Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1, 15, 17, and 18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Kahng et al. (United States Patent Application Publication US20080066041A1), hereinafter referenced as Kahng.
In regards to claim 1 (Kahng) shows an optical proximity correction method, comprising:
providing main patterns; Kahng [0087] teaches existing standard-cell layout input in GDSII Stream format which contains the main pattern features that require optical proximity correction processing.
setting a forbidden edge rule according to a spacing between adjacent main patterns; Kahng [0092] teaches Type-1 auxiliary pattern spacing requirements where spaces 206 and 207 define minimum space requirements between main pattern features, and Kahng [0094] teaches when spacing violations occur between main pattern and adjacent main pattern being less than minimum spacing, auxiliary pattern placement is restricted and alternative Type-2 auxiliary pattern approach is required.
adding an auxiliary pattern to a side portion of the main patterns; Kahng [0084] teaches adding auxiliary pattern features including vertical and horizontal auxiliary patterns to side portions of standard-cell layouts for optical proximity correction.
wherein a quantity of auxiliary patterns added to side portions of the main patterns is obtained based on the forbidden edge rule; Kahng [0094] teaches Type-2 auxiliary pattern approach where auxiliary pattern placement and quantity is determined by minimum design rule violations, and Kahng [0095] teaches Type-2 auxiliary pattern increases area penalty during cell placement due to required auxiliary pattern-to-auxiliary pattern spacing constraints.
the forbidden edge rule defining whether an edge of the main patterns is a forbidden edge, where an auxiliary pattern is not added to a side portion of the forbidden edge; Kahng [0092] teaches that when spaces 206 and 207 are smaller than required minimum spaces, auxiliary pattern placement is not permitted and pattern geometries must be modified, and Kahng [0094] teaches case of violating minimum design rules results in practical approach of integrating auxiliary pattern construct only where spacing requirements are satisfied.
In regards to claim 15 (Kahng) shows an optical proximity correction system, comprising:
a memory operable to store computer-readable instructions; and processor circuitry operable to read the computer-readable instructions stored in the memory; Kahng [0109] teaches computer system comprises microprocessor connected to communication bus and memory which may include Random Access Memory and Read Only Memory.
the processor circuitry when executing the computer-readable instructions is configured to: provide main patterns; Kahng [0087] teaches existing standard-cell layout input in GDSII Stream format which contains the main pattern features that require optical proximity correction processing.
set a forbidden edge rule according to a spacing between adjacent main patterns; Kahng [0092] teaches Type-1 auxiliary pattern spacing requirements where spaces 206 and 207 define minimum space requirements between main pattern features, and Kahng [0094] teaches when spacing violations occur between main pattern and adjacent main pattern being less than minimum spacing, auxiliary pattern placement is restricted and alternative Type-2 auxiliary pattern approach is required.
add an auxiliary pattern to a side portion of the main patterns; Kahng [0084] teaches adding auxiliary pattern features including vertical and horizontal auxiliary patterns to side portions of standard-cell layouts for optical proximity correction.
wherein a quantity of the auxiliary patterns added to side portions of the main patterns is obtained based on the forbidden edge rule; Kahng [0094] teaches Type-2 auxiliary pattern approach where auxiliary pattern placement and quantity is determined by minimum design rule violations.
the forbidden edge rule defining whether an edge of the main patterns is a forbidden edge, where an auxiliary pattern is not added to a side portion of the forbidden edge; Kahng [0092] teaches that when spaces 206 and 207 are smaller than required minimum spaces, auxiliary pattern placement is not permitted and pattern geometries must be modified, and Kahng [0094] teaches case of violating minimum design rules results in practical approach of integrating auxiliary pattern construct only where spacing requirements are satisfied.
In regards to claim 17 (Kahng) shows:
A mask, comprising patterns obtained using the optical proximity correction method according to claim 1; Kahng [0108] teaches final cell-based optical proximity correction layout in GDSII format is generated from modified auxiliary pattern-correct placement and OPCed standard-cell layouts.
In regards to claim 18 (Kahng) shows:
A non-transitory machine-readable media, having instructions stored on the machine readable media, the instructions configured to, when executed, cause a machine to: provide main patterns; Kahng [0087] teaches existing standard-cell layout input processed by computer system executing instructions for optical proximity correction.
set a forbidden edge rule according to a spacing between adjacent main patterns; Kahng [0092] teaches Type-1 auxiliary pattern spacing requirements where spaces 206 and 207 define minimum space requirements between main pattern features, and Kahng [0094] teaches when spacing violations occur between main pattern and adjacent main pattern being less than minimum spacing, auxiliary pattern placement is restricted and alternative Type-2 auxiliary pattern approach is required.
add an auxiliary pattern to a side portion of the main patterns; Kahng [0084] teaches adding auxiliary pattern features including vertical and horizontal auxiliary patterns to side portions of standard-cell layouts for optical proximity correction.
wherein a quantity of the auxiliary patterns added to side portions of the main patterns is obtained based on the forbidden edge rule; Kahng [0094] teaches Type-2 auxiliary pattern approach where auxiliary pattern placement and quantity is determined by minimum design rule violations and spacing constraints.
the forbidden edge rule defining whether an edge of the main patterns is a forbidden edge, where an auxiliary pattern is not added to a side portion of the forbidden edge; Kahng [0092] teaches that when spaces 206 and 207 are smaller than required minimum spaces, auxiliary pattern placement is not permitted and pattern geometries must be modified, and Kahng [0094] teaches case of violating minimum design rules results in practical approach of integrating auxiliary pattern construct only where spacing requirements are satisfied.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 2 – 6, 13, 14, and 16 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over US20080066041A1 (Kahng) in view of US20100175040A1 (Meiring).
In regards to claim 2 (Kahng) shows the optical proximity correction method according to claim 1:
wherein the minimum spacing allowing for the addition of the auxiliary pattern is a sum of a minimum width of the auxiliary pattern and twice a minimum spacing between each of the main patterns and auxiliary patterns adjacent to the main pattern; Kahng [0098] teaches auxiliary patterns should have prescribed spacings where minimum spacing calculations include auxiliary pattern width plus spacing requirements to adjacent features.
sequentially adding the main auxiliary patterns to the side portions of the feasible edges of each main pattern in ascending order of the quantity of the feasible edges of the each main pattern; Kahng [0099] teaches post-placement optimization where auxiliary patterns are processed in systematic order to minimize area penalty during cell placement operations.
Kahng differs from the claimed invention in that it does not explicitly disclose wherein: providing the main patterns comprises providing a layout layer comprising the main patterns; setting the forbidden edge rule comprises: acquiring the spacing between the adjacent main patterns; for each of the main patterns, in response to a spacing between an edge of the main pattern and an adjacent main pattern being less than a minimum spacing allowing for addition of the auxiliary pattern, selecting an edge of the main pattern as a forbidden edge; using remaining edges other than forbidden edges as feasible edges; the method further comprises: acquiring a quantity of the feasible edges of each main pattern; the adding the auxiliary pattern to the side portion of the main patterns comprises: in the layout layer, adding the auxiliary patterns to side portions of the feasible edges of each main pattern; wherein the auxiliary patterns comprise main auxiliary patterns closest to the feasible edges;
Meiring teaches wherein: providing the main patterns comprises providing a layout layer comprising the main patterns; Meiring [0045] teaches creating design layout containing designed features whose printing placement may need adjustment in the layout layer.
Meiring teaches setting the forbidden edge rule comprises: acquiring the spacing between the adjacent main patterns; Meiring [0054] teaches identifying edges of designed features in the design layout which require PrAF support based upon PrAF placement rules that consider spacing between adjacent features.
Meiring teaches for each of the main patterns, in response to a spacing between an edge of the main pattern and an adjacent main pattern being less than a minimum spacing allowing for addition of the auxiliary pattern, selecting an edge of the main pattern as a forbidden edge; Meiring [0054] teaches clean-up step where placed PrAFs are verified against design rules and violating PrAFs are removed when spacing requirements are not met, and Meiring [0055] teaches violating PrAFs that are too close to designed features are removed or modified to ensure rule compliance.
Meiring teaches using remaining edges other than forbidden edges as feasible edges; Meiring [0054] teaches after violating PrAFs are removed, remaining valid edges that satisfy design rules receive proper PrAF support.
Meiring teaches the method further comprises: acquiring a quantity of the feasible edges of each main pattern; Meiring [0054] teaches each edge of designed features is considered separately for individualized support based on proximity relationships.
Meiring teaches the adding the auxiliary pattern to the side portion of the main patterns comprises: in the layout layer, adding the auxiliary patterns to side portions of the feasible edges of each main pattern; Meiring [0054] teaches using PrAF rule table to place PrAFs for identified edges by applying defined width and placement rules on each edge requiring PrAF support.
Meiring teaches wherein the auxiliary patterns comprise main auxiliary patterns closest to the feasible edges; Meiring [0054] teaches using PrAF rule table to place PrAFs for identified edges by applying defined width and placement rules on each edge requiring PrAF support.
The motivation to combine Kahng and Meiring at the effective filing date of the invention is to enhance auxiliary pattern placement accuracy by incorporating systematic edge classification rules and optimized spacing parameters for improved optical proximity correction.
In regards to claim 3 (Kahng) shows the optical proximity correction method according to claim 2:
wherein sequentially adding the main auxiliary patterns to the side portions of the feasible edges of the each main pattern comprises adding the main auxiliary patterns to the main patterns having a same quantity of feasible edges; Kahng [0097] teaches various auxiliary patterns can be constructed by combinations of different auxiliary pattern types where similar configurations are applied to patterns with equivalent spacing characteristics.
In regards to claim 4 (Kahng) shows the optical proximity correction method according to claim 2:
wherein sequentially adding the main auxiliary patterns to the side portions of the feasible edges of the main pattern comprises: determining whether a side portion of a feasible edge of the main pattern has other adjacent feasible edges; Kahng [0094] teaches Type-2 auxiliary pattern placement considers adjacent feature relationships and determines spacing requirements between neighboring geometric elements.
in response to the feasible edge of the main pattern having an adjacent feasible edge, detecting a spacing between the feasible edge and the adjacent feasible edge; Kahng [0095] teaches Type-2 auxiliary pattern fragments are determined by required minimum spaces of gate-to-auxiliary pattern and active-to-auxiliary pattern spacing measurements.
adding one main auxiliary pattern between the feasible edge and the adjacent feasible edge when the spacing between the feasible edge and the adjacent feasible edge is less than a first spacing; Kahng [0097] teaches various auxiliary patterns can be constructed by combinations of different auxiliary pattern types depending on available spacing characteristics.
adding two main auxiliary patterns between the feasible edge and the adjacent feasible edge when the spacing between the feasible edge and the adjacent feasible edge is greater than or equal to the first spacing; Kahng [0097] teaches various auxiliary patterns can be constructed by combinations of different auxiliary pattern types depending on available spacing, and Kahng [0098] teaches auxiliary patterns should have prescribed spacings to each other or be completely overlapped.
wherein the first spacing is a sum of twice a minimum spacing between each of adjacent auxiliary patterns and the main pattern, twice the minimum width of the auxiliary pattern, and the minimum spacing between the adjacent auxiliary patterns; Kahng [0098] teaches auxiliary patterns require prescribed spacings to each other and spacing requirements include multiple spacing parameters and minimum width considerations for placement configurations.
in response to no adjacent main patterns being present on the side portion of the feasible edge of the main pattern, adding one main auxiliary pattern on the side portion of the feasible edge; Kahng [0096] teaches Type-3 auxiliary pattern placed at center of placement site achieves enough space between gate and auxiliary pattern while maintaining minimum space rules.
In regards to claim 5 (Kahng) does not show: wherein: before adding an auxiliary pattern, the method further comprises: acquiring an optimal spacing between the main auxiliary pattern and the main pattern as a first size based on data of design of experiments (DOE), and acquiring an optimal width of the auxiliary pattern as a second size; and adding one main auxiliary pattern on the side portion of the feasible edge comprises: adding the main auxiliary pattern at a position at a distance of the first size from the feasible edge, wherein a width of the main auxiliary pattern is the second size.
Meiring teaches wherein: before adding an auxiliary pattern, the method further comprises: acquiring an optimal spacing between the main auxiliary pattern and the main pattern as a first size based on data of design of experiments (DOE), and acquiring an optimal width of the auxiliary pattern as a second size; Meiring [0046] teaches generating set of parameters which determine PrAF placement by taking into consideration existing advantages of illumination system, and Meiring [0052] teaches identified PrAF parameters are organized into tabulated form based on optimization analysis.
Meiring teaches adding one main auxiliary pattern on the side portion of the feasible edge comprises: adding the main auxiliary pattern at a position at a distance of the first size from the feasible edge, wherein a width of the main auxiliary pattern is the second size; Meiring [0057] teaches PrAF parameters including spacing and width measurements that are formulated with variation based on width and pitch of designed features.
The motivation to combine Kahng and Meiring at the effective filing date of the invention is to enhance auxiliary pattern placement accuracy by incorporating systematic edge classification rules and optimized spacing parameters for improved optical proximity correction.
In regards to claim 6 (Kahng) shows the optical proximity correction method according to claim 4:
wherein in the step of adding the main auxiliary pattern between the feasible edge and the adjacent feasible edge; Kahng [0097] teaches various auxiliary patterns can be constructed by combinations of different auxiliary pattern types with specific placement requirements.
spacing between feasible edges and the main auxiliary pattern is equal to spacing between the adjacent feasible edge and the main auxiliary pattern; Kahng [0092] teaches Type-1 auxiliary pattern located at center where left width distance equals right width distance providing equal spacing on both sides.
In regards to claim 13 (Kahng) shows the optical proximity correction method according to claim 4:
when the spacing between the feasible edge and the adjacent feasible edge is greater than or equal to a third spacing; Kahng [0098] teaches auxiliary patterns placement depends on spacing thresholds and requirements.
when no adjacent main patterns are present on side portions of the feasible edges of the main pattern, the adding the auxiliary patterns to the side portions of the feasible edges of the main pattern further comprises: Kahng [0096] teaches Type-3 auxiliary pattern placement when no adjacent patterns interfere with spacing requirements.
wherein the third spacing is a sum of twice the first size, twice the second size, twice the minimum spacing between the adjacent auxiliary patterns, and the minimum width of the auxiliary pattern; Kahng [0098] teaches auxiliary patterns require prescribed spacings based on multiple spacing parameter calculations including width and spacing components for complex placement configurations.
Kahng differs from the claimed invention in that it does not explicitly disclose wherein: before adding an auxiliary pattern, the method further comprises: acquiring an optimal spacing between the main auxiliary pattern and the main pattern as a first size based on data of design of experiments (DOE), and acquiring an optimal width of the auxiliary pattern as a second size; after sequentially adding the main auxiliary patterns to the side portions of the feasible edges of the main pattern, adding other auxiliary patterns on a side of the main auxiliary patterns away from the feasible edges;
Meiring teaches wherein: before adding an auxiliary pattern, the method further comprises: acquiring an optimal spacing between the main auxiliary pattern and the main pattern as a first size based on data of design of experiments (DOE), and acquiring an optimal width of the auxiliary pattern as a second size; Meiring [0046] teaches generating set of parameters which determine PrAF placement by taking into consideration existing advantages of illumination system, and Meiring [0052] teaches identified PrAF parameters are organized into tabulated form based on optimization analysis.
Meiring teaches after sequentially adding the main auxiliary patterns to the side portions of the feasible edges of the main pattern, adding other auxiliary patterns on a side of the main auxiliary patterns away from the feasible edges; Meiring [0054] teaches systematic placement of multiple PrAF features according to rule table requirements.
The motivation to combine Kahng and Meiring at the effective filing date of the invention is to enhance auxiliary pattern placement accuracy by incorporating systematic edge classification rules and optimized spacing parameters for improved optical proximity correction.
In regards to claim 14 (Kahng) shows the optical proximity correction method according to claim 2:
wherein in the step of adding the auxiliary patterns to the side portions of the feasible edges of the main pattern, the auxiliary patterns comprise a scattering bar (SBar); Kahng [0084] teaches auxiliary pattern features are added along with subresolution assist features known as scattering bars or SRAFs to the standard-cell layout for optical proximity correction processing.
In regards to claim 16 (Kahng) shows the optical proximity correction system according to claim 15:
wherein the minimum spacing allowing for the addition of the auxiliary pattern is a sum of a minimum width of the auxiliary pattern and twice a minimum spacing between each of the main patterns and auxiliary patterns adjacent to the main pattern; Kahng [0098] teaches auxiliary patterns should have prescribed spacings where minimum spacing calculations include auxiliary pattern width plus spacing requirements to adjacent features.
sequentially add the main auxiliary patterns to the side portions of the feasible edges of the each main pattern in ascending order of the quantity of the feasible edges of the each main pattern; Kahng [0099] teaches post-placement optimization where auxiliary patterns are processed in systematic order to minimize area penalty during cell placement operations.
Kahng differs from the claimed invention in that it does not explicitly disclose wherein the processor circuitry is further configured to: provide a layout layer comprising the main patterns; for each of the main patterns, in response to a spacing between an edge of the main pattern and an adjacent main pattern being less than a minimum spacing allowing for addition of the auxiliary pattern, select the edge of the main pattern as a forbidden edge; use remaining edges other than forbidden edges as feasible edges; in the layout layer, add the auxiliary patterns to side portions of the feasible edges of the each main pattern; wherein the auxiliary patterns comprise main auxiliary patterns closest to the feasible edges;
Meiring teaches wherein the processor circuitry is further configured to: provide a layout layer comprising the main patterns; Meiring [0045] teaches creating design layout containing designed features whose printing placement may need adjustment in the layout layer.
Meiring teaches for each of the main patterns, in response to a spacing between an edge of the main pattern and an adjacent main pattern being less than a minimum spacing allowing for addition of the auxiliary pattern, select the edge of the main pattern as a forbidden edge; Meiring [0054] teaches clean-up step where placed PrAFs are verified against design rules and violating PrAFs are removed when spacing requirements are not met.
Meiring teaches use remaining edges other than forbidden edges as feasible edges; Meiring [0054] teaches after violating PrAFs are removed, remaining valid edges that satisfy design rules receive proper PrAF support.
Meiring teaches acquire a quantity of the feasible edges of each main pattern; Meiring [0054] teaches each edge of designed features is considered separately for individualized support based on proximity relationships.
Meiring teaches in the layout layer, add the auxiliary patterns to side portions of the feasible edges of the each main pattern; Meiring [0054] teaches using PrAF rule table to place PrAFs for identified edges by applying defined width and placement rules.
Meiring teaches wherein the auxiliary patterns comprise main auxiliary patterns closest to the feasible edges; Meiring [0054] teaches using PrAF rule table to place PrAFs for identified edges by applying defined width and placement rules on each edge requiring PrAF support.
The motivation to combine Kahng and Meiring at the effective filing date of the invention is to enhance auxiliary pattern placement accuracy by incorporating systematic edge classification rules and optimized spacing parameters for improved optical proximity correction.
Claims 7 – 12 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over US20080066041A1 (Kahng) in view of US20100175040A1 (Meiring) and in view of US20120154773A1 (Beyer).
In regards to claim 7 (Kahng) shows the optical proximity correction method according to claim 4:
adding one main auxiliary pattern between the feasible edge and the adjacent feasible edge comprises: adding one main auxiliary pattern between the feasible edge and the adjacent feasible edge; Kahng [0097] teaches various auxiliary patterns can be constructed by combinations of different auxiliary pattern types depending on available spacing.
wherein a distance between the main auxiliary pattern and the feasible edge is equal to a distance between the main auxiliary pattern and the adjacent feasible edge; Kahng [0092] teaches Type-1 auxiliary pattern achieves centered placement where spacing distances are equalized on both sides.
adding one main auxiliary pattern between the feasible edge and the adjacent feasible edge; Kahng [0097] teaches auxiliary patterns are placed according to spacing requirements and available configurations.
Kahng differs from the claimed invention in that it does not explicitly disclose wherein: before adding an auxiliary pattern, the method further comprises: acquiring an optimal spacing between the main auxiliary pattern and the main pattern as a first size based on data of design of experiments (DOE), and acquiring an optimal width of the auxiliary pattern as a second size; a width of the main auxiliary pattern is the second size; and the method further comprises: acquiring a distance between the main auxiliary pattern and the adjacent feasible edge as a first distance; determining whether the first distance is greater than or equal to the minimum spacing between each of the main patterns and auxiliary patterns adjacent to the main pattern; in response to the first distance being less than the minimum spacing between each of the main patterns and auxiliary patterns adjacent to the main pattern; decreasing the width of the main auxiliary pattern and performing the step of acquiring the distance between the main auxiliary pattern and the adjacent feasible edge; in response to the first distance being greater than or equal to the minimum spacing between each of the main patterns and auxiliary patterns adjacent to the main pattern;
Meiring teaches wherein: before adding an auxiliary pattern, the method further comprises: acquiring an optimal spacing between the main auxiliary pattern and the main pattern as a first size based on data of design of experiments (DOE), and acquiring an optimal width of the auxiliary pattern as a second size; Meiring [0046] teaches generating set of parameters which determine PrAF placement by taking into consideration existing advantages of illumination system, and Meiring [0052] teaches identified PrAF parameters are organized into tabulated form based on optimization analysis.
Meiring differs from the claimed invention in that it does not explicitly disclose a width of the main auxiliary pattern is the second size; and the method further comprises: acquiring a distance between the main auxiliary pattern and the adjacent feasible edge as a first distance; determining whether the first distance is greater than or equal to the minimum spacing between each of the main patterns and auxiliary patterns adjacent to the main pattern; in response to the first distance being less than the minimum spacing between each of the main patterns and auxiliary patterns adjacent to the main pattern; decreasing the width of the main auxiliary pattern and performing the step of acquiring the distance between the main auxiliary pattern and the adjacent feasible edge; in response to the first distance being greater than or equal to the minimum spacing between each of the main patterns and auxiliary patterns adjacent to the main pattern;
Beyer teaches a width of the main auxiliary pattern is the second size; and the method further comprises: acquiring a distance between the main auxiliary pattern and the adjacent feasible edge as a first distance; Beyer [0078] teaches overlay errors are analyzed based on measured displacement vectors to determine arrangement of corrections for pattern elements.
Beyer teaches determining whether the first distance is greater than or equal to the minimum spacing between each of the main patterns and auxiliary patterns adjacent to the main pattern; Beyer [0080] teaches corrected elements are verified against predetermined specifications before final implementation.
Beyer teaches in response to the first distance being less than the minimum spacing between each of the main patterns and auxiliary patterns adjacent to the main pattern; Beyer [0080] teaches iterative correction process where parameters are adjusted when specifications are not met.
Beyer teaches decreasing the width of the main auxiliary pattern and performing the step of acquiring the distance between the main auxiliary pattern and the adjacent feasible edge; Beyer [0078] teaches pattern elements are shifted and modified through systematic adjustment process, and Beyer [0080] teaches iterative parameter adjustment until predetermined specifications are achieved.
Beyer teaches in response to the first distance being greater than or equal to the minimum spacing between each of the main patterns and auxiliary patterns adjacent to the main pattern; Beyer [0080] teaches when corrected elements meet predetermined specifications, final implementation proceeds.
The motivation to combine Kahng and Meiring at the effective filing date of the invention is to enhance auxiliary pattern placement accuracy by incorporating systematic edge classification rules and optimized spacing parameters for improved optical proximity correction.
The motivation to combine Kahng, Meiring, and Beyer at the effective filing date of the invention is to provide iterative parameter adjustment capabilities for precise auxiliary pattern width and spacing control in optical proximity correction applications.
In regards to claim 8 (Kahng modified by Meiring) does not show: wherein decreasing the width of the main auxiliary pattern comprises incrementally decreasing the width of the main auxiliary pattern by a first preset size;
Beyer teaches wherein decreasing the width of the main auxiliary pattern comprises incrementally decreasing the width of the main auxiliary pattern by a first preset size; Beyer [0078] teaches systematic adjustment process for pattern elements with controlled parameter modifications.
The motivation to combine Kahng and Meiring at the effective filing date of the invention is to enhance auxiliary pattern placement accuracy by incorporating systematic edge classification rules and optimized spacing parameters for improved optical proximity correction.
The motivation to combine Kahng, Meiring, and Beyer at the effective filing date of the invention is to provide iterative parameter adjustment capabilities for precise auxiliary pattern width and spacing control in optical proximity correction applications.
In regards to claim 9 (Kahng modified by Meiring) does not show: wherein the first preset size ranges from 0.2 nm to 2 nm;
Beyer teaches wherein the first preset size ranges from 0.2 nm to 2 nm; Beyer [0061] teaches laser parameters with specific numerical ranges for precision pattern modifications.
The motivation to combine Kahng and Meiring at the effective filing date of the invention is to enhance auxiliary pattern placement accuracy by incorporating systematic edge classification rules and optimized spacing parameters for improved optical proximity correction.
The motivation to combine Kahng, Meiring, and Beyer at the effective filing date of the invention is to provide iterative parameter adjustment capabilities for precise auxiliary pattern width and spacing control in optical proximity correction applications.
In regards to claim 10 (Kahng) shows the optical proximity correction method according to claim 4:
adding two main auxiliary patterns between the feasible edge and the adjacent feasible edge comprises: determining whether the spacing between the feasible edge and the adjacent feasible edge is less than a second spacing; Kahng [0097] teaches various auxiliary patterns can be constructed by combinations of different auxiliary pattern types depending on available spacing.
wherein the second spacing is a sum of twice the first size, twice the second size; Kahng [0093] teaches Type-1 auxiliary pattern width calculations where spacing dimensions are determined by twice the spacing requirements plus width parameters.
the minimum spacing between the adjacent auxiliary patterns; adding one main auxiliary pattern on each of two sides of a center line of the spacing between the feasible edge and the adjacent feasible edge when the spacing between the feasible edge and the adjacent feasible edge is less than the second spacing; Kahng [0092] teaches Type-1 auxiliary pattern located at center of cell outline such that left width distance equals right width distance.
wherein a spacing between the two main auxiliary patterns is the minimum spacing between the adjacent auxiliary patterns, distances between the two main auxiliary patterns and the center line are equal; Kahng [0092] teaches Type-1 auxiliary pattern achieves centered placement where spacing distances are equalized on both sides.
performing the step of adding two main auxiliary patterns between the feasible edge and the adjacent feasible edge; Kahng [0097] teaches auxiliary patterns are placed according to spacing requirements and configurations.
in response to the spacing between the feasible edge and the adjacent feasible edge being greater than or equal to the second spacing; Kahng [0098] teaches auxiliary patterns placement depends on spacing thresholds and requirements.
adding the main auxiliary pattern adjacent to a corresponding feasible edge at a position at a distance of the first size from any of the feasible edges; Kahng [0096] teaches Type-3 auxiliary pattern placed at specific positions to achieve required spacing from pattern features.
Kahng differs from the claimed invention in that it does not explicitly disclose wherein: before adding an auxiliary pattern, the method further comprises: acquiring an optimal spacing between the main auxiliary pattern and the main pattern as a first size based on data of design of experiments (DOE), and acquiring an optimal width of the auxiliary pattern as a second size; the width of the main auxiliary pattern is the second size; wherein the width of the main auxiliary pattern is the second size; the method further comprises: acquiring a distance between the main auxiliary pattern and the feasible edge and a distance between the main auxiliary pattern and the adjacent feasible edge as second distances; determining whether the second distances are greater than or equal to the minimum spacing between each of the main patterns and auxiliary patterns adjacent to the main pattern; decreasing widths of the two main auxiliary patterns when the second distances are both less than the minimum spacing between each of the main patterns and auxiliary patterns adjacent to the main pattern; performing the step of acquiring the second distances; in response to the second distances being greater than or equal to the minimum spacing between each of the main patterns and auxiliary patterns adjacent to the main pattern;
Meiring teaches wherein: before adding an auxiliary pattern, the method further comprises: acquiring an optimal spacing between the main auxiliary pattern and the main pattern as a first size based on data of design of experiments (DOE), and acquiring an optimal width of the auxiliary pattern as a second size; Meiring [0046] teaches generating set of parameters which determine PrAF placement by taking into consideration existing advantages of illumination system, and Meiring [0052] teaches identified PrAF parameters are organized into tabulated form based on optimization analysis.
Meiring teaches the width of the main auxiliary pattern is the second size; Meiring [0057] teaches PrAF width parameters are formulated with variation based on width and pitch of designed features.
Meiring teaches wherein the width of the main auxiliary pattern is the second size; Meiring [0057] teaches PrAF width parameters are formulated based on optimization requirements.
Meiring differs from the claimed invention in that it does not explicitly disclose the method further comprises: acquiring a distance between the main auxiliary pattern and the feasible edge and a distance between the main auxiliary pattern and the adjacent feasible edge as second distances; determining whether the second distances are greater than or equal to the minimum spacing between each of the main patterns and auxiliary patterns adjacent to the main pattern; decreasing widths of the two main auxiliary patterns when the second distances are both less than the minimum spacing between each of the main patterns and auxiliary patterns adjacent to the main pattern; performing the step of acquiring the second distances; in response to the second distances being greater than or equal to the minimum spacing between each of the main patterns and auxiliary patterns adjacent to the main pattern;
Beyer teaches the method further comprises: acquiring a distance between the main auxiliary pattern and the feasible edge and a distance between the main auxiliary pattern and the adjacent feasible edge as second distances; Beyer [0078] teaches overlay errors are analyzed based on measured displacement vectors to determine distances for pattern corrections.
Beyer teaches determining whether the second distances are greater than or equal to the minimum spacing between each of the main patterns and auxiliary patterns adjacent to the main pattern; Beyer [0080] teaches corrected elements are verified against predetermined spacing specifications.
Beyer teaches decreasing widths of the two main auxiliary patterns when the second distances are both less than the minimum spacing between each of the main patterns and auxiliary patterns adjacent to the main pattern; Beyer [0078] teaches pattern elements are modified through systematic adjustment when spacing requirements are not met.
Beyer teaches performing the step of acquiring the second distances; in response to the second distances being greater than or equal to the minimum spacing between each of the main patterns and auxiliary patterns adjacent to the main pattern; Beyer [0080] teaches verification process is repeated after corrections until specifications are met.
The motivation to combine Kahng and Meiring at the effective filing date of the invention is to enhance auxiliary pattern placement accuracy by incorporating systematic edge classification rules and optimized spacing parameters for improved optical proximity correction.
The motivation to combine Kahng, Meiring, and Beyer at the effective filing date of the invention is to provide iterative parameter adjustment capabilities for precise auxiliary pattern width and spacing control in optical proximity correction applications.
In regards to claim 11 (Kahng) shows the optical proximity correction method according to claim 10:
wherein decreasing the widths of the two main auxiliary patterns comprises incrementally decreasing the widths of the two main auxiliary patterns by a second preset size; Beyer [0078] teaches systematic adjustment process for multiple pattern elements with controlled parameter modifications.
The motivation to combine Kahng and Meiring at the effective filing date of the invention is to enhance auxiliary pattern placement accuracy by incorporating systematic edge classification rules and optimized spacing parameters for improved optical proximity correction.
The motivation to combine Kahng, Meiring, and Beyer at the effective filing date of the invention is to provide iterative parameter adjustment capabilities for precise auxiliary pattern width and spacing control in optical proximity correction applications.
In regards to claim 12 (Kahng modified by Meiring) does not show: wherein the second preset size ranges from 0.2 nm to 2 nm;
Beyer teaches wherein the second preset size ranges from 0.2 nm to 2 nm; Beyer [0061] teaches laser parameters with specific numerical ranges for precision pattern modifications.
The motivation to combine Kahng and Meiring at the effective filing date of the invention is to enhance auxiliary pattern placement accuracy by incorporating systematic edge classification rules and optimized spacing parameters for improved optical proximity correction.
The motivation to combine Kahng, Meiring, and Beyer at the effective filing date of the invention is to provide iterative parameter adjustment capabilities for precise auxiliary pattern width and spacing control in optical proximity correction applications.
Conclusion
/ANWER AHMED ALAWDI/Examiner, Art Unit 2851
/JACK CHIANG/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2851