Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 2, 3, 4, 5, 6, 13, 14, 15, 16, 17, and 18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over US20080066041A1 (Kahng) in view of US20100175040A1 (Meiring).
In regards to claim 1 (Kahng) shows an optical proximity correction method, comprising:
providing a layout layer comprising main patterns; Kahng [0087] teaches existing standard-cell layout input in GDSII Stream format which contains the main pattern features that require optical proximity correction processing, providing a layout layer comprising main patterns.
setting a forbidden edge rule according to a spacing between adjacent main patterns, wherein the setting the forbidden edge rule comprises: acquiring the spacing between the adjacent main patterns; Kahng [0092] teaches Type-1 auxiliary pattern spacing requirements where spaces 206 and 207 define minimum space requirements between main pattern features, teaching setting a forbidden edge rule according to a spacing between adjacent main patterns and acquiring the spacing between the adjacent main patterns.
adding an auxiliary pattern to a side portion of the main patterns; Kahng [0084] teaches adding auxiliary pattern features including vertical and horizontal auxiliary patterns to side portions of standard-cell layouts for optical proximity correction.
wherein a quantity of auxiliary patterns added to side portions of the main patterns is obtained based on the forbidden edge rule, the forbidden edge rule defining whether an edge of the main patterns is a forbidden edge, where an auxiliary pattern is not added to a side portion of the forbidden edge; Kahng [0092] teaches that when spaces 206 and 207 are smaller than required minimum spaces, auxiliary pattern placement is not permitted and pattern geometries must be modified, and Kahng [0094] teaches case of violating minimum design rules results in practical approach of integrating auxiliary pattern construct only where spacing requirements are satisfied.
Kahng differs from the claimed invention in that it does not explicitly disclose for each of the main patterns, in response to a spacing between an edge of the main pattern and an adjacent main pattern being less than a minimum spacing allowing for addition of the auxiliary pattern, selecting an edge of the main pattern as a forbidden edge.
Meiring teaches for each of the main patterns, in response to a spacing between an edge of the main pattern and an adjacent main pattern being less than a minimum spacing allowing for addition of the auxiliary pattern, selecting an edge of the main pattern as a forbidden edge; Meiring [0054]--[0055] teach that placed PrAFs are verified against design rules and PrAFs violating minimum spacing requirements are removed when spacing between the PrAF and adjacent feature falls below required minimums, teaching selection of edges as forbidden edges in response to a spacing between an edge of the main pattern and an adjacent main pattern being less than the minimum spacing allowing for addition of the auxiliary pattern.
The motivation to combine Kahng and Meiring at the effective filing date of the invention is to enhance auxiliary pattern placement accuracy by incorporating systematic edge classification rules and optimized spacing parameters for improved optical proximity correction.
In regards to claim 2 (Kahng) shows the optical proximity correction method according to claim 1:
wherein the minimum spacing allowing for the addition of the auxiliary pattern is a sum of a minimum width of the auxiliary pattern and twice a minimum spacing between each of the main patterns and auxiliary patterns adjacent to the main pattern; Kahng [0092]--[0093] teach Type-1 auxiliary pattern placement requires maintaining minimum spacing on each side of the auxiliary pattern to adjacent main pattern features (spaces 206 and 207 corresponding to minimum gate-to-SRAF and active-to-SRAF spacing) in addition to auxiliary pattern width w1, establishing that the minimum spacing allowing for auxiliary pattern addition equals the auxiliary pattern minimum width plus twice the minimum spacing between each main pattern and auxiliary pattern adjacent to the main pattern.
sequentially adding the main auxiliary patterns to the side portions of the feasible edges of each main pattern in ascending order of the quantity of the feasible edges of the each main pattern; Kahng [0099] teaches post-placement optimization where auxiliary patterns are processed in systematic order to minimize area penalty during cell placement operations, teaching sequentially adding the main auxiliary patterns to the side portions of the feasible edges of each main pattern in ascending order of the quantity of the feasible edges of the each main pattern.
Kahng differs from the claimed invention in that it does not explicitly disclose using remaining edges other than forbidden edges as feasible edges; acquiring a quantity of the feasible edges of each main pattern; in the layout layer, adding the auxiliary patterns to side portions of the feasible edges of each main pattern, wherein the auxiliary patterns comprise main auxiliary patterns closest to the feasible edges.
Meiring teaches using remaining edges other than forbidden edges as feasible edges; Meiring [0054] teaches after violating PrAFs are removed, remaining valid edges that satisfy design rules receive proper PrAF support, teaching using remaining edges other than forbidden edges as feasible edges.
Meiring teaches acquiring a quantity of the feasible edges of each main pattern; Meiring [0054] teaches each edge of designed features is considered separately for individualized PrAF support based on proximity relationships, teaching acquiring a quantity of the feasible edges of each main pattern.
Meiring teaches in the layout layer, adding the auxiliary patterns to side portions of the feasible edges of each main pattern, wherein the auxiliary patterns comprise main auxiliary patterns closest to the feasible edges; Meiring [0054] teaches using PrAF rule table to place PrAFs for identified edges by applying defined width and placement rules on each edge requiring PrAF support, teaching adding the auxiliary patterns to side portions of the feasible edges of each main pattern in the layout layer, wherein the auxiliary patterns comprise main auxiliary patterns closest to the feasible edges.
The motivation to combine Kahng and Meiring at the effective filing date of the invention is to enhance auxiliary pattern placement accuracy by incorporating systematic edge classification rules and optimized spacing parameters for improved optical proximity correction.
In regards to claim 3 (Kahng) shows the optical proximity correction method according to claim 2:
wherein sequentially adding the main auxiliary patterns to the side portions of the feasible edges of the each main pattern comprises adding the main auxiliary patterns to the main patterns having a same quantity of feasible edges; Kahng [0097] teaches various auxiliary patterns can be constructed by combinations of different auxiliary pattern types where similar configurations are applied to patterns with equivalent spacing characteristics, teaching adding the main auxiliary patterns to the main patterns having a same quantity of feasible edges.
In regards to claim 4 (Kahng) shows the optical proximity correction method according to claim 2:
determining whether a side portion of a feasible edge of the main pattern has other adjacent feasible edges; Kahng [0094] teaches Type-2 auxiliary pattern placement considers adjacent feature relationships and determines spacing requirements between neighboring geometric elements, teaching determining whether a side portion of a feasible edge of the main pattern has other adjacent feasible edges.
in response to the feasible edge of the main pattern having an adjacent feasible edge, detecting a spacing between the feasible edge and the adjacent feasible edge; Kahng [0095] teaches Type-2 auxiliary pattern fragments are determined by required minimum spaces of gate-to-auxiliary pattern and active-to-auxiliary pattern spacing measurements, teaching detecting a spacing between the feasible edge and the adjacent feasible edge.
adding one main auxiliary pattern between the feasible edge and the adjacent feasible edge when the spacing between the feasible edge and the adjacent feasible edge is less than a first spacing; Kahng [0097] teaches various auxiliary patterns can be constructed by combinations of different auxiliary pattern types depending on available spacing characteristics, teaching adding one main auxiliary pattern between the feasible edge and the adjacent feasible edge when the spacing between the feasible edge and the adjacent feasible edge is less than a first spacing.
adding two main auxiliary patterns between the feasible edge and the adjacent feasible edge when the spacing between the feasible edge and the adjacent feasible edge is greater than or equal to the first spacing; Kahng [0097] teaches various auxiliary patterns can be constructed by combinations of different auxiliary pattern types depending on available spacing, and Kahng [0098] teaches auxiliary patterns should have prescribed spacings to each other or be completely overlapped, teaching adding two main auxiliary patterns between the feasible edge and the adjacent feasible edge when the spacing between the feasible edge and the adjacent feasible edge is greater than or equal to the first spacing.
wherein the first spacing is a sum of twice a minimum spacing between each of adjacent auxiliary patterns and the main pattern, twice the minimum width of the auxiliary pattern, and the minimum spacing between the adjacent auxiliary patterns; Kahng [0098] teaches auxiliary patterns require prescribed spacings to each other and spacing requirements include multiple spacing parameters and minimum width considerations for placement configurations, teaching the first spacing as a sum of twice a minimum spacing between each of adjacent auxiliary patterns and the main pattern, twice the minimum width of the auxiliary pattern, and the minimum spacing between the adjacent auxiliary patterns.
in response to no adjacent main patterns being present on the side portion of the feasible edge of the main pattern, adding one main auxiliary pattern on the side portion of the feasible edge; Kahng [0096] teaches Type-3 auxiliary pattern placed at center of placement site achieves enough space between gate and auxiliary pattern while maintaining minimum space rules, teaching adding one main auxiliary pattern on the side portion of the feasible edge in response to no adjacent main patterns being present on the side portion of the feasible edge of the main pattern.
In regards to claim 5 (Kahng) does not show: wherein: before adding an auxiliary pattern, the method further comprises: acquiring an optimal spacing between the main auxiliary pattern and the main pattern as a first size based on data of design of experiments (DOE), and acquiring an optimal width of the auxiliary pattern as a second size; and adding one main auxiliary pattern on the side portion of the feasible edge comprises: adding the main auxiliary pattern at a position at a distance of the first size from the feasible edge, wherein a width of the main auxiliary pattern is the second size.
Meiring teaches wherein: before adding an auxiliary pattern, the method further comprises: acquiring an optimal spacing between the main auxiliary pattern and the main pattern as a first size based on data of design of experiments (DOE), and acquiring an optimal width of the auxiliary pattern as a second size; Meiring [0046] teaches generating set of parameters which determine PrAF placement by taking into consideration existing advantages of illumination system, and Meiring [0052] teaches identified PrAF parameters are organized into tabulated form based on optimization analysis, teaching acquiring an optimal spacing between the main auxiliary pattern and the main pattern as a first size based on data of design of experiments (DOE), and acquiring an optimal width of the auxiliary pattern as a second size.
Meiring teaches adding the main auxiliary pattern at a position at a distance of the first size from the feasible edge, wherein a width of the main auxiliary pattern is the second size; Meiring [0057] teaches PrAF parameters including spacing and width measurements that are formulated with variation based on width and pitch of designed features, teaching adding the main auxiliary pattern at a position at a distance of the first size from the feasible edge, wherein a width of the main auxiliary pattern is the second size.
The motivation to combine Kahng and Meiring at the effective filing date of the invention is to enhance auxiliary pattern placement accuracy by incorporating systematic edge classification rules and optimized spacing parameters for improved optical proximity correction.
In regards to claim 6 (Kahng) shows the optical proximity correction method according to claim 4:
wherein in the step of adding the main auxiliary pattern between the feasible edge and the adjacent feasible edge, spacing between feasible edges and the main auxiliary pattern is equal to spacing between the adjacent feasible edge and the main auxiliary pattern; Kahng [0092] teaches Type-1 auxiliary pattern located at center where left width distance equals right width distance providing equal spacing on both sides, teaching that spacing between feasible edges and the main auxiliary pattern is equal to spacing between the adjacent feasible edge and the main auxiliary pattern.
In regards to claim 13 (Kahng) shows the optical proximity correction method according to claim 4:
when the spacing between the feasible edge and the adjacent feasible edge is greater than or equal to a third spacing, or when no adjacent main patterns are present on side portions of the feasible edges of the main pattern; Kahng [0098] teaches auxiliary patterns placement depends on spacing thresholds and requirements, and Kahng [0096] teaches Type-3 auxiliary pattern placement when no adjacent patterns interfere with spacing requirements.
wherein the third spacing is a sum of twice the first size, twice the second size, twice the minimum spacing between the adjacent auxiliary patterns, and the minimum width of the auxiliary pattern; Kahng [0098] teaches auxiliary patterns require prescribed spacings based on multiple spacing parameter calculations including width and spacing components for complex placement configurations, teaching the third spacing as a sum of twice the first size, twice the second size, twice the minimum spacing between the adjacent auxiliary patterns, and the minimum width of the auxiliary pattern.
Kahng differs from the claimed invention in that it does not explicitly disclose before adding an auxiliary pattern, the method further comprises: acquiring an optimal spacing between the main auxiliary pattern and the main pattern as a first size based on data of design of experiments (DOE), and acquiring an optimal width of the auxiliary pattern as a second size; after sequentially adding the main auxiliary patterns to the side portions of the feasible edges of the main pattern, adding other auxiliary patterns on a side of the main auxiliary patterns away from the feasible edges.
Meiring teaches acquiring an optimal spacing between the main auxiliary pattern and the main pattern as a first size based on data of design of experiments (DOE), and acquiring an optimal width of the auxiliary pattern as a second size; Meiring [0046] teaches generating set of parameters which determine PrAF placement by taking into consideration existing advantages of illumination system, and Meiring [0052] teaches identified PrAF parameters are organized into tabulated form based on optimization analysis, teaching acquiring an optimal spacing between the main auxiliary pattern and the main pattern as a first size based on data of design of experiments (DOE), and acquiring an optimal width of the auxiliary pattern as a second size.
Meiring teaches after sequentially adding the main auxiliary patterns to the side portions of the feasible edges of the main pattern, adding other auxiliary patterns on a side of the main auxiliary patterns away from the feasible edges; Meiring [0054] teaches systematic placement of multiple PrAF features according to rule table requirements, teaching adding other auxiliary patterns on a side of the main auxiliary patterns away from the feasible edges.
The motivation to combine Kahng and Meiring at the effective filing date of the invention is to enhance auxiliary pattern placement accuracy by incorporating systematic edge classification rules and optimized spacing parameters for improved optical proximity correction.
In regards to claim 14 (Kahng) shows the optical proximity correction method according to claim 2:
wherein in the step of adding the auxiliary patterns to the side portions of the feasible edges of the main pattern, the auxiliary patterns comprise a scattering bar (SBar); Kahng [0084] teaches auxiliary pattern features are added along with subresolution assist features known as scattering bars or SRAFs to the standard-cell layout for optical proximity correction processing.
In regards to claim 15 (Kahng) shows an optical proximity correction system, comprising:
a memory operable to store computer-readable instructions; and processor circuitry operable to read the computer-readable instructions stored in the memory; Kahng [0109] teaches computer system comprises microprocessor connected to communication bus and memory which may include Random Access Memory and Read Only Memory, teaching a memory operable to store computer-readable instructions and processor circuitry operable to read the computer-readable instructions stored in the memory.
the processor circuitry when executing the computer-readable instructions is configured to: provide a layout layer comprising main patterns; Kahng [0087] teaches existing standard-cell layout input in GDSII Stream format which contains the main pattern features that require optical proximity correction processing, providing a layout layer comprising main patterns.
set a forbidden edge rule according to a spacing between adjacent main patterns; Kahng [0092] teaches Type-1 auxiliary pattern spacing requirements where spaces 206 and 207 define minimum space requirements between main pattern features, teaching setting a forbidden edge rule according to a spacing between adjacent main patterns and acquiring the spacing between the adjacent main patterns.
add an auxiliary pattern to a side portion of the main patterns; Kahng [0084] teaches adding auxiliary pattern features including vertical and horizontal auxiliary patterns to side portions of standard-cell layouts for optical proximity correction.
wherein a quantity of the auxiliary patterns added to side portions of the main patterns is obtained based on the forbidden edge rule, the forbidden edge rule defining whether an edge of the main patterns is a forbidden edge, where an auxiliary pattern is not added to a side portion of the forbidden edge; Kahng [0092] teaches that when spaces 206 and 207 are smaller than required minimum spaces, auxiliary pattern placement is not permitted and pattern geometries must be modified, and Kahng [0094] teaches case of violating minimum design rules results in practical approach of integrating auxiliary pattern construct only where spacing requirements are satisfied.
Kahng differs from the claimed invention in that it does not explicitly disclose for each of the main patterns, in response to a spacing between an edge of the main pattern and an adjacent main pattern being less than a minimum spacing allowing for addition of the auxiliary pattern, select the edge of the main pattern as a forbidden edge.
Meiring teaches for each of the main patterns, in response to a spacing between an edge of the main pattern and an adjacent main pattern being less than a minimum spacing allowing for addition of the auxiliary pattern, select the edge of the main pattern as a forbidden edge; Meiring [0054]--[0055] teach that placed PrAFs are verified against design rules and PrAFs violating minimum spacing requirements are removed when spacing between the PrAF and adjacent feature falls below required minimums, teaching selection of edges as forbidden edges in response to a spacing between an edge of the main pattern and an adjacent main pattern being less than the minimum spacing allowing for addition of the auxiliary pattern.
The motivation to combine Kahng and Meiring at the effective filing date of the invention is to enhance auxiliary pattern placement accuracy by incorporating systematic edge classification rules and optimized spacing parameters for improved optical proximity correction.
In regards to claim 16 (Kahng) shows the optical proximity correction system according to claim 15:
wherein the minimum spacing allowing for the addition of the auxiliary pattern is a sum of a minimum width of the auxiliary pattern and twice a minimum spacing between each of the main patterns and auxiliary patterns adjacent to the main pattern; Kahng [0092]--[0093] teach Type-1 auxiliary pattern placement requires maintaining minimum spacing on each side of the auxiliary pattern to adjacent main pattern features (spaces 206 and 207 corresponding to minimum gate-to-SRAF and active-to-SRAF spacing) in addition to auxiliary pattern width w1, establishing that the minimum spacing allowing for auxiliary pattern addition equals the auxiliary pattern minimum width plus twice the minimum spacing between each main pattern and auxiliary pattern adjacent to the main pattern.
sequentially add the main auxiliary patterns to the side portions of the feasible edges of the each main pattern in ascending order of the quantity of the feasible edges of the each main pattern; Kahng [0099] teaches post-placement optimization where auxiliary patterns are processed in systematic order to minimize area penalty during cell placement operations, teaching sequentially adding the main auxiliary patterns to the side portions of the feasible edges of each main pattern in ascending order of the quantity of the feasible edges of the each main pattern.
Kahng differs from the claimed invention in that it does not explicitly disclose provide a layout layer comprising the main patterns; use remaining edges other than forbidden edges as feasible edges; acquire a quantity of the feasible edges of each main pattern; in the layout layer, add the auxiliary patterns to side portions of the feasible edges of the each main pattern, wherein the auxiliary patterns comprise main auxiliary patterns closest to the feasible edges.
Meiring teaches use remaining edges other than forbidden edges as feasible edges; Meiring [0054] teaches after violating PrAFs are removed, remaining valid edges that satisfy design rules receive proper PrAF support, teaching using remaining edges other than forbidden edges as feasible edges.
Meiring teaches acquire a quantity of the feasible edges of each main pattern; Meiring [0054] teaches each edge of designed features is considered separately for individualized PrAF support based on proximity relationships, teaching acquiring a quantity of the feasible edges of each main pattern.
Meiring teaches in the layout layer, add the auxiliary patterns to side portions of the feasible edges of the each main pattern, wherein the auxiliary patterns comprise main auxiliary patterns closest to the feasible edges; Meiring [0054] teaches using PrAF rule table to place PrAFs for identified edges by applying defined width and placement rules on each edge requiring PrAF support, teaching adding the auxiliary patterns to side portions of the feasible edges of each main pattern in the layout layer, wherein the auxiliary patterns comprise main auxiliary patterns closest to the feasible edges.
The motivation to combine Kahng and Meiring at the effective filing date of the invention is to enhance auxiliary pattern placement accuracy by incorporating systematic edge classification rules and optimized spacing parameters for improved optical proximity correction.
In regards to claim 17 (Kahng) shows:
A mask, comprising patterns obtained using the optical proximity correction method according to claim 1; Kahng [0108] teaches final cell-based optical proximity correction layout in GDSII format is generated from modified auxiliary pattern-correct placement and OPCed standard-cell layouts, teaching a mask comprising patterns obtained using the optical proximity correction method.
In regards to claim 18 (Kahng) shows a non-transitory machine-readable media, having instructions stored on the machine readable media, the instructions configured to, when executed, cause a machine to:
provide main patterns; Kahng [0087] teaches existing standard-cell layout input in GDSII Stream format which contains the main pattern features that require optical proximity correction processing, providing a layout layer comprising main patterns.
set a forbidden edge rule according to a spacing between adjacent main patterns; Kahng [0092] teaches Type-1 auxiliary pattern spacing requirements where spaces 206 and 207 define minimum space requirements between main pattern features, teaching setting a forbidden edge rule according to a spacing between adjacent main patterns and acquiring the spacing between the adjacent main patterns.
Kahng differs from the claimed invention in that it does not explicitly disclose for each of the main patterns, in response to a spacing between an edge of the main pattern and an adjacent main pattern being less than a minimum spacing allowing for addition of the auxiliary pattern, select the edge of the main pattern as a forbidden edge.
Meiring teaches for each of the main patterns, in response to a spacing between an edge of the main pattern and an adjacent main pattern being less than a minimum spacing allowing for addition of the auxiliary pattern, select the edge of the main pattern as a forbidden edge; Meiring [0054]--[0055] teach that placed PrAFs are verified against design rules and PrAFs violating minimum spacing requirements are removed when spacing between the PrAF and adjacent feature falls below required minimums, teaching selection of edges as forbidden edges in response to a spacing between an edge of the main pattern and an adjacent main pattern being less than the minimum spacing allowing for addition of the auxiliary pattern.
add an auxiliary pattern to a side portion of the main patterns, wherein a quantity of the auxiliary patterns added to side portions of the main patterns is obtained based on the forbidden edge rule, the forbidden edge rule defining whether an edge of the main patterns is a forbidden edge, where an auxiliary pattern is not added to a side portion of the forbidden edge; Kahng [0092] teaches that when spaces 206 and 207 are smaller than required minimum spaces, auxiliary pattern placement is not permitted and pattern geometries must be modified, and Kahng [0094] teaches case of violating minimum design rules results in practical approach of integrating auxiliary pattern construct only where spacing requirements are satisfied.
The motivation to combine Kahng and Meiring at the effective filing date of the invention is to enhance auxiliary pattern placement accuracy by incorporating systematic edge classification rules and optimized spacing parameters for improved optical proximity correction.
Claims 7, 8, 9, 10, 11, and 12 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over US20080066041A1 (Kahng) in view of US20100175040A1 (Meiring) as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of US20120154773A1 (Beyer).
In regards to claim 7 (Kahng) shows the optical proximity correction method according to claim 4:
adding one main auxiliary pattern between the feasible edge and the adjacent feasible edge comprises: adding one main auxiliary pattern between the feasible edge and the adjacent feasible edge, wherein a distance between the main auxiliary pattern and the feasible edge is equal to a distance between the main auxiliary pattern and the adjacent feasible edge; Kahng [0092] teaches Type-1 auxiliary pattern located at center where left width distance equals right width distance providing equal spacing on both sides, teaching that spacing between feasible edges and the main auxiliary pattern is equal to spacing between the adjacent feasible edge and the main auxiliary pattern.
Kahng differs from the claimed invention in that it does not explicitly disclose before adding an auxiliary pattern, the method further comprises: acquiring an optimal spacing between the main auxiliary pattern and the main pattern as a first size based on data of design of experiments (DOE), and acquiring an optimal width of the auxiliary pattern as a second size; a width of the main auxiliary pattern is the second size; acquiring a distance between the main auxiliary pattern and the adjacent feasible edge as a first distance; determining whether the first distance is greater than or equal to the minimum spacing between each of the main patterns and auxiliary patterns adjacent to the main pattern; in response to the first distance being less than the minimum spacing, decreasing the width of the main auxiliary pattern and performing the step of acquiring the distance; in response to the first distance being greater than or equal to the minimum spacing, adding one main auxiliary pattern between the feasible edge and the adjacent feasible edge.
Meiring teaches before adding an auxiliary pattern, the method further comprises: acquiring an optimal spacing between the main auxiliary pattern and the main pattern as a first size based on data of design of experiments (DOE), and acquiring an optimal width of the auxiliary pattern as a second size; Meiring [0046] teaches generating set of parameters which determine PrAF placement by taking into consideration existing advantages of illumination system, and Meiring [0052] teaches identified PrAF parameters are organized into tabulated form based on optimization analysis, teaching acquiring an optimal spacing between the main auxiliary pattern and the main pattern as a first size based on data of design of experiments (DOE), and acquiring an optimal width of the auxiliary pattern as a second size.
Meiring differs from the claimed invention in that it does not explicitly disclose acquiring a distance between the main auxiliary pattern and the adjacent feasible edge as a first distance; determining whether the first distance is greater than or equal to the minimum spacing between each of the main patterns and auxiliary patterns adjacent to the main pattern; in response to the first distance being less than the minimum spacing, decreasing the width of the main auxiliary pattern and performing the step of acquiring the distance; in response to the first distance being greater than or equal to the minimum spacing, adding one main auxiliary pattern between the feasible edge and the adjacent feasible edge.
Beyer teaches acquiring a distance between the main auxiliary pattern and the adjacent feasible edge as a first distance; Beyer [0078] teaches overlay errors are analyzed based on measured displacement vectors to determine arrangement of corrections for pattern elements, teaching acquiring a distance between the main auxiliary pattern and the adjacent feasible edge as a first distance.
Beyer teaches determining whether the first distance is greater than or equal to the minimum spacing between each of the main patterns and auxiliary patterns adjacent to the main pattern; Beyer [0080] teaches corrected elements are verified against predetermined specifications before final implementation, teaching determining whether the first distance is greater than or equal to the minimum spacing between each of the main patterns and auxiliary patterns adjacent to the main pattern.
Beyer teaches in response to the first distance being less than the minimum spacing between each of the main patterns and auxiliary patterns adjacent to the main pattern, decreasing the width of the main auxiliary pattern and performing the step of acquiring the distance between the main auxiliary pattern and the adjacent feasible edge; Beyer [0078] teaches pattern elements are shifted and modified through systematic adjustment process, and Beyer [0080] teaches iterative parameter adjustment until predetermined specifications are achieved, teaching decreasing the width of the main auxiliary pattern and performing the step of acquiring the distance between the main auxiliary pattern and the adjacent feasible edge.
Beyer teaches in response to the first distance being greater than or equal to the minimum spacing between each of the main patterns and auxiliary patterns adjacent to the main pattern, adding one main auxiliary pattern between the feasible edge and the adjacent feasible edge; Beyer [0080] teaches when corrected elements meet predetermined specifications, final implementation proceeds, teaching the response to the first distance being greater than or equal to the minimum spacing between each of the main patterns and auxiliary patterns adjacent to the main pattern.
The motivation to combine Kahng and Meiring at the effective filing date of the invention is to enhance auxiliary pattern placement accuracy by incorporating systematic edge classification rules and optimized spacing parameters for improved optical proximity correction.
The motivation to combine Kahng, Meiring, and Beyer at the effective filing date of the invention is to provide iterative parameter adjustment capabilities for precise auxiliary pattern width and spacing control in optical proximity correction applications.
In regards to claim 8 (Kahng modified by Meiring) does not show: wherein decreasing the width of the main auxiliary pattern comprises incrementally decreasing the width of the main auxiliary pattern by a first preset size.
Beyer teaches wherein decreasing the width of the main auxiliary pattern comprises incrementally decreasing the width of the main auxiliary pattern by a first preset size; Beyer [0078] teaches systematic adjustment process for pattern elements with controlled parameter modifications, teaching incrementally decreasing the width of the main auxiliary pattern by a first preset size.
The motivation to combine Kahng and Meiring at the effective filing date of the invention is to enhance auxiliary pattern placement accuracy by incorporating systematic edge classification rules and optimized spacing parameters for improved optical proximity correction.
The motivation to combine Kahng, Meiring, and Beyer at the effective filing date of the invention is to provide iterative parameter adjustment capabilities for precise auxiliary pattern width and spacing control in optical proximity correction applications.
In regards to claim 9 (Kahng modified by Meiring) does not show: wherein the first preset size ranges from 0.2 nm to 2 nm.
Beyer teaches wherein the first preset size ranges from 0.2 nm to 2 nm; Beyer [0061] teaches laser parameters with specific numerical ranges for precision pattern modifications, teaching the first preset size ranges from 0.2 nm to 2 nm.
The motivation to combine Kahng and Meiring at the effective filing date of the invention is to enhance auxiliary pattern placement accuracy by incorporating systematic edge classification rules and optimized spacing parameters for improved optical proximity correction.
The motivation to combine Kahng, Meiring, and Beyer at the effective filing date of the invention is to provide iterative parameter adjustment capabilities for precise auxiliary pattern width and spacing control in optical proximity correction applications.
In regards to claim 10 (Kahng) shows the optical proximity correction method according to claim 4:
adding two main auxiliary patterns between the feasible edge and the adjacent feasible edge comprises: determining whether the spacing between the feasible edge and the adjacent feasible edge is less than a second spacing; Kahng [0097] teaches various auxiliary patterns can be constructed by combinations of different auxiliary pattern types depending on available spacing characteristics, teaching determining whether the spacing between the feasible edge and the adjacent feasible edge is less than a second spacing.
wherein the second spacing is a sum of twice the first size, twice the second size, and the minimum spacing between the adjacent auxiliary patterns; Kahng [0098] teaches auxiliary patterns require prescribed spacings to each other and spacing requirements include multiple spacing parameters and minimum width considerations for placement configurations, teaching the second spacing as a sum of twice the first size, twice the second size, and the minimum spacing between the adjacent auxiliary patterns.
adding one main auxiliary pattern on each of two sides of a center line of the spacing between the feasible edge and the adjacent feasible edge when the spacing between the feasible edge and the adjacent feasible edge is less than the second spacing, wherein a spacing between the two main auxiliary patterns is the minimum spacing between the adjacent auxiliary patterns, distances between the two main auxiliary patterns and the center line are equal; Kahng [0092] teaches Type-1 auxiliary pattern located at center where left width distance equals right width distance providing equal spacing on both sides, teaching adding one main auxiliary pattern on each of two sides of a center line such that the distances between the two main auxiliary patterns and the center line are equal.
in response to the spacing between the feasible edge and the adjacent feasible edge being greater than or equal to the second spacing, adding the main auxiliary pattern adjacent to a corresponding feasible edge at a position at a distance of the first size from any of the feasible edges; Kahng [0096] teaches Type-3 auxiliary pattern placed at center of placement site achieves enough space between gate and auxiliary pattern while maintaining minimum space rules, teaching adding the main auxiliary pattern adjacent to a corresponding feasible edge at a position at a distance of the first size from any of the feasible edges in response to the spacing between the feasible edge and the adjacent feasible edge being greater than or equal to the second spacing.
Kahng differs from the claimed invention in that it does not explicitly disclose before adding an auxiliary pattern, the method further comprises: acquiring an optimal spacing between the main auxiliary pattern and the main pattern as a first size based on data of design of experiments (DOE), and acquiring an optimal width of the auxiliary pattern as a second size; the width of the main auxiliary pattern is the second size; acquiring a distance between the main auxiliary pattern and the feasible edge and a distance between the main auxiliary pattern and the adjacent feasible edge as second distances; determining whether the second distances are greater than or equal to the minimum spacing between each of the main patterns and auxiliary patterns adjacent to the main pattern; decreasing widths of the two main auxiliary patterns when the second distances are both less than the minimum spacing, and performing the step of acquiring the second distances; in response to the second distances being greater than or equal to the minimum spacing, performing the step of adding two main auxiliary patterns between the feasible edge and the adjacent feasible edge.
Meiring teaches before adding an auxiliary pattern, the method further comprises: acquiring an optimal spacing between the main auxiliary pattern and the main pattern as a first size based on data of design of experiments (DOE), and acquiring an optimal width of the auxiliary pattern as a second size; the width of the main auxiliary pattern is the second size; Meiring [0046] teaches generating set of parameters which determine PrAF placement by taking into consideration existing advantages of illumination system, and Meiring [0052] teaches identified PrAF parameters are organized into tabulated form based on optimization analysis, teaching acquiring an optimal spacing between the main auxiliary pattern and the main pattern as a first size based on data of design of experiments (DOE), and acquiring an optimal width of the auxiliary pattern as a second size.
Meiring differs from the claimed invention in that it does not explicitly disclose acquiring a distance between the main auxiliary pattern and the feasible edge and a distance between the main auxiliary pattern and the adjacent feasible edge as second distances; determining whether the second distances are greater than or equal to the minimum spacing between each of the main patterns and auxiliary patterns adjacent to the main pattern; decreasing widths of the two main auxiliary patterns when the second distances are both less than the minimum spacing, and performing the step of acquiring the second distances; in response to the second distances being greater than or equal to the minimum spacing, performing the step of adding two main auxiliary patterns between the feasible edge and the adjacent feasible edge.
Beyer teaches acquiring a distance between the main auxiliary pattern and the feasible edge and a distance between the main auxiliary pattern and the adjacent feasible edge as second distances; Beyer [0078] teaches overlay errors are analyzed based on measured displacement vectors to determine distances for pattern corrections, teaching acquiring a distance between the main auxiliary pattern and the feasible edge and a distance between the main auxiliary pattern and the adjacent feasible edge as second distances.
Beyer teaches determining whether the second distances are greater than or equal to the minimum spacing between each of the main patterns and auxiliary patterns adjacent to the main pattern; Beyer [0080] teaches corrected elements are verified against predetermined spacing specifications, teaching determining whether the second distances are greater than or equal to the minimum spacing between each of the main patterns and auxiliary patterns adjacent to the main pattern.
Beyer teaches decreasing widths of the two main auxiliary patterns when the second distances are both less than the minimum spacing between each of the main patterns and auxiliary patterns adjacent to the main pattern, and performing the step of acquiring the second distances, and in response to the second distances being greater than or equal to the minimum spacing, performing the step of adding two main auxiliary patterns between the feasible edge and the adjacent feasible edge; Beyer [0078] teaches pattern elements are modified through systematic adjustment when spacing requirements are not met, and Beyer [0080] teaches verification process is repeated after corrections, teaching decreasing widths of the two main auxiliary patterns when the second distances are both less than the minimum spacing between each of the main patterns and auxiliary patterns adjacent to the main pattern, performing the step of acquiring the second distances, and in response to the second distances being greater than or equal to the minimum spacing, performing the step of adding two main auxiliary patterns between the feasible edge and the adjacent feasible edge.
The motivation to combine Kahng and Meiring at the effective filing date of the invention is to enhance auxiliary pattern placement accuracy by incorporating systematic edge classification rules and optimized spacing parameters for improved optical proximity correction.
The motivation to combine Kahng, Meiring, and Beyer at the effective filing date of the invention is to provide iterative parameter adjustment capabilities for precise auxiliary pattern width and spacing control in optical proximity correction applications.
In regards to claim 11 (Kahng modified by Meiring) does not show: wherein decreasing the widths of the two main auxiliary patterns comprises incrementally decreasing the widths of the two main auxiliary patterns by a second preset size.
Beyer teaches wherein decreasing the widths of the two main auxiliary patterns comprises incrementally decreasing the widths of the two main auxiliary patterns by a second preset size; Beyer [0078] teaches systematic adjustment process for multiple pattern elements with controlled parameter modifications, teaching incrementally decreasing the widths of the two main auxiliary patterns by a second preset size.
The motivation to combine Kahng and Meiring at the effective filing date of the invention is to enhance auxiliary pattern placement accuracy by incorporating systematic edge classification rules and optimized spacing parameters for improved optical proximity correction.
The motivation to combine Kahng, Meiring, and Beyer at the effective filing date of the invention is to provide iterative parameter adjustment capabilities for precise auxiliary pattern width and spacing control in optical proximity correction applications.
In regards to claim 12 (Kahng modified by Meiring) does not show: wherein the second preset size ranges from 0.2 nm to 2 nm.
Beyer teaches wherein the second preset size ranges from 0.2 nm to 2 nm; Beyer [0061] teaches laser parameters with specific numerical ranges for precision pattern modifications, teaching the second preset size ranges from 0.2 nm to 2 nm.
The motivation to combine Kahng and Meiring at the effective filing date of the invention is to enhance auxiliary pattern placement accuracy by incorporating systematic edge classification rules and optimized spacing parameters for improved optical proximity correction.
The motivation to combine Kahng, Meiring, and Beyer at the effective filing date of the invention is to provide iterative parameter adjustment capabilities for precise auxiliary pattern width and spacing control in optical proximity correction applications.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed on May 5, 2026 have been fully considered but are not persuasive for the reasons set forth below.
Regarding claims 1, 15, and 18, Applicant argues that Meiring fails to teach selecting an edge of the main pattern as a forbidden edge in response to the spacing between an edge of the main pattern and an adjacent main pattern being less than a minimum spacing allowing for addition of the auxiliary pattern, because Meiring's PrAFs are the auxiliary patterns rather than the edges of the main patterns. The Examiner respectfully disagrees. Meiring [0054]--[0055] teach a clean-up step where placed PrAFs are verified against design rules and are removed when the spacing between the PrAF and an adjacent designed feature falls below the required minimum. Regardless of how the PrAF is characterized, the functional result taught by Meiring is that certain edges of the designed features do not receive auxiliary pattern support because any placed PrAF is removed when the spacing is less than the minimum required, which corresponds to selecting an edge of the main pattern as a forbidden edge in response to the spacing being less than the minimum spacing allowing for addition of the auxiliary pattern. The rejection is accordingly maintained.
Regarding claim 2, Applicant argues that Kahng [0098] discusses spacing between auxiliary patterns rather than the minimum spacing allowing for addition of the auxiliary pattern, and that Kahng fails to teach the recited sum formula. The Examiner respectfully disagrees. Kahng [0092]--[0093] teach that Type-1 auxiliary pattern placement requires maintaining minimum spacing between the auxiliary pattern and the adjacent main pattern features on each side (spaces 206 and 207, corresponding to minimum gate-to-SRAF and active-to-SRAF spacing) in addition to the auxiliary pattern width w1. These parameters collectively establish that the minimum spacing allowable for auxiliary pattern addition is the sum of the auxiliary pattern minimum width plus twice the minimum spacing between each main pattern and auxiliary pattern, which is the formula recited in claim 2. The rejection is accordingly maintained.
The rejections of all pending claims are maintained for at least the reasons set forth above.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/ANWER AHMED ALAWDI/Examiner, Art Unit 2851
/JACK CHIANG/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2851