DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1, 7, 9, 11, 13, and 19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(a) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), first paragraph, as failing to comply with the written description requirement. The claim(s) contains subject matter which was not described in the specification in such a way as to reasonably convey to one skilled in the relevant art that the inventor or a joint inventor, or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the inventor(s), at the time the application was filed, had possession of the claimed invention.
Independent claims 1 and 13 have been amended such that they now require the limitation “wherein each of the plurality of molecules are spaced apart from each other and do not contact each other”.
The specification describes a display comprising a light path control cell (220), a linear polarizing plate (210), and a light path conversion film (230) comprising a plurality of molecules (531) including a polarization alignment dye which can be a dichroic dye (paragraph 78). While figure 5 appears to show the plurality of molecules (531) spaced apart from each other such that they are not in contact with each other the specification does not disclose that the drawings are to scale and therefore cannot be relied upon to show proportions of the features in the drawing. The specification as originally filed does not teach or describe any specific spacing for the plurality of molecules.
As noted above, the specification as originally filed fails to teach any specific spacing for the plurality of molecules. Consequently, the original specification fails to reasonably convey that the inventor(s) had possession of the invention as now claimed at the time of filing. This is a new matter rejection.
It is noted that Chen et al. (US Pub. 20210349335) outlines (in figure 3A-3D) how such light path conversion films are known to be formed in the art, liquid crystal molecules (LCM), dichroic dye molecules (DM), and reactive monomers (RM) are mixed together and deposited on an alignment substrate (substate TS and alignment film AL) wherein the dye molecules are aligned via the liquid crystal molecules and the alignment substrate (paragraph 53) and then the film is cured to form the final light path conversion film (paragraph 57). Additionally, Umemoto (US Pub. 20090153783) outlines a similar process for forming light path conversion film (paragraph 46). As such, a film formed in such a way would include dye molecules which are arranged in the same general direction however the spacings between each of the dye molecules can not be precisely controlled and one of ordinary skill in the art would not know how to form a light path conversion film in which each of the dye molecules are spaced apart from each other and do not contact each other and applicant has provided no teaching of how such a film could be formed.
Claims 7, 9, 11, and 19 are rejected due to their dependency.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1, 7, 9, 11, and 19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Chen at al. (US Pub. 20210349335, Chen) in view of Umemoto (US Pub. 20090153783).
As per claim 1, Chen teaches (in figures 23-26B) a display device for vehicles and positioned therein in a direction in which a passenger looks at the display device from a front, the display device (it is noted that the previous limitation is recited in the preamble is a recitation of intended use and therefore given limited patentable weight), comprising: a display panel (300); a linear polarizing plate (310 has a linear absorption axis A see figure 25 and paragraph 92) extending in an x-y plane and disposed on the display panel; a light path control cell (200G) disposed on the linear polarizing plate and comprising a liquid crystal layer (LCL-G); and a light path conversion film (100A) disposed on the light path control cell and comprising a plurality of molecules (DM) comprising a polarization alignment dye (DM), wherein an absorption axis (A) of the linear polarizing plate is 90 degrees in the x-y plane of the linear polarizing plate and extends in an X-axis direction (see figures), wherein the display device switches to a shared mode (fig. 24B) or a shielding mode (fig. 24D) only depending on whether or not a voltage is applied to the light path control cell (see paragraphs 94-99), wherein the linear polarizing plate has a plate shape extending in the X-axis direction and the Y-axis direction, and the plurality of molecules comprising the polarization alignment dye are aligned in a Z-axis direction (aligned in the same direction along the Z-axis as shown in figure 24A) wherein the plurality of molecules comprising the polarization alignment dye are aligned at an angle of about 90 degrees in cross-section with respect to a surface of the linear polarizing plate (aligned along the Z-axis as shown in figure 24A) to transmit light polarized in a direction different from the absorption axis of the light path conversation film (see figure 24B showing the alignment direction AX of the polarization alignment dye is different from the transmitted light LB13 and LB14 directions) and have anisotropic light absorption characteristics depending on a slope with respect to the surface of the linear polarizing plate in order that an absorption rate of light polarized in a long axis direction of the plurality of molecules is higher than an absorption rate of light polarized in a short axis direction of the plurality of molecules (paragraphs 95-96) wherein the light path control cell comprises a first substrate (201); a first electrode (E1 and AL1-C) disposed on the first substrate; the liquid crystal layer disposed on the first electrode and comprising a plurality of liquid crystals; a second electrode (E2 and AL2-C) disposed on the liquid crystal layer; and a second substrate (202) disposed on the second electrode, and a liquid crystal mode of the light path control cell being an electrically controlled birefringence mode (in the voltage off state the liquid crystals are aligned horizontally along the alignment directions AL1-C and AL2-C such that the light experiences a retardation of half wavelength which results in the polarization state being rotated 90 degrees while passing through the liquid crystal layer see figure 24B and paragraphs 92, 82, and 94-95 and in a voltage on state the liquid crystal are aligned such that the light does not experience a retardation and the polarization state remains unchanged while passing through the liquid crystal layer see figure 24D and paragraph 97) wherein the liquid crystal layer has a birefringence value of λ/2 when no voltage is applied to the light path control cell (see paragraphs 92 and 82) wherein a long axis of the liquid crystal layer (LCL-G) including the plurality of the liquid crystals is aligned in a direction at an angle of 45 degrees with respect to the absorption axis (A) in the x-y plane of the linear polarizing plate (310) in the shared mode (fig. 24B) when the voltage is not applied to the light path control cell (see paragraphs 82, 92 and 94 and figure 25) wherein the plurality of the liquid crystals are tilted at an angle of about 90 degrees with respect to surfaces of the first and second substrates in the shielding (fig. 24D) when voltage is applied to the light path control cell (fig. 24D see paragraph 97), wherein the display device for switching a viewing angle is in a shared mode (along the Y viewing direction as shown in figure 24B) in response to no voltage being applied to the light path control cell (see paragraphs 94 and 96) and in a shielding mode (along the Y viewing direction as shown in figure 24D) in response to the voltage being applied to the light path control cell (see paragraphs 97 and 99), and wherein when the display device is in the shared mode: a length of the plurality of molecules when viewed from a front (direction along the extending direction of the polarization alignment dye) is shorter than a length of the plurality of molecules when viewed from a side (direction at an angle to the extending direction of the polarization alignment dye); and the length of the plurality of molecules when viewed from the side is shorter than a length of a long axis of the plurality of molecules (the polarization alignment dye DM is aligned perpendicularly to the surface of the display panel and therefore as shown in the image below where the length of the polarization alignment dye is L1, the perceived length is L2, and the viewing angle relative to the extending direction of the polarization alignment dye is θ, the perceived length to a viewer L2 is equal to L1*sin(θ), in other words the perceived length will be at a minimum when the viewing is directly in line with the extending direction of the polarization alignment dye and increases as the viewing angle relative to the extending direction of the polarization alignment dye increases and reaches a maximum when the viewing angle relative to the extending direction of the polarization alignment dye is 90 degrees) wherein each of the plurality of molecules (DM) are spaced apart from each other and do not contact each other (see figures 24A-24D) wherein the liquid crystal layer (LCL-G) directly contacts the first electrode (E1 and AL1-C) and the second electrode (E2 and AL2-C).
Chen does not teach that that the absorption axis in the x-y plane of the linear polarizing plate is perpendicular to an absorption axis in an x-y plane of the light path conversion film such that the absorption axis of the light path conversion film is 0 degrees in the x-y plane of the light path conversion film and extends in a Y-axis direction wherein the plurality of molecules comprising the polarization alignment dye are tilted at an of 50 degrees to 80 degrees in cross-section with respect to a surface of the linear polarizing plate and a tilt of the plurality of molecules comprising the polarization alignment dye excludes any angle of less than 50 degrees and any angle of more than 80 degrees.
However, Umemoto teaches (in figures 5A-6D) forming the absorption axis (2a) of a light path conversion film (2) such that the absorption axis in the x-y plane (1a) of a linear polarizing plate (1) is substantially perpendicular to the absorption axis in the x-y plane (projection of 2a on the x-y plane) of the light path conversion film (the projection of 2a onto the linear polarizing plate is perpendicular to 1a see figure 5A and paragraph 63), the absorption axis of the linear polarizing plate is 90 degrees in the x-y plane of the linear polarizing plate and extends in an X-axis direction, and the absorption axis of the light path conversion film is 0 degrees in the x-y plane of the light path conversion film and extends in a Y-axis direction, and wherein the linear polarizing plate has a plate shape extending in an X-axis direction and a Y- axis direction, and the plurality of molecules (see paragraph 42-43 and 46) comprise polarization alignment dye (dichroic dye see paragraph 46) aligned in a Z-axis direction (aligned in the same direction along the Z-direction), and wherein the plurality of the molecules comprising the polarization alignment dye are tilted at an angle of about 50 degrees to about 80 degrees (45 degrees to 90 degrees) in cross-section with respect to a surface of the linear polarizing plate (see paragraphs 42 and 63) to transmit light polarized in a direction different from the absorption axis of the light path conversation film (see figure 15B which shows a light distribution and light traveling in directions other than the absorption axis 2A of the polarization alignment dye which is aligned along the angle of 270 degrees) and have anisotropic light absorption characteristics depending on a slope with respect to the surface of the linear polarizing plate in order that an absorption rate of light polarized in a long axis direction of the plurality of molecules is higher than an absorption rate of light polarized in a short axis direction of the plurality of molecules (paragraphs 58-59 and 65-67) and wherein when the display device is in the shared mode: a length of the plurality of molecules when viewed from a front (direction along the extending direction of the polarization alignment dye) is shorter than a length of the plurality of molecules when viewed from a side (the polarization alignment dye is aligned at an angle to the normal line of the display panel and therefore as shown in the image below where the length of the polarization alignment dye is L1, the perceived length is L2, and the viewing angle relative to the extending direction of the polarization alignment dye is θ, the perceived length to a viewer L2 is equal to L1*sin(θ), in other words the perceived length will be at a minimum when the viewer is directly in line with the extending direction of the polarization alignment dye and increases as the viewing angle relative to the extending direction of the polarization alignment dye increases and reaches a maximum when the viewing angle relative to the extending direction of the polarization alignment dye is 90 degrees) and that the tilt angle of the plurality of molecules comprising the polarization alignment dye is a result effective variable in that it directly sets the direction of highest brightness of the light path conversion film is pointed (see figure 6D and paragraph 68-69).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing to modify the tilt direction of the polarization alignment dye in Chen to be between greater than 50 degrees and less than 80 degrees, since it has been held that discovering an optimum value of a result effective variable involves only routine skill in the art. (See MPEP § 2144.05 (II) (A) and (B))
Additionally, regarding the functional limitation “and have anisotropic light absorption characteristics depending on a slope with respect to the surface of the linear polarizing plate in order that an absorption rate of light polarized in a long axis direction of the plurality of molecules is higher than an absorption rate of light polarized in a short axis direction of the plurality of molecules.” since the structure of the device of Chen in view Umemoto of is identical to the claimed structure, the device of Chen in view Umemoto is considered to be as capable of performing the function as the claimed invention, absent any claimed structural difference. See MPEP § 2114 I & II, "While features of an apparatus may be recited either structurally or functionally, claims directed to an apparatus must be distinguished from the prior art in terms of structure rather than function... A claim containing a 'recitation with respect to the manner in which a claimed apparatus is intended to be employed does not differentiate the claimed apparatus from a prior art apparatus' if the prior art apparatus teaches all the structural limitations of the claim.” in the instant case, the elongated polarization alignment dyes of Chen and Umemoto absorb light which is vibrating along the long axis of the polarization alignment dye and pass light which is vibrating along the short axis of the polarization alignment dye and therefore preform the recited function.
As per claim 7, Chen in view of Umemoto teaches that a polarization direction of light passing through the light path control cell is not corresponding to the absorption axis in the x-y plane of the light path conversion film when no voltage is applied to the light path control cell (fig. 24B shows that the light passing through the light path control cell has a polarization direction P2 parallel to the x-axis while the absorption axis in the x-y plane of the light path conversion film formed to along the y-axis by the modification suggested by Umemoto).
As per claim 9, Chen in view of Umemoto teaches that a polarization direction of light (P1 aligned along y-axis as shown in figure 24D of Chen) passing through the light path control cell corresponds to the absorption axis of the light path conversion film (the absorption axis in the x-y plane of the light path conversion film formed to along the y-axis by the modification suggested by Umemoto) and is perpendicular to the absorption axis in the x-y plane of the linear polarizing plate (absorption axis A of polarizing plate 310 extends parallel to the x-axis direction as shown in figure 24D) when the voltage is applied to the light path control cell.
As per claim 11, Chen in view of Umemoto teaches that the display device is viewed from the front and a side (center and upper and lower sides as shown in figure 26A of Chen as modified by Umemoto) when the display device is in the sharing mode (figure 24B of Chen as modified by Umemoto), and the display device is viewed from the front (center as shown in figure 26B of Chen as modified by Umemoto) when the display device is in the shielding mode (figure 24D of Chen as modified by Umemoto).
As per claim 19, Chen in view of Umemoto teach that the plurality of molecules comprising the polarization alignment dye are tilted at an angle of 45 degrees to 90 degrees in cross-section with respect to the surface of the linear polarizing plate (see paragraphs 42 and 63).
Chen in view of Umemoto does not explicitly teach that the plurality of molecules comprising the polarization alignment dye are tilted at an angle of about 75 degrees in cross-section with respect to the surface of the linear polarizing plate.
However, the alignment angle of the polarization alignment dye is a result effective variable in that it directly sets the viewing angle at which the display has maximum transmittance when in narrow viewing mode.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to set the angle for the polarization alignment dye to be 75 degrees in cross-section with respect to the surface of the linear polarizing plate, since it has been held that discovering an optimum value of a result effective variable involves only routine skill in the art. (See MPEP § 2144.05 (II) (A) and (B))
Additionally, while the specific range of the tilt angle of the polarization alignment dye being about 75 degrees in cross-section with respect to the surface of the linear polarizing plate is not specifically disclosed in the cited references a prima facie case of obviousness exists when the claimed ranges “overlap or lie inside ranges disclosed by the prior art” In re Wertheim, 541 F.2d 257, 191 USPQ 90 (CCPA 1976); In re Woodruff, 919 F.2d 1575, 16 USPQ2d 1934 (Fed. Cir. 1990).
Claim 13 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Chen at al. (US Pub. 20210349335, Chen) in view of Umemoto (US Pub. 20090153783), Kim (US Pub. 20150268478), and Han et al. (US Pub. 20100245299, Han).
As per claim 13, Chen teaches (in figures 23-26B) a display device for vehicles and positioned therein in a direction in which a passenger looks at the display device from a front, the display device (it is noted that the previous limitation is recited in the preamble is a recitation of intended use and therefore given limited patentable weight), comprising: a display panel (300); a linear polarizing plate (310 has a linear absorption axis A see figure 25 and paragraph 92) extending in an x-y plane and disposed on the display panel; a light path control cell (200G) disposed on the linear polarizing plate and comprising a liquid crystal layer (LCL-G); and a light path conversion film (100A) disposed on the light path control cell and comprising a plurality of molecules (DM) comprising a polarization alignment dye (DM), wherein an absorption axis (A) of the linear polarizing plate in the x-y plane extends in an X-axis direction, the absorption axis of the linear polarizing plate is 90 degrees in the x-y plane of the linear polarizing plate and extends in an X-axis direction (see figures)wherein the display device switches to a shared mode (fig. 24B) or a shielding mode (fig. 24D) only depending on whether or not a voltage is applied to the light path control cell (see paragraphs 94-99), wherein the linear polarizing plate has a plate shape extending in an X-axis direction and a Y-axis direction, and the plurality of molecules comprising the polarization alignment dye are aligned in a Z-axis direction (aligned in the same direction along the Z-axis as shown in figure 24A) wherein the plurality of molecules comprising the polarization alignment dye are aligned at an angle of about 90 degrees in cross-section with respect to a surface of the linear polarizing plate (aligned along the Z-axis as shown in figure 24A) to transmit light polarized in a direction different from the absorption axis of the light path conversation film (see figure 24B showing the alignment direction AX of the polarization alignment dye is different from the transmitted light LB13 and LB14 directions) and have anisotropic light absorption characteristics depending on a slope with respect to the surface of the linear polarizing plate in order that an absorption rate of light polarized in a long axis direction of the plurality of molecules is higher than an absorption rate of light polarized in a short axis direction of the plurality of molecules (paragraphs 95-96) wherein the light path control cell comprises a first substrate (201); a first electrode (E1 and AL1-C) disposed on the first substrate; the liquid crystal layer disposed on the first electrode and comprising a plurality of liquid crystals; a second electrode (E2 and AL2-C) disposed on the liquid crystal layer; and a second substrate (202) disposed on the second electrode, and a liquid crystal mode of the light path control cell being an electrically controlled birefringence mode (in the voltage off state the liquid crystals are aligned horizontally along the alignment directions AL1-C and AL2-C such that the light experiences a retardation of half wavelength which results in the polarization state being rotated 90 degrees while passing through the liquid crystal layer see figure 24B and paragraphs 92, 82, and 94-95 and in a voltage on state the liquid crystal are aligned vertically such that the light does not experience a retardation and the polarization state remains unchanged while passing through the liquid crystal layer see figure 24D and paragraph 97) wherein the liquid crystal layer has a birefringence value of λ/2 when no voltage is applied to the light path control cell (see paragraphs 92 and 82) wherein a long axis of the liquid crystal layer (LCL-G) including the plurality of the liquid crystals is aligned in a direction at an angle of 45 degrees with respect to the absorption axis (A) in the x-y plane of the linear polarizing plate (310) in the shared mode (fig. 24B) when the voltage is not applied to the light path control cell (see paragraphs 82, 92 and 94 and figure 25) wherein the plurality of the liquid crystals are tilted at an angle of about 90 degrees with respect to surfaces of the first and second substrates when voltage is applied to the light path control cell (fig. 24D see paragraph 97), wherein the display device for switching a viewing angle is in a shared mode (along the Y viewing direction as shown in figure 24B) in response to no voltage being applied to the light path control cell (see paragraphs 94 and 96) and in a shielding mode (along the Y viewing direction as shown in figure 24D) in response to the voltage being applied to the light path control cell (see paragraphs 97 and 99), and wherein when the display device is in the shared mode: a length of the plurality of molecules when viewed from a front (direction along the extending direction of the polarization alignment dye) is shorter than a length of the plurality of molecules when viewed from a side (direction at an angle to the extending direction of the polarization alignment dye); and the length of the plurality of molecules when viewed from the side is shorter than a length of a long axis of the plurality of molecules (the polarization alignment dye DM is aligned perpendicularly to the surface of the display panel and therefore as shown in the image below where the length of the polarization alignment dye is L1, the perceived length is L2, and the viewing angle relative to the extending direction of the polarization alignment dye is θ, the perceived length to a viewer L2 is equal to L1*sin(θ), in other words the perceived length will be at a minimum when the viewing is directly in line with the extending direction of the polarization alignment dye and increases as the viewing angle relative to the extending direction of the polarization alignment dye increases and reaches a maximum when the viewing angle relative to the extending direction of the polarization alignment dye is 90 degrees) wherein each of the plurality of molecules (DM) are spaced apart from each other and do not contact each other (see figures 24A-24D), wherein the liquid crystal layer (LCL-G) directly contacts the first electrode (E1 and AL1-C) and the second electrode (E2 and AL2-C).
Chen does not teach that the display panel is connected to at least one printed circuit comprising a data driver being implemented in a Chip On Film type and a gate driver being implemented in a Gate In Panel type or that the light path control cell is electrically connected to the printed circuit, that the absorption axis in the x-y plane of the linear polarizing plate is perpendicular to an absorption axis in an x-y plane of the light path conversion film such that the absorption axis of the light path conversion film is 0 degrees in the x-y plane of the light path conversion film and extends in a Y-axis direction, wherein the plurality of the molecules comprising the polarization alignment dye are tilted at an angle of 50 degrees to 80 degrees with respect to a surface of the linear polarizing plate and a tilt of the plurality of the molecules comprising the polarization alignment dye excludes any angle of less than 50 degrees and any angle of more than 80 degrees.
However, Kim teaches (in figure 2) electrically connecting a display panel (DP) to a printed circuit (TCC, GDC and DDC) comprising a data driver (DDC) and a gate driver (GDC) and connecting a second liquid crystal cell (BP) to the printed circuit.
Han teaches (in figure 1) forming a printed circuit (14, 20, 30, and 50) for a display device such that the printed circuit comprises a data driver (14 and 30) is implemented in a Chip On Film type (see paragraph 26) and a gate driver (50) being implemented in a Gate In Panel type (see paragraph 24) in order to reduce production costs (paragraphs 8 and 10).
Umemoto teaches (in figures 5A-6D) forming the absorption axis (2a) of a light path conversion film (2) such that the absorption axis in the x-y plane (1a) of a polarizing plate (1) is substantially perpendicular to the absorption axis in the x-y plane (projection of 2a on the x-y plane) of the light path conversion film (the projection of 2a onto the linear polarizing plate is perpendicular to 1a see figure 5A and paragraph 63), the absorption axis of the linear polarizing plate is 90 degrees in the x-y plane of the linear polarizing plate and extends in an X-axis direction, and the absorption axis of the light path conversion film is 0 degrees in the x-y plane of the light path conversion film and extends in a Y-axis direction, and wherein the linear polarizing plate has a plate shape extending in an X-axis direction and a Y- axis direction, and the plurality of molecules (see paragraph 42-43 and 46) comprise polarization alignment dye (dichroic dye see paragraph 46) aligned in a Z-axis direction (aligned in the same direction along the Z-direction), and wherein the plurality of the molecules comprising the polarization alignment dye are tilted at an angle of about 50 degrees to about 80 degrees (45 degrees to 90 degrees) in cross-section with respect to a surface of the linear polarizing plate (see paragraphs 42 and 63) to transmit light polarized in a direction different from the absorption axis of the light path conversation film (see figure 15B which shows a light distribution and light traveling in directions other than the absorption axis 2A of the polarization alignment dye which is aligned along the angle of 270 degrees) and have anisotropic light absorption characteristics depending on a slope with respect to the surface of the linear polarizing plate in order that an absorption rate of light polarized in a long axis direction of the plurality of molecules is higher than an absorption rate of light polarized in a short axis direction of the plurality of molecules (paragraphs 58-59 and 65-67) and wherein when the display device is in the shared mode: a length of the plurality of molecules when viewed from a front (direction along the extending direction of the polarization alignment dye) is shorter than a length of the plurality of molecules when viewed from a side (the polarization alignment dye is aligned at an angle to the normal line of the display panel and therefore as shown in the image below where the length of the polarization alignment dye is L1, the perceived length is L2, and the viewing angle relative to the extending direction of the polarization alignment dye is θ, the perceived length to a viewer L2 is equal to L1*sin(θ), in other words the perceived length will be at a minimum when the viewer is directly in line with the extending direction of the polarization alignment dye and increases as the viewing angle relative to the extending direction of the polarization alignment dye increases and reaches a maximum when the viewing angle relative to the extending direction of the polarization alignment dye is 90 degrees) and that the tilt angle of the plurality of molecules comprising the polarization alignment dye is a result effective variable in that it directly sets the direction of highest brightness of the light path conversion film is pointed (see figure 6D and paragraph 68-69).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing to include a printed circuit connected to the display and the light path control cell in Chen in order to control the display and light path control cell, to form the data driver to be a Chip On Film type and form the gate driver to be a Gate In Panel type in order to reduce production costs, and to modify the tilt direction of the polarization alignment dye in Chen to be between greater than 50 degrees and less than 80 degrees, since it has been held that discovering an optimum value of a result effective variable involves only routine skill in the art. (See MPEP § 2144.05 (II) (A) and (B))
Additionally, regarding the functional limitation “and have anisotropic light absorption characteristics depending on a slope with respect to the surface of the linear polarizing plate in order that an absorption rate of light polarized in a long axis direction of the plurality of molecules is higher than an absorption rate of light polarized in a short axis direction of the plurality of molecules.” since the structure of the device of Chen in view Umemoto, Kim, and Han is identical to the claimed structure, the device of Chen in view Umemoto, Kim, and Han is considered to be as capable of performing the function as the claimed invention, absent any claimed structural difference. See MPEP § 2114 I & II, "While features of an apparatus may be recited either structurally or functionally, claims directed to an apparatus must be distinguished from the prior art in terms of structure rather than function... A claim containing a 'recitation with respect to the manner in which a claimed apparatus is intended to be employed does not differentiate the claimed apparatus from a prior art apparatus' if the prior art apparatus teaches all the structural limitations of the claim.” in the instant case, the elongated polarization alignment dyes of Chen and Umemoto absorb light which is vibrating along the long axis of the polarization alignment dye and pass light which is vibrating along the short axis of the polarization alignment dye and therefore preform the recited function.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 01/08/2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
In response to applicant’s argument that Umemoto cannot be relied upon to teach excluding angles for the polarization alignment dye in the light path conversion film of more than 80 degrees. This argument is unpersuasive. Specifically, applicant argues that Umemoto requires having an angle between the normal line of the film and the polarization alignment dye to include zero. However, Umemoto specifically teaches in figures 5A-5D an embodiment where the absorption axis direction of the second polarizer is inclined from the normal line direction of the film plane (paragraph 28) and teaches that as long as the angle from the normal line is less than 45 degrees the loss of transmittance when the system is view from the front is small (paragraph 64). Additionally, as shown in the rejection above, the angle formed by the polarization alignment dye is a result effective variable in that it directly sets the direction of maximum transmittance and therefore obvious to set to between 50 and 80 degrees as discovering an optimum value of a result effective variable involves only routine skill in the art. (See MPEP § 2144.05 (II) (A) and (B)). Applicant’s argument is therefore unpersuasive and the rejection is maintained.
In response to applicant's argument that Umemoto cannot be used to modify the device of Chen since Umemoto teaches providing a medium of low retardation between the two polarizers, the test for obviousness is not whether the features of a secondary reference may be bodily incorporated into the structure of the primary reference; nor is it that the claimed invention must be expressly suggested in any one or all of the references. Rather, the test is what the combined teachings of the references would have suggested to those of ordinary skill in the art. See In re Keller, 642 F.2d 413, 208 USPQ 871 (CCPA 1981). In the instant case, and as shown in the rejection above, the polarization of light passing through the light path control cell is unaffected by the light path control cell in the shielding mode of Chen (figure 24D) and therefore aligns with the teaching of Umemoto and additionally provides a means of turning off the light shielding when not required. As such, one of ordinary skill in the art would have recognized the benefit of combining Chen and Umemoto. Applicant’s argument is therefore unpersuasive and the rejection is maintained.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/ALEXANDER P GROSS/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2871