DETAILED ACTION
Claim 1, 27 and 32 are amended
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-5, 10-17, 19-28, 29-30 and 32-37 38 rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Jeong (US 20160180995 A1) in view of Lee (US 20180061550 A1) and further in view of Ohkubo (US 20160155550 A1).
Regarding Claim 1:
Jeong teaches that a coil component comprising:
a body (50, Fig. 1; para 0023-0058) including a molded portion (51, Fig. 4) including a first magnetic metal particle (11-12) and a cover portion (52) disposed on one surface of the molded portion and including a second magnetic
metal particle (13-14); and
a coil portion (42, 44) disposed between the one surface of the molded portion and the cover portion and embedded in the body, wherein at least one of the first and second magnetic metal particles includes first to second particles
Jeong teaches first to second particles except at least one of the first and second magnetic metal particles includes third particles having different medians (d50) of particle sizes.
However, Lee teaches that that at least one of the first (61, Fig. 3) and second magnetic metal particles (63) includes first to third particles (65, Fig. 3; para 0046) having different medians (construed from Fig. 3) of particle sizes.
It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to have third particles having different medians (d50) of particle sizes to provide a magnetic composition capable of securing high efficiency and inductance by reducing eddy current loss when used to form a body of an inductor (para 0009).
Jeong does not teach the molded portion includes a core protruding from a central portion of the one surface of the molded portion.
However, Ohkubo teaches that the molded portion includes a core (21, Fig. 3; para 0028-0029) protruding from a central portion of the one surface of the molded portion.
It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to have the molded portion includes a core protruding from a central portion of the one surface of the molded portion to provide a coil component that comprises a metal magnetic powder-containing resin having improved insulation properties and that achieves a reduction in core loss while suppressing a reduction in magnetic permeability (see para 0006).
Regarding Claim 2:
As applied to claim 1, the modified Jeong teaches that wherein D1>D2>D3
in which D1 is the median (i.e. 15 µm to 60 µm; see Jeong para 0068, 0073) of the particle size of the first particle , D2 is the median (i.e. 01 µm to 8 µm; see para 0068) of the particle size of the second particle, and D3 is the median (300 nm or less see Lee’s para 0028) of the particle size of the third particle.
Regarding Claim 3:
As applied to claim 2, the modified Jeong teaches the first magnetic metal particle includes the first to third particles (i.e. 61, 63 and 65; see Lee’s Fig. 3), and the second magnetic metal particle includes the first and second particles (13-14, see Jeong’s Fig. 4).
Regarding Claim 4:
As applied to claim 2, the modified Jeong teaches the second magnetic metal particle includes the first to third particles (i.e. 11-12 and 65), and the first magnetic metal particle includes the first and second particle (13-14, see Jeong’s Fig. 4).
.
Regarding Claims 5, 14:
As applied to claim 2, 11, the modified Jeong teaches that the first particle includes an amorphous Fe component (see Jeong’s para 0026 or 0042).
Regarding Claim 10:
As applied to claim 2, the modified Jeong teaches that the particle size of the first particle is 5 µm to 61 µm, the particle size of the second particle is 0.6 µm to 4.5 µm, (see Jeong para 0068), and the particle size of the third particle is 10 nm to 900 nm Lee’s para 0028).
Regarding Claim 11:
As applied to claim 2, the modified Jeong teaches that the particle size of the first particle is 5 µm to 35 µm, the particle size of the second particle is 1 µm to 5 µm, (see Jeong’s para 0068) ,and the particle size of the third particle is 10 nm to 900 nm ( Lee’s para 0028).
Regarding Claim 12:
As applied to claim 11, the modified Jeong teaches the first magnetic metal particle includes the first to third particles (i.e. 13-14 and 65), and the second magnetic metal particle includes the first and second particles.
Regarding Claim 13:
As applied to claim 11, the modified Jeong teaches the second magnetic metal particle includes the first to third particles (i.e. 11-12 and 65), and the first magnetic metal particle includes the first and second particles.
Regarding Claims 15-17:
As applied to claim 11, 15 and 12, the modified Jeong teaches that the second and third particles include a crystalline Fe component (see Jeong’s para 0026 or 0042).
Regarding Claims 19-20:
As applied to claim 9 and 18, the modified Jeong teaches that further comprising first to third coating films (i.e. resin for element 11-12, see Jeong’s para 0027 and 65b for element 65 in Lee’s Fig. 3) coated on surfaces of the first to third particles, respectively.
Regarding Claims 21-22:
As applied to claim 19 and 20, the modified Jeong teaches that the first and second coating films include Fe2O3, and the third coating film includes Fe304 as explained in claim 9 analysis in light of MPEP § 2144.03.A.
Regarding Claims 23, 25:
As applied to claim 2, 11, the modified Jeong teaches that further comprising external electrodes (81-82; Fig. 1) disposed on outer surfaces of the body and electrically connected to the coil portion.
Regarding Claims 24, 26:
As applied to claim 2, and 11, the modified Jeong teaches that further comprising a coating film (not labeled; see Jeong’s Fig. 4) surrounding a surface of each of a plurality of turns of the coil portion.
Regarding Claim 27:
Jeong teaches that a coil component comprising:
a body (50, Fig. 1; para 0023-0058) including a molded portion (51, Fig. 4) including a first magnetic metal particle (11-12) and a cover portion (52) disposed on one surface of the molded portion and including a second magnetic
metal particle (13-14); and
a coil portion (42, 44) disposed between the one surface of the
molded portion and the cover portion and embedded in the body,
wherein at least one of the first and second magnetic metal particles includes a first particle having a particle size of 5 µm to 61 µm, a second particle having a particle
size of 0.6 µm to 4.5 µm (see Jeong para 0068),,
Jeong does not teach that a third particle having a particle size of 10 nm to 900 nm.
However, Lee teaches that that a third particle having a particle size of 10 nm to 900 nm (65, Fig. 3; para 0028, 0046)
It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to have a third particle having a particle size of 10 nm to 900 nm to provide a magnetic composition capable of securing high efficiency and inductance by reducing eddy current loss when used to form a body of an inductor (para 0009).
Jeong does not teach the molded portion includes a core protruding from a central portion of the one surface of the molded portion.
However, Ohkubo teaches that the molded portion includes a core (21, Fig. 3; para 0028-0029) protruding from a central portion of the one surface of the molded portion.
It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to have the molded portion includes a core protruding from a central portion of the one surface of the molded portion to provide a coil component that comprises a metal magnetic powder-containing resin having improved insulation properties and that achieves a reduction in core loss while suppressing a reduction in magnetic permeability (see para 0006).
Regarding Claim 28:
As applied to claim 27, the modified Jeong teaches that wherein the first to third particles have different medians (see Jeong’s para 0068, and Lee’s para 0028) of particle sizes, and one of the first and second magnetic metal particles includes the first to third particles, and the other includes the first and second particles.
Regarding Claim 30:
As applied to claim 27, the modified Jeong teaches that D1>D2>D3 in which D1 is the median (d50) of the particle size of the first particle, D2 is the median (d50) of the particle size of the second particle, and D3 is the median (d50) of the particle size of the third particle, wherein D1 is 5 µm to 35 µm,D2 is 1 µm to 5 µm, and D3 is 10 nm to 900 nm (see Jeong’s para 0068, and Lee’s para 0028).
Regarding Claim 32:
Jeong teaches that a coil component comprising:
a body (50, Fig. 1; para 0023-0058) including a molded portion (51, Fig. 4) including a first magnetic metal particle (11-12) and a cover portion (52) disposed on one surface of the molded portion and including a second magnetic metal particle (13-14);
{wherein the first magnetic metal particle is different from the second magnetic metal particle, the first magnetic metal particle} or the second magnetic metal particle
includes first to second (13-14) particles having different medians (d50) of particle sizes, and the other magnetic metal particle includes the first and second particles (11-12);
a coil portion (42, 44) disposed between the one surface of the molded portion and the cover portion and embedded in the body.
Jeong does not teach that second magnetic metal particle include a third particle
However, Lee teaches that that a third particle (65, Fig. 3; para 0028, 0046)
It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to have a third particle to provide a magnetic composition capable of securing high efficiency and inductance by reducing eddy current loss when used to form a body of an inductor (para 0009).
Jeong does not teach the molded portion includes a core protruding from a central portion of the one surface of the molded portion.
However, Ohkubo teaches that the molded portion includes a core (21, Fig. 3; para 0028-0029) protruding from a central portion of the one surface of the molded portion.
It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to have the molded portion includes a core protruding from a central portion of the one surface of the molded portion to provide a coil component that comprises a metal magnetic powder-containing resin having improved insulation properties and that achieves a reduction in core loss while suppressing a reduction in magnetic permeability (see para 0006).
Regarding Claim 33:
As applied to claim 32, the modified Jeong teaches that the first magnetic metal particle includes the first to third particles.
Regarding Claim 34,:
As applied to claim 33, the modified Jeong teaches that wherein the second magnetic metal particle is free of the third particle.
Regarding Claim 35:
As applied to claim 32, the modified Jeong teaches that wherein the second magnetic metal particles include the first to third particles.
Regarding Claim 36:
As applied to claim 35, the modified Jeong teaches that wherein the first magnetic metal particle is free of the third particle.
Regarding Claim 37:
As applied to claim 32, the modified Jeong teaches that the particle size of the first particle is 5 µm to 61 µm, the particle size of the second particle is 0.6 µm to 4.5 µm, and the particle size of the third particle is 10 nm to 900 nm (see Jeong’s para 0068, and Lee’s para 0028).
Claims 6, 7, and 8 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Jeong in view of Lee and further in view of Kawarai (US 20190304660 A1).
Regarding Claims 6, 7, and 8:
As applied to claim 5, 3 and 4, the modified Jeong teaches that the second and third particles (see Jeong’s para 0026 ) except include a crystalline Fe component.
Kawarai taught in claim 5 that the metallic magnetic powder is a crystalline iron powder.
It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to have second and third particles (see Jeong’s para 0026 ) except include a crystalline Fe component to provide strength, structural stability under high temperatures.
Claims 9, 18, 29, 31 and 38 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Jeong in view of Lee in view of Ohkubo and further in view of Kim (US 20200365315 A1).
Regarding Claims 9, 18, 29, 31 and 38:
As applied to claim 6, 16, 28, 30 and 32, the modified Jeong teaches all the feature of the claim, but silent on the third particle includes Fe304 therein.
However, Kim disclosed in para 0044 that the metal powder 110 may be coated with at least one selected from the group consisting of TiO.sub.2, SiO.sub.2, ZrO2, SnO.sub.2, NiO, ZnO, CuO, CoO, MnO, MgO, Al.sub.2O.sub.3, Cr.sub.2O.sub.3, Fe.sub.2O.sub.3, B.sub.2O.sub.3, and Bi.sub.2O.sub.3.
It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to have the third particle includes Fe304 therein to provide high chemical stability, low cost, and non-toxicity.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments have been fully considered. However, upon further consideration, a new ground(s) of rejection is made in view of different interpretation of the previously applied reference, and/or newly found prior art reference(s).
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. A list of pertinent prior art is attached in form 892.
/KAZI HOSSAIN/
Examiner, Art Unit 2837
/MALCOLM BARNES/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2837