DETAILED ACTION
This office action is in response to the communication received on 11/26/2025 concerning application no. 17/985,968 filed on 11/14/2022.
Claims 1-18 are pending.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments, see pages 6-7, filed 04/17/2025, with respect to the 35 U.S.C. 112(b) rejection of claims 6 and 15 have been fully considered and are persuasive. The 35 U.S.C. 112(b) rejection of claims 6 and 15 has been withdrawn.
Note: Examiner acknowledges Applicant’s statement that “These amendments clarify that triggering the updating of the scan pattern by pressing a button comprises an optional feature which works in addition to the device automatically triggering the updating of the scan pattern. These amendments find support in Figure 5 and its corresponding description, in particular paragraph [0043]”.
Applicant's arguments filed 04/17/2025 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Applicant notes that “Rothberg merely teaches an ultrasound device configured to update the imaging parameters including elevational and azimuthal tilt of an ultrasound scan. However, "translation of an aperture" in the claimed subject matter means moving the aperture. In other words, altering the position of the aperture along a dimension of the transducer array”. Furthermore, Applicant argues that that the amended language regarding the virtual apex is not present.
Examiner respectfully disagrees. In response to applicant's arguments against the references individually, one cannot show nonobviousness by attacking references individually where the rejections are based on combinations of references. See In re Keller, 642 F.2d 413, 208 USPQ 871 (CCPA 1981); In re Merck & Co., 800 F.2d 1091, 231 USPQ 375 (Fed. Cir. 1986). MPEP 716.01(c) establishes “Arguments presented by the applicant cannot take the place of evidence in the record. In re Schulze, 346 F.2d 600, 602, 145 USPQ 716, 718 (CCPA 1965) and In re De Blauwe, 736 F.2d 699, 705, 222 USPQ 191, 196 (Fed. Cir. 1984).” Paragraph 0051 teaches that each mode has a different aperture that is determined according to the array height and width. Furthermore, Tables 2-3 shows a series of aperture dimensions along the elevation and azimuth shapes. Such an alteration of apertures results in a change in what apertures are being utilized. With regards to the virtual apex, Rothberg teaches the use of sector images.
Assuming, arguendo, Rothberg is deficient, the translation of an aperture and control of a virtual apex is well known. See at least Neben et al. (PGPUB No. US 2020/0129151), Poland (PGPUB No. US 2007/0088213), Mauldin et al. (PGPUB No. US 2015/0133788), and Bamber (US Patent No. 5,538,004).
Examiner respectfully maintains the rejection.
Drawings
The drawings are objected to under 37 CFR 1.83(a). The drawings must show every feature of the invention specified in the claims. Therefore, the “wherein the translation of an aperture comprises altering the position of a virtual apex along an azimuthal direction” (Claims 1 and 10) must be shown or the feature(s) canceled from the claim(s). No new matter should be entered.
Claim Interpretation
Claim 10, line 11-12, contains an optional limitation “when the imaging mode is a cardiac imaging mode”. According to MPEP 2111.04, “The broadest reasonable interpretation of a method (or process) claim having contingent limitation acquires only those steps that must be performed and does not include steps that are not required to be performed because the condition(s) precedent are not met”.
Therefore, the claim element “the updating of the scan pattern comprises an adjustment of a combination of an azimuthal tilt and an elevational tilt of the acoustic beam” is not required to be performed.
Claim 10, line 14-15, contains an optional limitation “when the imaging mode is a lung imaging mode”. According to MPEP 2111.04, “The broadest reasonable interpretation of a method (or process) claim having contingent limitation acquires only those steps that must be performed and does not include steps that are not required to be performed because the condition(s) precedent are not met”.
Therefore, the claim element “the updating of the scan pattern comprises an adjustment of a combination of an elevational tilt and a translation of an aperture of the two-dimensional array of ultrasound transducers emitting the acoustic beam” is not required to be performed.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1-18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 1 is indefinite for the following reasons:
Lines 5-8, recite “configures the ultrasound device to operate in an imaging mode, configures the ultrasound device to obtain at least one first ultrasound image frame, using a scan pattern defining an acoustic beam, automatically updates the scan pattern to optimize a view of a desired anatomy”. This claim element is indefinite. First, it would be unclear to one with ordinary skill in the art what imaging mode is being used in the first ultrasound imaging frame as it is unclear if it is the imaging mode in line 5, or cardiac mode, or lung mode, or another imaging mode. Second, it is further unclear if the operation of the “an imaging mode” is regarding the updating imaging mode or is referring to an initial imaging mode for the first ultrasound image frame.
Applicant is encouraged to provide consistent and clear language. Applicant is encouraged to clarify what state or mode is present in the first ultrasound image frame and what mode is implemented in the second ultrasound image frame.
Line 17, recite “an aperture”. This claim element is indefinite. It would be unclear to one with ordinary skill in the art if the “aperture” is the same as the “aperture” established in line 15 or is a separate and distinct feature.
Applicant is encouraged to provide consistent and clear language.
Claim 10 is indefinite for the following reasons:
Lines 4-10, recite “configuring, a two-dimensional array of ultrasound transducers disposed in an ultrasound probe of the handheld ultrasound system to obtain at least one first ultrasound image frame comprising a view of a desired anatomy, using a scan pattern defining an acoustic beam, automatically updating the scan pattern to optimize the view of the desired anatomy”. This claim element is indefinite. First, it would be unclear to one with ordinary skill in the art what imaging mode is being used in the first ultrasound imaging frame as it is unclear if it is the imaging mode in line 5, or cardiac mode, or lung mode, or another imaging mode. Second, it is further unclear if the operation of the “an imaging mode” is regarding the updating imaging mode or is referring to an initial imaging mode for the first ultrasound image frame.
Applicant is encouraged to provide consistent and clear language. Applicant is encouraged to clarify what state or mode is present in the first ultrasound image frame and what mode is implemented in the second ultrasound image frame.
Line 18, recite “an aperture”. This claim element is indefinite. It would be unclear to one with ordinary skill in the art if the “aperture” is the same as the “aperture” established in line 16 or is a separate and distinct feature.
Applicant is encouraged to provide consistent and clear language.
Claims that are not discussed above but are cited to be rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) are also rejected because they inherit the indefiniteness of the claims they respectively depend upon.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Rothberg et al. (PGPUB No. US 2017/0360415) in view of Gonyeau et al. (PGPUB No. US 2019/0142388).
Regarding claim 1, Rothberg teaches a handheld ultrasound system, the handheld ultrasound system comprising:
an ultrasound device with a two-dimensional array of ultrasound transducers (Paragraph 0083 teaches that the probe can be a 2D array. Paragraph 0311 teaches that the probe can be a handheld); and
a smartphone or tablet comprising a processor (Paragraph 0116 teaches that the auxiliary device can be a smartphone. Paragraph 0071 teaches that a tablet can be used) that:
configures the ultrasound device to operate in an imaging mode (Abstract teaches the ultrasound of a multi-modal ultrasound probe that is able to operating in a plurality of operating modes associated with a respective plurality of configuration profiles),
wherein:
when the imaging mode is a cardiac imaging mode, the updating of the scan pattern comprises an adjustment of a combination of an azimuthal tilt and an elevational tilt of the acoustic beam (Paragraph 0126 teaches that the operating modes can have varying operating parameters. This includes the specifying of different azimuth aperture values, elevation aperture values, azimuth focus values, and elevation focus values. Paragraph 0128 teaches a first profile may have a first azimuth focus and first elevation focus. Tables 2-4 show the changing parameters in the modes. Paragraph 0310 teaches the operation of the ultrasound probe in a cardiac imaging mode),
when the imaging mode is a lung imaging mode, the updating of the scan pattern comprises an adjustment of a combination of an elevational tilt and a translation of an aperture of the two-dimensional array of ultrasound transducers emitting the acoustic beam (Paragraph 0126 teaches that the operating modes can have varying operating parameters. This includes the specifying of different azimuth aperture values, elevation aperture values, azimuth focus values, and elevation focus values. Paragraph 0127 teaches that the first and second elevation aperture and focus values can change according to the input mode. Paragraph 0051 teaches that each mode has a different active aperture that is determined by the width and height of the array. Tables 2-3 shows a series of elevation and azimuthal shapes. Paragraph 0310 teaches the operation of the ultrasound probe in a lung imaging mode),
wherein translation of an aperture comprises altering the position of a virtual apex along an azimuthal direction (Paragraph 0051 teaches that each mode has a different active aperture that is determined by the width and height of the array. Tables 2-3 shows a series of elevation and azimuthal shapes. Paragraphs 0175-76 teaches the transmission according to the azimuth direction and the use of sector images. See Figs. 16-17);
and
configures the ultrasound device to obtain a second ultrasound image frame using the updated scan beam (Paragraph 0126 teaches that the operating modes can have varying operating parameters. This includes the specifying of different azimuth aperture values, elevation aperture values, azimuth focus values, and elevation focus values. Paragraph 0127 teaches that the first and second elevation aperture and focus values can change according to the input mode).
However, Rothberg is silent regarding a handheld ultrasound system, comprising:
configures the ultrasound device to obtain at least one first ultrasound image frame, using a scan pattern defining an acoustic beam, automatically updates the scan pattern to optimize a view of a desired anatomy.
In an analogous imaging field of endeavor, regarding cardiac and lung ultrasound imaging, Gonyeau teaches a handheld ultrasound system, comprising:
configures the ultrasound device to obtain at least one first ultrasound image frame, using a scan pattern defining an acoustic beam, automatically updates the scan pattern to optimize a view of a desired anatomy (Paragraph 0026 teaches the processing device configures the ultrasound to operate with a first set of imaging parameters. This is for the purpose of imaging. See Fig. 1. Paragraph 0047 teaches the operation of the ultrasound device via beamforming. Paragraph 0020 teaches that the ultrasound imaging system may automatically identify the anatomy that is being imaged and alter its parameters according to that determination. See Fig. 1).
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify Rothberg with Gonyeau’s teaching of changing presets according to what anatomy is being imaged. Gonyeau further teaches that there are imaging presets for cardiac and lung imaging like Rothberg. One with ordinary skill in the art would be able to implement the aperture and focus changes according to the elevation and azimuth as taught by Rothberg and implement than in the automatic identification and alteration of presets of Gonyeau. This modified apparatus would allow the user to improve the quality and clinical value of ultrasound images that are collected (Paragraph 0020 of Gonyeau). Furthermore, the modification allows for the accurate identification of the anatomical locations in the image (Paragraph 0064 of Gonyeau). This would also allow the acquisition of the imaging to operate in real time (Paragraph 0049 of Gonyeau).
Regarding claim 2, modified Rothberg teaches the handheld ultrasound system in claim 1, as discussed above.
However, Rothberg is silent regarding a handheld ultrasound system, wherein the updating of the scan pattern comprises:
configuring the two-dimensional array of ultrasound transducers to obtain a plurality of search image frames, each of the search image frames captured with a different search scan pattern, and
obtaining the updated scan pattern for the second ultrasound image frame by selecting a search scan pattern from the different search scan patterns as the updated scan pattern,
wherein the selected search scan pattern is selected based on the associated search image frame being suitable for a diagnostic action to be performed using the second ultrasound image frame.
In an analogous imaging field of endeavor, regarding cardiac and lung ultrasound imaging, Gonyeau teaches a handheld ultrasound system, wherein the updating of the scan pattern comprises:
configuring the two-dimensional array of ultrasound transducers to obtain a plurality of search image frames, each of the search image frames captured with a different search scan pattern (Paragraph 0020 teaches that the probe operates in a preset and the system automatically changes the preset according to the anatomy that is being imaged. See Fig. 1), and
obtaining the updated scan pattern for the second ultrasound image frame by selecting a search scan pattern from the different search scan patterns as the updated scan pattern (Paragraph 0020 teaches that the system is able to automatically change according to the anatomy that is being imaged. For example, the imaging can change from a cardiac preset to a lung preset. Paragraphs 0018-19 teach that the presets have their respective parameters for the optimized imaging of their respective anatomies),
wherein the selected search scan pattern is selected based on the associated search image frame being suitable for a diagnostic action to be performed using the second ultrasound image frame (Paragraph 0020 teaches that the system is able to automatically change according to the anatomy that is being imaged. For example, the imaging can change from a cardiac preset to a lung preset. Paragraphs 0018-19 teach that the presets have their respective parameters for the optimized imaging of their respective anatomies. See Fig. 1. Paragraph 0003 teaches that the ultrasound devices are used in diagnosis).
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify Rothberg with Gonyeau’s teaching of the alteration of imaging patterns according to suitability to perform diagnosis. This modified apparatus would allow the user to improve the quality and clinical value of ultrasound images that are collected (Paragraph 0020 of Gonyeau). Furthermore, the modification allows for the accurate identification of the anatomical locations in the image (Paragraph 0064 of Gonyeau). This would also allow the acquisition of the imaging to operate in real time (Paragraph 0049 of Gonyeau).
Regarding claim 3, modified Rothberg teaches the handheld ultrasound system in claim 2, as discussed above.
However, Rothberg is silent regarding a handheld ultrasound system, wherein the suitability of the search scan pattern is determined based on at least one selected from a group consisting of an amount of the desired anatomy being captured, and a degree of motion.
In an analogous imaging field of endeavor, regarding cardiac and lung ultrasound imaging, Gonyeau teaches a handheld ultrasound system, wherein the suitability of the search scan pattern is determined based on at least one selected from a group consisting of an amount of the desired anatomy being captured, and a degree of motion (Paragraph 0020 teaches that the preset automatically changes according to the anatomy being imaged and if the probe is moved to another anatomical part. Paragraph 0032 teaches that the anatomy is assessed and if it is not the anatomy that that preset is intended for, it is altered. This is based on statistical modeling and determination of the anatomical structural associations for the anatomical locations. Paragraph 0021 teaches that the determination of the anatomical location is based on the ultrasound image analysis and the use of accelerometer data).
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify Rothberg with Gonyeau’s teaching of assessing the suitability of the scan according to the anatomy imaged and the degree of motion. This modified apparatus would allow the user to improve the quality and clinical value of ultrasound images that are collected (Paragraph 0020 of Gonyeau). Furthermore, the modification allows for the accurate identification of the anatomical locations in the image (Paragraph 0064 of Gonyeau). This would also allow the acquisition of the imaging to operate in real time (Paragraph 0049 of Gonyeau).
Regarding claim 4, modified Rothberg teaches the handheld ultrasound system in claim 2, as discussed above.
Rothberg further teaches a handheld ultrasound system, wherein the obtaining of the plurality of search image frames comprises stepping through a scan pattern sequence of scan patterns (Paragraph 0176 teaches the implementation of an electronic sweep in the sector or curvilinear profile. Paragraphs 0054-55 teach the manipulation of the beamforming of ultrasound).
Regarding claim 5, modified Rothberg teaches the handheld ultrasound system in claim 4, as discussed above.
Rothberg further teaches a handheld ultrasound system, wherein the stepping through the scan pattern sequence is performed by one selected from a group consisting of:
a full sweep of the scan patterns in the scan pattern sequence (Paragraph 0176 teaches the implementation of an electronic sweep in the sector or curvilinear profile. Paragraphs 0054-55 teach the manipulation of the beamforming of ultrasound),
a coarse sweep to identify a range, followed by a fine sweep in the range, and
a decoupled elevational and azimuthal search through the scan patterns in the scan pattern sequence.
Regarding claim 6, modified Rothberg teaches the handheld ultrasound system in claim 1, as discussed above.
Rothberg further teaches a handheld ultrasound system, wherein the updating of the scan pattern is optionally triggered by a user pressing a button (Paragraph 0141 teaches the implementation of a button for the selection of the operating mode).
Regarding claim 7, modified Rothberg teaches the handheld ultrasound system in claim 1, as discussed above.
However, Rothberg is silent regarding a handheld ultrasound system, wherein the updating of the scan pattern is triggered by the at least one first ultrasound image frame not being suitable for a diagnostic action, in absence of a user input.
In an analogous imaging field of endeavor, regarding cardiac and lung ultrasound imaging, Gonyeau teaches a handheld ultrasound system, wherein the updating of the scan pattern is triggered by the at least one first ultrasound image frame not being suitable for a diagnostic action, in absence of a user input (Abstract teaches that the optimization of the device to image in the correct preset is performed automatically and without user input. Paragraphs 0018-19 teaches that the optimization for the anatomical features is performed via the presets).
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify Rothberg with Gonyeau’s teaching of optimization of imaging based on automatic determination. This modified apparatus would allow the user to improve the quality and clinical value of ultrasound images that are collected (Paragraph 0020 of Gonyeau). Furthermore, the modification allows for the accurate identification of the anatomical locations in the image (Paragraph 0064 of Gonyeau). This would also allow the acquisition of the imaging to operate in real time (Paragraph 0049 of Gonyeau).
Regarding claim 8, modified Rothberg teaches the handheld ultrasound system in claim 1, as discussed above.
However, Rothberg is silent regarding a handheld ultrasound system, wherein the updating of the scan pattern comprises:
configuring the two-dimensional array of ultrasound transducers to obtain a first search image frame, captured with a first search scan pattern,
making a first determination that the first search image frame is more suitable for a diagnostic action to be performed than the at least one first ultrasound image frame, and based on the first determination,
obtaining the updated scan pattern for the second ultrasound image frame by selecting the first search scan pattern as the updated scan pattern.
In an analogous imaging field of endeavor, regarding cardiac and lung ultrasound imaging, Gonyeau teaches a handheld ultrasound system, wherein the updating of the scan pattern comprises:
configuring the two-dimensional array of ultrasound transducers to obtain a first search image frame, captured with a first search scan pattern (Paragraph 0020 teaches that the probe operates in a preset and the system automatically changes the preset according to the anatomy that is being imaged. See Fig. 1), and
making a first determination that the first search image frame is more suitable for a diagnostic action to be performed than the at least one first ultrasound image frame, and based on the first determination (Paragraph 0020 teaches that the system is able to automatically change according to the anatomy that is being imaged. For example, the imaging can change from a cardiac preset to a lung preset. Paragraphs 0018-19 teach that the presets have their respective parameters for the optimized imaging of their respective anatomies),
obtaining the updated scan pattern for the second ultrasound image frame by selecting the first search scan pattern as the updated scan pattern (Paragraph 0020 teaches that the system is able to automatically change according to the anatomy that is being imaged. For example, the imaging can change from a cardiac preset to a lung preset. Paragraphs 0018-19 teach that the presets have their respective parameters for the optimized imaging of their respective anatomies. See Fig. 1. Paragraph 0003 teaches that the ultrasound devices are used in diagnosis).
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify Rothberg with Gonyeau’s teaching of implementation of an updated preset change according to the anatomy being imaging. This modified apparatus would allow the user to improve the quality and clinical value of ultrasound images that are collected (Paragraph 0020 of Gonyeau). Furthermore, the modification allows for the accurate identification of the anatomical locations in the image (Paragraph 0064 of Gonyeau). This would also allow the acquisition of the imaging to operate in real time (Paragraph 0049 of Gonyeau).
Regarding claim 9, modified Rothberg teaches the handheld ultrasound system in claim 8, as discussed above.
However, Rothberg is silent regarding a handheld ultrasound system, wherein the updating of the scan pattern further comprises:
configuring the two-dimensional array of ultrasound transducers to obtain a second search image frame, captured with a second search scan pattern,
making a second determination that the second search image frame is not more suitable for a diagnostic action to be performed than the second ultrasound image frame, and
based on the second determination, configuring the two-dimensional array of ultrasound transducers to obtain a third ultrasound image frame using the updated scan pattern as used for the obtaining of the second ultrasound image frame.
In an analogous imaging field of endeavor, regarding cardiac and lung ultrasound imaging, Gonyeau teaches a handheld ultrasound system, wherein the updating of the scan pattern further comprises:
configuring the two-dimensional array of ultrasound transducers to obtain a second search image frame, captured with a second search scan pattern (Paragraph 0020 teaches that the probe operates in a preset and the system automatically changes the preset according to the anatomy that is being imaged. See Fig. 1), and
making a second determination that the second search image frame is not more suitable for a diagnostic action to be performed than the second ultrasound image frame (Paragraph 0020 teaches that the system is able to automatically change according to the anatomy that is being imaged. For example, the imaging can change from a cardiac preset to a lung preset. Then, the preset can change from the lung preset back to the cardiac preset. Additionally, the cardiac preset can change to another preset like the abdominal preset. See Fig. 1 that shows an iterative cycle of determination of the anatomy and implementation of the appropriate preset. Paragraphs 0018-19 teach that the presets have their respective parameters for the optimized imaging of their respective anatomies), and
based on the second determination, configuring the two-dimensional array of ultrasound transducers to obtain a third ultrasound image frame using the updated scan pattern as used for the obtaining of the second ultrasound image frame (Paragraph 0020 teaches that the system is able to automatically change according to the anatomy that is being imaged. For example, the imaging can change from a cardiac preset to a lung preset. Then, the preset can change from the lung preset back to the cardiac preset. Additionally, the cardiac preset can change to another preset like the abdominal preset. See Fig. 1 that shows an iterative cycle of determination of the anatomy and implementation of the appropriate preset. Paragraphs 0018-19 teach that the presets have their respective parameters for the optimized imaging of their respective anatomies).
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify Rothberg with Gonyeau’s teaching of updating the acquisition for a third image frame according to the updated scan pattern. This modified apparatus would allow the user to improve the quality and clinical value of ultrasound images that are collected (Paragraph 0020 of Gonyeau). Furthermore, the modification allows for the accurate identification of the anatomical locations in the image (Paragraph 0064 of Gonyeau). This would also allow the acquisition of the imaging to operate in real time (Paragraph 0049 of Gonyeau).
Regarding claim 10, Rothberg teaches a method for operating a handheld ultrasound system, the method, performed by a processor of a smartphone or tablet of the handheld ultrasound system (Paragraph 0083 teaches that the probe can be a 2D array. Paragraph 0311 teaches that the probe can be a handheld. Paragraph 0116 teaches that the auxiliary device can be a smartphone. Paragraph 0071 teaches that a tablet can be used), comprising:
configuring the handheld ultrasound device to operate in an imaging mode (Abstract teaches the ultrasound of a multi-modal ultrasound probe that is able to operating in a plurality of operating modes associated with a respective plurality of configuration profiles),
configuring, a two-dimensional array of ultrasound transducers disposed in an ultrasound probe of the handheld ultrasound system to obtain at least one first ultrasound image frame comprising a view of a desired anatomy (Paragraph 0083 teaches that the probe can be a 2D array. Paragraphs 0032-33 teaches the acquisition of ultrasound images via an ultrasound probe. This can be for specific anatomy like the heart), wherein:
when the imaging mode is a cardiac imaging mode, the updating of the scan pattern comprises an adjustment of a combination of an azimuthal tilt and an elevational tilt of the acoustic beam (Paragraph 0126 teaches that the operating modes can have varying operating parameters. This includes the specifying of different azimuth aperture values, elevation aperture values, azimuth focus values, and elevation focus values. Paragraph 0128 teaches a first profile may have a first azimuth focus and first elevation focus. Tables 2-4 show the changing parameters in the modes. Paragraph 0310 teaches the operation of the ultrasound probe in a cardiac imaging mode),
when the imaging mode is a lung imaging mode, the updating of the scan pattern comprises an adjustment of a combination of an elevational tilt and a translation of an aperture of the two-dimensional array of ultrasound transducers emitting the acoustic beam (Paragraph 0126 teaches that the operating modes can have varying operating parameters. This includes the specifying of different azimuth aperture values, elevation aperture values, azimuth focus values, and elevation focus values. Paragraph 0127 teaches that the first and second elevation aperture and focus values can change according to the input mode. Paragraph 0051 teaches that each mode has a different active aperture that is determined by the width and height of the array. Tables 2-3 shows a series of elevation and azimuthal shapes. Paragraph 0310 teaches the operation of the ultrasound probe in a lung imaging mode),
wherein the translation of an aperture comprises altering the position of a virtual apex along an azimuthal direction (Paragraph 0051 teaches that each mode has a different active aperture that is determined by the width and height of the array. Tables 2-3 shows a series of elevation and azimuthal shapes. Paragraphs 0175-76 teaches the transmission according to the azimuth direction and the use of sector images. See Figs. 16-17), and
configuring the two-dimensional array of ultrasound transducers to obtain a second ultrasound image frame using the updated scan pattern (Paragraph 0126 teaches that the operating modes can have varying operating parameters. This includes the specifying of different azimuth aperture values, elevation aperture values, azimuth focus values, and elevation focus values. Paragraph 0127 teaches that the first and second elevation aperture and focus values can change according to the input mode).
However, Rothberg is silent regarding a method, comprising:
using a scan pattern defining an acoustic beam, automatically updating the scan pattern to optimize the view of the desired anatomy.
In an analogous imaging field of endeavor, regarding cardiac and lung ultrasound imaging, Gonyeau teaches a method, comprising:
using a scan pattern defining an acoustic beam, automatically updating the scan pattern to optimize the view of the desired anatomy (Paragraph 0026 teaches the processing device configures the ultrasound to operate with a first set of imaging parameters. This is for the purpose of imaging. See Fig. 1. Paragraph 0047 teaches the operation of the ultrasound device via beamforming. Paragraph 0020 teaches that the ultrasound imaging system may automatically identify the anatomy that is being imaged and alter its parameters according to that determination. See Fig. 1);
configuring the two-dimensional array of ultrasound transducers to obtain a second ultrasound image frame using the updated scan pattern (Paragraphs 0033-34 teaches that the second set of imaging parameters are used upon the determination that new presets must be used. See Fig. 1).
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify Rothberg with Gonyeau’s teaching of changing presets according to what anatomy is being imaged. Gonyeau further teaches that there are imaging presets for cardiac and lung imaging like Rothberg. One with ordinary skill in the art would be able to implement the aperture and focus changes according to the elevation and azimuth as taught by Rothberg and implement than in the automatic identification and alteration of presets of Gonyeau. This modified method would allow the user to improve the quality and clinical value of ultrasound images that are collected (Paragraph 0020 of Gonyeau). Furthermore, the modification allows for the accurate identification of the anatomical locations in the image (Paragraph 0064 of Gonyeau). This would also allow the acquisition of the imaging to operate in real time (Paragraph 0049 of Gonyeau).
Regarding claim 11, modified Rothberg teaches the method in claim 10, as discussed above.
However, Rothberg is silent regarding a method, wherein the updating of the scan pattern comprises:
configuring the two-dimensional array of ultrasound transducers to obtain a plurality of search image frames, each of the search image frames captured with a different search scan pattern,
obtaining the updated scan pattern for the second ultrasound image frame by selecting a search scan pattern from the different search scan patterns as the updated scan pattern,
wherein the selected search scan pattern is selected based on the associated search image frame being suitable for a diagnostic action to be performed using the second ultrasound image frame.
In an analogous imaging field of endeavor, regarding cardiac and lung ultrasound imaging, Gonyeau teaches a method, wherein the updating of the scan pattern comprises:
configuring the two-dimensional array of ultrasound transducers to obtain a plurality of search image frames, each of the search image frames captured with a different search scan pattern (Paragraph 0020 teaches that the probe operates in a preset and the system automatically changes the preset according to the anatomy that is being imaged. See Fig. 1), and
obtaining the updated scan pattern for the second ultrasound image frame by selecting a search scan pattern from the different search scan patterns as the updated scan pattern (Paragraph 0020 teaches that the system is able to automatically change according to the anatomy that is being imaged. For example, the imaging can change from a cardiac preset to a lung preset. Paragraphs 0018-19 teach that the presets have their respective parameters for the optimized imaging of their respective anatomies),
wherein the selected search scan pattern is selected based on the associated search image frame being suitable for a diagnostic action to be performed using the second ultrasound image frame (Paragraph 0020 teaches that the system is able to automatically change according to the anatomy that is being imaged. For example, the imaging can change from a cardiac preset to a lung preset. Paragraphs 0018-19 teach that the presets have their respective parameters for the optimized imaging of their respective anatomies. See Fig. 1. Paragraph 0003 teaches that the ultrasound devices are used in diagnosis).
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify Rothberg with Gonyeau’s teaching of the alteration of imaging patterns according to suitability to perform diagnosis. This modified method would allow the user to improve the quality and clinical value of ultrasound images that are collected (Paragraph 0020 of Gonyeau). Furthermore, the modification allows for the accurate identification of the anatomical locations in the image (Paragraph 0064 of Gonyeau). This would also allow the acquisition of the imaging to operate in real time (Paragraph 0049 of Gonyeau).
Regarding claim 12, modified Rothberg teaches the method in claim 11, as discussed above.
However, Rothberg is silent regarding a method, wherein the suitability of the search scan pattern is determined based on at least one selected from a group consisting of an amount of the desired anatomy being captured, and a degree of motion.
In an analogous imaging field of endeavor, regarding cardiac and lung ultrasound imaging, Gonyeau teaches a method, wherein the suitability of the search scan pattern is determined based on at least one selected from a group consisting of an amount of the desired anatomy being captured, and a degree of motion (Paragraph 0020 teaches that the preset automatically changes according to the anatomy being imaged and if the probe is moved to another anatomical part. Paragraph 0032 teaches that the anatomy is assessed and if it is not the anatomy that that preset is intended for, it is altered. This is based on statistical modeling and determination of the anatomical structural associations for the anatomical locations. Paragraph 0021 teaches that the determination of the anatomical location is based on the ultrasound image analysis and the use of accelerometer data).
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify Rothberg with Gonyeau’s teaching of assessing the suitability of the scan according to the anatomy imaged and the degree of motion. This modified method would allow the user to improve the quality and clinical value of ultrasound images that are collected (Paragraph 0020 of Gonyeau). Furthermore, the modification allows for the accurate identification of the anatomical locations in the image (Paragraph 0064 of Gonyeau). This would also allow the acquisition of the imaging to operate in real time (Paragraph 0049 of Gonyeau).
Regarding claim 13, modified Rothberg teaches the method in claim 1, as discussed above.
Rothberg further teaches a method, wherein the obtaining of the plurality of search image frames comprises stepping through a scan pattern sequence of scan patterns (Paragraph 0176 teaches the implementation of an electronic sweep in the sector or curvilinear profile. Paragraphs 0054-55 teach the manipulation of the beamforming of ultrasound).
Regarding claim 14, modified Rothberg teaches the method in claim 13, as discussed above.
Rothberg further teaches a method, wherein the stepping through the scan pattern sequence is performed by one selected from a group consisting of:
a full sweep of the scan patterns in the scan pattern sequence (Paragraph 0176 teaches the implementation of an electronic sweep in the sector or curvilinear profile. Paragraphs 0054-55 teach the manipulation of the beamforming of ultrasound),
a coarse sweep to identify a range, followed by a fine sweep in the range, and
a decoupled elevational and azimuthal search through the scan patterns in the scan pattern sequence.
Regarding claim 15, modified Rothberg teaches the method in claim 10, as discussed above.
Rothberg further teaches a method, wherein the updating of the scan pattern is optionally triggered by a user pressing a button (Paragraph 0141 teaches the implementation of a button for the selection of the operating mode).
Regarding claim 16, modified Rothberg teaches the method in claim 10, as discussed above.
However, Rothberg is silent regarding a method, wherein the updating of the scan pattern is triggered by the at least one first ultrasound image frame not being suitable for a diagnostic action, in absence of a user input.
In an analogous imaging field of endeavor, regarding cardiac and lung ultrasound imaging, Gonyeau teaches a method, wherein the updating of the scan pattern is triggered by the at least one first ultrasound image frame not being suitable for a diagnostic action, in absence of a user input (Abstract teaches that the optimization of the device to image in the correct preset is performed automatically and without user input. Paragraphs 0018-19 teaches that the optimization for the anatomical features is performed via the presets).
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify Rothberg with Gonyeau’s teaching of optimization of imaging based on automatic determination. This modified method would allow the user to improve the quality and clinical value of ultrasound images that are collected (Paragraph 0020 of Gonyeau). Furthermore, the modification allows for the accurate identification of the anatomical locations in the image (Paragraph 0064 of Gonyeau). This would also allow the acquisition of the imaging to operate in real time (Paragraph 0049 of Gonyeau).
Regarding claim 17, modified Rothberg teaches the method in claim 10, as discussed above.
However, Rothberg is silent regarding a method, wherein the updating of the scan pattern comprises:
configuring the two-dimensional array of ultrasound transducers to obtain a first search image frame, captured with a first search scan pattern,
making a first determination that the first search image frame is more suitable for a diagnostic action to be performed than the at least one first ultrasound image frame, and
based on the first determination, obtaining the updated scan pattern for the second ultrasound image frame by selecting the first search scan pattern as the updated scan pattern.
In an analogous imaging field of endeavor, regarding cardiac and lung ultrasound imaging, Gonyeau teaches a method, wherein the updating of the scan pattern comprises:
configuring the two-dimensional array of ultrasound transducers to obtain a first search image frame, captured with a first search scan pattern (Paragraph 0020 teaches that the probe operates in a preset and the system automatically changes the preset according to the anatomy that is being imaged. See Fig. 1),
making a first determination that the first search image frame is more suitable for a diagnostic action to be performed than the at least one first ultrasound image frame (Paragraph 0020 teaches that the system is able to automatically change according to the anatomy that is being imaged. For example, the imaging can change from a cardiac preset to a lung preset. Paragraphs 0018-19 teach that the presets have their respective parameters for the optimized imaging of their respective anatomies), and
based on the first determination, obtaining the updated scan pattern for the second ultrasound image frame by selecting the first search scan pattern as the updated scan pattern (Paragraph 0020 teaches that the system is able to automatically change according to the anatomy that is being imaged. For example, the imaging can change from a cardiac preset to a lung preset. Paragraphs 0018-19 teach that the presets have their respective parameters for the optimized imaging of their respective anatomies. See Fig. 1. Paragraph 0003 teaches that the ultrasound devices are used in diagnosis).
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify Rothberg with Gonyeau’s teaching of implementation of an updated preset change according to the anatomy being imaging. This modified method would allow the user to improve the quality and clinical value of ultrasound images that are collected (Paragraph 0020 of Gonyeau). Furthermore, the modification allows for the accurate identification of the anatomical locations in the image (Paragraph 0064 of Gonyeau). This would also allow the acquisition of the imaging to operate in real time (Paragraph 0049 of Gonyeau).
Regarding claim 18, modified Rothberg teaches the method in claim 17, as discussed above.
However, Rothberg is silent regarding a method, wherein the updating of the scan pattern further comprises:
configuring the two-dimensional array of ultrasound transducers to obtain a second search image frame, captured with a second search scan pattern,
making a second determination that the second search image frame is not more suitable for a diagnostic action to be performed than the second ultrasound image frame, and
based on the second determination,
configuring the two-dimensional array of ultrasound transducers to obtain a third ultrasound image frame using the updated scan pattern as used for the obtaining of the second ultrasound image frame.
In an analogous imaging field of endeavor, regarding cardiac and lung ultrasound imaging, Gonyeau teaches a method, wherein the updating of the scan pattern further comprises:
configuring the two-dimensional array of ultrasound transducers to obtain a second search image frame, captured with a second search scan pattern (Paragraph 0020 teaches that the probe operates in a preset and the system automatically changes the preset according to the anatomy that is being imaged. See Fig. 1),
making a second determination that the second search image frame is not more suitable for a diagnostic action to be performed than the second ultrasound image frame, and based on the second determination (Paragraph 0020 teaches that the system is able to automatically change according to the anatomy that is being imaged. For example, the imaging can change from a cardiac preset to a lung preset. Then, the preset can change from the lung preset back to the cardiac preset. Additionally, the cardiac preset can change to another preset like the abdominal preset. See Fig. 1 that shows an iterative cycle of determination of the anatomy and implementation of the appropriate preset. Paragraphs 0018-19 teach that the presets have their respective parameters for the optimized imaging of their respective anatomies),
configuring the two-dimensional array of ultrasound transducers to obtain a third ultrasound image frame using the updated scan pattern as used for the obtaining of the second ultrasound image frame (Paragraph 0020 teaches that the system is able to automatically change according to the anatomy that is being imaged. For example, the imaging can change from a cardiac preset to a lung preset. Then, the preset can change from the lung preset back to the cardiac preset. Additionally, the cardiac preset can change to another preset like the abdominal preset. See Fig. 1 that shows an iterative cycle of determination of the anatomy and implementation of the appropriate preset. Paragraphs 0018-19 teach that the presets have their respective parameters for the optimized imaging of their respective anatomies).
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify Rothberg with Gonyeau’s teaching of updating the acquisition for a third image frame according to the updated scan pattern. This modified method would allow the user to improve the quality and clinical value of ultrasound images that are collected (Paragraph 0020 of Gonyeau). Furthermore, the modification allows for the accurate identification of the anatomical locations in the image (Paragraph 0064 of Gonyeau). This would also allow the acquisition of the imaging to operate in real time (Paragraph 0049 of Gonyeau).
Alternatively, claims 1-18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Rothberg et al. (PGPUB No. US 2017/0360415) in view of Gonyeau et al. (PGPUB No. US 2019/0142388) further in view of Neben et al. (PGPUB No. US 2020/0129151).
Regarding claim 1, Rothberg teaches a handheld ultrasound system, the handheld ultrasound system comprising:
an ultrasound device with a two-dimensional array of ultrasound transducers (Paragraph 0083 teaches that the probe can be a 2D array. Paragraph 0311 teaches that the probe can be a handheld); and
a smartphone or tablet comprising a processor (Paragraph 0116 teaches that the auxiliary device can be a smartphone. Paragraph 0071 teaches that a tablet can be used) that:
configures the ultrasound device to operate in an imaging mode (Abstract teaches the ultrasound of a multi-modal ultrasound probe that is able to operating in a plurality of operating modes associated with a respective plurality of configuration profiles),
wherein:
when the imaging mode is a cardiac imaging mode, the updating of the scan pattern comprises an adjustment of a combination of an azimuthal tilt and an elevational tilt of the acoustic beam (Paragraph 0126 teaches that the operating modes can have varying operating parameters. This includes the specifying of different azimuth aperture values, elevation aperture values, azimuth focus values, and elevation focus values. Paragraph 0128 teaches a first profile may have a first azimuth focus and first elevation focus. Tables 2-4 show the changing parameters in the modes. Paragraph 0310 teaches the operation of the ultrasound probe in a cardiac imaging mode),
when the imaging mode is a lung imaging mode, the updating of the scan pattern comprises an adjustment of a combination of an elevational tilt and a translation of an aperture of the two-dimensional array of ultrasound transducers emitting the acoustic beam (Paragraph 0126 teaches that the operating modes can have varying operating parameters. This includes the specifying of different azimuth aperture values, elevation aperture values, azimuth focus values, and elevation focus values. Paragraph 0127 teaches that the first and second elevation aperture and focus values can change according to the input mode. Paragraph 0051 teaches that each mode has a different active aperture that is determined by the width and height of the array. Tables 2-3 shows a series of elevation and azimuthal shapes. Paragraph 0310 teaches the operation of the ultrasound probe in a lung imaging mode),
wherein translation of an aperture comprises altering the position of a virtual apex along an azimuthal direction (Paragraph 0051 teaches that each mode has a different active aperture that is determined by the width and height of the array. Tables 2-3 shows a series of elevation and azimuthal shapes. Paragraphs 0175-76 teaches the transmission according to the azimuth direction and the use of sector images. See Figs. 16-17);
and
configures the ultrasound device to obtain a second ultrasound image frame using the updated scan beam (Paragraph 0126 teaches that the operating modes can have varying operating parameters. This includes the specifying of different azimuth aperture values, elevation aperture values, azimuth focus values, and elevation focus values. Paragraph 0127 teaches that the first and second elevation aperture and focus values can change according to the input mode).
However, Rothberg is silent regarding a handheld ultrasound system, comprising:
configures the ultrasound device to obtain at least one first ultrasound image frame, using a scan pattern defining an acoustic beam, automatically updates the scan pattern to optimize a view of a desired anatomy.
In an analogous imaging field of endeavor, regarding cardiac and lung ultrasound imaging, Gonyeau teaches a handheld ultrasound system, comprising:
configures the ultrasound device to obtain at least one first ultrasound image frame, using a scan pattern defining an acoustic beam, automatically updates the scan pattern to optimize a view of a desired anatomy (Paragraph 0026 teaches the processing device configures the ultrasound to operate with a first set of imaging parameters. This is for the purpose of imaging. See Fig. 1. Paragraph 0047 teaches the operation of the ultrasound device via beamforming. Paragraph 0020 teaches that the ultrasound imaging system may automatically identify the anatomy that is being imaged and alter its parameters according to that determination. See Fig. 1).
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify Rothberg with Gonyeau’s teaching of changing presets according to what anatomy is being imaged. Gonyeau further teaches that there are imaging presets for cardiac and lung imaging like Rothberg. One with ordinary skill in the art would be able to implement the aperture and focus changes according to the elevation and azimuth as taught by Rothberg and implement than in the automatic identification and alteration of presets of Gonyeau. This modified apparatus would allow the user to improve the quality and clinical value of ultrasound images that are collected (Paragraph 0020 of Gonyeau). Furthermore, the modification allows for the accurate identification of the anatomical locations in the image (Paragraph 0064 of Gonyeau). This would also allow the acquisition of the imaging to operate in real time (Paragraph 0049 of Gonyeau).
Alternatively, in an analogous imaging field of endeavor, regarding image mode control, Neben teaches the handheld ultrasound system comprising:
wherein translation of an aperture comprises altering the position of a virtual apex along an azimuthal direction (Paragraph 0033 teaches that the virtual apex location can be changed according to the aperture and can be translated across the transducer array for different directions. Paragraphs 0034-35 teaches the translation of the subsets of the transducer array and the enabling of the virtual apex. See Figs. 1-2).
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify the combination of Rothberg and Gonyeau with Neben’s teaching of translation of an aperture to alter the position of a virtual apex. This modified apparatus would allow the user to implement different image formats and allows for imaging of two-dimensional cross-sections of tissue, blood flow, motion of tissue over time, the location of blood, the presence of specific molecules, the stiffness of tissue, or the anatomy of a three-dimensional region (Paragraph 0003 of Neben). Furthermore, the modification allows for modulation and control of a preset for ultrasound imaging according to a single ultrasound array (Abstract of Neben).
Regarding claim 2, modified Rothberg teaches the handheld ultrasound system in claim 1, as discussed above.
However, Rothberg is silent regarding a handheld ultrasound system, wherein the updating of the scan pattern comprises:
configuring the two-dimensional array of ultrasound transducers to obtain a plurality of search image frames, each of the search image frames captured with a different search scan pattern, and
obtaining the updated scan pattern for the second ultrasound image frame by selecting a search scan pattern from the different search scan patterns as the updated scan pattern,
wherein the selected search scan pattern is selected based on the associated search image frame being suitable for a diagnostic action to be performed using the second ultrasound image frame.
In an analogous imaging field of endeavor, regarding cardiac and lung ultrasound imaging, Gonyeau teaches a handheld ultrasound system, wherein the updating of the scan pattern comprises:
configuring the two-dimensional array of ultrasound transducers to obtain a plurality of search image frames, each of the search image frames captured with a different search scan pattern (Paragraph 0020 teaches that the probe operates in a preset and the system automatically changes the preset according to the anatomy that is being imaged. See Fig. 1), and
obtaining the updated scan pattern for the second ultrasound image frame by selecting a search scan pattern from the different search scan patterns as the updated scan pattern (Paragraph 0020 teaches that the system is able to automatically change according to the anatomy that is being imaged. For example, the imaging can change from a cardiac preset to a lung preset. Paragraphs 0018-19 teach that the presets have their respective parameters for the optimized imaging of their respective anatomies),
wherein the selected search scan pattern is selected based on the associated search image frame being suitable for a diagnostic action to be performed using the second ultrasound image frame (Paragraph 0020 teaches that the system is able to automatically change according to the anatomy that is being imaged. For example, the imaging can change from a cardiac preset to a lung preset. Paragraphs 0018-19 teach that the presets have their respective parameters for the optimized imaging of their respective anatomies. See Fig. 1. Paragraph 0003 teaches that the ultrasound devices are used in diagnosis).
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify Rothberg with Gonyeau’s teaching of the alteration of imaging patterns according to suitability to perform diagnosis. This modified apparatus would allow the user to improve the quality and clinical value of ultrasound images that are collected (Paragraph 0020 of Gonyeau). Furthermore, the modification allows for the accurate identification of the anatomical locations in the image (Paragraph 0064 of Gonyeau). This would also allow the acquisition of the imaging to operate in real time (Paragraph 0049 of Gonyeau).
Regarding claim 3, modified Rothberg teaches the handheld ultrasound system in claim 2, as discussed above.
However, Rothberg is silent regarding a handheld ultrasound system, wherein the suitability of the search scan pattern is determined based on at least one selected from a group consisting of an amount of the desired anatomy being captured, and a degree of motion.
In an analogous imaging field of endeavor, regarding cardiac and lung ultrasound imaging, Gonyeau teaches a handheld ultrasound system, wherein the suitability of the search scan pattern is determined based on at least one selected from a group consisting of an amount of the desired anatomy being captured, and a degree of motion (Paragraph 0020 teaches that the preset automatically changes according to the anatomy being imaged and if the probe is moved to another anatomical part. Paragraph 0032 teaches that the anatomy is assessed and if it is not the anatomy that that preset is intended for, it is altered. This is based on statistical modeling and determination of the anatomical structural associations for the anatomical locations. Paragraph 0021 teaches that the determination of the anatomical location is based on the ultrasound image analysis and the use of accelerometer data).
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify Rothberg with Gonyeau’s teaching of assessing the suitability of the scan according to the anatomy imaged and the degree of motion. This modified apparatus would allow the user to improve the quality and clinical value of ultrasound images that are collected (Paragraph 0020 of Gonyeau). Furthermore, the modification allows for the accurate identification of the anatomical locations in the image (Paragraph 0064 of Gonyeau). This would also allow the acquisition of the imaging to operate in real time (Paragraph 0049 of Gonyeau).
Regarding claim 4, modified Rothberg teaches the handheld ultrasound system in claim 2, as discussed above.
Rothberg further teaches a handheld ultrasound system, wherein the obtaining of the plurality of search image frames comprises stepping through a scan pattern sequence of scan patterns (Paragraph 0176 teaches the implementation of an electronic sweep in the sector or curvilinear profile. Paragraphs 0054-55 teach the manipulation of the beamforming of ultrasound).
Regarding claim 5, modified Rothberg teaches the handheld ultrasound system in claim 4, as discussed above.
Rothberg further teaches a handheld ultrasound system, wherein the stepping through the scan pattern sequence is performed by one selected from a group consisting of:
a full sweep of the scan patterns in the scan pattern sequence (Paragraph 0176 teaches the implementation of an electronic sweep in the sector or curvilinear profile. Paragraphs 0054-55 teach the manipulation of the beamforming of ultrasound),
a coarse sweep to identify a range, followed by a fine sweep in the range, and
a decoupled elevational and azimuthal search through the scan patterns in the scan pattern sequence.
Regarding claim 6, modified Rothberg teaches the handheld ultrasound system in claim 1, as discussed above.
Rothberg further teaches a handheld ultrasound system, wherein the updating of the scan pattern is optionally triggered by a user pressing a button (Paragraph 0141 teaches the implementation of a button for the selection of the operating mode).
Regarding claim 7, modified Rothberg teaches the handheld ultrasound system in claim 1, as discussed above.
However, Rothberg is silent regarding a handheld ultrasound system, wherein the updating of the scan pattern is triggered by the at least one first ultrasound image frame not being suitable for a diagnostic action, in absence of a user input.
In an analogous imaging field of endeavor, regarding cardiac and lung ultrasound imaging, Gonyeau teaches a handheld ultrasound system, wherein the updating of the scan pattern is triggered by the at least one first ultrasound image frame not being suitable for a diagnostic action, in absence of a user input (Abstract teaches that the optimization of the device to image in the correct preset is performed automatically and without user input. Paragraphs 0018-19 teaches that the optimization for the anatomical features is performed via the presets).
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify Rothberg with Gonyeau’s teaching of optimization of imaging based on automatic determination. This modified apparatus would allow the user to improve the quality and clinical value of ultrasound images that are collected (Paragraph 0020 of Gonyeau). Furthermore, the modification allows for the accurate identification of the anatomical locations in the image (Paragraph 0064 of Gonyeau). This would also allow the acquisition of the imaging to operate in real time (Paragraph 0049 of Gonyeau).
Regarding claim 8, modified Rothberg teaches the handheld ultrasound system in claim 1, as discussed above.
However, Rothberg is silent regarding a handheld ultrasound system, wherein the updating of the scan pattern comprises:
configuring the two-dimensional array of ultrasound transducers to obtain a first search image frame, captured with a first search scan pattern,
making a first determination that the first search image frame is more suitable for a diagnostic action to be performed than the at least one first ultrasound image frame, and based on the first determination,
obtaining the updated scan pattern for the second ultrasound image frame by selecting the first search scan pattern as the updated scan pattern.
In an analogous imaging field of endeavor, regarding cardiac and lung ultrasound imaging, Gonyeau teaches a handheld ultrasound system, wherein the updating of the scan pattern comprises:
configuring the two-dimensional array of ultrasound transducers to obtain a first search image frame, captured with a first search scan pattern (Paragraph 0020 teaches that the probe operates in a preset and the system automatically changes the preset according to the anatomy that is being imaged. See Fig. 1), and
making a first determination that the first search image frame is more suitable for a diagnostic action to be performed than the at least one first ultrasound image frame, and based on the first determination (Paragraph 0020 teaches that the system is able to automatically change according to the anatomy that is being imaged. For example, the imaging can change from a cardiac preset to a lung preset. Paragraphs 0018-19 teach that the presets have their respective parameters for the optimized imaging of their respective anatomies),
obtaining the updated scan pattern for the second ultrasound image frame by selecting the first search scan pattern as the updated scan pattern (Paragraph 0020 teaches that the system is able to automatically change according to the anatomy that is being imaged. For example, the imaging can change from a cardiac preset to a lung preset. Paragraphs 0018-19 teach that the presets have their respective parameters for the optimized imaging of their respective anatomies. See Fig. 1. Paragraph 0003 teaches that the ultrasound devices are used in diagnosis).
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify Rothberg with Gonyeau’s teaching of implementation of an updated preset change according to the anatomy being imaging. This modified apparatus would allow the user to improve the quality and clinical value of ultrasound images that are collected (Paragraph 0020 of Gonyeau). Furthermore, the modification allows for the accurate identification of the anatomical locations in the image (Paragraph 0064 of Gonyeau). This would also allow the acquisition of the imaging to operate in real time (Paragraph 0049 of Gonyeau).
Regarding claim 9, modified Rothberg teaches the handheld ultrasound system in claim 8, as discussed above.
However, Rothberg is silent regarding a handheld ultrasound system, wherein the updating of the scan pattern further comprises:
configuring the two-dimensional array of ultrasound transducers to obtain a second search image frame, captured with a second search scan pattern,
making a second determination that the second search image frame is not more suitable for a diagnostic action to be performed than the second ultrasound image frame, and
based on the second determination, configuring the two-dimensional array of ultrasound transducers to obtain a third ultrasound image frame using the updated scan pattern as used for the obtaining of the second ultrasound image frame.
In an analogous imaging field of endeavor, regarding cardiac and lung ultrasound imaging, Gonyeau teaches a handheld ultrasound system, wherein the updating of the scan pattern further comprises:
configuring the two-dimensional array of ultrasound transducers to obtain a second search image frame, captured with a second search scan pattern (Paragraph 0020 teaches that the probe operates in a preset and the system automatically changes the preset according to the anatomy that is being imaged. See Fig. 1), and
making a second determination that the second search image frame is not more suitable for a diagnostic action to be performed than the second ultrasound image frame (Paragraph 0020 teaches that the system is able to automatically change according to the anatomy that is being imaged. For example, the imaging can change from a cardiac preset to a lung preset. Then, the preset can change from the lung preset back to the cardiac preset. Additionally, the cardiac preset can change to another preset like the abdominal preset. See Fig. 1 that shows an iterative cycle of determination of the anatomy and implementation of the appropriate preset. Paragraphs 0018-19 teach that the presets have their respective parameters for the optimized imaging of their respective anatomies), and
based on the second determination, configuring the two-dimensional array of ultrasound transducers to obtain a third ultrasound image frame using the updated scan pattern as used for the obtaining of the second ultrasound image frame (Paragraph 0020 teaches that the system is able to automatically change according to the anatomy that is being imaged. For example, the imaging can change from a cardiac preset to a lung preset. Then, the preset can change from the lung preset back to the cardiac preset. Additionally, the cardiac preset can change to another preset like the abdominal preset. See Fig. 1 that shows an iterative cycle of determination of the anatomy and implementation of the appropriate preset. Paragraphs 0018-19 teach that the presets have their respective parameters for the optimized imaging of their respective anatomies).
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify Rothberg with Gonyeau’s teaching of updating the acquisition for a third image frame according to the updated scan pattern. This modified apparatus would allow the user to improve the quality and clinical value of ultrasound images that are collected (Paragraph 0020 of Gonyeau). Furthermore, the modification allows for the accurate identification of the anatomical locations in the image (Paragraph 0064 of Gonyeau). This would also allow the acquisition of the imaging to operate in real time (Paragraph 0049 of Gonyeau).
Regarding claim 10, Rothberg teaches a method for operating a handheld ultrasound system, the method, performed by a processor of a smartphone or tablet of the handheld ultrasound system (Paragraph 0083 teaches that the probe can be a 2D array. Paragraph 0311 teaches that the probe can be a handheld. Paragraph 0116 teaches that the auxiliary device can be a smartphone. Paragraph 0071 teaches that a tablet can be used), comprising:
configuring the handheld ultrasound device to operate in an imaging mode (Abstract teaches the ultrasound of a multi-modal ultrasound probe that is able to operating in a plurality of operating modes associated with a respective plurality of configuration profiles),
configuring, a two-dimensional array of ultrasound transducers disposed in an ultrasound probe of the handheld ultrasound system to obtain at least one first ultrasound image frame comprising a view of a desired anatomy (Paragraph 0083 teaches that the probe can be a 2D array. Paragraphs 0032-33 teaches the acquisition of ultrasound images via an ultrasound probe. This can be for specific anatomy like the heart), wherein:
when the imaging mode is a cardiac imaging mode, the updating of the scan pattern comprises an adjustment of a combination of an azimuthal tilt and an elevational tilt of the acoustic beam (Paragraph 0126 teaches that the operating modes can have varying operating parameters. This includes the specifying of different azimuth aperture values, elevation aperture values, azimuth focus values, and elevation focus values. Paragraph 0128 teaches a first profile may have a first azimuth focus and first elevation focus. Tables 2-4 show the changing parameters in the modes. Paragraph 0310 teaches the operation of the ultrasound probe in a cardiac imaging mode),
when the imaging mode is a lung imaging mode, the updating of the scan pattern comprises an adjustment of a combination of an elevational tilt and a translation of an aperture of the two-dimensional array of ultrasound transducers emitting the acoustic beam (Paragraph 0126 teaches that the operating modes can have varying operating parameters. This includes the specifying of different azimuth aperture values, elevation aperture values, azimuth focus values, and elevation focus values. Paragraph 0127 teaches that the first and second elevation aperture and focus values can change according to the input mode. Paragraph 0051 teaches that each mode has a different active aperture that is determined by the width and height of the array. Tables 2-3 shows a series of elevation and azimuthal shapes. Paragraph 0310 teaches the operation of the ultrasound probe in a lung imaging mode),
wherein the translation of an aperture comprises altering the position of a virtual apex along an azimuthal direction (Paragraph 0051 teaches that each mode has a different active aperture that is determined by the width and height of the array. Tables 2-3 shows a series of elevation and azimuthal shapes. Paragraphs 0175-76 teaches the transmission according to the azimuth direction and the use of sector images. See Figs. 16-17), and
configuring the two-dimensional array of ultrasound transducers to obtain a second ultrasound image frame using the updated scan pattern (Paragraph 0126 teaches that the operating modes can have varying operating parameters. This includes the specifying of different azimuth aperture values, elevation aperture values, azimuth focus values, and elevation focus values. Paragraph 0127 teaches that the first and second elevation aperture and focus values can change according to the input mode).
However, Rothberg is silent regarding a method, comprising:
using a scan pattern defining an acoustic beam, automatically updating the scan pattern to optimize the view of the desired anatomy.
In an analogous imaging field of endeavor, regarding cardiac and lung ultrasound imaging, Gonyeau teaches a method, comprising:
using a scan pattern defining an acoustic beam, automatically updating the scan pattern to optimize the view of the desired anatomy (Paragraph 0026 teaches the processing device configures the ultrasound to operate with a first set of imaging parameters. This is for the purpose of imaging. See Fig. 1. Paragraph 0047 teaches the operation of the ultrasound device via beamforming. Paragraph 0020 teaches that the ultrasound imaging system may automatically identify the anatomy that is being imaged and alter its parameters according to that determination. See Fig. 1);
configuring the two-dimensional array of ultrasound transducers to obtain a second ultrasound image frame using the updated scan pattern (Paragraphs 0033-34 teaches that the second set of imaging parameters are used upon the determination that new presets must be used. See Fig. 1).
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify Rothberg with Gonyeau’s teaching of changing presets according to what anatomy is being imaged. Gonyeau further teaches that there are imaging presets for cardiac and lung imaging like Rothberg. One with ordinary skill in the art would be able to implement the aperture and focus changes according to the elevation and azimuth as taught by Rothberg and implement than in the automatic identification and alteration of presets of Gonyeau. This modified method would allow the user to improve the quality and clinical value of ultrasound images that are collected (Paragraph 0020 of Gonyeau). Furthermore, the modification allows for the accurate identification of the anatomical locations in the image (Paragraph 0064 of Gonyeau). This would also allow the acquisition of the imaging to operate in real time (Paragraph 0049 of Gonyeau).
Alternatively, in an analogous imaging field of endeavor, regarding image mode control, Neben teaches a method, comprising:
wherein the translation of an aperture comprises altering the position of a virtual apex along an azimuthal direction (Paragraph 0033 teaches that the virtual apex location can be changed according to the aperture and can be translated across the transducer array for different directions. Paragraphs 0034-35 teaches the translation of the subsets of the transducer array and the enabling of the virtual apex. See Figs. 1-2).
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify the combination of Rothberg and Gonyeau with Neben’s teaching of translation of an aperture to alter the position of a virtual apex. This modified method would allow the user to implement different image formats and allows for imaging of two-dimensional cross-sections of tissue, blood flow, motion of tissue over time, the location of blood, the presence of specific molecules, the stiffness of tissue, or the anatomy of a three-dimensional region (Paragraph 0003 of Neben). Furthermore, the modification allows for modulation and control of a preset for ultrasound imaging according to a single ultrasound array (Abstract of Neben).
Regarding claim 11, modified Rothberg teaches the method in claim 10, as discussed above.
However, Rothberg is silent regarding a method, wherein the updating of the scan pattern comprises:
configuring the two-dimensional array of ultrasound transducers to obtain a plurality of search image frames, each of the search image frames captured with a different search scan pattern,
obtaining the updated scan pattern for the second ultrasound image frame by selecting a search scan pattern from the different search scan patterns as the updated scan pattern,
wherein the selected search scan pattern is selected based on the associated search image frame being suitable for a diagnostic action to be performed using the second ultrasound image frame.
In an analogous imaging field of endeavor, regarding cardiac and lung ultrasound imaging, Gonyeau teaches a method, wherein the updating of the scan pattern comprises:
configuring the two-dimensional array of ultrasound transducers to obtain a plurality of search image frames, each of the search image frames captured with a different search scan pattern (Paragraph 0020 teaches that the probe operates in a preset and the system automatically changes the preset according to the anatomy that is being imaged. See Fig. 1), and
obtaining the updated scan pattern for the second ultrasound image frame by selecting a search scan pattern from the different search scan patterns as the updated scan pattern (Paragraph 0020 teaches that the system is able to automatically change according to the anatomy that is being imaged. For example, the imaging can change from a cardiac preset to a lung preset. Paragraphs 0018-19 teach that the presets have their respective parameters for the optimized imaging of their respective anatomies),
wherein the selected search scan pattern is selected based on the associated search image frame being suitable for a diagnostic action to be performed using the second ultrasound image frame (Paragraph 0020 teaches that the system is able to automatically change according to the anatomy that is being imaged. For example, the imaging can change from a cardiac preset to a lung preset. Paragraphs 0018-19 teach that the presets have their respective parameters for the optimized imaging of their respective anatomies. See Fig. 1. Paragraph 0003 teaches that the ultrasound devices are used in diagnosis).
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify Rothberg with Gonyeau’s teaching of the alteration of imaging patterns according to suitability to perform diagnosis. This modified method would allow the user to improve the quality and clinical value of ultrasound images that are collected (Paragraph 0020 of Gonyeau). Furthermore, the modification allows for the accurate identification of the anatomical locations in the image (Paragraph 0064 of Gonyeau). This would also allow the acquisition of the imaging to operate in real time (Paragraph 0049 of Gonyeau).
Regarding claim 12, modified Rothberg teaches the method in claim 11, as discussed above.
However, Rothberg is silent regarding a method, wherein the suitability of the search scan pattern is determined based on at least one selected from a group consisting of an amount of the desired anatomy being captured, and a degree of motion.
In an analogous imaging field of endeavor, regarding cardiac and lung ultrasound imaging, Gonyeau teaches a method, wherein the suitability of the search scan pattern is determined based on at least one selected from a group consisting of an amount of the desired anatomy being captured, and a degree of motion (Paragraph 0020 teaches that the preset automatically changes according to the anatomy being imaged and if the probe is moved to another anatomical part. Paragraph 0032 teaches that the anatomy is assessed and if it is not the anatomy that that preset is intended for, it is altered. This is based on statistical modeling and determination of the anatomical structural associations for the anatomical locations. Paragraph 0021 teaches that the determination of the anatomical location is based on the ultrasound image analysis and the use of accelerometer data).
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify Rothberg with Gonyeau’s teaching of assessing the suitability of the scan according to the anatomy imaged and the degree of motion. This modified method would allow the user to improve the quality and clinical value of ultrasound images that are collected (Paragraph 0020 of Gonyeau). Furthermore, the modification allows for the accurate identification of the anatomical locations in the image (Paragraph 0064 of Gonyeau). This would also allow the acquisition of the imaging to operate in real time (Paragraph 0049 of Gonyeau).
Regarding claim 13, modified Rothberg teaches the method in claim 1, as discussed above.
Rothberg further teaches a method, wherein the obtaining of the plurality of search image frames comprises stepping through a scan pattern sequence of scan patterns (Paragraph 0176 teaches the implementation of an electronic sweep in the sector or curvilinear profile. Paragraphs 0054-55 teach the manipulation of the beamforming of ultrasound).
Regarding claim 14, modified Rothberg teaches the method in claim 13, as discussed above.
Rothberg further teaches a method, wherein the stepping through the scan pattern sequence is performed by one selected from a group consisting of:
a full sweep of the scan patterns in the scan pattern sequence (Paragraph 0176 teaches the implementation of an electronic sweep in the sector or curvilinear profile. Paragraphs 0054-55 teach the manipulation of the beamforming of ultrasound),
a coarse sweep to identify a range, followed by a fine sweep in the range, and
a decoupled elevational and azimuthal search through the scan patterns in the scan pattern sequence.
Regarding claim 15, modified Rothberg teaches the method in claim 10, as discussed above.
Rothberg further teaches a method, wherein the updating of the scan pattern is optionally triggered by a user pressing a button (Paragraph 0141 teaches the implementation of a button for the selection of the operating mode).
Regarding claim 16, modified Rothberg teaches the method in claim 10, as discussed above.
However, Rothberg is silent regarding a method, wherein the updating of the scan pattern is triggered by the at least one first ultrasound image frame not being suitable for a diagnostic action, in absence of a user input.
In an analogous imaging field of endeavor, regarding cardiac and lung ultrasound imaging, Gonyeau teaches a method, wherein the updating of the scan pattern is triggered by the at least one first ultrasound image frame not being suitable for a diagnostic action, in absence of a user input (Abstract teaches that the optimization of the device to image in the correct preset is performed automatically and without user input. Paragraphs 0018-19 teaches that the optimization for the anatomical features is performed via the presets).
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify Rothberg with Gonyeau’s teaching of optimization of imaging based on automatic determination. This modified method would allow the user to improve the quality and clinical value of ultrasound images that are collected (Paragraph 0020 of Gonyeau). Furthermore, the modification allows for the accurate identification of the anatomical locations in the image (Paragraph 0064 of Gonyeau). This would also allow the acquisition of the imaging to operate in real time (Paragraph 0049 of Gonyeau).
Regarding claim 17, modified Rothberg teaches the method in claim 10, as discussed above.
However, Rothberg is silent regarding a method, wherein the updating of the scan pattern comprises:
configuring the two-dimensional array of ultrasound transducers to obtain a first search image frame, captured with a first search scan pattern,
making a first determination that the first search image frame is more suitable for a diagnostic action to be performed than the at least one first ultrasound image frame, and
based on the first determination, obtaining the updated scan pattern for the second ultrasound image frame by selecting the first search scan pattern as the updated scan pattern.
In an analogous imaging field of endeavor, regarding cardiac and lung ultrasound imaging, Gonyeau teaches a method, wherein the updating of the scan pattern comprises:
configuring the two-dimensional array of ultrasound transducers to obtain a first search image frame, captured with a first search scan pattern (Paragraph 0020 teaches that the probe operates in a preset and the system automatically changes the preset according to the anatomy that is being imaged. See Fig. 1),
making a first determination that the first search image frame is more suitable for a diagnostic action to be performed than the at least one first ultrasound image frame (Paragraph 0020 teaches that the system is able to automatically change according to the anatomy that is being imaged. For example, the imaging can change from a cardiac preset to a lung preset. Paragraphs 0018-19 teach that the presets have their respective parameters for the optimized imaging of their respective anatomies), and
based on the first determination, obtaining the updated scan pattern for the second ultrasound image frame by selecting the first search scan pattern as the updated scan pattern (Paragraph 0020 teaches that the system is able to automatically change according to the anatomy that is being imaged. For example, the imaging can change from a cardiac preset to a lung preset. Paragraphs 0018-19 teach that the presets have their respective parameters for the optimized imaging of their respective anatomies. See Fig. 1. Paragraph 0003 teaches that the ultrasound devices are used in diagnosis).
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify Rothberg with Gonyeau’s teaching of implementation of an updated preset change according to the anatomy being imaging. This modified method would allow the user to improve the quality and clinical value of ultrasound images that are collected (Paragraph 0020 of Gonyeau). Furthermore, the modification allows for the accurate identification of the anatomical locations in the image (Paragraph 0064 of Gonyeau). This would also allow the acquisition of the imaging to operate in real time (Paragraph 0049 of Gonyeau).
Regarding claim 18, modified Rothberg teaches the method in claim 17, as discussed above.
However, Rothberg is silent regarding a method, wherein the updating of the scan pattern further comprises:
configuring the two-dimensional array of ultrasound transducers to obtain a second search image frame, captured with a second search scan pattern,
making a second determination that the second search image frame is not more suitable for a diagnostic action to be performed than the second ultrasound image frame, and
based on the second determination,
configuring the two-dimensional array of ultrasound transducers to obtain a third ultrasound image frame using the updated scan pattern as used for the obtaining of the second ultrasound image frame.
In an analogous imaging field of endeavor, regarding cardiac and lung ultrasound imaging, Gonyeau teaches a method, wherein the updating of the scan pattern further comprises:
configuring the two-dimensional array of ultrasound transducers to obtain a second search image frame, captured with a second search scan pattern (Paragraph 0020 teaches that the probe operates in a preset and the system automatically changes the preset according to the anatomy that is being imaged. See Fig. 1),
making a second determination that the second search image frame is not more suitable for a diagnostic action to be performed than the second ultrasound image frame, and based on the second determination (Paragraph 0020 teaches that the system is able to automatically change according to the anatomy that is being imaged. For example, the imaging can change from a cardiac preset to a lung preset. Then, the preset can change from the lung preset back to the cardiac preset. Additionally, the cardiac preset can change to another preset like the abdominal preset. See Fig. 1 that shows an iterative cycle of determination of the anatomy and implementation of the appropriate preset. Paragraphs 0018-19 teach that the presets have their respective parameters for the optimized imaging of their respective anatomies),
configuring the two-dimensional array of ultrasound transducers to obtain a third ultrasound image frame using the updated scan pattern as used for the obtaining of the second ultrasound image frame (Paragraph 0020 teaches that the system is able to automatically change according to the anatomy that is being imaged. For example, the imaging can change from a cardiac preset to a lung preset. Then, the preset can change from the lung preset back to the cardiac preset. Additionally, the cardiac preset can change to another preset like the abdominal preset. See Fig. 1 that shows an iterative cycle of determination of the anatomy and implementation of the appropriate preset. Paragraphs 0018-19 teach that the presets have their respective parameters for the optimized imaging of their respective anatomies).
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify Rothberg with Gonyeau’s teaching of updating the acquisition for a third image frame according to the updated scan pattern. This modified method would allow the user to improve the quality and clinical value of ultrasound images that are collected (Paragraph 0020 of Gonyeau). Furthermore, the modification allows for the accurate identification of the anatomical locations in the image (Paragraph 0064 of Gonyeau). This would also allow the acquisition of the imaging to operate in real time (Paragraph 0049 of Gonyeau).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure:
Poland (PGPUB No. US 2007/0088213): Teaches the translation of an aperture and control of a virtual apex.
Mauldin et al. (PGPUB No. US 2015/0133788): Teaches the translation of an aperture and control of a virtual apex.
Bamber (US Patent No. 5,538,004): Teaches the translation of an aperture and control of a virtual apex.
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/ADIL PARTAP S VIRK/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3798