DETAILED ACTION
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1, 3, 5 – 10, 22 – 29, 31, 33, and 34 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Salehifar et al (US 2024/0244223, hereafter Salehifar) in view of Kim et al (US 2024/0406436, hereafter Kim).
As per claim 1, Salehifar discloses a method of video processing in a decoder, comprising:
receiving a video bitstream comprising a current block in a current picture (¶ 69 and 70);
obtaining prediction information from the video bitstream, the prediction information indicating that the current block is predicted in an inter prediction mode that is a merge mode (¶ 70 and 80);
determining a merge candidate from a merge candidate list (¶ 80);
determining an inter prediction direction based on at least one syntax element, the inter prediction direction being one of a first uni-prediction from a first reference picture list, a second uni-prediction from a second reference picture list, and a bi-prediction from the first reference picture list and the second reference picture list (¶ 103, 104, and 115);
determining a motion vector for a prediction of the current block based on the merge candidate (¶ 103, 104,115, and 117); and
reconstructing the current block based on the inter prediction direction and the motion vector (¶ 75).
However, Salehifar does not explicitly teach the at least one syntax element that specifies the inter prediction direction for the current block being signaled separately from a first index indicating the merge candidate in the video bitstream, the current block being predicted in the merge mode.
In the same field of endeavor, Kim teaches the at least one syntax element that specifies the inter prediction direction for the current block being signaled separately from the merge candidate in the video bitstream, the current block being predicted in the merge mode (¶ 596 and 1058).
Therefore, it would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was effectively filed to modify the invention of Salehifar in view of Kim. The advantage is an improvement in video coding.
As per claim 3, Salehifar discloses the method of claim 1, wherein the video bitstream complies with enhanced compression model (ECM) (¶ 77; the next generation video coding standard like beyond VVC exploration such as ECM).
As per claim 5, Salehifar discloses the method of claim 1, wherein the one or more signals comprises a syntax with: a first value indicating a uni-prediction and a second value indicating the bi-prediction (¶ 102 - 105).
As per claim 6, Salehifar discloses the method of claim 1, wherein the at least one syntax element is a syntax element, and a first value of the syntax element indicates the first uni-prediction, a second value of the syntax element indicates the second uni- prediction, and a third value of the syntax element indicates bi-prediction (¶ 102 - 105).
As per claim 7, Salehifar discloses the method of claim 1, wherein the at least one syntax element comprises: a first flag indicating whether the first reference picture list is in the inter prediction direction; and a second flag indicating whether the second reference picture list is in the inter prediction direction (¶ 104 and 105).
As per claim 8, Salehifar discloses the method of claim 1, wherein the determining the inter-prediction direction based on the at least one syntax element further comprises: when a high level syntax indicates of an allowance of the bi-prediction, determining the inter- prediction direction based on the at least one syntax element from the video bitstream (¶ 102 - 105).
As per claim 9, Salehifar discloses the method of claim 1, wherein the inter prediction direction is the bi-prediction, and the method further comprises:
decoding, from the video bitstream, an index that indicates a specific weighting candidate in a weighting candidate list, the weighting candidate list comprising a plurality of weighting candidates respectively providing weighting values for combining predictions from the first reference picture list and the second reference picture list (¶ 116 - 122).
As per claim 10, Salehifar discloses the method of claim 9, wherein the weighting candidate list comprises at least: a default equal weighting candidate and an inherited weighting candidate from the merge candidate (¶ 116 - ¶ 122).
As per claim 21, Salehifar discloses the method of claim 1, wherein the inter prediction mode is a merge mode (¶ 87).
As per claim 22, Salehifar discloses the method of claim 21, wherein the merge mode is one of a regular merge mode, a merge motion vector difference (MMVD) mode, an affine merge mode, an affine MMVD mode, and a merge with template matching (TM) refinement mode (¶ 87).
As per claim 23, Salehifar discloses the method of claim 21, wherein the at least one syntax element is signaled after the prediction information indicating that the current block is predicted in the merge mode (¶ 123 and 130).
As per claim 24, Salehifar discloses the method of claim 21,
wherein the at least one syntax element is signaled after the prediction information indicating a type of the merge mode (¶ 123 and 130).
Regarding claim 25, arguments analogous to those presented for claim 1 are applicable for claim 25.
Regarding claim 26, arguments analogous to those presented for claim 3 are applicable for claim 26.
Regarding claim 27, arguments analogous to those presented for claim 5 are applicable for claim 27.
Regarding claim 28, arguments analogous to those presented for claim 6 are applicable for claim 28.
Regarding claim 29, arguments analogous to those presented for claim 7 are applicable for claim 29.
Regarding claim 30, arguments analogous to those presented for claim 21 are applicable for claim 30.
Regarding claim 31, arguments analogous to those presented for claim 23 are applicable for claim 31.
As per claim 33, Salehifar discloses the method of claim 9, wherein the index is a BCW index (¶ 121).
Regarding claim 34, arguments analogous to those presented for claim 1 are applicable for claim 34.
Conclusion
/CHIKAODILI E ANYIKIRE/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2487