DETAILED ACTION
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1-15 and 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(a) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), first paragraph, as failing to comply with the written description requirement. The claim(s) contains subject matter which was not described in the specification in such a way as to reasonably convey to one skilled in the relevant art that the inventor or a joint inventor, or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the inventor(s), at the time the application was filed, had possession of the claimed invention.
Claim 1 recites the limitation, “when the first container is coupled to the base” and “the second container is coupled to the base”. Neither the original specification, nor figures nor claims describe the container being coupled to the base, but rather the figures show the base is part of the container (see figure 2, containers 12/14 and base 18 are one piece and cannot have an action of being coupled together), and paragraph [0024] of the original specification states that the container includes the base. There is no support for the action of “when the container is coupled to the base”. Claims 2-15 are also rejected under 35 USC 112(a) by virtue of their dependency on claim 1.
Claim 1 recites the limitation, “the first magnet is spaced from the base” and “the second magnet is spaced from the base”. Neither the original specification, nor figures nor claims describe the magnet being spaced from the base, but rather, the figures show magnet 20/22 a part of the base 18, and paragraphs [0023] and [0040] in the original specification states that the magnet 20/22 is coupled to the base 18. There is no support for the magnet being spaced from the base. Claims 2-15 are also rejected under 35 USC 112(a) by virtue of their dependency on claim 1.
Claim 20 recites the limitation, “when the first container is coupled to the base” and “the second container is coupled to the base”. Neither the original specification, nor figures nor claims describe the container being coupled to the base, but rather the figures show the base is part of the container (see figure 2, containers 12/14 and base 18 are one piece and cannot have an action of being coupled together), and paragraph [0024] of the original specification states that the container includes the base. There is no support for the action of “when the container is coupled to the base”.
Claim 20 recites the limitation, “the first magnet is spaced from the base” and “the second magnet is spaced from the base”. Neither the original specification, nor figures nor claims describe the magnet being spaced from the base, but rather, the figures show magnet 20/22 a part of the base 18, and paragraphs [0023] and [0040] in the original specification states that the magnet 20/22 is coupled to the base 18. There is no support for the magnet being spaced from the base.
Claims 1-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 1 recites the limitation, “a first container and a second container each having a base,…such that when the first container is coupled to the base…such that when the second container is coupled to the base”. It is unclear how the container is recited as having a base and how the container is also recited as being coupled to the base at other times, implying that the container must first be separate from the base for it to be later coupled to the base. A container cannot both have a base and be coupled to that base. As such the claim is indefinite for failing to distinctly claim the invention. Claims 2-15 are also rejected under 35 USC 112(b) by virtue of their dependency on claim 1.
Claim 16 recites the limitation "the linear path" in line 10. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim. Claims 17-19 are also rejected under 35 USC 112(b) by virtue of their dependency on claim 16.
Claim 20 recites the limitation, “a first container and a second container each having a base,…such that when the first container is coupled to the base…such that when the second container is coupled to the base”. It is unclear how the container is recited as having a base and how the container is also recited as being coupled to the base at other times, implying that the container must first be separate from the base for it to be later coupled to the base. A container cannot both have a base and be coupled to that base. As such the claim is indefinite for failing to distinctly claim the invention.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-5, 9-15 and 20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Baek et al. (U.S. Patent Pub. No. 2022/0322884) in view of Dickson, Jr. et al. (U.S. Patent Pub. No. 2016/0256005).
Regarding claim 1, Baek et al. discloses a countertop appliance (title; figure 1), comprising:
interchangeable containers including a first container and a second container (figures 18, containers 10 and 10’) each having a base (figures 6-8, body accommodation portion 102), the first container including a first magnet such that when the first container is coupled to the base, the first magnet is spaced from the base at a first distance (figure 7, detection member 107 is spaced from 102 in same way applicant’s magnet is spaced from base), and the second container including a second magnet such that when the second container is coupled to the base, the second magnet is spaced from the base at a second distance (figure 8, detection member 107 is spaced from 102 in same way applicant’s magnet is spaced from base);
a housing (figure 1, body 30) including a motor (figure 3, motor 51) and an attachment portion (figure 9, second seating portion 325), wherein the interchangeable containers are selectively and operably coupled to the attachment portion of the housing (figures 3, 6, 18, 19);
an analog magnetic sensor disposed proximate the attachment portion of the housing, the analog magnetic sensor being configured to detect the first magnet at the first distance and the second magnet at the second distance (figures 9, 19-21, detection device 39; [0100]; [0103]-[0104]; [0117]; [0119]; [0183]-[0184]); and
a controller communicatively coupled with the analog magnetic sensor, the controller being configured to identify one of the interchangeable containers based on the detected distance of one of the first magnet and the second magnet ([0198]; [0207]-[0208]).
However, Baek et al. discloses the analog magnetic sensor being configured to detect the first magnet at the first distance and the second magnet at the second distance along a radial path distance, rather than along the same vertical path.
Dickson, Jr. et al. teaches another food mixing machine (abstract; figure 1a). Dickson, Jr. et al. teaches the analog magnetic sensor being configured to detect the first magnet at the first distance and the second magnet at the second distance along a radial path distance, rather than along the same vertical path ([0173]-[0174]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the time of filing to modify the detection distance of Baek et al. to be vertical as taught by Dickson, Jr. et al. One of ordinary skill in the art would reasonably expect such a combination to be suitable given that both references teach food mixing machines. There is no significant difference between radial and vertical detection of distances of magnets from the sensor. Further, vertical distances of magnets is well known in the art as evidenced by Dickson, Jr. et al. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the time of filing to modify the apparatus of Baek et al. to have the magnets spaced vertically away from the sensor versus radially spaced away, as such modification would involve a mere change in configuration. It has been held that a change in configuration of shape of a device is obvious, absent persuasive evidence that a particular configuration is significant. In re Dailey, 357 F.2d 669, 149 USPQ 47 (CCPA 1966). Furthermore, rearranging the magnets to be vertically distanced away from the sensor, as taught by Dickson, Jr. et al. versus radially of Baek et al. would have amounted to a mere rearrangement of parts. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to rearrange the magnets at a vertical distance based on the available space in the container wall, since it has been held that rearranging parts of an invention involves only routine skill in the art while the device having the claimed arrangement would not perform differently than the prior art device, In re Japikse, 86 USPQ 70 and since it has been held that a mere reversal of the essential working parts of a device involves only routine skill in the art, In re Einstein, 8 USPQ 167.
Regarding claim 2, Baek et al. in view of Dickson, Jr. et al. disclose all the limitations as set forth above. Baek et al. as modified by Dickson, Jr. et al. further discloses wherein the analog magnetic sensor is configured to detect a polarity of each of the first magnet and the second magnet (detection device 39; [0103] (sensor is a hall sensor that detects a magnet which has a polarity)). It is noted that the limitation is directed to an intended use of the magnetic sensor and a Hall sensor is capable to detect a polarity of a magnet.
Regarding claim 3, Baek et al. in view of Dickson, Jr. et al. disclose all the limitations as set forth above. Baek et al. as modified by Dickson, Jr. et al. further discloses wherein the controller is configured to identify one of the first container and the second container based on the detected polarity by the analog magnetic sensor (figures 20 and 21; [0198]; [0207]-[0208]). It is noted that the limitation is directed to an intended use of the controller, and the controller is capable to identify the first or second container based on the location and number of the detected polarized magnets.
Regarding claim 4, Baek et al. in view of Dickson, Jr. et al. disclose all the limitations as set forth above. Baek et al. as modified by Dickson, Jr. et al. further discloses wherein the controller is configured to prompt a container protocol for the identified interchangeable container ([0198]; [0208]).
Regarding claim 5, Baek et al. in view of Dickson, Jr. et al. disclose all the limitations as set forth above. Baek et al. as modified by Dickson, Jr. et al. further discloses wherein the controller is further configured to repeatedly detect the first and second magnets to determine whether the one of the interchangeable containers is stationary ([0198] and [0208] determines the container is mounted/stationary).
Regarding claim 9, Baek et al. in view of Dickson, Jr. et al. disclose all the limitations as set forth above. Baek et al. as modified by Dickson, Jr. et al. further discloses wherein each interchangeable container includes sidewalls extending from an upper portion of the base, the sidewalls of the first container extending from the upper portion by a first length and the sidewalls of the second container extending from the upper portion by a second length greater than the first length (figure 18, see length of walls of container 10 versus 10’, not labeled).
Regarding claim 10, Baek et al. in view of Dickson, Jr. et al. disclose all the limitations as set forth above. Baek et al. as modified by Dickson, Jr. et al. further discloses wherein the first and second magnets are positioned on the upper portion (figures 7, 8 and 19, detection member 104).
Regarding claim 11, Baek et al. in view of Dickson, Jr. et al. disclose all the limitations as set forth above. Baek et al. as modified by Dickson, Jr. et al. further discloses wherein the first and second magnets are configured to be positioned directly over the analog magnetic sensor (Baek et al. figures 20 and 21, body 30 and opposing rectangle directly over #39, not labeled, but one of magnets 104; Dickson, Jr. et al. figures 23 and 28, magnet 270 inside driveshaft 154 directly over hall effect sensor as shown in figure 22).
Regarding claim 12, Baek et al. in view of Dickson, Jr. et al. disclose all the limitations as set forth above. Baek et al. as modified by Dickson, Jr. et al. further discloses wherein the analog magnetic sensor is a Hall effect sensor ([0103]).
Regarding claim 13, Baek et al. in view of Dickson, Jr. et al. disclose all the limitations as set forth above. Baek et al. as modified by Dickson, Jr. et al. further discloses wherein the Hall effect sensor is configured to detect a polarity of the first and second magnets, wherein the polarity includes one of a North polarity directed upward and a South polarity directed upward (detection device 39; [0103] (sensor is a hall sensor that detects a magnet which has a polarity of north or south). It is noted that the limitation is directed to an intended use of the Hall effect sensor and a Hall sensor is capable to detect a polarity of a magnet which has a north or south polarity.
Regarding claim 14, Baek et al. in view of Dickson, Jr. et al. disclose all the limitations as set forth above. Baek et al. as modified by Dickson, Jr. et al. further discloses wherein the controller is configured to determine a verification check of an identity of the interchangeable containers based on the polarity (figures 20 and 21; [0198]; [0207]-[0208]). It is noted that the limitation is directed to an intended use of the controller, and the controller is capable to further identify the first or second container based on the location and number of the detected polarized magnets.
Regarding claim 15, Baek et al. in view of Dickson, Jr. et al. disclose all the limitations as set forth above. Baek et al. as modified by Dickson, Jr. et al. further discloses wherein the Hall effect sensor is configured to communicate positive and negative values to the controller based on the polarity of the first and second magnets (figures 20 and 21, reference #39; [0103] (sensor is a hall sensor that positively or negatively detects a magnet at a location opposite)), and wherein the controller is further configured to determine the identity of the interchangeable containers based further on the positive and negative values (figures 20 and 21; [0198]; [0207]-[0208]). It is noted that the limitation is directed to an intended use of the sensor and the controller, and the sensor and controller are capable to further identify the first or second container based on the positive or negative location and of the positively or negatively detected polarized magnets. There are no further structural limitations differentiating the recited hall effect sensor from any other typical hall effect sensor which is what is disclosed by Baek et al. and is known to perform as functionally recited.
Regarding claim 20, Baek et al. discloses a countertop appliance (title; figure 1), comprising:
interchangeable containers including a first container and a second container (figures 18, containers 10 and 10’) each having a base (figures 6-8, body accommodation portion 102), the first container including a first magnet such that when the first container is coupled to the base, the first magnet is spaced from the base at a first distance (figure 7, detection member 107 is spaced from 102 in same way applicant’s magnet is spaced from base), and the second container including a second magnet such that when the second container is coupled to the base, the second magnet is spaced from the base at a second distance (figure 8, detection member 107 is spaced from 102 in same way applicant’s magnet is spaced from base);
a housing (figure 1, body 30) including a motor (figure 3, motor 51) and an attachment portion (figure 9, second seating portion 325), wherein the interchangeable containers are selectively and operably coupled to the attachment portion of the housing (figures 3, 6, 18, 19);
an analog magnetic sensor disposed proximate the attachment portion of the housing, the analog magnetic sensor being configured to detect a polarity of the first magnet at the first distance and a polarity of the second magnet at the second distance (figures 9, 19-21, detection device 39; [0100]; [0103]-[0104]; [0117]; [0119]; [0183]-[0184]) (sensor is a hall sensor that detects a magnet which has a polarity at each located distance) (it is noted that the limitation is directed to an intended use of the magnetic sensor and a Hall sensor is capable to detect a polarity of a magnet); and
a controller communicatively coupled with the analog magnetic sensor configured to identify one of the interchangeable containers based on the detected polarity and the detected distance of one of the first magnet and the second magnet ([0198]; [0207]-[0208]) (It is noted that the limitation is directed to an intended use of the controller, and the controller is capable to identify the first or second container based on the location and number of the detected polarized magnets).
a controller communicatively coupled with the analog magnetic sensor, the controller being configured to identify one of the interchangeable containers based on the detected distance of one of the first magnet and the second magnet ([0198]; [0207]-[0208]).
However, Baek et al. discloses the analog magnetic sensor being configured to detect the first magnet at the first distance and the second magnet at the second distance along a radial path distance, rather than along the same vertical path.
Dickson, Jr. et al. teaches another food mixing machine (abstract; figure 1a). Dickson, Jr. et al. teaches the analog magnetic sensor being configured to detect the first magnet at the first distance and the second magnet at the second distance along a radial path distance, rather than along the same vertical path ([0173]-[0174]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the time of filing to modify the detection distance of Baek et al. to be vertical as taught by Dickson, Jr. et al. One of ordinary skill in the art would reasonably expect such a combination to be suitable given that both references teach food mixing machines. There is no significant difference between radial and vertical detection of distances of magnets from the sensor. Further, vertical distances of magnets is well known in the art as evidenced by Dickson, Jr. et al. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the time of filing to modify the apparatus of Baek et al. to have the magnets spaced vertically away from the sensor versus radially spaced away, as such modification would involve a mere change in configuration. It has been held that a change in configuration of shape of a device is obvious, absent persuasive evidence that a particular configuration is significant. In re Dailey, 357 F.2d 669, 149 USPQ 47 (CCPA 1966). Furthermore, rearranging the magnets to be vertically distanced away from the sensor, as taught by Dickson, Jr. et al. versus radially of Baek et al. would have amounted to a mere rearrangement of parts. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to rearrange the magnets at a vertical distance based on the available space in the container wall, since it has been held that rearranging parts of an invention involves only routine skill in the art while the device having the claimed arrangement would not perform differently than the prior art device, In re Japikse, 86 USPQ 70 and since it has been held that a mere reversal of the essential working parts of a device involves only routine skill in the art, In re Einstein, 8 USPQ 167.
Claim(s) 1-5, 9-15 and 20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Crozier et al. (U.S. Patent Pub. No. 2021/0106167) in view of Dickson, Jr. et al.
Regarding claim 1, Crozier et al. discloses a countertop appliance (title; figures 1 and 2, beverage preparation device 1), comprising:
interchangeable containers including a first container and a second container (figures 1, two beverage receptacles 7, with only one labeled; [0066] receptacle of large volume and receptacle of short volume) each having a base (figures 4, 10-12, bottom 8), the first container including a first magnet such that when the first container is coupled to the base, the first magnet is spaced from the base a first distance (figure 10, series of alternating magnetic poles 13 “N”; [0067]; [0068] magnet at different position/distances) and the second container including a second magnet such that when the second container is coupled to the base, the second magnet is spaced from the base a first distance (figure 10, series of alternating magnetic poles 13 “S”; figures 11 and 12, identifying means 25; [0067]; [0068] magnet at different position/distances);
a housing (figure 1, where numeral 1 is pointing; figure 2, brewing unit 3) including a motor (figure 2, reference #2) and an attachment portion (figure 1, receptacle support 33), wherein the interchangeable containers are selectively and operably coupled to the attachment portion of the housing (figure 1, reference #7 and 33);
an analog magnetic sensor disposed proximate the attachment portion of the housing, the analog magnetic sensor being configured to detect the first magnet at the first distance and the second magnet at the second distance (figures 2 and 11, receptacle identifying means 24; [0023]; [0065]-[0068]); and
a controller communicatively coupled with the analog magnetic sensor, the controller being configured to identify one of the interchangeable containers based on the detected distance of one of the first magnet and the second magnet (figure 2, control unit 19; [0065]; [0069]; [0072]-[0074]).
However, Crozier et al. discloses the analog magnetic sensor being configured to detect the first magnet at the first distance and the second magnet at the second distance along a radial path distance, rather than along the same vertical path.
Dickson, Jr. et al. teaches another food mixing machine (abstract; figure 1a). Dickson, Jr. et al. teaches the analog magnetic sensor being configured to detect the first magnet at the first distance and the second magnet at the second distance along a radial path distance, rather than along the same vertical path ([0173]-[0174]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the time of filing to modify the detection distance of Crozier et al. to be vertical as taught by Dickson, Jr. et al. One of ordinary skill in the art would reasonably expect such a combination to be suitable given that both references teach food mixing machines. There is no significant difference between radial and vertical detection of distances of magnets from the sensor. Further, vertical distances of magnets is well known in the art as evidenced by Dickson, Jr. et al. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the time of filing to modify the apparatus of Crozier et al. to have the magnets spaced vertically away from the sensor versus radially spaced away, as such modification would involve a mere change in configuration. It has been held that a change in configuration of shape of a device is obvious, absent persuasive evidence that a particular configuration is significant. In re Dailey, 357 F.2d 669, 149 USPQ 47 (CCPA 1966). Furthermore, rearranging the magnets to be vertically distanced away from the sensor, as taught by Dickson, Jr. et al. versus radially of Crozier et al. would have amounted to a mere rearrangement of parts. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to rearrange the magnets at a vertical distance based on the available space in the container wall, since it has been held that rearranging parts of an invention involves only routine skill in the art while the device having the claimed arrangement would not perform differently than the prior art device, In re Japikse, 86 USPQ 70 and since it has been held that a mere reversal of the essential working parts of a device involves only routine skill in the art, In re Einstein, 8 USPQ 167.
Regarding claim 2, Crozier et al. in view of Dickson, Jr. et al. disclose all the limitations as set forth above. Crozier et al. as modified by Dickson, Jr. et al. further discloses wherein the analog magnetic sensor is configured to detect a polarity of each of the first magnet and the second magnet (receptacle identifying means 24; [0065]-[0067]).
Regarding claim 3, Crozier et al. in view of Dickson, Jr. et al. disclose all the limitations as set forth above. Crozier et al. as modified by Dickson, Jr. et al. further discloses wherein the controller is configured to identify one of the first container and the second container based on the detected polarity by the analog magnetic sensor (figure 2, reference #19; [0065]; [0069]; [0072]-[0074]).
Regarding claim 4, Crozier et al. in view of Dickson, Jr. et al. disclose all the limitations as set forth above. Crozier et al. as modified by Dickson, Jr. et al. further discloses wherein the controller is configured to prompt a container protocol for the identified interchangeable container ([0069]; [0074]).
Regarding claim 5, Crozier et al. in view of Dickson, Jr. et al. disclose all the limitations as set forth above. Crozier et al. as modified by Dickson, Jr. et al. further discloses wherein the controller is further configured to repeatedly detect the first and second magnets to determine whether the one of the interchangeable containers is stationary (figure 13; [0072]-[0077]).
Regarding claim 9, Crozier et al. in view of Dickson, Jr. et al. disclose all the limitations as set forth above. Crozier et al. as modified by Dickson, Jr. et al. further discloses wherein each interchangeable container includes sidewalls extending from an upper portion of the base, the sidewalls of the first container extending from the upper portion by a first length and the sidewalls of the second container extending from the upper portion by a second length greater than the first length ([0067] (short or long type of receptacle)).
Regarding claim 10, Crozier et al. in view of Dickson, Jr. et al. disclose all the limitations as set forth above. Crozier et al. as modified by Dickson, Jr. et al. further discloses wherein the first and second magnets are positioned on the upper portion (figure 10, reference #13; figures 11 and 12, reference #25).
Regarding claim 11, Crozier et al. in view of Dickson, Jr. et al. disclose all the limitations as set forth above. Crozier et al. as modified by Dickson, Jr. et al. further discloses wherein the first and second magnets are configured to be positioned directly over the analog magnetic sensor (Crozier et al. figures 2, rectangle not labeled in reference #8 directly over reference #24; figure 11, reference #25 directly over reference #24; Dickson, Jr. et al. figures 23 and 28, magnet 270 inside driveshaft 154 directly over hall effect sensor as shown in figure 22).
Regarding claim 12, Crozier et al. in view of Dickson, Jr. et al. disclose all the limitations as set forth above. Crozier et al. as modified by Dickson, Jr. et al. further discloses wherein the analog magnetic sensor is a Hall effect sensor ([0023]; [0065]; [0067]).
Regarding claim 13, Crozier et al. in view of Dickson, Jr. et al. disclose all the limitations as set forth above. Crozier et al. as modified by Dickson, Jr. et al. further discloses wherein the Hall effect sensor is configured to detect a polarity of the first and second magnets, wherein the polarity includes one of a North polarity directed upward and a South polarity directed upward (figure 10, reference #13; [0065]-[0066]] (sensor is a hall sensor that detects a magnet which has a polarity of north or south). It is noted that the limitation is directed to an intended use of the Hall effect sensor and a Hall sensor is capable to detect a polarity of a magnet which has a north or south polarity.
Regarding claim 14, Crozier et al. in view of Dickson, Jr. et al. disclose all the limitations as set forth above. Crozier et al. as modified by Dickson, Jr. et al. further discloses wherein the controller is configured to determine a verification check of an identity of the interchangeable containers based on the polarity (figures 13 and 15; [0071]-[0077]).
Regarding claim 15, Crozier et al. in view of Dickson, Jr. et al. disclose all the limitations as set forth above. Crozier et al. as modified by Dickson, Jr. et al. further discloses wherein the Hall effect sensor is configured to communicate positive and negative values to the controller based on the polarity of the first and second magnets (reference #24; [0065-[0068]; [0072]] and wherein the controller is further configured to determine the identity of the interchangeable containers based further on the positive and negative values ([0065]; [0069]; [0072]). It is noted that the limitation is directed to an intended use of the sensor and the controller, and the sensor and controller are capable to further identify the first or second container based on the positive or negative location and of the positively or negatively detected polarized magnets. There are no further structural limitations differentiating the recited hall effect sensor from any other typical hall effect sensor which is what is disclosed by Baek et al. and is known to perform as functionally recited.
Regarding claim 20, Crozier et al. discloses a countertop appliance (title; figures 1 and 2, beverage preparation device 1), comprising:
interchangeable containers including a first container and a second container (figures 1, two beverage receptacles 7, with only one labeled; [0066] receptacle of large volume and receptacle of short volume) each having a base (figures 4, 10-12, bottom 8), the first container including a first magnet such that when the first container is coupled to the base, the first magnet is spaced from the base a first distance (figure 10, series of alternating magnetic poles 13 “N”; [0067]; [0068] magnet at different position/distances) and the second container including a second magnet such that when the second container is coupled to the base, the second magnet is spaced from the base a first distance (figure 10, series of alternating magnetic poles 13 “S”; figures 11 and 12, identifying means 25; [0067]; [0068] magnet at different position/distances);
a housing (figure 1, where numeral 1 is pointing; figure 2, brewing unit 3) including a motor (figure 2, reference #2) and an attachment portion (figure 1, receptacle support 33), wherein the interchangeable containers are selectively and operably coupled to the attachment portion of the housing (figure 1, reference #7 and 33);
an analog magnetic sensor disposed proximate the attachment portion of the housing, the analog magnetic sensor being configured to detect a polarity of the first magnet at the first distance and a polarity of the second magnet at the second distance (figures 2 and 11, receptacle identification means 24; [0023]; [0065]-[0068]); and
a controller communicatively coupled with the analog magnetic sensor, the controller being configured to identify one of the interchangeable containers based on the detected polarity and the detected distance of one of the first magnet and the second magnet (figure 2, control unit 19; [0065]; [0069]; [0072]-[0074]).
However, Crozier et al. discloses the analog magnetic sensor being configured to detect the first magnet at the first distance and the second magnet at the second distance along a radial path distance, rather than along the same vertical path.
Dickson, Jr. et al. teaches another food mixing machine (abstract; figure 1a). Dickson, Jr. et al. teaches the analog magnetic sensor being configured to detect the first magnet at the first distance and the second magnet at the second distance along a radial path distance, rather than along the same vertical path ([0173]-[0174]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the time of filing to modify the detection distance of Crozier et al. to be vertical as taught by Dickson, Jr. et al. One of ordinary skill in the art would reasonably expect such a combination to be suitable given that both references teach food mixing machines. There is no significant difference between radial and vertical detection of distances of magnets from the sensor. Further, vertical distances of magnets is well known in the art as evidenced by Dickson, Jr. et al. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the time of filing to modify the apparatus of Crozier et al. to have the magnets spaced vertically away from the sensor versus radially spaced away, as such modification would involve a mere change in configuration. It has been held that a change in configuration of shape of a device is obvious, absent persuasive evidence that a particular configuration is significant. In re Dailey, 357 F.2d 669, 149 USPQ 47 (CCPA 1966). Furthermore, rearranging the magnets to be vertically distanced away from the sensor, as taught by Dickson, Jr. et al. versus radially of Crozier et al. would have amounted to a mere rearrangement of parts. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to rearrange the magnets at a vertical distance based on the available space in the container wall, since it has been held that rearranging parts of an invention involves only routine skill in the art while the device having the claimed arrangement would not perform differently than the prior art device, In re Japikse, 86 USPQ 70 and since it has been held that a mere reversal of the essential working parts of a device involves only routine skill in the art, In re Einstein, 8 USPQ 167.
Claim(s) 6-8 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Baek et al. in view of Dickson, Jr. et al. as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Kovacic et al. (U.S. Patent Pub. No. 2009/0084274).
Regarding claims 6-8, Baek et al. in view of Dickson, Jr. et al. discloses all the limitations as set forth above. However, the reference does not explicitly disclose an activation rod.
Kovacic et al. teaches another kitchen appliance (title). The reference teaches wherein the first container (figure 2) includes a lid (figure 2, reference #6) and a body that defines a channel (figure 2, reference #8); an activation rod disposed within the channel (figure 2, reference #9) and includes a first magnet (figure 2, reference #14), the activation rod being translated via the lid (figures 2 and 3, reference #42; [0029]); wherein the controller is further configured to identify when the lid is in a closed position based on a change in position of the first magnet detected by the analog magnetic sensor (figure 1, reference #28; [0029]; [0032]); and wherein the controller is further configured to activate the motor in response to the lid being in the closed position (figure 1, reference #28; [0028]-[0029]; [0032]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was filed to provide the activation rod with first magnet wherein the controller is further configured to identify when the lid is in a closed position based on a change in position of the first magnet detected by the analog magnetic sensor; and wherein the controller is further configured to activate the motor in response to the lid being in the closed position of Kovacic et al. in the container of Baek et al. One of ordinary skill in the art would reasonably expect such a combination to be suitable given that both references teach kitchen appliances. One of ordinary skill in the art would be motivated to provide an activation rod with first magnet and controller as configured to do the foregoing because it enhances the safety of the reliability of the appliance by ensuring the appliance is properly assembled (Kovacic et al. [0030]; [0032]).
Claim(s) 6-8 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Crozier et al. in view of Dickson, Jr. et al. as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Kovacic et al.
Regarding claims 6-8, Crozier et al. in view of Dickson, Jr. et al. discloses all the limitations as set forth above. However, the reference does not explicitly disclose an activation rod.
Kovacic et al. teaches another kitchen appliance (title). The reference teaches wherein the first container (figure 2) includes a lid (figure 2, reference #6) and a body that defines a channel (figure 2, reference #8); an activation rod disposed within the channel (figure 2, reference #9) and includes a first magnet (figure 2, reference #14), the activation rod being translated via the lid (figures 2 and 3, reference #42; [0029]); wherein the controller is further configured to identify when the lid is in a closed position based on a change in position of the first magnet detected by the analog magnetic sensor (figure 1, reference #28; [0029]; [0032]); and wherein the controller is further configured to activate the motor in response to the lid being in the closed position (figure 1, reference #28; [0028]-[0029]; [0032]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was filed to provide the activation rod with first magnet wherein the controller is further configured to identify when the lid is in a closed position based on a change in position of the first magnet detected by the analog magnetic sensor; and wherein the controller is further configured to activate the motor in response to the lid being in the closed position of Kovacic et al. in the container of Crozier et al. One of ordinary skill in the art would reasonably expect such a combination to be suitable given that both references teach kitchen appliances. One of ordinary skill in the art would be motivated to provide an activation rod with first magnet and controller as configured to do the foregoing because it enhances the safety of the reliability of the appliance by ensuring the appliance is properly assembled (Kovacic et al. [0030]; [0032]).
Claim(s) 16-19 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Baek et al. in view of Kovacic et al.
Regarding claims 16, Baek et al. discloses a countertop appliance (title; figure 1), comprising:
interchangeable containers including a first container and a second container (figures 18, containers 10 and 10’) each defining an upper opening (figure 5, opening 101) a bottom (figures 6-8, body accommodation portion 102), and a linear extent that extends vertically between the upper opening and the bottom (figure 3, wall of container 10), each of the first container and the second container including a lid (figure 18, lid 20) and a body that defines a channel (figure 3, space between inner container 12 and outer container 11); an analog magnetic sensor disposed proximate the magnet, the analog magnetic sensor being configured to detect a distance of magnet (figures 9, 19-21, detection device 39; [0100]; [0103]-[0104]; [0117]; [0119]; [0183]-[0184]); and a controller communicatively coupled with the analog magnetic sensor ([0198]; [0207]-[0208]).
However, Baek et al. does not explicitly disclose an activation rod.
Kovacic et al. teaches another kitchen appliance (title). The reference teaches wherein the first container defines an upper opening, a bottom, and a linear extent that extends vertically between the upper opening and the bottom (figure 2, blender receptacle 7), the container includes a lid (figure 2, reference #6) and a body that defines a channel (figure 2, reference #8); an activation rod disposed within the channel (figure 2, reference #9) and includes a first magnet (figure 2, reference #14), the activation rod being translated via the lid (figures 2 and 3, reference #42; [0029]); an analog magnetic sensor disposed proximate the magnet of the activation rod (figures 2 and 3, #22), the analog magnetic sensor being configured to detect a distance of the magnet along a vertical path parallel with the linear path of the container relative to the analog magnetic sensor (figures 2 and 3, sensor 22 detects ferromagnetic switch slider 14 as moves vertically from figure 3 to figure 2); a controller communicatively coupled with the analog magnetic sensor, the controller being configured to identify when the lid is in a closed position based on the distance of the magnet detected by the analog magnetic sensor (figure 1, reference #28; [0029]; [0032]); and wherein the controller is further configured to activate the motor in response to the lid being in the closed position (figure 1, reference #28; [0028]-[0029]; [0032]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was filed to provide the activation rod with first magnet wherein the controller is further configured to identify when the lid is in a closed position based on a change in position of the first magnet detected by the analog magnetic sensor; and wherein the controller is further configured to activate the motor in response to the lid being in the closed position of Kovacic et al. in the container of Crozier et al. One of ordinary skill in the art would reasonably expect such a combination to be suitable given that both references teach kitchen appliances. One of ordinary skill in the art would be motivated to provide an activation rod with first magnet and controller as configured to do the foregoing because it enhances the safety of the reliability of the appliance by ensuring the appliance is properly assembled (Kovacic et al. [0030]; [0032]).
Regarding claim 17, Baek et al. in view of Kovacic et al. discloses all the limitations as set forth above. Baek et al. as modified by Kovacic et al. further discloses wherein the analog magnetic sensor is configured to detect a polarity of each of the first magnet and the second magnet (Baek et al. #39, [0013] (sensor is a hall sensor that detects a magnet which has a polarity); Kovacic et al. reference #22; [0008]; [0029]; [0032] (sensor is a hall sensor that detects a magnet and its magnetic field which has a polarity)). It is noted that the limitation is directed to an intended use of the magnetic sensor and a Hall sensor is capable to detect a polarity of a magnet.
Regarding claim 18, Baek et al. in view of Kovacic et al. discloses all the limitations as set forth above. Baek et al. as modified by Kovacic et al. further discloses wherein the controller is configured to identify one of the first container and the second container (Baek et al. figures 20 and 21; [0198]; [0207]-[0208]). It is noted that the limitation is directed to an intended use of the controller, and the controller is capable to identify the first or second container based on the detected polarized magnets.
Regarding claim 19, Baek et al. in view of Kovacic et al. discloses all the limitations as set forth above. Baek et al. as modified by Kovacic et al. further discloses wherein the controller is configured to prompt a container protocol for the identified interchangeable container (Baek et al. [0198]; [0208]; Kovacic et al. [0017]-[0018]).
Claim(s) 16-19 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kovacic et al.
Regarding claim 16, Kovacic et al. discloses a countertop appliance (abstract; figures 1-3), comprising:
interchangeable containers comprising a first container defines an upper opening, a bottom, and a linear extent that extends vertically between the upper opening and the bottom (figure 2, blender receptacle 7), the container includes a lid (figure 2, reference #6) and a body that defines a channel (figure 2, reference #8);
an activation rod disposed within the channel (figure 2, reference #9) and including a magnet (figure 2, reference #14), the activation rod being translated via the lid of the interchangeable containers (figures 2 and 3, reference #42; [0029]);
an analog magnetic sensor disposed proximate the magnet of the activation rod, the analog magnetic sensor being configured to detect a distance of the magnet along a vertical path parallel with the linear path of one of the interchangeable containers relative to the analog magnetic sensor (figures 2 and 3, sensor 22 detects ferromagnetic switch slider 14 as moves vertically from figure 3 to figure 2); and
a controller communicatively coupled with the analog magnetic sensor, the controller being configured to identify when the lid is in a closed position based on the distance of the magnet detected by the analog magnetic sensor (figure 1, reference #28; [0029]; [0032]).
While the reference only discloses a first container, the reference teaches that interchangeable tools, including receptacles, each with an identifying magnet may be used ([0018]; [0027]). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was filed to provide a second container with lid and body that defines a channel as one of the other additional interchangeable tools to match with the whisking, kneading, chopping tool, fruit press tools described by Kovacic et al. [0006] and to provide an additional container for different types and amounts of blending, since it has been held that mere duplication of the essential working parts of a device involves only routine skill in the art. St. Regis Paper Co. v. Bemis Co., 193 USPQ 8.
Regarding claim 17, Kovacic et al. discloses all the limitations as set forth above. The reference as modified further discloses wherein the analog magnetic sensor is configured to detect a polarity of each of the first magnet and the second magnet (reference #22; [0008]; [0029]; [0032] (sensor is a hall sensor that detects a magnet and its magnetic field which has a polarity)). It is noted that the limitation is directed to an intended use of the magnetic sensor and a Hall sensor is capable to detect a polarity of a magnet.
Regarding claim 18, Kovacic et al. discloses all the limitations as set forth above. The reference as modified further discloses wherein the controller is configured to identify one of the first container and the second container (additional tool as modified above to be a second container) based on the detected polarity by the analog magnetic sensor (figures 20 and 21; [0017-[0018]; [0022]; [0028]). It is noted that the limitation is directed to an intended use of the controller, and the controller is capable to identify the first or second container based on the detected polarized magnets.
Regarding claim 19, Kovacic et al. discloses all the limitations as set forth above. The reference as modified further discloses wherein the controller is configured to prompt a container protocol for the identified interchangeable container ([0017]-[0018]).
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 7/1/2026 with respect to the Kovacic reference have been fully considered but they are not persuasive. Applicant makes a conclusory statement that Kovacic et al. fails to disclose the limitations of claim 16, but does not specifically point out how the language of the claims patentably distinguishes them from the reference. As explained above, in the USC §103 rejection over Kovacic, the reference teaches all the limitations of claim 16.
Applicant’s arguments, see Remarks, filed 7/1/2026, with respect to the rejection(s) of claim(s) 1 and 20 under 35 USC §102(a)(1) by Baek et al. and Crozier et al. have been fully considered and are persuasive. Therefore, the rejection has been withdrawn. However, upon further consideration, a new ground(s) of rejection is made in view of Dickson, Jr. et al. to teach the distances of the magnets being a vertical distance along the sensor.
Conclusion
/ELIZABETH INSLER/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1774