DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 21, 32, 34, 40 and dependent claims are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(a) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), first paragraph, as failing to comply with the written description requirement. The claim(s) contains subject matter which was not described in the specification in such a way as to reasonably convey to one skilled in the relevant art that the inventor or a joint inventor, or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the inventor(s), at the time the application was filed, had possession of the claimed invention.
In Claim 21, the limitations “in the fitted configuration of the interface device, a second portion of the surface is configured not to rest on the forehead of the head of the user and not to rest on the scalp of the head of the user; and one or more magnets supported on the interface frame, wherein the one or more magnets enable the interface frame to removably directly couple to the housing of the wearable visualization device, wherein the wearable visualization device is configured to couple to a ride vehicle that is configured to carry the user” are unclear since neither the written description nor the drawings appear to describe/show the claimed features. Further clarification is required. Examiner specifically request Applicant to provide:
Which paragraph or drawing shows the claimed feature?
What’s the label of the 2nd portion, and 1st portion?
What’s the definition of the shape of the user’s head?
Where is the user’s head in the drawing?
Is this limitation vary depending on the users? (especially the shape of the head)
IS the “couple to a ride vehicle” a direct or in-direct? Does this process/method require any other procedure prior to “couple” the device?
In Claim 40, the limitations “a wearable visualization device configured to couple to a ride vehicle that is configured to carry the user” are unclear since neither the written description nor the drawings appear to describe/show the claimed features. Further clarification is required. Examiner specifically request Applicant to provide:
Is the “couple to a ride vehicle” a direct or in-direct? Does this process/method require any other procedure prior to “couple” the device?
In Claim 34, the limitations “one or more additional magnets supported by the panel of the housing, wherein the housing is configured to removably couple the housing to the interface frame to transition the wearable visualization device between a disengaged configuration and the engaged configuration, and wherein the panel is configured to translate along the lip of the interface frame to enable the wearable visualization device to transition from the disengaged configuration to the engaged configuration and to effectuate alignment of the one or more magnets with the one or more additional magnets to enable the one or more magnets to couple to the one or more additional magnets to retain the wearable visualization device on the interface device in the engaged configuration” are unclear since neither the written description nor the drawings appear to describe/show the claimed features. Further clarification is required. Examiner specifically request Applicant to provide:
Which paragraph disclose the new amendments?
Applicant’s drawing clearly shows this limitation has no support: “one or more additional magnets supported by the panel”.
At most, SPEC only disclose “a portion of the panel is configured to translate along the lip”. And, that portion is unclear.
All the “engage and disengage” transitions in the new amendments have no support by the SPEC.
In Claim 32, the limitations “the second portion of the surface forms a channel between the surface and the forehead of the head of the user, the scalp of the head of the user, or both” are unclear since neither the written description nor the drawings appear to describe/show the claimed features. Further clarification is required. Examiner specifically request Applicant to provide:
Which paragraph supports this limitations?
There are more than one ways to interpret the claimed language.
The limitation “surface” reference to which portion is unclear.
Appropriate correction is required.
Drawings
The drawings are objected to under 37 CFR 1.83(a). The drawings must show every feature of the invention specified in the claims. Therefore, all the limitations, rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112, new matter, and/or the claim objections must be shown or the feature(s) canceled from the claim(s). No new matter should be entered.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 34, 35, 37, 41 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over ABDOLLAHI (US 20130222235) in view of Sullivan (US 10133305)
Regarding claim 34, ABDOLLAHI further disclosed An augmented reality, virtual reality, and/or mixed reality (AR/VR) system, (abstract, see also fig 1-11) comprising: an interface device, comprising: a head strap assembly (at least fig 2, head strap assembly formed a circle shape) configured to couple to a head of a user (at least fig 1, abstract); and a wearable visualization device (at least fig 2, abstract), comprising: a housing configured to removably couple to the interface frame, wherein the housing comprises a panel (at least fig 2, fig 4, the structure coupled to the head strap assembly and configured to directly couple to a housing of the wearable visualization device; Examiner consider as an interface frame; any substantially flat shape portions, Examiner consider a “panel”; no label); a display extending from the housing and configured to display virtual images (at least fig 2; paragraph [69]-[71]), wherein the display is configured to (Examiner consider the whole structure which can display and “configure to” cover lines of sight of both eyes of the user is the display) cover lines of sight of both eyes of the user in an engaged configuration of the wearable visualization device on the interface frame to enable the user to view the virtual images (see fig 2-4; paragraph [69]-[71]).
ABDOLLAHI lacks teaching: an interface frame wherein the interface frame comprises a lip that supports one or more magnets; and one or more additional magnets coupled to the housing and configured to removably couple the housing to the interface frame to transition the wearable visualization device between a disengaged configuration and the engaged configuration, wherein the one or more magnets couple to the one or more additional magnets to retain the wearable visualization device on the interface device in the engaged configuration.
Sullivan teaches a wearable device comprising: an interface frame wherein the interface frame comprises a lip that supports one or more magnets (at least fig 2-3, col. 7, lines 45-68);
one or more additional magnets supported by the panel of the housing (Examiner consider any substantially flat shape portions are “panels”), wherein the housing is configured to removably couple to the interface frame to transition the wearable visualization device between a disengaged configuration and the engaged configuration (at least fig 2-3, fig 4-5; disengaged configuration and the engaged configuration), and wherein the panel is configured to translate along the lip of the interface frame to enable the wearable visualization device to transition from the disengaged configuration to the engaged configuration and to effectuate alignment of the one or more magnets with the one or more additional magnets to enable the one or more magnets to couple to the one or more additional magnets to retain the wearable visualization device on the interface device in the engaged configuration (at least fig 2-3, fig 4-5; disengaged configuration and the engaged configuration). Examiner’s note: see also 112 rejection discussed above.
Examiner’s note: Using magnets to couple two structures is well known in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, or at the time of the invention was made.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, or at the time of the invention was made, to include this feature (one or more magnets couple to the one or more additional magnets) and modify to previous discussed structure (interface frame, housing, see above discussion) so as to have (ABDOLLAHI in view of Sullivan):
a wearable device comprising: an interface frame wherein the interface frame comprises a lip that supports one or more magnets (Sullivan);
one or more additional magnets (Sullivan) supported by the panel of the housing (Examiner consider any substantially flat shape portions are “panels”), wherein the housing is configured to removably couple to the interface frame to transition the wearable visualization device (ABDOLLAHI) between a disengaged configuration and the engaged configuration (at least fig 2-3, fig 4-5; disengaged configuration and the engaged configuration), and wherein the panel is configured to translate along the lip of the interface frame to enable the wearable visualization device to transition (ABDOLLAHI in view of Sullivan) from the disengaged configuration to the engaged configuration and to effectuate alignment of the one or more magnets (Sullivan) with the one or more additional magnets (Sullivan) to enable the one or more magnets (Sullivan) to couple to the one or more additional magnets (Sullivan) to retain the wearable visualization device on the interface device in the engaged configuration (ABDOLLAHI in view of Sullivan: at least fig 2-3, fig 4-5; disengaged configuration and the engaged configuration).
The motivation to modify the previous discussed structure with the current feature is to further secure the modified structure and/or simplify the assembly/disassembly process.
Regarding claim 35, the primary art and/or the modified structure discussed in the preceding claim disclosed all the subject matter except for the interface frame comprises a body portion, wherein one or more support ribs extend from the body portion and one or more support grooves are formed within the housing of the wearable visualization device, wherein the one or more support grooves are configured to engage with and translate along the one or more support ribs to guide the one or more additional magnets toward the one or more magnets to facilitate transitioning from the disengaged configuration to the engaged configuration.
Sullivan further teaches: the frame comprises a body portion, wherein one or more support ribs extend from the body portion (at least fig 5-9, the ribs are the protrusions, no label, extended from the body portion) and one or more support grooves are formed within the housing of the other side of the structure (at least fig 5-9, the grooves with recess or notches, no label, within the housing), wherein the one or more support grooves are configured to engage with and translate along the one or more support ribs (compare fig 5-9) to guide the one or more additional magnets toward the one or more magnets (at least fig 2-3) to facilitate transitioning from the disengaged configuration to the engaged configuration (see fig 1, compare to fig 3-5). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention was made to include this feature (ribs or protrusions on one side of the housing and grooves/recesses on the other sides of the housing) and modify to previous discussed structure (modified to the interface frame body portion, and the housing of the wearable visualization device; and also configure the magnets on both sides are aligned to each other to be able to engage) so as to further secure the modified structure and/or improve the assembly structure.
Regarding claim 37, modified ABDOLLAHI further disclosed the interface device comprises a visor removably coupled to the interface frame (at least fig 2, see also fig 3-4).
Regarding claim 41, modified ABDOLLAHI further disclosed the interface device comprises a body portion (at least fig 2, fig 4, the body portion on the main frame portion and modified with magnets as discussed above; no label), and wherein the lip extends cross-wise relative to the body portion (at least fig 2, fig 4, the lip extends cross-wise relative to the body portion as discussed above; no label).
Claims 21, 40, 42 27-29, 32-33, 40 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over ABDOLLAHI (US 20130222235) in view of Sullivan (US 10133305) and Huh (US 20110315734)
Regarding claim 21, ABDOLLAHI disclosed An interface device (abstract, see also fig 1-11) for a wearable visualization device (abstract, see also fig 1-11), the interface device comprising: a head strap assembly (at least fig 2, head strap assembly formed a circle shape) configured to couple to a head of a user to secure the interface device to the head (at least fig 1, abstract); an interface frame coupled to the head strap assembly and configured to directly couple to a housing of the wearable visualization device (at least fig 2, fig 4, the structure coupled to the head strap assembly and configured to directly couple to a housing of the wearable visualization device; see also Fig 2, including but not limited to 210, 132, 220 etc, Examiner consider as an interface frame); a mask coupled to the head strap assembly (at least fig 4, the mask structure configured to rest on the head of the user; no label), the mask comprising a surface (at least fig 4, any surface on the mask; no label) wherein, in a fitted configuration of the interface device on the head of the user, a first portion of the surface is configured to rest on a forehead of the head of the user, a scalp of the head of the user, or both, (at least fig 4, the first portion of the surface is configured to rest on the head of the user), and wherein, in the fitted configuration of the interface device, a second portion of the surface is configured not to rest on the forehead of the head of the user and not to rest on the scalp of the head of the user (at least fig 4, a second portion of the surface is configured not to rest on the forehead of the user and not to rest on the scalp of the head of the user; at least the side walls surface, gaps, etc. any portion which is not rest on the head).
ABDOLLAHI lacks teaching: one or more magnets supported on the interface frame, wherein the one or more magnets enable the interface frame to removably directly couple to the housing of the wearable visualization device wherein the wearable visualization device is configured to couple to a ride vehicle that is configured to carry the user.
Sullivan teaches a wearable device comprising: one or more magnets supported on the interface frame (at least fig 2-4), wherein the one or more magnets enable the interface frame to removably directly couple to the housing.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, or at the time of the invention was made, to include this feature (magnets supported on the frame) and modify to previous discussed structure (modified to ABDOLLAHI’s interface frame to removably directly couple to the housing of the wearable visualization device) so as to further secure the modified structure and/or simplify the assembly/disassembly process.
ABDOLLAHI in view of Sullivan lacks teaching: wherein the wearable visualization device is configured to couple to a ride vehicle that is configured to carry the user.
Huh teaches a device is configured to couple to a ride vehicle that is configured to carry the user (paragraph [27]-[30]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, or at the time of the invention was made, to include this feature (configured to couple to a ride vehicle that is configured to carry the user) and modify to previous discussed structure so as to further allow users to carry the device with more ways.
Regarding claim 40, ABDOLLAHI further disclosed An augmented reality, virtual reality, and/or mixed reality (AR/VR) system, (abstract, see also fig 1-11) comprising: an interface device, comprising: a head strap assembly configured to couple to a head of a user (at least fig 2, head strap assembly formed a circle shape); a mask coupled to the head strap assembly (at least fig 4, the mask structure configured to rest on the head of the user; no label), wherein the mask comprises a surface having a first portion and a second portion that extend from a first lateral side to a second lateral side of the surface (at least fig 4, the surface having a first portion and a second portion that extend from a first lateral side to a second lateral side of the surface; Examiner consider left to right or up to down sides) to form a plurality of fluid channels defined by the surface and the head of the user (at least fig 4, Examiner consider, at least the gaps or the different shape of user’s head, form a plurality of fluid channels defined by the surface and the head of the user; see also 112 rejections); and an interface frame coupled to the head strap assembly (at least fig 2, fig 4, the structure coupled to the head strap assembly and configured to couple to a housing of the wearable visualization device; Examiner consider as an interface frame); and a wearable visualization device, comprising: a housing configured to removably couple to the interface frame (at least fig 2, see also fig 3-4; paragraph [69]-[71]); a display extending from the housing and configured to display virtual images (at least fig 2; paragraph [69]-[71]), wherein the display is configured to cover lines of sight of both eyes of the user in an engaged configuration of the wearable visualization device on the interface frame to enable the user to view the virtual images (Examiner consider the whole structure which can display and “configure to” cover lines of sight of both eyes of the user is the display)
ABDOLLAHI lacks teaching: one or more magnets; and one or more additional magnets coupled to the housing and configured to magnetically couple to the one or more magnets to couple the interface device and the wearable visualization device to one another to retain the wearable visualization device on the interface device in the engaged configuration.
Sullivan teaches a wearable device comprising: one or more magnets (at least fig 2-3, col. 7, lines 45-68); and one or more additional magnets coupled to the housing (at least fig 2-3, col. 7, lines 45-68) and configured to magnetically couple to the one or more magnets to couple the other portion of the device and the wearable visualization device to one another to retain the wearable visualization device on the interface device in the engaged configuration (at least fig 2-3, col. 7, lines 45-68).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, or at the time of the invention was made, to include this feature (one or more magnets couple to the one or more additional magnets) and modify to previous discussed structure (interface frame, housing, see above discussion) so as to have (ABDOLLAHI in view of Sullivan):
one or more magnets (Sullivan); and one or more additional magnets (Sullivan) coupled to the housing and configured to magnetically couple to (Sullivan) the one or more magnets to couple the interface device (ABDOLLAHI) and the wearable visualization device (ABDOLLAHI) to one another to retain the wearable visualization device (ABDOLLAHI) on the interface device in the engaged configuration (Sullivan).
The motivation to modify the previous discussed structure with the current feature is to further secure the modified structure and/or simplify the assembly/disassembly process.
ABDOLLAHI in view of Sullivan lacks teaching: a wearable visualization device configured to couple to a ride vehicle that is configured to carry the user.
Huh teaches a device is configured to couple to a ride vehicle that is configured to carry the user (paragraph [27]-[30]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, or at the time of the invention was made, to include this feature (configured to couple to a ride vehicle that is configured to carry the user) and modify to previous discussed structure so as to further allow users to carry the device with more ways.
Regarding claim 42, modified ABDOLLAHI lacks teaching: the wearable visualization device is coupled to a ride vehicle. Huh teaches a device is configured to couple to a ride vehicle (paragraph [27]-[30]). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, or at the time of the invention was made, to include this feature (configured to couple to a ride vehicle) and modify to previous discussed structure so as to further allow users to carry the device with more ways.
Regarding claim 27, modified ABDOLLAHI further disclosed the one or more magnets comprise a first magnet positioned in a central portion of the interface frame (at least Sullivan’s fig 2-4, magnet positioned in a central portion) and a plurality of secondary magnets positioned at lateral end portions of the interface frame (at least Sullivan’s fig 2-4, magnets positioned at lateral end portions).
Regarding claim 28, modified ABDOLLAHI further disclosed the one or more magnets and the plurality of secondary magnets are configured to magnetically couple to one or more additional magnets on the housing (at least Sullivan’s fig 2-4, see also col. 7, lines 45-68) of the wearable visualization device to retain the wearable visualization device on the interface device in an engaged configuration.
Regarding claim 29, modified ABDOLLAHI further disclosed one or more support ribs (at least fig 2, fig 5, the ribs extend from the interface frame) that extend from the interface frame and that are configured to engage one or more support grooves of the wearable visualization device (at least fig 2 and fig 5, the grooves or recesses on the wearable visualization device; no label) to support the wearable visualization device on the interface frame.
Regarding claim 32, modified ABDOLLAHI further disclosed the second portion of the surface forms a channel between the surface and the forehead of the head of the user, the scalp of the head of the user, or both (at least fig 4, any gap/opening/channel form between the surface and the user’s head).
Regarding claim 33, modified ABDOLLAHI further disclosed the interface frame is configured to directly couple to the housing of the wearable visualization device (at least fig 2, fig 4) to position a display that is configured to display virtual images (at least fig 2) and that extends from the housing of the wearable visualization device to cover lines of sight of both eyes of the user to when the interface device with the housing coupled thereto is in a fitted configuration (at least fig 2-4, see also above discussion).
Claim 30 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over ABDOLLAHI (US 20130222235) in view of Sullivan (US 10133305) and Huh (US 20110315734), further in view of Barry (US 20170290964; a supporting material for Examiner’s Official Notice (EON)
Regarding claim 30, The primary art and/or the modified structure discussed in the preceding claim disclosed all the subject matter except for the one or more magnets are hermetically sealed within a pocket of the interface frame.
Barry teaches the one or more magnets are hermetically sealed technologies.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, or at the time of the invention was made, to include this feature (the one or more magnets are hermetically sealed) and modify to previous discussed structure (in the pocket of the interface frame) so as to further protect the modified structure.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
With respect to the Applicants’ remarks that, “Independent claim 21 recites, inter alia, "wherein the wearable visualization device is configured to couple to a ride vehicle that is configured to carry the user." Additionally, independent claim 40 recites, inter alia, "a wearable visualization device configured to couple to a ride vehicle that is configured to carry the user." Applicant respectfully submits that Abdollahi and Sullivan, taken alone or in hypothetical combination, fail to teach or suggest at least these recitations.” (pages 10-11).
Examiner’s Answer: the Examiner respectfully disagrees and notes that:
Applicant’s arguments have been considered but are moot because the arguments do not apply to current ground of rejection in the office action.
In this case, Huh teaches a device is configured to couple to a ride vehicle that is configured to carry the user (paragraph [27]-[30]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, or at the time of the invention was made, to include this feature (configured to couple to a ride vehicle that is configured to carry the user) and modify to previous discussed structure so as to further allow users to carry the device with more ways.
With respect to the Applicants’ remarks that, “For at least these reasons, Applicant respectfully submits that Abdollahi and Sullivan, taken alone or in hypothetical combination, do not teach or suggest all of the recitations of independent claim 34, and thus cannot support a primafacie case of obviousness with respect to this claim. Based on their dependencies on independent claim 34, as well as the elements therein, Applicant submits that Abdollahi and Sullivan do not teach every element of claims 35, 37, and 38, and thus cannot support a prima facie case of obviousness with respect to these claims. Accordingly, Applicant respectfully requests withdrawal of the rejection of claims 34, 35, 37, and 38 under 35 U.S.C. §103 and allowance of the same.” (pages 12-13).
Examiner’s Answer: the Examiner respectfully disagrees and notes that:
Applicant’s arguments have been considered but are moot because the arguments do not apply to current ground of rejection in the office action.
With respect to the Applicants’ remarks that, “As noted above, Applicant adds new claims 41 and 42, which recite additional features not disclosed by the cited references. Support for the new claims may be found in at least paragraphs 33 and 37 of the originally filed specification. Applicant notes that no excess claims fees are due for the new claims due to cancellation of claims 31 and 38. Applicant respectfully requests allowance of the new claims based at least on their dependencies from independent claim 34, as well as the elements therein.” (pages 13 to the end).
Examiner’s Answer: the Examiner respectfully disagrees and notes that:
Applicant’s arguments have been considered but are moot because the arguments do not apply to current ground of rejection in the office action.
In this case, Huh teaches a device is configured to couple to a ride vehicle that is configured to carry the user (paragraph [27]-[30]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, or at the time of the invention was made, to include this feature (configured to couple to a ride vehicle that is configured to carry the user) and modify to previous discussed structure so as to further allow users to carry the device with more ways.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/JERRY WU/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2841