Drawings
The drawings are objected to because the lines of drawings 1-3 are not sufficiently dark and dense for reproduction. Corrected drawing sheets in compliance with 37 CFR 1.121(d) are required in reply to the Office action to avoid abandonment of the application. Any amended replacement drawing sheet should include all of the figures appearing on the immediate prior version of the sheet, even if only one figure is being amended. The figure or figure number of an amended drawing should not be labeled as “amended.” If a drawing figure is to be canceled, the appropriate figure must be removed from the replacement sheet, and where necessary, the remaining figures must be renumbered and appropriate changes made to the brief description of the several views of the drawings for consistency. Additional replacement sheets may be necessary to show the renumbering of the remaining figures. Each drawing sheet submitted after the filing date of an application must be labeled in the top margin as either “Replacement Sheet” or “New Sheet” pursuant to 37 CFR 1.121(d). If the changes are not accepted by the examiner, the applicant will be notified and informed of any required corrective action in the next Office action. The objection to the drawings will not be held in abeyance.
The drawings are objected to because in Fig. 4 “plat” should be “plate”. Corrected drawing sheets in compliance with 37 CFR 1.121(d) are required in reply to the Office action to avoid abandonment of the application. Any amended replacement drawing sheet should include all of the figures appearing on the immediate prior version of the sheet, even if only one figure is being amended. The figure or figure number of an amended drawing should not be labeled as “amended.” If a drawing figure is to be canceled, the appropriate figure must be removed from the replacement sheet, and where necessary, the remaining figures must be renumbered and appropriate changes made to the brief description of the several views of the drawings for consistency. Additional replacement sheets may be necessary to show the renumbering of the remaining figures. Each drawing sheet submitted after the filing date of an application must be labeled in the top margin as either “Replacement Sheet” or “New Sheet” pursuant to 37 CFR 1.121(d). If the changes are not accepted by the examiner, the applicant will be notified and informed of any required corrective action in the next Office action. The objection to the drawings will not be held in abeyance.
Claim Interpretation
This application includes one or more claim limitations that do not use the word “means,” but are nonetheless being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, because the claim limitation(s) uses a generic placeholder that is coupled with functional language without reciting sufficient structure to perform the recited function and the generic placeholder is not preceded by a structural modifier. Such claim limitation(s) is/are: “control apparatus” and “detection apparatus” in claims 1 and 4 respectively.
Note that other limitations which include a nonce term and function such as “transfer apparatus” and “electric field generation apparatus” are NOT interpreted under 35 USC §112f as further limitations define the structure that performs the function.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 4-8 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Regarding claim 4 (and by dependency 4-6 and 8), the term “relatively closer to the inlet” is indefinite.” Specifically, what is the “detection apparatus” farther away from in order to be closer to the inlet.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over DE 2017210327 to Ostermeier in view of CN 111700108 to Zou.
Regarding claim 1,
A food preservation apparatus, comprising: a case body (7), forming an accommodating space inside (area interior of 7 in which food 2 is shown in Fig. 4), the case body comprising an inlet (follow conveyer arrows) and an outlet (follow conveyor arrows) in communication with the accommodating space (Fig. 4); a transfer apparatus (13, 16, 17, 18, 25), comprising a conveyor belt (16) and a drive assembly (18), wherein part of the conveyor belt is located in the accommodating space (Fig. 4), and the drive assembly is connected to the conveyor belt (Fig. 4), and drives the conveyor belt to move in a direction from the inlet to the outlet (Translation page 6 final paragraph); at least one electric field generation apparatus (11, 12), configured to generate a local electric field (“homogenous electric field can be generated”), the electric field generation apparatus being located in the accommodating space (Fig. 4), and comprising a plurality of electrode plates (11); and a control apparatus (15), electrically connected to the drive assembly and the plurality of electrode plates, the control apparatus being configured to control the drive assembly and the plurality of electrode plates to actuate (The voltage source 13 is via a control line 14 with a central control unit 15) and the plurality of electrode plates is arranged at intervals on the insulating substrate in the direction from the inlet to the outlet (Fig. 4, they are arranged at an interval at the top and bottom and extend from inlet to outlet).
Ostermeier shows a schematic level drawing in Fig. 4 and thus does not show the specific physical orientation and structure of the electrodes and thus does not teach: an insulating substrate and wherein the insulating substrate is disposed on an inner side wall surface of the case body on a different side from the part of the conveyor belt.
Zou shows that electrodes (75) for a sterilization field (abstract) can be placed on an insulating substrate (72) that is disposed on an inner side wall surface of a case body on a different side part of the conveyor belt (Figure 1).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to modify Ostermeier to include an insulating substrate in the manner taught by Zou, for the purpose of preventing ground faults between the case and the electrode thus enhancing safety.
Claim(s) 2 and 7 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ostermeier and Zou and in further view of USPUB 20020088800 to Miller.
Regarding claim 2
Ostermeier as modified teaches all of the limitations as discussed above, but does not teach the case body comprises at least one electric partition, the at least one electric partition is electrically connected to the control apparatus, and divides the accommodating space into a plurality of subspaces, and one of the electric field generation apparatuses is respectively disposed in the plurality of subspaces.
With respect to the partition, it is known from Miller to provide electrically operated doors “partitions” connected to a control apparatus (1) which partition cavities along a conveyor belt (Fig. 1).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to provide an electrically controlled partition as required by the claim to further modify Ostermeier, as this is nothing more than the addition of known structure (a partition for a conveyor cavity) added by means of known methods (electrical control) to produce a predictable result (a partitioned cavity).
As to the partitions separating the accommodating space into a plurality of subspaces and one of the electric field generation apparatuses is respectively disposed in the plurality of subspaces. This can be achieved from a duplication of the structures of the case body and all internal components of Ostermeir along the conveyor with the interior space of each collectively interpreted as the “accommodating” space. As such it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to further modify Ostermeir to duplicate the case body and all internal electronics along with the now added partition from Miller along the conveyor belt to arrive at a plurality of subspaces each with an electrode and partition as required by the claims.
Regarding claim 7
Ostermeier as modified teaches all of the limitations as discussed above, but does not teach wherein a valve is respectively disposed in each of the inlet and outlet of the case body to respectively open or close the inlet and the outlet.
it is known from Miller to provide electrically operated doors “valves” connected to a control apparatus (1) disposed in each of the inlet and outlet of the case body to respectively open or close the inlet and the outlet (Fig. 1 see inlet and outlet doors and respective actuators).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to provide an electrically controlled valve at the inlet and outlet as taught by Miller for the purposes of providing an enclosure for the electromagnetic radiation thus enhancing safety.
Claim interpretation note: Applicant appears to be using the term “valve” rather broadly. The “valves” shown are simply doors at the inlet and outlet (see numeral 14). However, after further research it appears that this is a known, if broad, use of the term valve to describe anything which controls the flow of another device. As such the Examiner has adopted the broader definition during examination as this is only definition which would have support under 35 USC §112 (a).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claim 3 is objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Claims 4-6 and 8 are rejected under 35 USC §112 (b), but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims and to address the issue under 35 USC §112b.
The prior art does not teach or make obvious the “pick-up ports” in the particular side wall location and with a box cover.
Conclusion
/WOODY A LEE JR/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3761