DETAILED ACTION
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments, see page 12, filed 25 November 2025, in view of the amendments with respect to claims 1-20 have been fully considered and are persuasive. The 112(b) rejections of the claims have been withdrawn.
Applicant's arguments filed 25 November 2025 regarding the 103 rejections have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Regarding claims 1, 5, 9, 13, and 18-32, the applicant argued, “…Davydov discloses that reception or non-reception of PDSCHs is scheduled independently…each PDSCH is taught as being independent from other PDSCHs, rather than indicated by a first indication information…” on pages 12-13.
In response to applicant’s argument, the examiner respectfully disagrees with the above argument.
In ¶¶28-30 and 73-75 Davydov clearly teaches when the first indication information indicates that the one or more time-frequency resource groups are available for PDSCH, receiving both of the first PDSCH and the second PDSCH on the one or more time-frequency resource groups (¶¶28-30 and 73-75: when the PDSCH rate matching indicators indicate the resource sets of the CORESETs are available for PDSCH, receiving the PDSCHs); and when the first indication information indicates that the one or more time-frequency resource groups are not available for PDSCH, skipping receiving both of the first PDSCH and the second PDSCH on the one or more time-frequency resource groups (¶¶28-30 and 73-75: when the PDSCH rate matching indicators indicate the resource sets of the CORESETs are not available for PDSCH, do not use the unavailable resources for receiving the PDSCHs).
Applicant’s argument that PDSCHs in Davydov are independent does not teach away from the PDSCHs being indicated by indication information. Rather, this is the applicant’s claimed invention. The first indication is received in both DCIs for both PDSCHs. The first indication information is further limited to “a rate matching indicator” in at least dependent claim 21. This is what is taught by Davydov and Kim. As such the claimed invention is not non-obvious.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-18 are is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Davydov et al. WO 2020/055572 A1 (hereinafter referred to as “Davydov”) in view of Kim US 2022/0159641 A1 (hereinafter referred to as “Kim”).
As to claims 1, 9, and 18, Davydov teaches a method, comprising:
receiving first downlink control information (DCI) and second DCI, wherein the first DCI is associated with a first control resource set (CORESET), the second DCI is associated with a second CORESET, the first DCI comprising information for scheduling a first physical downlink shared channel (PDSCH), the second DCI comprising information for scheduling a second PDSCH, the first PDSCH and the second PDSCH have completely overlapping time-frequency resources, and the time-frequency resource comprise one or more time-frequency resource groups (¶¶34 and 37; figure 1: UE receives, from TRP, PDCCHs carrying DCIs (first and second) respectively corresponding to CORESETs (first and second), the DCIs (first and second) respectively for overlapping PDSCHs, the overlapping CORESETs comprising resource sets),
wherein
both of the first DCI and the second DCI have first indication information, wherein the first indication information in the first DCI is the same as the first indication information in the second DCI;
the first indication information indicates whether the one or more time-frequency resource groups are available for PDSCH (¶¶28-29, 32-33, 37-38, and 56; figure 1: first and second DCIs including PDSCH rate matching indicators for the respective CORESETs indicating availability of resources within the respective PDSCHs);
each of the one or more time-frequency resource groups comprises one or more resource sets, and each time-frequency resource group is configured by using radio resource control (RRC) signaling (¶30; figure 1: PDSCH rate matching configuration signaling is RRC signaling); and
when the first indication information indicates that the one or more time-frequency resource groups are available for PDSCH, receiving both of the first PDSCH and the second PDSCH on the one or more time-frequency resource groups (¶¶28-30 and 73-75: when the PDSCH rate matching indicators indicate the resource sets of the CORESETs are available for PDSCH, receiving the PDSCHs); and
when the first indication information indicates that the one or more time-frequency resource groups are not available for PDSCH, skipping receiving both of the first PDSCH and the second PDSCH on the one or more time-frequency resource groups (¶¶28-30 and 73-75: when the PDSCH rate matching indicators indicate the resource sets of the CORESETs are not available for PDSCH, do not use the unavailable resources for receiving the PDSCHs).
Although Davydov teaches “A method…(RRC) signaling; and when the first indication…resource groups” Davydov does not explicitly disclose “configuration information…different values”.
However, Kim teaches configuration information of the first CORESET comprises first identification information, configuration information of the second CORESET comprises second identification information, and the first identification information and the second identification information have different values (¶187: first and second CORESETs have first and second corset IDs and/or scrambling IDs).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to improve upon the method described in Davydov by including “configuration information…different values” as taught by Kim because it provides Davydov in view of Cheng’s method with the enhanced capability of improved compatibility with different cooperative/noncooperative, single/multi DCI, and single/multi TRP transmissions (Kim, ¶¶146, 181, 187, 202, 205, 215, and 226).
As to claims 5, 13, and 23, Davydov teaches a method, comprising:
sending first downlink control information (DCI) on a first control resource set (CORESET), and sending second DCI on a second CORESET, wherein the first DCI comprises information for scheduling a first physical downlink shared channel (PDSCH), the second DCI comprises information for scheduling a second PDSCH, and the first PDSCH and the second PDSCH have completely overlapping time-frequency resources, and the time-frequency resources comprise one or more time-frequency resource groups (¶¶34 and 37; figure 1: TRP transmits, to UE, PDCCHs carrying DCIs (first and second) respectively corresponding to CORESETs (first and second), the DCIs (first and second) respectively for overlapping PDSCHs, the overlapping CORESETs comprising resource sets), wherein
both of the first DCI and the second DCI have first indication information, wherein the first indication information in the first DCI is the same as the first indication information in the second DCI;
the first indication information indicates whether the one or more time-frequency resource groups are available for PDSCH (¶¶28-29, 32-33, 37-38, and 56; figure 1: first and second DCIs including PDSCH rate matching indicators for the respective CORESETs indicating availability of resources within the respective PDSCHs);
each of the one or more time-frequency resource groups comprises one or more resource sets, and each time-frequency resource group is configured by using radio resource control (RRC) signaling (¶30; figure 1: PDSCH rate matching configuration signaling is RRC signaling); and
when the first indication information indicates that the one or more time-frequency resource groups are available for PDSCH, sending both of the first PDSCH and the second PDSCH on the one or more time-frequency resource groups (¶¶28-30 and 73-75: when the PDSCH rate matching indicators indicate the resource sets of the CORESETs are available for PDSCH, sending the PDSCHs); and
when the first indication information indicates that the one or more time-frequency resource groups are not available for PDSCH, skipping sending both of the first PDSCH and the second PDSCH on the one or more time-frequency resource groups (¶¶28-30 and 73-75: when the PDSCH rate matching indicators indicate the resource sets of the CORESETs are not available for PDSCH, do not use the unavailable resources for sending the PDSCHs).
Although Davydov teaches “A method…(RRC) signaling; and when the first…resource groups,” Davydov does not explicitly disclose “configuration information…different values”.
However, Kim teaches configuration information of the first CORESET comprises first identification information, configuration information of the second CORESET comprises second identification information, and the first identification information and the second identification information have different values (¶187: first and second CORESETs have first and second corset IDs and/or scrambling IDs).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to improve upon the method described in Davydov by including “configuration information…different values” as taught by Kim because it provides Davydov’s method with the enhanced capability of improved compatibility with different cooperative/noncooperative, single/multi DCI, and single/multi TRP transmissions (Kim, ¶¶146, 181, 187, 202, 205, 215, and 226).
As to claim 19, Davydov in view of Kim teaches the method according to claim 1. Davydov further teaches further comprising:
when the first indication information indicates that the one or more time-frequency resource groups are available for PDSCH, skipping performing rate matching on both of the first PDSCH and the second PDSCH; and
when the first indication information indicates that the one or more time-frequency resource groups are not available for PDSCH, performing rate matching on both of the first PDSCH and the second PDSCH (¶¶28-30 and 73-75).
As to claims 20, 24, 27, and 30, Davydov in view of Kim teaches the method according to claim 1.
Kim further teaches the first DCI is sent from a first transmission reception point (TRP), and the second DCI is sent from a second TRP (¶¶146, 181, 187, 202, 205, 215, and 226).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to improve upon the method described in Davydov in view of Kim by including “the first DCI…second TRP” as further taught by Kim for the same rationale as set forth in claim 1 (Kim, ¶¶146, 181, 187, 202, 205, 215, and 226).
As to claims 21, 25, 28, and 31, Davydov in view of Kim teaches the method according to claim 1. Davydov further teaches the first indication information is a rate matching indicator, and the time-frequency resource group is a rate matching pattern group (¶¶28-30 and 73-75).
As to claims 22, 26, 29, and 32, Davydov in view of Kim teaches the method according to claim 1. Davydov further teaches wherein that when the first indication information indicates that the one or more time-frequency resource groups are available for PDSCH, comprises:
when either the first indication information in the first DCI or the first indication information in the second DCI indicates that the one or more time-frequency resource groups are available for PDSCH; and
that when the first indication information indicates that the one or more time-frequency resource groups are not available for PDSCH, comprises:
when either the first indication information in the first DCI or the first indication information in the second DCI indicates that the one or more time-frequency resource groups are not available for PDSCH (¶¶28-30 and 73-75).
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/JUSTIN T VAN ROIE/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2469