DETAILED ACTION
Applicant’s RCE filed 4/15/26 is acknowledged.
Claims 1 and 13 are amended.
Claims 1-2, 4-8, 13-14, and 16-20 are pending.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to independent claims 1 and 13 (pages 10-11) in a reply filed 4/15/2026 have been considered but are moot because the arguments are based on newly changed limitations in the amendment and new ground of rejections using newly introduced references or a newly introduced portion of an existing reference are applied in the current rejection.
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1 and 13 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Bae et al. US 20230036564 (hereinafter “Bae”) in view of Ratasuk et al. US 20110243262 (hereinafter “Ratasuk”) and in further view of Lee et al. US 20220248410 (hereinafter “Lee”)
As to claim 1 and 13 (claim 13 is the method claim for the node in claim 1):
Bae discloses:
A User Equipment (UE) (“According to an aspect of the present disclosure, provided herein is a method of transmitting hybrid automatic repeat request-acknowledgement (HARQ-ACK) information by a user equipment in a wireless communication system.”, Bae [0009]) comprising: a receiver configured to receive a first signaling and a second signaling,
wherein the first signaling comprises a first priority indicator field indicating a first priority index, wherein the second signaling comprises a second priority indicator field indicating a second priority index; (“In each aspect of the present disclosure, it may be determined that the value K1_1 of the first PDSCH-to-HARQ_feedback timing field is related to the first slot length, based on a value of a priority indicator field in the first DCI, and it may be determined that the value K2_1 of the second PDSCH-to-HARQ_feedback timing field is related to the second slot length, based on a value of a priority indicator field in the second DCI.”, Bae [0016])
and a transmitter configured to transmit a Physical Uplink Shared Channel (PUSCH) transmission in a first radio resource block, (“The PDCCH may be used to schedule DL transmission on the PDSCH and UL transmission on the PUSCH. DCI on the PDCCH for scheduling DL transmission may include DL resource assignment that at least includes a modulation and coding format (e.g., modulation and coding scheme (MCS)) index I.sub.MCS), resource allocation, and HARQ information, associated with a DL-SCH. DCI on the PDCCH for scheduling UL transmission may include a UL scheduling grant that at least includes a modulation and coding format, resource allocation, and HARQ information, associated with a UL-SCH.”, Bae [0136])
the PUSCH transmission carrying a first bit block that comprises at least one Transport Block (TB), wherein the first signaling indicates a modulation and coding scheme, and wherein the modulation and coding scheme indicated by the first signaling and time-frequency resources occupied by the first radio resource block are used to determine a size of the first bit block, (“When configured grant Type 1 is configured, the UE may be provided with the following parameters through RRC signaling: [0143] cs-RNTI corresponding to a CS-RNTI for retransmission; [0144] periodicity corresponding to a periodicity of configured grant Type 1; [0145] timeDomainOffset indicating an offset of a resource with respect to system frame number (SFN) = 0 in the time domain; [0146] timeDomainAllocation value m that provides a row index m+1 pointing to the allocation table, indicating a combination of the start symbol S, the length L, and the PUSCH mapping type; [0147] frequencyDomainAllocation that provides frequency domain resource allocation; and [0148] mcsAndTBS that provides I.sub.MCS indicating a modulation order, a target code rate, and a transport block size.”, Bae [0142])
Bae as described above does not explicitly teach:
wherein the first signaling and the second signaling are respectively used to determine the first radio resource block and a second radio resource block, wherein the second radio resource block comprises a Physical Uplink Control Channel (PUCCH) resource, wherein the first signaling is used to determine the first bit block,
wherein the first radio resource block and the second radio resource block respectively correspond to the first priority index and the second priority index,
wherein the second radio resource block is reserved for a second bit block comprising at least one Hybrid Acknowledgement Repeat Request Acknowledgement (HARQ-ACK) bit, the second bit block corresponding to the second priority index, wherein the second radio resource block is reserved for transmission of the second bit block in the PUCCH resource,
wherein a first radio resource block group comprises a radio resource block that corresponds to the first priority index and is different from the first radio resource block,
wherein, when the first radio resource block and the second radio resource block overlap in a time domain and at least one condition is fulfilled, the PUSCH transmission carries a bit block generated by the second bit block,
wherein the first radio resource block and any radio resource block in the first radio resource block group are orthogonal in the time domain,
and wherein, when the PUSCH transmission carries the bit block generated by the second bit block, the second bit block is not transmitted in the PUCCH resource.
However, Ratasuk further teaches resource blocks that are orthogonal to each other which includes:
the first radio resource block and any radio resource block in the first radio resource block group are orthogonal in the time domain. (“A communication session may be assigned a resource block or a group or groups of resource blocks for an exchange of bearer information, thereby permitting multiple users to transmit simultaneously on the different resource blocks such that each user's transmission is orthogonal to the other users' transmissions.”, Ratasuk [0034])
Bae and Ratasuk are analogous because they pertain to managing resources of multiple UEs.
Thus it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to include resource blocks that are orthogonal to each other as described in Ratasuk into Bae. By modifying the method to include resource blocks that are orthogonal to each other as taught by Ratasuk, the benefits of improved resource management of multiple UEs (Ratasuk [0034] and Bae [0267]) are achieved.
The combination of Bae and Ratasuk as described above does not explicitly teach:
wherein the first signaling and the second signaling are respectively used to determine the first radio resource block and a second radio resource block, wherein the second radio resource block comprises a Physical Uplink Control Channel (PUCCH) resource, wherein the first signaling is used to determine the first bit block,
wherein the first radio resource block and the second radio resource block respectively correspond to the first priority index and the second priority index,
wherein the second radio resource block is reserved for a second bit block comprising at least one Hybrid Acknowledgement Repeat Request Acknowledgement (HARQ-ACK) bit, the second bit block corresponding to the second priority index, wherein the second radio resource block is reserved for transmission of the second bit block in the PUCCH resource,
wherein a first radio resource block group comprises a radio resource block that corresponds to the first priority index and is different from the first radio resource block,
wherein, when the first radio resource block and the second radio resource block overlap in a time domain and at least one condition is fulfilled, the PUSCH transmission carries a bit block generated by the second bit block,
and wherein, when the PUSCH transmission carries the bit block generated by the second bit block, the second bit block is not transmitted in the PUCCH resource.
However, Lee further teaches PUCCH and PUSCH signaling which includes:
wherein the first signaling and the second signaling are respectively used to determine the first radio resource block and a second radio resource block, wherein the second radio resource block comprises a Physical Uplink Control Channel (PUCCH) resource, wherein the first signaling is used to determine the first bit block, (“DCI format 0_0 may be used to schedule a transport block (TB) based (TB)-based (or TB-level) PUSCH, and DCI format 0_1 may be used to schedule a TB-based (or TB-level) PUSCH or a code block group (CBG)-based (or CBG-level) PUSCH.”, Lee [0121]) (“When a UE configured to multiplex different UCI types within a PUCCH intends to transmit a plurality of overlapping PUCCHs in a slot or to transmit overlapping PUCCH(s) and PUSCH(s) in a slot, the UE may multiples the UCI types when specific conditions are satisfied. The specific conditions may include multiplexing timeline condition(s). For example, in FIGS. 9 to 12, PUCCH(s) and PUSCH(s) to which UCI multiplexing is applied may be UL channels that satisfy the multiplexing timeline condition(s). Referring to FIG. 13, the UE may need to transmit a plurality of UL channels (e.g., UL channels #1 to #4) in the same slot. Here, UL CH #1 may be a PUSCH scheduled by PDCCH #1. UL CH #2 may be a PUCCH for transmitting HARQ-ACK for the PDSCH. The PDSCH may be scheduled by PDCCH #2, and the resource of UL CH #2 may also be indicated by PDCCH #2.”, Lee [0262])
wherein the first radio resource block and the second radio resource block respectively correspond to the first priority index and the second priority index, (“In the present disclosure, a priority of a channel or a signal may be configured or determined based on the channel-related elements.”, Lee [0267]) (“According to another implementation of the present disclosure, in the timeline check for UCI/PUSCH multiplexing of UL channels having different priorities, and/or channel-related elements, a rule may be defined to perform the timeline check for each priority, and/or channel-related element, and/or UCI type (or group). Specifically, when a high-priority UL channel (e.g., PUCCH or PUSCH) overlap in time with a low-priority UL channel (e.g., PUCCH or PUSCH), the timeline check may be performed on the UL channels for each priority, respectively.”, Lee [0325]) (“Specifically, when a high-priority UL channel (e.g., PUCCH or PUSCH) overlap in time with a low-priority UL channel (e.g., PUCCH or PUSCH), the timeline check may be performed on the UL channels for each priority, respectively.”, Lee [0334])
wherein the second radio resource block is reserved for a second bit block comprising at least one Hybrid Acknowledgement Repeat Request Acknowledgement (HARQ-ACK) bit, the second bit block corresponding to the second priority index, wherein the second radio resource block is reserved for transmission of the second bit block in the PUCCH resource, (“When a UE configured to multiplex different UCI types within a PUCCH intends to transmit a plurality of overlapping PUCCHs in a slot or to transmit overlapping PUCCH(s) and PUSCH(s) in a slot, the UE may multiples the UCI types when specific conditions are satisfied. The specific conditions may include multiplexing timeline condition(s). For example, in FIGS. 9 to 12, PUCCH(s) and PUSCH(s) to which UCI multiplexing is applied may be UL channels that satisfy the multiplexing timeline condition(s). Referring to FIG. 13, the UE may need to transmit a plurality of UL channels (e.g., UL channels #1 to #4) in the same slot. Here, UL CH #1 may be a PUSCH scheduled by PDCCH #1. UL CH #2 may be a PUCCH for transmitting HARQ-ACK for the PDSCH. The PDSCH may be scheduled by PDCCH #2, and the resource of UL CH #2 may also be indicated by PDCCH #2.”, Lee [0262]) (“For example, UCI/channel transmission may be performed in consideration of the difference in time between the earliest time among UL channels of the same priority (e.g., the highest priority or the lowest priority) overlapping with each other in time, that is, the start symbol of the channel transmitted earlier than the others in the time domain and the last symbol of the channel transmitted later between the PDSCH triggering the PUCCH/PUSCH of the priority or the PDCCH for scheduling the PUCCH/PUSCH of the priority (or the PDCCH for the purpose of releasing the SPS PDSCH). Here, the PDSCH triggering the PUCCH/PUSCH may mean, for example, a PDSCH associated with a HARQ-ACK feedback when the HARQ-ACK feedback is transmitted on the PUCCH/PUSCH.”, Lee [0326]) (“In the present disclosure, a priority of a channel or a signal may be configured or determined based on the channel-related elements.”, Lee [0267]) (“According to another implementation of the present disclosure, in the timeline check for UCI/PUSCH multiplexing of UL channels having different priorities, and/or channel-related elements, a rule may be defined to perform the timeline check for each priority, and/or channel-related element, and/or UCI type (or group). Specifically, when a high-priority UL channel (e.g., PUCCH or PUSCH) overlap in time with a low-priority UL channel (e.g., PUCCH or PUSCH), the timeline check may be performed on the UL channels for each priority, respectively.”, Lee [0325])
wherein a first radio resource block group comprises a radio resource block that corresponds to the first priority index and is different from the first radio resource block, (“For the URLLC HARQ-ACK, the UE may be configured/defined to cause the URLLC HARQ-ACK to piggyback on the PUSCH based on puncturing regardless of the number of bits. That is, for a UCI having a high priority, the UE may perform piggyback by puncturing the PUSCH resource region to which the UCI is to be mapped.”, Lee [0315]) (Examiner’s Note: URLLC HARQ-ACK corresponds to first priority index and can piggy back on PUSCH which comprises other resource blocks in the resource block group)
wherein, when the first radio resource block and the second radio resource block overlap in a time domain and at least one condition is fulfilled, the PUSCH transmission carries a bit block generated by the second bit block, (“When the multiple UL channels fail to satisfy the predetermined multiplexing timeline condition, at least one UCI associated with the UL channels may be caused to piggyback on the PUSCH based on the priority associated with the UCI. Specifically, the UE may determine whether the difference in time between the earliest time of the PUCCH and PUSCH overlapping in the time domain, that is, the first symbol (i.e., the start symbol) of the channel transmitted earlier in the time domain and the last symbols of the PDSCH (e.g., PDSCH corresponding to HARQ-ACK) associated with the PUCCH and/or the PUSCH is less than or equal to a predetermined value”, Lee [0317]) (Examiner’s Note: a bit block generated for PUCCH is piggybacked on PUSCH when PUCCH and PUSCH overlap and satisfy a condition)
and wherein, when the PUSCH transmission carries the bit block generated by the second bit block, the second bit block is not transmitted in the PUCCH resource. (“When the multiple UL channels fail to satisfy the predetermined multiplexing timeline condition, at least one UCI associated with the UL channels may be caused to piggyback on the PUSCH based on the priority associated with the UCI. Specifically, the UE may determine whether the difference in time between the earliest time of the PUCCH and PUSCH overlapping in the time domain, that is, the first symbol (i.e., the start symbol) of the channel transmitted earlier in the time domain and the last symbols of the PDSCH (e.g., PDSCH corresponding to HARQ-ACK) associated with the PUCCH and/or the PUSCH is less than or equal to a predetermined value”, Lee [0317]) (Examiner’s Note: a bit block generated for PUCCH is piggybacked on PUSCH when PUCCH and PUSCH overlap and satisfy a condition)(Examiner’s Note: PUCCH bit block is piggybacked on PUSCH)
Bae, Ratasuk, and Lee are analogous because they pertain to managing resources of multiple UEs.
Thus it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to include PUCCH and PUSCH signaling as described in Lee into Bae as modified by Ratasuk. By modifying the method to include PUCCH and PUSCH signaling as taught by Lee, the benefits of improved resource management of multiple UEs (Ratasuk [0034], Lee [0005], and Bae [0136]) are achieved.
Claim(s) 2, 4-8, 14, and 16-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Bae in view of Ratasuk and Lee, as applied to claim1 above, and further in view of Bae et al. US 20230035066 (hereinafter “Bae2”)
As to claim 2 and 14 (claim 14 is the method claim for the node in claim 2):
The combination of Bae, Lee, and Ratasuk as described above does not explicitly teach:
The UE of claim 1, wherein the radio resource block that corresponds to the first index and is different from the first radio resource block comprises a PUCCH resource.
However, Bae2 further teaches PUCCH and PUSCH signaling which includes:
The UE of claim 1, wherein the radio resource block that corresponds to the first index and is different from the first radio resource block comprises a PUCCH resource. (“FIG. 11 illustrates a process for a UE with an overlapping PUCCH and PUSCH in a single slot to handle collision between UL channels.”, Bae2 [0195]) (“The BS may perform the reception operation under the expectation that a PUSCH will be dropped and a PUCCH will be transmitted. This option may be particularly effective when priority of the PUSCH is relatively low compared to priority of the PUCCH.”, Bae2 [0267]) (Examiner’s Note: PUCCH and PUSCH have different priority indices)
Bae, Ratasuk, Bae2, and Lee are analogous because they pertain to managing resources of multiple UEs.
Thus it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to include PUCCH and PUSCH signaling as described in Bae2 into Bae as modified by Ratasuk and Lee. By modifying the method to include PUCCH and PUSCH signaling as taught by Lee, the benefits of improved resource management of multiple UEs (Ratasuk [0034], Lee [0005], Bae [0136], and Bae2 [0267]) are achieved.
As to claim 4 and 16 (claim 16 is the method claim for the node in claim 4):
The combination of Bae, Lee, and Ratasuk as described above does not explicitly teach:
The UE of claim 1, wherein the second radio resource block and the radio resource block that corresponds to the first priority index and is different from the first radio resource block are overlapping in the time domain, wherein the first radio resource block and a radio resource block in the first radio resource block group are respectively reserved for different types of physical-layer channels, wherein whether the radio resource block in the first radio resource block group is reserved for a first-type physical-layer channel or a second-type physical-layer channel is used to determine whether the PUSCH transmission carries a bit block generated by the second bit block.
However, Bae2 further teaches PUCCH and PUSCH signaling which includes:
The UE of claim 1, wherein the second radio resource block and the radio resource block that corresponds to the first priority index and is different from the first radio resource block are overlapping in the time domain, wherein the first radio resource block and a radio resource block in the first radio resource block group are respectively reserved for different types of physical-layer channels, (“FIG. 11 illustrates a process for a UE with an overlapping PUCCH and PUSCH in a single slot to handle collision between UL channels.”, Bae2 [0195]) (“The BS may perform the reception operation under the expectation that a PUSCH will be dropped and a PUCCH will be transmitted. This option may be particularly effective when priority of the PUSCH is relatively low compared to priority of the PUCCH.”, Bae2 [0267]) (Examiner’s Note: PUCCH and PUSCH have different priority indices)
wherein whether the radio resource block in the first radio resource block group is reserved for a first-type physical-layer channel or a second-type physical-layer channel is used to determine whether the PUSCH transmission carries a bit block generated by the second bit block. (“The operation of the BS may be determined by checking i) a time difference between ending symbols of a PUCCH and a PUSCH, and ii) a timeline {DL assignment DCI-to-PUCCH carrying eMBB HARQ-ACK} and/or {UL grant DCI-to-URLLC PUSCH} (for Case a and/or Case c).”, Bae2 [0276]) (Examiner’s Note: the Examiner interpreted this claim limitation as checking the signal type by determining whether the signal carries a bit block/HARQ-ACK – in this case BS determines whether the signal is a PUCCH carrying HARQ-ACK or PUSCH without HARQ-ACK)
Bae, Ratasuk, Bae2, and Lee are analogous because they pertain to managing resources of multiple UEs.
Thus it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to include PUCCH and PUSCH signaling as described in Bae2 into Bae as modified by Ratasuk and Lee. By modifying the method to include PUCCH and PUSCH signaling as taught by Lee, the benefits of improved resource management of multiple UEs (Ratasuk [0034], Lee [0005], Bae [0136], and Bae2 [0267]) are achieved.
As to claim 5 and 17 (claim 17 is the method claim for the node in claim 5):
The combination of Bae, Lee, and Ratasuk as described above does not explicitly teach:
The UE of claim 1, wherein the second radio resource block and the radio resource block that corresponds to the first priority index and is different from the first radio resource block are overlapping in the time domain,
wherein a radio resource block in the first radio resource block group is the radio resource block that corresponds to the first priority index and is different from the first radio resource bloc
wherein one of the first radio resource block and the radio resource block that corresponds to the first priority index and is different from the first radio resource block is reserved for a first-type physical-layer channel, and the other one of the first radio resource block and the radio resource block that corresponds to the first priority index and is different from the first radio resource block is reserved for a second-type physical-layer channel
wherein when the radio resource block that corresponds to the first priority index and is different from the first radio resource block is reserved for a said first- type physical-layer channel, the first radio resource block is reserved for a said second-type physical-layer channel, the PUSCH transmission not carrying any bit block generated by the second bit block ;
wherein when the radio resource block that corresponds to the first priority index and is different from the first radio resource block is reserved for a said second- type physical-layer channel, the first radio resource block is reserved for a said first- type physical-layer channel, where the PUSCH transmission carries a bit block generated by the second bit block.
However, Bae2 further teaches PUCCH and PUSCH signaling which includes:
The UE of claim 1, wherein the second radio resource block and the radio resource block that corresponds to the first priority index and is different from the first radio resource block are overlapping in the time domain, (“FIG. 11 illustrates a process for a UE with an overlapping PUCCH and PUSCH in a single slot to handle collision between UL channels.”, Bae2 [0195]) (“The BS may perform the reception operation under the expectation that a PUSCH will be dropped and a PUCCH will be transmitted. This option may be particularly effective when priority of the PUSCH is relatively low compared to priority of the PUCCH.”, Bae2 [0267]) (Examiner’s Note: PUCCH and PUSCH have different priority indices)
wherein a radio resource block in the first radio resource block group is the radio resource block that corresponds to the first priority index and is different from the first radio resource bloc(“The BS may perform the reception operation under the expectation that a PUSCH will be dropped and a PUCCH will be transmitted. This option may be particularly effective when priority of the PUSCH is relatively low compared to priority of the PUCCH.”, Bae2 [0267]) (Examiner’s Note: PUCCH and PUSCH have different priority indices)
wherein one of the first radio resource block and the radio resource block that corresponds to the first priority index and is different from the first radio resource block is reserved for a first-type physical-layer channel, and the other one of the first radio resource block and the radio resource block that corresponds to the first priority index and is different from the first radio resource block is reserved for a second-type physical-layer channel (“The BS may perform the reception operation under the expectation that a PUSCH will be dropped and a PUCCH will be transmitted. This option may be particularly effective when priority of the PUSCH is relatively low compared to priority of the PUCCH.”, Bae2 [0267]) (Examiner’s Note: PUCCH and PUSCH have different priority indices)
wherein when the radio resource block that corresponds to the first priority index and is different from the first radio resource block is reserved for a said first- type physical-layer channel, the first radio resource block is reserved for a said second-type physical-layer channel, the PUSCH transmission not carrying any bit block generated by the second bit block ; (“The operation of the BS may be determined by checking i) a time difference between ending symbols of a PUCCH and a PUSCH, and ii) a timeline {DL assignment DCI-to-PUCCH carrying eMBB HARQ-ACK} and/or {UL grant DCI-to-URLLC PUSCH} (for Case a and/or Case c).”, Bae2 [0276]) (“The BS may perform the reception operation under the expectation that a PUSCH will be dropped and a PUCCH will be transmitted. This option may be particularly effective when priority of the PUSCH is relatively low compared to priority of the PUCCH.”, Bae2 [0267]) (Examiner’s Note: PUCCH and PUSCH have different priority indices)
wherein when the radio resource block that corresponds to the first priority index and is different from the first radio resource block is reserved for a said second- type physical-layer channel, the first radio resource block is reserved for a said first- type physical-layer channel, where the PUSCH transmission carries a bit block generated by the second bit block. (“FIG. 8 illustrates an example of multiplexing UCI with a PUSCH. When PUCCH resource(s) and a PUSCH resource overlap in a slot and PUCCH-PUSCH simultaneous transmission is not configured, UCI may be transmitted on the PUSCH as illustrated. Transmission of the UCI on the PUSCH is referred to as UCI piggyback or PUSCH piggyback. Particularly, FIG. 8 illustrates the case in which HARQ-ACK and CSI are carried on the PUSCH resource.”, Bae2 [0190])
Bae, Ratasuk, Bae2, and Lee are analogous because they pertain to managing resources of multiple UEs.
Thus it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to include PUCCH and PUSCH signaling as described in Bae2 into Bae as modified by Ratasuk and Lee. By modifying the method to include PUCCH and PUSCH signaling as taught by Lee, the benefits of improved resource management of multiple UEs (Ratasuk [0034], Lee [0005], Bae [0136], and Bae2 [0267]) are achieved.
As to claim 6 and 18 (claim 18 is the method claim for the node in claim 6):
The combination of Bae, Lee, and Ratasuk as described above does not explicitly teach:
The UE of claim 1, wherein a radio resource block in the first radio resource block group is reserved for a third bit block, wherein a third radio resource block and the first radio resource block group are both used to determine whether the PUSCH transmission carries a bit block generated by the second bit block, and wherein the second bit block and the third bit block are used together to determine the third radio resource block.
However, Bae2 further teaches PUCCH and PUSCH signaling which includes:
The UE of claim 1, wherein a radio resource block in the first radio resource block group is reserved for a third bit block, wherein a third radio resource block and the first radio resource block group are both used to determine whether the PUSCH transmission carries a bit block generated by the second bit block, and wherein the second bit block and the third bit block are used together to determine the third radio resource block. (“Hybrid automatic repeat request (HARQ)-acknowledgment (ACK): A response to a DL data packet (e.g., codeword) on the PDSCH. HARQ-ACK indicates whether the DL data packet has been successfully received by a communication device. In response to a single codeword, 1-bit HARQ-ACK may be transmitted. In response to two codewords, 2-bit HARQ-ACK may be transmitted. The HARQ-ACK response includes positive ACK (simply, ACK), negative ACK (NACK), discontinuous transmission (DTX), or NACK/DTX. Here, the term HARQ-ACK is used interchangeably with HARQ ACK/NACK, ACK/NACK, or A/N.”, Bae2 [0096]) (“The operation of the BS may be determined by checking i) a time difference between ending symbols of a PUCCH and a PUSCH, and ii) a timeline {DL assignment DCI-to-PUCCH carrying eMBB HARQ-ACK} and/or {UL grant DCI-to-URLLC PUSCH} (for Case a and/or Case c).”, Bae2 [0276]) (Examiner’s Note: bit block/HARQ-ACK is determined using PDSCH radio resource block and PUCCH radio resource block)
Bae, Ratasuk, Bae2, and Lee are analogous because they pertain to managing resources of multiple UEs.
Thus it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to include PUCCH and PUSCH signaling as described in Bae2 into Bae as modified by Ratasuk and Lee. By modifying the method to include PUCCH and PUSCH signaling as taught by Lee, the benefits of improved resource management of multiple UEs (Ratasuk [0034], Lee [0005], Bae [0136], and Bae2 [0267]) are achieved.
As to claim 7 and 19 (claim 19 is the method claim for the node in claim 7):
The combination of Bae, Lee, and Ratasuk as described above does not explicitly teach:
The UE of claim 6, wherein when the third radio resource block is the same as a radio resource block in the first radio resource block group, wherein a bit block generated by the second bit block is transmitted in the third radio resource block, the PUSCH transmission not carrying any bit block generated by the second bit block wherein when the third radio resource block is different from a radio resource block in the first radio resource block group, the PUSCH transmission carries a bit block generated by the second bit block.
However, Bae2 further teaches PUCCH and PUSCH signaling which includes:
The UE of claim 6, wherein when the third radio resource block is the same as a radio resource block in the first radio resource block group, wherein a bit block generated by the second bit block is transmitted in the third radio resource block, the PUSCH transmission not carrying any bit block generated by the second bit block wherein when the third radio resource block is different from a radio resource block in the first radio resource block group, the PUSCH transmission carries a bit block generated by the second bit block. (“FIG. 8 illustrates an example of multiplexing UCI with a PUSCH. When PUCCH resource(s) and a PUSCH resource overlap in a slot and PUCCH-PUSCH simultaneous transmission is not configured, UCI may be transmitted on the PUSCH as illustrated. Transmission of the UCI on the PUSCH is referred to as UCI piggyback or PUSCH piggyback. Particularly, FIG. 8 illustrates the case in which HARQ-ACK and CSI are carried on the PUSCH resource.”, Bae2 [0190]) (“Hybrid automatic repeat request (HARQ)-acknowledgment (ACK): A response to a DL data packet (e.g., codeword) on the PDSCH. HARQ-ACK indicates whether the DL data packet has been successfully received by a communication device. In response to a single codeword, 1-bit HARQ-ACK may be transmitted. In response to two codewords, 2-bit HARQ-ACK may be transmitted. The HARQ-ACK response includes positive ACK (simply, ACK), negative ACK (NACK), discontinuous transmission (DTX), or NACK/DTX. Here, the term HARQ-ACK is used interchangeably with HARQ ACK/NACK, ACK/NACK, or A/N.”, Bae2 [0096]) (“The operation of the BS may be determined by checking i) a time difference between ending symbols of a PUCCH and a PUSCH, and ii) a timeline {DL assignment DCI-to-PUCCH carrying eMBB HARQ-ACK} and/or {UL grant DCI-to-URLLC PUSCH} (for Case a and/or Case c).”, Bae2 [0276]) (Examiner’s Note: HARQ-ACK isn’t carried by PUSCH and DCI used to schedule PUSCH – HARQ-ACK is only carried by PUCCH which is scheduled by DCI used to schedule PUCCH)
Bae, Ratasuk, Bae2, and Lee are analogous because they pertain to managing resources of multiple UEs.
Thus it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to include PUCCH and PUSCH signaling as described in Bae2 into Bae as modified by Ratasuk and Lee. By modifying the method to include PUCCH and PUSCH signaling as taught by Lee, the benefits of improved resource management of multiple UEs (Ratasuk [0034], Lee [0005], Bae [0136], and Bae2 [0267]) are achieved.
As to claim 8 and 20 (claim 20 is the method claim for the node in claim 8):
The combination of Bae, Lee, and Ratasuk as described above does not explicitly teach:
The UE of claim 1, wherein the first signaling is used to determine a fourth bit block, wherein the fourth bit block is used for generating the first bit block, wherein a fourth radio resource block and the first radio resource block group are used to determine whether the PUSCH transmission carries a bit block generated by the second bit block, wherein the fourth bit block and the second bit block are jointly used to determine the fourth radio resource block.
However, Bae2 further teaches PUCCH and PUSCH signaling which includes:
The UE of claim 1, wherein the first signaling is used to determine a fourth bit block, wherein the fourth bit block is used for generating the first bit block, wherein a fourth radio resource block and the first radio resource block group are used to determine whether the PUSCH transmission carries a bit block generated by the second bit block, wherein the fourth bit block and the second bit block are jointly used to determine the fourth radio resource block. (“Hybrid automatic repeat request (HARQ)-acknowledgment (ACK): A response to a DL data packet (e.g., codeword) on the PDSCH. HARQ-ACK indicates whether the DL data packet has been successfully received by a communication device. In response to a single codeword, 1-bit HARQ-ACK may be transmitted. In response to two codewords, 2-bit HARQ-ACK may be transmitted. The HARQ-ACK response includes positive ACK (simply, ACK), negative ACK (NACK), discontinuous transmission (DTX), or NACK/DTX. Here, the term HARQ-ACK is used interchangeably with HARQ ACK/NACK, ACK/NACK, or A/N.”, Bae2 [0096]) (“The operation of the BS may be determined by checking i) a time difference between ending symbols of a PUCCH and a PUSCH, and ii) a timeline {DL assignment DCI-to-PUCCH carrying eMBB HARQ-ACK} and/or {UL grant DCI-to-URLLC PUSCH} (for Case a and/or Case c).”, Bae2 [0276]) (Examiner’s Note: HARQ-ACK isn’t carried by PUSCH and DCI used to schedule PUSCH – HARQ-ACK is only carried by PUCCH which is scheduled by DCI used to schedule PUCCH)
Bae, Ratasuk, Bae2, and Lee are analogous because they pertain to managing resources of multiple UEs.
Thus it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to include PUCCH and PUSCH signaling as described in Bae2 into Bae as modified by Ratasuk and Lee. By modifying the method to include PUCCH and PUSCH signaling as taught by Lee, the benefits of improved resource management of multiple UEs (Ratasuk [0034], Lee [0005], Bae [0136], and Bae2 [0267]) are achieved.
Conclusion
/A.C.K./
Examiner
Art Unit 2471
/MOHAMMAD S ADHAMI/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2471