Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 10/22/2025 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Applicant submits that the combination of Kobayashi with Shiozaki teaches a (W3+W4)/(W2-W1) ratio that is broader than the claimed range of 0.5 to 3.0. However, Shiozaki further provides in exemplary example 1 that the insulating tape protrudes by 2 mm at each of the end portions (see e.g., Shiozaki; [0066]). Using this exemplary example disclosed by Shiozaki combined with Kobayashi (see e.g., Kobayashi; [0030]-[0031] regarding values corresponding to W2 and W1), the ratio (W3+W4)/(W2-W1) = (2 mm + 2mm)/1.5 mm = 2.66, which directly falls within the claimed range of 0.50 to 3.00. Moreover, while applicant submits that the width ratio of the present invention contributes to enhanced battery characteristics, Shiozaki also discloses enhanced battery characteristics, such as the energy density of the battery not being adversely influenced (see e.g., Shiozaki; [0040]) and preventing heat generation during internal short (see e.g., Shiozaki; [0010]). Therefore, Shiozaki combined with Kobayashi directly teaches a value that falls within the claimed width ratio of 0.5 ≤ (W3+W4)/(W2-W1) ≤ 3.0, and provides the benefits of enhanced battery characteristics.
Moreover, Shiozaki and Kobayashi teach an overlapping range of (W3+W4)/(W2-W1). Kobayashi discloses a dimension of the negative electrode in the second direction corresponding to W2 of claimed Expression 1 of 58.3 mm (see e.g., [0031]) and a dimension of the positive electrode in the second direction corresponding to W1 of claimed Expression 1 of 56.8 mm (see e.g., [0030]), such that W2-W1 may be 1.5 mm. Shiozaki discloses that a negative electrode may protrude at either end relative to the positive electrode (see e.g., fig. 1, wherein negative electrode 20 extends farther in the vertical direction than positive electrode 10), and an insulating tape wherein the insulating tape protrudes towards two end portions in a width direction wherein the protrusion is 0.5 mm or more and 20 mm or less (see e.g., fig. 1, [0040]), the insulating tape disposed on the positive electrode (see e.g., [0038]). This insulating tape protrusion disclosed by Shiozaki may correspond to a W3 of the dimension of protrusion of the insulating member relative to the positive electrode on the one of the opposite sides in the second direction, and W4 of the dimension of protrusion of the insulating member relative to the positive electrode on the other of the opposite sides in the second direction. Then, the protrusions W3 and W4 combined with the W2 and W1 of Kobayashi provides a range that overlaps with the claimed range of 0.50 ≤ (W3 + W4)/(W2 – W1) ≤ 3.00.
While this range is broader than the claimed range, being approximately 0.66 to 26.66, when combined with the exemplary example disclosed by Shiozaki and Kobayashi to provide a value of (W3 + W4)/(W2 – W1)=2.66, it is shown that the most optimal point falls within the claimed range of 0.5 to 3.0. That is, Kobayashi and Shiozaki provide a broader range with a best mode wherein the broader range encompasses the claimed range and the best mode closely aligns with the claimed range.
Accordingly, Shiozaki similarly teaches the ratios as claimed in claims 2, and new claims 13-16.
New claim 17 is similarly rejected with Kobayashi (JP-2010055906-A), Shiozaki (US-20180159136-A1), and in further view of Kanetani (JP-2010073653-A) as new claim 17 is similar to claims 6 and 8.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-3, 9-16 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kobayashi (JP-2010055906-A), and in further view of Shiozaki (US-20180159136-A1).
Regarding claim 1, Kobayashi discloses a secondary battery comprising (see e.g., [0001]): an outer package member (see e.g., fig. 1, [0028], regarding battery outer can 17); a battery device contained inside the outer package member (see e.g., fig. 1, [0028], regarding wound electrode assembly 14), the battery device including a positive electrode and a negative electrode (see e.g., fig. 1, [0028], regarding wound electrode assembly 14 with positive electrode plate 11 and negative electrode plate 12), the positive electrode and the negative electrode being opposed to each other and being wound (see e.g., fig. 1, [0028], regarding positive electrode plate 11 and negative electrode plate 12 spirally wound); and an insulating member provided on the positive electrode (see e.g., fig. 2a, [0035], regarding insulating tape 25a), wherein the positive electrode includes a positive electrode current collector (see e.g., [0030], regarding aluminum foil), and a positive electrode active material layer provided on the positive electrode current collector (see e.g., [0030], regarding positive electrode slurry applied to aluminum foil), the negative electrode includes a negative electrode current collector (see e.g., [0031], regarding copper foil), and a negative electrode active material layer provided on the negative electrode current collector on a side opposed to the positive electrode active material layer (see e.g., [0031], regarding negative electrode slurry applied to both sides of foil),
the positive electrode includes an exposed part in which the positive electrode active material layer is not provided and the positive electrode current collector is exposed (see e.g., fig. 2a, [0034], regarding exposed portions 11d, 11f), the exposed part is opposed to the negative electrode active material layer (see e.g., fig. 1, wherein the positive electrode is opposite the negative electrode such that the exposed part of the positive electrode is also opposed to the negative electrode active material layer, [0034], regarding the exposed portions formed on both sides of the positive electrode), the insulating member covers at least the exposed part (see e.g., fig. 2a, [0035], regarding insulating tape 25a covering exposed portion 11f), the positive electrode has a first direction along which the positive electrode active material layer is provided intermittently via the exposed part on the positive electrode current collector (see e.g., fig. 2a, wherein the first direction is the horizontal direction in fig. 2a, the positive electrode active material layer 11b is provided to the left and right side of the exposed part 11f; provided intermittently because the active material is provided in two sections spaced apart; provided via the exposed part because the sections of active material pass through the exposed section 11f), and a second direction intersecting the first direction (see e.g., the vertical direction of figs. 1, 2a), in the second direction, the insulating member protrudes relative to the positive electrode toward the opposite sides (see e.g., fig. 2a, regarding insulating tape 25a protruding on the top and bottom sides),
Kobayashi discloses a dimension of the negative electrode in the second direction corresponding to W2 of claimed Expression 1 of 58.3 mm (see e.g., [0031]) and a dimension of the positive electrode in the second direction corresponding to W1 of claimed Expression 1 of 56.8 mm (see e.g., [0030]), such that W2-W1 may be 1.5 mm. Kobayashi does not explicitly disclose in the second direction, the negative electrode protrudes relative to the positive electrode toward opposite sides, and a W3 is the dimension of protrusion of the insulating member relative to the positive electrode on the one of the opposite sides in the second direction, and W4 is the dimension of protrusion of the insulating member relative to the positive electrode on the other of the opposite sides in the second direction such that Expression (1), 0.50 ≤ (W3 + W4)/(W2 – W1) ≤ 3.00 may be satisfied.
However, Shiozaki discloses that a negative electrode may protrude at either end relative to the positive electrode (see e.g., fig. 1, wherein negative electrode 20 extends farther in the vertical direction than positive electrode 10), and an insulating tape wherein the insulating tape protrudes towards two end portions in a width direction wherein the protrusion is 0.5 mm or more and 20 mm or less (see e.g., fig. 1, [0040]), the insulating tape disposed on the positive electrode (see e.g., [0038]). This insulating tape protrusion disclosed by Shiozaki may correspond to a W3 of the dimension of protrusion of the insulating member relative to the positive electrode on the one of the opposite sides in the second direction, and W4 of the dimension of protrusion of the insulating member relative to the positive electrode on the other of the opposite sides in the second direction. Then, the protrusions W3 and W4 may be a value that falls within the range disclosed by Shiozaki such as 1.5 mm. With this, Shiozaki combined with the W1 and W2 values disclosed by Kobayashi satisfies the claimed Expression (1) wherein 0.50 ≤ (W3 + W4)/(W2 – W1) ≤ 3.00.
Moreover, Shiozaki provides in example 1 that the insulating tape protrudes by 2 mm at each of the end portions (see e.g., Shiozaki; [0066]). Using this exemplary example disclosed by Shiozaki combined with Kobayashi, the ratio (W3+W4)/(W2-W1) = (2 mm + 2mm)/1.5 mm = 2.66, which overlaps with the claimed range of 0.50 to 3.00.
Shiozaki is further equivalent analogous art because Shiozaki similarly disclosed a winding battery structure with the insulating tape on the positive electrode. Therefore, it would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the battery disclosed by Kobayashi by providing a negative electrode that protrudes past the positive electrode on both ends in the width direction, and the insulating tape protruding towards two end portions in a width direction wherein the protrusion is 0.5 mm or more and 20 mm or less, or more particularly protruding by 2 mm at each end, as disclosed by Shiozaki. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make this modification in order to reliably cover the exposed section of the electrode so that the increase in energy density of the battery is not adversely influenced (see e.g., [0040]).
Regarding claim 2, modified Kobayashi discloses the secondary battery according to claim 1. Kobayashi discloses a dimension of the negative electrode in the second direction corresponding to W2 of claimed Expression 1 of 58.3 mm (see e.g., [0031]) and a dimension of the positive electrode in the second direction corresponding to W1 of claimed Expression 1 of 56.8 mm (see e.g., [0030]), such that W2-W1 may be 1.5 mm. Kobayashi does not explicitly disclose a W3 is the dimension of protrusion of the insulating member relative to the positive electrode on the one of the opposite sides in the second direction, and W4 is the dimension of protrusion of the insulating member relative to the positive electrode on the other of the opposite sides in the second direction such that Expression (2), 2.00 ≤ (W3 + W4)/(W2 – W1) ≤ 2.75 may be satisfied.
However, Shiozaki discloses an insulating tape wherein the insulating tape protrudes towards two end portions in a width direction wherein the protrusion is 0.5 mm or more and 20 mm or less (see e.g., fig. 1, [0040]). This protrusion disclosed by Shiozaki may correspond to a W3 of the dimension of protrusion of the insulating member relative to the positive electrode on the one of the opposite sides in the second direction, and W4 of the dimension of protrusion of the insulating member relative to the positive electrode on the other of the opposite sides in the second direction. Then, the protrusions W3 and W4 may be a value that falls within the range disclosed by Shiozaki such as 1.5 mm. With this, Shiozaki combined with the W1 and W2 values disclosed by Kobayashi satisfies the claimed Expression (2) wherein 2.00 ≤ (W3 + W4)/(W2 – W1) ≤ 2.75.
Moreover, Shiozaki provides in example 1 that the insulating tape protrudes by 2 mm at each of the end portions (see e.g., Shiozaki; [0066]). Using this exemplary example disclosed by Shiozaki combined with Kobayashi, the ratio (W3+W4)/(W2-W1) = (2 mm + 2mm)/1.5 mm = 2.66, which overlaps with the claimed range of 2.00 to 2.75.
Shiozaki is further equivalent analogous art because Shiozaki similarly disclosed a winding battery structure with the insulating tape on the positive electrode. Therefore, it would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the battery disclosed by Kobayashi by providing the insulating tape protruding towards two end portions in a width direction wherein the protrusion is 0.5 mm or more and 20 mm or less, or more particularly protruding by 2 mm at each end, as disclosed by Shiozaki. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make this modification in order to reliably cover the exposed section of the electrode so that the increase in energy density of the battery is not adversely influenced (see e.g., [0040]).
Regarding claim 3, modified Kobayashi discloses the secondary battery according to claim 1, wherein the positive electrode active material layer includes a first portion located on one side in the first direction relative to the exposed part (see e.g., fig. 2a, regarding active material 11b on one side of exposed portion 11f), and a second portion located on another side in the first direction relative to the exposed part (see e.g., fig. 2a, regarding other active material section 11b on other side of exposed portion 11f), and the insulating member overlies both of the first portion and the second portion (see e.g., fig. 2b, wherein insulating material 25a extends over the left and right sides of the active material).
Regarding claim 9, modified Kobayashi discloses the secondary battery according to claim 1. Kobayashi discloses tab 11 corresponding to a wiring member coupled to a positive electrode (see e.g., fig. 2), and in figure 1, tab 11a is shown as disposed towards a center position of the electrode. However, this feature is not perfectly clear from the figure, so, Shiozaki may be used to further disclose this feature; Shiozaki discloses a wiring member, lead 13 (see e.g., fig. 1), coupled to the positive electrode 10 (see e.g., fig. 1, wherein lead 13 abuts positive electrode active material layer) on an inner side of winding of the positive electrode relative to an outermost wind of the positive electrode (see e.g., fig. 1, wherein lead 13 is disposed towards the center of the wound electrode). It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the battery disclosed by Kobayashi by providing a wiring member on an inner side of winding of the positive electrode relative to an outermost wind of the positive electrode disclosed by Shiozaki. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make this modification in order to have a battery wherein heat generation may be suppressed in the case of a foreign material penetrates the battery (see e.g., [0010]).
Regarding claim 10, modified Kobayashi discloses the secondary battery according to claim 1, wherein the outer package member includes a container member having an opening (see e.g., fig. 1, [0028], regarding battery exterior can 17, [0029], regarding opening of can 17), the container member containing the battery device inside (see e.g., fig. 1, [0028]), and a cover member, positive electrode terminal 19, closing the opening (see e.g., fig. 1, [0029], regarding positive electrode terminal 19).
Kobayashi discloses the can 17 is sealed by terminal 19. Kobayashi does not explicitly disclose the cover member being welded to the container member. However, Kobayashi does disclose that other sections such as the negative electrode plate 12 and positive electrode plate 11 may be welded (see e.g., [0029]). Therefore, it is obvious that welding may be used as a common form of connecting components in a wound electrode battery, and it would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have used welding between the can 17 and the terminal 19 to seal the battery; one of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make this modification in order to seal the battery (see e.g., [0029]).
Regarding claim 11, modified Kobayashi discloses the secondary battery according to claim 1, wherein the secondary battery has a flat and columnar shape (see e.g., fig. 1, wherein the top and bottom of the battery are flat, and the battery body is shaped as a cylindrical column).
Regarding claim 12, modified Kobayashi discloses the secondary battery according to claim 1, wherein the secondary battery comprises a lithium-ion secondary battery (see e.g., [0016], regarding battery comprising of lithium transition metal capable of reversibly absorbing and releasing lithium ions).
Regarding claim 13, modified Kobayashi teaches the secondary battery according to claim 1. As described above regarding claim 1, modified Kobayashi also teaches wherein the width ratio is satisfied as follows: 1.0 ≤ (W3 + W4)/(W2 - W1) ≤ 3.0.
That is, Kobayashi discloses a dimension of the negative electrode in the second direction corresponding to W2 of claimed Expression 1 of 58.3 mm (see e.g., [0031]) and a dimension of the positive electrode in the second direction corresponding to W1 of claimed Expression 1 of 56.8 mm (see e.g., [0030]), such that W2-W1 may be 1.5 mm. Kobayashi does not disclose dimensions corresponding with W3 and W4. However, Shiozaki provides in example 1 that the insulating tape protrudes by 2 mm at each of the end portions (see e.g., Shiozaki; [0066]). Using this exemplary example disclosed by Shiozaki combined with Kobayashi, the ratio (W3+W4)/(W2-W1) = (2 mm + 2mm)/1.5 mm = 2.66, which overlaps with the claimed range of 1.0 to 3.0. It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the battery disclosed by Kobayashi by providing a negative electrode that protrudes past the positive electrode on both ends in the width direction, and the insulating tape protruding towards two end portions in a width direction wherein the protrusion is particularly protruding by 2 mm at each end as disclosed by Shiozaki. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make this modification in order to reliably cover the exposed section of the electrode so that the increase in energy density of the battery is not adversely influenced (see e.g., [0040]).
Regarding claim 14, modified Kobayashi teaches the secondary battery according to claim 1. As described above regarding claim 1, modified Kobayashi also teaches wherein the width ratio is satisfied as follows: 1.5 ≤ (W3 + W4)/(W2 - W1) ≤ 3.0.
That is, Kobayashi discloses a dimension of the negative electrode in the second direction corresponding to W2 of claimed Expression 1 of 58.3 mm (see e.g., [0031]) and a dimension of the positive electrode in the second direction corresponding to W1 of claimed Expression 1 of 56.8 mm (see e.g., [0030]), such that W2-W1 may be 1.5 mm. Kobayashi does not disclose dimensions corresponding with W3 and W4. However, Shiozaki provides in example 1 that the insulating tape protrudes by 2 mm at each of the end portions (see e.g., Shiozaki; [0066]). Using this exemplary example disclosed by Shiozaki combined with Kobayashi, the ratio (W3+W4)/(W2-W1) = (2 mm + 2mm)/1.5 mm = 2.66, which overlaps with the claimed range of 1.5 to 3.0. It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the battery disclosed by Kobayashi by providing a negative electrode that protrudes past the positive electrode on both ends in the width direction, and the insulating tape protruding towards two end portions in a width direction wherein the protrusion is particularly protruding by 2 mm at each end as disclosed by Shiozaki. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make this modification in order to reliably cover the exposed section of the electrode so that the increase in energy density of the battery is not adversely influenced (see e.g., [0040]).
Regarding claim 15, modified Kobayashi teaches the secondary battery according to claim 1. As described above regarding claim 1, modified Kobayashi also teaches wherein the width ratio is satisfied as follows: 1.75 ≤ (W3 + W4)/(W2 - W1) ≤ 3.0.
That is, Kobayashi discloses a dimension of the negative electrode in the second direction corresponding to W2 of claimed Expression 1 of 58.3 mm (see e.g., [0031]) and a dimension of the positive electrode in the second direction corresponding to W1 of claimed Expression 1 of 56.8 mm (see e.g., [0030]), such that W2-W1 may be 1.5 mm. Kobayashi does not disclose dimensions corresponding with W3 and W4. However, Shiozaki provides in example 1 that the insulating tape protrudes by 2 mm at each of the end portions (see e.g., Shiozaki; [0066]). Using this exemplary example disclosed by Shiozaki combined with Kobayashi, the ratio (W3+W4)/(W2-W1) = (2 mm + 2mm)/1.5 mm = 2.66, which overlaps with the claimed range of 1.75 to 3.0. It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the battery disclosed by Kobayashi by providing a negative electrode that protrudes past the positive electrode on both ends in the width direction, and the insulating tape protruding towards two end portions in a width direction wherein the protrusion is particularly protruding by 2 mm at each end as disclosed by Shiozaki. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make this modification in order to reliably cover the exposed section of the electrode so that the increase in energy density of the battery is not adversely influenced (see e.g., [0040]).
Regarding claim 16, modified Kobayashi teaches the secondary battery according to claim 1. As described above regarding claim 1, modified Kobayashi also teaches wherein the width ratio is satisfied as follows: 12.0 ≤ (W3 + W4)/(W2 - W1) ≤ 3.0.
That is, Kobayashi discloses a dimension of the negative electrode in the second direction corresponding to W2 of claimed Expression 1 of 58.3 mm (see e.g., [0031]) and a dimension of the positive electrode in the second direction corresponding to W1 of claimed Expression 1 of 56.8 mm (see e.g., [0030]), such that W2-W1 may be 1.5 mm. Kobayashi does not disclose dimensions corresponding with W3 and W4. However, Shiozaki provides in example 1 that the insulating tape protrudes by 2 mm at each of the end portions (see e.g., Shiozaki; [0066]). Using this exemplary example disclosed by Shiozaki combined with Kobayashi, the ratio (W3+W4)/(W2-W1) = (2 mm + 2mm)/1.5 mm = 2.66, which overlaps with the claimed range of 2.0 to 3.0. It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the battery disclosed by Kobayashi by providing a negative electrode that protrudes past the positive electrode on both ends in the width direction, and the insulating tape protruding towards two end portions in a width direction wherein the protrusion is particularly protruding by 2 mm at each end as disclosed by Shiozaki. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make this modification in order to reliably cover the exposed section of the electrode so that the increase in energy density of the battery is not adversely influenced (see e.g., [0040]).
Claim(s) 4-5 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kobayashi (JP-2010055906-A) and Shiozaki (US-20180159136-A1) as applied to claim 1, and in further view of Kodama (US-20060046137-A1).
Regarding claim 4, modified Kobayashi discloses the secondary battery according to claim 1, wherein the positive electrode includes another positive electrode active material layer provided on the positive electrode current collector on a side opposite to a side opposed to the negative electrode (see e.g., fig. 2b, [0030], regarding positive electrode active material applied to both sides of aluminum foil current collector), the positive electrode includes, at a position corresponding to the exposed part, another exposed part in which the other positive electrode active material layer is not provided and the positive electrode current collector is exposed (see e.g., fig. 2b, regarding exposed portion 11f, wherein the exposed portion as described previously may the a bottom section of 11f and the another exposed portion may be a top section of 11f), the secondary battery further includes a wiring member coupled to the positive electrode current collector at the other exposed part (see e.g., fig. 2a-b, [0034], regarding positive electrode current collecting tab 11a coupled at top section of 11f), the wiring member protruding relative to the positive electrode current collector in the second direction (see e.g., fig. 2a, regarding protruding tab 11a, the second direction corresponding to vertical direction of figure 2a).
Kobayashi does not explicitly disclose another insulating member covering the wiring member on the side opposed to the negative electrode, and the other insulating member overlaps in part with the insulating member. However, Kodama discloses another insulating member 103 (see e.g., fig. 1, 2, [0037], regarding tab resins 103) which covers a wiring member, positive electrode tab 11, wherein the other insulating member 103 may be considered as on a side opposed to the negative electrode because the member is disclosed as wrapped around the positive electrode tab and wound to be opposing the negative electrode (see e.g., fig. 3, [0037]), and the other insulating member 103 overlaps in part with an insulating member 150 (see e.g., fig. 2, wherein resin 103 overlaps with insulating tape 153, [0037], wherein tab resin 103 is provided adjacent to the end of the protection tape 150 such that they may overlap because the resin tab is stacked directly above the insulating tape). Kodama is further equivalent analogous art because Kodama similarly discloses the insulating member 150 protrudes on either edge in the width direction from the current collector (see e.g., [0034]) in the context of a wound electrode battery. Therefore, it would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the battery disclosed by Kobayashi by providing another insulating member covering the wiring member on the side opposed to the negative electrode, and the other insulating member overlaps in part with the insulating member disclosed by Kodama. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make this modification in order to present a welding characteristic and help maintain the sealing of the top section (see e.g., [0049]).
Regarding claim 5, modified Kobayashi discloses the secondary battery according to claim 4. Kobayashi does not explicitly disclose wherein the other insulating member does not overlap with the positive electrode. However, Kodama discloses an electrode with an insulating member, tab resin 103, that does not overlap with the electrode (see e.g., fig. 1, 2a, wherein 103 overlaps with insulating member 150, but does not overlap with or is disposed on the current collector or active material section, [0037], regarding tab resins adjacent to protection tape, wherein the protection tape 150 already extends beyond the current collector). Therefore, it would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the battery disclosed by Kobayashi by providing the other insulating member which does not overlap with the positive electrode. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make this modification in order to present a welding characteristic and help maintain the sealing of the top part (see e.g., [0049]).
Claim(s) 6-8, 17 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kobayashi (JP-2010055906-A) and Shiozaki (US-20180159136-A1) as applied to claim 1, and in further view of Kanetani (JP-2010073653-A) (see translation).
Regarding claim 6, modified Kobayashi discloses the secondary battery according to claim 1. Kobayashi discloses a separator disposed between the positive electrode and the negative electrode (see e.g., [0013]).
Kobayashi does not explicitly disclose the separator protrudes relative to the negative electrode toward the opposite sides in the second direction and a separator having an insulating property. However, Shiozaki discloses a separator that protrudes relative to the negative electrode toward the opposite sides in the second direction (see e.g., fig. 4, regarding separator 30 that protrudes in a vertical direction corresponding to the second direction past negative electrode 20), and a separator comprised of resin-made microporous film such as polyolefin (see e.g., [0058]) which is a known insulating material. Therefore, it would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the battery disclosed by Kobayashi by providing a separator that protrudes relative to the negative electrode toward the opposite sides in the second direction and an insulating separator as disclosed by Shiozaki. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make this modification in order to have a battery wherein heat generation may be suppressed in the case of a foreign material penetrates the battery (see e.g., [0010]).
Kobayashi does not explicitly disclose the insulating member protrudes relative to the separator toward the opposite sides in the second direction. However, Kanetani discloses an upper insulating plate 8a and a lower insulating plate 8b which is disposed on and protrudes beyond either end of a separator 7 (see e.g., fig. 1, [0008]). The concept of an insulating layer that protrudes beyond the separator disclosed by Kanetani may be applied to the insulating layers of Kobayashi. Kanetani is further equivalent analogous art because Kanetani similarly discloses the insulating layers for the purpose of providing a battery with improved safety (see e.g., [0011]) in the context of a wound electrode battery. Therefore, it would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the battery disclosed by Kobayashi by having an insulating layer that extends beyond either end of the separator disclosed by Kanetani. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make this modification in order to provide a highly reliable battery with excellent safety against impacts such as being dropped (see e.g., [0011]).
Regarding claim 7, modified Kobayashi discloses the secondary battery according to claim 6.
Kobayashi does not explicitly disclose wherein one or both of one end part and another end part of the separator in the second direction shield one or both of one end part and another end part of the positive electrode in the second direction. However, Shiozaki discloses a separator that extends in the second direction (see e.g., fig. 4, vertical direction) that is bent over the top and bottom parts of the positive electrode and thus shielding both ends (see e.g., fig. 4, regarding separator 30). Therefore, it would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the battery disclosed by Kobayashi by providing a separator that extends in a second direction to shield the end parts of the positive electrode as disclosed by Shiozaki. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make this modification in order to have a battery wherein heat generation may be suppressed in the case of a foreign material penetrates the battery (see e.g., [0010]).
Regarding claim 8, modified Kobayashi discloses the secondary battery according to claim 7. Kobayashi does not explicitly disclose a wiring member coupled to the positive electrode, wherein a portion of the wiring member is bent so as to be along the battery device, and digs into a portion of the separator that shields the positive electrode. However, Shiozaki discloses a wiring member, positive-electrode lead 13 (see e.g., [0038], fig. 4), wherein a portion of the lead 13 is bent (see e.g., fig. 4, regarding lead 13 bent towards the electrode) so as to be along the battery device (see e.g., fig. 4, wherein the lead is contained along a length inside the battery device), and digs into a portion of the separator that shields the positive electrode (see e.g., fig. 4, regarding the section where lead 13 abuts a curved section of a separator that bends to cover a positive electrode 10; the term “digs into” is interpreted as “push against” or “push into” as drawn from Marriam-Webster definitions 4 and 51, wherein it is shown from fig. 4 that the top section of a separator bends towards and is cut short by the lead 13, and therefore the lead 13 is pushing against the top section of the separator). Therefore, it would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the battery disclosed by Kobayashi by providing a lead that is bent along the battery device and abuts the separator shielding the positive electrode disclosed by Shiozaki. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make this modification in order to have a battery wherein heat generation may be suppressed in the case of a foreign material penetrates the battery (see e.g., [0010]).
Regarding claim 17, modified Kobayashi discloses the secondary battery according to claim 1. Kobayashi discloses a separator disposed between the positive electrode and the negative electrode (see e.g., [0013]).
Kobayashi does not explicitly disclose the separator protrudes relative to the negative electrode toward the opposite sides in the second direction and a separator having an insulating property. However, Shiozaki discloses a separator that protrudes relative to the negative electrode toward the opposite sides in the second direction (see e.g., fig. 4, regarding separator 30 that protrudes in a vertical direction corresponding to the second direction past negative electrode 20), and a separator comprised of resin-made microporous film such as polyolefin (see e.g., [0058]) which is a known insulating material. Therefore, it would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the battery disclosed by Kobayashi by providing a separator that protrudes relative to the negative electrode toward the opposite sides in the second direction and an insulating separator as disclosed by Shiozaki. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make this modification in order to have a battery wherein heat generation may be suppressed in the case of a foreign material penetrates the battery (see e.g., [0010]).
Kobayashi does not explicitly disclose the insulating member protrudes relative to the separator toward the opposite sides in the second direction. However, Kanetani discloses an upper insulating plate 8a and a lower insulating plate 8b which is disposed on and protrudes beyond either end of a separator 7 (see e.g., fig. 1, [0008]). The concept of an insulating layer that protrudes beyond the separator disclosed by Kanetani may be applied to the insulating layers of Kobayashi. Kanetani is further equivalent analogous art because Kanetani similarly discloses the insulating layers for the purpose of providing a battery with improved safety (see e.g., [0011]) in the context of a wound electrode battery. Therefore, it would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the battery disclosed by Kobayashi by having an insulating layer that extends beyond either end of the separator disclosed by Kanetani. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make this modification in order to provide a highly reliable battery with excellent safety against impacts such as being dropped (see e.g., [0011]).
Kobayashi does not explicitly disclose a wiring member coupled to the positive electrode, wherein a portion of the wiring member is bent so as to be along the battery device, and digs into a portion of the separator that shields the positive electrode. However, Shiozaki discloses a wiring member, positive-electrode lead 13 (see e.g., [0038], fig. 4), wherein a portion of the lead 13 is bent (see e.g., fig. 4, regarding lead 13 bent towards the electrode) so as to be along the battery device (see e.g., fig. 4, wherein the lead is contained along a length inside the battery device), and digs into a portion of the separator that shields the positive electrode (see e.g., fig. 4, regarding the section where lead 13 abuts a curved section of a separator that bends to cover a positive electrode 10; the term “digs into” is interpreted as “push against” or “push into” as drawn from Marriam-Webster definitions 4 and 52, wherein it is shown from fig. 4 that the top section of a separator bends towards and is cut short by the lead 13, and therefore the lead 13 is pushing against the top section of the separator). Therefore, it would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the battery disclosed by Kobayashi by providing a lead that is bent along the battery device and abuts the separator shielding the positive electrode disclosed by Shiozaki. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make this modification in order to have a battery wherein heat generation may be suppressed in the case of a foreign material penetrates the battery (see e.g., [0010]).
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/KEVIN SONG/Examiner, Art Unit 1728
/MATTHEW T MARTIN/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 1728
1 “Dig into Definition & Meaning.” Merriam-Webster, Merriam-Webster, www.merriam-webster.com/dictionary/dig%20into. Accessed 4 Aug. 2025.
2 “Dig into Definition & Meaning.” Merriam-Webster, Merriam-Webster, www.merriam-webster.com/dictionary/dig%20into. Accessed 4 Aug. 2025.