Priority
Receipt is acknowledged of certified copies of papers required by 37 CFR 1.55.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 3/17/26, 5/25/25, 11/11/22, and 11/11/22 were filed and the submission is in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the examiner.
Specification
Applicant is reminded of the proper language and format for an abstract of the disclosure.
The abstract should be in narrative form and generally limited to a single paragraph on a separate sheet within the range of 50 to 150 words in length. The abstract should describe the disclosure sufficiently to assist readers in deciding whether there is a need for consulting the full patent text for details.
The language should be clear and concise and should not repeat information given in the title. It should avoid using phrases which can be implied, such as, “The disclosure concerns,” “The disclosure defined by this invention,” “The disclosure describes,” etc. In addition, the form and legal phraseology often used in patent claims, such as “means” and “said,” should be avoided.
The title of the invention (“Clamp Apparatus and Transport Apparatus”) is not descriptive. A new title is required that is clearly indicative of the invention to which the claims are directed.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-23 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by the European Publication (EP 3613683) (see IDS).
RE claims 1, the European Publication (EP 3613683) discloses a gripping device (see Figs. 1-8) for retaining a container (12), comprising: a first clamp arm pair (14, 14) (see Figs. 6, 7, and 8) and a second clamp arm pair (14, 14) (see Figs. 6, 7, and 8) which are arranged one above the other for the simultaneous retention of the container (see Figs. 6, 7, and 8); a first drive unit (15, 16) which in order to actuate the first clamp arm pair (14, 14) is operationally connected to the first clamp arm pair; and a second drive unit (15, 16) which in order to actuate the second clamp arm pair is operationally connected to the second clamp arm pair.
RE claims 2-5, the European Publication’s Gripping Device (EP 3613683) teaches at least one of: the first drive unit (15, 16)) and the second drive unit (15,1 6) are controlled independently of each other; and the first clamp arm pair (14, 14) is actuated via the first drive unit and the second clamp arm pair (14,1 4) is actuated via the second drive unit independently of each other (see Fig. 7), wherein the first drive unit and the second drive unit are pneumatically controlled independently (see Claim 2 of EP ‘683) of each other wherein the pneumatic drive unit includes a pneumatic actuator.
[0032] The first control section 18 is formed by a guide contour 22 ……The corresponding second region 26 is positioned further inward in the direction of the pivoting movement 3 than the first region 24. For this purpose, the actuator 16 is connected to an actuator 15, which is a pneumatic cylinder in the embodiment of FIG. 1. The actuator 15 has a connection 17, to which a line for a medium, such as electricity, air or oil, which actuates the actuator 15 can be connected…..
[0046] In Figure 7, a bottle has been gripped by a gripper dual unit 102. The upper gripper unit 10 must grip a cross section of the bottle of different shape than the lower gripper unit 10. The cross sections differ in shape and diameter. The bottle is gripped by the lower gripper unit 10 in the region of the bottom of the bottle, while the upper gripper unit 10 grips the bottle approximately in the middle. The bottle protrudes beyond the upper gripper unit 10 in the vertical direction 5. The two gripper units 10 arranged relative to one another can be adjusted independently of one another to different diameters and shapes.
Exhibit A
RE claims 6 and 7, Figs. 1-8 of the European Publication’s Gripping Device (EP 3613683) also show that at least one of the retention force (O or S) (see Figs. 1 and 6), the opening time, the closure time and the adjustment path of the first clamp arm pair via the first drive unit are configured to be pneumatically adjusted (see “actuator 15”) (see Fig. 6) in a variable manner (see vertical arrow D movable up and down and see a horizontal arrow pneumatically adjusted by separate an upper actuator 15 and a lower actuator 15), and at least one of the retention force, the opening time, the closure time and the adjustment path of the second clamp arm pair via the second drive unit are configured to be pneumatically adjusted in a variable manner (see paragraphs [0033], [0044], 0046] and [0048]). Note that Figs. 1 and 2 also disclose a linear movement rod (36) and an adjustable actuator (16) to provide a retention force on the front control section (31) (see a rotatable arrow) to open or close the gripping jaws.
RE claims 8-10, Figs. 6 and 7 of the European Publication’s Gripping Device (EP 3613683) disclose a control unit (102) for controlling at least one of the first drive unit and the second drive unit, wherein the control unit (See paragraph [0044]) is configured to operate at least one of the first drive unit and the second drive unit in different modes wherein the different modes differ at least partially with respect to at least one of a retention force, an opening time, a closure time and an adjustment path of the respective clamp arm pair wherein the different modes are configured for retaining different containers (See paragraph [0046]) wherein the different containers differ with respect to at least one of a container weight, a container size, a container shape, a container diameter and a container material.
RE claim 11, Figs. 1-8 of the European Publication’s Gripping Device (EP 3613683) operates at least one of the operational connection between the first drive unit and the first clamp arm pair, the operational connection between the second drive unit and the second clamp arm pair, the first drive unit and the second drive unit are formed and driven by pneumatic unit, without a resilient spring element.
RE claims 12-14, Figs. 1, 2, 6, and 8 of the European Publication’s Gripping Device (EP 3613683) provide a clamp carrier having at least one of substantially block-shaped and elongate (13) (see Figs. 1 and 6) wherein at least one of the first drive unit and the second drive unit is carried by a rear side of the clamp carrier.
RE claim 15, Fig. 1 of the European Publication’s Gripping Device (EP 3613683), as broadly as recited, shows that at least one of the first drive unit and the second drive unit including a piston rod (36) is being carried by the clamp carrier (13) at a rear side of the clamp carrier (see Fig. 1) which is opposite a front side of the clamp carrier facing the container retained by the first clamp arm pair and the second clamp arm pair.
RE claims 16 and 17, Figs. 1-8 of the European Publication’s Gripping Device (EP 3613683) disclose at least one of: the first clamp arm pair (10) has two first clamp arms for abutting the container and which are configured to be moved in opposing directions relative to each other; and the second clamp arm pair (10) has two second clamp arms for abutting the container and which are configured to be moved in opposing directions relative to each other wherein at least one of: the two first clamp arms are coupled to each other, the two first clamp arms are moved via pivot or displacement in the opposing directions relative to each other, the two second clamp arms are coupled to each other, and the two second clamp arms are moved via pivot or displacement in the opposing directions relative to each other.
RE claim 18, Fig. 1 of the European Publication’s Gripping Device (EP 3613683) substantially shows at least one of two first pivot arms (26, 26) which are arranged in a V-shaped manner.
RE claims 19 and 20, Figs. 1 and 2 of the European Publication’s Gripping Device (EP 3613683) employ a displaceable first transfer element which is displaceably supported in a clamp carrier of the clamp apparatus, is rod-like (36) and configured to be displaced by the first drive unit; and the two second pivot arms are fitted so as to be able to be pivoted to a displaceable second transfer element which is displaceably supported in a clamp carrier of the clamp apparatus, is rod- like (36).
RE claims 21-23, the European Publication’s Gripping Device (EP 3613683) also provides a transportable and rotary distributor (see Fig. 7 and paragraph [0046]) which is connected to at least one of the first drive unit and the second drive unit, or a rotary distributor which is pneumatically connected to at least one of the first drive unit and the second drive unit wherein the transport apparatus is a rotatable clamp star wheel (see paragraphs [0002-0010]).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Nakajima; Kiyoharu shows two pair of gripping jaws biased by spring (15a, 15b).
Leidel; Marco ‘401 (see IDS), the same assignee and inventor, was published on Sept 29, 2022, but does not overcome the effective filing date, Nov 12, 2021, of the instant application.
Other references as cited in PTO-892 show a container or preform gripping jaws.
/PAUL T CHIN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3654
summ