DETAILED ACTION
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statements (IDSs) submitted on 11/10/2022 and 11/10/2022 were filed after the mailing date of the instant application on 11/10/2022. The submissions are in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statements are being considered by the examiner.
Election/Restrictions
In a requirement for election of species dated 10/31/2025, Applicant was required to choose from the species that make up the genus that is made up of the individual species of the compounds having the structure of instant ligand LA wherein the patentably distinct species are those with
One metal, M
One type of ring the two RE substituents form which is condensed to ring E, and
One ring of Formula II which is further coordinated to the metal, M
Applicant’s election without traverse of (a) iridium for metal, M, (b) a monocyclic 6-membered ring made of two RE substituents, (c) which is also the ring coordinated to metal, M, in the reply filed on 12/08/2025 is acknowledged.
Claims 6, 7, and 16 are withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b) as being drawn to a nonelected species, there being no allowable generic or linking claim. Please indicate these claims as [Withdrawn] in future correspondence in accordance with 37 CFR 1.121(c)(2). Election was made without traverse in the reply filed on 12/08/2025.
The elected species is examined herein.
Specification
The disclosure is objected to because of the following informalities:
On the bottom of page 9 of the specification, Z1 is erroneously referred to as Z1. Please correct this.
The letters, numbers, and/or bonds in the chemical structure given on pages 56 (ligand LB263), 110 (hosts), 149 (H2, HTM, HATCM, ETM, and EBM), and 151 (HATCN, HTM, and ETM) are illegible. Please correct these structures so all letters, numbers, and/or bonds are clearly visible. See the example below.
Please note that this example is non-limiting and there may be other structures that require correction. Please check all formulae to make sure they are not unclear. Applicant may wish to make these structures clearer by increasing font size, making the font bold, and/or making the lines thicker.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Objections
Claim 19 is objected to because of the following informalities:
Some of the letters, numbers, and/or bonds in the chemical structure given in claim 19 are illegible. Please correct these structures so all letters, numbers, and/or bonds are clearly visible. See the example below.
Please note that this example is non-limiting and there may be other structures that require correction. Please check all formulae to make sure they are not unclear. Applicant may wish to make these structures clearer by increasing font size, making the font bold, and/or making the lines thicker.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 6 and 19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
With respect to claim 6, formulae Ia through Ie contain variable Z1, however, this same variable is subsequently referred to as Z1 on line 3 of page 154 of the claims. It is unclear whether these characters refer to the same variable or whether independent variables Z1 and Z1 are supposed to be present.
In continuing examination, these will be interpreted as different characters which are meant to refer to the same variable and that a simple typographical error is present.
With respect to claim 19, the claim contains compounds made of chemical moieties not included in the list in claim 18. See below. For example.
This makes the metes and bounds of the claim unclear.
In continuing examination, claim 19 will be interpreted as
“19. The OLED of claim 17 [[18]], wherein the organic layer further comprises a host, wherein the host is selected from the group consisting of:--"
Claim 19 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(d) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, 4th paragraph, as being of improper dependent form for failing to further limit the subject matter of the claim upon which it depends, or for failing to include all the limitations of the claim upon which it depends.
With respect to claim 19, the claim contains compounds made of chemical moieties not included in the list in claim 18. See below. For example.
Applicant may cancel the claim(s), amend the claim(s) to place the claim(s) in proper dependent form, rewrite the claim(s) in independent form, or present a sufficient showing that the dependent claim(s) complies with the statutory requirements.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-4, 8, and 11-13 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Kwon et al. (US 2022/0069237 A1).
With respect to claim 1, Kwon discloses compound 1 (paragraph 0145), which is pictured below.
This compound meets the requirements of proviso (1)(ii) of instant Formula I when moiety A is a monocyclic 6-membered heterocyclic ring (pyridine), moiety B is a monocyclic ring structure comprising a 6-membered carbocyclic ring (benzene), Z1 is nitrogen and Z2 is carbon, K1 and K2 are both a direct bond, and moiety B also comprises, and is fused to a structure of Formula II via two joined RE groups. In formula II, X1-X7 are carbon atoms, T’ is a nitrogen atom, RA, RC and RD are each hydrogen atoms and two RE are joined to form the benzene ring of moiety B which is coordinated to metal, M, and M is iridium.
With respect to claim 2, Kwon teaches the compound of claim 1, and RA, RC, and RD are each hydrogen atoms and RE is coordinated to metal M, as discussed above.
With respect to claim 3, Kwon teach the compound of claim 1, and M is iridium, as discussed above.
With respect to claim 4, Kwon teaches the compound of claim 1, and T’ is nitrogen, as discussed above.
With respect to claim 8, Kwon teaches the compound of claim 1, and the ligand LA has the structure of Formula IIa, wherein each of X1-X11 is carbon, as pictured above.
With respect to claims 11 and 12, Kwon teaches the compound of claim 1, and the compound has the formula Ir(LA)(LB)2 wherein p is 1 and q is 2 and 3 is the oxidation state of iridium, as pictured above.
With respect to claim 13, Kwon teaches the compound of claim 11, and LB has the formula below which is the fifth embodiment of the instant claim. LC is not present.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 5, 9-10, 14-15, 17, and 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kwon et al. (US 2022/0069237 A1), as applied above.
With respect to claim 5, Kwon teaches the compound of claim 1, as discussed above.
Compound 1, pictured and discussed above is derived from Kwon formula 1A, which is pictured below.
Kwon also teaches that ring A1 is a C9 heterocyclic group (paragraph 0013), such as isoquinoline (paragraph 0054, line 3).
Such a modification produces a compound that meets the requirements of the instant claim when two of RA are joined to form a ring fused to ring A.
Kwon includes each element claimed, with the only difference between the claimed invention and Kwon being a lack of the aforementioned combination being explicitly stated. Absent a showing of unexpected results, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the instant invention to select any known substituent from each of the finite lists of possible combinations to arrive at the compound of the instant claim since the combination of elements would have yielded the predictable result of an organometallic compound which, when used in an organic electronic device, such as an organic light-emitting device, results in low driving voltage, high efficiency, long lifespan, and reduced roll-off phenomenon (paragraph 0146), commensurate in scope with the claimed invention. See Section 2143 of the MPEP, rationales (A) and (E).
With respect to claim 9, Kwon teaches the compound of claim 8, as discussed above.
Compound 1, pictured and discussed above is derived from Kwon formula 1A, which is pictured below.
Kwon also teaches that R10, R30, and R40 may be a C1 alkyl (methyl) group (paragraph 0078 and 0079 line 6).
Such a modification produces a ligand LA which has the structure of LAII11-(X2)(X2)(R1)(R1)(R1)(R1)
Kwon includes each element claimed, with the only difference between the claimed invention and Kwon being a lack of the aforementioned combination being explicitly stated. Absent a showing of unexpected results, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the instant invention to select any known substituent from each of the finite lists of possible combinations to arrive at the compound of the instant claim since the combination of elements would have yielded the predictable result of an organometallic compound which, when used in an organic electronic device, such as an organic light-emitting device, results in low driving voltage, high efficiency, long lifespan, and reduced roll-off phenomenon (paragraph 0146), commensurate in scope with the claimed invention. See Section 2143 of the MPEP, rationales (A) and (E).
With respect to claim 10, Kwon teaches the compound of claim 8, as discussed above.
Compound 1, pictured and discussed above is derived from Kwon formula 1A, which is pictured below.
Kwon also teaches that R30 is a C4 alkyl (t-butyl) group (paragraph 0088 and formula 9-7).
Such a modification produces the instant fifth embodiment, which is pictured below.
Kwon includes each element claimed, with the only difference between the claimed invention and Kwon being a lack of the aforementioned combination being explicitly stated. Absent a showing of unexpected results, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the instant invention to select any known substituent from each of the finite lists of possible combinations to arrive at the compound of the instant claim since the combination of elements would have yielded the predictable result of an organometallic compound which, when used in an organic electronic device, such as an organic light-emitting device, results in low driving voltage, high efficiency, long lifespan, and reduced roll-off phenomenon (paragraph 0146), commensurate in scope with the claimed invention. See Section 2143 of the MPEP, rationales (A) and (E).
With respect to claim 14, Kwon teaches the compound of claim 12, as discussed above.
Compound 1, pictured and discussed above is derived from Kwon formula 1A, which is pictured below.
Kwon also teaches that R10, R30, and R40 may be a C1 alkyl (methyl) group (paragraph 0078 and 0079 line 6).
Such a modification produces the instant compound from LIST 4a which is defined by formula LAII11-(X2)(X2)(R1)(R1)(R1)(R1), and comprises ligand LB1. Ligand LC is not present.
Kwon includes each element claimed, with the only difference between the claimed invention and Kwon being a lack of the aforementioned combination being explicitly stated. Absent a showing of unexpected results, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the instant invention to select any known substituent from each of the finite lists of possible combinations to arrive at the compound of the instant claim since the combination of elements would have yielded the predictable result of an organometallic compound which, when used in an organic electronic device, such as an organic light-emitting device, results in low driving voltage, high efficiency, long lifespan, and reduced roll-off phenomenon (paragraph 0146), commensurate in scope with the claimed invention. See Section 2143 of the MPEP, rationales (A) and (E).
With respect to claim 15, Kwon teaches the compound of claim 12, as discussed above.
Compound 1, pictured and discussed above is derived from Kwon formula 1A, which is pictured below.
Applicant will note that Kwon is non-limiting with regard to the bonding position about A2 and the rest of the polycyclic structure can be readily rotated.
Such a modification produces the instant embodiment below (page 232 of the instant claims).
Kwon includes each element claimed, with the only difference between the claimed invention and Kwon being a lack of the aforementioned combination being explicitly stated. Absent a showing of unexpected results, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the instant invention to select any known substituent from each of the finite lists of possible combinations to arrive at the compound of the instant claim since the combination of elements would have yielded the predictable result of an organometallic compound which, when used in an organic electronic device, such as an organic light-emitting device, results in low driving voltage, high efficiency, long lifespan, and reduced roll-off phenomenon (paragraph 0146), commensurate in scope with the claimed invention. See Section 2143 of the MPEP, rationales (A) and (E).
With respect to claim 17, Kwon teaches an organic light emitting device comprising an anode, a cathode (paragraph 0160), and an organic layer (paragraph 0164) and the organic layer comprises the inventive compound (paragraph 0159), such as compound 1 (paragraph 0145), which is pictured below.
This compound meets the requirements of proviso (1)(ii) of instant Formula I when moiety A is a monocyclic 6-membered heterocyclic ring (pyridine), moiety B is a monocyclic ring structure comprising a 6-membered carbocyclic ring (benzene), Z1 is nitrogen and Z2 is carbon, K1 and K2 are both a direct bond, and moiety B also comprises, and is fused to a structure of Formula II via two joined RE groups. In formula II, X1-X7 are carbon atoms, T’ is a nitrogen atom, RA, RC and RD are each hydrogen atoms and two RE are joined to form the benzene ring of moiety B which is coordinated to metal, M, and M is iridium.
Kwon teaches that when the organometallic compound represented by Formula I is included in an organic light-emitting device, the device exhibits excellent luminescence efficiency, lifespan, and color purity.
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention to include the compound in the organic layer of a device with the claimed device structure in order to obtain a device which exhibits excellent luminescence efficiency, lifespan, and color purity, as taught by Kwon.
With respect to 20, Kwon teaches a consumer product such as a full-color organic light emitting device (paragraph 0218) comprising an organic light emitting device comprising an anode, a cathode (paragraph 0160), and an organic layer (paragraph 0164) and the organic layer comprises the inventive compound (paragraph 0159), such as compound 1 (paragraph 0145), which is pictured below.
This compound meets the requirements of proviso (1)(ii) of instant Formula I when moiety A is a monocyclic 6-membered heterocyclic ring (pyridine), moiety B is a monocyclic ring structure comprising a 6-membered carbocyclic ring (benzene), Z1 is nitrogen and Z2 is carbon, K1 and K2 are both a direct bond, and moiety B also comprises, and is fused to a structure of Formula II via two joined RE groups. In formula II, X1-X7 are carbon atoms, T’ is a nitrogen atom, RA, RC and RD are each hydrogen atoms and two RE are joined to form the benzene ring of moiety B which is coordinated to metal, M, and M is iridium.
Kwon teaches that when the organometallic compound represented by Formula I is included in an organic light-emitting device, the device exhibits excellent luminescence efficiency, lifespan, and color purity.
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention to include the compound in the organic layer of a device with the claimed device structure in order to obtain a device which exhibits excellent luminescence efficiency, lifespan, and color purity, as taught by Kwon..
Further, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention to use the device of Kwon in a consumer product, as taught by Kwon.
Claims 18 and 19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kwon et al. (US 2022/0069237 A1) above, and further in view of Metz et al. (US 2016/0072081 A1).
With respect to claims 18 and 19, Kwon teaches the device of claim 17, as discussed above.
However, Kwon does not teach any of the instant host materials.
In analogous art, Metz teaches a matrix material for use in an electroluminescent device. A preferred embodiment of this matrix material is given on page 17 which is pictured below.
In this formula, T is a sulfur atom (paragraph 0084).
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the instant application to use the matrix material of Metz as a host in the device of Kwon as Metz teaches that these compounds are suitable matrix materials for use as a host for an emitter compound (paragraph 0090).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Choung et al. (US 2022/0194973 A1) – teaches relevant compounds
Park et al. (US 2022/0209140 A1) – teaches relevant compounds
/RACHEL SIMBANA/Examiner, Art Unit 1786