DETAILED ACTION
This Office Action is in response to Applicants Request for Continued Examination received on November 5, 2025. Claim(s) 1-11 is/are currently pending in the instant application. The application claims priority to Japanese application 2021-185353 and Japanese application 2021/185536, both filed on November 15, 2021.
Response to Amendment
The Examiner acknowledges the Applicants amendments to claims 1, 10, and 11 in the response filed on November 5, 2025. No claims have been canceled.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1, 10, and 11 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over E.P. Publication Matsuzaki EP 3,340,002 A1 (hereafter Matsuzaki) in view of Glaser U.S. Publication 2018/0308064 A1 (hereafter Glaser).
Regarding claim 1, Matsuzaki discloses acquiring, by the processor, a work plan that mutually associates a work site where a work vehicle does work (see at least [0027], Fig. 2 exemplifies work event plan points (e.g. indicated by reference signs S1, S2, ... in Fig. 2) set along the planned travel route. Work events to be executed at the work event plan points (e.g. indicated by reference signs E1, E2, ... in Fig. 2) and on-map positions (e.g. indicated by reference signs P1, P2, ... in Fig. 2) may be allocated to the work event plan points. The work would be performed at a work site such as a field), work content of the work to be done by the work vehicle at the work site (see at least [0007], a work event planning section configured to generate a work event plan prescribing a work event executed during work travel along the travel route;);
determining, by the processor, whether a first work plan (see at least Fig. 4, work plan preparing section and work plan document); that is associated with a corresponding first work status alert is present in a plurality of work plans for the work vehicle (see at least [0031], Fig. 4, the work event plan management section 51 may receive a work plan document including the travel route generated by the travel route generating section 41 and the work event plan generated by the work event planning section 42, and manage the contents of the work event and the coordinate position of the work event to be executed, at each work event plan point set on the travel route. The work event plan management section 51 may compare the own position calculated by the own position calculation section 70 and the coordinate position of each work event plan point, and transmit, to the work travel monitor screen generating section 52, data (e.g. the own position and the contents of the work event) necessary for preparation of a work event display screen. The work travel monitor screen generating section 52 may receive the data transmitted from the work event plan management section 51, and generate work event display screen data including a name of the work event and the own position on the work route to be notified to an observer at the own position. The touch panel 43 may display a monitor screen according to the work event display screen data.)
initiating, by the processor, based on the work status alert, a notification of a work information for the first work plan (see at least [0029], a communication function of exchanging data via a wireless line or a wired line, and the like. The data-signal lines may be connected with vehicle travel instruments 91 including actuation instruments to the engine 20, the transmission 3, the steering mechanism, and the like, work device instruments 92 including actuation instruments to the tilling device 22, the lifting mechanism 23, and the like, a notification device 93, and the like. The notification device 93 may include, but is not limited to, a lamp 94, a speaker 95, as well as a gauge and/or a beeper.), when the first work plan is present in the plurality of work plans (see at least [0015], Before the plurality of automatic travelling work vehicles execute cooperative work travel, travel routes may be generated for the work travel of the plurality of automatic travelling work vehicles, and/or a work event plan document may be generated, the work event plan document prescribing work events to be executed by the automatic travelling work vehicles on the travel routes. In the cooperative work travel, an observer boarding one of the automatic travelling work vehicles may monitor the own work travel as well as the work travel of the remaining automatic travelling work vehicles (e.g. other vehicles). Alternatively, an observer positioned to be able to monitor the work travel of all the vehicles may monitor the work travel of all the vehicles by means of a monitor screen of a communication terminal (such as a tablet computer or a smartphone) having the monitor display function, carried by the observer.); and,
when the first work plan is present in the plurality of work plans, setting a target route based on the first work plan (see at least [0030] The first control unit 4 may include a work plan preparing section 40 having a function of preparing a plan of work travel of the tractor along a travel route in a field by means of the touch panel 43. In a case where a work plan document is preliminarily prepared, the work plan document can be received entirely or partially through communication and/or via a recording medium. The work plan preparing section 40 thus may include a travel route generating section 41 and a work event planning section 42. As shown in Fig. 4, the travel route generating section 41 may refer to field information including a shape of a field as a work target, and the like, and generate a travel route using a travel route generation program preliminarily installed.), and an instruction is sent from the server to automatically drive the work vehicle along the target route (see at least [0031] The second control unit 5 may have a control function of notifying, by means of a monitor screen, an observer of an automatic travelling work vehicle, of contents of work events upon automatic travel with execution of the work events sequentially planned along the travel route. The second control unit 5 thus may include a work event plan management section 51 and a work travel monitor screen generating section 52. As shown in Fig. 4, the work event plan management section 51 may receive a work plan document including the travel route generated by the travel route generating section 41 and the work event plan generated by the work event planning section 42, and manage the contents of the work event and the coordinate position of the work event to be executed, at each work event plan point set on the travel route. The work event plan management section 51 may compare the own position calculated by the own position calculation section 70 and the coordinate position of each work event plan point, and transmit, to the work travel monitor screen generating section 52, data (e.g. the own position and the contents of the work event) necessary for preparation of a work event display screen.).
Matsuzaki fails to disclose a scheduled work day to perform the work.
Glaser discloses, in the same field of invention, a multi-mode transportation management system where an autonomous vehicles are manage by an autonomous vehicle system where the system arranges a travel plan based on the content of work to be done where the plans are scheduled (see at least [0033] The autonomous vehicle system 52 includes one or more backend server systems, which may be cloud-based, network-based, or resident at the particular campus or geographical location serviced by the vehicle system 52. The vehicle system 52 can be manned by at least one live advisor, at least one automated advisor, or a combination of both. The vehicle system 52 can communicate with the user devices 54 and the autonomous vehicles 10a-10n to schedule rides, dispatch autonomous vehicles 10a-10n, provide transportation status notifications, provide travel instructions, and the like. In various embodiments, the vehicle system 52 stores account information such as subscriber authentication information, vehicle identifiers, profile records, behavioral patterns, and other pertinent subscriber information.) therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention the use the work planning system and automated vehicles as disclosed by Matsuzaki with the planning and scheduling as taught by Glaser for controlling a dispatch timing of a vehicle in accordance with requested start and end locations with associated travel time as combination of prior art elements is known to yield predictable results (KSR A).
Claim 10 is substantially similar to claim 1 and therefore rejected under the same rationale.
Claim 11 is substantially similar to claims 1 and/or 10 and therefore rejected under the same rationale.
Claim(s) 2-3 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over E.P. Publication Matsuzaki EP 3,340,002 A1 (hereafter Matsuzaki) in view of Glaser U.S. Publication 2018/0308064 A1 (hereafter Glaser) in further view of Thompson et al. U.S. Publication 2022/0058583 A1 (hereafter Thompson).
Regarding claim 2, the combination of Matsuzaki and Glaser discloses that of claim 1 but fails to teach where a status is set to incomplete.
Thompson discloses a project management system which allows for planning and tracking of projects and where a task can be indicated as incomplete with an electronic notification (see at least [0103] responsible parties for the task (e.g., employee/contractor, supervisor, salesperson, etc.) can be notified electronically (e.g., via email, text message, etc.) therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention the use the work planning system and automated vehicles (Matsuzaki) in combination with the planning and scheduling (Glaser) disclosed above with the indication of incomplete task with electronic notification as taught by Thompson for monitoring project planning and tracking during the project as applying known techniques to know devices or methods for improvement yields predictable results (KSR D).
Regarding claim 3, the combination discloses wherein initiating the notification of the work information for the first work plan comprises initiating display of the first work site, which corresponds to the first work plan, in an identifiable manner on at least one of a map or a schedule table displayed at an operation terminal (see at least Matsuzaki Fig. 2 [0026] Fig. 2 schematically shows exemplary work travel of the tractor. The tractor in this example automatically travels on a travel route including a plurality of straight routes and U-turn routes connecting the straight routes to configure a back and forth straight travel route. During travel on such a straight travel route, tilling travel (e.g. straight travel with tilling: an exemplary content of a work event) may be executed by lowering the tilling device 22 and non-tilling travel (e.g. straight travel without tilling: an exemplary content of a work event) may be executed by raising the tilling device 22 to stop tilling work. While the vehicle body 1 is redirected, right turn travel (e.g. right turn: an exemplary content of a work event) or left turn travel (e.g. left turn: an exemplary content of a work event) as one type of U-turn travel, and switchback travel (e.g. α-turn: an exemplary content of a work event) including backward travel may be executed with steering control.).
Claim(s) 6, and 7 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over E.P. Publication Matsuzaki EP 3,340,002 A1 (hereafter Matsuzaki) in view of Glaser U.S. Publication 2018/0308064 A1 (hereafter Glaser) in further view of Foster et al. U.S. Publication 2018/0359906 A1 (hereafter Foster).
Regarding claim 6, the combination of Matsuzaki and Glaser discloses that of claim 1 including notifications but fails to teach where a status alert is based on a weather forecast.
Foster discloses, in the same field of invention, the use of automatic vehicles for farming tasks including a user interface to present data to an operator sets the determining whether a weather forecast for a scheduled work day for the first work plan is expected to be a rainy day (see at least [00610-0062] the costs include an initiation time cost associated with not initiating the plan at a target time. In certain embodiments, the controller of the planning system is configured to determine the target time based on weather conditions at the field. For example, harvesting certain crops in dry conditions (e.g., while not raining) may enhance certain qualities and/or the value of the crops. Accordingly, the target time may be selected based on the current weather conditions and/or a forecast of the weather conditions. If a plan is initiated at the target time, no initiation time cost may be added to the cost function (e.g., the initiation time cost may be zero). However, if a plan is initiated earlier or later than the target time, an initiation time cost may be added to the cost function, thereby increasing the cost function for such a plan. In certain embodiments, the value of the initiation time cost may vary based on the duration between the initiation time and the target time. In certain embodiments, the target time may be based on other factors (e.g., in addition to or instead of weather conditions), such as availability of equipment and/or condition of the crops, among other factors. [0062] the controller of the planning system is configured to determine a plan for the autonomous work vehicle system by reducing a cost function. The cost function represents the total cost associated with a plan. For example, the obstacle management cost, the positioning cost, the direction cost, the product management cost, the outlet positioning cost, the compaction cost, the partition order cost, the entry point cost, the exit point cost, the initiation time cost, or a combination thereof, may be added to one other. In certain embodiments, the controller is configured to determine a set of candidate plans (e.g., including respective routes through the field), to determine the cost function associated with each plan, and to select a plan that has the lowest cost function of the set (e.g., reducing a cost function). The candidate plans may be determined by any suitable technique (e.g., a technique that determines a subsequent candidate plan based on the cost function of the previous candidate plan, etc.) therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention the use the work planning system and automated vehicles (Matsuzaki) in combination with the planning and scheduling (Glaser) disclosed above with consideration of weather in the task performance as taught by Foster for selecting the preferred plan according to cost function optimization as known techniques to know devices or methods for improvement yields predictable results (KSR D).
Regarding claim 7, the combination discloses further comprising initiating, as part of the notification, a display of the first work site, which corresponds to the first work plan, in an identifiable manner on at least one of a map or a schedule table which are displayed at an operation terminal, wherein the display is initiated when a scheduled work day for given work content associated with the first work plan is to be performed after the rainy day (see at least Foster, Fig. 3 and 4, [0061] However, if a plan is initiated earlier or later than the target time, an initiation time cost may be added to the cost function, thereby increasing the cost function for such a plan. In certain embodiments, the value of the initiation time cost may vary based on the duration between the initiation time and the target time.).
Claim(s) 8 and 9 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over E.P. Publication Matsuzaki EP 3,340,002 A1 (hereafter Matsuzaki) in view of Glaser U.S. Publication 2018/0308064 A1 (hereafter Glaser) in further view of Mitsubishi JP 2017-68869 A (hereafter Mitsubishi).
Regarding claim 8, Matsuzaki discloses wherein the work management method further sets the work status alert by determining whether the work content corresponding to the first work plan (see at least Matsuzaki [0015] A work field can be cooperatively processed by a plurality of automatic travelling work vehicles, instead of a single automatic travelling work vehicle. Before the plurality of automatic travelling work vehicles execute cooperative work travel, travel routes may be generated for the work travel of the plurality of automatic travelling work vehicles, and/or a work event plan document may be generated, the work event plan document prescribing work events to be executed by the automatic travelling work vehicles on the travel routes. In the cooperative work travel, an observer boarding one of the automatic travelling work vehicles may monitor the own work travel as well as the work travel of the remaining automatic travelling work vehicles (e.g. other vehicles). Alternatively, an observer positioned to be able to monitor the work travel of all the vehicles may monitor the work travel of all the vehicles by means of a monitor screen of a communication terminal (such as a tablet computer or a smartphone) having the monitor display function, carried by the observer. In order to apply the present disclosure to such cooperative work travel, in some examples, the work travel monitor screen generating section may further have a function of generating work event display screen data for another automatic travelling work vehicle cooperatively executing the work travel, and the monitor screen may integrally display a monitor image of the own vehicle according to the work event display screen data of the own vehicle and a monitor image of the other automatic travelling work vehicle according to the work event display screen data of the other vehicle. An observer can thus grasp, by means of the monitor screen, the work events executed by the respective automatic travelling work vehicles. [0031] The second control unit 5 may have a control function of notifying, by means of a monitor screen, an observer of an automatic travelling work vehicle, of contents of work events upon automatic travel with execution of the work events sequentially planned along the travel route. The second control unit 5 thus may include a work event plan management section 51 and a work travel monitor screen generating section 52.) is scheduled during a prohibited entry period when entry to the work site is prohibited, and initiating, as part of the notification, a display of the work site that corresponds to the first work plan and the prohibited entry period, to be displayed in an identifiable manner on a schedule table displayed at an operation terminal (see at least Mitsubishi The movement instruction route information generated by the agricultural machine movement route generation unit 541 and the agricultural work movement route generation unit 551 is transmitted to the wireless device 13 of the producer terminal 10 and the wireless device 23 of the agricultural machine terminal 20 via the communication device 500. The movement instruction route information received by the wireless device 13 and the wireless device 23 is stored as the movement route data 212 and the movement route data 122 in the storage device 203 and the storage device 113, respectively.
In addition, the movement prohibition area | region which prohibits the movement and entry of the automatic agricultural machine 25 and the agricultural machine 15 contained in movement instruction | indication route information is stored in the movement path data 212 and the movement path data 122 similarly.) therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention the use the work planning system and automated vehicles (Matsuzaki) in combination with the planning and scheduling (Glaser) disclosed above with the automated travel restricted by prohibited areas as taught by Mitsubishi for following an indicated route for the agriculture machine as combining known prior art elements yields predictable results (KSR A).
Regarding claim 9, the combination discloses wherein the notification further comprises displaying the first work site, which corresponds to the first work plan, in an identifiable manner on a map displayed at the operation terminal (see at least Mitsubishi The agricultural machine 15 to which each producer terminal 10 is attached and the automatic agricultural machine 25 to which each agricultural machine terminal 20 is attached, in accordance with the movement route data 211 and the movement route data 121, use the link specified in the movement route data, Move between farms by manual operation or automatic operation, and perform farming work in order. For example, the navigation processing unit 112 and the navigation processing unit 202 move the map and the movement on the screens of the display unit 117 of the producer terminal 10 and the display unit 217 of the agricultural machine terminal 20 based on the movement route data 211 and the movement route data 121. Displays a route line. According to the display of the map and the moving route, the agricultural machine 15 and the automatic agricultural machine 25 may be moved by manual operation or by transporting them to a transport vehicle (truck, cart, etc.). Further, the automatic agricultural machine 25 may be autonomously driven according to the movement route data 211, or may be remotely operated using wireless communication via the wireless line 102.).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 4 and 5 objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's remarks begin on page 6 of the response. Applicant begins with a summary of the pending claims and current claim amendments.
The argument begin with the rejection under 35 U.S.C § 101 where the Applicant traverses the rejection in light of the amendment which includes an instruction sent from the first server to automatically drive the work vehicle along the target route. The arguments are that the claim is not a method of organizing human activity nor a mental process.
The Examiner has withdrawn the rejection under 35 U.S.C § 101 in view of the amendment.
In summary, the rejection under 35 U.S.C § 101 is withdrawn. The claims are currently rejected under 35 U.S.C § 103 and are not in condition for allowance at this time.
Conclusion
/DYLAN C WHITE/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3683 January 13, 2026.