotatable mixing receptacle whose contents can be stirred by the agitating element. Our device is also useful as providing a suitable support for a double boiler adapted to be used for mixing or for mixing and heating in place of a turntable mounted bowl with which the mixer device is adapted to be used. When it is desired to use the device as a stove only, the agitators can be removed from the bowl either by the tilting of the motor member C in the manner previously described or by removing the agitators D from their connection with the gearing inside of the gear housing 21.
When the agitators are removed or separated from their driving gearing, the receptacles can usually be placed in position over the stove element without the necessity of swinging the motor member upwardly, and in some cases the provisions for upward swinging of the motor member can be omitted. We prefer the tiltable mounting of the motor member, however, inasmuch as it permits easier access to the receptacle from above.
In Fig. 6 we have shown a modified form of turntable 14a in the form of a spider having arms 14b; and in Fig. 7 we have shown a modified form of cover or lid 19a having openings or cutouts 19b therein. By the use of such a spider and cover the heating effect upon the mixing bowl supported by the turntable is increased. The bowl/shell should be made of suitable heat-resistant material such as oven glass or metal.
The lower vessel or receptacle of the double boiler acts as a means for supporting the upper vessel or receptacle in upwardly spaced relation with respect to the heating element with its bottom in close proximity to the beater on the lower end of the agitator, and that the cover and turntable act as means for supporting the receptacle/shell E so that its bottom has the same relation to the agitating element and to the heating element above mentioned.
GILBERT et al. does not disclose the now recited vent.
WO 2021/074587 A1 discloses a cooking appliance with a stirring tool 402 in a container 101 supported on a heating plate 115 with a heating element 103; a housing with an internal space 107 and a base portion; a vent 105 positioned through a lower surface of the base; the vent (holes 105) being positioned in the base laterally spaced from both the plate 103, 115 and the heating element 103 with the vent being disposed proximate a side (near 111 in Fig. 1A) of the housing (see Figures 1A and 4) - page 7, lines 8-23.
It would have been obvious to one skilled in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to have provided the cooking appliance of GILBERT et al. with the now recited vent as taught by WO 2021/074587 A1 for the desirable purposes of ventilating and cooling the components of the appliance located within the internal space of the housing (page 17, line 11 - page 19, line 2):
To overcome the problem of latent heat in the thermal mass 102 of the container 101 , in the heating element 103, in the thermal mass 115 of the heating element 103, and/or in the contents of the container 101 a cooling element 106 is used. The cooling element 106 is configured to cool the thermal masses 102, 115.
The cooling element 106 is situated in an airbox 107 under the heating element 103. As indicated by the air-flow arrows in Figure 1A and Figure 1B, when activated the cooling element 106 moves air along a fluid flow-path from outside of the airbox 107 (via fluid entrance holes 105), past and around the heating element 103 and over the outer skin of the container 101. The configuration of the heating element 103 and container receiving member 111 is such that, with the container 101 in situ, there is an annular airgap 104 between the container receiving member 111 and the heating element 103, allowing air to flow from one to the other, and eventually to the external environment via the exhaust holes 113.
As herein described the cooling element 106 is a fan. Alternatively any other suitable cooling element 106 could be used, including other fluidic cooling elements (e.g., water cooling, a compression circuit etc.), though direct cooling elements (for instance where a flow of gas or liquid impinges directly on the objects to be cooled) are preferred because of their faster response-time. Fans are advantageous as they do not require the provision of a separate cooling medium (unlike, e.g., a water-cooling system) since their cooling medium comes from the surrounding atmosphere, thus rendering them relatively cheap and simple. In the preferred embodiment, the control and construction of the fan are further simplified by controlling the fan using only on/off control. As such the fan only has one speed. Providing the cooling element 106 within the heating arrangement 100, which is within the appliance, and below the heating element 103, maximises both the compactness of the appliance, and (given the planar nature of the heating element, with the upper major surface contacting the container 101 and its thermal mass 102) the area to be cooled.
With the container 101 in situ, and at the end of a heating cycle/programme, the cooling element 106 can be either automatically activated by a pre-programmed recipe, or manually controlled by the user to pass air over and around the heating element 103 (and container 101) to cool the thermal mass 102 to a prescribed temperature. The cooling element 106 can be activated for a given period of time and/or until the heating element 103 and/or the container 101 are at a given temperature.
Testing has shown that the time to cool can be halved using this forced air cooling method, as opposed to passive cooling to ambient without a fan. Using the same cooling element 106 to cool both the heating element 103 and the container 101 additionally has the advantage of providing cooling for both the heating element 103 and the container 101 from a single source.
As described above, the cooling element is configured to cool the container 101 and the heating element 103 (and their thermal masses 102, 113). This can be considered a “cooling” mode of operation. The cooling element 103 is also configured to be used simultaneously with the heating element 103 to promote thermal transfer from the heating element 103 to the container 101 and along the walls of the container 101. This can be considered a “transfer” mode of operation. The heat is transferred from the heating element 103 to the container 101 in a sustained manner, preferably such that the container 101 is not cooled by the cooling element 106. By way of example here, the cooling element 103 is a fan. In this case, the fan speed for promoting heat transfer is different to that for cooling; for example it may be slower so as to allow the air driven by the fan to rise to the desired temperature (e.g., 25-70 degrees centigrade for e.g., melting butter or chocolate) before it contacts the container 101. The transfer mode can be used where a significant temperature difference between the heating element 103 and the container 101 is detected (e.g., more than 5 degrees, and preferably more than 1 degree centigrade) and optionally when the container 101 is lower than a desired temperature. The transfer mode is activated to promote thermal transfer from the heating element 103 to the container 101. Movement of a stir-tool simultaneous with heating may further promote heat transfer throughout the material being heated and along the skin of the container 101.
Claims 1-12 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over the prior art to EP 3804588 A1 in view of WO 2021/074587 A1.
The document of EP 3804588 A1 discloses a cooking appliance including the recited housing 150 with a hinged top 115; an inherent power connection to a typical electrical power source [such as the ubiquitous cord]; switch 160; plate 110 with heating element; a motor within 115; a whisk 125; a shell or bowl 120; and the recited microprocessor and controller at 200 (Figure 2).
More specifically, EP ‘588 discloses the claimed invention, namely a cooking appliance or processor for treating food comprises a heating device; a mechanical processing device; a memory device for receiving predetermined flow blocks; and a processing device. The processing device is set up to determine one of the flow blocks; and to activate the heating device and / or the processing device in each case as a function of a predetermined course comprised by the specific sequence block. The invention relates to a cooking processor which is set up to heat and / or mechanically process food. In particular, the invention relates to the control of a cooking processor. A cooking processor is set up to process food, in particular to prepare a dish. A cooking processor usually comprises a mechanical processing device and a heating device, which can be controlled by means of a processing device.
For manual operation of such a cooking processor, the strength of the processing, the strength of the heating and a treatment time usually have to be entered manually. There is a high risk of incorrect entries or the formation of a combination of poorly harmonizing parameters. It has been proposed to select the parameters as a function of a predetermined food for the automatic operation of the cooking processor. For example, a predetermined processing strength and a predetermined heating can be controlled for the preparation of mashed potatoes. Optionally, a treatment duration can also be selected depending on the food. The use of the cooking processor is limited to predetermined dishes and a user-controlled modification cannot be provided.
The cooking processor for treating food comprises a heating device; a mechanical processing device; a memory device for receiving predetermined flow blocks; and a processing device. The processing device is set up to determine one of the flow blocks; and to activate the heating device and / or the processing device in each case as a function of a predetermined course comprised by the specific sequence block.
The invention enables the use of flow blocks that can be used flexibly for different dishes or steps of a recipe. A risk of using combinations of activations of the heating device and the processing device that do not harmonize with one another can be minimized. By using gradients, the heating and the processing can be better coordinated with one another. The courses can represent a program-controlled sequence. A result of a processing step performed by the cooking processor can be improved. A user of the cooking processor can achieve a desired result more easily or more safely. The flexibility of the cooking processor can only be limited to a small extent.
In a first variant, the processing device is set up to determine the sequence block as a function of user-controlled inputs for a heating intensity, a processing intensity and/or a treatment time. The processing device can support the selection process, for example by specifying combinations of further parameters for an input parameter which are comprised by one of the predetermined flow blocks. With regard to a combination of heating intensity, processing intensity and treatment time that is not included in a predetermined sequence block, an indication of a sequence block can be output which differs as little as possible from the given combination.
In a second variant, the processing device is set up to determine the sequence block as a function of a tool connected to the processing device. For example, flow blocks can be specified for predetermined, basic processing steps that can be carried out by means of the cooking processor. Such a processing step can include kneading dough, grating or grating vegetables, mixing, grinding or frothing, sweating, simmering, Include simmering or boiling. A sequence block can be easily selected using a tool used. A number of flow blocks that are assigned to a tool can be small, so that, after the tool has been determined, many or all flow blocks can be offered to a user for selection. The user can be supported in a quick and reliable selection of a sequence block suitable for a meal or a processing step.
The tool can be determined based on user-controlled input. For this purpose, a user can, for example, select a tool used from a textual or pictorial list. The user can also specify the tool by means of a designation, for example. The designation can be in natural language, comprise an artificial word or a brand name, or be specified as a code, for example numerically or alphanumerically.
In a further embodiment, a scanning device is provided for determining a tool connected to the machining device. The scanning device can be connected to the cooking processor and guided to the tool for scanning. As an alternative to this, the scanning device can be attached to the cooking processor, with the tool being able to be brought into a scanning area of the scanning device for scanning. The scanning device can be attached in the area of the machining device in such a way that it can scan a tool which is connected to the machining device. The scanning is preferably carried out without contact.
The tool can be determined based on its appearance, for example by means of a camera. The tool can also carry an identifier that can be scanned by the scanning device. The identifier can be specified, for example, as a binary optical code, for example one-dimensionally as a bar code or two-dimensionally as a QR code. In a further embodiment, the tool can comprise a transponder which is excited by the scanning device by means of electromagnetic waves and can provide it with an identification in the same way. Such a transponder can be designed as an RFID or NFC tag.
The cooking processor can also have an interaction device for providing a parameter for activating the processing device or the heating device as a function of the sequence block, as well as for scanning a user-controlled change of the parameter. In other words, it may be possible for a user to change a predetermined activation profile of the heating device and/or the processing device by means of an interaction device. The interaction device can comprise an input device and/or an output device, which can be provided individually or in combination with one another. In one embodiment, the interaction device comprises a touchscreen.
The change can only be permitted within a predetermined range. For example, a processing strength in a flow block for kneading dough cannot be increased beyond a predetermined value. Should a user wish to change a parameter of a sequence block further than predetermined, the selection of an alternative sequence block can be offered that supports the parameter in the desired area. In the example given above, it is possible to switch from a drain block for kneading dough to a drain block for whipping cream. When changing the drain block, a change of a tool used can be proposed, here for example a change from a kneading hook to a whisk.
According to a second aspect of the invention, a method for controlling a cooking processor which is set up for the treatment of food and comprises a heating device and a mechanical processing device comprises steps of determining one of a plurality of predetermined flow blocks; and the activation of the heating device and / or the processing device in each case as a function of a predetermined course comprised by the specific sequence block. The course can include a speed of the machining device or a torque of the machining device.
The processing device can be set up to carry out a method described herein in whole or in part. For this purpose, the processing device can comprise a programmable microcomputer or microcontroller and the method can be in the form of a computer program product with program code means. The computer program product can also be stored on a computer-readable data carrier. Features or advantages of the method can be transferred to the device or vice versa.
Figure 1 shows a cooking processor 100 which is set up for the treatment of food 105. The food 105 can in particular be ingredients for a dish, wherein the ingredients can be processed with one another as part of a processing step. The processing step can be part of a recipe for preparing the food. Several processing steps can be carried out one after the other by means of the cooking processor 100, so that a partial product of the food or the entire food can be prepared by means of the cooking processor 100.
The cooking processor 100 comprises a heating device 110 and a processing device 115. The heating device 110 is preferably set up for heating a vessel 120 in which a food 105 is located. In this case, the heating device 110 can be arranged near the bottom of the vessel 120 and, for example, comprise an electrical resistance heater or an inductive heater for the vessel 120. The heating device 110 can be activated to deliver a predetermined heat output to the vessel 120, or to set a predetermined temperature on or in the vessel 120. A corresponding temperature sensor can be provided for control.
The machining device 115 usually comprises a drive motor which can be connected to various tools 125. The machining device 115 can be brought into different positions, and a specific tool 125 can require a predetermined position. Exemplary tools 125 include a grater into which various grating, cutting or chopping disks can be inserted, a meat grinder, a dough hook, a whisk, a mixer, a grinder, an ice cream machine, a pasta machine or a citrus press. The processing of the food 105 usually takes place either in the vessel 120 or a product can be received by the vessel 120. Various vessels 120 can be provided, at least one of which can preferably be heated by the heating device 110.
A scanning device 130 can be provided for detecting a tool 125. In the variant shown, the scanning device 130 is attached to the cooking processor 100, in particular to the processing device 115, in order to detect the tool 125 when it is connected to the processing device 115. In other embodiments, the tool 125 can also be scanned when it is not connected to the machining device 115. The scanning is preferably carried out without contact, for example optically or by means of electromagnetic waves.
The cooking processor 100 can be controlled by means of a processing device 135, which is shown in FIG Figure 1 is only shown outside of the cooking processor 100 for ease of explanation. The processing device 135 is preferably connected to a storage device 140 in which a plurality of flow blocks 145 are preferably stored. In this case, a sequence block 145 preferably comprises a first course, on the basis of which the heating device 110 can be controlled, and a second course, on the basis of which the processing device 115 can be controlled. In one embodiment, a treatment time is assigned to a sequence block 145, that is to say a duration of the heating of the vessel 120 and / or a duration of processing by means of the processing device 115. In another embodiment, the duration can be selected, optionally within predetermined limits. One or more tools 125, which can be used for processing by means of the processing device 115, can be assigned to a sequence block 145.
In addition, the cooking processor 100 preferably comprises an interaction device 150, which can comprise an output device 155 for in particular optical output and/or an input device 160 for in particular haptic input. By means of the interaction device 150, a user can control the heating device 110 or the processing device 115 directly or initiate a control on the basis of a sequence block 145. To this end, he can select one of the flow blocks 145 and start the treatment. The selection of the flow block 145 can be facilitated by a reference, a restriction or a specification. The sequence block 145 can be selected on the basis of a processing step to be carried out, for example stirring, Whipping, chopping, cutting, mixing, etc. The flow block 145 can also be selected depending on a tool 125 to be used, a food 105 to be processed and / or a parameter for heating by means of the heating device 110 or processing by means of the processing device 115. In all variants, an indication of a selectable sequence block 145 can be provided by means of the interaction device 155 as a function of a specification that has already been made.
Figure 2 FIG. 2 shows a flowchart of a method 200 for controlling a cooking processor 100. The method 200 can in particular by means of the cooking processor 100 from FIG Figure 1 be performed. In a step 205, a user-controlled input of a desired heating or temperature can be recorded. In a step 210, a user-controlled input of a desired machining strength can be recorded. The machining strength can be expressed as speed or torque, for example. In a step 215, an input of a desired treatment duration can be recorded.
On the basis of the recorded inputs, one of several predetermined flow blocks 145 can be selected in a step 220. The selection can also be made on the basis of a desired processing step. In addition, a tool 125 to be used for the machining can be determined in a step 225, wherein the determination can comprise the acquisition of a user-controlled input or the scanning of a tool 125.
The process block 125 can be selected successively by referring to selectable process blocks 125 for a user-controlled specification. In this case, indicated flow blocks 125 can be sorted, for example, in the order of likelihood or frequency of their use. A first input of a user could, for example, comprise a tool 125 to be used, a second a desired machining strength and a third a temperature to be used. For this purpose, only those flow blocks 145 can be offered for selection which include these parameters. If only one sequence block 145 is found, this can be taken over directly. If no sequence block 145 can be found that supports a combination of previously entered specifications, a corresponding message can be output. Optionally, reference is made to a flow block 145 which the Combination supported, but requires a change to a given default. A suggestion for the change can be accepted by a user.
In a step 230, an adaptation of the selected sequence block 145 can be recorded by the user. The adaptation of one or more parameters can be allowed, and the adaptation can only be allowed within predetermined limits. For example, a temperature assigned to the flow block 145 cannot be changed by more than ± 20 ° C.
In one embodiment, the duration of a treatment cannot be a characteristic of a sequence block 145, but rather can be specified in this step. For this purpose, a predetermined section of a predetermined course for heating and / or processing the food can be changed on the basis of a corresponding user-controlled input, while another section can remain unchanged. For example, an acceleration of the drive motor of the treatment device 115 can remain the same, while a subsequent treatment duration can be variable.
In a step 235, a course of the temperature or heating of the vessel 120 can be controlled on the basis of the determined flow block 145. In parallel with this, in a step 240, a course of the processing of the food 105 can be controlled by the processing device 115. Both courses can be controlled and in particular ended as a function of a predetermined or a user-controlled time. After the control has been completed in steps 235, 240, an indication can be given to the user, for example in the form of an acoustic signal.
Figure 3 shows exemplary courses of a sequence block for a cooking processor. A first profile 305 relates to a heating of a food product 105 in the vessel 120, a second profile 310 to a simultaneous processing of the food product 105. A time is plotted in a horizontal direction. For the first profile 305, heating is plotted in the vertical direction, here as a temperature. For the second course 310, a processing strength is specified in the vertical direction, here as a mechanical power.
The courses 305, 310 are assigned to a