Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claim 1 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection below incorporates additional teaching of the prior art not found in the prior rejection of record or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-5, 7-10 and 12-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1 or 2) as being anticipated by Aoki (US Pub 2017/0194771 newly cited)
In regard to claim 1 and 17, Aoki teaches a battery module 10 comprising: at least one cell stack including a plurality of battery cells (batteries 101 in cell holder 16a); a housing (holder, fixing members 13, module cover 15 etc.) having a plurality of accommodating spaces partitioned by a partition member (cell holders 16A-D, paragraph [0039-0042]) in which at least one accommodating space is provided to accommodate the at least one cell stack (figure 1 and 2); a busbar assembly including at least one busbar 45 electrically connected to the plurality of battery cells (paragraph [0043-45]), and
a busbar support member (bus bar cover 180, 280) disposed between the busbar and the cell stack to support the busbar; and a sensing module assembly (circuit board 14, sensor mounting portion 181, 281 – integrated with busbar cover) provided to measure a state of at least one battery cell of the plurality of battery cells, wherein the sensing module assembly comprises, a sensing circuit board 14 having a circuit provided for detecting the state of the at least one battery cell, a temperature sensor 110, 210 installed to be spaced apart from the sensing circuit board 14 to measure a temperature of the at least one battery cell, a sensor connection member (wires 112 of attachment 250 including contact surface 214) connecting the sensing circuit board 14 and the temperature sensor 210, and a sensor fixing member (accommodating portion 251) penetrating the busbar support member 280 in such a manner that the temperature sensor measures a temperature in a preset position (paragraphs [0054-0093], figures 4-12),
wherein the sensor fixing member 251 includes a fixing body having a fastening part (pressing blade 220) fastened to the sensing circuit board 14 and an extended body extending from the fixing body through an opening of the sensing circuit board toward the temperature sensor 210, and wherein the fixing body of the sensor fixing member 250 is disposed on an outer surface of the sensing circuit board, wherein the sensor connection member includes a first end to which the sensing circuit board is connected and a second end on which the temperature sensor 210 is installed, wherein the sensor connection member 112 is disposed on an outside of the sensor fixing member and electrically connects the sensing circuit board to the temperature sensor, and wherein, when the fixing body 251 of the sensor fixing member is fastened on the outer surface of the sensing circuit board 14, an inner end region of the sensor fixing member is structured to press the second end of the sensor connection member (contact surface 215) toward the at least one battery cell so that the sensor connection member 215 and the at least one battery cell contact each other (annotated figure 12 below, paragraphs [0060-0093]).
In regard to claim 2, the sensor fixing member 251 is in contact with a portion of the sensor connection member 214, in which the temperature sensor 210 is installed (figure 18).
In regard to claim 3, the extended body of the sensor fixing member 251 penetrates a sensor installation opening provided in the busbar support member (figure 12 above).
In regard to claim 4, the sensor connection member (wire 112 down to contact part 214) has a deformable shape or material, and the sensor fixing member is configured to limit movement or deformation of the second end before the second end or the temperature sensor contacts the at least one battery cell (figure 12 and 20 – paragraph [0105]).
In regard to claim 5, the sensor connection member 112 includes a wire (paragraph [0059], figure 12 and 18).
In regard to claim 7, the sensor fixing member further includes an elastic pad (pressing blades 120, 220) installed on the extended body at a position facing the temperature sensor 110, 210, wherein the elastic pad elastically presses the second end (paragraph [0107, 0129], figure 20).
In regard to claim 8, the elastic pad 110, 220 has an opening (opening 251a) surrounding at least a portion of a circumference of the temperature sensor (paragraph [0094], figure 16B).
In regard to claim 9, the elastic pad is installed on the extended body, and has a size exposed to the outside of the extended body (figure 12).
In regard to claim 10, the sensing circuit board includes a printed circuit board 14, wherein the sensing circuit board includes a coupling portion (see various locations in figure 2) corresponding to the fastening part (paragraph [0050], figure 2).
In regard to claim 12, the sensing module assembly further includes a connector (voltage detection line) configured to receive a state (i.e. voltage) the at least one battery cell measured on a location different from a location of the temperature sensor (paragraph [0079]).
In regard to claim 13, the sensing module assembly includes, an additional temperature sensor 110 measuring a temperature of other battery cell in a position different from a location of the temperature sensor; an additional connecting member connecting the connector and the additional temperature sensor; and an additional fixing member (mounting portions 181 receiving sensor attachments 250) fixed to the busbar support member and used for installing the additional temperature sensor (paragraph [0054], a plurality of sensor mounting portions 181 for measuring the temperature of each cell 101 at location 108e – see figure 3).
In regard to claim 14, the additional fixing member 251 includes a fixing body having a fastening part fastened to the busbar supporting member, and an extended body extending toward the additional temperature sensor by penetrating through a sensor installation opening provided in the busbar supporting member (paragraph [0054] – each portion formed the same as above).
In regard to claim 15, the additional connection member (such as wire 121, elastic arms 220) has a deformable shape or material, and wherein the additional fixing member restricts movement or deformation of a portion of the additional connection member in which the additional temperature sensor is installed, before the additional connection member or the additional temperature sensor comes into contact with the other battery cell (paragraphs [0091-0101], figures 11, 12 and 19).
In regard to claim 16, the sensing module assembly further includes a voltage sensing terminal connecting the sensing circuit board and the at least one busbar (paragraph [0079], voltage detection line).
In regard to claim 18, the busbar assembly 180 is disposed to cover the plurality of cell stacks, the sensing circuit board 14 is installed on the outside of the busbar support member, and the sensor fixing member is installed by penetrating through a sensor installation opening provided in the busbar support member (paragraph [0054).
In regard to claim 19, each of cell stacks 101 is provided by stacking the plurality of battery cells while lying on sides thereof, and is disposed on both sides of the partition member 16 respectively (figure 2).
In regard to claim 20, the sensing module assembly includes a plurality of temperature sensors to measure a temperature of each of cell stacks (paragraph [0054], a plurality of sensor mounting portions 181).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 11 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Aoki as applied to claim 1 and further in view of Jung et al. (US Pub 2022/0304158 of record).
In regard to claim 11, Aoki teaches the battery module as applied above but does not specify the sensing circuit board includes a flexible printed circuit board.
However, Jung et al. teach a similar battery module comprising: at least one cell stack including a plurality of battery cells 10; a housing (cell frame 20) in which at least one accommodating space is provided to accommodate the at least one cell stack (figure 1); a busbar assembly including at least one busbar 40 electrically connected to the plurality of battery cells, and a busbar support member (bus bar holder 30) disposed between the busbar and the cell stack to support the busbar; and a sensing module (hybrid circuit board 50, 50’) assembly provided to measure a state of at least one battery cell of the plurality of battery cells, wherein the sensing module assembly comprises, a sensing circuit board (rigid substrate 50a) having a circuit provided for detecting the state of the at least one battery cell, a temperature sensor 544 installed to be spaced apart from the sensing circuit board to measure a temperature of the battery cell, a sensor connection member (sensor connection portion 540 of/or flexible substrate 50b) connecting the sensing circuit board 50a and the temperature sensor 544, and a sensor fixing member (including foam pad 542 and metal tab 546) connected to the busbar support member 30 in such a manner that the temperature sensor measures a temperature in a preset position (such as cap 12 - paragraphs [0037-0061], figures 1-5 and 7-9).
Jung et al. teach the desirability for sensing circuit board includes a flexible printed circuit board 50b, wherein the sensing circuit board is provided with a reinforcing member attached to the sensing circuit board 50a, to support the fastening part, and wherein the reinforcing member includes a coupling portion corresponding to the fastening part (paragraph [0044-45], figures 2, 7 and 8) because such allows for additional flexibilities in the connection of the sensing structure.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the before the effective filing date of the claimed invention filed to include a flexible printed circuit board with a reinforcement member for attaching the circuit board to the sensing structure of Aoki as such allows for additional flexibility in the structure as taught by Jung et al.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure – Rhein et al. (US Pub 2016/0380319) teaches a similar battery module with temperature monitoring device.
/NICHOLAS P D'ANIELLO/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1723