DETAILED ACTION
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS), submitted on 05/14/2024, has been considered by the examiner.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
(e) the invention was described in a patent granted on an application for patent by another filed in the United States before the invention thereof by the applicant for patent, or on an international application by another who has fulfilled the requirements of paragraphs (1), (2), and (4) of section 371(c) of this title before the invention thereof by the applicant for patent.
The changes made to 35 U.S.C. 102(e) by the American Inventors Protection Act of 1999 (AIPA) and the Intellectual Property and High Technology Technical Amendments Act of 2002 do not apply when the reference is a U.S. patent resulting directly or indirectly from an international application filed before November 29, 2000. Therefore, the prior art date of the reference is determined under 35 U.S.C. 102(e) prior to the amendment by the AIPA (pre-AIPA 35 U.S.C. 102(e)).
Claims 1-18 are rejected under pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 102(e) as being anticipated by Radmer et al. (PGPub 2007/0049865).
[Claims 1, 5, and 13] Radmer teaches a reservoir (figure 23a, item 250) for use with an infusion device arranged to provide a liquid to a user (paragraph [0091]), the reservoir comprising:
a rigid body (figure 23a, items 230/255) (paragraph [0098]) defining a fluid channel (figure 23a, item 213) and an attachment area (location of attachment between items 255 and 260), a depression (location of septum 261) formed in the body (figure 23a, items 230/255) within an area surrounded by the attachment area (location of attachment between items 255 and 260) and a neck element (figure 23a, item 222 and top portion of item 255) that extends from the body (figure 23a, items 230/255) including a portion (figure 23a, item 214) of the fluid channel (figure 23a, item 213) therein;
a movable wall (figure 23a, item 260) attached to the body (figure 23a, items 230/255) at the attachment area (location of attachment between items 255 and 260) so as to define with the body (figure 23a, items 230/255) a reservoir space to hold the liquid (space within bag 260; paragraph [0098]), a portion of the movable wall (figure 23a, item 260) being movable (“bag-like”) relative to the body (figure 23a, items 230/255) to adjust a volume of the reservoir space (paragraph [0098]); and
a piercable member (septum) (figure 23a, item 261) positioned to prevent flow through the fluid channel (figure 23a, item 213) (figure 23a; paragraph [0098]),
wherein the fluid channel (figure 23a, item 213) is the only fluid passageway into or out of the reservoir space (space within bag 260) (figures 23a and 23b).
[Claims 2-4] Radmer teaches the limitations of claim 1, upon which claims 2-4 depend. In addition, Radmer discloses the reservoir (figure 23a, item 250) is
arranged to provide the liquid in the reservoir space (space within bag 260) from the fluid channel (figure 23a, item 213) based on negative pressure applied to the fluid channel (figure 23a, item 213) provided by the infusion device (the examiner notes the structure taught by Radmer is capable of meeting this functional limitation);
wherein, in a filled state in which the reservoir space (space within bag 260) is at a maximum volume (figure 23a), the reservoir is pressurized to ambient pressure (figure 23a; the bag 260 is functionally capable of meeting these limitations);
wherein the reservoir (figure 23a, item 250) is arranged to receive liquid into the reservoir space (space within bag 260) through the piercable member (figure 23a, item 261) and to provide liquid from the space (space within bag 260) through the piercable member (figure 23a, item 261) in a pierced state (figure 23b).
[Claims 6 and 8-11] Radmer teaches the limitations of claim 1, upon which claims 6 and 8-11 depend. Radmer further discloses the movable wall (figure 23a, item 260) is
a piece of flexible material attached to the body (figure 23a, items 230/255) (paragraph [0098]);
arranged such that movement of the movable wall (figure 23a, item 260) toward (the examiner notes the claim language does not require movement relative to any particular portion of the fluid channel) the fluid channel (figure 23a, item 213) decreases the volume of the reservoir space (space within bag 260) (figures 23a and 23b);
arranged such that movement of the portion of the movable wall (figure 23a, item 260) in a direction transverse (the examiner notes the claim language does not require “transverse” movement relative to any particular portion of the fluid channel) to the fluid channel (figure 23a, item 213) decreases the volume of the space (space within bag 260) (figures 23a and 23b);
wherein the portion of the movable wall (figure 23a, item 260) is movable to contact the body (figure 23a, items 230/255) in a dispensed state and collapse the reservoir space (figure 23b).
[Claim 7] Radmer teaches the limitations of claim 1, upon which claim 7 depends. Radmer further discloses the attachment area (location of attachment between items 255 and 260) has an annular shape and the piece of flexible material (figure 23a, item 260) has a generally circular shape (figures 23a and 23b).
[Claim 12] Radmer teaches the limitations of claim 1, upon which claim 12 depends. Radmer also teaches a port opening (connection to the fluid channel at item 214) disposed in the neck element (figure 23a, item 222 and top portion of item 255), the neck element (figure 23a, item 222 and top portion of item 255) at least partially extends (figure 23a) from a side of the body (figure 23a, items 230/255) opposite to a side where the movable wall (figure 23a, item 260) is attached to the body (figure 23a, items 230/255), and wherein the port opening (connection to the fluid channel at item 214) is in fluid communication with the fluid channel (figure 23a, item 213).
[Claims 14-16] Radmer teaches the limitations of claim 1, upon which claims 14-16 depend. Radmer further discloses the neck element (figure 23a, item 222 and top portion of item 255) defines a receiving chamber (space created by the needle piercing the septum) to receive an end of a piercing element (figure 23a, item 214) that pierces the piercable member (figure 23a, item 261) to receive the liquid from the reservoir space (space within bag 260); wherein the receiving chamber (space created by the needle piercing the septum) is positioned between the piercable member (figure 23a, item 261) and the reservoir space (space within bag 260) and is adapted to receive the end of the piercing element (figure 23a, item 214) upon piercing of the piercable member (figure 23a, item 261) (figure 23b).
[Claims 17 and 18] Radmer teaches the limitations of claim 1, upon which claims 17 and 18 depend. In addition, Radmer teaches the piercable member (figure 23a, item 261) includes a piercable plug (“elastomeric septum”) located in the neck element (figure 23a, item 222 and top portion of item 255) that closes the fluid channel (figure 23a, item 213) to fluid flow (figure 23a) and is piercable to provide fluid access to the reservoir space (space within bag 260) (figure 23b) (paragraph [0098]).
Double Patenting
Claims 1-18 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 19-36 of U.S. Patent No. 11,491,273. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because all of the elements of the recited instant application claims are found in the recited patent claims. For example, all of the elements of claim 1 of the instant application can be found in claim 19 of the patent. The difference between claim 1 of the instant application and claim 19 of the patent lies in the fact that the patent claim includes more elements and is thus more specific. Thus, the invention of claim 19 of the patent is in effect a “species” of the "generic” invention of claim 1 of the instant application. It has been held that the generic invention is anticipated by the species. See In re Goodman, 29 USPQ2d 2010 (Fed. Cir. 1993). Since claim 1 of the instant application is anticipated by claim 19 of the patent, it is not patentably distinct from claim 19 of the patent.
Conclusion
/JASON E FLICK/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3783 12/04/2025