DETAILED ACTION
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Status of Claims
Claims 1, 7, 9, 14 & 17 are amended. Claims 1-20 are currently pending.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-6, 8-11, 14 & 16 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Dai (“High Reversibility of Lattice Oxygen Redox Quantified by Direct Bulk Probes of Both Anionic and Cationic Redox Reactions”).
Regarding claims 1-6 & 8-11, Dai teaches a battery comprising a first current collector such as aluminum foil; a cathode disposed over at least a portion of the first current collector, a separator disposed over at least a portion of the cathode, and an anode disposed over at least a portion of the separator, wherein the cathode comprises a conductive agent, a binder and a cathode active material comprising a composition comprising a P2-type layered manganese oxide represented by Na2/3Mg1/3Mn2/3O-2 which reads on the claimed compositions (Abstract; Introduction; Electrochemical Tests).
Regarding claims 14 & 16, Kim teaches a process for forming a manganese oxide, comprising introducing a sodium-containing precursor with a manganese-containing precursor and a magnesium-containing precursor under first conditions to form a mixture, and heating the mixture at an operating temperature of 900°C to form a composition represented by formula (II) where M is Mg and having a P2-type crystal structure (Result and Discussions; Experimental Procedures). While Kim does not explicitly teach a substantially O2/T2 type structure as determined by powder x-ray diffraction, it is noted that Kim discloses the claimed composition as well the claimed process for producing the claimed composition including teaching an operating temperature of 900°C which reads on the claimed range recited in claim 16. Accordingly, Kim’s manganese oxide would be expected to possess a substantially O2/T2-type structure. “Where the claimed and prior art products are identical or substantially identical in structure or composition, or are produced by identical or substantially identical processes, a prima facie case of either anticipation or obviousness has been established. In re Best, 562 F.2d 1252, 1255, 195 USPQ 430, 433 (CCPA 1977)”. See MPEP 2112.01 I.
Claims 14, 16-18 & 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Saito (US 2013/0011741 A1).
Regarding claims 14, 16-18 & 20, Saito teaches a process for forming a manganese oxide, comprising introducing a sodium-containing precursor with a manganese-containing precursor and a metal-containing precursor (wherein the metal can be Mg and Li) under first conditions to form a mixture, and heating the mixture at an operating temperature of 780C to form a composition represented by formula (II) having a O2 type crystal structure (where M is Mg); performing an ion exchange reaction by reacting the manganese oxide represented by formula (II) with a lithium-containing precursor such as lithium nitrate and lithium chloride at an operating temperature of 280C to form a composition comprising a manganese oxide represented by formula (I) (where b=0, although non-zero values are contemplated) ([0030]-[0037] & [0047]-[0048]).
Claims 14-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Paulsen (“Studies of the layered manganese bronzes, Na2/3[Mn1−xMx]O2 with M=Co, Ni, Li, and Li2/3[Mn1−xMx]O2 prepared by ion-exchange”).
Regarding claims 14-20, Paulsen teaches a process for forming a manganese oxide, comprising introducing a sodium-containing precursor with a manganese-containing precursor and a metal-containing precursor (wherein the metal is Li) under first conditions to form a mixture, and heating the mixture at an operating temperature of 700C or 900C to form a composition represented by formula (II) (where M is Li) (Section 2.1); performing an ion exchange reaction by reacting the manganese oxide represented by formula (II) with a lithium-containing precursor such as lithium bromide at an operating temperature of 180C or 280C to form a composition comprising a manganese oxide represented by formula (I) (where b=0) (Section 2.2). While Paulsen does not explicitly teach the crystal structures obtained after heating the mixture at 700C and 900C, one of ordinary skill in the art would expect a P2 type structure and P3 type structure, respectively, to be obtained after heating since Paulsen discloses substantially the same composition and method of producing the cathode active material.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 7 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Dai (“High Reversibility of Lattice Oxygen Redox Quantified by Direct Bulk Probes of Both Anionic and Cationic Redox Reactions”) in view of Chen (CN 103840149 A).
Regarding claim7, Dai teaches the cathode active material of claim 1 but is silent as to wherein the manganese oxide of formula (II) using LiAl as M2. Chen teaches a cathode active material comprising a sodium manganese oxide in which the manganese is partially substituted with A, where A can be one or more selected from Li, Mg, Cu, Zn, Al, V and Fe (Abstract). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the present invention, to include Li and Al as Dai’s M2 as suitable dopants for a sodium manganese oxide for cathode active materials as taught by Chen. “The selection of a known material based on its suitability for its intended use supported a prima facie obviousness determination in Sinclair & Carroll Co. v. Interchemical Corp., 325 U.S. 327, 65 USPQ 297 (1945)”. See MPEP 2144.07.
Claims 12-13 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Dai (“High Reversibility of Lattice Oxygen Redox Quantified by Direct Bulk Probes of Both Anionic and Cationic Redox Reactions”) in view of Zhou (US 2023/0352675 A1).
Regarding claims 12-13, Dai teaches the battery of claim 9 as noted above but is silent as to an article comprising a device and the battery of claim 9 electrically coupled to the device. Zhou teaches the use of sodium ion batteries as a power source for an article such as an electric vehicle ([0057]-[0059]). While not expressly stated in Zhou, one of ordinary skill in the art understands that the battery drives the motor of an electric vehicle such that the chemical energy in the battery is converted to rotational energy which allows the wheels of the vehicle to be driven.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claims 1-20 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument. The amendments to the claims have prompted new grounds of rejection as presented in the above updated rejection.
Thus, in view of the foregoing, claims 1-20 stands rejected.
Contact Information
/NATHANAEL T ZEMUI/Examiner, Art Unit 1727