DETAILED ACTION
Response to Arguments
Claims 1-20 are pending.
The objection to the claim has been withdrawn in light of the Applicant’s amendment.
Applicant’s arguments in the Remarks filed on 02/10/2026 with regards to the rejection under 35 USC 102 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Claim Objections
Claims 1-20 are objected to because of the following informalities:
Claim 1 recites “the application” in line 8, which should be amended to --the video playback application-- to be consistent in the claim.
Claim 9 recites “the application” in line 10, which should be amended to --the video playback application-- to be consistent in the claim.
Claim 17 recites “the application” in line 10, which should be amended to --the video playback application-- to be consistent in the claim.
Other dependent claims are objected the same
Appropriate corrections are required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-4, 8-12 and 16-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Zhao et al (US 2017/0147586) in view of Engineer (US 2018/0160189).
Regarding claim 1, Zhao discloses a computer-implemented method comprising:
storing, in a storage medium, at least a first keyword corresponding to content of a video (¶ [0037]-[0043] for storing video plots information corresponding to content of a target video as pre-stored video plots information; and ¶ [0032] for video plot information including plot search keyword);
after storing the first keyword, receiving, via a video playback application, an indication that playback of the video is initiated; in response to receipt of the indication, retrieving the first keyword from the storage medium (¶ [0027]-[0029], ¶ [0049]-[0051] and ¶ [0063]-[0064] for obtaining a first video plot information that matched the plot search keyword from pre-stored video plots information of the target video in response to receiving an indication that a plot search keyword of the video being playback is initiated);
querying at least one data source for information corresponding to the first keyword (¶ [0032], ¶ [0052]-[0055] and ¶ [0065]-[0066] for querying a data source for pre-stored video plots information corresponding to the received plot search keyword); and
causing a client device to display a representation of the information (¶ [0033]-[0034], ¶ [0056]-[0060] and ¶ [0067] for displaying information of a plurality of video plots matching the plot search keyword to be selected for replaying at a playback time of each matching video plot).
Zhao discloses querying at least one data source for information corresponding to the first keyword (¶ [0032], ¶ [0052]-[0055] and ¶ [0065]-[0066]), but is silent about data source associated with a user of the application and by using login credentials of the user to access the at least one data source.
Engineer discloses querying at least one data source associated with a user of a video playback application for information corresponding to the first keyword by using login credentials of the user to access the at least one data source (¶ [0081]-[0087]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Zhao system with the teaching of Engineer about using login credentials of a user to access and query a data source for information corresponding to keyword search, so to facilitate security of data associated with a data source.
Regarding claim 2, Zhao in view of Engineer discloses the method as discussed in the rejection of claim 1. The combined system further discloses determining the first keyword corresponds to a time marker of the video; storing, in the storage medium, the first keyword and data identifying the time marker; determining, using the data identifying the time marker from the storage medium, that playback of the video is at a beginning of the time marker; and in response to determining that playback of the video is at a beginning of the time marker, causing the client device to display the representation of the information (taught by Zhao; ¶ [0032], ¶ [0044]-[0045], ¶ [0054]-[0060] and ¶ [0081]-[0082]; and Engineer’s Figure 3).
Regarding claim 3, Zhao in view of Engineer discloses the method as discussed in the rejection of claim 1. The combined system further discloses in response to querying the at least one data source, receiving a plurality of search results corresponding to the first keyword; determining a first search result, from the plurality of search results by ranking the plurality of search results based at least in part on contents of the video; and determining the representation of the information from the information included in the first search result (taught by Zhao; ¶ [0032]-[0034]; and taught by Engineer; ¶ [0039]).
Regarding claim 4, Zhao in view of Engineer discloses the method as discussed in the rejection of claim 3. The combined system further discloses generating a user interface element including the representation of the information and at least one selectable element, wherein the client device is caused to display the user interface element; receiving a user input selecting the at least one selectable element, the user input being indicative of feedback with respect to the information; based at least in part on the user input being indicative of the feedback, selecting a second search result from the plurality of search results; determining a representation of other information included in the second search result; and causing the client device to display the representation of the other information (taught by Zhao; ¶ [0028]-[0032], ¶ [0058]-[0061] and ¶ [0078]).
Regarding claim 8, Zhao in view of Engineer discloses the method as discussed in the rejection of claim 1. The combined system further discloses receiving video data for the video; processing the video data to determine a transcription of the video; and determining, using the transcription of the video, at least the first keyword (taught by Engineer; Figures 8-10; ¶ [0077]-[0078], ¶ [0095]-[0106] and ¶ [0111]-[0115]).
Regarding claim 9, all functionalities of a computing system in claim 9 are analyzed and rejected corresponding claim 1. Zhao in view of Engineer discloses a system comprising at least one processor and at least one computer-readable medium encoded with instructions (Zhao’s Figure 8; and Engineer’s Figure 11).
Regarding claims 10-12 and 16, all limitations of claims 10-12 and 16 are analyzed and rejected corresponding to claims 2-4 and 8 respectively.
Regarding claims 17-20, all limitations of claims 17-20 are analyzed and rejected corresponding to claims 1-4 respectively.
Claims 5-6 and 13-14 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Zhao et al (US 2017/0147586) in view of Engineer (US 2018/0160189) as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Iwata et al (US 2021/0256972).
Regarding claim 5, Zhao in view of Engineer discloses the method as discussed in the rejection of claim 1. The combined system is silent about causing the client device to display a representation of at least the first keyword and at least one selectable user interface element to enable a user to provide feedback with respect to the first keyword; receiving a user input indicative of feedback with respect to the first keyword; and based at least in part on the user input being indicative of the feedback, storing updated keywords in the storage medium.
Iwata discloses causing the client device to display a representation of at least the first keyword and at least one selectable user interface element to enable a user to provide feedback with respect to the first keyword; receiving a user input indicative of feedback with respect to the first keyword; and based at least in part on the user input being indicative of the feedback, storing updated keywords in the storage medium (Figures 3-4; ¶ [0052]-[0059]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Zhao in view of Engineer system with the teaching of Iwata, so to provide an improved system with updating extracted keywords taking into account of user feedback to the keyword in order to make more appropriate keywords’ inquiry.
Regarding claim 6, Zhao in view of Engineer and further in view of Iwata discloses the method as discussed in the rejection of claim 5. The combined system further discloses after updating the keywords (Iwata’s Figures 3-4), receiving, via the video playback application, an additional indication that playback of the video is initiated; in response to the additional indication, retrieving the updated keywords from the storage medium; querying the at least one data source for additional information corresponding to the updated keywords; and causing the client device to display a representation of the additional information (taught by Zhao; ¶ [0027]-[0032], ¶ [0049]-[0055] and ¶ [0063]-[0067]).
Regarding claims 13-14, all limitations of claims 13-14 are analyzed and rejected corresponding to claims 5-6 respectively.
Claims 7 and 15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Zhao et al (US 2017/0147586) in view of Engineer (US 2018/0160189) as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Fink et al (US 2009/0300475).
Regarding claim 7, Zhao in view of Engineer discloses the method as discussed in the rejection of claim 1. The combined system further discloses generating a user interface element including the representation of the information and a selectable user interface element enabling a user to access the at least one data source; receiving a user input selecting the selectable user interface element (taught by Zhao; ¶ [0028]-[0032], ¶ [0058]-[0061] and ¶ [0078]), but is silent about in response to receiving the user input, causing the video playback application to pause playback of the video.
Fink discloses generating a user interface element including the representation of the information and a selectable user interface element enabling a user to access the at least one data source; receiving a user input selecting the selectable user interface element; and in response to receiving the user input, causing the video playback application to pause playback of the video (Figures 2-3; ¶ [0028]-[0030]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Zhao in view of Engineer system with the teaching of Fink, so to provide an alternative way of interactive user interface presenting other data source while pausing video as a matter of designed choices.
Regarding claim 15, all limitations of claim 15 are analyzed and rejected corresponding to claim 7.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/GIGI L DUBASKY/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2421