DETAILED ACTION
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
The Examiner acknowledges that the amendment to claim 1 resolves the previous ambiguity of the claim language. Therefore, the previous rejection of claim 1 under 35 USC 112(b) has been withdrawn.
The Examiner acknowledges that the cancellation of claim 21 renders the previous rejection of claim 21 under 35 USC 112(b) moot. Therefore, the previous rejection of claim 21 under 35 USC 112(b) has been withdrawn.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-2, 4, 6-8 and 18-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by He (US 2021/0013274) hereinafter “He”.
Regarding claim 1, Fig. 2 of He teaches a display panel (Paragraph 0001), comprising a first display area (An area defined by all of the subpixels) configured to transmit light that comprises a first sub-display area (See Picture 1 below) and a second sub-display area (See Picture 2 below); an array substrate (Item 10); and a light-emitting functional layer (Paragraph 0052 where each subpixel has either red, green or blue layer), located on a side of the array substrate (Item 10), the light-emitting functional layer comprising: a plurality of first sub-pixels (Items 203 in first subpixel area [See Picture 1 below]) located in the first sub-display area; a plurality of second sub-pixels (Items 203 in second subpixel area [See Picture 1 below]) located in the second sub-display area; a plurality of first repeating units (See Picture 3 below; Double the outlined portion diagonally such that an additional group of each type of subpixel would be present in the first repeating unit for a total of two groups of each subpixel all oriented diagonal to each other; the whole of the display is not shown in Fig. 2 and one having ordinary skill in the art would understand that more subpixels in the pattern shown in Fig. 2 would be present in the display taught by He), where each first repeating unit of the plurality of first repeating units comprises at least two columns of first sub-pixels of the plurality of first subpixels and at least one first sub-pixel of each first repeating unit is a target sub-pixel (See Picture 1 below); and a plurality of second repeating units (See Picture 5 below; Double the outlined portion diagonally such that an additional group of each type of subpixel would be present in the second repeating unit for a total of two groups of each subpixel all oriented diagonal to each other; the whole of the display is not shown in Fig. 2 and one having ordinary skill in the art would understand that more subpixels in the pattern shown in Fig. 2 would be present in the display taught by He), wherein each second repeating unit of the plurality of second repeating units comprises at least two columns of second sub-pixels of the plurality of second subpixels, wherein an arrangement of first subpixels in each first repeating unit matches an arrangement of second subpixels in each second repeating unit, a plurality of orthographic projection shapes of the plurality of second sub-pixels on the array substrate are identical, an orthographic projection shape of the target sub-pixel on the array substrate is identical to an orthographic projection shape of the second sub-pixel on the array substrate, each orthographic projection shape of the target sub-pixel on the array substrate and each orthographic projection shape of the second sub-pixel on the array substrate comprises a first center line and a second center line that are perpendicular to each other, and a first center line of the orthographic projection shape of the target sub-pixel intersects a first center line of the orthographic projection shape of the second sub-pixel (See Picture 1 below), where the plurality of first sub-pixels have at least three colors, and the target subpixel has one color of the at least three colors; wherein a plurality of first center lines of the orthographic projection shapes of all of the target subpixels belonging to a first one of the plurality of first repeating units intersect with a plurality of first center lines of the orthographic projection shapes of all of the target subpixels belonging to a second one of the plurality of first repeating units different from the first one (See Picture 1 below).
Examiner’s Note: The Examiner notes that the claim language does not define what the characteristics of a center line are (ie. extends from or to, or position of) nor does the claim language require which of the two center lines defined by the claim in each subpixel would be the first center line.
Examiner’s Note 2: The Examiner notes that the limitation “wherein under a condition that the orthographic projection shape of the target sub-pixel is a rectangular shape, the first center line of the orthographic projection shape of the target sub-pixel is a line perpendicular to two short sides of the rectangular shape and passing through a center point of the rectangular shape, or under a condition that the orthographic projection shape of the target sub-pixel is an elliptical shape, the first center line of the orthographic projection shape of the target sub-pixel is a long axis of the elliptical shape” is a conditional limitation which only gets triggered if the orthographic projection shape of the target subpixel is a rectangular shape of an elliptical shape. However, the orthographic projection shape of the target subpixel in He is a diamond shape, which is not rectangular or elliptical, and thus does not trigger the limitation.
Picture 1 (Labeled version of He Fig. 2)
Picture 3 (Labeled version of He Fig. 2)
Picture 5 (Labeled version of He Fig. 2)
Regarding claim 2, Fig. 2 of He further teaches wherein an angle formed by an intersection of the first center line of the orthographic projection shape of the target sub-pixel and the first center line of the orthographic projection shape of the second sub-pixel ranges from 30 degrees to l50 degrees (See Picture 1 above where the angle of the 1st center line of the target subpixel relative to the 1st center line of the second subpixel is approximately 135 degrees).
Regarding claim 4, Fig. 2 of He further teaches where a plurality of first center lines of the orthographic projection shapes of the target sub-pixels belonging to a same first repeating unit are parallel (Where the first center line of two respective 1st target subpixels in a same position in two separate groupings of the same color subpixels in the repeating unit would be parallel).
Regarding claim 6, Fig. 2 of He further teaches where each column of first sub-pixels of the first repeating unit comprise a plurality of first sub-pixels of at least three colors, and two color arranging orders of two adjacent columns of first sub-pixels are different.
Regarding claim 7, Fig. 2 of He further teaches where each column of second sub-pixels of the second repeating unit comprise a plurality of second sub-pixels of at least three colors, and two color arranging orders of two adjacent columns of second sub-pixels are different (See Picture 5 above).
Regarding claim 8, Fig. 2 of He further teaches where a size of the orthographic projection shape of the target sub-pixel on the array substrate is identical to a size of the orthographic projection shape of the second sub-pixel on the array substrate (See Picture 1 above).
Regarding claim 18, Fig. 1 of He further teaches a display device comprising: at least one photosensitive element (Item 200; Paragraph 0045 and 0049 where a camera is present) and the display panel (Item 100) according to claim 1, wherein each of the first sub-display area and the second sub-display area corresponds to one of the at least one photosensitive element.
Regarding claim 19, Fig. 2 of He further teaches where the first display area further comprises a first sub display and a second sub display area (where the first and second sub display areas are any arbitrary areas in the first and second display area that have the same amount of subpixels present), and both of the first sub display area and the second sub display area have matching light transmittances.
Regarding claim 20, Fig. 2 of He further teaches wherein all the first subpixels in the plurality of first repeating units are target subpixels.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 10 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over He (US 2021/0013274) hereinafter “He” in view of Zhang (US 2022/0037423) hereinafter “Zhang”.
Regarding claim 10, He teaches all of the elements of the claimed invention as stated above except where an orthographic projection shape, on the array substrate, of the first sub-pixel other than the target sub-pixel is circular or square.
Fig. 2 of Zhang teaches where multiple shapes (square or rectangle) of a same color subpixel are present depending on the location of the subpixel (AA2 vs AA1).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have an orthographic projection shape, on the array substrate, of the first sub-pixel other than the target sub-pixel is square because this allows for a greater transmittance of light in one subpixel area versus another (Zhang Paragraph 00452).
Claims 11 and 12 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over He (US 2021/0013274) hereinafter “He” in view of Kubota et al. (US 2024/0074272) hereinafter “Kubota”.
Regarding claim 11, He teaches all of the elements of the claimed invention as stated above except wherein the array substrate comprises a first pixel circuit electrically connected to the first subpixel and located in the first sub display area and a second pixel circuit electrically connected to the second sub-pixel; and the second pixel circuit is located in the second sub-display area.
Fig. 13A of Kubota teaches where each subpixel is connected to a separate pixel circuit (Item 131 or 132; transistor).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have each subpixel of He be connected a separate pixel circuit such that the array substrate comprises a first pixel circuit electrically connected to the first subpixel and located in the first sub display area and a second pixel circuit electrically connected to the second sub-pixel; and the second pixel circuit is located in the second sub-display area because the pixel circuit has the function or driving each of the respective subpixels (Kubota Paragraph 0344).
Regarding claim 12, the combination of He and Kubota teaches all of the elements of the claimed invention.
He does not teach where each of an orthographic projection shape of the first pixel circuit and an orthographic projection shape of the second pixel circuit on the array substrate comprises a third center line and a fourth center line that are perpendicular to each other, the third center line of the orthographic projection shape of the first pixel circuit is parallel to the first center line of the orthographic projection shape of the target sub-pixel, and the third center line of the orthographic projection shape of the second pixel circuit is parallel to the first center line of the orthographic projection shape of the second sub-pixel.
Kubota further teaches where a pixel circuit is aligned with the corresponding subpixel.
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have the pixel circuit of each respective subpixel be aligned with the corresponding respective subpixel because this configuration allows for a desired display resolution (Kubota Paragraph 0018).
When a pixel circuit is aligned with a corresponding subpixel, an orthographic projection shape of the first pixel circuit and an orthographic projection shape of the second pixel circuit on the array substrate will comprise a third center line and a fourth center line that are perpendicular to each other, the third center line of the orthographic projection shape of the first pixel circuit will be parallel to the first center line of the orthographic projection shape of the target sub-pixel, and the third center line of the orthographic projection shape of the second pixel circuit will be parallel to the first center line of the orthographic projection shape of the second sub-pixel.
Claims 13 and 15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over He (US 2021/0013274) hereinafter “He” in view of Zhang (US 2023/0096260) hereinafter “Zhang2”.
Regarding claim 13, He teaches all of the elements of the claimed invention as stated above except the array substrate comprises a first pixel circuit electrically connected to the first subpixel; and a second pixel circuit electrically connected to the second sub-pixel; the display panel further comprises a second display area and a transitional display area located between the first display area and the second display area, a light transmittance of the first display area is greater than a light transmittance of the second display area, and the at least one first pixel circuit and the at least one second pixel circuit are located in the transitional display area.
Fig. 2 of Zhang2 teaches a first display area (See Picture 6 below), a second display area (See Picture 6 below) and a transitional display area (See Picture 6 below) where a light transmittance of the first display area is greater than a light transmittance of the second display area and the driving circuits of the first pixel display area are located in the transitional display area.
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have the array substrate comprises a first pixel circuit electrically connected to the first subpixel; and a second pixel circuit electrically connected to the second sub-pixel; the display panel further comprises a second display area and a transitional display area located between the first display area and the second display area, a light transmittance of the first display area is greater than a light transmittance of the second display area, and the at least one first pixel circuit and the at least one second pixel circuit are located in the transitional display area because this reduces the amount of transistors in the light transmitting regions of the first display area which facilitates light transmittance (Zhang2 Paragraph 0045).
Picture 6 (Labeled version of Zhang2 Fig. 2)
Regarding claim 15, He teaches all of the elements of the claimed invention as stated above except further comprising a second display area, a light transmittance of the first display area is greater than a light transmittance of the second display area; and the light-emitting functional layer further comprises a plurality of third sub-pixels located in the second display area, a plurality of orthographic projection shapes of the first sub-pixel, the second sub-pixel and the third sub-pixel on the array substrate are all identical.
Fig. 2 of Zhang2 further teaches where a display has multiple display areas (Items 110, 121 and 122), where a first display area (Item 122) has a greater light transmittance than the other display areas, and each display area comprising a respective plurality of subpixels, where the subpixels in each of the display areas all have identical shape.
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have the display panel further comprises a second display area, a light transmittance of the first display area is greater than a light transmittance of the second display area; and the light-emitting functional layer further comprises a plurality of third sub-pixels located in the second display area, a plurality of orthographic projection shapes of the first sub-pixel, the second sub-pixel and the third sub-pixel on the array substrate are all identical because this configuration allows for realization of coexistence of a full screen display and a camera (Zhang2 Paragraph 0003).
Claim 14 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over He (US 2021/0013274) hereinafter “He” in view of Zhang (US 2023/0096260) hereinafter “Zhang2” and in further view of Huang et al. (US 2022/0376028) hereinafter “Huang”.
Regarding claim 14, the combination of He and Zhang2 teaches all of the elements of the claimed invention as stated above except where the first pixel circuit is electrically connected to the first sub-pixel through a first transparent connecting wire, and the second pixel circuit is electrically connected to the second sub-pixel through a second transparent connecting wire.
Huang teaches where a transparent connection wire connects a first pixel repeating unit and first pixel circuit (Paragraph 0004).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have the first pixel circuit is electrically connected to the first sub-pixel through a first transparent connecting wire, and the second pixel circuit is electrically connected to the second sub-pixel through a second transparent connecting wire because this allows light to be transmitted through the display device in a certain region (Huang Paragraph 0004).
Claim 16 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over He (US 2021/0013274) hereinafter “He” in view of Zhang (US 2023/0096260) hereinafter “Zhang2” and in further view of Cheng et al. (US 2019/0305057) hereinafter “Cheng” .
Regarding claim 16, the combination of He and Zhang2 teaches all of the elements of the claimed invention as stated above except where the first sub-pixel comprises a first electrode, a first light-emitting layer and a second electrode that are stacked, and the first light-emitting layer is located between the first electrode and the second electrode; the second sub-pixel comprises a third electrode, a second light-emitting layer, and a fourth electrode that are stacked, and the second light-emitting layer is located between the third electrode and the fourth electrode; and the third sub-pixel comprises a fifth electrode, a third light-emitting layer and a sixth electrode that are stacked, and the third light-emitting layer is located between the fifth electrode and the sixth electrode; wherein an orthographic projection shape of the first sub-pixel on the array substrate comprises an orthographic projection shape of the first electrode on the array substrate, an orthographic projection shape of the second sub-pixel on the array substrate comprises an orthographic projection shape of the third electrode on the array substrate, and an orthographic projection shape of the third sub-pixel on the array substrate comprises an orthographic projection shape of the fifth electrode on the array substrate.
Figs. 3 and 4 of Cheng teaches a first sub-pixel (Item R) comprises a first electrode (Item 320), a first light-emitting layer (Item R) and a second electrode (Item 340) that are stacked, and the first light-emitting layer is located between the first electrode and the second electrode; the second sub-pixel comprises a third electrode (Item 320), a second light-emitting layer (Item G), and a fourth electrode (Item 340) that are stacked, and the second light-emitting layer is located between the third electrode and the fourth electrode; and the third sub-pixel comprises a fifth electrode (Item 320), a third light-emitting layer (Item B) and a sixth electrode (Item 340) that are stacked, and the third light-emitting layer is located between the fifth electrode and the sixth electrode; wherein an orthographic projection shape of the first sub-pixel on the array substrate comprises an orthographic projection shape of the first electrode on the array substrate, an orthographic projection shape of the second sub-pixel on the array substrate comprises an orthographic projection shape of the third electrode on the array substrate, and an orthographic projection shape of the third sub-pixel on the array substrate comprises an orthographic projection shape of the fifth electrode on the array substrate (Paragraph 0050).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have the first sub-pixel comprises a first electrode, a first light-emitting layer and a second electrode that are stacked, and the first light-emitting layer is located between the first electrode and the second electrode; the second sub-pixel comprises a third electrode, a second light-emitting layer, and a fourth electrode that are stacked, and the second light-emitting layer is located between the third electrode and the fourth electrode; and the third sub-pixel comprises a fifth electrode, a third light-emitting layer and a sixth electrode that are stacked, and the third light-emitting layer is located between the fifth electrode and the sixth electrode; wherein an orthographic projection shape of the first sub-pixel on the array substrate comprises an orthographic projection shape of the first electrode on the array substrate, an orthographic projection shape of the second sub-pixel on the array substrate comprises an orthographic projection shape of the third electrode on the array substrate, and an orthographic projection shape of the third sub-pixel on the array substrate comprises an orthographic projection shape of the fifth electrode on the array substrate because this allows the shapes of the electrodes to be designed as needed in practical as long as they cover the opening regions to guarantee the subpixel light emitting areas (Cheng Paragraph 0050).
Claim 17 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over He (US 2021/0013274) hereinafter “He” in view of Kim et al. (US 2022/0069037) hereinafter “Kim” .
Regarding claim 17, He teaches all of the elements of the claimed invention as stated above except where the display panel further comprises a second display area, the light-emitting functional layer further comprises a plurality of third sub-pixels located in the second display area, and a size of the first sub-pixel in the first display area is larger than a size of the third sub-pixel, and a size of the second sub-pixel in the first display area is larger than a size of the third sub-pixel.
Fig. 8 of Kim teaches where the size of a subpixel in a first display area (Item DA2/3) is larger than the size of a subpixel in a second display area (Item DA1).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have a second display area, the light-emitting functional layer further comprises a plurality of third sub-pixels located in the second display area, and a size of the first sub-pixel in the first display area is larger than a size of the third sub-pixel, and a size of the second sub-pixel in the first display area is larger than a size of the third sub-pixel because this allows the light emitted from the subpixels in the first display area to be greater than in the second display area and allows the subpixels in the first display area to deteriorate slower (Kim Paragraph 0090).
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments, see Applicant’s REMARKS, filed 07/07/2026, with respect to the rejection(s) of claim(s) 1 under 35 USC 102(a)(2) have been fully considered and are persuasive. Therefore, the rejection has been withdrawn. However, upon further consideration, a new ground(s) of rejection is made in view of an alternate interpretation of He (See Picture 1 above).
The Examiner notes that the claim language does not have any limitations directed to the orientation of the center lines and does not specify which of the center lines is considered the first center lines when the shape of the target subpixel is diamond/quadrilateral (which is the shape taught by He). Instead, the claim language gives limitations directed to the orientation of the center lines only when the condition is satisfied that the shape of the target subpixel is a rectangular shape or an elliptical shape.
Conclusion
/ERIC K ASHBAHIAN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2891