DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-8 and 12-20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Li et al. (CN: 113299855 A~ hereinafter “Li”) of record in view of Choi et al. (US. Pub: 2022/ 0165984 A1~hereinafter Choi) of record. The Examiner is using the US. Pub: 2024/0099079 A1 of record as the English translation of the foreign reference.
Regarding claim 1, Li discloses (in at least figs. 2 and 3) a display device, comprising: a display panel ([0023]) including a light emitting area (102) and a transmissive area (101) for conveying light to a sensor disposed beneath the display panel; wherein the transmissive area (101) comprises: a transmissive layer (212) for conveying light and having a non-planar top surface; and a cathode patterning material (51) formed to cover the non-planar top surface of the transmissive layer, wherein the light emitting area (3) comprises a light emitting element including an anode electrode (31), a light emitting layer (32), and a cathode electrode (33).
Li does not expressly disclose the cathode patterning material and the cathode electrode are positioned on a same plane; and wherein the cathode electrode is arranged to overlap the light emitting area and the cathode patterning material is arranged to not overlap the light emitting area; and wherein the cathode electrode is arranged to not overlap the cathode patterning material.
Choi discloses in the same field of endeavor (in at least fig. 10) the cathode patterning material (CL; [0181]) and the cathode electrode (270) are positioned on a same plane (see fig. 10); and wherein the cathode electrode (270) is arranged to overlap the light emitting area (LED), and the cathode patterning material (CL) is arranged to not overlap the light emitting area (LED); and wherein the cathode electrode (270) is arranged to not overlap the cathode patterning material (CL).
Accordingly, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to consider arranging the cathode patterning material and the cathode electrode of Li in the same plane as taught by Choi, since it has been held that rearranging parts of an invention involves only routine skill in the art. Park et al. (US. Pub: 2022/0181384 A1) of record also disclose (in at least fig. 2) the cathode patterning material (BNK2) and the cathode electrode (CE) are positioned on the same plane (see fig. 2; [0087]).
Regarding claim 2, Li discloses (in at least figs. 2 and 3) the transmissive layer (212) comprises at least one recessed region for increasing a surface area of the transmissive layer.
Regarding claim 3, Li discloses (in at least fig. 2) the transmissive layer (212) comprises at least one first recessed region having a first shape (see fig. 2) and at least one second recessed region having a second shape same as the first shape.
Li does not expressly disclose the first recess shape is different from the second recess shape.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the invention to consider forming the first recess and the second recess of Li with different shapes, since it has been held that a mere change of shape of a component involves only routine skill in the art.
Regarding claim 4, Li discloses (in at least fig. 2) the non-planar top surface comprises a portion of the transmissive layer (212) having a first height (i.e. the top middle portion) and a portion of the transmissive layer (212) having a second height (i.e. the edges) that is less than the first height.
Regarding claim 5, Li discloses (in at least figs. 2 and 3) the transmissive area (101) further comprising a capping layer (52) formed on the cathode patterning material (51).
Regarding claim 6, Li discloses (in at least figs. 2 and 3) the cathode patterning material (51) covers a portion of the transmissive area (101), and wherein the capping layer (52) covers an entire transmissive area.
Regarding claim 7, Li discloses (in at least figs. 2 and 3) the cathode patterning material (51) is disposed on a top surface of a single recessed region of the at least one recessed region (see fig. 2).
Regarding claim 8, Li discloses (in at least figs. 2 and 3) the cathode patterning material (51) includes at least one recessed region that corresponds to the at least one recessed region of the transmissive layer (see fig. 2), and wherein the capping layer (52) is planar and fills in the at least one recessed region of the cathode patterning material (51).
Regarding claim 12, Li discloses (in at least figs. 2 and 3) a display device, comprising: a display panel including a light emitting area (102) and a transmissive area (101) for conveying light to a sensor disposed beneath the display panel; wherein the transmissive area (101) comprises: a transmissive layer (212) for conveying light and having a first recessed region (see fig. 2).
Li does not expressly disclose a cathode patterning material formed on the transmissive layer, the first recessed region is disposed at a central portion of the transmissive area, wherein the first recessed region is disposed on an upper surface of the transmissive layer and does not expose a layer below the transmissive layer; and wherein the first recessed region does not penetrate through the transmissive layer, wherein the light emitting area comprises a light emitting element including an anode electrode, a light emitting layer, and a cathode electrode, and wherein the cathode electrode is arranged to not overlap the cathode patterning material.
Choi in the same field of endeavor discloses (in at least fig. 10)a cathode patterning material (CL) formed on the transmissive layer (180; see fig. 10), a first recess region (see fig. 10; i.e. the recess on top of item 180) is disposed at a central portion of the transmissive area (TA), wherein the first recess region is disposed on an upper surface of the transmissive layer (180; [0148]) and does not expose a layer below the transmissive layer (180; see at least fig. 9); and wherein the first recess region does not penetrate through the transmissive layer (180), wherein the light emitting area (LED) comprises a light emitting element including an anode electrode (191), a light emitting layer (370), and a cathode electrode (270), and wherein the cathode electrode (270) is arranged to not overlap the cathode patterning material (CL).
Accordingly, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to consider arranging the first recess region of Li as taught by Choi, since it has been held that rearranging parts of an invention involves only routine skill in the art.
Regarding claim 13, Li discloses (in at least figs. 2 and 3) a cathode patterning material (51) formed on the transmissive layer (212) to bond the cathode patterning material to the transmissive layer.
Regarding claim 14, Li discloses (in at least figs. 2 and 3) the transmissive layer (212) further comprises second recessed regions (see fig. 2) disposed at corners of the transmissive area.
Regarding claim 15, Li discloses (in at least figs. 2 and 3) the transmissive layer (212) further comprises third recessed regions (see fig. 2) disposed at lateral edges of the transmissive area.
Regarding claim 16, Li discloses (in at least fig. 2) a shape of the third recessed regions is the same as a shape of the second recessed regions.
Li does not expressly disclose the third recess shape is different from the second recess shape.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the invention to consider forming the third recess and the second recess of Li with different shapes, since it has been held that a mere change of shape of a component involves only routine skill in the art.
Regarding claim 17, Li discloses (in at least figs. 2 and 3) the cathode patterning material (51) is formed to cover the first recessed region, but fails to disclose the cathode patterning material expose the second recessed regions.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify the display device of Li such that the cathode patterning material expose the second recessed regions, since it has been held that rearranging parts of an invention involves only routine skill in the art.
Regarding claim 18, Li discloses (in at least figs. 2 and 3) the cathode patterning material (51) is formed to cover the first recessed region and the second recessed regions.
Regarding claim 19, Li discloses all the claimed limitations except for a size of the cathode patterning material is less than a size of the transmissive area.
However, Li discloses (in at least figs. 2 and 3) the display device comprised of, in part, a cathode patterning material (51) and a light transmissive area (101).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to consider forming a size of the cathode patterning material less than a size of the transmissive area, since a mere change in size is generally recognized as being within the level of ordinary skill in the art.
Regarding claim 20, Li discloses (in at least figs. 2 and 3) the transmissive area (101) further comprises a capping layer (52) formed over the cathode patterning material.
Note: the claims can be rejected over Choi in view of Li as well.
Claim(s) 9 and 10 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Li et al. (CN 113299855 A~ hereinafter “Li”) of record in view of Choi and further in view of OH et al. (US. Pub: 2020/0273927 A1~ hereinafter “OH”) of record.
Regarding claim 9, Li as modified by Choi does not expressly disclose a plurality of data lines oriented in a first direction; a plurality of scan lines oriented in a second direction that is different than the first direction, a scan line or a data line within the transmissive area comprises a non-linear region to bypass at least one transmissive portion.
However, Li discloses (in at least figs. 2 and 3) a plurality of data lines (28; i.e. the source lines) and a plurality of scan lines (24, 27; i.e. the gate lines) in order to address each pixel individually thus enabling precise control over the display’s image.
OH discloses (in at least figs. 3) a plurality of data lines (DL; [0087]) oriented in a first direction; a plurality of scan lines (SL; [0085]) oriented in a second direction that is different than the first direction (see at least fig. 3).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify the display panel of Li as modified by Choi with the plurality of data and scan lines structure of OH, wherein a scan line or a data line within the transmissive area comprises a non-linear region to bypass at least one transmissive portion, since it has been held that rearranging parts of an invention involves only routine skill in the art.
Regarding claim 10, Li as modified by Choi and OH discloses (in at least fig. 3 OH) a signal transmission characteristic associated with the scan line (SL) or the data line (DL) that intersects the transmissive area is different from a signal transmission characteristic associated with a scan line or a data line that does not intersect the transmissive area.
Claim(s) 11 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Li et al. (CN 113299855 A~ hereinafter “Li”) of record in view of Choi and further in view of Zhao et al. (US. Pub: 2021/0360194 A1~ hereinafter “Zhao”) of record.
Regarding claim 11, Li as modified by Choi discloses (in at least fig. 3 Li) the transmissive area comprises a first transmissive area (101), but is silent about a second transmissive area, and wherein the first transmissive area is configured to pass more light into the display panel than the second transmissive area.
Zhao discloses (in at least figs. 1 and 2) a display panel comprised of, in part, a first transmissive area (100c) and a second transmissive area (100b), wherein the first transmissive area (100c) is configured to pass more light into the display panel than the second transmissive area (100b).
Accordingly, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify the display panel of Li as modified by Choi with the second transmissive area teaching of Zhao, since it has been held that mere duplication of the essential working parts of a device involves only routine skill in the art.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claim(s) 1-20 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
ELMITO BREVAL
Primary Examiner
Art Unit 2875
/ELMITO BREVAL/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2875