DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
Applicant’s election without traverse of species of triplet of FANA X1, X2, and X3 comprising claims 20 and 145 of Formula I in the reply filed on Feb 19, 2025 is acknowledged.
Claims 103, 107, and 147 are withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b) as being drawn to a nonelected invention, there being no allowable generic or linking claim.
Status of Claims
Accordingly, claims 1,3,10-11,14-17,19-20,28,129,138 and 145 are under examination on the merits in the instant application.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on May 18, 2023 and Jan 19th 2024 have been considered by the examiner.
Specification
The disclosure is objected to because of the following informalities:
The non-black, light colored font for text in column 4 of Table 5 in the substitute specification dated 05/18/2023 makes reading difficult. Note that the disclosure of the specification must be clearly legible and “the USPTO strongly recommends use of a black colored font for text on a white background.” See MPEP §608.01.
The disclosure is objected to because it contains an embedded hyperlink and/or other form of browser-executable code. Applicant is required to delete the embedded hyperlink and/or other form of browser-executable code; references to websites should be limited to the top-level domain name without any prefix such as http:// or other browser-executable code. See MPEP § 608.01.
See for e.g., pg. 2 of the specification.
The abstract of the disclosure is objected to because of the use of legal phraseology ("e.g." stands for "exempli gratia", and should be removed or replaced with a non-Latin version, such as "for example"). In addition, the abstract does not mention endogenous ADAR or the nature of the guide, which are key to the invention. A corrected abstract of the disclosure is required and must be presented on a separate sheet, apart from any other text. See MPEP § 608.01(b).
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 16-17 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Regarding claim 16 and 17, the claims recite specific amino acid positions of the GJB2 protein. The disclosure does not provide a protein sequence to which the amino acid positions recited in the claims can be mapped to. The disclosure only provides polynucleotide sequences. The human Gene Mutation database (retrieved from <https://www.hgmd.cf.ac.uk/ac/all.php> on the internet [retrieved on 24th Feb 2026], 11pgs.) shows that GJB2 variants exist. For e.g., for small deletions alone, there are 60 different deletions. Between mammalian species too variability in GJB2 proteins exist. The OMIM webpage for GJB2 (retrieved from <https://omim.org/entry/121011#20 on the internet [retrieved on 25th Feb 2026], 38 pgs.) shows that between mouse (and rat) and human CX26, there is only 93% amino acid identity. Thus, one would not know where in the context of all available proteins for all species, the recited amino acid positions lie. One would need to know the position of the pathogenic amino acid so that one could back-translate the amino acid sequence to the polynucleotide, which would then allow one to design a guide oligonucleotide with a correctly positioned X1-X2-X3 .
Claim Interpretation
The recitation of the independent claims are:
Claim 1
Claim 10
Claim 11
A method of editing a GJB2 polynucleotide comprising a single nucleotide polymorphism (SNP) associated with autosomal recessive non-syndromic hearing loss, the method comprising
A method of treating autosomal recessive non-syndromic hearing loss in a subject in need thereof, the method comprising
A method of treating autosomal recessive non-syndromic hearing loss in a subject in need thereof, the method comprising
contacting the GJB2 polynucleotide
with a guide oligonucleotide capable of effecting an adenosine deaminase acting on RNA (ADAR)-mediated adenosine to inosine alteration of the SNP associated with autosomal recessive non-syndromic hearing loss,
thereby editing the GJB2 polynucleotide.
contacting the GJB2 polynucleotide in a cell of the subject
with a guide oligonucleotide capable of effecting an adenosine deaminase acting on RNA (ADAR)-mediated adenosine to inosine alteration of the SNP associated with autosomal recessive non-syndromic hearing loss,
thereby treating the subject.
contacting the GJB2 polynucleotide in a cell
with a guide oligonucleotide capable of effecting an adenosine deaminase acting on RNA (ADAR)-mediated adenosine to inosine alteration of the SNP associated with autosomal recessive non-syndromic hearing loss,
and administering the cell to the subject,
thereby treating the subject.
The active steps are in bold. Because of the overlapping common limitations of the three claims, the three claims are being examined together.
Regarding claims 16-17, and considering the 112b rejection above, the recitation of “the pathogenic amino acid in GJB2 protein is isoleucine at position 37 and/or a premature stop codon at position 24” of claim 16 and corresponding limitation of claim 17 is being interpreted as, “SNPs are corrected to a V at position 37 and/or a W at position 24” and at the genomic level, this would be an A to G substitution (rs72474224(A) allele is changed to rs72474224(G) allele). See pg. 20, lines 15-17. Similarly for the alternative, the W24X variant (or mutation) is based on the potential change from tryptophan (encoded by rs104894396(G) allele) to a premature stop codon (encoded by the rs104894396(A) allele) at position 24 of the GJB2 protein. See pg. 20, lines 21-23.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1, 10-11, and 14-17 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Zhang (WO 2019/060746, IDS dated 05/18/2023).
Regarding claims 1 and 10-11, Zhang discloses a method of editing GJB2 mutation, wherein the mutation comprises one or more pathogenic G-to-A or C-to-T mutations / SNPs associated with nonsyndromic hearing loss [0836], in a cell of a subject with the disease via “targeted editing of specific single adenosines to inosines” [0961], wherein the method comprises administering to the cell a fusion ADAR enzyme and guide RNAs to result in correction of disease-relevant human mutations [01002]. Zhang teaches that cells can be contacted with the antisense oligonucleotide ex vivo and are then introduced into a living organism for treatment [0408-0412].
Regarding claim 14, Zhang teaches wherein the guide oligonucleotide comprises a nucleic acid sequence complementary to the target mRNA sequence ([0156]; the guide sequence is substantially complementary to the target sequence but comprises a non-pairing C corresponding to the A being targeted for deamination, resulting in an A-C mismatch in an RNA duplex formed by the guide sequence and the target sequence, [0388]).
Regarding claim 15, Zhang teaches wherein the guide oligonucleotide comprises a ADAR recruiting domain (For example, an sgRNA targeting locus A can be modified with MS2 loops, recruiting MS2-adenosine deaminase, [0400]).
Regarding claims 16-17, Zhang teaches wherein the GJB2 guide oligonucleotide comprises a various GJB2 SNP correcting mutations. See GJB2 encompassing recited mutations amongst the ref sequences on pg. 249. For e.g., Val37Ile and Trp77Ter.
Thus, Zhang anticipates claims 1, 10-11, and 14-17.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 3, 10-11, 14-17, 19-20, 28, 129, 138, and 145 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Turunen et al., (US 2019/0218552 A1) in view of Li et al. (Biochemistry, 2006, 45:4141-4152) and Zhang (WO 2019/060746, IDS 5/18/2023).
Regarding claims 1,3, 10-11, 14-17, 19-20 and 28, Turunen discloses a method of editing RNA, in a cell of a subject for correcting a genetic mutation via “the specific deamination of a target adenosine present in the target RNA sequence to an inosine”, wherein the method comprises administering to the cell comprising endogenous ADAR enzyme an antisense oligonucleotide comprising a central triplet comprising a second base (“C”) that is opposite of the target adenosine, wherein the oligonucleotide comprises at least 4 consecutive phosphorothioate linkages in the 5’ and 3’ termini and the remaining nucleotides are 2’-O-methyl modified, thereby treating a genetic disorder. See paragraphs 0001, 0011-0014, 0038-0040, 0082, 0096-0101; claims 1-18.
Turunen teaches that cells can be contacted with the antisense oligonucleotide ex vivo and “are then introduced into a living organism” for treatment. See paragraph 0075.
Turunen teaches that use of an antisense oligonucleotide that further comprises an ADAR recruitment portion that “acts in recruiting a natural ADAR enzyme present in the cell” is known in the art. See paragraph 0008.
Turunen exemplifies an oligonucleotide (“ADAR60-7”) having a modified triplex (e.g., YXZ) that has ribosyl moiety modified with 2’-F, which is “small enough not to cause steric interference with ADAR2” and is useful to “protect the AON from nucleases”. See paragraph 0110. See also the modifications in “ADAR60-7” disclosed in Figure 2 as reproduced below, wherein “*” represents phosphorothioate linkages and “(ucg)” represents 2’-fluoro RNA modified nucleotides for the triplet comprising the “C” base that is opposite of the target “A” base.
Turunen does not teach that the “C” base in the 2’-F modified RNA in the triplet “(ucg)” has the arabinose ring structure in Formula I, thereby forming 2’-fluoro-arabinonucleic acid (FANA).
Li teaches that 2’-fluoro-arabinonucleic acid (FANA) analogue “displays increased RNA affinity” compared to RNA or DNA such that “the observed trend for the stability of heteroduplexes between RNA and antisense oligonucleotides (AONs) is as follows: FANA > RNA > DNA > PS-DNA >> ANA”. See page 4141. See also the structure of FANA in Figure 1B as reproduced below and 0098 for description of sugar modifications.
Neither Turunen nor Li disclose that the SNP to be edited in within the GJB2 gene or that “the pathogenic amino acid in GJB2 protein is isoleucine at position 37 and/or a premature stop codon at position 24”, wherein the “SNP is corrected to a valine at position 37 and/or a trp at position 24” at the genomic level, this would be an A to G substitution (rs72474224(A) allele is changed to rs72474224(G) allele). See pg. 20, lines 15-17. Similarly for the alternative, the W24X variant (or mutation) is based on the potential change from tryptophan (encoded by rs104894396(G) allele) to a premature stop codon (encoded by the rs104894396(A) allele) at
position 24 of the GJB2 protein. See pg. 20, lines 21-23.
However, Zhang, as discussed in the 102 rejection had taught ADAR-mediated correction of the GJB2 gene. Zhang further taught various SNPs in GJB2 encompassing recited mutations. See ref sequences on pg. 249.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to modify the method of Turunen for editing the GJB2 SNPs known to cause the GJB2 pathogenic mutation responsible for non-syndromic hearing loss by replacing the non-2’-O-methyl (e.g., 2’-F) modified RNAs in the triplet comprising a cytosine base at position 2 of the triplet with FANA in all three positions of the triplet or only at position 2 of the triplet. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to do so with a reasonable expectation of success in order to enhance the stability and binding affinity of the “GJB2 SNP mutation”-editing guide oligonucleotide, thereby providing more effective editing of the mutation-causing base in GJB2, thereby correcting the GJB2 mutant allele in a subject having non-syndromic hearing loss for treating the subject in view of the art-recognized knowledge pertaining to the genetic link between the GJB2 SNP mutation and non-syndromic hearing loss as evidenced by Zhang, because use of a target base-editing guide oligonucleotide comprising non-2’-O-methyl modified nucleotides in the triplet comprising a base to be edited at position 2 was an art-recognized methodology as evidenced by Turunen, who taught that 2’-F ribosyl moiety for the triplet is useful to “protect the AON from nucleases”, wherein the fluoro moiety at position 2 (2’-F) of the ribose sugar ring was known to not interfere with the ADAR-mediated base editing because it is “small enough not to cause steric interference with ADAR2”, and because the 2’-fluoro-arabinonucleic acid (FANA) analogue modification was known to have a higher stability and binding affinity compared to RNA as taught by Li. As such, in view of the benefits associated with FANA analogues as taught by Li, one of ordinary skill in the art would have reasonably incorporated one, two, or three FANA analogues into the non-2’-O-methyl modified (e.g., 2’-F) triple RNA sequence for correcting the GJB2 SNP, wherein one of ordinary skill in the art would have pursued the finite number (seven) of readily identifiable positions (e.g., position 1 alone; position 2 alone; position 3 alone; positions 1-2; positions 1 and 3; positions 2-3; all positions 1-3) for FANA modification in the triplet, thereby arriving at the instantly claimed subject matter with a reasonable expectation of success. See MPEP 2144 II and 2143 I (E).
Regarding the size of the guide oligonucleotide of claim 19, Turunen teaches, in a preferred aspect, the oligonucleotide according to the invention comprises 18 to 70 nucleotides [0066].
Regarding claim 129, Turunen teaches five terminal phosphorothioate nucleotides. See recitation bridging pgs. 1 and 2 and at the end of pg. 7, left col, respectively:
In order to provide stability against nucleases, a 34-mer RNA, modified with 2'-O-methyl-modified phosphorothioate nucleotides at the 5'- and 3'-terminal 5 nucleotides, was also tested. It was shown that the central unmodified region of this oligonucleotide could promote editing of the target RNA by endogenous ADAR, with the terminal modifications providing protection against exonuclease degradation.
In a preferred aspect the AONs of the present invention have one, two, three, four or more phosphorothioate linkages between the most terminal nucleotides of the AON (hence, preferably at both the 5' and 3' end).
Regarding claim 138, Turunen teaches that the oligonucleotide comprises 2'-O-methyl-nucleotides outside the central region because such modifications in the central region may have unintended effects.
See recitations:
[0072] Examples of chemical modifications in the AONs of the present invention are modifications of the sugar moiety, including by cross-linking substituents within the sugar (ribose) moiety ( e.g. as in locked nucleic acids: LNA), by substitution of the 2'-O atom with alkyl (e.g. 2'-O-methyl)
[0070]:… 2'-O-methylation of the ribosyl-moiety of a nucleoside
opposite an adenosine in the target RNA sequence dramatically
reduces deamination of that adenosine by ADAR
Regarding claim 145, the teachings of Turunen, Li, and Zhang discussed above as applied to claims 1,3,10-11,14-17,19-20,129, and138 and are similarly applied to claim 145.
In view of the foregoing, claims 1,3,10-11,14-17,19-20,129,138 and 145 taken as a whole would have been prima facie obvious before the effective filing date.
Double Patenting
Claims 1,3,10-11,14-17,19-20,129,138 and 145 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-18 of U.S. Patent No. 11,453,878 B2 in view of Zhang (WO 2019/060746, IDS dated 05/18/2023).
Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because the instant claims would have been obvious over the ‘878 patent claims drawn to a method of treating a disorder in a subject in need thereof comprising administering an oligonucleotide that provides deamination of an adenosine in a target mRNA, wherein the oligonucleotide further comprises ADAR recruiting domains and comprises at least 20% 2’-O-methyl modified nucleotides and four terminal phosphorothioate linkages.
It is noted that the “disorder” being treated in the ‘878 patent claims is not limited to a specific disease, rather the dose and timing varies with the disease. See Detailed description (10) in the ‘878 patent specification where the disorder is described as a “genetic disease” and several examples are given. It would have been obvious to design the oligonucleotide of the ‘878 patent claims to target the rs104894396 and rs72474224 SNPs of the GJB2 gene in view of Zhang. The guide RNAs described in Zhang target the SNPs at G71, resulting in a stop codon, and G109, resulting in an isoleucine at position 37, to which instant claims 16 and 18 refer (Zhang, paragraph 835) because it was an art-recognized goal to make and use a base-editing oligonucleotide targeting the pathogenic SNPs of the GJB2 gene for treatment of non-syndromic hearing loss as taught by Zhang, thereby treating the “disorder” encompassed by the ‘878 patent claims.
Claims 1, 3, 10-11, 14-17, 19, 129, and 138 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claim 17 of U.S. Patent No. 11,479,575 B2 in view of Zhang (WO 2019/060746, IDS dated 05/18/2023).
Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because the instant claims would have been obvious over the ‘575 patent claim drawn to a method of deaminating an adenosine in an mRNA in a cell comprising contacting the cell with an oligonucleotide having the structure satisfying the instantly claimed oligonucleotide. It would have been obvious to design the oligonucleotide of the ‘575 patent claim to target the rs104894396 and rs72474224 SNPs of the GJB2 gene in view of Zhang. The guide RNAs described in Zhang target the SNPs at G71, resulting in a stop codon, and G109, resulting in an isoleucine at position 37, to which instant claims 16 and 18 refer (Zhang, paragraph 835) because it was an art-recognized goal to make and use a base-editing oligonucleotide targeting the pathogenic SNPs of the GJB2 gene for treatment of non-syndromic hearing loss as taught by Zhang, thereby deaminating the pathogenic amino acid in the mRNA encompassed by the ‘575 patent.
Claims 1, 3, 10-11, 14-17, 19, 129, and 138 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 23-24 and 26 of U.S. Patent No. 12,031,131 B2 in view of Zhang (WO 2019/060746, IDS dated 05/18/2023).
Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because the instant claims would have been obvious over the ‘131 patent claims drawn to a method of treating a disorder in a subject in need thereof comprising administering an oligonucleotide that provides deamination of an adenosine in a target mRNA, wherein the oligonucleotide further comprises ADAR recruiting domains and comprises at least 20% 2’-O-methyl modified nucleotides and four terminal phosphorothioate linkages.
It would have been obvious to design the oligonucleotide of the ‘131 patent claims to target the rs104894396 and rs72474224 SNPs of the GJB2 gene in view of Zhang. The guide RNAs described in Zhang target the SNPs at G71, resulting in a stop codon, and G109, resulting in an isoleucine at position 37, to which instant claims 16 and 18 refer (Zhang, paragraph 835) because it was an art-recognized goal to make and use a base-editing oligonucleotide targeting the pathogenic SNPs of the GJB2 gene for treatment of non-syndromic hearing loss as taught by Zhang, thereby treating the “disorder” encompassed by the ‘131 patent claims.
Claims 1, 3, 10-11, 14-17, 19, 129, and 138 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claim 17 of U.S. Patent No. 12,152,050 B2 in view of Zhang (WO 2019/060746, IDS dated 05/18/2023).
Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because the instant claims would have been obvious over the ‘050 patent claim drawn to a method of deaminating an adenosine in an mRNA in a cell comprising contacting the cell with an oligonucleotide having the structure satisfying the instantly claimed oligonucleotide.
It would have been obvious to design the oligonucleotide of the ‘050 patent claims to target the rs104894396 and rs72474224 SNPs of the GJB2 gene in view of Zhang. The guide RNAs described in Zhang target the SNPs at G71, resulting in a stop codon, and G109, resulting in an isoleucine at position 37, to which instant claims 16 and 18 refer (Zhang, paragraph 835) because it was an art-recognized goal to make and use a base-editing oligonucleotide targeting the pathogenic SNPs of the GJB2 gene for treatment of non-syndromic hearing loss as taught by Zhang, thereby editing the pathogenic mutant base encompassed by the ‘050 patent claims.
Claims 1, 3, 10-11, 14-17, 19-20, 28, 129, 138, and 145 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 18-19 and 21 of U.S. Patent No. 12,173,285 B2 in view of Zhang (WO 2019/060746, IDS dated 05/18/2023).
Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because the instant claims would have been obvious over and overlap in scope with the ‘285 patent claim drawn to a method of treating a disorder comprising administering an oligonucleotide structure comprising “Formula I”, which is identical to “Formula I” claimed in the instant case, thereby satisfying the instantly claimed oligonucleotide.
It is noted that the “disorder” being treated in the ‘285 patent claims is not limited to a specific disease, rather the dose and timing varies with the disease. See Detailed description (10) in the ‘285 patent specification where the disorder is described as a “genetic disease” and several examples are given. It would have been obvious to design the oligonucleotide of the ‘285 patent claims to target the rs104894396 and rs72474224 SNPs of the GJB2 gene in view of Zhang. The guide RNAs described in Zhang target the SNPs at G71, resulting in a stop codon, and G109, resulting in an isoleucine at position 37, to which instant claims 16 and 18 refer (Zhang, paragraph 835) because it was an art-recognized goal to make and use a base-editing oligonucleotide targeting the pathogenic SNPs of the GJB2 gene for treatment of non-syndromic hearing loss as taught by Zhang, thereby treating the “disorder” encompassed by the ‘285 patent claims.
Claims 1, 3, 10-11, 14-17, 19, 129, and 138 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 19-20 of U.S. Patent No. 12,448,620 B2 in view of Zhang (WO 2019/060746, IDS dated 05/18/2023).
Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because the instant claims would have been obvious over the ‘620 patent claims drawn to a method of treating a disorder in a subject in need thereof comprising administering an oligonucleotide that provides deamination of an adenosine in a target mRNA, wherein the oligonucleotide further comprises ADAR recruiting domains and comprises at least 20% 2’-O-methyl modified nucleotides and four terminal phosphorothioate linkages. It is noted that the “disorder” being treated in the ‘620 patent claims is not limited to a specific disease, rather the dose and timing varies with the disease. See Detailed description (10) in the ‘620 patent specification where the disorder is described as a “genetic disease” and several examples are given. It would have been obvious to design the oligonucleotide of the ‘620 patent claims to target the rs104894396 and rs72474224 SNPs of the GJB2 gene in view of Zhang. The guide RNAs described in Zhang target the SNPs at G71, resulting in a stop codon, and G109, resulting in an isoleucine at position 37, to which instant claims 16 and 18 refer (Zhang, paragraph 835) because it was an art-recognized goal to make and use a base-editing oligonucleotide targeting the pathogenic SNPs of the GJB2 gene for treatment of non-syndromic hearing loss as taught by Zhang, thereby treating the “disorder” encompassed by the ‘620 patent claims.
Claims 1, 3, 10-11, 14-17, 19-20, 28, 129, 138, and 145 are provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 52 and 61 of copending Application No. 18/290,062 in view of Zhang (WO 2019/060746, IDS dated 05/18/2023), Turunen et al. (US 2019/0218552 A1), and Li et al. (Biochemistry, 2006, 45:4141-4152).
Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because the instant claims would have been obvious over the ‘062 claims drawn to a method of editing GJB2 for treating a disease comprising using an oligonucleotide targeting GJB2 that is capable of providing ADAR-mediated adenosine to inosine alteration in the target mRNA, wherein the oligonucleotide forms a double-stranded structure by further comprising an ADAR recruiting sequence. It would have been obvious to design the oligonucleotide of the ‘062 patent application claims to target the rs104894396 and rs72474224 SNPs of the GJB2 gene in view of Zhang. The guide RNAs described in Zhang target the SNPs at G71, resulting in a stop codon, and G109, resulting in an isoleucine at position 37, to which instant claims 16 and 18 refer (Zhang, paragraph 835) because it was an art-recognized goal to make and use a base-editing oligonucleotide targeting the pathogenic SNPs of the GJB2 gene for treatment of non-syndromic hearing loss as taught by Zhang, thereby treating the “disorder” encompassed by the ‘131 patent claims.
Furthermore, it would have been obvious to make and use the instantly claimed oligonucleotide in view of the combined teachings of Turunen and Li as explained in the §103 rejection above, which is fully incorporated by reference herein.
Claims 1, 3, 10-11, 14-17, 19-20, 28, 129, 138, and 145 are provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 41 and 50 of copending Application No. 18/570,918 in view of Zhang (WO 2019/060746, IDS dated 05/18/2023), Turunen et al. (US 2019/0218552 A1), and Li et al. (Biochemistry, 2006, 45:4141-4152).
Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because the instant claims would have been obvious over the ‘918 claims drawn to a method of editing an SNP in a target sequence for treating a disease comprising using an oligonucleotide targeting the SNP and further comprises an ADAR recruiting sequence. It would have been obvious to design the oligonucleotide of the ‘918 patent claims to target the rs104894396 and rs72474224 SNPs of the GJB2 gene in view of Zhang. The guide RNAs described in Zhang target the SNPs at G71, resulting in a stop codon, and G109, resulting in an isoleucine at position 37, to which instant claims 16 and 18 refer (Zhang, paragraph 835) because it was an art-recognized goal to make and use a base-editing oligonucleotide targeting the pathogenic SNPs of the GJB2 gene for treatment of non-syndromic hearing loss as taught by Zhang, thereby treating the “disorder” encompassed by the ‘918 patent claims.
Furthermore, it would have been obvious to incorporate one to three FANA modifications into X1, X2, and X3 of the oligonucleotide used in the ‘918 claims in view of the combined teachings of Turunen and Li as explained in the §103 rejection above, which is fully incorporated by reference herein.
Claims 1, 3, 10-11, 14-17, 19-20, 28, 129, 138, and 145 are provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 46 and 55 of copending Application No. 18/570,938 in view of Zhang (WO 2019/060746, IDS dated 05/18/2023), Turunen et al. (US 2019/0218552 A1), and Li et al. (Biochemistry, 2006, 45:4141-4152).
Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because the instant claims would have been obvious over the ‘938 claims drawn to a method of editing an SNP in a target sequence for treating a disease comprising using an oligonucleotide targeting the SNP and further comprises an ADAR recruiting sequence. It would have been obvious to design the oligonucleotide of the ‘938 patent claims to target the rs104894396 and rs72474224 SNPs of the GJB2 gene in view of Zhang. The guide RNAs described in Zhang target the SNPs at G71, resulting in a stop codon, and G109, resulting in an isoleucine at position 37, to which instant claims 16 and 18 refer (Zhang, paragraph 835) because it was an art-recognized goal to make and use a base-editing oligonucleotide targeting the pathogenic SNPs of the GJB2 gene for treatment of non-syndromic hearing loss as taught by Zhang, thereby treating the “disorder” encompassed by the ‘938 patent claims.
Furthermore, it would have been obvious to incorporate one to three FANA modification into X1, X2, and X3 of the oligonucleotide used in the ‘938 claims in view of the combined teachings of Turunen and Li as explained in the §103 rejection above, which is fully incorporated by reference herein.
Claims 1, 3, 10-11, 14-17, 19, 129, and 138 are provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 74-75 of copending Application No. 18/927,268 in view of Zhang (WO 2019/060746, IDS dated 05/18/2023).
Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because the instant claims would have been obvious over the ‘268 claims drawn to a method of treating a disorder by deaminating an adenosine in a target mRNA comprising using an oligonucleotide that is capable of effecting ADAR-mediated adenosine to inosine alteration in the target mRNA. It is noted that the “disorder” being treated in the ‘268 patent claims is not limited to a specific disease, rather the dose and timing varies with the disease. See Detailed description (10) in the ‘268 patent specification where the disorder is described as a “genetic disease” and several examples are given. It would have been obvious to design the oligonucleotide of the ‘268 patent claims to target the rs104894396 and rs72474224 SNPs of the GJB2 gene in view of Zhang. The guide RNAs described in Zhang target the SNPs at G71, resulting in a stop codon, and G109, resulting in an isoleucine at position 37, to which instant claims 16 and 18 refer (Zhang, paragraph 835) because it was an art-recognized goal to make and use a base-editing oligonucleotide targeting the pathogenic SNPs of the GJB2 gene for treatment of non-syndromic hearing loss as taught by Zhang, thereby treating the “disorder” encompassed by the ‘268 patent claims.
Claims 1, 3, 10-11, 14-17, 19-20, 28, 129, 138, and 145 are provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 24-25 and 27 of copending Application No. 18/941,793 in view of Zhang (WO 2019/060746, IDS dated 05/18/2023).
Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because the instant claims would have been obvious over the ‘793 claims drawn to a method of treating a disorder by deaminating an adenosine in a target mRNA comprising using an oligonucleotide that is capable of effecting ADAR-mediated adenosine to inosine alteration in the target mRNA, wherein the oligonucleotide of the ‘793 claims comprises “Formula I”, which is identical to “Formula I” claimed in the instant case, thereby satisfying the instantly claimed oligonucleotide. It is noted that the “disorder” being treated in the ‘793 patent claims is not limited to a specific disease, rather the dose and timing varies with the disease. See Detailed description in the ‘793 patent specification where the disorder is described as a “genetic disease” and several examples are given. It would have been obvious to design the oligonucleotide of the ‘793 patent claims to target the rs104894396 and rs72474224 SNPs of the GJB2 gene in view of Zhang. The guide RNAs described in Zhang target the SNPs at G71, resulting in a stop codon, and G109, resulting in an isoleucine at position 37, to which instant claims 16 and 18 refer (Zhang, paragraph 835) because it was an art-recognized goal to make and use a base-editing oligonucleotide targeting the pathogenic SNPs of the GJB2 gene for treatment of non-syndromic hearing loss as taught by Zhang, thereby treating the “disorder” encompassed by the ‘793 patent claims.
Claims 1, 3, 10-11, 14-17, 19-20, 28, 129, 138, and 145 are provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 29-30 of copending Application No. 19/189,150 in view of in view of Zhang (WO 2019/060746, IDS dated 05/18/2023), Turunen et al. (US 2019/0218552 A1), and Li et al. (Biochemistry, 2006, 45:4141-4152).
Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because the instant claims would have been obvious over the ‘150 claims drawn to a method of editing a target mRNA comprising using an oligonucleotide that is capable of effecting ADAR-mediated adenosine to inosine alteration in the target mRNA. It would have been obvious to design the oligonucleotide of the ‘150 patent claims to target the rs104894396 and rs72474224 SNPs of the GJB2 gene in view of Zhang. The guide RNAs described in Zhang target the SNPs at G71, resulting in a stop codon, and G109, resulting in an isoleucine at position 37, to which instant claims 16 and 18 refer (Zhang, paragraph 835) because it was an art-recognized goal to make and use a base-editing oligonucleotide targeting the pathogenic SNPs of the GJB2 gene for treatment of non-syndromic hearing loss as taught by Zhang, thereby treating the “disorder” encompassed by the ‘150 patent claims.
Furthermore, it would have been obvious to incorporate the FANA modification into X2 of the oligonucleotide used in the ‘150 claims in view of the combined teachings of Turunen and Li as explained in the §103 rejection above, which is fully incorporated by reference herein.
Claims 1, 3, 10-11, 14-17, 19, 129, and 138 are provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 80-81 of copending Application No. 19/296,642 in view of Zhang (WO 2019/060746, IDS dated 05/18/2023).
Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because the instant claims would have been obvious over the ‘642 claims drawn to a method of treating a disorder by deaminating an adenosine in a target mRNA comprising using an oligonucleotide that is capable of effecting ADAR-mediated adenosine to inosine alteration in the target mRNA. It is noted that the “disorder” being treated in the ‘642 patent claims is not limited to a specific disease, rather the dose and timing varies with the disease. See Detailed description (10) in the ‘642 patent specification where the disorder is described as a “genetic disease” and several examples are given. It would have been obvious to design the oligonucleotide of the ‘642 patent claims to target the rs104894396 and rs72474224 SNPs of the GJB2 gene in view of Zhang. The guide RNAs described in Zhang target the SNPs at G71, resulting in a stop codon, and G109, resulting in an isoleucine at position 37, to which instant claims 16 and 18 refer (Zhang, paragraph 835) because it was an art-recognized goal to make and use a base-editing oligonucleotide targeting the pathogenic SNPs of the GJB2 gene for treatment of non-syndromic hearing loss as taught by Zhang, thereby treating the “disorder” encompassed by the ‘642 patent claims.
Claims 1,3,10-11,14-17,19-20,129,138 and 145 are provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claim 33 of copending Application No. 19/493,944 in view of Zhang (WO 2019/060746, IDS dated 05/18/2023).
Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because the instant claims would have been obvious over the ‘944 claim drawn to a method of editing a target adenosine in a target RNA comprising using an oligonucleotide that is capable of effecting ADAR-mediated adenosine to inosine alteration in the target RNA It would have been obvious to design the oligonucleotide of the ‘944 patent claims to target the rs104894396 and rs72474224 SNPs of the GJB2 gene in view of Zhang. The guide RNAs described in Zhang target the SNPs at G71, resulting in a stop codon, and G109, resulting in an isoleucine at position 37, to which instant claims 16 and 18 refer (Zhang, paragraph 835) because it was an art-recognized goal to make and use a base-editing oligonucleotide targeting the pathogenic SNPs of the GJB2 gene for treatment of non-syndromic hearing loss as taught by Zhang, thereby edit the target adenosine encompassed by the ‘944 patent claims.
Conclusion
No claim is allowed.
Correspondence
SHABANA S. MEYERING, Ph.D.
Examiner
Art Unit 1635
/SHABANA S MEYERING/Examiner, Art Unit 1635
/CATHERINE KONOPKA/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1635