DETAILED ACTION
The following is a final office action is response to communications received on 01/02/2026. Claims 18-32 are currently pending and addressed below.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 01/02/2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive. Applicant argues that Suddaby (US 6,159,244) or Kuslich (US 5,059,193) fails to teach the claims as currently amended in new claims 18-32.
Examiner respectfully disagrees. A new ground(s) of rejection is made infra in view of Suddaby (US 6,159,244) or Kuslich (US 5,059,193) addressing all of the claim limitations as necessitated by amendment.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim 21 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 21 states “wherein the lattice structure comprises an elastic modulus of between 32% and 38%.” This is indefinite as elastic modulus is measured in Pascals (e.g., MPA GPA, etc.). For examination purposes, the examiner assumes the applicant intended to state wherein the lattice structure comprises an volumetric density of between 32% and 38%. As supported in [0104] of the instant application.
Double Patenting
Claims 18-20, 23, 26, 27, 29 & 31 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-3, 5, 9, 10, 13 & 14 of U.S. Patent No. 11,497,617. The elements of the instant application are to be found in the Patent and therefore are anticipated. Although the conflicting claims are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because the Patent and the instant application all recite the same basic structure with a permutation of similar elements throughout.
Regarding Claim 18, 26 & 30, patent claim 1 recites the same limitations.
Regarding Claim 23, patent claim 3 recites the same limitations.
Regarding Claim 19 & 20, patent claim 5 recites the same limitations.
Regarding Claim 26, patent claim 9 recites the same limitations.
Regarding Claim 27, patent claim 10 recites the same limitations.
Regarding Claim 29, patent claim 13 recites the same limitations.
Regarding Claim 31, patent claim 14 recites the same limitations.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 18, 23-28 & 30-32 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(10 as being anticipated by Suddaby (US 6,159,244).
Regarding Claim 18, Suddaby teaches a medical implant comprising:
an implant body (shown);
an attachment extension (shown) on an interior of the implant body, the attachment extension comprising a plurality of attachment extension ridges (shown);
an adjustable portion (shown) comprising an attachment receiver (shown), the attachment receiver comprising a plurality of attachment receiver ridges (shown); and
a sliding engagement between the plurality of attachment extension ridges and the plurality of attachment receiver ridges (Col 5: lines 6-7).
Regarding Claim 23, Suddaby teaches wherein the attachment extension comprises a predetermined width (Fig 1), and each of the plurality of attachment extension ridges comprises a first predetermined height (Fig 1).
Regarding Claim 24, Suddaby teaches wherein the attachment receiver (shown) comprises a width (Fig 1) that corresponds to the predetermined width of the attachment extension (shown) and each of the plurality of attachment receiver ridges (shown) comprises a second predetermined height (Fig 1) that corresponds to the first predetermined height (as shown in Fig 1).
Regarding Claim 25, Suddaby teaches wherein the sliding engagement comprises a moveable engagement that provides movement (shown) in a single direction.
Regarding Claim 26, Suddaby teaches wherein the implant body comprises a lumen (shown) comprising one of more lumen slots (32).
Regarding Claim 27, Suddaby teaches wherein the adjustable portion (shown) comprises a surface (along ridges) configured to couple with the implant body.
Regarding Claim 28, Suddaby teaches wherein the surface of the adjustable portion (shown) comprises a plurality of lumen wall extenders (34) configured to mate with the one or more lumen slots (32).
Regarding Claim 30, Suddaby teaches wherein the sliding engagement is configured to lock (as the ridges nest within one another) the adjustable portion to the implant body along at least one three-dimensional direction.
Regarding Claim 31, Suddaby teaches wherein the implant further comprises at least one fluid injection port (external surface of 28) fully capable of insertion of fluid into a cavity of the implant.
Regarding Claim 32, Suddaby teaches wherein the implant further comprises one or more fluid channels (shown) coupled to the at least one injection port (external surface of 28) and capable of distributing a fluid within or external to the cavity of the implant.
Claims 19, 20 & 22 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Suddaby (US 6,159,244) in view of Ryan et al. (US 2019/0343644).
Regarding Claims 19 & 20, as set forth supra, Suddaby discloses the invention substantially as claimed. However, Suddaby does not disclose wherein the main implant body and the second implant body comprises a metallic lattice structure.
Ryan teaches an intervertebral implant in the same field of endeavor. Said implant constructed of a lattice framework (e.g., Figs 5-14) of interconnected struts/cells to enable stronger bone fusion and osseointegration [0083]. Said lattice can be utilized in the anterior, posterior or lateral portions of the device while still providing the requisite strength to provide and facilitate intervertebral fusion [0083].
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to construct the implant body of Suddaby from the lattice structure, as taught by Ryan, in order to enable stronger bone fusion and osseointegration while still providing the requisite strength to provide and facilitate intervertebral fusion
Regarding Claim 22, only the product will be examined. (Even though product-by-process claims are limited by and defined by the process, determination of patentability is based on the product itself. The patentability of a product does not depend on its method of production. If the product in the product-by-process claim is the same as or obvious from a product of the prior art, the claim is unpatentable even though the prior product was made by a different process (In re Thorpe, 777 F.2d 695, 698, 227 USPQ 964, 966 (Fed. Cir. 1985)); see MPEP 2113). To the extent that the process steps further define the structure of the device, they have been considered. In the instant case, none of the process steps (i.e., additive manufacturing and 3D printing) recited in claim 22 further define or add any structural limitations to the component.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 29 would be allowable if (1) a timely filed terminal disclaimer(s) in compliance with 37 CFR 1.321(c) or 1.321(d) is filed to overcome the nonstatutory double patenting rejection(s) set forth in this Office action; and (2) rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/BRIAN A DUKERT/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3774