DETAILED ACTION
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Claim Objections
Claim 25 is objected to because of the following minor informality: there is no period at the end. Appropriate correction is required.
A series of singular dependent claims is permissible in which a dependent claim refers to a preceding claim which, in turn, refers to another preceding claim.
A claim which depends from a dependent claim should not be separated by any claim which does not also depend from said dependent claim. It should be kept in mind that a dependent claim may refer to any preceding independent claim. In general, applicant's sequence will not be changed. See MPEP § 608.01(n). In this case, claim 24 depends from following claim 25, which is not permissible.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102/103
Claims 1-3, 6, 7, 9, 11-14, 24 and 25 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as anticipated by or, in the alternative, under 35 U.S.C. 103 as obvious over Gonring US 2022/0242538, alternatively also in view of Windsor US 2021/0101503.
Regarding claim 1, Gonring teaches a marine propulsion system comprising:
a marine drive having an electric motor powerhead 128;
at least two marine batteries 120, each with a maximum operating voltage at or below 60 volts [0026];
and a switch box 122, 130 configured to be removably connected to the marine drive and to each of the at least two marine batteries so as to electrically connect each of the at least two marine batteries in parallel to power the marine drive from each of the two batteries simultaneously.
In this case, Gonring teaches that each battery can be under 60 volts [0026]. If applicant disagrees, then it would have been an obvious matter of design choice to keep the batteries under 60 volts in order to present less danger to an operator, since such a modification would have involved a mere change in the size of a component. A change in size is generally recognized as being within the level of ordinary skill in the art. In re Rose, 105 USPQ 237 (CCPA 1955).
Figure 1- Gonring Figure 6
Note that all switching and connection points can be considered to collectively comprise the switch box, and all components are removable. If applicant disagrees, then it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made to collocate all control/switching components into one box in order to make maintenance or replacement easier, since it has been held that rearranging parts of an invention involves only routine skill in the art. In re Japikse, 86 USPQ 70. It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made to make the resulting switch box removable to further simplify maintenance or replacement, since it has been held that if it were considered desirable for any reason to obtain access to a first component to which a second component is applied, it would be obvious to make the second component removable for that purpose. In re Dulberg, 289 F.2d 522, 523, 129 USPQ 348, 349.
In an alternative interpretation, Gonring does not teach that all control/switching components are located in one removable box. Windsor teaches a marine propulsion system 100 comprising:
a marine drive having an electric motor powerhead (trolling motor [0021]);
at least two marine batteries 202, 204, 206, each with a maximum operating voltage at or below 60 volts [0010]; and
a switch box 10 configured to be removably connected to the marine drive and to each of the at least two marine batteries so as to electrically connect each of the at least two marine batteries.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was filed to modify the power management system of Gonring by collocating the control circuitry into a removable switch box as taught by Winsor in order to simplify installation, maintenance or replacement.
Regarding claim 2, Gonring alone or in view of Windsor teaches the device as claimed as detailed above with respect to claim 1. Gonring also teaches that the switch box is further configured to removably connect to at least four marine batteries 120 [0026], and wherein any subset of the at least four marine batteries can be disconnected from the switch box without disabling power delivery to the marine drive from at least one remaining marine battery [0040]. In this case, Gonring teaches that any single battery can be disconnected while power is still supplied from the remaining batteries. As modified, the battery could then be physically disconnected and sill function.
If applicant does not agree that Gonring teaches at least 4 batteries, then it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made to add additional batteries in order to increase capacity or redundance, since it has been held that mere duplication of the essential working parts of a device involves only routine skill in the art. St. Regis Paper Co. v. Bemis Co., 193 USPQ 8.
Regarding claim 3, Gonring alone or in view of Windsor teaches the device as claimed as detailed above with respect to claim 1. Gonring also teaches that the switch box is further configured to connect to a battery charger and to deliver a charge current to each of the at least two marine batteries connected thereto [0045].
Regarding claim 6, Gonring alone or in view of Windsor teaches the device as claimed as detailed above with respect to claim 1. Gonring also teaches a first connection cable configured to removably connect between a drive port on the marine drive and a first port on the switch box to deliver power and data from the switch box to the marine drive. As above, whatever connects the components can be considered a cable, and all components are removable. Also as Gonring is a smart battery management system, data is inherently communicated from the switch box to the marine drive.
Alternatively, Windsor also teaches a first connection cable configured to removably connect between a drive port on the marine drive and a first port 116 on the switch box to deliver power from the switch box to the marine drive [0028]. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was filed to modify the power management system of Gonring by collocating the control circuitry into a removable switch box with cabling as taught by Winsor in order to simplify installation, maintenance or replacement.
Regarding claim 7, Gonring alone or in view of Windsor teaches the device as claimed as detailed above with respect to claim 1. Gonring also teaches a second connection cable configured to removably connect between a second port on the switch box and a battery port on a first marine battery of the at least two marine batteries to deliver power and data from the first marine battery to the switch box. As above, whatever connects the components can be considered a cable, and all components are removable. Also as Gonring is a smart battery management system, data is inherently communicated between the switch box and the batteries.
Alternatively, Windsor also teaches a second connection cable configured to removably connect between a second port 114 on the switch box and a battery port on a first marine battery of the at least two marine batteries to deliver power and data from the first marine battery to the switch box [0028]. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was filed to modify the power management system of Gonring by collocating the control circuitry into a removable switch box with cabling as taught by Winsor in order to simplify installation, maintenance or replacement.
Regarding claim 9, Gonring alone or in view of Windsor teaches the device as claimed as detailed above with respect to claim 1. Gonring also teaches at least three cables, including a first connection cable configured to removably connect between the switch box and the marine drive to deliver power and data, a second connection cable configured to removably connect between the switch box to a first battery of the at least two marine batteries to deliver power and data, and a third connection cable configured to removably connect between the switch box to a second battery of the at least two marine batteries to deliver power and data; wherein each connection cable includes a first connector configured to connect to the switch box and a second connector configured to connect to one of the marine drive, the first battery, and the second battery. As above, whatever connects the components can be considered a cable, and all components are removable. Also as Gonring is a smart battery management system, data is inherently communicated between the switch box, marine drive and the batteries.
Alternatively, Windsor also teaches at least three cables, including:
a first connection cable configured to removably connect between the switch box 100 and the marine drive to deliver power (through port/cable 116),
a second connection cable configured to removably connect between the switch box to a first battery of the at least two marine batteries to deliver power (through one of ports/cables 114), and
a third connection cable configured to removably connect between the switch box to a second battery of the at least two marine batteries to deliver power (through another of ports/cables 114);
wherein each connection cable includes a first connector configured to connect to the switch box and a second connector configured to connect to one of the marine drive, the first battery, and the second battery [0029].
Note that the cables in the wiring harness 14 can be considered the cables, or whatever connects the wiring harness to the individual batteries/motor can be considered a cable with some form of connector. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was filed to modify the power management system of Gonring by collocating the control circuitry into a removable switch box with cabling as taught by Winsor in order to simplify installation, maintenance or replacement.
Regarding claims 11-13, Gonring alone or in view of Windsor teaches the device as claimed as detailed above with respect to claim 1. Neither Gonring nor Windsor explicitly teach that the first connection cable, the second connection cable, and the third connection cable are identical and interchangeable, however would have been an obvious substitution of functional equivalents to use the same cables and/or connectors for all connections in order to reduce complexity and simplify maintenance, since a simple substitution of one known element for another would obtain predictable results. KSR International Co. v. Teleflex Inc., 127 S. Ct. 1727, 1739, 1740, 82 USPQ2d 1385, 1395, 1396 (2007).
Regarding claim 14, Gonring alone or in view of Windsor teaches the device as claimed as detailed above with respect to claim 1. Gonring (alone or with Windsor) also teaches that each of the switch box and the marine batteries is portable such that it is configured to be disconnected from the system by disconnecting each of the first connection cable, second connection cable, and third connection cable, and carried on and off of a marine vessel. Note that any component can be disconnected and removed. In an alternative interpretation, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made to make any components removable or portable to ease manufacturing and maintenance, since it has been held that making an old device portable or movable without producing any new and unexpected result involves only routine skill in the art. In re Lindberg, 93 USPQ 23 (CCPA 1952).
Regarding claim 25, Gonring alone or in view of Windsor teaches the device as claimed as detailed above with respect to claim 1. Gonring also teaches that the switch box comprises a user-operable switch 132 configured to electrically disconnect the marine drive from each of the at least two marine batteries 120 connected in parallel while the marine drive and the at least two marine batteries remain connected to the switch box via respective cables.
Regarding claim 24, Gonring alone or in view of Windsor teaches the device as claimed as detailed above with respect to claim 25. Gonring also teaches that the switch box is further configured to connect to a battery charger, and wherein the system is configured such that a charge current is delivered via the switch box to each of the at least two marine batteries, but does not teach that charging only occurs when the battery charger is connected to the switch box and the user-operable switch is in the disconnected position. Windsor also teaches that the switch box is further configured to connect to a battery charger (through port 112), and wherein the system is configured such that a charge current is delivered via to the switch box to each of the at least two marine batteries only when the battery charger is connected to the switch box and the user-operable switch is in the disconnected position (“At the same time, with the action of the adaptive vehicle power system switching into charge mode, the system can also be configured to automatically disable the Trolling motor (or other load) from being operated while the boat's drive motor(s) is operating, thus adding an aspect of additional safety to the boat operator” [0011]). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was filed to modify the propulsion system of Gonring by only allowing charging when the batteries are disconnected as taught by Windsor in order to provide further protection to a user by preventing charging of connected batteries.
Claims 2, 5, 17, 20 and 21 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Gonring US 2022/0242538 in view of Wyma US 2019/0103761, and alternatively also Windsor US 2021/0101503.
Regarding an alternate interpretation of claim 2, Gonring alone or in view of Windsor teaches the device as claimed as detailed above with respect to claim 1. Gonring does not explicitly teach that the switch box is further configured to removably connect to at least four marine batteries, or that any subset of the at least four marine batteries can be disconnected from the switch box without disabling power delivery to the marine drive from at least one remaining marine battery.
Wyma teaches a modular power system comprising a switch box 110 and (at least 5) multiple batteries 114 in which the switch box is configured to removably connect to at least four marine batteries, and wherein any subset of the at least four marine batteries can be disconnected from the switch box without disabling power delivery to the marine drive from at least one remaining marine battery (When the smart battery module is disconnected it switches its decoupling unit to disconnected mode. The smart batteries modules 114a, 114b, 114d and 114e remaining in the modular power system redistribute the load current 126 between them as current 900 [0080]). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was filed to modify the propulsion system of Gonring with at least 4 batteries in order to increase system capacity as desired, and by allowing the system to function with a battery removed as taught by Wyma in order to enable hot swapping of batteries, and allow operations to continue while a battery is being replaced.
Regarding claim 5, Gonring alone or in view of Windsor teaches the device as claimed as detailed above with respect to claim 1. Gonring does not explicitly teach that each of the at least two marine batteries is configured to sense disconnection of the marine drive from the switch box and, upon sensing the disconnection of the marine drive, switch to a disconnected mode where power delivery is disabled.
Wyma teaches a modular power system comprising a switch box 110 and (at least 5) multiple batteries 114 in which each of the marine batteries is configured to sense disconnection of the marine drive via operation of the user-operable switch on the switch box and, upon sensing the disconnection of the marine drive, switch to a disconnected mode where power delivery is disabled (When the smart battery module is disconnected it switches its decoupling unit to disconnected mode [0080]). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was filed to modify the propulsion system of Gonring by disabling the batteries when disconnected as taught by Wyma in order to prevent inadvertent discharge of a disconnected battery.
Regarding claim 17, Gonring teaches a marine propulsion system comprising:
a marine drive having an electric motor powerhead 128;
at least two marine batteries 120, each with a maximum operating voltage at or below 60 volts [0026];
and a switch box 122, 130 configured to be removably connected to the marine drive and to each of the at least two marine batteries so as to electrically connect each of the at least two marine batteries in parallel to power the marine drive from each of the two batteries simultaneously;
a first connection cable configured to removably connect between a drive port on the marine drive and a first port on the switch box to deliver power and data from the switch box to the marine drive;
a second connection cable configured to removably connect between a second port on the switch box and a first battery port on a first marine battery of the at least two marine batteries to deliver power and data from the first marine battery to the switch box;
a third connection cable configured to removably connect between a third port on the switch box and a second battery port on a second marine battery of the at least two marine batteries to deliver power and data from the second marine battery to the switch box.
In this case, Gonring teaches that each battery can be under 60 volts [0026]. If applicant disagrees, then it would have been an obvious matter of design choice to keep the batteries under 60 volts in order to present less danger to an operator, since such a modification would have involved a mere change in the size of a component. A change in size is generally recognized as being within the level of ordinary skill in the art. In re Rose, 105 USPQ 237 (CCPA 1955).
Note that all switching and connection points can be considered to collectively comprise the switch box, and all components are removable. If applicant disagrees, then it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made to collocate all control/switching components into one box in order to make maintenance or replacement easier, since it has been held that rearranging parts of an invention involves only routine skill in the art. In re Japikse, 86 USPQ 70. It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made to make the resulting switch box removable to further simplify maintenance or replacement, since it has been held that if it were considered desirable for any reason to obtain access to a first component to which a second component is applied, it would be obvious to make the second component removable for that purpose. In re Dulberg, 289 F.2d 522, 523, 129 USPQ 348, 349.
In an alternative interpretation, Gonring does not teach that all control/switching components are located in one removable box. Windsor teaches a marine propulsion system 100 comprising:
a marine drive having an electric motor powerhead (trolling motor [0021]);
at least two marine batteries 202, 204, 206, each with a maximum operating voltage at or below 60 volts [0010]; and
a switch box 10 configured to be removably connected to the marine drive and to each of the at least two marine batteries so as to electrically connect each of the at least two marine batteries.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was filed to modify the power management system of Gonring by collocating the control circuitry into a removable switch box as taught by Winsor in order to simplify installation, maintenance or replacement.
Please note that whatever connects the components can be considered a cable, and all components are removable. Also as Gonring is a smart battery management system, data is inherently communicated from the switch box to the marine drive. Alternatively, Windsor also teaches a first connection cable configured to removably connect between a drive port on the marine drive and a first port 116 on the switch box to deliver power from the switch box to the marine drive, a second connection cable configured to removably connect between a second port 114 on the switch box and a battery port on a first marine battery of the at least two marine batteries to deliver power and data from the first marine battery to the switch box, and a third connection cable configured to removably connect between a third port on the switch box and a second battery port on a second marine battery of the at least two marine batteries to deliver power and data from the second marine battery to the switch box [0028]. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was filed to modify the power management system of Gonring by collocating the control circuitry into a removable switch box with cabling as taught by Winsor in order to simplify installation, maintenance or replacement.
Gonring does not explicitly teach that any subset of the at least two marine batteries can be disconnected from the switch box by disconnecting the first connection cable or the second connection cable without disabling power delivery to the marine drive from at least one remaining marine battery not in the subset. Wyma teaches a modular power system comprising a switch box 110 and (at least 5) multiple batteries 114 in which the switch box is configured to removably connect to at least four marine batteries, and wherein any subset of the at least two marine batteries can be disconnected from the switch box without disabling power delivery to the marine drive from at least one remaining marine battery not in the subset (When the smart battery module is disconnected it switches its decoupling unit to disconnected mode. The smart batteries modules 114a, 114b, 114d and 114e remaining in the modular power system redistribute the load current 126 between them as current 900 [0080]). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was filed to modify the propulsion system of Gonring by allowing the system to function with a battery removed as taught by Wyma in order to enable hot swapping of batteries, and allow operations to continue while a battery is being replaced.
Regarding claim 20, Gonring and Wyma, together or in view of Windsor teach the device as claimed as detailed above with respect to claim 17. Gonring also teaches that the switch box comprises a user-operable switch 132 configured to be movable between a connected position where the marine drive is connected to each of the at least two marine batteries 120 in parallel and a disconnected position where the marine drive is disconnected from all of the at least two marine batteries while the marine drive and the at least two marine batteries remain connected to the switch box via respective cables.
Regarding claim 21, Gonring and Wyma, together or in view of Windsor teach the device as claimed as detailed above with respect to claim 20. Gonring also teaches that the switch box is further configured to connect to a battery charger, and wherein the system is configured such that a charge current is delivered via the switch box to each of the at least two marine batteries, but does not teach that charging only occurs when the battery charger is connected to the switch box and the user-operable switch is in the disconnected position. Windsor also teaches that the switch box is further configured to connect to a battery charger (through port 112), and wherein the system is configured such that a charge current is delivered via to the switch box to each of the at least two marine batteries only when the battery charger is connected to the switch box and the user-operable switch is in the disconnected position (“At the same time, with the action of the adaptive vehicle power system switching into charge mode, the system can also be configured to automatically disable the Trolling motor (or other load) from being operated while the boat's drive motor(s) is operating, thus adding an aspect of additional safety to the boat operator” [0011]). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was filed to modify the propulsion system of Gonring by only allowing charging when the batteries are disconnected as taught by Windsor in order to provide further protection to a user by preventing charging of connected batteries.
Claims 6, 7, 9 and 17 (and all claims that depend therefrom) are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Gonring US 2022/0242538 in view of Anderson US 2022/0123560, and alternatively also Windsor US 2021/0101503 and/or Wyma US 2019/0103761.
Regarding claims 6, 7, 9 and 17, Gonring and/or Windsor and Wyma teach the device as claimed as detailed above. In an alternate interpretation, Gonring does not explicitly teach that cables are configured to transfer data. Anderson teaches an electric vehicle power system comprising a switch box 102 and multiple batteries 104 in which the power cables are also configured to transmit data [0021]. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was filed to modify the propulsion system of Gonring with data connectivity as taught by Anderson in order to enable a more interconnected system with greater diagnostic capabilities.
Claims 8 and 10 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Gonring US 2022/0242538 in view of Onomatsu US 8,405,782, and alternatively also Windsor US 2021/0101503 and/or Anderson US 2022/0123560.
Regarding claims 8 and 10, Gonring alone or in view of Windsor and/or Anderson teaches the device as claimed as detailed above with respect to claims 7 and 9. Gonring does not teach that each of the at least two marine batteries is configured to sense disconnection of the marine drive from the switch box based on a resistance between pins connected to the battery port.
Onomatsu teaches a system of electrical interconnections in which individual components are configured to sense disconnection based on a resistance between pins connected to the components (column 15, lines 11-17). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was filed to modify the propulsion system of Gonring by enabling the components to sense disconnection based on resistance as taught by Onomatsu in order to enable connection sensing without the need for a mechanical switch or other complicated components.
Claims 15 and 16 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Gonring US 2022/0242538 in view of Kimpara US 2014/0287283, and alternatively also Windsor US 2021/0101503 and/or Anderson US 2022/0123560.
Regarding claim 15, Gonring alone or in view of Windsor and/or Anderson teaches the device as claimed as detailed above with respect to claim 14. Gonring and/or Windsor also teach that the marine drive is connected and disconnected from the system by connecting and disconnecting the first connection cable. Note that the wiring harness 14 can be considered the cables, or whatever connects the wiring harness to the individual batteries/motor can be considered a cable with some form of connector.
Gonring does not teach that the marine drive is a portable marine drive configured to attach to the marine vessel via a detachable transom bracket. Kimpara teaches a portable marine drive 10 configured to attach to a marine vessel 16 via a detachable transom bracket 14. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was filed to modify the propulsion system of Gonring with a marine drive on a detachable transom bracket as taught by Kimpara in order to enable the system to be used on a variety of different platforms.
Regarding claim 16, Gonring and Kimpara, together or in view of Windsor and/or Anderson teaches the device as claimed as detailed above with respect to claim 15. Gonring does not teach that each of the marine batteries has a housing with a handle configured to enable a user to carry it. Kimpara teaches a marine drive system in which the marine battery 11 has a housing 25 with a handle 40 configured to enable a user to carry it. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was filed to modify the propulsion system of Gonring with a handle on the detachable batteries as taught by Kimpara in order to simplify handling of the batteries.
Claim 18 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Gonring US 2022/0242538 in view of Wyma US 2019/0103761 and Kimpara US 2014/0287283, and alternatively also Windsor US 2021/0101503 and/or Anderson US 2022/0123560.
Regarding claim 18, Gonring and Wyma, together or in view of Windsor and/or Anderson teaches the device as claimed as detailed above with respect to claim 17. Gonring and/or Windsor also teach that the switch box is configured to be disconnected from the marine drive by disconnecting the first connection cable and from each of the at least two marine batteries by disconnecting at least the second connection cable and third connection cable such that it can be carried on and off of the marine vessel. Note that any component can be disconnected and removed. In an alternative interpretation, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made to make any components removable or portable to ease manufacturing and maintenance, since it has been held that making an old device portable or movable without producing any new and unexpected result involves only routine skill in the art. In re Lindberg, 93 USPQ 23 (CCPA 1952).
Gonring does not teach that each of the marine batteries has a housing with a handle configured to enable a user to carry it. Kimpara teaches a marine drive system in which the marine battery 11 has a housing 25 with a handle 40 configured to enable a user to carry it. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was filed to modify the propulsion system of Gonring with a handle on the detachable batteries as taught by Kimpara in order to simplify handling of the batteries.
Claim 22 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Gonring US 2022/0242538 in view of Wyma US 2019/0103761 and Onomatsu US 8,405,782, and alternatively also Windsor US 2021/0101503 and/or Anderson US 2022/0123560.
Regarding claim 22, Gonring and Wyma, together or in view of Windsor and/or Anderson teach the device as claimed as detailed above with respect to claim 20. Gonring does not teach that each of the at least two marine batteries is configured to sense disconnection of the marine drive via operation of the user-operable switch on the switch box while the marine drive and the at least two marine batteries remain connected to the switch box via respective cables based on a resistance between pins connected to the battery port.
Onomatsu teaches a system of electrical interconnections in which individual components are configured to sense disconnection based on a resistance between pins connected to the components (column 15, lines 11-17). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was filed to modify the propulsion system of Gonring by enabling the components to sense disconnection based on resistance as taught by Onomatsu in order to enable connection sensing without the need for a mechanical switch or other complicated components.
Claim 23 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Gonring US 2022/0242538 in view of Wyma US 2019/0103761 and Onomatsu US 8,405,782, and alternatively also Windsor US 2021/0101503.
Regarding claim 23, Gonring and Wyma, together or in view of Windsor teach the device as claimed as detailed above with respect to claim 5. Gonring does not teach that each of the at least two marine batteries is configured to sense disconnection of the marine drive via operation of the user-operable switch on the switch box while the marine drive and the at least two marine batteries remain connected to the switch box via respective cables based on a resistance between pins connected to the battery port.
Onomatsu teaches a system of electrical interconnections in which individual components are configured to sense disconnection based on a resistance between pins connected to the components (column 15, lines 11-17). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was filed to modify the propulsion system of Gonring by enabling the components to sense disconnection based on resistance as taught by Onomatsu in order to enable connection sensing without the need for a mechanical switch or other complicated components.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claims 1 and 17 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Conclusion
/MARC BURGESS/Primary Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3615