DETAILED ACTION
A Note on Prosecution
This application 17/986,060 is a CON of patented application 16/407,026.
Claim Interpretation
This application includes one or more claim limitations that do not use the word “means,” but are nonetheless being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, because the claim limitation(s) uses a generic placeholder that is coupled with functional language without reciting sufficient structure to perform the recited function and the generic placeholder is not preceded by a structural modifier. Such claim limitation(s) is/are:
“a sealing member bonded or bondable to the body at an open side of the receptacle, to create a chamber for the organized multi-cellular structure” in claim 30.
“the sealing member is bonded to the body” in claim 41 (from claim 41’s dependence from claim 30).
Because these claim limitations are being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, claims 30 and 41 are being interpreted to cover the corresponding structure described in the specification as performing the claimed function, and equivalents thereof. A review of the specification as filed shows that the following appears to be the corresponding structures, materials, or acts described in the specification as filed for the following 35 U.S.C. § 112(f) limitations:
“Sealing member 80 may be formed of glass or polymer, among others, and may be pre-formed or formed in situ, at least partially or completely inside receptacle 82.” – pg. 18 of 51
Regarding the previous claim interpretation about claims 1 and 41, the Examiner made a typographical error by typing “claim 1” instead of “claim 30”. The claim interpretation above has been revised to be for claims 30 and 41.
Regarding the previous claim interpretation about claim 32, in line 2, the phrase “included in a hydrogel” will no longer be interpreted to be “provided by a hydrogel”. This change in interpretation is because of Applicant Remarks, pg. 6 of 11.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Regarding claim 49, one of the previous claim rejections under 35 U.S.C. § 112(b) is withdrawn.
Claim 49 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Regarding claim 49, the claim broadens upon the parent claim, to the point where it is unclear how it is related to the parent claim. Claim 49 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being incomplete for omitting essential structural cooperative relationships of elements, such omission amounting to a gap between the necessary structural connections. See MPEP § 2172.01. The omitted structural cooperative relationships are: how each and every structure and limitation of the independent claim 30 is recited and is being used in the dependent claim 49, wherein dependent claim 49 delineates a linear array of substantially identical units connected to one another, wherein one of the units comprises the [body defining] receptacle and the at least two reservoirs. It may be prudent to rewrite the independent claim to be able to encompass the limitations of claim 49 and then further narrow the dependent claim to either a single unit or a plurality of units, depending on the embodiment. For example, the independent claim could possibly be written: “A device … the device comprising: one or more units; wherein at least one unit of the one or more units comprises…”. However, it is to be noted that the term “units” in the specification occurs only twice, and is not entirely fully explained, though at least Figs. 16-18 and 31-34 provide support from the drawings. Applicant should take note that any future rewritten limitations should conform to 35 U.S.C. § 112(a) (regarding written description and new matter) in addition to 35 U.S.C. § 112(b).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC §§ 102 | 103
Claims 30, 33, 35-36, 40-41, and 45-46 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) and 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Gabridge (US 4952510) (newly cited); or, in the alternative, under 35 U.S.C. 103 as obvious over Gabridge (US 4952510) (newly cited) in view of Wilson (US 20080176318) (previously cited).
Regarding claim 30, Gabridge discloses a device (col. 1, lines 6-10) for culture of an organized multi-cellular structure (col. 1, lines 28-34), the device comprising:
(a) a body (col. 6, lines 8-10) defining a receptacle (Fig. 1, element 28 “lower portion”; col. 6, lines 27-38) and at least two reservoirs (Fig. 1, element 30 “compartmental volumes”; col. 6, lines 27-38), the at least two reservoirs overlying the receptacle (Fig. 1) and being in separate fluid communication with the receptacle via respective channels (Fig. 1, elements 32 “plurality of openings”; col. 7, lines 3-26), wherein the respective channels each extend through a top wall of the body adjacent to the at least two reservoirs (Fig. 1; col. 7, lines 3-26); and
(b) a sealing member (Fig. 1, element 16 “bottom surface”; col. 6, lines 7-26) bonded or bondable (col. 6, lines 5-15 “connect”) to the body at an open side of the receptacle (Fig. 1, element 28 “lower portion”; col. 6, lines 27-38), to create a chamber (Fig. 1) for the organized multi-cellular structure (col. 12, lines 6-13 “microorganisms in the liquid nutrient medium”), wherein at least one reservoir is in fluid communication with the chamber independently of each other reservoir via one of the respective channels (Fig. 1, elements 32 “plurality of openings”; col. 7, lines 3-26).
Gabridge, Fig. 1
Regarding the phrase “the organized multi-cellular structure”, this term is a manner of operating the claimed invention. The material or article worked upon by the apparatus does not limit the apparatus claims. MPEP § 2115. This limitation is a manner of operating or intended use of a claimed apparatus and does not patentably distinguish it from the prior art. MPEP § 2114(II). The device of Gabridge would be fully capable of operating in this manner given its reservoirs, channels, receptacle, chamber, and sealing member.
If it is deemed that Gabridge does not teach that their invention is “for culture of an organized multi-cellular structure” as stated in the claimed preamble, a preamble merely indicates the intended use of the apparatus and does not add structural limitations to the claims. MPEP § 2111.02(II). Because the apparatus taught by Gabridge teaches all the structural limitations claimed, it would be capable of being used in this manner. Applicant is also reminded that the intended use of or manner of operating a claimed apparatus does not patentably distinguish it from the prior art. MPEP § 2114(II).
Regarding the phrase “bonded or bondable”, these terms are claimed in the alternative. Because the bonded parts of Gabridge inherently describe both these terms, no further rejections are required at this time.
If it is deemed that the terms “a sealing member [that is] bonded or bondable” are not fulfilled by Gabridge as above, Wilson discloses a sealing member (paragraph [0054] “cap 30 covers access port 70”) that is bonded or bondable (paragraph [0088] “bond dimethyl silicone to a rigid plastic”).
In the analogous art of culture flasks, it would have been obvious to one skilled in the art before the effective filing date to modify the apparatus of Gabridge with the bonded or bondable sealing member of Wilson in order to have a liquid-tight bond that is biocompatible (Wilson, paragraph [0088]).
Regarding claim 33, Gabridge discloses wherein the receptacle and the at least two reservoirs are formed integrally with one another (col. 10, lines 15-20 “integral part”).
If it is deemed that Gabridge does not disclose “wherein the receptacle and the at least two reservoirs are formed integrally with one another”, integration of parts is obvious. Integration of parts would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art as a matter of obvious engineering choice. MPEP § 2144.04(V)(B). It would have been obvious to one skilled in the art before the effective filing date to modify Gabridge’s invention to be integrally formed among the receptacle and the at least two reservoirs in order to have fewer possible leak points for the medium and microbes.
The limitation “formed integrally” is a product-by-process limitation. “[E]ven though product-by-process claims are limited by and defined by the process, determination of patentability is based on the product itself. The patentability of a product does not depend on its method of production. If the product in the product-by-process claim is the same as or obvious from a product of the prior art, the claim is unpatentable even though the prior product was made by a different process.” MPEP § 2113.
Regarding claim 35, Gabridge discloses wherein each reservoir of the at least two reservoirs shares a wall with the receptacle (Fig. 1; col. 4, lines 11-16).
Regarding claim 36, Gabridge discloses two channels (Fig. 1; col. 7, lines 3-26).
Gabridge does not disclose wherein at least one of the respective channels functions as an inlet of the chamber and at least one of the respective channels functions as an outlet of the chamber.
However, regarding the limitation, the manner of operating or intended use of a claimed apparatus does not patentably distinguish it from the prior art. MPEP § 2114(II). The device of Gabridge or modified Gabridge would be fully capable of operating in this manner given the structures of the two channels.
Regarding claim 40, Gabridge discloses wherein the device is in a sterilized condition (col. 3, lines 52-58).
Additionally, regarding the limitation, the phrase “a sterilized condition” is a product-by-process limitation. “[E]ven though product-by-process claims are limited by and defined by the process, determination of patentability is based on the product itself. The patentability of a product does not depend on its method of production. If the product in the product-by-process claim is the same as or obvious from a product of the prior art, the claim is unpatentable even though the prior product was made by a different process.” MPEP § 2113.
Additionally, regarding the limitation “a sterilized condition” the manner of operating or intended use of a claimed apparatus does not patentably distinguish it from the prior art. MPEP § 2114(II). The device of Gabridge would be fully capable of operating in this manner given the structure of the device.
Regarding claim 41, Gabridge discloses wherein the sealing member (Fig. 1, element 16 “bottom surface”; col. 6, lines 7-26) is bonded (col. 6, lines 5-15 “connect”) to the body (Fig. 1, element 28 “lower portion”; col. 6, lines 27-38).
If it is deemed that Gabridge does not disclose wherein the sealing member is bonded to the body, Wilson discloses wherein the sealing member (paragraph [0054] “cap 30 covers access port 70” and paragraph [0121] “Septum can be present in molded silicone”) is bonded to (paragraph [0088] “bond dimethyl silicone to a rigid plastic”) the body (paragraph [0053], “multi-shelved device”).
In the analogous art of culture flasks, it would have been obvious to one skilled in the art before the effective filing date to modify the apparatus of Gabridge with the sealing member of Wilson in order to have a liquid-tight and biocompatible seal (Wilson, paragraph [0088]).
Regarding claim 45, Gabridge discloses wherein the body comprises a pair of lateral windows to permit illumination of an interior of the chamber via either lateral window of the pair of the lateral windows (col. 6, lines 38-46).
If it is deemed that Gabridge does not disclose the limitation above, Wilson discloses wherein the body (paragraph [0053], “multi-shelved device”) comprises a pair of lateral windows (annotated Fig. 1A and paragraph [0076] “Optically clear materials are preferred” and paragraph [0090] “sidewall support is a rigid, clear material”) to permit illumination (paragraph [0076]) of an interior of the chamber (paragraph [0054], chamber created by sealing the “manifold 60”) via either of the lateral window of the pair of lateral windows (annotated Fig. 1A and paragraph [0076] “Optically clear materials are preferred” and paragraph [0090] “sidewall support is a rigid, clear material”).
In the analogous art of culture vessels, it would have been obvious to one skilled in the art before the effective filing date to modify the apparatus of Gabridge with the pair of lateral windows of Wilson in order to provide optical transparency for visual detection of contamination and pH (Wilson, paragraph [0083]).
Wilson, Fig. 1A
Regarding claim 46, Gabridge discloses wherein the pair of lateral windows are disposed opposite each other (Fig. 1).
If it is deemed that Gabridge does not disclose the limitation above, Wilson discloses wherein the pair of lateral windows (annotated Fig. 1A and paragraph [0076] “Optically clear materials are preferred” and paragraph [0090] “sidewall support is a rigid, clear material”) are disposed opposite each other (annotated Fig. 1A and Figs. 5A-5C and paragraphs [0057], [0062], and [0066]).
In the analogous art of culture vessels, it would have been obvious to one skilled in the art before the effective filing date to modify the pair of lateral windows of Gabridge with those of Wilson in order to in order to provide optical transparency for visual detection of contamination and pH (Wilson, paragraph [0083]).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 31-32 and 43 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Gabridge (US 4952510) (newly cited) as applied to claim 30; or, in the alternative, under 35 U.S.C. 103 as obvious over Gabridge (US 4952510) (newly cited) in view of Wilson (US 20080176318) (previously cited) as applied to claim 30.
Regarding claim 31, Gabridge discloses further comprising a scaffold (col. 9, lines 62-68; and col. 10, lines 1-7 “solid nutrient media”) attached to a wall of the reservoirs (Fig. 1, element 30 “compartmental volumes”; col. 6, lines 27-38).
Gabridge does not disclose a scaffold attached to a wall of the receptacle.
However, this is an obvious re-arrangement of parts, where the solid nutrient medium of Gabridge could be located in the receptacle rather than in the reservoirs. Regarding this limitation, rearrangement of parts would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art as an obvious matter of design choice and would not have modified the operation of the device. MPEP § 2144.04(VI)(C). It would have been obvious to one skilled in the art before the effective filing date to modify the location of the scaffold of Gabridge with the location in the receptacle in order to allow for a single solid medium in the receptacle to be exposed to liquid media from the reservoirs.
Regarding claim 32, Gabridge discloses wherein the scaffold is included in a hydrogel (col. 1, lines 14-19 “agar”).
Regarding claim 43, Gabridge discloses wherein the body defines two or more reservoirs each disposed in fluid communication with the receptacle (Fig. 5; col. 6, lines 46-51; col. 13, lines 9-12).
Gabridge does not disclose at least four reservoirs.
However, this limitation is obvious under duplication of parts. Mere duplication of parts has no patentable significance unless a new and unexpected result is produced. MPEP § 2144.04(VI)(B). It would have been obvious to one skilled in the art before the effective filing date to modify the apparatus of Gabridge with at least four reservoirs in order to create further partitions for at least four different substances to interact with the substance in the receptacle.
Claims 34, 42, 44, and 49 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Gabridge (US 4952510) (newly cited) in view of Wilson (US 20080176318) (previously cited) as applied to claims 30 and 41.
Regarding claim 34, Gabridge discloses wherein the body is molded (col. 9, lines 27-32) as a single piece (col. 3, lines 18-20).
Gabridge does not disclose wherein the body is injection-molded as a single piece.
Wilson discloses wherein the body (paragraph [0053], “multi-shelved device”) is injection-molded as a single piece (paragraphs [0088]-[0090]).
In the analogous art of culture flasks, it would have been obvious to one skilled in the art before the effective filing date to modify the culture apparatus of Gabridge with the injection molding of Wilson in order to create a liquid tight bond that is biocompatible (Wilson, paragraph [0088]).
Additionally, the limitation is a product-by-process limitation. “[E]ven though product-by-process claims are limited by and defined by the process, determination of patentability is based on the product itself. The patentability of a product does not depend on its method of production. If the product in the product-by-process claim is the same as or obvious from a product of the prior art, the claim is unpatentable even though the prior product was made by a different process.” MPEP § 2113.
Regarding claim 42, Gabridge does not disclose wherein the sealing member comprises a polymer.
Wilson discloses wherein the sealing member comprises a polymer (paragraph [0054] “cap 30 covers access port 70” and paragraph [0121] “Septum can be present in molded silicone”).
In the analogous art of culture flasks, it would have been obvious to one skilled in the art before the effective filing date to modify the apparatus of Gabridge with the sealing membrane comprising a polymer of Wilson in order to create a liquid-tight and biocompatible seal (Wilson, paragraph [0088]).
Regarding the limitation “at least one of a glass or a polymer”, the limitation has been claimed in the alternative. Because modified Gabridge discloses a polymer, no further rejections are required at this time.
Regarding claim 44, Gabridge discloses the sealing member (Fig. 1, element 16 “bottom surface”; col. 6, lines 7-26); and a portion of the receptacle comprises a bottom window for imaging a contents of an interior of the chamber (col. 4, lines 19-21).
Gabridge does not disclose wherein the sealing member comprises a bottom window for imaging a contents of an interior of the chamber.
Wilson discloses the sealing member (paragraph [0054] “cap 30 covers access port 70” and paragraph [0121] “Septum can be present in molded silicone”) comprises a bottom window (paragraph [0054] “cap 30 covers access port 70” and paragraph [0083] “optical transparency” can be used in any of the materials throughout the cell culture device) for imaging a contents (paragraphs [0076] “microscopically observe cells in culture” and [0083]) of an interior of the chamber (paragraph [0054], chamber created by sealing the “manifold 60”).
In the analogous art of culture flasks, it would have been obvious to one skilled in the art before the effective filing date to modify the apparatus of Gabridge with the bottom window of Wilson in order to use the optical transparency for visual detection of contamination and pH (Wilson, paragraph [0083]).
Regarding the limitation “for imaging a contents of an interior of the chamber” the manner of operating or intended use of a claimed apparatus does not patentably distinguish it from the prior art. MPEP § 2114(II). The device of modified Gabridge would be fully capable of operating in this manner given the transparent bottom window of the sealing member of modified Gabridge.
Regarding claim 49, Gabridge discloses wherein one unit comprises the body (col. 6, lines 8-10) defining the receptacle (Fig. 1, element 28 “lower portion”; col. 6, lines 27-38) and the at least two reservoirs (Fig. 1, element 30 “compartmental volumes”; col. 6, lines 27-38).
Gabridge does not disclose further comprising a linear array of substantially identical units connected to one another, wherein one of the substantially identical units comprises the body defining the receptacle and the at least two reservoirs.
Wilson discloses further comprising a linear array (paragraphs [0090] and Figs. 18A-18E) of substantially identical units (Figs. 18A-18E) connected to one another (paragraphs [0087]-[0088] and Figs. 18A-18E), wherein one of the substantially identical units comprises the body defining the receptacle (paragraph [0054], “manifold 60”) and the at least two reservoirs (paragraph [0053], “two gas permeable culture compartments 20” and in Fig. 7C there are three compartments).
In the analogous art of culture flasks, it would have been obvious to one skilled in the art before the effective filing date to modify the apparatus of Gabridge with the embodiments of Wilson in order to obtain a flask that has multiple culture compartments for the expansion of the cell culture, allows culture compartments to be partially filled with medium, and/or minimizes the volume of trypsin, PBS, or any other liquid that is involved in removing cells from the cell compartments (Wilson, paragraph [0090]).
Regarding the limitation “substantially identical units”, mere duplication of parts has no patentable significance unless a new and unexpected result is produced. MPEP § 2144.04(VI)(B). It would have been obvious to one skilled in the art before the effective filing date to modify the apparatus of Gabridge with the substantially identical units in order to have more replicates of the same conditions for the cell culture, or to expose different cell cultures to the same environmental conditions in a single trial.
Regarding the limitation “connected to one another”, integration of parts would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art as a matter of obvious engineering choice. MPEP § 2144.04(V)(B). It would have been obvious to one skilled in the art before the effective filing date to modify the apparatus of Gabridge with the integral connections to one another in order to employ one device rather than multiple devices at the same time, which is useful for mass production and robotic handling.
Claims 37-39 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Gabridge (US 4952510) (newly cited) as applied to claim 30, further in view of Jung (KR 20150069113) (machine translation) (previously cited); or, in the alternative, under 35 U.S.C. 103 as obvious over Gabridge (US 4952510) (newly cited) in view of Wilson (US 20080176318) (previously cited) as applied to claim 30, further in view of Jung (KR 20150069113) (machine translation) (previously cited).
Regarding claim 37, Gabridge does not disclose further comprising a removable lid configured to cover an open top of each reservoir of the at least two reservoirs.
Jung discloses a removable lid (Fig. 2, element 300 and paragraphs [0050]-[0055]) configured to cover an open top of a reservoir (Fig. 2, element 100 and paragraphs [0055]-[0056]).
In the analogous art of laboratory vessels for animal cells, it would have been obvious to one skilled in the art before the effective filing date to modify the device of Gabridge with the removable lid of Jung in order to cover the insertion hole to the reservoir (Jung, abstract). This removable lid would promote aseptic handling of a sterile container.
Jung, Fig. 2
Regarding claim 38, Gabridge does not disclose wherein the removable lid comprises a flange configured to restrict a lateral movement of the removable lid.
Jung discloses wherein the removable lid (Fig. 2, element 300 and paragraphs [0050]-[0055]) comprises a flange (Fig. 2, element 311 “support grooves” and element 312 “opening groove”; paragraphs [0053]-[0054]; Figs. 4A and 4B, element 120 “insertion pin”; paragraphs [0048]-[0050]) configured to restrict a lateral movement (paragraph [0050] “the container body (100) and the cover (300) can be firmly connected to each other”) of the removable lid (Fig. 2, element 300 and paragraphs [0050]-[0055]).
In the analogous art of laboratory vessels for animal cells, it would have been obvious to one skilled in the art before the effective filing date to modify the device of Gabridge with the removable lid and flange of Jung in order to cover the insertion hole to the reservoir with a seal (Jung, abstract and paragraph [0037]). This removable lid would promote aseptic handling of a sterile container.
Regarding the phrase “configured to restrict a lateral movement of the removable lid”, this is an intended use of the flange recited. The manner of operating or intended use of a claimed apparatus does not patentably distinguish it from the prior art. MPEP § 2114(II). The device of modified Gabridge would be fully capable of operating in this manner given the removable lid and its flange.
Jung, Figs. 4A and 4B
Regarding claim 39, Gabridge does not disclose wherein the removable lid comprises a fluid-tight seal with the at least two reservoirs.
Jung discloses wherein the removable lid (Fig. 2, element 300 and paragraphs [0050]-[0055]) comprises a seal (paragraph [0037]) with a reservoir (Fig. 2, element 100 and paragraphs [0055]-[0056]).
In the analogous art of laboratory vessels for animal cells, it would have been obvious to one skilled in the art before the effective filing date to modify the device of Gabridge with the removable lid and seal of Jung in order to cover the insertion hole to the reservoir with a seal (Jung, abstract and paragraph [0037]). This removable lid would promote aseptic handling of a sterile container.
If it is deemed that the seal of Jung is not a fluid-tight seal, Jung’s background section discloses a fluid-tight seal (paragraph [0013]).
In the analogous art of laboratory vessels for animal cells, it would have been obvious to one skilled in the art before the effective filing date to modify the device of Gabridge with the removable lid and seal of Jung in order to cover the insertion hole to the reservoir with a fluid-tight seal (Jung, abstract and paragraph [0037]). This removable lid would promote aseptic handling of a sterile container, orienting the container in order to place reagents inside or allow cells to be cultured; and rotating the container for ease of use without fluid leaks.
Claims 47-48 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Gabridge (US 4952510) (newly cited) as applied to claim 30, in view of Baumfalk (US 20120097557) (previously cited); or, in the alternative, under 35 U.S.C. 103 as obvious over Gabridge (US 4952510) (newly cited) in view of Wilson (US 20080176318) (previously cited) as applied to claim 30, further in view of Baumfalk (US 20120097557) (previously cited).
Regarding claim 47, Gabridge discloses the body (col. 6, lines 8-10) and the chamber (Fig. 1).
Gabridge does not disclose wherein the body defines an access tube having an open top end and a closed bottom end, and wherein a shared wall separates the chamber from the closed bottom end of the access tube.
Baumfalk discloses an access tube (Fig. 4 and abstract, “adapter”) having an open top end (Fig. 4 and abstract, “receiving opening”) and a closed bottom end (Fig. 4 and abstract, “boundary surface”; claim 1), and wherein a shared wall (Fig. 4, elements 5`` and 13``` and paragraph [0038]) separates the chamber (Fig. 4, container interior; paragraph [0020]) from the closed bottom end of the access tube (Fig. 4 and abstract, “boundary surface”; claim 1).
In the analogous art of systems for analyte sensing and monitoring, it would have been obvious to one skilled in the art before the effective filing date to modify the apparatus of Gabridge with the access tube of Baumfalk in order to detect analytes or probe the interior of the chamber (Baumfalk, paragraph [0010]).
Regarding claim 48, Gabridge does not disclose wherein the access tube comprises a barrier at one end of the access tube.
Baumfalk discloses wherein the access tube (Fig. 4 and abstract, “adapter”) comprises a barrier (Fig. 4, elements 5`` and 13``` and paragraph [0038]) at one end (Fig. 4 and abstract, “boundary surface”; claim 1) of the access tube (Fig. 4 and abstract, “adapter”).
In the analogous art of systems for analyte sensing and monitoring, it would have been obvious to one skilled in the art before the effective filing date to modify the apparatus of Gabridge with the closed-ended access tube of Baumfalk in order to detect analytes or probe the interior of the chamber (Baumfalk, paragraph [0010]) while keeping the interior of the container sterile (Baumfalk, paragraphs [0013]-[0014]).
Additional Prior Art References
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to Applicant’s disclosure.
Wilson (US 20050101009) (newly cited) – This invention is a compartmentalized device for cell culture, cell processing, and sample dialysis.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments, see pgs. 8-10, filed 12/10/2025, with respect to the rejections of the claims under 35 U.S.C. § 102 have been fully considered and are persuasive. Therefore, the rejection has been withdrawn. However, upon further consideration, a new ground(s) of rejection is made in view of primary reference Gabridge; thus, arguments against Wilson as a primary reference are moot.
Regarding Applicant arguments pg. 7, the channels of Gabridge extend through a top wall of the body adjacent to the at least two reservoirs; and, also, at least one reservoir is in fluid communication with the chamber independently of each other reservoir via a dedicated channel.
Regarding Applicant arguments pg. 8, Gabridge discloses the at least two reservoirs overlying the receptacle and being in separate fluid communication with the receptacle via respective channels.
Regarding Applicant arguments pg. 9, Gabridge discloses a top wall adjacent to the at least two reservoirs with respective channels extended therethrough.
Regarding Applicant arguments pgs. 9-10, Gabridge discloses that at least one reservoir is in fluid communication with a chamber independently of each other reservoir via a dedicated channel.
Regarding Applicant arguments pg. 10, arguments about Wilson are moot in light of the new primary reference, Gabridge, which discloses claim 30 as claimed under 35 U.S.C. §§ 102 | 103.
Conclusion
Applicant’s amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/N.G.E./Examiner, Art Unit 1799
/MICHAEL A MARCHESCHI/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 1799