DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1, 10-12 and 14 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Ma et al. (CN 113573962 A).
Re claim 1, Ma et al. disclose a method of automatically evacuating and filling a brake system comprising, providing a brake system control module, the brake system control module including a reservoir tank (01), sensors (80, 60, 70), a processor (2101), and a memory (2102); determining if a low fluid level is detected in the reservoir tank [0196]; monitoring a value of the sensors (60, 70) to determine if the value of the sensors is less than or greater than evacuation (evac) and fill start and stop thresholds; and automatically managing an evacuation and a filling of the brake system based on the value of the sensors ([0169] – [0176], 101-103, Fig. 15A). See Ma et al. - US 2023/0347860 A1 for Translation purposes.
Re claim 10, Ma et al. disclose a brake system control module for use in a brake system, the brake system control module comprising: a reservoir tank (01) having a brake fluid level sensor (80); the brake system control module being configured to: automatically determine if the brake fluid level sensor detects a low fluid level in the reservoir tank; monitor a value of sensors (60, 70) to determine if the value of the sensors is less than or greater than evac and fill start and stop thresholds; and manage an evacuation and a filling of the brake system based on the value of the sensors. ([0169] – [0176], 101-103, Fig. 15A) See Ma et al. - US 2023/0347860 A1 for Translation purposes..
Re claim 11, Ma et al. disclose wherein the sensors (60, 70) are pressure sensors to sense a pressure in the brake system.
Re claim 12, Ma et al. disclose a processor (2101) and a memory (2102), wherein evac and fill process parameters are recorded and stored on the memory. ([0292])
Re claim 14, Ma et al. disclose method of automatically evacuating and filling a brake system comprising, providing a brake system control module, the brake system control module including a reservoir tank sensor (80), a processor (2101), and a memory (2102); determining if a low fluid level is detected in the reservoir tank; monitoring a value of sensors (60, 70) to determine if the value of the sensors is less than an evac start threshold; automatically managing an evacuation of the brake system; monitoring a value of the sensors to determine if the value of the sensors is greater than a fill start threshold; monitoring the value of the sensors to determine if the value of the sensors is less than a fill stop threshold; and automatically managing filling the brake system with a fluid. ([0169] – [0176], 101-103, Fig. 15A) See Ma et al. - US 2023/0347860 A1 for Translation purposes.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 19 and 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ma et al. (CN 113573962 A).
Re claims 19 and 20, Ma et al. do not teach wherein at least one of the sensors is a pressure sensor, and wherein the evac start threshold is in a range from -1 bar to 1 bar or wherein the fill start threshold is in a range from 2 bar to 10 bar and the fill stop threshold is in a range from 0 bar to 7 bar. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to determine the appropriate threshold ranges desired for appropriate system pressurization through routine experimentation.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 2-9, are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Claims 13, and 15-18 would be allowable if rewritten to overcome the rejection(s) under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), 2nd paragraph, set forth in this Office action and to include all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed January 7, 2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
In response to applicant's argument that the references fail to show certain features of the invention, it is noted that the features upon which applicant relies are not recited in the rejected claim(s). Although the claims are interpreted in light of the specification, limitations from the specification are not read into the claims. See In re Van Geuns, 988 F.2d 1181, 26 USPQ2d 1057 (Fed. Cir. 1993).
Applicant argues that Ma et al. do not teach a method of evacuating and filling a brake system. However, the only limitation regarding the claimed “brake system” and the “brake system control module” recited is the reservoir tank. It is the examiner’s position that applicant’s remarks are more specific than the claim language. As explained above, as broadly claimed, Ma et al. anticipates the claimed subject matter. Ma et al. discloses evacuating and filling a brake system comprising a brake system control module that includes a reservoir tank. No additional components or limitations are claimed with regard to the brake system control module.
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/MELANIE TORRES WILLIAMS/
Primary Examiner
Art Unit 3616
MTW
March 21, 2026