DETAILED ACTION
Request of Continued Examination
This action is in response to applicant’s request of Continued Examination (RCE) filed on 06/18/2026 on amendments/arguments filed on 06/18/2026. Claims 2 and 3 have been canceled. Claims 1 and 13 have been amended. Currently, claims 1 and 4-13 are pending for consideration.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments/amendments with respect to amended claim(s) 1 have been considered but are moot in view of the new ground(s) of rejection.
Response to Amendments
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1 and 4-11 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Jufer et al. (US 20150109744 A1) in view of Yilmaz (US 20140176819 A1).
Consider claim 1, Jufer discloses a portable electronic object (1) (read as portable electronic object 1, including a portable timepiece or another portable electronic device, figure 1, par [0025]) comprising
a case (3) provided with an external part element (2) entirely or partially forming a tactile interface of said electronic object (1) (read as case 10 with bezel 14 surrounding glass 13; the bezel’s external wall is visible to the user and electrodes 52 positioned at the bezel provided capacitive touch input, so the bezel 14 forms at least part of the exterior touch surface of portable electronic object 1, figure 1, par [0038]-[0039]) said external part element including a hollow body containing a substrate (5) (read as fixed bezel 14b having hollow inner space containing flexible printed circuit board 51, which wedge 54 holds adjacent to the bezel’s inner wall, figure 1, par [0041]-[0042]) over which are formed a tactile control member (8) comprising a tactile control circuit (13) that comprises a microcontroller (12) of said portable electronic object (1) (read as tactile control means 50 comprising electrode 52 and connection path 53 on flexible printed circuit board 51; these conductive features provide the touch sensing circuitry, while connection path 53 electrically couples electrodes 52 to microcontroller 23 of electronic module 20, figure 1, par [0028] and [0032]-[0033]),
wherein the substrate (5) comprises a main portion (17a), and first and second connecting portions (17b, 17c) intended to be folded with respect to this main portion (17a) (read as flexible printed circuit board 51 having annular peripheral section 51c and two radially extending, diametrically opposite secondary sections 51d; since the board permits bending during use, the secondary sections are structurally suitable to fold relative to peripheral section 51c under the broadest reasonable interpretation, figures 1 and 5, par [0034] and [0047]-[0048]),
wherein the tactile control circuit (13) is formed on an upper face (16) of the substrate (5) within the main portion (17a) (read as electrode 52 and conductive paths 53 on the bezel facing side of peripheral section 51c; these conductive features provide the touch sensing circuitry on one face of the board’s principal annular section, which corresponds to the upper face within the main portion under the broadest reasonable interpretation, figures 1 and 5, par [0042] and [0047]) and the first and second connecting portions (17b, 17c) are intended to be folded so as to connect to the microcontroller (12) (read as two flexible section 51d with a respective group of conductive paths 53 conveying toward each section and providing the electrical connection from peripheral section 51c to microcontroller 23; as portions of flexible printed circuit board 51, the secondary sections are suitable to fold while carrying the two touch paths groups toward microcontroller 23, figure 5, par [0034] and [0047]-[0048]).
However, Jufer discloses the claimed invention above but does not specifically disclose a communication module (6) comprising an antenna circuit (10) and a microcircuit (11), wherein the antenna circuit (10) and the tactile control circuit (13) are formed on the same upper face (16); and the first and second connecting portions (17b, 17c) respectively connecting to the microcircuit (11) and the microcontroller (12).
Nonetheless, Yilmaz discloses same surface touch and radiating element design, in which panel 200 with touch sensor 204 and radiating element 206 on substrate 202; separate connecting liens 212 and 215 couple them to touch controller 208 and radiating element controller 210 (figure 2, par [0027] and [0030]); radiating element 206 and controller circuit 210 together provide wireless communication circuitry, with radiating element 206 corresponding to the antenna circuit and controller circuit 210 corresponds to the communication microcircuit; controller circuit 208 is substantially similar to the touch-sensor controller 12, which may be a microcontroller (par [0024], [0029] and [0034]); and further disclose permitting the touch electrodes, radiating element and both sets of connecting lines on the same surface of substrate 202, which corresponds to providing separate touch and antenna paths on a common face (par [0032]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious for a person with ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate the teachings of Yilmaz into the teachings of Jufer, to configure Jufer’s flexible printed circuit board 51 using Yilmaz’s same surface touch and radiating element design by forming radiating element 206 on the face of the peripheral section 51c carrying electrodes 52, routing connecting line 215 though one secondary section 51d to radiating element controller 210 and retaining conductive paths 53 through the other secondary section 51d to microcontroller 23, in order to add radio communication to Jufer’s tactile bezel while preserving its single board manufacturing simplification and reducing separate conductor formation steps (see par [0012] and [0033] of Yilmaz).
Consider claim 4, as applied to claim 1 above, Jufer, as modified by Yilmaz, discloses the claimed invention above and wherein the antenna circuit (10) and the tactile control circuit (13) are formed on the upper face (16) of the substrate (5) (see the combination above) but does not specifically disclose the antenna circuit (10) comprising first and second strands (19a, 19b) formed over a first portion of the upper face (16) comprised within the main portion (17a) of the substrate (5), each of said first and second strands (19a, 19b) having a proximal end and a distal end, and extending in parallel between their proximal and distal ends, the first and second strands (19a, 19b) being connected by their distal ends as well as at their proximal ends.
Nonetheless, Yilmaz further discloses radiating element 900 as substitute for radiating element 206 in the perimeter region of substrate 202; under the broadest reasonable interpretation, two adjacent conductive coils paths 920 extend in parallel between opposite connection regions 910A and 910B, while conductive tracking 930A and 930B bridges their respective ends at both regions (corresponds to the connections at the two opposite ends), figures 2 and 9, par [0027]-[0028], [0032] and [0063]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious for a person with ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to further incorporate the teachings of Yilmaz into the teachings of Jufer, which modified by Yilmaz, to configure Jufer’s flexible printed circuit board 51 using Yilmaz’s radiating element 900, forming the parallel and end-connected conductive coil paths on the electrode-bearing face of peripheral section 51c, in order to add antenna capability while preserving its single board manufacturing simplification and reducing separate conductor formation steps (see par [0012] and [0033] of Yilmaz).
Consider claim 5, as applied to claim 1 above, Jufer, as modified by Yilmaz, discloses wherein the tactile control circuit (13) comprises at least one electrode (22) formed over a second portion of the upper face (16) comprised within the main portion (17a) of the substrate (5) (see combination above in claim 1), said electrode (22) being formed by a layer of at least one conductive material applied over said upper face (16) (read as electrode 52 deposited as a layer of conductive materials on the displayed face of principle peripheral section 51c of flexible printed circuit board 51, and since electrode 52 forms on the main portion, it forms on a portion (i.e. second portion) of the substrate, figure 5, par [0032 and [0057] of Jufer, and figure 2 with par [0027]-[0028] and [0032] of Yilmaz).
Consider claim 6, as applied to claim 1 above, Jufer, as modified by Yilmaz, discloses wherein the upper face (16) of the main portion (17a) of this substrate (5) is positioned within a hatch defined in the hollow body of the external part element (2) opposite a wall of the hatch which forms an outer face of this external part element (2) (read as fixed bezel 14b with a user-facing wall and a hollow inner space (corresponds to the hatch) containing the electrode-bearing face of flexible printed circuit board 51 against the inner isde of the wall; peripheral section 51c provides the principal board section positioned inside the hollow inner space and opposite the user-facing bezel wall, figures 1 and 5, par [0041]-[0042], [0047] and [0050]).
Consider claim 7, as applied to claim 1 above, Jufer, as modified by Yilmaz, discloses wherein the upper face (16) of the main portion (17a) of the substrate (5) is positioned within a hatch defined in the hollow body of the external part element (2) opposite a wall of the hatch which forms an outer face of this external part element (2), and the substrate (5) is made of flexible plastic (read as fixed bezel 14b with user-facing wall and hollow inner space (corresponding to the hatch) containing the electrode-bearing face of principal peripheral section 51c opposite the wall; flexible printed circuit board 51 is also a flexible plastic substrate formed from polyimide or polyester figures 1 and 5, par [0032], [0041]-[0042], [0047] and [0050]).
Consider claim 8, as applied to claim 1 above, Jufer, as modified by Yilmaz, discloses the claimed invention above and wherein the substrate (5) comprises an upper face (16) over which the antenna circuit (10) and the tactile control circuit (13) are formed (see combination in claim 1 above) but does not specifically disclose the antenna circuit (10) comprising first and second strands (19a, 19b) formed over a first portion of the upper face (16) comprised within the main portion (17a) of the substrate (5), each of said first and second strands (19a, 19b) having a proximal end and a distal end, and extending in parallel between their proximal and distal ends, the first and second strands (19a, 19b) being connected by their distal ends as well as at their proximal ends, the microcircuit (11) of the antenna circuit (10) being connected to the first and second strands (19a, 19b) via a connecting track (21) formed over the upper face (16) of the substrate (5).
Nonetheless, Yilmaz further discloses radiating element 900 as substitute for radiating element 206 in the separate perimeter region of the common substrate surface; under the broadest reasonable interpretation, two adjacent conductive coils paths 920 extend in parallel between opposite connection regions 910A and 910B, while conductive tracking 930A and 930B bridges their respective ends at both regions (corresponds to the connections at the two opposite ends); connecting lines 215 may occupy that same substrate surface and electrically couples the replacement radiating element to controller circuit 210 (corresponds to the communication microcircuit), figures 2 and 9, par [0027]-[0028], [0032] and [0063]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious for a person with ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to further incorporate the teachings of Yilmaz into the teachings of Jufer, which modified by Yilmaz, to configure Jufer’s flexible printed circuit board 51 using Yilmaz’s radiating element 900 and connecting lines 215, forming the parallel and end-connected conductive coil paths and controller feed on the face of peripheral section 51c, in order to add a controller-connected antenna to Jufer’s single flexible board while allowing the radio and touch conductors to be formed during the same processing steps (see par [0012] and [0033] of Yilmaz).
Consider claim 9, as applied to claim 1 above, Jufer, as modified by Yilmaz, discloses the claimed invention above and wherein the substrate (5) comprises an upper face (16) over which the antenna circuit (10) and the tactile control circuit (13) are formed (see combination in claim 1 above) but does not specifically disclose the antenna circuit (10) comprising first and second strands (19a, 19b) formed over a first portion of the upper face (16) comprised within the main portion (17a) of the substrate (5), each of said first and second strands (19a, 19b) having a proximal end and a distal end, and extending in parallel between their proximal and distal ends,the first and second strands (19a, 19b) being connected by their distal ends as well as at their proximal ends, the microcontroller (12) of the control circuit (13) being connected to said at least one electrode (22) via at least one connecting track (20) formed over the upper face (16) of the substrate (5).
Nonetheless, Yilmaz further discloses radiating element 900 as substitute for radiating element 206 in the separate perimeter region of the common substrate surface; under the broadest reasonable interpretation, two adjacent conductive coils paths 920 extend in parallel between opposite connection regions 910A and 910B, while conductive tracking 930A and 930B bridges their respective ends at both regions (corresponds to the connections at the two opposite ends), figures 2 and 9, par [0027]-[0028], [0032] and [0063]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious for a person with ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to further incorporate the teachings of Yilmaz into the teachings of Jufer, which modified by Yilmaz, to configure Jufer’s flexible printed circuit board 51 using Yilmaz’s radiating element 900 and connecting lines 215, forming the parallel and end-connected conductive coil paths and controller feed on the face of peripheral section 51c, in order to add antenna capability and allow both the radio and touch conductors to be formed during the same processing steps (see par [0012] and [0033] of Yilmaz).
Consider claim 10, as applied to claim 1 above, Jufer, as modified by Yilmaz, discloses wherein the external part element (2) is manufactured in at least one dielectric and/or electrically non-conductive material (read as bezel 14 formed wholly or partly form a non-conductive material, par [0038]).
Consider claim 11, as applied to claim 1 above, Jufer, as modified by Yilmaz, discloses wherein the object is a smartwatch comprising the external part element (2) which is a bezel provided with the hatch within which said substrate (5) is arranged (read as the portable electronic timepiece 1 (which is a watch, par [0037]) with microcontroller 23, display mean 30, option sensors and user-operated tactile control means 50; its fixed bezel 14b has a hollow inner space (corresponding to the hatch) containing flexible printed circuit board 51, figure 1, par [0025], [0028]-[0031] and [0041]-[0042]).
Claims 12 and 13 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Jufer et al. (US 20150109744 A1) in view of Yilmaz (US 20140176819 A1), in further view of Lyons et al. (US 20140225786 A1).
Consider claim 12, as applied to claim 1 above, Jufer, as modified by Yilmaz, discloses the claimed invention above but does not specifically disclose wherein the communication module (6) is configured to communicate according to a Bluetooth protocol.
Nonetheless, Lyons discloses wrist-worn electronic device configured to communicate according to the Bluetooth, par [0017], [0029] and [0032].
Therefore, it would have been obvious for a person with ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to further incorporate the teachings of Lyons into the teachings of Jufer, which modified by Yilmaz, to configure the wireless communication system based on Bluetooth protocol, in order provide a commonly used short-range wireless communication standard for the timepiece (see par [0029] and [0032] of Lyons).
Consider claim 13, as applied to claim 1 above, Jufer, as modified by Yilmaz, discloses the claimed invention above and wherein the first and second connecting portions (17b, 17c) are intended to be folded such that the first and second portions (17b, 17c) each connect to the microcontroller (12) (read as a passage between the hollow inner space of fixed bezel 14b and internal electronic module 20 (figure 1, par [0042]); flexible printed circuit board 51 permits bending and its two secondary sections 51d each carrying a group of conductive paths 53 toward microcontroller 23; the two sections are suitable to fold from peripheral section 51c toward the electronic module, figure 5, par [0034], [0047]-[0048] and [0050]) but does not specifically disclose the first and second connection portions respectively providing separate electrical connections to the communication microcircuit (11) and the tactile microcontroller (12).
Nonetheless, Yilmaz discloses connecting lines 212 and 215 leading respectively from touch sensor 204 and radiating element 206 to touch controller 208 and radiating element controller 210; controller 208 may be a microcontroller, while controller 210 provides the antenna control circuit; thus, the distinct paths/lines provide the respective tactile microcontroller and communication microcircuit connections, figure 2, par [0024] and [0027] and [0029].
Therefore, it would have been obvious for a person with ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to further incorporate the teachings of Yilmaz into the teachings of Jufer, which modified by Yilmaz, to configure Jufer’s two secondary sections 51d using Yilmaz’s respective antenna and touch control paths, assigning one section to connecting lines 215 leading to controller 210 while retaining other section for conductive paths 53 leading to microcontroller 23, in order to preserve the independent electrical functions and destinations of the radio and tactile paths when both are carried by the single flexible printed circuit board. However, Jufer, as modified by Yilmaz, discloses the claimed invention above but does not specifically disclose the external part element (2) comprising an opening opposite to the microcircuit (11) and the microcontroller (12), with both folded connecting portions cross the opening.
Nonetheless, Lyons discloses bezel-integrated conductive antenna routes passing through one or more housing openings to an internal printed circuit board; selecting the single-opening alternative provides one common opening traversed by two conductive routes, with the internal printed circuit board on the opposite side, par [0019] and [0045]-[0046].
Therefore, it would have been obvious for a person with ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to further incorporate the teachings of Lyons into the teachings of Jufer, which modified by Yilmaz, to configure the flexible board system using Lyons’s through-opening conductive routing, forming one opening in fixed bezel 14b aligned with Jufer’s existing passage and routing the two secondary sections through the opening to their respective internal controller circuits, in order to provide a defined and sealable connection path while preserving separate radio and tactile routes (see par [0044] and [0046 of Lyons).
Conclusion
/Junpeng Chen/
Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2645